Current Sub-projects

The Bodmer autograph collection



Start: December 2015
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: As part of the ongoing digitization of its holdings, the Martin Bodmer Foundation, together with e-codices, is providing access to a new part of its collection: modern and contemporary autographs (16th-20th century). These are texts in the author's own handwriting; they can, but need not be, signed by the author. The collection, which took over half a century to compile, contains several thousand documents; among them are complete manuscripts of literary and scientific works, articles and letters by literary figures, scientists and politicians, as well as numerous exceptional or still unpublished pieces. In addition, there are numerous documents that were collected at the beginning of the 20th century by the famous writer Stefan Zweig, himself a great collector of autographs.

Manuscripts list

Call for collaboration 2015



Start: June 2015
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In the beginning of 2015, e-codices published its third ‘Call for Collaboration.’ This call, published jointly by e-codices and our partner libraries, again attracted a great deal of international interest. After the great response to the first call in June 2009 with 97 applications from 33 scholars, and the overwhelming success of the second call in 2013 with 137 applications from 55 scholars, we have this time received 91 applications from 36 scholars. The scholars again come from a variety of countries: Germany (9), Switzerland (7), United Kingdom (6), the USA (5), Italy (4), France (2), Sweden (1), Armenia (1) and Hungary (1); almost all disciplines of medieval studies are represented. Proposals were for manuscripts from 18 libraries, an especially large number from the Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), the Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), the Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), but also from three new collections that have not yet been represented on e-codices. Also suggested were six manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall, where more than half of the collection of medieval manuscripts has already been made digitally accessible. Such continuing demand clearly shows that, despite the great number of manuscripts that have already been digitized, the scholarly interest has by far not been satisfied. Our plan is to publish 41 new digital manuscripts as a result of this call together with our collaborators within the next 12 months.

Manuscripts list

Braginsky collection on e-codices



Start: December 2014
Financed by: René and Susanne Braginsky Foundation

Description: The collection of Hebrew manuscripts of the Zurich collector René Braginsky is generally considered to be one of the largest private collections of Hebrew manuscripts in the world. It also contains a fair number of fine early printed books. The collection does not only contain codices from before and after the invention of printing, but also several hundred illuminated marriage contracts and Esther scrolls. In 2009, some hundred highlights from the collection were curated into a traveling exhibition, which was shown in Amsterdam, New York, Jerusalem, Zurich, and Berlin. Since 2014 e-codices is making documents of the collection online available. The project is generously supported by the René and Susanne Braginsky Foundation.

Manuscripts list

Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau



Start: April 2014
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: The autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) are preserved in different locations. When Rousseau moved from one place to another, he often left his papers to a close friend, for example Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou, who donated a big collection of important works and notebooks to the Library of Neuchâtel, today Bibliothèque publique et universitaire. Other autographs, that Rousseau left to his Genevan friend and editor Paul Moultou, are located in the Bibliothèque de Genève. Autographs can also be found abroad: in the Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, in the Musée Rousseau of Montmorency or in the Morgan Library & Museum in New York.
The Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel starts by publishing „Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire“ and the „Dictionnaire de Musique“ on e-codices in a new sub-project dedicated to the autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau with the goal of creating a common and coordinated network for the autographs of the Swiss philosopher.

Manuscripts list

Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae



Start: December 2013
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: The early medieval library of Fulda, famous until the Humanistic period, was almost completely destroyed during the Thirty Years’ War. During the 16th century, a number of Fulda codices were brought to Switzerland to serve as sources for print editions produced in Basel. Because some of these manuscripts never made it back to Fulda, one of the largest groups of surviving Fulda manuscripts and fragments can be found in Switzerland, particularly in Basel. Moreover, several Swiss collections include products of the Fulda scriptorium that for one reason or another were never delivered to their destinations. This project, a collaboration of e-codices and the Institut Bibliotheca Fuldensis, will provide digital access to the Fulda Manuscripts of Switzerland, in hopes of providing new impetus for investigating this scriptorium and library.

Manuscripts list

Center of Competence for Swiss manuscripts and digital manuscript research



Period: January 2013 - December 2016
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: As part of the SUK (Swiss Conference of Universities) Program P-2 “Scientific information: access, processing and backup,” for the next four years the Swiss Rectors’ Conference will support and aid e–codices in establishing a Swiss Center of Competence. The overall project will consist of various subprojects, among them “Call for collaboration 2013” and “Call for collaboration 2015”, “Hidden collections 2014” and “Hidden collections 2016” and “Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau.“ The overall project also supports further development of the web application e-codices v2.0, which is expected to go online in December 2014.

Manuscripts list

Laufende Teilprojekte

Die Autographensammlung Bodmer



Beginn: Dezember 2015
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung: Die Fondation Martin Bodmer stellt im Rahmen der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung ihrer Sammlung zusammen mit e-codices einen neuen Teil ihrer Sammlung bereit: die modernen und zeitgenössischen Autographe (16.-20. Jahrhundert). Diese Sammlung, die während eines halben Jahrhunderts zusammengeführt wurde, enthält mehrere tausend Dokumente, unter anderem vollständige Handschriften literarischer oder wissenschaftlicher Werke, Artikel oder Briefe von Literaten, Wissenschaftlern oder Politikern sowie zahlreiche bemerkenswerte oder noch unveröffentlichte Stücke. Ebenso findet man zahlreiche Dokumente, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts vom berühmten Schriftsteller Stefan Zweig, selbst grosser Autographensammler, zusammengetragen wurden.

Liste der Handschriften

Call for collaboration 2015



Beginn: Juni 2015
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung: Anfang 2015 veröffentlichte e-codices seinen dritten 'Call for Collaboration'. Dieser Call, der von e-codices in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnerbibliotheken publiziert wurde, hat erneut grosses internationales Interesse geweckt. Nach dem breiten Echo auf den ersten Call im Juni 2009 mit 97 Anträgen von 33 Forschern, und dem überwältigenden Erfolg des zweiten Calls im Jahr 2013 mit 137 Anträgen von 55 Forschern, erhielten wir dieses Mal 91 Anträge von 36 Forschern. Die Forscher kommen abermals aus einer Vielzahl von Ländern: Deutschland (9), Schweiz (7), Grossbritannien (6), USA (5), Italien (4), Frankreich (2), Schweden (1), Armenien (1), und Ungarn (1); dabei sind beinahe alle Disziplinen der Mediävistik vertreten. Es wurden Anträge für Handschriften aus 18 Bibliotheken gemacht, eine besonders grosse Anzahl davon aus der Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), der Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), der Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), aber auch aus drei neuen Sammlungen, die bisher auf e-codices nicht vertreten waren. Ebenfalls vorgeschlagen wurden sechs Handschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die bereits mehr als die Hälfte ihrer Sammlung von mittelalterlichen Handschriften digital zugänglich gemacht hat. Diese anhaltende Nachfrage zeigt sehr deutlich, dass trotz der grossen Zahl von bereits digitalisierten Handschriften das wissenschaftliche Interesse noch bei Weitem nicht befriedigt ist. Unser Vorhaben ist es nun, über diesen Call in den nächsten 12 Monaten zusammen mit unseren Kollaboratoren 41 neue digitale Handschriften zu publizieren.

Liste der Handschriften

Die Braginsky Sammlung auf e-codices



Beginn: Dezember 2014
Finanziert durch: René und Susanne Braginsky Foundation

Beschreibung: Die Sammlung hebräischer Handschriften des Zürcher Sammlers René Braginsky wird allgemein als eine der weltweit grössten privaten Sammlungen von hebräischen Handschriften angesehen. Sie enthält auch eine schöne Anzahl von erlesenen Frühdrucken. Die Sammlung umfasst nicht nur Handschriften, die vor und nach der Entstehung des Buchdrucks geschrieben wurden, sondern auch einige hundert illuminierte Heiratsurkunden und Esther Rollen. 2009 wurden einige hundert Glanzstücke der Sammlung in einer Wanderausstellung in Amsterdam, New York, Jerusalem, Zürich und Berlin ausgestellt. Seit 2014 werden Dokumente dieser Sammlung auf e-codices publiziert. Das Projekt wird grosszügig unterstützt von der René und Susanne Braginsky Foundation.

Liste der Handschriften

Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau



Beginn: April 2014
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung: Die Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) werden an verschiedenen Orten aufbewahrt. Wenn Rousseau einen Wohnort wechselte, hinterliess er häufig seine Papiere einem engen Freund, so zum Beispiel Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou, der eine umfangreiche Sammlung an wichtigen Werken und Arbeitsheften später der Bibliothek in Neuchâtel, der heutigen Bibliothèque publique et universitaire vermachte. Andere Autographe befinden sich in der Bibliothèque de Genève, die Rousseau seinem Genfer Freund und Herausgeber Paul Moultou überliess. Autographe finden sich aber auch im Ausland: in der Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale, der Bibliothèque nationale de France, im Musée Rousseau von Montmorency oder in der Morgan Library & Museum in New York.
Die Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel veröffentlicht als erstes "Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire" und den "Dictionnaire de Musique" in einem neuen Teilprojekt, das sich den Autographen von Jean-Jacques Rousseau widmet. Ziel ist es, ein gemeinsames und koordiniertes Netzwerk für die Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau zu schaffen.

Liste der Handschriften

Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae



Beginn: Dezember 2013
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung: Die bis in die Zeit des Humanismus berühmte frühmittelalterliche Bibliothek Fuldas wurde im 30-jährigen Krieg fast vollständig zerstört. Noch im 16. Jh. gelangte eine Anzahl Fuldaer Codices in die Schweiz, um dort in Basel als Vorlagen für Druckausgaben zu dienen. Indem einige von ihnen nicht zurückkehrten, findet sich in der Schweiz, insbesondere in Basel, eine der größten Gruppen erhaltener Fuldaer Handschriften und Fragmente. Darüber hinaus bewahren mehrere Schweizer Sammlungen Erzeugnisse des Fuldaer Skriptoriums auf, deren Überlieferungsweg sich nicht immer nachvollziehen lässt. Das Projekt, ein Kooperationsprojekt von e-codices mit dem Institut Bibliotheca Fuldensis, wird die Fuldaer Handschriften der Schweiz digital verfügbar machen, um so der Erforschung von Skriptorium und Bibliothek neue Impulse zu geben.

Liste der Handschriften

Kompetenzzentrum für Schweizer Handschriften und digitale Handschriftenforschung



Dauer: Januar 2013 - Dezember 2016
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung: Im Rahmen des SUK Programms P-2: „Wissenschaftliche Information: Zugang, Verarbeitung und Speicherung“ wird die Schweizerische Rektorenkonferenz e-codices während der nächsten vier Jahre unterstützen und helfen, ein schweizerisches Kompetenzzentrum aufzubauen. Das Gesamtprojekt setzt sich aus verschiedenen Teilprojekten zusammensetzen, u.a. „Call for collaboration 2013“ und „Call for collaboration 2015“, „Hidden collections 2014“ und „Hidden collections 2016“, „Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau“. Das Gesamtprojekt unterstützte auch die Weiterentwicklung der Webanwendung e-codices v2.0.

Liste der Handschriften