Documents: 2653, displayed: 101 - 120

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Paper · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postil on the Gospels of John, Luke and Mark as well as on Tobias and Baruch, written in 1392-1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 3 whole-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 and ‬12-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Paper · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postil on the Acts of the Apostles, on the Apocalypse, and on the canonical letters, written in 1405-1407 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 14 half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 and 13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Paper · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postil on the Pauline epistles, written in 1413-1415 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which the richly illustrated volumes A II 1-6 and 10-12 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 29
Paper · 184 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · second quarter of the 15th century
Stanislaus de Znoyma (?), Simon de Tišnova, Petrus de Pulka: Tractatus varii contra Hussitas

This manuscript brings together anti-Hussite treatises by the theologians Stanislaus de Znoyma (-1414), Simon de Tišnova (1370-1432) and Petrus de Pulka (1370-1425). Although the last title of the first treatise gives 1431 as the date of the copy, the entire manuscript was written during the second quarter of the 15th century. The paper has watermarks. A hand contemporary with that of the main scribe added a table of contents at the beginning and a list of the Hussite theses along with their refutations at the end. This same hand concludes the manuscript with a poem that condemns the pillaging of soldiers. This manuscript was the property of the Dominican Convent of Basel. The old blind-tooled pigskin binding was originally chained and had a clasp. The back board has a parchment fragment; the front board once contained the fragment of a French poem. (mal)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Paper · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242]
Koran

Koran, written in Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242] by Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. In addition to the canonical text, the manuscript also contains the variants of the seven readers of the Koran and their main transmitters. It was brought to Basel from Constantinople in 1437 by the Dominican John of Ragusa , one of the leading theologians for the Council of Basel. Since 1433 the manuscript was the property of the Dominican monastery of Basel as a bequest of John of Ragusa, and in 1559 it became the property of the university library. The Zurich theologist Theodor Bibliander made use of this manuscript in the preparation of his printing of the Latin translation of the Koran by Robert von Ketton (Basel 1543). (wur)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 21
Paper · 181 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · 1503
Ambrosius Alantsee, Glossa psalterii

This commentary on the Psalms is an autograph by Ambrosius Alantsee, who, after having studied and then taught at the University of Basel, entered the Carthusian monastery of Basel in 1480 and, among others, held positions there as scribe, prior and author of primarily liturgical literature. This manuscript was written a few years before his death, which occurred in 1505 while on a visitation journey to Erfurt. (mue)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Paper · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · last quarter of the 15th century
Ludwig Moser: “Goldenes Ave Maria“ (text and adaptation)

These two individual leaves transmit both stanzas of the “Goldenes Ave Maria“: once as a song with glosses “Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), a second time in an adaptation by the Carthusian Ludwig Moser of Basel (A III 52b). Both texts probably were written by him in the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 4
Paper · 176 ff. · 29.5-30 x 20.5-21.5 cm · 1471
Aurelius Augustinus, Confessiones

This manuscript contains mainly Augustine’s Confessiones as well as his treatise De virtutibus et meritis. It was copied in 1471 by Henricus de Bocholdia, who, on the occasion of the Windesheim reform, had made his profession of faith among the canons regular of St. Leonhard in Basel. In a note on folio 162rb, added in 1473 but then crossed out several times and therefore difficult to read, Henricus relates the attempt to reform Interlaken Monastery (1473-1475), where he would have liked to have gone. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 6
Paper · 198 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · Basel · 2nd-3rd quarter of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This manuscript, parts of which are dated, is from St. Leonhard Monastery of the Canons Regular of St. Augustine; it contains mostly patristic and liturgical texts. For a while, this volume, along with the corrections later added to the manuscript, served as a model in the printshop of Michael Furter of Basel, who in 1496 edited the Expositio super cantica canticorum, which has been preserved among the works of Gregory the Great, but today is attributed to Robertus Tumbalena. A specimen copy may have been returned to the monastery along with the manuscript, as there remains one printed copy with a note of ownership indicating such. (flr)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 14
Paper · 187 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · first half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Theology)

This manuscript is part of the holdings of the Carthusian monastery of Basel, to which it came as a gift from a former dean of Rheinfeld, Antonius Rütschmann. It contains mainly Gregory the Great ’s Homiliae in evangelia and the first two books of the Libri miraculorum by Caesarius of Heisterbach, as well as sermons and excerpts by Johannes of Freiburg, Johannes of Mülberg, and Jordan of Quedlinburg. (mue)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Parchment · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · Ashkenaz · 2nd half 14th century and 2nd half 15th century
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

This 14th and 15th century Ashkenazi copy of the Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide to the Perplexed) by Moses Maimonides is the Hebrew translation of the work made in 1204 by Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). This copy also includes a preface from the commentary to the Moreh Nevukhim by Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, a 15th century Spanish rabbi and vigorous defender of Aristotelian and Maimonidean philosophy. In the 16th century, this manuscript was owned by Johann Buxtorf II, and used as the base for the latter’s Latin edition of the Doctor Perplexorum (Basel, 1629). (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 23
Paper · 78 ff. · 30 x 10 cm · Mainz · 1st quarter of the 15th century
Collectanea spiritalia

This manuscript, in a strikingly narrow format, was created in Mainz and, as a gift from the Carthusians living there, it later came to the Carthusian monastery of Basel. It contains a large number of short and very short texts: in addition to some sermons, it mainly contains excerpts from theological, church historical and political treatises, including some in German. (mue)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Paper · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This codex from the holdings of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains as a first part a treatise about the appropriate penance for various transgressions against commandments and sacraments. A second part consists of a collection of Latin hymns with an interlinear translation into German, as well as a loose translation into German as continuous text, in part also combined with a short interpretation. This is followed by texts about the mass and several Opuscula by Gregory of Nazianzus, a letter by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide about the qualities of a good priest, and a brief text by Heinrich Arnoldi about a sermon on Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 41
Parchment and paper · 94 ff. · 28.5 x 19.5 cm · Basel (?) · around 1370
“Alemannische Vitaspatrum”

This manuscript was produced in the Southern Alemannic-speaking region around 1370; it contains the corpus of exempla of the “Alemannischen Vitaspatrum”, one of the most important collections of hagiographic texts in its original form. A treatise compiled of mystic texts is added at the end, into which is inserted the gloss "Von dem überschalle”. The origin of this manuscript is unknown. (stu)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 54e
Paper · 3 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · first half of the 15th century
Fragment with prayers

This fascicle, consisting of only three pages, contains prayers and a text about the seven heavenly joys of Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Paper · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

This undecorated paper volume from the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains theological Disputationes or Quaestiones by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. These discussions, which, according to a note on folio 1r, took place in Paris in the presence and at the instigation of Heynlin, were copied by different hands, including that of Heynlin himself. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 14
Paper · 147 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · Basel · 1466
Theological and legal texts related to the Carthusians

This volume contains a large number of texts about theology and canon law. All of it was written by one scribe, the Carthusian Heinrich von Vullenhoe of Basel. In a long note he provides information about the motives that guided him during the compilation: Since as a Carthusian he could not himself act as a preacher, he only had the possibility to spread the Word of God with his hands, i.e. by writing books. He expresses the hope that this compilation he has organized may strengthen the pious on their path and may offer an occasion for remorse for the sinners. Many of the texts that Vullenhoe has combined in this volume refer directly to the Carthusian Order. One example is the treatise de esu carnium, which defends the Carthusian practice of renouncing meat as a foodstuff. Many texts have also been handed down in other manuscripts from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (fis)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 19
Paper · 347 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Basel · 1460
Epistolae Pauli

This manuscript, created around 1460 and written by the Basel notary and city clerk Jodocus Seyler (1454-1501), contains the Pauline Epistles in canonical order, as well as the apocryphal Epistle to the Laodiceans. Only the Letter to the Romans is richly glossed; First Corinthians still has several interlinear glosses, then the commentary ends. Of the many initials that probably were originally present, only one figure initial remains. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Paper · 214 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · second half of the 14th century
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Since the 13th century the Quatuor libri sententiarum, a collection of teachings of the church fathers on important theological problems compiled by Peter Lombard in the middle of the 12th century, had the status of a textbook in theological faculties. The texts were an essential part of basic studies and were intensively interpreted in lectures and commentaries. This 14th century manuscript from the chained library of the Dominican Convent of Basel contains commentaries by Henry de Cervo, William of Ockham, Jakobus of Altavilla and others. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Documents: 2653, displayed: 101 - 120

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 101 - 120

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Papier · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postille zum Johannes-, Lukas- und Markusevangelium sowie zu Tobias und Baruch, geschrieben 1392-1393 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 3 ganzseitigen, zum Teil kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 und ‬12-13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Papier · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postille zu den Apostelakten, zur Apokalypse und den kanonischen Briefen, geschrieben 1405-1407 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 14 halbseitigen, zum Teil kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-6 und ‬10-‬11 und 13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Papier · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postille zu den Paulusbriefen, geschrieben 1413-1415 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurde die Handschriftengruppe, zu der auch die reich illustrierten Bände A II 1-6 und 10-12 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 29
Papier · 184 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · zweites Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Stanislaus de Znoyma (?), Simon de Tišnova, Petrus de Pulka: Tractatus varii contra Hussitas

Die Handschrift versammelt anti-hussitische Traktate der Theologen Stanislaus de Znoyma (-1414), Simon de Tišnova (1370-1432) und Petrus de Pulka (1370-1425). Obwohl der letzte Titel des ersten Traktates 1431 als Datum der Kopie angibt, wurde die gesamte Handschrift im Verlauf des zweiten Viertels des 15. Jahrhunderts geschrieben. Das Papier enthält Wasserzeichen. Eine zum Hauptkopisten zeitgenössische Hand hat am Anfang des Bandes ein Inhaltsverzeichnis und am Ende eine Liste der hussitischen Thesen mitsamt ihren Widerlegungen hinzugefügt. Dieselbe Hand schliesst die Handschrift mit einem Gedicht ab, das die Plünderungen der Soldaten verurteilt. Die Handschrift befand sich im Besitz des Dominikanerkonvents von Basel. Der antike, blindgestempelte Schweinsledereinband war ursprünglich angekettet und mit einer Schliesse versehen. Der Hinterdeckel enthält ein Pergamentfragment; der Vorderdeckel enthielt einst das Fragment eines französischen Gedichtes. (mal)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Papier · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= März-April 1242]
Koran

Koran, geschrieben im Ramaḍān 639 h. [= März-April 1242] von Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. Die Handschrift enthält neben dem kanonischen Text auch die Varianten der sieben Koranleser und ihrer Hauptüberlieferer. Der Dominikaner Johannes de Ragusa, einer der führenden Theologen des Basler Konzils, brachte sie 1437 aus Konstantinopel nach Basel. Seit 1443 durch testamentarische Verfügung des Johannes im Besitz des Basler Predigerklosters, ging sie 1559 an die Bibliothek der Universität über. Die Handschrift diente dem Zürcher Theologen Theodor Bibliander bei der Vorbereitung seines Drucks der lateinischen Koranübersetzung des Robert von Ketton (Basel 1543). (wur)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 21
Papier · 181 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · 1503
Ambrosius Alantsee, Glossa psalterii

Der Psalmenkommentar ist ein Autograph des Ambrosius Alantsee, der nach einem Studium und darauf folgender Lehrtätigkeit an der Basler Universität 1480 in die Basler Kartause eintrat und dort unter anderem als Schreiber, Prior und Verfasser vorwiegend liturgischer Literatur wirkte. Die vorliegende Handschrift entstand wenige Jahre vor seinem Tod, der ihn 1505 auf einer Visitationsreise in Erfurt ereilte. (mue)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Mitte 15. Jahrhundert
Nycolaus de Lyra, Auslegung des Psalters, 1. Teil (Ps. 1-74)

Deutsche Übertragung der Psalmenpostille des Nikolaus von Lyra (gest. 1349), entstanden wohl noch zu dessen Lebzeiten. Der Psalmenkommentar, früher Heinrich von Mügeln zugeschrieben, stammt von einem historisch noch nicht nachgewiesenen Anonymus, dem sog. „Österreichischen Bibelübersetzer“. Er überträgt die Vorlage kürzend und mit Zusätzen versehen. Die Abschrift aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause datiert in die Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts, ihre Miniaturen gehören zu der Vullenhoe-Gruppe. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Papier · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Kartause Basel · 4. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert
Ludwig Moser: „Goldenes Ave Maria“ (Text und Bearbeitung)

Die zwei Einzelblätter überliefern beide Strophen des „Goldenes Ave Maria“: einmal in Form des Glossenlieds „Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), das zweite Mal in einer Überarbeitung des Basler Kartäusers Ludwig Moser (A III 52b). Beide Texte dürften von seiner Hand in der Kartause Basel geschrieben worden sein.  (stu)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 4
Papier · 176 ff. · 29.5-30 x 20.5-21.5 cm · 1471
Aurelius Augustinus, Confessiones

Die Handschrift enthält zur Hauptsache die Confessiones des Augustinus sowie seinen Traktat De virtutibus et meritis. Geschrieben wurde sie 1471 von Henricus de Bocholdia, der 1464 anlässlich der Windesheimer Reform im Basler Chorherrenstift St. Leonhard Profess abgelegt hatte. In einer 1473 nachgetragenen, dann aber mehrfach durchgestrichenen und damit nicht mehr mit Sicherheit zu entziffernden Notiz auf Blatt 162rb berichtet Henricus über die versuchte Reform des Stifts Interlaken (1473-1475), wo er gern hingegangen wäre. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 6
Papier · 198 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · Basel · 2.-3. Viertel 15. Jh.
Sammelhandschrift Theologie

Die in Teilen datierte Handschrift stammt aus dem Augustinerchorherrenstift St. Leonhard und enthält vor allem patristische und liturgische Texte. Der Band befand sich eine Zeitlang als Vorlage in der Druckerei des Basler Druckers Michael Furter, der im Jahr 1496 die unter den Werken Gregors des Grossen überlieferte und heute Robertus de Tumbalena zugeschriebene Expositio super cantica canticorum edierte – mitsamt den in der Handschrift nachgetragenen Korrekturen. Ein Belegexemplar mag zusammen mit der Handschrift an das Stift zurückgegangen sein, jedenfalls ist ein Druckexemplar mit entsprechendem Besitzvermerk erhalten. (flr)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 14
Papier · 187 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · erste Hälfte 15. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift (Theologie)

Die Handschrift gehört zum Bestand der Basler Kartause, an die sie als Schenkung eines ehemaligen Rheinfelder Dekans, Antonius Rütschmann, gelangt ist. Sie enthält zur Hauptsache Gregors des Grossen Homiliae in evangelia und die ersten zwei Bücher der Libri miraculorum des Caesarius von Heisterbach, daneben Predigten und Exzerpte von Johannes von Freiburg, Johannes von Mülberg und Jordanus von Quedlinburg. (mue)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Pergament · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · Aschkenas · 2. Hälfte des 14. und 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

Bei dieser aschkenasischen Kopie des Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Führer der Unschlüssigen) von Moses Maimonides aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert handelt es sich um die hebräische Übersetzung, die 1204 von Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230) angefertigt wurde. Sie enthält ebenfalls ein Vorwort des Kommentars des Moreh Nevukhim von Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, einem spanischen Rabbiner des 15. Jahrhunderts, der ein eifriger Verfechter der Philosophie des Aristoteles und des Maimonides war. Im 15. Jahrhundert befand sich die Handschrift im Besitz des Johannes Buxtorf II, wobei letzterer sie für die lateinische Edition des Doctor Perplexorum (Basel, 1629) benutzte. (iss)

Online seit: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 23
Papier · 78 ff. · 30 x 10 cm · Mainz · 1. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert
Collectanea spiritalia

Die Handschrift im auffällig schmalen Format entstand in Mainz und gelangte später als Geschenk der dort ansässigen Kartäuser an die Basler Kartause. Sie enthält eine grosse Anzahl kurzer und kürzester Texte: nebst einigen Predigten vor allem Exzerpte aus theologischen, kirchengeschichtlichen und –politischen Traktaten, darunter auch einige deutsche Stücke. (mue)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Papier · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2. Hälfte 15. Jahrhundert
Theologischer Sammelband

Der Codex aus dem Bestand der Basler Kartause enthält in einem ersten Teil eine Abhandlung über die angemessene Busse für verschiedene Vergehen gegen Gebote und Sakramente. Ein zweiter Teil besteht aus einer Sammlung lateinischer Hymnen, die nebst einer deutschen Interlinearübersetzung auch mit einer losen deutschen Übersetzung als Fliesstext versehen sind, zum Teil kombiniert mit einer kurzen Auslegung. Im Anschluss daran finden sich Texte über die Messe und einige Opuscula Gregors von Nazianz, des Weiteren ein Brief von Johannes Heynlin de Lapide über die Eigenschaften eines guten Priesters sowie eine kleine Schrift von Heinrich Arnoldi über eine Marienpredigt. (mue)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 41
Pergament und Papier · 94 ff. · 28.5 x 19.5 cm · Basel (?) · um 1370
Alemannische Vitaspatrum

Um 1370 im südalemannischen Sprachraum entstanden, überliefert die Handschrift das Exempelkorpus der „Alemannischen Vitaspatrum“, eines der bedeutendsten hagiographischen Sammelwerke, in seiner ursprünglichsten Form. Im Anschluss ist ein kompilierter Mystiktraktat niedergeschrieben, in welchen unter anderem die Glosse „Von dem überschalle“ eingearbeitet wurde. Die Herkunft der Handschrift ist unbekannt. (stu)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 54e
Papier · 3 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · erste Hälfte 15. Jh.
Fragment mit Gebeten

Der nur drei Seiten umfassende Faszikel enthält Gebete sowie einen Text über die sieben himmlischen Freuden Mariae. (mue)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Papier · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

Der schmucklose Papierband aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause enthält theologische Disputationes oder Quaestiones des Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. Aufgeschrieben wurden diese Erörterungen, die laut dem Vermerk auf Bl. 1r in Paris von und vor Heynlin gehalten wurden, von einer Vielzahl verschiedener Hände, darunter Heynlins eigener. (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 14
Papier · 147 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · Basel · 1466
Theologica und Juridica mit Bezug auf die Kartäuser

Der Band enthält eine Vielzahl theologischer und kirchenrechtlicher Texte. Er entstammt zur Gänze der Feder eines Schreibers, des Basler Kartäusers Heinrich von Vullenhoe. Über die Beweggründe, die ihn bei der Kompilation geleitet haben, gibt er selbst in einer längeren Notiz Auskunft: Da er als Kartäuser nicht selbst als Prediger auftreten könne, verbleibe ihm nur die Möglichkeit, das Wort Gottes mit den Händen, d.h. durch das Schreiben von Büchern, zu verbreiten. Er hoffe, dass die von ihm veranstaltete Kompilation die Frommen auf ihrem Weg bestärken und den Sündern Anlass zur Reue sein werde. Viele der Texte, die Vullenhoe in diesem Band vereint hat, nehmen unmittelbar Bezug auf den Kartäuserorden. Ein Beispiel ist der Traktat de esu carnium, der die Praxis der Kartäuser, auf Fleisch als Nahrungsmittel zu verzichten, verteidigt. Viele Texte sind auch in anderen Handschriften aus der Basler Kartause überliefert. (fis)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 19
Papier · 347 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Basel · 1460
Epistolae Pauli

Die um 1460 entstandene Handschrift enthält die Paulinischen Briefe in kanonischer Reihenfolge sowie den apokryphen Laodicenerbrief, geschrieben vom Basler Notar und Stadtschreiber Jodocus Seyler (1454-1501). Reich glossiert ist nur der Römerbrief, im 1. Korintherbrief finden sich noch einige Interlinearglossen, dann hört die Kommentierung auf. Von früher wohl mehreren ist nur noch eine figürliche Initiale vorhanden. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Papier · 214 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · zweite Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert hatten die Quatuor libri sententiarum, eine von Petrus Lombardus Mitte 12. Jahrhundert zusammengestellte Sammlung von Lehräusserungen der Kirchenväter zu wichtigen theologischen Problemen, an den theologischen Fakultäten den Status eines Handbuches. Sie waren grundlegender Teil des Grundstudiums und wurden in Vorlesungen und Kommentaren intensiv interpretiert. Die im 14. Jahrhundert entstandene Handschrift aus der Kettenbibliothek des Basler Dominikanerkonventes enthält Kommentare unter anderem von Heinrich de Cervo, Wilhelm von Ockham oder Jakobus von Altavilla. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 101 - 120