Documents: 2653, displayed: 2641 - 2653

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 125
Parchment · I + 142 + I ff. · 14.9-15 x 10.8-11.1 cm · Sepharad · 14th century
Siddur according to the Sephardic rite

This 14th century Sephardic Siddur for personal use is composed of the daily and sabbath prayers, as well as a text on the interpretation of dreams. Moreover, there are additions for the prayers of the new month and the festivals of Hanukkah, Purim and Pessah, the latter of which has been followed by the Haggadah, read at the Seder itself. However, the importance of this Siddur lies within the presence of some instructions on the structure of the Seder in Judeo-Spanish, or more precisely, medieval Castilian. (iss)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 134
Parchment · I + 94 + I ff. · 23-23.1 x 16.5 cm · Poland · 14th century
Mahzor according to the Ashkenazi rite

Beautifully illuminated Maḥzor for Rosh ha-Shanah and Yom Kippur according to the Ashkenazi rite. It is however possible to surmise that this manuscript was produced in Poland during the 14th century, as its script resembles that of contemporary Hebrew manuscript fragments of maḥzorim produced in Poland. This manuscript of middle-sized format, enclosing several ornate initial words and illuminated frames, contains the liturgy for the High Holidays of Rosh ha-Shana and Yom Kippur, including many liturgical poems (piyyutim) displayed in several columns, and was destined for public use by the precentor (ḥazan) at the synagogue. However, the particularity of this maḥzor lies in the presence of a woman’s name, גננא כהנת (Jeanne Kohenet), inserted within the painted letters of a decorated monumental initial word. She was probably the patron of this manuscript and either the daughter or wife of a cohen. The manuscript is incomplete at the beginning and at the end. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 136
Parchment · IV+ 152 +IV ff. · 9.8-10 x 7-7.6 cm · Italy · 2nd half 15th century
Siddur according to the Italian rite

This small format siddur for personal use can be characterized as a vademecum for Jewish religious and communal life. It is divided into three parts, relative to liturgy, Jewish ceremonies, and a last miscellaneous one. The latter includes, among other significant texts, a rare and intriguing list of the names of books and incipits of chapters of all 24 Books of the Bible, with the Hebrew and Latin names, spelled out in Hebrew characters. (iss)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 145
Paper · III + 189 + III ff. · 21.2-21.5 x 14.6-15 cm · Ashkenaz · 1341, 1348 and 2nd half 14th century
Liturgical-Halakhic compendium

This composite manuscript by three different scribes encloses two textual units which were bound together. The volume is structured by a liturgical section, according to the Ashkenazi rite and a halakhic section. The manuscript Heidenheim 145 is one of many compendia of its genre, consisting of an assortment of texts which reflect the religious and talmudo-centric orientation of the intellectual elite of medieval Franco-Germany. (iss)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 166
Paper · II + 46 + I ff. · 32.3 x 22.3 cm · Italy · 15th century
Averroes, Hebrew translation by Qalonymos ben Qalonymos of the Middle Commentary on Aristotle’s Physics

This almost complete Italian 15th century paper copy is composed of Books II to VIII of the Hebrew translation of Averroes’ Middle Commentary on the Physics by Aristotle. The learned Andalusian polymath, jurist and imam, Abu al-Walid Muhammad ibn Ahmad ibn Rushd – or Averroes (1126-1198), known as the Commentator, devoted his entire life on restoring Aristotle’s original teachings, and writing commentaries on nearly all of Aristotle’s works. He was therefore considered one of the most influential philosophic authorities of the Middle Ages, not only among the Latin Scholastics, but particularly among Jews, for the understanding of Aristotelian science through the Hebrew translations of his commentaries. The Middle Commentary is the least known of Averroes’ commentaries on the Physics and exists today in two complete Hebrew translations from the Arabic and one partial 16th century Hebrew-to-Latin translation. The Hebrew translation found in Ms. Heid. 166 is that of the Provençal Jewish philosopher Qalonymos ben Qalonymos (1286-d. after 1328), entitled Bi᷾ ur ha-Shema’, and was the most widely copied version of the Hebrew translations. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 192 A-B
Paper · 128 ff. · 20.5-21 x 14.5 cm · Italy · 1642 and 1687 (Ms. Heid. 192A) and 16th century (Ms. Heid. 192B)
Customs of the Isaac b. Solomon Luria Ashkenazi; Miscellaneous collection of texts

This manuscript is divided into two separate textual units, which were both written by two different scribes in Italy during the 16th and 17th centuries. Ms. Heid. 192A is a small booklet, copied by one hand in 1642 and 1687, which consists of a collection of customs and anecdotes on Rabbi Isaac B. Solomon Luria Ashkenazi (Arizal, 1534-1572) and his entourage, as well as a mystical protective prayer to be recited in the morning and evening, followed by portions of biblical readings for the days of the week, and ending with a selection of penitential prayers (Seliḥot). Ms. Heid. 192B is a miscellaneous collection of biblical midrashim, prognostication literature, tales, Alphabeta de Ben Sira, Talmudic Aggadot. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Or. 157
Parchment · VI + 716 + VI pp. · 15 x 10.6-10.8 cm · Italy · 1322
Biblical and ethical miscellany

Illuminated biblical and ethical miscellany produced in Italy in 1322. This small format manuscript, with an exquisite 16th-century white leather binding blindstamped with the coat of arms of the city of Zurich, is divided into two groups of texts. The first section is made up of the biblical texts of the Five Megillot, accompanied by three commentaries on them, composed by the great medieval scholars, Solomon ben Isaac (Rashi), Avraham ibn Ezra and Joseph Qara. The second section is of ethical nature and consists in the Mishna tractate of the Pirqei Avot or Ethics of the Fathers and its commentaries. The first is an anonymous one ; the second is entitled Shemonah Peraqim by Maimonides, as translated by Samuel ibn Tibbon, and the third is a commentary by Rashi placed in the margins of the latter. In addition, this handbook is interspersed with aggadic, midrashic, mystical and philosophical material. (iss)

Online Since: 12/10/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Or. 159
Parchment · I + 161 + III ff. · 10.3 x 7 cm · Ashkenaz · 1433
Book of Psalms (Sefer Tehilim)

This pocket format 15th century Hebrew Book of Psalms from Ashkenaz, is representative of private use hand copies, which are more seldom preserved in separate textual units rather than incorporated in the Hagiographs section of Hebrew bibles and liturgical manuscripts. Nonetheless, this genre of biblical literature is already attested in the Dead Sea Scrolls. Additionaly, Ms Or. 159 contains 149 Psalms, rather than the canonical 150, which is only one among many configurations found in early and late medieval Hebrew manuscripts, enclosing between 143 and 151 Psalms. Lastly, two medieval Hebrew manuscript fragments of an Esther Scroll have been reused as flyleaves for the 16th century leather tooled binding, protecting this little exquisite Book of Psalms. (iss)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 15
Parchment · 239 ff. · 33-33.5 x 22.5-23 cm · Zürich · ca. 1340/50
Rudolf von Ems, Weltchronik

This richly illustrated manuscript of Rudolf von Ems’ Chronicle of the world was written in the 1340s, probably in Zurich (in the same writing workshop as the 1346 book of statutes of the Zurich Grossmünster). Its iconographic program is closely related to that of the Chronicle of the World currently held in St. Gall (Vadian Collection Ms. 302). Ms. Rh. 15 came to Zurich in 1863 from the library of the dissolved Rheinau Abbey. (wal)

Online Since: 03/29/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 167
Parchment · 199 ff. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · Constance/area of Lake Constance · around 1260
Rheinau Psalter

The Rheinau Psalter, Ms. Rh. 167, is among the preeminent treasures of the Zurich Central Library. Its miniatures are a product of the highest level of artistry of the High Gothic painting of this period around 1260, which is also true for the sophisticated color and painting techniques that were used. In contrast, the script, while of quite good quality, cannot be counted among the highest examples of the art of writing. The commissioner of the manuscript must be sought in the area of Lake Constance, probably in the city of Constance, which was very important in the politics and church politics at the time of the interregnum. In 1817, Father Blasius Hauntinger purchased the manuscript from Melchior Kirchhofer in Schaffhausen for the Benedictine Rheinau Abbey; in 1863, the manuscript, along with the Rheinau Abbey Library, became part of the Cantonal Library (today Central Library) in Zurich. (ste)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 172
Parchment · 100 ff. · 20.4 x 13.9 cm · St. Gall · 15th century
Aurora consurgens

In its first part, the parchment manuscript contains the text that has been named, on the basis of its outstanding cycle of illustrations, the Aurora consurgens. The manuscript also contains numerous other alchemical treatises, for ex. Albertus Magnus on Secreta Hermetis philosophi, Johannes de Garlandia (John of Garland), excerpts from Geber (Jabir ibn Hayyan), the Thesaurus philosophiae and the Visio Arislei. Nine other Aurora-manuscripts are currently known to exist: Berlin Die uffgehnde Morgenrödte, Bologna, Glasgow, Leiden, Vienna, Paris, Prague and Venice. The Berlin manuscript, dating from the early sixteenth century and containing the illustrations as well as the texts in German translation, is closely related to the Zürich Codex. (ste)

Online Since: 06/09/2011

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. hist. 27
Parchment · A + 99 ff. · 27-28 x 19-20 cm · Reichenau · early 9th century / 10th century
Codex of Fraternisation

The main portion of the manuscript Ms. Rh. hist. 27, written in the early 9th century, contains the so-called Codex of Fraternisation of Reichenau. Codices of Fraternisation contain a list of the members of the monastery's confraternities who were required to include the other living or deceased members of the confraternity into their daily prayers. The zone of influence was large, reaching from Reichenau in the South to Monteverde and Conques, from Mondsee in the East to Fulda and St. Trond in the North as well as to Jumièges in the West. Over 38.000 names are documented. The earliest entries have been continuously amended and updated for several centuries. At the end of the volume, following the Codex of Fraternisation, there are 15 leaves of parchment from the 10th-12th centuries containing lists of friars, additional names and transcriptions of charters. At the beginning of the volume there are straps glued on paper containing agreements of fraternisation and obituaries from the 14-16th centuries. (ste)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. hist. 33b
Paper · 168 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Upper Rhine · around 1420-1440
War technology (Illuminated Manuscript)

This codex contains a rare illuminated manuscript constituted entirely by illuminated pages, for each of which only a succinct caption is given, most often only a line of text, and which therefore provides exceptional historical image-sources for numerous domains. The pictures presented here of military technology were perhaps originally part of a medieval house book. A typical collector’s item, this illuminated manuscript underscores the collection character of the Rheinau conventual library, whose librarians and abbots were expressly on the lookout for rare books. (ste)

Online Since: 06/09/2011

Documents: 2653, displayed: 2641 - 2653

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 2641 - 2653

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 125
Pergament · I + 142 + I ff. · 14.9-15 x 10.8-11.1 cm · sephardisch · 14. Jahrhundert
Siddur gemäss dem sephardischen Ritus

Dieses sephardische Siddur aus dem 14. Jahrhundert für den persönlichen Gebrauch enthält die Sabbats- und die täglichen Gebete, sowie einen Text über die Interpretation von Träumen. Darüber hinaus gibt es Zusätze für die Gebete des neuen Monats und für die Feiern von Hanukkah, Purim und Pessah, letzterer gefolgt von der Haggadah, die an Seder selbst gelesen wird. Die Bedeutung dieses Siddur liegt jedoch in den vorhandenen Anweisungen zur Struktur des Seder in Judäo-Spanisch, genauer gesagt in mittelalterlichem Kastilisch. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 134
Pergament · I + 94 + I ff. · 23-23.1 x 16.5 cm · Polen · 14. Jahrhundert
Mahzor nach aschkenasischem Ritus

Ein prächtig illuminierter Mahzor für Rosch ha-Schanah und Jom Kippur nach aschkenasischem Ritus. Es ist jedoch möglich, dass diese Handschrift in Polen während dem 14. Jahrhundert hergestellt wurde, da ihre Schrift derjenigen gleicht, die in Fragmenten hebräischer, zu dieser Zeit in Polen produzierter mahzorim benutzt wurde. Die mittelformatige Handschrift mit mehreren verzierten Initien und illuminierten Rahmen enthält die Liturgie für die hohen Festtage von Rosch ha-Schanah und Jom Kippur, einschliesslich zahlreicher liturgischer Gedichte (piyyutim), die in mehreren Spalten abgebildet sind, und war für den öffentlichen Gebrauch durch den Vorsänger (chasan) in der Synagoge bestimmt. Die Besonderheit dieses Mahzor liegt an dem Frauennamen, גננא כהנת (Jeanne Kohenet), der in die gemalten Buchstaben eines monumentalen verzierten Anfangswortes eingefügt wurde. Wahrscheinlich handelt es sich dabei um die Stifterin der Handschrift, die entweder die Tochter oder die Ehefrau eines Cohen war. Die Handschrift ist zu Beginn und am Ende unvollständig. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 136
Pergament · IV+ 152 +IV ff. · 9.8-10 x 7-7.6 cm · Italien · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Siddur gemäss dem italienischen Ritus

Dieses kleinformatige siddur für den persönlichen Gebrauch kann als vademecum für das religiöse und gemeinschaftliche jüdische Leben charakterisiert werden. Es ist in drei Teile geteilt, die sich auf die Liturgie, auf die jüdischen Zeremonien und, im dritten Teil, auf verschiedene Themen beziehen. Letzterer enthält unter anderen wichtigen Texten eine seltene und faszinierende Liste von Büchern und Incipits der Kapitel der 24 biblischen Bücher, mit hebräischen und lateinischen Namen, geschrieben in hebräischen Schriftzeichen. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 145
Papier · III + 189 + III ff. · 21.2-21.5 x 14.6-15 cm · Aschkenas · 1341, 1348 und 2. Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Liturgisches und halachisches Kompendium

Diese Sammelhandschrift, die von drei verschiedenen Schreibern geschaffen wurde, enthält zwei Texteinheiten die zusammengebunden wurden. Der Band setzt sich aus einem liturgischen Teil, dem aschkenasischen Ritus folgend, und einem halachischen Teil zusammen. Die Handschrift Heidenheim 145 ist eines der zahlreichen Kompendien dieser Art, mit einem Textsortiment, das die religiöse und Talmud-zentrierte Orientierung der intellektuellen Elite des mittelalterlichen Frankreichs und Deutschlands widerspiegelt. (iss)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 166
Papier · II + 46 + I ff. · 32.3 x 22.3 cm · Italien · 15. Jahrhundert
Averroes, hebräische Übersetzung von Kalonymus ben Kalonymus ben Meïr des Mittleren Kommentars zu Aristoteles‘ Physik

Diese beinahe vollständige, italienische Papierkopie aus dem 15. Jahrhundert besteht aus den Büchern II bis VIII der hebräischen Übersetzung von Averroes‘ Mittlerem Kommentar zur Physik des Aristoteles. Der andalusische Universalgelehrte Jurist und Imam Abu al-Walid Muhammad ibn Ahmad ibn Ruschd, oder Averroes (1126-1198), auch bekannt als der Kommentator, widmete sich ausgiebig der Wiederherstellung und Kommentierung von Aristoteles‘ ursprünglichen Lehren. Er wurde als einer der einflussreichsten philosophischen Autoritäten des Mittelalters angesehen, nicht nur von den lateinischen Scholastikern, sondern vor allem auch in der jüdischen Gemeinschaft, die durch die hebräischen Übersetzungen seiner Kommentare ein Verständnis der Aristotelischen Lehre erlangte. Der Mittlere Kommentar ist der am wenigsten bekannte Kommentar über die Physik und existiert heute in zwei kompletten hebräischen Übersetzungen aus dem Arabischen und in einer Teilübersetzung in Latein aus dem Hebräischen (16. Jahrhundert). Die hebräische Übersetzung in Ms. Heid. 166 mit dem Titel Bi᷾ ur ha-Shema’ wurde vom provenzalischen jüdischen Philosoph Kalonymus ben Kalonymus (1286-nach 1328) angefertigt und war die am häufigsten kopierte Version der hebräischen Übersetzungen. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 192 A-B
Papier · 128 ff. · 20.5-21 x 14.5 cm · Italien · 1642 und 1687 (Ms. Heid. 192A) und 16. Jahrhundert (Ms. Heid. 192B)
Gepflogenheiten des Isaak b. Solomon Luria Aschkenasi; Textsammlung

Diese Handschrift kann in zwei getrennte Texteinheiten aufgeteilt werden, die von zwei verschiedenen Schreibern in Italien während dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert geschrieben wurden. Ms. Heid. 192A besteht aus einem kleinen Heft, 1642 und 1687 von einer Hand kopiert. Es enthält eine Sammlung von Gepflogenheiten und Anekdoten über Rabbi Isaak B. Solomon Luria Aschkenasi (Arizal, 1534-1572) und seine Gefolgschaft, dazu ein mystisches Schutzgebet, das morgens und abends rezitiert werden soll, gefolgt von Abschnitten biblischer Lesungen für die Wochentage, und am Ende eine Auswahl von Bussgebeten (Seliḥot). Ms. Heid. 192B enthält eine Sammlung biblischer Midraschim, prognostischer Literatur, Erzählungen, Alphabeta de Ben Sira und talmudische Aggadot. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Or. 157
Pergament · VI + 716 + VI pp. · 15 x 10.6-10.8 cm · Italien · 1322
Sammlung biblischer und ethischer Texte

Illuminierte Sammlung biblischer und ethischer Texte, 1322 in Italien hergestellt. Die kleinformatige Handschrift mit einem sehr schönen weissen Ledereinband aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, blindgestempelt mit den Wappen der Stadt Zürich, ist in zwei Textgruppierungen eingeteilt. Der erste Teil enthält die biblischen Texte der fünf Megillot, begleitet von drei Kommentaren dazu, die von den bekannten mittelalterlichen Gelehrten Solomon ben Isaak (Rashi), Abraham ibn Ezra und Yosef Kara verfasst wurden. Der zweite Teil betrifft die Ethik und besteht aus dem Mischnatraktat Pirqe Avot, Sprüche der Väter, und seinen Kommentaren. Der erste davon ist anonym; der zweite stammt von Maimonides und trägt in der Übersetzung von Samuel ibn Tibbon den Titel Šemoneh Peraqim; der dritte Kommentar wurde von Rashi in die Ränder des zweiten notiert. Dieses Handbuch enthält zusätzlich auch aggadisches, midraschisches, mystisches und philosophisches Material. (iss)

Online seit: 10.12.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Or. 159
Pergament · I + 161 + III ff. · 10.3 x 7 cm · Aschkenasisch · 1433
Psalmenbuch (Sefer Tehilim)

Dieses hebräisch-aschkenasische Psalmenbuch im Taschenformat aus dem 15. Jahrhundert ist repräsentativ für Kopien für den privaten Gebrauch, die seltener in eigenständigen Texteinheiten erhalten sind als eingegliedert in die Hagiographie der hebräischen Bibeln oder liturgischen Handschriften. Dennoch wird diese Art der biblischen Literatur bereits in den Schriftrollen vom Toten Meer attestiert. Ausserdem enthält das Ms. Or. 159 anstatt der kanonischen 150 Psalmen nur 149, was eine der vielen, zwischen 143 und 151 Psalmen schwankenden Möglichkeiten darstellt, die man in hebräischen Handschriften des Früh- und Spätmittelalters finden kann. Schliesslich wurden zwei hebräische Handschriftenfragmente einer Esther-Rolle als Vorsatzblätter für den Ledereinband aus dem 16. Jahrhundert wiederverwendet, um dieses exquisite kleine Psalmenbuch zu schützen. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 15
Pergament · 239 ff. · 33-33.5 x 22.5-23 cm · Zürich · um 1340/50
Rudolf von Ems, Weltchronik

Die reich illustrierte Handschrift der Weltchronik des Rudolf von Ems entstand in den 1340er Jahren, vermutlich in Zürich (in der gleichen Schreiberwerkstatt wie das Statutenbuch des Zürcher Grossmünsters von 1346). Das Bildprogramm ist mit der ca. 40 Jahre früher ebenfalls in Zürich entstandenen und heute in St. Gallen aufbewahrten Weltchronik-Handschrift (Vadianische Sammlung Ms. 302) eng verwandt. Die Handschrift Ms. Rh. 15 kam 1863 aus der aufgehobenen Klosterbibliothek Rheinau nach Zürich. (wal)

Online seit: 29.03.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 167
Pergament · 199 ff. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · Konstanz/Bodenseegebiet · um 1260
Rheinauer Psalter

Der Rheinauer Psalter, Ms. Rh. 167, zählt zu den herausragenden Schätzen der Zentralbibliothek Zürich. Die Miniaturen bewegen sich auf dem höchstmöglichen künstlerischen Niveau der hochgotischen Malerei der Zeit um 1260, was auch für die eingesetzten raffinierten Farb- und Maltechniken gilt. Die Schrift dagegen ist durchaus von guter Qualität, lässt sich aber nicht der höchsten Stufe der Schriftkunst zurechnen. Der Auftraggeber ist im Bodenseegebiet zu suchen, wohl in der politisch und kirchenpolitisch bedeutenden Stadt Konstanz zur Zeit des Interregnums. Die Handschrift wurde 1817 durch Pater Blasius Hauntinger für das Benediktinerkloster Rheinau bei Melchior Kirchhofer in Schaffhausen erworben und kam mit der Rheinauer Klosterbibliothek 1863 in die Kantonsbibliothek (heute Zentralbibliothek) Zürich. (ste)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. 172
Pergament · 100 ff. · 20.4 x 13.9 cm · St. Gallen · 15. Jahrhundert
Aurora consurgens

Die Pergamenthandschrift überliefert in ihrem ersten Teil die durch den Illustrationszyklus herausragende sogenannte Aurora consurgens und enthält zahlreiche weitere alchemistische Traktate, von Albertus Magnus über die Secreta Hermetis philosophi, Johannes de Garlandia, Auszüge aus Geber (Jabir ibn Hayyan) bis zum Thesaurus philosophiae und zur Visio Arislei. Bisher sind neun weitere Aurora-Handschriften in Berlin Die uffgehnde Morgenrödte, Bologna, Glasgow, Leiden, Wien, Paris, Prag und Venedig bekannt, wobei die ins frühe 16. Jh. datierte Berliner Handschrift, sowohl was die Illustrationen als auch die ins Deutsche übersetzten, mitüberlieferten Texte betrifft, eng verwandt ist mit dem Zürcher Codex. (ste)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. hist. 27
Pergament · A + 99 ff. · 27-28 x 19-20 cm · Reichenau · frühes 9. Jahrhundert / 10. Jahrhundert
Reichenauer Verbrüderungsbuch

Der Hauptteil der Handschrift Ms. Rh. hist. 27, geschrieben im frühen 9. Jh., umfasst das sogenannte Reichenauer Verbrüderungsbuch. In Verbrüderungsbüchern sind die Mitglieder derjenigen Gemeinschaften verzeichnet, mit denen ein Kloster in Gebetsbruderschaft stand, mit der Verpflichtung, die lebenden und verstorbenen Angehörigen in das tägliche Gebet einzuschliessen. Der Einzugsbereich war gross: von der Reichenau nach Süden bis Monteverde und Conques, von Mondsee im Osten bis Fulda und St. Trond im Norden sowie Jumièges im Westen. Verzeichnet sind über 38 000 Personennamen. Die frühesten Einträge wurden über mehrere Jahrhunderte laufend ergänzt und aktualisiert. Nachgebunden sind dem Verbrüderungsbuch 15 Pergamentblätter aus dem 10.-12. Jh., mit Professliste der Reichenau, Namensnachträgen und Urkundenabschriften, vorgebunden sind auf Papier aufgeklebte Streifen mit Verbrüderungsabmachungen und Todesanzeigen aus dem 14.-16. Jh. (ste)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Rh. hist. 33b
Papier · 168 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Oberrhein · um 1420-1440
Kriegstechnik (Bilderhandschrift)

Beim Codex handelt es sich um eine der seltenen Bilderhandschriften, die durchwegs aus Bildseiten bestehen, denen jeweils nur knappe Erläuterungen beigegeben sind – meist höchstens eine Zeile Text – und die deshalb hervorragende historische Bildquellen zu zahlreichen Bereichen liefern. Die hier gebotenen Darstellungen zum Kriegshandwerk waren ursprünglich vielleicht Teil eines mittelalterlichen Hausbuches. Als typisches Sammelobjekt unterstreicht die Bilderhandschrift den Sammlungscharakter der Klosterbibliothek Rheinau, deren Bibliothekare und Äbte geflissentlich nach raren Büchern Ausschau hielten. (ste)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 2641 - 2653