Documents: 2653, displayed: 121 - 140

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 38
Paper · 300 ff. · 20.5 x 13.5 cm · 1493
Libellus of John the Evangelist

This libellus of John the Evangelist from the Gnadental Convent of the Poor Clares was completed in 1493. The manuscript contains texts by and about John the Evangelist, among them exempla, sermons, sequences, lections, and the Revelation in German. A pictorial cycle with scenes from the legend of the Evangelist decorates the vita of John at the beginning of the manuscript. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Parchment · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17 cm · 9th century, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

In addition to Greek and Latin Psalms, written somewhere in continental Europe by Irish monks during the Carolingian period, this famous Basel codex also contains a brief series of devotions in Latin for private use, appended by the monks. The exact place where the manuscript was written and its various subsequent travels are unknown, although, based on one note, whose interpretation is under debate, some relation to the Abbey of St. Gall and/or to that of Bobbio is frequently mentioned. In about 1628-1630 the manuscript was listed in the catalog of the Amerbach family, then around 1672-1676 in that of Johannes Zwinger. (and)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Paper · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · around 1510
Statutes of the lay brothers of the Carthusian order

Around 1510, Georg Carpentarius, Carthusian of Basel, translated the statutes of his order’s lay brothers from Latin into German. At the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, the text was considered an autograph by the translator. It was held in the library of the lay brothers. (stu)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Paper · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery in Basel · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

This volume was written in 1489 by Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505). Ambrosius, originally from Füssen, enrolled at the University of Basel in 1468/69 and, as can be proven, wrote several mostly liturgical books between 1484 and 1492 at the Carthusian Monastery in that city. Among them is this Epithalamium (bridal or wedding song) for Mary. Possibly this is the same Ambrosius Alantsee who is attested as prior of St. Mang's Abbey in Füssen in 1491. (stu)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Parchment and paper · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Basel · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Henricus Arnoldi)

This composite manuscript from the Carthusian monastery of Basel contains — partly handwritten and partly printed — primarily texts of devotional and spiritual content. Author (and for the first part of the manuscript also the scribe) for the most part is Heinrich Arnoldi, Prior of the Carthusian monastery from 1449-1480. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 38
Paper · 353 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Sermones

This manuscript, owned by Johannes Heynlin, came to the Basel University Library (UB) along with the holdings of the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel; it contains primarily sermons, many of them written by the Dominican Guilelmus de Malliaco. A keyword index enables the user to search for a sermon with a suitable topic. The binding is striking: the two covers are each fitted with five brass bosses. On the inside of the covers, their anchors are each covered with small parchment pieces cut out in the shape of a heart. (mue)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Paper · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15th century
Composite manuscript (theological content)

This composite manuscript, property of the scholar and Carthusian monk Johannes Heynlin from Basel, consists of various handwritten and printed pieces of theological content: among them the treatise De saecularium religionibus by the Dominican and church reformer Johannes Nider, written in 1465 by a French scribe and annotated in the margin by Heynlin; or the text De miseria humanae conditionis by Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, one of the most important humanists of the Italian Renaissance. After Heynlin’s death, the volume became part of the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 68
Parchment and paper · 324 ff. · 13 x 10 cm · Middle/2nd half of the 15th century
Cursus beatissimae virginis Mariae secundum ordinem Carthusiensem et aliae orationes

This small, thick paper and parchment manuscript from the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel must have been intensely used, as suggested by soiling and signs of heavy usage. The original red leather binding is covered with another layer of leather that sticks out beyond the covers at the bottom and can be folded over the lower edge as protection. The manuscript contains prayers, hymns and other devotional texts by numerous different authors — primarily saints and popes — such as Mechthild of Magdeburg or Bernard of Clairvaux. Also represented are Carthusian authors such as Heinrich Arnoldi. Several colored woodcut and metalcut prints have been glued onto leaf 4v and 316v. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 2
Paper · 85 ff. · 21.5 x 15.5 cm · 1504-1505
Sermones capitulares Cartusiensium

This paper manuscript, prepared specifically by the scribe Johannes Loy for the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, contains a collection of sermons for reading in the chapter. The sermons were written by three Carthusians: Hieronymus Brönick, Heinrich Arnoldi and Heinrich Eger von Kalkar. An introductory note on folio 1v explains that in order to avoid uniformity, which is the mother of tedium, four different sermons are assembled for every feast day so that the same sermon will be held once only every leap year. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Paper · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery St. Margarethental in Basel · third quarter of the 15th century
Latin Composite Manuscript, among others Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

This manuscript (third quarter of the 15th century), a collection of theological texts, consists of two parts; it originated in the Carthusian Monastery in Basel, where it was probably also created. This is certain for the second part of the manuscript, which, in addition to the Vita et revelationes by Agnes Blannbekin (Chapters 1-23), also contains extensive excerpts from Lux divinitatis, the Latin translation of Das fließende Licht der Gottheit by Mechthild of Magdeburg, which became the basis for further copies made in the monastery. The model for most of the texts contained in the second part of Cod. A VIII 6 was the manuscript Basel, university library, Cod. B IX 11. (nem)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 9
Paper · 279 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · Himmelskron Convent and Steinbach Convent bei Worms · 1454, 1456
Composite volume (Theology)

This anthology contains theological treatises, including various texts by Jean Gerson (1363-1429). The volume was written by Alfred Löffler (1416-1462). This scribe, originally came from Rheinfelden, entered the Basel Dominican monastery in 1445; at several places in the manuscript, he requests prayers for him. He also mentions individual dates (1454, 1456) as well as places of writing. The latter are the Convents of Dominican nuns at Steinbach and at Himmelskron near Worms, where Löffler served as confessor during the years in question. When he returned to Basel, he probably also brought with him this volume, which found its way into the library of the Dominican monastery of Basel and, after the Reformation, became part of the university library. (stu)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 18
Paper · 187 ff. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Basel · second half of the 15th century
Sermones capitulares Ordinis Cartusiensium

This codex, with a binding partially in leather, contains mostly chapter sermons and collationes written by Heinrich Arnoldi; usually they begin with a quote from the Bible and are only a few pages long. The composite manuscript for in-house use was produced at the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, where it was written mostly by Martin Ströulin and in part by Heinrich Arnoldi himself. In addition to the handwritten part, it also contains two short prints. (mue)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 27
Paper · 223 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · Basel · second half of the 15th century
Devotionalia

This volume from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains prayers and meditations by various authors, but most of them written by, or at least attributed to, Anselm of Canterbury. In addition, there is an instruction in spiritual exercises for novices and a Passion of Christ compiled from all four Gospels by Heinrich Arnoldi. Texts by other Carthusian authors are also represented. The codex was written by Martin Ströulin, a Carthusian from Basel. (mue)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 36
Paper · 235 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · 1st half of the 15th century
Iordanus de Quedlinburgo, Sermones de sanctis

This composite manuscript in German is from the Convent of Dominican nuns of St. Maria Magdalena “an den Steinen” in Basel, which was reformed in 1423; most of the manuscript was probably written there as well. In addition to two sermons, a treatise and a miracle of Mary, the manuscript mainly contains legends: Elizabeth of Hungary, Jerome, Francis, Vincent, Ignatius, Julian and Basilissa, Paul of Thebes and Anthony. (stu)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 37
Paper · 132 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · 15th century
Devotionalia

15th century devotional volume, mostly written by the Carthusian Johannes Gipsmüller and owned by the Carthusian monastery of Basel. On the verso side of a parchment leaf, inserted as f. 57 into the paper manuscript, there is a full-page image of Christ on the cross with Mary and John. A peculiarity is a collection of Bible passages in Latin and sayings in German by Petrus Wolfer, which are said to have been written on a wall of the Carthusian monastery, surrounding a crucifixion. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 51
Paper · 167 ff. · 14.5 x 10.5 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Margret Zschampi’s Book of Devotion and Prayer

This late medieval book of devotion and prayer is named for its first owner, Margret Zschampi, Dominican at Klingental Convent in Basel. It is a typical manuscript for edification, in German, as they were customarily used and written at the end of the Middle Ages for private devotion, especially in women’s convents and in lay communities. Margret Zschampi donated the manuscript to the Carthusian monastery of Basel, where it became part of the library for lay brothers. As part of this Carthusian library, the devotional book reached the university library of Basel in 1590. This is the only completely preserved known manuscript from the Dominican Convent of Klingental.  (stu)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 7
Paper · 212 ff. · 20.5 x 14 cm · 2nd quarter of the 15th century
Iodocus Gartner

This volume with Quaestiones by the Viennese theologian Iodocus Gartner (attested between 1424 and 1452) was owned by Albertus Loeffler (middle of the 15th century); it was part of the chained library of the Dominican Monastery of Basel. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 14
Paper · 221 ff. · 20.5 x 14-14.5 cm · 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological-historical content

This volume from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains handwritten and printed texts concerning questions on the history of the order, on the spiritual life, as well as on theological interpretations, as for example the commentary on Ecclesiastes by Denis the Carthusian (1402-1471). The handwritten parts are by various hands, among them the Carthusian Johannes Gipsmüller of Basel (1439-1484). (flr)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 22
Parchment · 181 ff. · 20-20.5 x 12.5 cm · beginning of the 13th century
Monastica et canonistica

This manuscript from the beginning of the 13th century is of unknown origin; it contains monastic and canonistic writings, among them, for example, the monastery rule that Benedict of Nursia issued for his monastery at Monte Cassino in 529, Gregory the Great’s Regula pastoralis about the ideal of the (secular) pastor of souls from the late 6th century, or the abbreviated version of a part of the Decretum Gratiani from the 12th century. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 23
Paper · 131 ff. · 16.5 x 12 cm · Basel (?) · 15th century
Composite manuscript (theology)

This manuscript from the library of the lay brothers of the Carthusian monastery in Basel consists of various parts that are bound together. It was meant as a devotional book for the lay brothers and contains various basic texts in German translation, among them a Rule of Saint Benedict, a life of Saint Benedict, as well as various prayers that address either the lay brothers of the Carthusians or the lay brothers of the Benedictines.  (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Documents: 2653, displayed: 121 - 140

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 121 - 140

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 38
Papier · 300 ff. · 20.5 x 13.5 cm · 1493
Johannes-Evangelista-Libellus

Der Johannes-Libellus aus dem Basler Klarissenkloster Gnadental wurde 1493 fertiggestellt. Die Handschrift enthält Texte von und über Johannes den Evangelisten, darunter Exempla, Predigten, Sequenzen, Lektionen und die Offenbarung in deutscher Sprache. Die Johannes-Vita am Anfang der Handschrift ist mit einem reichen Bilderzyklus mit Szenen aus der Legende des Evangelisten versehen. (stu)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Pergament · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17 cm · 9. Jahrhundert, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

Neben den griechisch-lateinischen Psalmen, welche auf dem Kontinent von irischen Mönchen zur Zeit der Karolinger abgeschrieben wurden, enthält der berühmte Codex aus Basel auch eine kleine Serie von Stücken für die private Andacht in lateinischer Sprache, die von den Mönchen angefügt wurde. Der genaue Ort der Abschrift und ihre aufeinanderfolgenden zahlreichen Reisen sind nicht bekannt, wenn auch, aufgrund einer Notiz, deren Interpretation umstritten ist, eine Beziehung zur Abtei St. Gallen und/oder zu jener von Bobbio häufig genannt wird. Um 1628-630 wird die Handschrift im Katalog der Familie Amerbach genannt, um 1672-1676 in jenem von Johannes Zwinger. (and)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Papier · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Kartause Basel · um 1510
Statuten der Laienbrüder des Kartäuserordens

Um 1510 übersetzte der Basler Kartäuser Georg Carpentarius die Statuten der Laienbrüder seines Ordens vom Lateinischen ins Deutsche. Der Text wurde als Autograph des Übersetzers in der Basler Kartause überliefert. Er befand sind in der Bibliothek der Laienbrüder. (stu)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Papier · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · Kartause Basel · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

Der Band wurde 1489 von Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505) geschrieben. Der ursprünglich aus Füssen stammende Ambrosius wurde 1468/69 an der Basler Universität immatrikuliert und hat nachweislich zwischen 1484 und 1492 in der dortigen Kartause mehrere überwiegend liturgische Bücher geschrieben, darunter dieses Epithalamium (Braut- oder Hochzeitslied) für Maria. Möglicherweise handelt es sich um den gleichen Ambrosius Alantsee, der 1491 als Prior im Kloster St. Mang in Füssen bezeugt ist. (stu)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Pergament und Papier · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Basel · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jhs.
Sammelband (Henricus Arnoldi)

Der Sammelband aus der Kartause Basel enthält – teils handschriftlich, teils gedruckt – vorwiegend Texte devoten und spirituellen Inhaltes. Verfasser (und im ersten Teil der Handschrift auch Schreiber) ist grösstenteils Heinrich Arnoldi, Prior der Kartause von 1449-1480. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 38
Papier · 353 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · 2. Hälfte 15. Jahrhundert
Sermones

Die Handschrift aus dem Besitz des Johannes Heynlin, die mit dem Bestand der Basler Kartäuserbibliothek an die UB gelangt ist, enthält in erster Linie Predigten, viele davon aus der Feder des Dominikaners Guilelmus de Malliaco. Ein Stichwortverzeichnis erlaubt dem Benutzer das gezielte Suchen nach einer thematisch passenden Predigt. Auffällig ist der Einband: Die beiden Deckel sind jeweils mit fünf Messingbuckeln bestückt. Auf der Innenseite der Deckel sind deren Verankerungen jeweils mit kleinen, herzförmig ausgeschnittenen Pergamentstücken überklebt. (mue)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Papier · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift (Theologie)

Der Mischband aus dem Besitz des Basler Gelehrten und Kartäusermönchs Johannes Heynlin besteht aus verschiedenen handschriftlichen und gedruckten Teilen theologischen Inhaltes: darunter der Traktat des Dominikaners und Kirchenreformers Johannes Nider De saecularium religionibus, geschrieben 1465 von einer französischen Hand und von Heynlin am Rand mit Hinweisen versehen, oder die Schrift De miseria humanae conditionis von Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, einem der wichtigsten Humanisten der italienischen Renaissance. Nach Heynlins Tod ging der Band an die Bibliothek der Basler Kartause. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 68
Pergament und Papier · 324 ff. · 13 x 10 cm · Mitte/2. Hälfte 15. Jh.
Cursus beatissimae virginis Mariae secundum ordinem Carthusiensem et aliae orationes

Die kleine, dicke Papier- und Pergamenthandschrift aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause muss rege genutzt worden sein, wie starke Verschmutzung und Gebrauchsspuren vermuten lassen. Der ursprüngliche rote Ledereinband ist mit einer weiteren Lederschicht überzogen, die am unteren Ende über die Buchdeckel hinaus absteht und zu dessen Schutz über dem unteren Schnitt zusammengeklappt werden kann. Die Handschrift enthält Gebete, Hymnen und andere Andachtstexte von zahlreichen verschiedenen Autoren – vorwiegend Heiligen und Päpsten – wie Mechthild von Magdeburg oder Bernhard von Clairvaux. Auch kartäusische Autoren wie Heinrich Arnoldi sind vertreten. Auf Blatt 4v und 316v sind mehrere kolorierte Holz- und Metallschnitte eingeklebt. (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 2
Papier · 85 ff. · 21.5 x 15.5 cm · 1504-1505
Sermones capitulares Cartusiensium

Die vom Schreiber Johannes Loy eigens für die Kartause Basel angefertigte Papierhandschrift enthält eine Sammlung von Predigten zur Lesung im Kapitel. Die Predigten stammen aus der Feder von drei Kartäusern: Hieronymus Brönick, Heinrich Arnoldi und Heinrich Eger von Kalkar. Um, wie die einleitende Notiz auf Blatt 1v erklärt, Einförmigkeit zu vermeiden, die die Mutter des Überdrusses sei, sind jeweils für einen Festtag vier verschiedene Predigten versammelt, so dass die gleiche Predigt nur einmal alle Schaltjahre gehalten wird. (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Papier · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Kartause St. Margarethental in Basel · drittes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Theologische Sammelhandschrift (lat.), u. a. Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

Diese aus zwei Teilen zusammengesetzte theologische Sammelhandschrift (3. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert) stammt aus der Kartause in Basel, wo sie wohl auch entstanden ist. Gesichert ist dies für den zweiten Teil der Handschrift, die neben der Vita et revelationes der Agnes Blannbekin (Kap. 1-23) umfangreiche Auszüge aus der Lux divinitatis, der lateinischen Übersetzung des Das fließende Licht der Gottheit Mechthilds von Magdeburg enthält, die zum Ausgangspunkt weiterer Abschriften in der Kartause selbst wurden. Als Vorlage für die meisten Texte, die im zweiten Teil von Cod. A VIII 6 enthalten sind, diente die Handschrift Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. B IX 11. (nem)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 9
Papier · 279 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · Klöster Himmelskron und Steinbach bei Worms · 1454, 1456
Sammelband (Theologie)

Der Sammelband enthält theologische Traktate, darunter verschiedene Texte Johannes Gersons (1363-1429). Der Band wurde von Alfred Löffler (1416-1462) geschrieben. Der Schreiber, der ursprünglich aus Rheinfelden stammt und 1445 in den Basler Dominikanerkonvent eintrat, bittet an mehreren Stellen in der Handschrift darum, für ihn zu beten. Er nennt auch einzelne Jahreszahlen (1454, 1456) sowie Orte der Niederschrift. Letzteres sind die Dominikanerinnenklöster Steinbach und Himmelskron bei Worms, wo Löffler in den betreffenden Jahren als Beichtvater tätig war. Als er nach Basel zurückkehrte, brachte er wahrscheinlich auch diesen Band mit sich, der Eingang in die Bibliothek des Basler Predigerklosters fand und nach der Reformation in die Universitätsbibliothek kam. (stu)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 18
Papier · 187 ff. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Basel · 2. Hälfte 15. Jh.
Sermones capitulares Ordinis Cartusiensium

Der Codex mit Halbledereinband enthält zur Hauptsache Kapitularpredigten und -collationes aus der Feder des Heinrich Arnoldi, die in der Regel mit einem Bibelzitat beginnen und jeweils nur wenige Seiten lang sind. Entstanden ist der Mischband für den Hausgebrauch in der Kartause Basel, wo er grösstenteils von Martin Ströulin und teilweise auch von Heinrich Arnoldi selbst geschrieben wurde. Neben dem handschriftlichen Teil enthält er zwei kurze Drucke. (mue)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 27
Papier · 223 ff. · 21 x 14 cm · Basel · 2. Hälfte 15. Jh.
Devotionalia

Der Band aus der Basler Kartause enthält Gebete und Meditationen verschiedener Urheberschaft, grossenteils aber von Anselm von Canterbury oder ihm zumindest zugeschrieben. Daneben steht eine Anleitung in geistlichen Übungen für Novizen und eine aus allen vier Evangelien kompilierte Passion Christi von Heinrich Arnoldi. Auch Texte weiterer kartäusischer Autoren sind vertreten. Geschrieben wurde der Codex vom Basler Kartäuser Martin Ströulin. (mue)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 36
Papier · 235 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · 1. Hälfte des 15. Jhs.
Iordanus de Quedlinburgo, Sermones de sanctis

Die deutschsprachige Sammelhandschrift stammt aus dem 1423 reformierten Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Maria Magdalena an den Steinen in Basel und wurde vermutlich auch grösstenteils dort geschrieben. Neben zwei Predigten, einem Traktat und einem Marienmirakel überliefert sie insbesondere Legenden: von Elisabeth von Thüringen, Hieronymus, Franziskus, Vincenzius, Ignatius, Julianus und Basilissa, Paulus von Theben und Antonius. (stu)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 37
Papier · 132 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · 15. Jahrhundert
Devotionalia

Devotionalienband aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, grossenteils geschrieben von dem Kartäuser Johannes Gipsmüller und im Besitz der Kartause Basel. Ein als Folio 57 in die Papierhandschrift eingefügtes Pergamentblatt enthält auf der Verso-Seite eine ganzseitige Darstellung Christi am Kreuz mit Maria und Johannes. Eine Besonderheit ist ausserdem eine Sammlung von lateinischen Bibelstellen und deutschen Sprüchen von Petrus Wolfer, die in der Kartause um ein Kreuzigungsbild herum an der Wand gestanden haben sollen. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 51
Papier · 167 ff. · 14.5 x 10.5 cm · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Andachts- und Gebetbuch der Margret Zschampi

Das spätmittelalterliche Andachts- und Gebetbuch ist nach seiner ersten Besitzerin Margret Zschampi, Dominikanerin im Basler Kloster Klingental, benannt. Es handelt sich um eine typische Erbauungshandschrift in deutscher Sprache, wie sie im ausgehenden Mittelalter insbesondere in Frauenklöstern und Laiengemeinschaften für die private Andacht geschrieben und genutzt wurden. Margret Zschampi schenkte die Handschrift der Basler Kartause, wo sie in die Bibliothek für die Laienbrüder Eingang fand. Als Teil der Kartäuserbibliothek kam das Andachtsbuch 1590 in die Universitätsbibliothek Basel. Es ist die einzig bekannte vollständig erhaltene Handschrift aus dem Dominikanerinnenkloster Klingental. (stu)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 7
Papier · 212 ff. · 20.5 x 14 cm · 2. Viertel 15. Jh.
Iodocus Gartner

Der Band mit Quaestionen des Wiener Theologen Iodocus Gartner (bezeugt zwischen 1424 und 1452) stammt aus dem Besitz von Albertus Loeffler (Mitte 15. Jh.) und war Teil der Kettenbibliothek des Basler Dominikanerkonventes. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 14
Papier · 221 ff. · 20.5 x 14-14.5 cm · 15. Jh.
Theologisch-historischer Sammelband

Der Band stammt aus der Basler Kartause und enthält handschriftliche und gedruckte Texte zu Fragen der Ordensgeschichte, der geistlichen Lebensführung ebenso wie theologische Auslegungen, so zum Beispiel den Predigerkommentar Dionysius‘ des Kartäusers (1402-1471). Die handschriftlichen Teile stammen von verschiedenen Händen, darunter diejenige des Basler Kartäusers Johannes Gipsmüller (1439-1484). (flr)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 22
Pergament · 181 ff. · 20-20.5 x 12.5 cm · Anfang des 13. Jhs.
Monastica et canonistica

Die Handschrift unbekannter Herkunft aus dem beginnenden 13. Jahrhundert enthält monastische und kanonistische Schriften, darunter beispielsweise das Klosterregularium, das Benedikt von Nursia 529 für sein Kloster Monte Cassino erlassen hatte, die Regula pastoralis Gregors des Grossen über das Ideal des (weltgeistlichen) Seelenhirten aus dem späten 6. Jahrhundert oder die Kurzfassung eines Teils des Decretum Gratiani aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 23
Papier · 131 ff. · 16.5 x 12 cm · Basel (?) · 15. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift (Theologie)

Die aus mehreren Teilen zusammengebundene Handschrift aus der Laienbibliothek der Basler Kartause ist als Andachtsbuch für die Konversen gestaltet. Sie enthält diverse Grundlagentexte in deutscher Übersetzung, unter anderem eine Regel des Heiligen Benedikt, eine Benediktslegende sowie diverse Gebete, die sich direkt jeweils entweder an die Laienbrüder der Kartäuser oder an die Laienbrüder der Benediktiner wenden.  (stu)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 121 - 140