Documents: 2653, displayed: 2621 - 2640

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 4 + 572 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1637-73
A collection of Latin poems, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. I

Volume 1 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by the St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): collection of Carmina heroica seu epica from the year 1673 containing, among many other texts, descriptions of various countries of Europe in verse, poems about numerous saints and two printed poetic compositions by the Reformed St. Gallen rector David Wetter: Poemata for the St. Gallen City Physician Sebastian Schobinger (1579-1652) on the occasion of the new year, Sangallas, description of the city of St. Gall in Latin verse. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76a (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 352 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1637-73
Collection of Latin poetry, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. II

Volume 2 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by the St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): including 1) Verses from St. Gall on the birth of Christ and the births of prominent historical figures in the realms of politics, the church, science and literature, 2) so-called Aggratulationes (congratulatory addresses) for individuals in responsible positions in the monastery of St. Gall (abbots, deacons, subpriors, officials, professors and teachers) with anagrams, chronograms from the time of Abbot Pius Reher (1630-1654) and Gallus Alt (1654-1687), compiled from previously collected single sheets in the year 1673, most of which are in Latin, but some of which are in Greek or Hebrew. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76b (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 491 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1637-73
Collecton of Latin poetry, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. III

Volume 3 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): the so-called Affixiones, a thematically ordered exposition of heraldic devices by a combination of words (verses) and illustrations (of heraldic devices, which are no longer present) assembled by students of the cloister school of St. Gall from the writings of St. Gallen Friars Constatinius Pfiffer, Johannes Geiger, Ahtnasius Gugger, Chrysosotmus Stipplin, Basilius Renner, Jacob bon Tschernemell and Simon von Freiburg, with, among other devices, those of St. Gallen's founding patron St. Gallus and of Otmar. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76c (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 456 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1637-73
Collecton of Latin poetry, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. IV

Volume 4 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichahaim (1626-1675): poems and epigrams for various high holy days, Marian feast days, and saints' days, composed by monks from the monastery of St. Gall, some during the last third of the 16th, but most during the 17th century. Examples also include elaborate New Year's Exhortations by abbots of St. Gall and printed verses by St. St. Gall monk Johannes Ruostaller, composed while he was studying in Dillingen in 1565, compiled in the year 1673. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 77 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 416 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1655
Collection of Latin poetry, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. VI

Volume 6 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): declamations and speeches, composed mainly by St. St. Gall monks during the late 16th and first half of the 17th century, some the product of rhetorical classes in the monastery of St. Gall, others produced for festive occasions, compiled in 1655. Contents of this volume include speeches, epitaphs, a fictional letter about Herod's the bloodbath of the holy innocents, verses about Gallus's exorcism of Fridiburga, daughter of the Duke Gunzo of the Allemans, and twelve extensive meditations on the life of Christ, composed by Mayor of Villingen Ferdinand von Freiburg, father of St. St. Gall monk Simon von Freiburg. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 77b (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 391 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 1637-73
Collection of Latin poetry, epigrams, etc. by St. St. Gall monks, compiled by P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Vol. VIII

Volume 8 in a series originally consisting of eight volumes by St. St. Gall monk P. Ulrich Aichahaim (1626-1675): the major portion of this volume contains verses by St. St. Gall monks for, among other events, the translation festivities surrounding the transfer of the remains of Saints Anthony and St. Theodorus from the catacombs to St. Gall in 1654, poetry dedicated to the respective saints on their feast days, verses about the most important European rulers and nations during the Thirty Years War, and fictional grave inscriptions for St. Gallen abbots and monks, compiled in the year 1673. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 147 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 427 ff. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gall · 1660
Collection of oratory practice pieces in Latin by novices at the monastery of St. Gall, 1660

Oratory practice pieces in Latin by novices at the monastery of St. Gall (fratres studiosi), dedicated as a "Festschrift" for the name day of St. Gallen Abbot-Bishop Gallus Alt, 1660/61. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 155 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 371 ff. · 21 x 16 cm · St. Gall · about 1677-91
Latin homilies on New Testament texts, preached by a monk from St. Gall

Latin homilies by a St. St. Gall monk, delivered in various churches in the territory of the Fürstabtei (Bishop's Abbey) of St. Gall between 1674 and 1691. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 199 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 181 pp. · 15 x 10 cm · Dillingen on the Danube · 1577
Latin Poems, composed at the Academy in Dillingen

Latin poems of praise honoring the Augsburg Bishop Marquard von Berg, written in 1577 by students from the monastery of St. Gall who were attending the Jesuit University of Dillingen on the Danube, where the Benedictine monks from St. Gall frequently studied during that period. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 217 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 174 + 4 + 22 ff. · 15 x 9 cm · 1661
Psalterium gloriosissimae virginia Mariae olim a sancto Bonaventura editum, nunc a monachis Sancti Galli in Graecam linguam translatum ... 1661.

"Festschrift" from the monastery of St. Gall: translation of the Marian psalter into Greek by monks at St. Gall in the year 1661. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 219 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 371 ff. · 15 x 10 cm · St. Gall · 16th/17th centuries
Collection of works: Latin poetry from P. Chrysostomus Stipplin; Latin translation of Psalm 91

Composite volume from the monastery of St. Gall with bound printed texts from the 16th century: 1) Berhnard Legner, Septem psalmi poenitentiales, Mainz 1576, dedicated to St. Gallen Abbot Otmar Kunz (1564-1577); 2) Johannes Hartmann, De dulcissima sententia Davidis, o.J., dedicated to St. Gallen Abbot Joachim Opser (1577-1594); 3) Wolfgang Betulanus, Rudimenta doctrinae christianae, Konstanz 1592; 4) Portion in manuscript form: copy of Psalm 91, produced by Georg Balticus, the son of noble family of Ulm, dedicated in 1595 to St. Gallen Abbot Bernhard Müller (1594-1630); 5) Portion in manuscript: Latin verses by St. St. Gall monk P. Chrysostomus Stipplin (1609-1672) for all the saints' feast days of the year, in calendar order. Among them are also numerous verses about St. Gallen's patron saints and highly respected abbots and monks from the monastery of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 221 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · 454 ff. · 16 x 10 cm · St. Gall · 17th century
Latin poetry composed by St. St. Gall monk P. Athanasius Gugger (1608-1669) on the occasion of the great translation festivities of 1628 etc.

Latin poetry composed by St. St. Gall monk P. Athanasius Gugger (1608-1669) on the occasion of the great translation festivities of 1628 (about, for example, the return of the remains of Saints Otmar and Notker Balbulut to the newly renovated Otmar Church in the year 1628) in addition to Latin hymns and verses on various themes from the monastery of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 227 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)
Paper · VI + 100 ff. · 12 x 8 cm · St. Gall · 17th century
Collected works volume: translations of religious texts (Benedictine Rule, prayers, etc.) into Greek

Greek translation of the Benedictine Rule and some additional devotional materials, made at the monastery of St. Gall by St. Gallen's Frater Gallus Schindler (1643-1710), a native of Lucerne, between 1660 and 1667. (smu)

Online Since: 04/26/2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Car. C 126
Parchment · I +167 ff. · 23 x 17.8 cm · Sepharad (Catalonia ?) · 1292
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

This elegant illuminated copy of the Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide to the Perplexed) by Moses Maimonides was produced in Christian Spain in 1292. It is a copy of the Hebrew translation of the work made in 1204 by Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). The manuscript arrived in Italy either after the Jewish persecutions of 1391 or the ensuing expulsion of the Jews from the Iberian peninsula in 1492. It was in the possession of the renowned Bolognese Sforno family before reappearing in the early 17th century in the hands of the Italian Jewish apostate and inquisitor Renato da Modena. After more than a century, the manuscript reappeared in the possession of Johann Caspar Ulrich (1705-1768) a Protestant theologian, who donated it in 1762 to the Bibliotheca Ecclesia Carolina, the chapter library of the reformed Grossmünster church of Zurich. In 1835, when the chapter was dissolved, the books and manuscripts of the chapter library became part of the new Cantonal Library in Zurich. Finally in 1917, the holdings of this library, among others, formed the new Zentralbibliothek, where the manuscript still remains today. (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 30
Parchment · V + 104 + V ff. · 30-30.4 x 22-22.6 cm · Byzantium · 14th century
R. David ben Joseph Kimhi, Sefer ha-Shorashim

The Sefer ha-Shorashim by R. David ben Joseph Kimhi (1160-1235) is extant in numerous medieval Hebrew manuscripts and fragments of diverse origins (Sephardi, Italian, Ashkenazi, Provençal), several printed editions and Latin translations, all testifying to the incomparable popularity of the work throughout the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. However, the great significance of the Sefer ha-Shorashim of the Zentralbibliothek, dated to the 14th century, lies within the fact that it is the only preserved copy of Byzantine origin known today. (iss)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 41
Parchment · II + 89 + II‎ ff. · ‎17-17.4 x 12.5 cm · Italy · end-13th to early 14th century
Manual on ritual slaughter and dietary laws (Hilkhot Shekhitah and Treifah)

This Italian manuscript is a manual containing the laws of ritual slaughter (Shekhitah) and forbidden foods (Treifah), taken from the Babylonian Talmud tractate Ḥulin. These laws have been commented on by two medieval rabbinical authorities, included in the manuscript. The first is Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anav of Rome (Rivevan, d. after 1280), whose commentary to the laws makes reference to customs practiced by the Jewish community of Rome, such as an important ruling taken by the elders of Rome in 1280 at the Bozzechi Synagogue, which has been edited in the description. The second author, whose work is partially copied in the manual, is the leading Talmud authority for the Jewish communities in 11th century North Africa and Spain, Isaac ben Jacob Alfasi (Rif, 1013-1103). The first three chapters of a commentary on the Babylonian Talmud tractate Ḥulin, taken from his magnum opus entitled the  Sefer ha-Halakhot, have been copied into this manual. This latter work played a fundamental role in the development of halakha and is the most important legal code prior to the Mishneh Torah by Maimonides (Rambam, 1135-1204). (iss)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 51
Parchment · III + 209 + III ff. · 23.6-24 x 16-16.5 cm; 21.3-21.4 x 14-14.4 cm · Ashkenaz · end-14th to mid-15th century
Halakhic and calendrical Miscellany

This 14th and 15th century Askhenazi miscellany is a vademecum for personal use, destined to a scholar and composed mainly of halakhic material on ritual slaughtering, reflecting the decisions of the most important rabbinical authorities from 13th to 15th century Ashkenaz. There are also numerous treatises and tables on the Jewish and Christian calendars scattered throughout the manuscript. In addition, there is a selection of liturgical and mystical commentaries, as well as excerpts of ethical, Midrashic and Talmudic literature. The margins of the manuscript are filled with small notes and texts on medical recipes and magical incantations for various occasions in Hebrew and in Old West Yiddish. (iss)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 52
Parchment · III + 78 + IV ff. · 19.5-19.7 x 15-15.4 cm · Ashkenaz · 14th century
Sefer Mitsvot Qatan by Isaac ben Joseph of Corbeil with glosses by Perets ben Elijah of Corbeil

The Sefer Mitsvot Qatan or “Small Book of Precepts” is a halakhic compendium, which also includes ethical, aggadic and homiletical material, written ca. 1276-1277 by Isaac ben Joseph of Corbeil, one of the great codifiers and French Tosafists of the 13th century. The work is also called Sheva Ammudei ha-Golah or the “Seven Pillars of the Exile”, due to its division into seven sections, corresponding to the seven days a week, encouraging its daily study. This work is an abridged version of the Sefer Mitsvot Gadol (Semag), another halakhic compendium completed in 1247 by Moses ben Jacob of Coucy (1st half 13th c.). Consequently, with a much more accessible legal code, the Sefer Mitsvot Qatan achieved widespread popularity, receiving recognition from rabbinical authorities from Franco-Germany. This copy includes glosses by R. Isaac’s main disciple, namely Perets ben Elijah of Corbeil (died 1297). (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 96
Parchment and paper · I + 236 + I‎ ff. · 22-22.2 x 14.5 cm · Italy · 14th -15th century
Sefer ha-Orah by Joseph b. Abraham Gikatilla

The kabbalistic work Sefer ha-Orah or "Gates of Light" is one of the major texts of Jewish mysticism written in thirteenth century Spain, where Kabbalah flourished. It is considered to be the most articulate work on kabbalistic symbolism and its content provides a comprehensive explanation of the Names of God and their designation within the ten sephirot or attributes/emanations, through which Eyn Sof (the Infinite) reveals Itself and continuously creates both the physical and metaphysical realms. The work is organized into ten chapters, one for each sephirah. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 123
Parchment · I + 304 + I‎ ff. · 12.8-12.9 x 9.2-9.3 cm · Italy · 15th century
Siddur according to the Roman rite

This well-preserved pocket-sized Siddur, enclosing the statutory prayers of the Jewish liturgical year (daily, sabbath and new month prayers, Ḥanukkah, Purim, Pessaḥ, Shavuot, Rosh ha-Shanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, Shemini Atzeret), is a precious witness of the production of these small prayer books for personal use in 15th- century Italy. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Documents: 2653, displayed: 2621 - 2640

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 2621 - 2640

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 4 + 572 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1637-73
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Bd I

Band 1 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): Zusammenstellung von Carmina heroica seu epica aus dem Jahre 1673 mit unter vielen anderen Texten auch Beschreibungen vieler Länder Europas in Versform, Gedichte über zahlreiche Heilige und zwei gedruckten poetischen Schöpfungen des reformierten St. Galler Rektors David Wetter: Poemata für den St. Galler Stadtarzt Sebastian Schobinger (1579-1652) zum Neujahr; Sangallas, Beschreibung der Stadt St. Gallen in Versen, in lateinischer Sprache. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76a (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 352 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1637-73
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim. Bd II

Band 2 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): enthaltend 1) Verse von St. Galler zur Geburt Christi und zur Geburt von bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten aus der Geschichte aus den Gebieten Politik, Kirche, Wissenschaft und Literatur, 2) so genannte Aggratulationes (Gratulationsadressen) für Vorgesetzte im Kloster St. Gallen (Äbte, Dekane, Subpriore, Offiziale, Professoren und Lehrer) mit Anagrammen, Chronogrammen aus der Zeit der Äbte Pius Reher (1630-1654) und Gallus Alt (1654-1687), aus damals noch vorhandenen Einzelblättern zusammengestellt im Jahre 1673, hauptsächlich in lateinischer, vereinzelt auch in griechischer und hebräischer Sprache. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76b (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 491 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1637-73
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Bd III

Band 3 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): so genannte Affixiones, von Schülern der Klosterschule St. Gallen geordnete thematische Ausstellungen von Emblemen in Kombination von Wort (Verse) und Bild (emblematische Darstellungen nicht mehr erhalten), aus den Schriften der St. Galler Patres Constantius Pfiffer, Johannes Geiger, Athanasius Gugger, Chrysostomus Stipplin, Basilius Renner, Jacob von Tschernemell und Simon von Freiburg zusammengestellt, mit u.a. zu den St. Galler Gründerheiligen Gallus und Otmar. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 76c (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 456 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1637-73
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Bd. IV

Band 4 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): Gedichte und Epigramme auf verschiedene Herren-, Marien- und Heiligenfeste des Jahres, verfasst von Mönchen des Klosters St. Gallen im letzten Drittel des 16. und vor allem im 17. Jahrhundert, darunter beispielsweise auch kunstvolle Neujahrsermahnungen von St. Galler Äbten oder gedruckte Verse des St. Galler Mönchs Johannes Ruostaller, die er während seines Studiums in Dillingen im Jahre 1565 verfasste, zusammengestellt im Jahre 1673. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 77 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 416 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1655
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Bd. VI

Band 6 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): Deklamationen und Reden, hauptsächlich von St. Galler Mönchen aus dem späten 16. und aus der ersten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts, einerseits als Früchte des Rhetorik-Unterrichts im Kloster St. Gallen, andererseits geschaffen für feierliche Anlässe, zusammengestellt 1655. Enthält unter anderem Reden, Epitaphien und einen fiktiven Brief über das Blutbad des Herodes an den Unschuldigen Kindern, Verse zur Teufelsaustreibung des Gallus an Fridiburga, der Tochter des Alemannenherzogs Gunzo oder zwölf umfangreiche Meditationen über das Leben Christi, verfasst von Bürgermeister Ferdinand von Freiburg aus Villingen, dem Vater des St. Galler Mönchs Simon von Freiburg. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 77b (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 391 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1637-73
Sammlung lateinischer Gedichte, Epigramme etc. von St. Galler Mönchen, zusammengestellt durch P. Uodalrich Aichhaim, Bd. VIII

Band 8 einer einstmals acht Bände umfassenden Sammlung des St. Galler Mönchs P. Ulrich Aichhaim (1626-1675): enthaltend hauptsächlich Verse von St. Galler Mönchen zu u.a. den Translationsfeierlichkeiten bei der Überführung der Katakombenheiligen Antoninus und Theodorus 1654 nach St. Gallen, Gedichte zu den jeweiligen Tagesheiligen, Verse zu den wichtigsten europäischen Herrschergestalten und Nationen während des Dreissigjährigen Krieges, fiktive Grabinschriften für St. Galler Äbte und Mönche, zusammengestellt im Jahre 1673. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 147 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 427 ff. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · 1660
Sammelband: Lateinische Reden von St. Galler Mönchen, 1660

Lateinische Redeübungen von Novizen des Klosters St. Gallen (fratres studiosi), als Festschrift zum Namenstag gewidmet dem St. Galler Fürstabt Gallus Alt, 1660/61. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 155 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 371 ff. · 21 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · ca. 1677-91
Lateinische Predigten über Texte aus dem Neuen Testament, gehalten von einem St. Galler Mönche

Lateinische Predigten eines St. Galler Mönchs, gehalten in verschiedenen Kirchen auf dem Territorium der Fürstabtei St. Gallen zwischen 1674 und 1691. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 199 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 181 pp. · 15 x 10 cm · Dillingen an der Donau · 1577
F. G. F.: Lateinische Gedichte, an der Akademie zu Dillingen entstanden.

Lateinische (Lob-)-Gedichte, verfasst von Studierenden aus dem Kloster St. Gallen an der damals häufig von jungen St. Galler Benediktinermönchen frequentierten Jesuiten-Universität Dillingen an der Donau aus dem Jahre 1577 zu Ehren des Augsburger Bischofs Marquard von Berg. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 217 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 174 + 4 + 22 ff. · 15 x 9 cm · 1661
Psalterium gloriosissimae virginia Mariae olim a sancto Bonaventura editum, nunc a monachis Sancti Galli in Graecam linguam translatum ... 1661.

Festschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen: Übersetzung des Marienpsalters in die griechische Sprache durch Mönche des Klosters St. Gallen im Jahre 1661. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 219 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 371 ff. · 15 x 10 cm · St. Gallen · 16./17. Jahrhundert
Sammelband: Lateinische Gedichte von P. Chrysostomus Stipplin; lateinische Uebersetzung des 91. Psalms

Sammelhandschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen mit eingehefteten Drucken des 16. Jahrhunderts: 1) Bernhard Legner, Septem psalmi poenitentiales, Mainz 1576, gewidmet dem St. Galler Abt Otmar Kunz (1564-1577) 2) Johannes Hartmann, De dulcissima sententia Davidis, o.J., gewidmet dem St. Galler Abt Joachim Opser (1577-1594) 3) Wolfgang Betulanus, Rudimenta doctrinae christianae, Konstanz 1592 4) Handschriftlicher Teil: Abschrift von Psalm 91, vorgenommen vom Ulmer Patriziersohn Georg Balticus, gewidmet 1595 dem St. Galler Abt Bernhard Müller (1594-1630) 5) Handschriftlicher Teil: lateinische Verse des St. Galler Mönchs P. Chrysostomus Stipplin (1609-1672) zu den Heiligenfesten des Jahres, geordnet nach dem Kalenderjahr. Darunter finden sich auch zahlreiche Verse zu St. Galler Heiligen und hoch verehrten verstorbenen Äbten und Mönchen des Klosters St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 221 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 454 ff. · 16 x 10 cm · St. Gallen · 17. Jahrhundert
Lateinische Gedichte des St. Galler Mönchs P. Athanasius Gugger (1608-1669) anlässlich der grossen Translationsfeier von 1628 usw.

Lateinische Gedichte des St. Galler Mönchs P. Athanasius Gugger (1608-1669) anlässlich der grossen Translationsfeier von 1628 (Über- bzw. Rückführung der Leichname der Heiligen Otmar und Notker Balbulus in die neu renovierte Otmarskirche im Jahre 1628; weiters: lateinische Hymnen und Verse zu verschiedenen Themen aus dem Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. D 227 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · VI + 100 ff. · 12 x 8 cm · St. Gallen · 17. Jahrhundert
Sammelband: Uebersetzungen religiöser Texte (Benediktinerregel, Gebete, etc.) ins Griechische

Übersetzung der Regula Benedicti und einiger weiterer Gebete in die griechische Sprache, vorgenommen im Kloster St. Gallen von dem aus Luzern gebürtigen St. Galler Frater Gallus Schindler (1643-1710) zwischen 1660 und 1667. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Car. C 126
Pergament · I +167 ff. · 23 x 17.8 cm · Sephardisch (Katalonien?) · 1292
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

Diese elegante, illuminierte Kopie des Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Führer der Unschlüssigen) von Moses Maimonides (1135-1204) wurde 1292 im christlichen Spanien hergestellt. Es handelt sich um eine Kopie der hebräischen Übersetzung, die 1204 von Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230) angefertigt wurde. Die Handschrift gelangte entweder nach den Judenverfolgungen 1391 oder nach ihrer Vertreibung von der iberischen Halbinsel 1492 nach Spanien. Sie gehörte der berühmten Familie Sforno aus Bologna, ehe sie im 17. Jahrhundert im Besitz des italienischen jüdischen Apostaten und Inquisitors Renato da Modena wieder erschien. Nach mehr als einem Jahrhundert befand sie sich in den Händen des protestantischen Theologen Johann Caspar Ulrich (1705-1768), der sie 1762 an die Bibliotheca Ecclesia Carolina, die Stiftsbibliothek der reformierten Kirche des Grossmünsters Zürich verschenkte. Im Jahre 1835, als das Stift aufgehoben wurde, bildeten die Bücher und Handschriften seiner Bibliothek zusammen mit anderen Beständen die neue Zentralbibliothek, wo die Handschrift noch heute aufbewahrt wird. (iss)

Online seit: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 30
Pergament · V + 104 + V ff. · 30-30.4 x 22-22.6 cm · Byzanz · 14. Jahrhundert
R. David ben Joseph Kimhi, Sefer ha-Shorashim

Das Sefer ha-Shorashim von R. David ben Joseph Kimhi (1160-1235) ist in zahlreichen mittelalterlichen hebräischen Manuskripten und Fragmenten unterschiedlicher Herkunft (sephardisch, italienisch, aschkenasisch, provenzalisch), mehreren Druckausgaben und lateinischen Übersetzungen erhalten, die alle von der unvergleichlichen Popularität des Werkes im gesamten Mittelalter und der Renaissance zeugen. Die große Bedeutung des Sefer ha-Shorashim der Zentralbibliothek, datiert auf das 14. Jahrhundert, liegt jedoch darin, dass es die einzige heute bekannte erhaltene Kopie byzantinischer Herkunft ist. (iss)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 41
Pergament · II + 89 + II‎ ff. · ‎17-17.4 x 12.5 cm · Italien · Ende des 13. - Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts
Gesetzessammlung über das Schächten und über verbotene Speisen (Hilkhot Shekhitah und Treifah)

Diese italienische Handschrift ist ein Handbuch, das die dem babylonischen Talmud-Traktat Ḥulin entnommenen Gesetze über die rituelle Schlachtung (Shekhitah) und über die unkoscheren Speisen (Treifah) enthält. Mitenthalten in der Handschrift sind die Kommentare über die Gesetze zweier mittelalterlicher rabbinischer Autoritäten. Der erste ist Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anav von Rom (Rivevan, gest. nach 1280), dessen Kommentar über die Gesetze auf die Bräuche der jüdischen Gemeinschaft Roms verweist, wie z. B. auf ein wichtiges Urteil der Ältesten Roms von 1280 in der Synagoge von Bozzechi, das in dieser Beschreibung ediert ist. Der zweite Autor, dessen Werk teilweise in das Handbuch übernommen wurde, war die führende Talmudautorität für die jüdischen Gemeinden in Nordafrika und Spanien im 11. Jahrhundert, Isaac ben Jacob Alfasi (Rif, 1013-1103). Die ersten drei Kapitel eines Kommentars über das babylonische Talmud-Traktat Ḥulin, entnommen aus seinem magnum opus mit dem Titel Sefer ha-Halakhot, wurden in dieses Handbuch kopiert. Letzteres Werk spielte eine grundlegende Rolle bei der Entwicklung von Halacha und ist das wichtigste Rechtssystem vor der Mishneh Torah von Maimonides (Rambam, 1135-1204). (iss)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 51
Pergament · III + 209 + III ff. · 23.6-24 x 16-16.5 cm; 21.3-21.4 x 14-14.4 cm · Aschkenas · Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts – Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Sammelband mit halachischen und kalendarischen Texten

Diese Textsammlung aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert ist ein vademecum für den persönlichen Gebrauch eines Studenten. Es besteht hauptsächlich aus halachischem Material über die rituelle Schlachtung und widerspiegelt die Entscheidungen der wichtigsten rabbinischen Autoritäten aus dem Aschkenas des 13. bis 15. Jahrhunderts. Verstreut über die gesamte Handschrift finden sich auch zahlreiche Traktate und Tabellen über die jüdischen und christlichen Kalender. Sie enthält ausserdem eine Auswahl von liturgischen und mystischen Kommentaren sowie Auszüge aus ethischer, midraschischer und talmudischer Literatur. Die Ränder der Handschrift sind gefüllt mit kleinen Notizen, medizinischen Rezepten und magischen Beschwörungen für verschiedene Anlässe, geschrieben in Hebräisch oder altem Westjiddisch. (iss)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 52
Pergament · III + 78 + IV ff. · 19.5-19.7 x 15-15.4 cm · Aschkenas · 14. Jahrhundert
Isaak ben Joseph von Corbeil, Sefer Mitsvot Qatan, mit Glossen von Perets ben Elijah von Corbeil

Das Sefer Mitsvot Qatan, oder „Kleine Buch der Gebote“, ist ein halachisches Kompendium, das auch ethisches, haggadisches und homiletisches Material enthält. Geschrieben wurde es ca. 1276-1277 von Isaak ben Joseph von Corbeil, einem der grossen französischen Kodifikatoren und Tosafisten des 13. Jahrhunderts. Das Werk wird auch Sheva Ammudei ha-Golah oder die „Sieben Säulen des Exils“ genannt, entsprechend seiner Aufteilung in sieben Abschnitte, die sich auf die sieben Tage der Woche bezieht und zum täglichen Studium auffordert. Der Text stellt eine Abkürzung des Sefer Mitsvot Gadol (Semag) dar, eines weiteren halachischen Kompendiums, das 1247 von Moses ben Jakob von Coucy (1. Hälfte des 13. Jh.) vollendet wurde. Mit seinen viel zugänglicheren Rechtstexten kannte das Sefer Mitsvot Qatan eine weite Verbreitung und wurde von rabbinischen, deutsch-französischen Autoritäten anerkannt. Diese Kopie enthält Glossen des wichtigsten Schülers von R. Isaak, namentlich Perets ben Elija von Corbeil (gest. 1297). (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 96
Pergament und Papier · I + 236 + I‎ ff. · 22-22.2 x 14.5 cm · Italien · 14.-15. Jahrhundert
Joseph ben Abraham Gikatilla, Sefer ha-Orah

Das kabbalistische Werk Sefer ha-Orah oder „Die Tore des Lichts“ ist einer der wichtigsten Texte des jüdischen Mystizismus, geschrieben in Spanien im 13. Jahrhundert, als die Kabbala eine Blütezeit erlebte. Es wird als die beste Darstellung der kabbalistischen Symbole angesehen und bietet eine vollständige Erklärung der Namen Gottes und ihrer Identifizierung in den zehn Sefirot (göttliche Emanationen), durch die sich Eyn Sof (das Unendliche) zeigt und kontinuierlich die physische sowie die metaphysische Welt kreiert. Der Text ist in zehn Kapitel aufgeteilt, eines für jede Sefira. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 123
Pergament · I + 304 + I‎ ff. · 12.8-12.9 x 9.2-9.3 cm · Italien · 15. Jahrhundert
Siddur nach dem römischen Ritus

Dieser guterhaltene Taschen-Siddur enthält die obligatorischen Gebete des jüdischen liturgischen Jahres (tägliche, Sabbats- und Neumonatsgebete, Hanukkah, Purim, Pessach, Schawuot, Rosch ha-Schanah, Jom Kippur, Sukkot, Schemini Azeret). Er ist ein wichtiger Zeuge der Produktion dieser kleinen Gebetsbücher für den persönlichen Gebrauch im Italien des 15. Jahrhunderts. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 2621 - 2640