Documents: 2653, displayed: 141 - 160

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 23a
Paper · 14 ff. · 16.5 x 11.5 cm · Basel · around 1475
Ars moriendi, German

These 14 leaves were removed from a composite manuscript from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel around the end of the 19th century. The 11 colored woodcuts with the respective handwritten text transmit a German Ars moriendi, a type of text on the art of dying well that was very popular during the late Middle Ages. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 38
Paper · 190 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
German prayer book

This small-format devotional book is from the library of the lay brothers of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. It was written by ten different hands and contains, in addition to numerous prayers, the legend of Hugh of Lincoln, a treatise on the Passion, as well as a “Cisiojanus” (a poem for remembering religious feast days and holidays, named for the incipit of the Latin version). (flr)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 49
Paper · 21 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · Paris · 1397
Konradus de Geilenhusen, Epistula concordiae

These 21 leaves with Conrad of Gelnhausen’s Epistula concordiae originally were part of a composite manuscript of theological content from the Dominican monastery of Basel. The text was written in Paris in 1397 by Heinrich Jäger from Ulm. The content takes up a proposal elaborated at the suggestion of King Charles V of France for the resolution of the Great Schism of 1378; Conrad of Gelnhausen proposes the convocation of a general council. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 92
Paper · 163 ff. · 21.5-22 x 15-15.5 cm · Vienna · 1399-1400
Super Sententias Petri Lombardi

This manuscript of university lecture notes on the Sentences of Peter Lombard was written by Heinrich von Weinfelden in Vienna in 1399/1400, during his studies at the university there. Together with its writer, this volume went to the Dominican Monastery of Basel, where it became part of the library. (flr)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 96
Paper · 226 ff. · 21.5-22 x 15-15.5 cm · Isny/Allgäu · 1443
Expositio hymnorum et sequentiarum

Hymn and sequence commentary written in Isny in 1443 by Ulrich Bentz of Winterthur, attested as a registered student in Erfurt in 1444/1445. The text is closely linked to a 14th century Basel manuscript; parallel versions can be found in various southern German manuscripts. Marks on the back cover identify the volume as a liber catenatus. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 14
Paper · 158 ff. · 20 x 14.5 cm · Cologne · 1488
Hieronymus Raynerii, Lectura super sententiarum libros 1-4

15th century paper manuscript: During his university studies in theology, the Dominican Wernher von Selden near Aarau — and subsequently the prior of the Basel monastery — in 1487/88 transcribed the lectures of two Dominicans on Peter Lombard, including the Lectura super sententiarum libros by Hieronymus Raynerii. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 44
Paper · 190 ff. · 15.5 x 21-22 cm · Vienna · 1394-1397
Liber Henrici de Rinfeldia O.P. in studio Viennensi degentis

 A large part of this manuscript was written by the Dominican Heinrich von Rheinfelden (†1433 or later) of Basel during his student days in Vienna in the late 14th century. The codex contains diverse theological writings of early Viennese theologians (the University of Vienna was founded in 1365). Among them are highly regarded authors such as Henry of Langenstein (†1397), as well as authors such as the theologians and university rectors Stefan von Enczensdorf (†1405) or Johannes von Russbach (†1417), of whom no texts are known other than the ones in this manuscript. Heinrich von Rheinfelden himself must have brought the codex to the Dominican monastery in Basel, where it was signed into the library; as part of the holdings of that library, it became part of the University Library Basel after the Reformation. (stu)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 69
Paper · 160 ff. · 21-21.5 x 14.5 cm · 1472
Henricus Arnoldi: ascetic writings

The first part of this paper manuscript from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains the Tractatus de modo perveniendi ad veram et perfectam dei et proximi dilectionem by the Prior Heinrich Arnoldi (1407-1487) and, in the second part, titled De humilitate, it contains a collection of his minor texts. Both text units are also found in manuscript A X 83, which was written the same year. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 72
Paper · 277 ff. · 21-21.5 x 14.5 cm · Cologne · 1488
Petrus Siber, Lectura super Petri Lombardi libros 1 et 2 sententiarum

Lecture by Peter Siber about the first two Books of Sentences by Peter Lombard, whose systematic presentation of the whole of theology by means of carefully chosen quotations from Church Fathers and Doctors of the Church has often been commentated. The volume was copied in 1488 by the Dominican Wernher von Selden from Basel during his studies in Cologne. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 83
Paper · 215 ff. · 20.5 x 13.5-14 cm · Basel · 1472
Composite manuscript with Henricus Arnoldi and Gerardus de Zutphania

The writings of Prior Heinrich Arnoldi (1407-1487) in the first part of the manuscript (the collection De humilitate and the treatise De modo perveniendi) for the most part are the same as those contained in Cod. A X 69. The second part contains the Tractatus de reformatione virium animae by the Dutch theologian Gerardus de Zutphania (1367-1398). This manuscript was written in 1472 by Johannes Gipsmüller (1439-1484) at the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. There must have been a colored woodcut before fol. 1; color residue and a mirror-inverted imprint of the caption are still visible. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 84
Paper · 235 ff. · 10 x 14 cm · Basel · 1471
Psalterium feriatum

The Psalterium feriatum was written in 1472 by the Carthusian monk Johannes Gipsmüller of Basel. Although there is no note of ownership, it certainly was meant to be used in his monastery. Throughout the Psalter there are hymns, antiphons, etc., many with musical notations. For quickly finding texts in the Liturgy of the Hours, red and white tabs protrude from the front ‬edge. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 92
Paper · 236 ff. · 13.5-14 x 10.5 cm · 1st half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript Devotio Moderna

In addition to the Rosarium Jesu et Mariae by the Belgian Carthusian Jacobus van Gruitrode, this small-format codex from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains letters by two representatives of the Devotio Moderna, Florens Radewijns and Geert Groote, as well as excerpts from the Bible and from commentaries, various prayers, and diverse shorter and longer fragments of varying content. (mue)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 93
Paper · 135 ff. · 15.5 x 11 cm · middle of the 15th century
Thomas à Kempis, De imitatione Christi libri I-III

Ludwig Moser brought this small-format volume to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel (cf. note of ownership 1r), from where it came to the Basel University Library. It contains the first three of the four books of Thomas à Kempis’ De imitatione Christi. This text, which is influenced by the teaching of various mystics, especially Meister Eckhart, offers spiritual people a guide for detaching from the world. It was very well received by Catholics as well as Protestants and is considered one of the most widely read books of Christendom. (mue)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 95
Paper · 272 ff. · 14 x 10.5 cm · 1523
Devotionalia varia ex usu Cartusiensium

This small-format paper manuscript from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel is mostly by the hand of the librarian Georg Carpentarius, who for the sake of daily spiritual exercises compiled prayers for various occasions, hymns, meditations and other theological texts. Among the identifiable authors are great ones such as Anselm of Canterbury and Bernard of Clairvaux, as well as lesser known names such as Basilius Phrisius. Two colored prints are glued in the covers: St. George with the dragon (front pastedown) and the Mass of St. Gregory (back pastedown). (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 117
Paper · 261 ff. · 22 x 15 cm · Basel · 1st quarter of the 16th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This volume, originally from Ludwig Moser’s private book collection (cf. note of ownership 2r) came to the Basel University Library as part of the holdings of the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. It contains various theological texts in German, beginning with a version of Wilhelm Textoris’ Migrale vel Ars moriendi (Sterbebuch, a book on the art of dying), which Moser himself translated into German. This is followed by Henry Suso’s "Büchlein von der Wahrheit”, Thomas Peuntner’s "Büchlein von der Liebe Gottes”, and several sermons by Johannes Tauler and Meister Eckhart. (mue)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 121
Paper · 33 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Basel · around 1500
Obsequiale Carthusian Monastery in Basel

This obsequiale, written by Prior Jacob Lauber in his own hand, governs the Office of the Dead at the Carthusian Monastery in Basel. The inserted prayers (among them the Lord's Prayer in Latin and in German) as well as the chants with musical notation are situated in a liturgical context. (stu)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 122
Paper · 154 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · 1496-1498
Composite manuscript Theology

This paper manuscript from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains ordinaries for priests (among them an address in German to the lay brothers), deacons and subdeacons, instructions for the office of the sacristan, as well as a number of shorter and longer pieces of liturgical music. Among the latter, otherwise all in Latin, there is a German version of the sequence Ave praeclara maris stella (135r-135v) written by Sebastian Brant. This manuscript was written by Thomas Kress, the last Carthusian in Basel (†1564), at the beginning of his monastic career (more precisely: in the third year of his period of profession, cf. 102v). (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 132
Paper · 274 + 1 ff. · 22 x 15-15.5 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This composite manuscript, comprising originally separate parts from the holdings of St. Leonhard Monastery in Basel, contains, among others, texts by Hugh of Saint Victor and Thomas à Kempis. Among the volume’s shorter pieces are two German texts (“Fünf Mittel gegen die Ungeduld” and “Zwölf Zeichen der Minne”), as well as three small glossaries: one Hebrew-Latin, one Greek-Latin and one Latin-German. The intact thorn-clasp on the coeval binding is also noteworthy. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A XI 36
Paper · 154 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · 1429-1431
Robertus Holcoth OP, Quaestiones super quattuor libros sententiarum

Commentary on the Sentences by the Dominican theologian Robertus Holcot (ca. 1290-1349), who critically discusses the theological problems raised by Lombard. Robertus Holcot gave lectures on biblical theory at Oxford and was held in high esteem by his contemporaries. This volume, originally a catenatus from the Dominican monastery in Basel, was created between 1429 and 1431. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A XI 59
Paper · 260 ff. · 14 x 10.5 cm · Basel (?) · 4th quarter of the 15th and 1st quarter of the 16th century
Ascetic-catechetical composite manuscript

This manuscript, written mostly in German, consists of various parts, all of which probably date from the same time, the end of the 15th century to the beginning of the 16th century. This codex belonged to the library of the lay brothers of the Carthusian monastery in Basel and may have been written, at least in part, in this same monastery. Among the texts in this devotional book are the exemplum of the pious [female] miller, the “Guten-Morgen-Exempel” often attributed to Meister Eckhart, a recounting of the history of the Carthusian order, as well as various sermons, prayers, sayings and exempla. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Documents: 2653, displayed: 141 - 160

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 141 - 160

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 23a
Papier · 14 ff. · 16.5 x 11.5 cm · Basel · um 1475
Ars moriendi deutsch

Die 14 Blätter wurden gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts aus einer Sammelhandschrift der Basler Kartause herausgelöst. Die 11 kolorierten Holzschnitte mit zugehörigem handschriftlichem Text überliefern eine deutsche Ars moriendi, ein im Spätmittelalter weit verbreiteter Texttypus zur Kunst des heilsamen Sterbens. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 38
Papier · 190 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10 cm · 2. Hälfte 15. Jh.
Deutsches Gebetbuch

Das kleinformatige Andachtsbuch stammt aus der Bibliothek für die Laienbrüder der Basler Kartause. Es wurde von zehn verschiedenen Händen geschrieben und enthält neben zahlreichen Gebeten u.a. die Legende des Hugo von Lincoln, einen Passionstraktat sowie ein „Cisiojanus“ (Merkgedicht zu den kirchlichen Fest- und Feiertagen, so benannt nach dem Incipit der lateinischen Fassung). (flr)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 49
Papier · 21 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · Paris · 1397
Konradus de Geilenhusen, Epistula concordiae

Die 21 Blätter mit der Epistula concordiae des Konrad von Gelnhausen waren ursprünglich Teil einer theologischen Sammelhandschrift aus dem Basler Dominikanerkloster. Geschrieben wurde das Stück 1397 von Heinrich Jäger aus Ulm in Paris. Inhaltlich handelt es sich um einen auf Anregung von König Karl V. von Frankreich ausgearbeiteten Vorschlag zur Beilegung des 1378 entstandenen Grossen Schismas, in dem Konrad von Gelnhausen die Einberufung eines allgemeinen Konzils empfiehlt. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 92
Papier · 163 ff. · 21.5-22 x 15-15.5 cm · Wien · 1399-1400
Super Sententias Petri Lombardi

Die Handschrift mit Lehrtexten zu den Sentenzen des Scholastikers Petrus Lombardus entstand 1399/1400 in Wien, geschrieben von Heinrich von Rheinfelden während seines Studiums an der dortigen Universität. Zusammen mit dem Schreiber gelangte der Band später in den Basler Predigerkonvent, in dessen Bibliothek er eingegliedert wurde. (flr)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 96
Papier · 226 ff. · 21.5-22 x 15-15.5 cm · Isny/Allgäu · 1443
Expositio hymnorum et sequentiarum

Hymnen- und Sequenzenkommentar, geschrieben im Jahr 1443 in Isny von Ulrich Bentz von Winterthur, der 1444/1445 in Erfurt als immatrikulierter Student bezeugt ist. Der Text hängt eng mit einer Basler Handschrift aus dem 14. Jahrhundert zusammen, Parallelüberlieferungen finden sich in verschiedenen süddeutschen Handschriften. Spuren am hinteren Deckel weisen den Band als liber catenatus aus. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 14
Papier · 158 ff. · 20 x 14.5 cm · Köln · 1488
Hieronymus Raynerii, Lectura super sententiarum libros 1-4

Papierhandschrift aus dem 15. Jahrhundert: Während seines Theologiestudiums schrieb der Dominikaner Wernher von Selden bei Aarau und spätere Prior des Basler Konvents 1487/88 in Köln die Vorlesungen zweier Dominikaner zu Petrus Lombardus mit, darunter Hieronymus Raynerii Lectura super sententiarum libros. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 44
Papier · 190 ff. · 15.5 x 21-22 cm · Wien · 1394-1397
Liber Henrici de Rinfeldia O.P. in studio Viennensi degentis

Ein Grossteil der Handschrift wurde vom Basler Dominikaner Heinrich von Rheinfelden (†1433 oder später) während seiner Studienzeit in Wien im ausgehenden 14. Jahrhundert geschrieben. Im Kodex sind diverse theologische Schriften früher Wiener Theologen versammelt (die Universität Wien war 1365 gegründet worden). Darunter sind breit rezipierte Autoren wie beispielsweise Heinrich von Langenstein (†1397), aber auch Autoren wie die Theologen und Universitätsrektoren Stefan von Enczensdorf (†1405) oder Johannes von Russbach (†1417), von denen keine Texte ausserhalb dieser Handschrift bekannt sind. Heinrich von Rheinfelden dürfte den Kodex selber ins Basel Dominikanerkloster mitgebracht haben, wo er in die dortige Bibliothek einsigniert wurde und aus deren Bestand er nach der Reformation in die Basler Universitätsbibliothek kam. (stu)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 69
Papier · 160 ff. · 21-21.5 x 14.5 cm · 1472
Henricus Arnoldi: aszetische Schriften

Die aus dem Besitz der Kartause Basel stammende Papierhandschrift enthält im ersten Teil den Tractatus de modo perveniendi ad veram et perfectam dei et proximi dilectionem des Priors Heinrich Arnoldi (1407-1487) und umfasst unter dem Titel De humilitate im zweiten Teil eine Sammlung von kleineren Schriften desselben. Beide Texteinheiten finden sich auch in der im selben Jahr entstandenen Handschrift A X 83. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 72
Papier · 277 ff. · 21-21.5 x 14.5 cm · Köln · 1488
Petrus Siber, Lectura super Petri Lombardi libros 1 et 2 sententiarum

Vorlesung Peter Sibers über die ersten beiden Sentenzen-Bücher von Petrus Lombardus, dessen systematische Darstellung der gesamten Theologie anhand sorgfältig ausgewählter Aussagen von Kirchenvätern und Kirchenlehrern seit dem 13. Jahrhundert vielfach kommentiert wurde. Der Band entstand 1488, niedergeschrieben vom Basler Dominikaner Wernher von Selden während seines Studiums in Köln. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 83
Papier · 215 ff. · 20.5 x 13.5-14 cm · Basel · 1472
Sammelhandschrift mit Henricus Arnoldi und Gerardus de Zutphania

Die Schriften des Priors Heinrich Arnoldi (1407-1487) im ersten Teil der Handschrift (die Sammlung De humilitate und der Traktat De modo perveniendi) sind grösstenteils dieselben, wie sie auch in Cod. A X 69 enthalten sind. Der zweite Teil enthält den Tractatus de reformatione virium animae des niederländischen Theologen Gerardus de Zutphania (1367-1398). Johannes Gipsmüller (1439-1484) schrieb die Handschrift 1472 in der Basler Kartause. Vor Blatt 1 muss sich ein kolorierter Holzschnitt befunden haben, Farbreste und der spiegelverkehrt lesbare Abdruck der Bildlegende sind noch sichtbar. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 84
Papier · 235 ff. · 10 x 14 cm · Basel · 1471
Psalterium feriatum

Das Psalterium feriatum wurde 1471 vom Basler Kartäusermöch Johannes Gipsmüller geschrieben. Wenn auch ein Besitzeintrag fehlt, so war es doch mit Sicherheit für den Gebrauch in seinem Kloster gedacht. Im ganzen Psalter finden sich Hymnen, Antiphonen etc., viele mit Noten versehen. Zur raschen Auffindung der Texte im Stundengebet ragen rote und weisse Signakeln über den vorderen ‬Schnitt. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 92
Papier · 236 ff. · 13.5-14 x 10.5 cm · 1. Hälfte 15. Jh.
Sammelhandschrift Devotio Moderna

Nebst dem Rosarium Jesu et Mariae des belgischen Kartäusers Jacobus van Gruitrode enthält der kleinformatige Codex aus der Basler Kartause Briefe zweier Vertreter der Devotio Moderna, Florens Radewijns und Geert Groote, ausserdem Exzerpte aus Bibel und Kommentaren sowie verschiedene Gebete und diverse kürzere und längere Fragmente unterschiedlichen Inhalts. (mue)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 93
Papier · 135 ff. · 15.5 x 11 cm · Mitte 15. Jahrhundert
Thomas von Kempis, De imitatione Christi libri I-III

Ludwig Moser brachte den kleinformatigen Band in die Kartause Basel (vgl. Besitzeintrag 1r), von wo aus er an die UB gelangte. Er enthält die ersten drei der insgesamt vier Bücher von Thomas von Kempis’ De imitatione Christi. Diese Schrift, die von den Lehren verschiedener Mystiker, insbesondere Meister Eckharts, beeinflusst ist, bietet geistlichen Personen eine Anleitung für die Ablösung von der Welt. Sie wurde von Katholiken wie Protestanten äusserst rege rezipiert und gilt als eines der verbreitetsten Bücher des Christentums. (mue)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 95
Papier · 272 ff. · 14 x 10.5 cm · 1523
Devotionalia varia ex usu Cartusiensium

Die kleinformatige Papierhandschrift aus der Kartause Basel stammt grösstenteils aus der Hand des Bibliothekars Georg Carpentarius der zum Zweck täglicher geistlicher Übungen Gebete zu verschiedenen Anlässen, Hymnen, Meditationen und andere theologische Texte zusammengestellt hat. Unter den identifizierbaren Autoren finden sich Grössen wie Anselm von Canterbury und Bernhard von Clairvaux neben weniger bekannten Namen wie Basilius Phrisius. In den Deckeln sind zwei kolorierte Drucke eingeklebt: St. Georg mit dem Drachen (vorderer Spiegel) und Messe des Heiligen Gregor (hinterer Spiegel). (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 117
Papier · 261 ff. · 22 x 15 cm · Basel · 1. Viertel 16. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift Theologie

Der Band, der ursprünglich aus Ludwig Mosers persönlicher Büchersammlung stammt (vgl. Besitzeintrag 2r), gelangte mit dem Bestand der Basler Kartäuserbibliothek an die UB. Er enthält verschiedene theologische Texte auf Deutsch, beginnend mit einer von Moser selbst verdeutschten Version von Wilhelm Textoris’ Sterbebuch mit dem Titel Migrale vel Ars moriendi. Darauf folgen Heinrich Seuses „Büchlein von der Wahrheit“, Thomas Peuntners „Büchlein von der Liebe Gottes“ und eine Anzahl von Predigten Johannes Taulers und Meister Eckharts. (mue)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 121
Papier · 33 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Basel · um 1500
Obsequiale der Basler Kartause

Das von Prior Jacob Lauber eigenhändig geschriebene Obsequiale regelt den Totendienst in der Kartause Basel. Die eingefügten Gebete (u.a. ein lateinisches und ein deutsches Vaterunser) sowie die mit Noten versehenen Gesänge sind im liturgischen Kontext zu verorten. (stu)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 122
Papier · 154 ff. · 22 x 16.5 cm · Kartause Basel · 1496-1498
Sammelhandschrift Theologie

Die Papierhandschrift aus der Basler Kartause enthält Ordinarien für Priester (darunter eine deutsche Ansprache an die Laienbrüder), Diakon und Subdiakon, eine Anleitung über das Amt des Sakristans sowie eine Anzahl kürzerer und längerer liturgischer Musikstücke. Unter letzteren, ansonsten durchweg in Latein, findet sich eine von Sebastian Brant verfasste deutsche Version der Sequenz Ave praeclara maris stella (135r-135v). Geschrieben wurde die Handschrift von Thomas Kress, dem nachmals letzten Kartäuser in Basel († 1564), am Anfang seiner Klosterlaufbahn (genauer: im dritten Jahr seiner Professzeit, vgl. 102v). (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 132
Papier · 274 + 1 ff. · 22 x 15-15.5 cm · 3. Viertel 15. Jh.
Theologischer Sammelband

Der aus mehreren ursprünglich separaten Teilen zusammengebundene Sammelband aus dem Bestand des Basler St. Leonhardsstifts enthält u. a. Texte von Hugo von Sankt Viktor und Thomas von Kempen. Unter den kürzeren Stücken im Band finden sich unter anderem zwei deutsche Texte („Fünf Mittel gegen die Ungeduld“ und „Zwölf Zeichen der Minne“) sowie drei kleine Glossare: ein hebräisch-lateinisches, ein griechisch-lateinisches und ein lateinisch-deutsches. Erwähnenswert ist auch die noch intakte Dornschliesse am zeitgenössischen Einband. (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A XI 36
Papier · 154 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · 1429-1431
Robertus Holcoth OP, Quaestiones super quattuor libros sententiarum

Sentenzenkommentar des dominikanischen Theologen Robertus Holcot (ca. 1290-1349), der die von Petrus Lombardus angestossenen theologischen Probleme kritisch erörtert. Robertus Holcot hielt in Oxford bibeltheoretische Vorlesungen und stand bei seinen Zeitgenossen in hohem Ansehen. Der Band, ein ehemaliger catenatus aus dem Baseler Dominikanerkonvent, entstand zwischen 1429 und 1431. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A XI 59
Papier · 260 ff. · 14 x 10.5 cm · Basel (?) · 4. Viertel 15. und 1. Viertel 16. Jahrhundert
Aszetisch-katechetische Sammelhandschrift

Die überwiegend deutschsprachige Handschrift ist aus verschiedenen Teilen zusammengebunden, die alle etwa zur gleichen Zeit – Ende des 15. bis Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts – entstanden sein dürften. Der Codex gehörte zur Laienbibliothek der Basler Kartause und ist möglicherweise zumindest teilweise auch in diesem Kloster geschrieben worden. Zu den Texten in diesem Erbauungsbuch gehören beispielsweise das Exempel von der frommen Müllerin, das häufig Meister Eckhart zugeschriebene „Guten-Morgen-Exempel‟, eine Erzählung der Geschichte des Kartäuserordens sowie diverse Predigten, Gebete, Sprüche und Exempla. (stu)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Dokumente: 2653, angezeigt: 141 - 160