Documents: 10

Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 1841
Parchment · a-c + I + 56 + II-IV + d-f ff. · 38.3 x 26.5 cm · France · 13th century
Liber sapientiae glossatus

This manuscript is from France; certainly from the 14th century onward it has been part of the Libraria secreta of the monastery of St. Francis of Assisi, as attested by an entry in the library inventory. This inventory was written in 1381 by Brother Giovanni Ioli, who saw to its reorganization between 1377 and 1384. The manuscript, which originally contained not only the Liber sapientiae but also the third and fourth parts of Peter Lombard’s Sentences, belongs to an important group of French manuscripts, some richly decorated, that were purchased by the monastery since the founding of the library. When the manuscript was owned by the antiquarian Leo Olschki, it was still complete; but it was already divided in 1960, when the Cantonal and University Library of Lausanne purchased it from the Geneva antiquarian Nicolas Rauch. (ber)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 4254
Parchment · 22 ff. · 20.4 x 15.5 cm · first third of the 15th century
Othon de Grandson, Poems

Othon de Grandson, knight and poet, distinguished himself both through his verses and through his heroic deeds during the Hundred Years War. He was an adviser to Count Amadeus VII of Savoy. After the death of the count, he fled to England. After his return to the land of Vaud he died in an ordeal by battle in the form of a duel in Bourg-en-Bresse in the year 1397. In addition, Othon de Grandson's poetry introduced Valentine's Day to a broader public; it had previously been celebrated primarily in Anglo-Saxon regions. (swe)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 454
Parchment · 124 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · France · first half of the 14th century
Roman de la Rose

This codex dates to the first half of the 14th century and contains a copy of Roman de la Rose, an Old French allegorical dream vision by Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun composed in the 13th century. This copy, which is one of more than 300 that survive in full or in part, is heavily annotated and shows evidence of extensive use by several different readers. (sti)

Online Since: 01/21/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 1016
Paper · 141 ff. · 29 x 20 cm · Geneva · 16th century
“Recueil Grenet”

The “Recueil Grenet” is a collection of poems written by the Geneva merchant Gilbert Grenet (1510?-1568) containing French poems written during the decades 1530-1560. The composite manuscript begins with about forty epistles and «dizains» (ten-line poems) by Clément Marot, which were probably copied during and after the poet’s stay in Geneva (1542-1543). This is followed by anonymous poems on the virtues of education and the art of writing. At the end there are about forty epigrams and poems praising the Reformation and polemicizing against Catholicism. Some are personal revisions of texts by Théodore de Bèze and Ronsard. The manuscript is partially illuminated and illustrates the role of militant poetry in the commercial milieu that supported the Reformation in the city of Geneva during Calvin's time. It was acquired by the Cantonal and University Library of Lausanne in 1844.  (dou)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 350
Paper · 181 ff. · 22 x 14.5 cm · around 1430
Othon de Grandson, Les Responses des cent Balades

Othon de Grandson, knight and poet, distinguished himself both through his verses and through his heroic deeds during the Hundred Years War. He was an adviser to Count Amadeus VII of Savoy. After the death of the count, he fled to England. After his return to the land of Vaud he died in an ordeal by battle in the form of a duel in Bourg-en-Bresse in the year 1397. Othon de Grandson probably wrote his poetic works between 1366 and 1372. This collection volume also contains ballads by thirteen different authors. (swe)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 398
Parchment · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (Fragment)

Along with Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek Pal. lat. 921, this fragment from the Fulda Abbey Scriptorium constitutes one of two documented manuscripts of the Getica by Jordanes, written in a (continental) Anglo-Saxon minuscule; it is not, however, a part of the last leaf of Pal. lat. 921, which has been missing since the beginning of the 19th century. Along with Palermo, Archivio di Stato "Codice Basile" and Rome, Biblioteca Vaticana Ottob. lat. 1346, and together with Pal. lat. 920, this remnant of a leaf is among the oldest text witnesses of the Getica. It could be a part of a manuscript by Jordanes that had been attested in Fulda until the middle of the 16th century. (stb)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 403
Parchment · 113 ff. · 24 x 12.3 cm · France? · end of the 12th century
P. Ovidii Nasonis, Metamorphoses

This manuscript, written in early Gothic script and dated to the end of the 12th century, contains an incomplete copy of Ovid’s Metamorphoses (2,52 – 3,466; 3,651 – 14,43; 14,414 – 15,668). There are marginal and interlinear glosses as well as variants by various hands. (del)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 5011
Parchment · IV + 45 ff. + V-VIII ff. · 33.5 x 22. 5 cm · Romainmôtier (?) · 12th century (ff. 1-30); around 1300 (ff. 31-45)
Cartulary of the Cluniac priory of Romainmôtier (Switzerland, canton of Vaud)

This manuscript is a cartulary that was created for the Cluniac priory of Romainmôtier (canton of Vaud) and that was probably copied at the monastery. It consists of two chronologically distinct parts that were united at an unknown time. The first part is from the 12th century and consists of 77 documents, introduced by a preface that recounts the most important events from the history of the institution. The second part was copied around the end of the 13th century and contains 80 documents, most of which date back to the years 1270-1286. (anm)

Online Since: 03/29/2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, U 964
Parchment · VI + 522 + VI ff. · 33 x 24.5 cm · France · end of 13th century
Biblia Porta

The Biblia Porta manuscript, which bears the name of its last private owner, is an illuminated Bible from the Franco-Flemish region, produced at the end of the 13th century. The value of this unique and extraordinary work lies in the quality of its textual illustrations: 337 scenes of great artistic refinement, very lively and expressive. The illustrations consist of historiated initials, ornamental initials, drolleries and marginal illustrations. The text, which is written in extremely carefully formed calligraphy on very fine parchment, is St. Jerome's Vulgate version of the Bible in Latin, revised in Paris in the second quarter of the 13th century. This document is one of the few remaining works from this particular school of book decoration in northern France. (min)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, V 1765
Parchment and paper · 117 ff. · 25 x 18.5 cm · 1st part: Italy; 2nd part: France or Switzerland · 1st part: end of the 14th-beginning of the 15th century (palimpsest 13th century); 2nd part: 15th century
Henry Suso, Horologium Sapientiae, Francesco Petrarca, De Vita Solitaria

This codex contains two different texts, both incomplete, in a single 19th century binding. One of these is Henry Suso’s Horologium Sapientiae (1-66), a text that was written in Constance and that was in wide use during the late Middle Ages. The other is Petrarch's De Vita Solitaria (67-116). The first is a parchment manuscript of Italian origin that can be dated to the late 14th or early 15th century; it is written by a single hand in a semi-cursive Gothic script in two columns. What makes this manuscript special is that it was written on a parchment palimpsest that originally contained legal texts written in the 13th century. The second part, by another hand and of French or Swiss origin, contains a text by Petrarch written in a bastarda script in two columns, dated to the 15th century. Both texts contain pen-flourish initials and are interspersed with manicules. (fav)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Documents: 10

Dokumente: 10

Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 1841
Pergament · a-c + I + 56 + II-IV + d-f ff. · 38.3 x 26.5 cm · Frankreich · 13. Jahrhundert
Liber sapientiae glossatus

Diese Handschrift stammt aus Frankreich und war seit dem 14. Jahrhundert sicherlich Teil der Libraria secreta des Klosters des Heiligen Franziskus von Assisi, wie dies ein Eintrag im Inventar der Bibliothek belegt. Dieses Inventar wurde 1381 vom Bruder Giovanni Ioli geschrieben, der sich zwischen 1377 und 1384 um dessen Neuerstellung kümmerte. Die Handschrift enthielt ursprünglich nicht nur den Liber sapientiae, sondern auch den dritten und vierten Teil der Sentenzen des Petrus Lombardus. Sie gehört zur wichtigen Gruppe der französischen Handschriften, welche vom Kloster seit der Gründung der Bibliothek erworben wurden und von denen einige sehr reich geschmückt sind. Als die Handschrift noch in Besitz des Antiquars Leo Olschki war, war sie noch vollständig; die Kantons- und Universitätsbibliothek Lausanne kaufte sie in bereits geteiltem Zustand 1960 beim Genfer Antiquar Nicolas Rauch. (ber)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 4254
Pergament · 22 ff. · 20.4 x 15.5 cm · erstes Drittel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Othon de Grandson. Poesien

Othon de Grandson, Ritter und Dichter, zeichnete sich sowohl durch seine Verse als auch durch seine Heldentaten während des Hundertjährigen Krieges aus. Er war ein Berater von Amadeus VII. von Savoyen. Nach dem Tode seines Herren floh er nach England. Nach seiner Rückkehr ins Waadtland starb er durch ein Gottesurteil in Form eines Duells in Bourg-en-Bresse im Jahre 1397. Durch seine Dichtkunst trug Othon de Grandson dazu bei, dass insbesondere der Valentinstag bekannt wurde, der bis anhin hauptsächlich im angelsächsischen Raum gefeiert wurde. (swe)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 454
Pergament · 124 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · Frankreich · erste Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Roman de la Rose

Diese auf die erste Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts zu datierende Handschrift enthält eine Abschrift des Roman de la Rose, einer allegorischen Traumvision in alter französischer Sprache, welche von Willhelm von Lorris und Jean de Meung im 13. Jahrhunderts verfasst wurde. Diese Abschrift, sie stellt eine von mehr als 300 ganz oder teilweise erhaltenen dar, ist mit häufigen Annotationen versehen und zeigt Anzeichen einer intensiven Nutzung durch mehrere verschiedene Leser. (sti)

Online seit: 21.01.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 1016
Papier · 141 ff. · 29 x 20 cm · Genf · 16. Jahrhundert
„Recueil Grenet“

Der „Recueil Grenet“ ist ein Gedichtsammelband, der vom Genfer Kaufmann Gilbert Grenet (1510 ?-1568) geschrieben wurde und der französische Gedichte, die während der Jahre 1530-1560 entstanden sind, enthält. Der Sammelband beginnt mit um die vierzig Episteln und Zehnzeilern von Clément Marot, die vermutlich während und nach seinem Aufenthalt in Genf (1542-1543) abgeschrieben wurden. Danach folgen anonyme Gedichte über die Tugend der Erziehung und die Kunst des Schreibens. Zum Schluss folgen etwa vierzig Epigramme und Gedichte, die die Reformation preisen und gegen den Katholizismus polemisieren. Einige sind persönliche Überarbeitungen von Texten von Théodore de Bèze und Ronsard. Die Handschrift ist teilweise illuminiert und illustriert die Rolle der militanten Dichtung im kaufmännischen Milieu, welches die Reformation in der Stadt Genf zur Zeit Calvins unterstütze. Sie wurde von der Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne 1844 erworben. (dou)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 350
Papier · 181 ff. · 22 x 14.5 cm · um 1430
Othon de Grandson, Les Responses des cent Balades

Othon de Grandson, Ritter und Dichter, zeichnete sich sowohl durch seine Verse als auch durch seine Heldentaten während des Hundertjährigen Krieges aus. Er war ein Berater von Amadeus VII. von Savoyen. Nach dem Tode seines Herren floh er nach England. Nach seiner Rückkehr ins Waadtland starb er durch ein Gottesurteil in Form eines Duells in Bourg-en-Bresse im Jahre 1397. Othon de Grandson verfasste seine Gedichte vermutlich zwischen 1366 und 1372. Dieser Sammelband enthält ebenfalls Balladen von dreizehn verschiedenen Autoren. (swe)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 398
Pergament · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (Fragment)

Das Fragment aus dem Scriptorium des Klosters Fulda steht neben Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek Pal. lat. 921 für eine der beiden nachweisbaren Handschriften der Getica des Iordanes in (festländischer) angelsächsischer Minuskel; es handelt sich jedoch nicht um einen Teil des zu Beginn des 19. Jh. fehlenden letzten Blattes von Pal. lat. 921. Nach Palermo, Archivio di Stato "Codice Basile" sowie Rom, Biblioteca Vaticana Ottob. lat. 1346 und gemeinsam mit Pal. lat. 920 gehört der Blattrest zu den ältesten Testzeugen der Getica. Er könnte Teil einer Iordanes-Handschrift gewesen sein, die sich bis zur Mitte des 16. Jhs. in Fulda nachweisen lässt. (stb)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 403
Pergament · 113 ff. · 24 x 12.3 cm · Frankreich? · Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts
P. Ovidii Nasonis, Metamorphoses

Die Handschrift, in einer frühgotischen Schrift geschrieben und auf das Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts datiert, enthält eine unvollständige Kopie der Metamorphosen von Ovid (2,52 – 3,466; 3, 651 – 14,43; 14,414 – 15,668). Man findet darin Marginal- und Interlinearglossen, sowie Varianten von verschiedenen Händen. (del)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 5011
Pergament · IV + 45 ff. + V-VIII ff. · 33.5 x 22. 5 cm · Romainmôtier (?) · 12. Jahrhundert (ff. 1-30); gegen 1300 (ff. 31-45)
Kartular des Kluniazenserpriorats von Romainmôtier (Schweiz, Kanton Waadt)

Es handelt sich bei dieser Handschrift um ein Kartular, das zu Gunsten des Kluniazenserpriorats von Romainmôtier (Kanton Waadt) erstellt und wahrscheinlich im Kloster kopiert wurde. Es setzt sich aus zwei verschiedenen Einheiten mit unterschiedlicher Datierung zusammen, die zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt vereint wurden. Der erste Teil stammt aus dem 12. Jahrhundert und besteht aus 77 Dokumenten, eingeleitet durch ein Vorwort, das die wichtigsten Ereignisse der Institutionsgeschichte erzählt. Der zweite Teil wurde Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts kopiert und enthält 80 Dokumente, wovon die meisten auf die Jahre 1270-1286 zurückgehen. (anm)

Online seit: 29.03.2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, U 964
Pergament · VI + 522 + VI ff. · 33 x 24.5 cm · Frankreich · Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts
Biblia Porta

Die Biblia Porta – die den Namen ihres letzten privaten Besitzers trägt – ist eine illuminierte Bibel aus der franko-flämischen Region, die Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts entstanden ist. Der Reichtum dieses einmaligen und aussergewöhnlichen Werks befindet sich in der Qualität seiner Text-Illustrationen: 337 Szenen von einer grossen künstlerischen Feinheit, voller Leben und Ausdruck. Die Illustrationen bestehen aus historisierten Initialen, Ornament-Initialen, aus Drolerien und Randillustrationen. Der Text, der in einer sehr sorgfältigen Kalligraphie auf sehr feinem Pergament geschrieben wurde, ist die lateinische Version der Bibel des Heiligen Hieronymus, die in Paris im zweiten Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts überarbeitet wurde. Dieses Dokument ist eines der seltenen noch vorhandenen Werke dieser Buchmalerei-Schule aus dem Norden Frankreichs. (min)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, V 1765
Pergament und Papier · 117 ff. · 25 x 18.5 cm · 1. Teil: Italien; 2. Teil: Frankreich oder Schweiz · 1. Teil: Ende des 14./ Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts (Palimpsest 13. Jahrhundert); 2. Teil: 15. Jahrhundert
Heinrich Seuse, Horologium Sapientiae, Francesco Petrarca, De Vita Solitaria

Diese Handschrift enthält zwei unvollständige Texte in einem Einband aus dem 19. Jahrhundert. Dabei handelt es sich einerseits um das Horologium Sapientiae von Heinrich Seuse (1-66), einen Text, der in Konstanz entstand und im Spätmittelalter eine weite Verbreitung genoss, andererseits um Francesco Petrarcas De Vita Solitaria (67-116). Der erste Text ist eine Abschrift aus Italien auf Pergament, die auf das Ende des 14. oder den Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts datiert werden kann und von einer Hand in einer gotischen Halbkursiven in zwei Spalten geschrieben wurde. Sie wurde auf palimpsestiertem Pergament geschrieben, welches ursprünglich juristische Texte enthielt, die im 13. Jahrhundert geschrieben wurden. Der zweite Text von einer anderen Hand aus dem französischen oder Schweizer Raum enthält einen Text von Petrarca in einer Bastarda in zwei Spalten, die ins 15. Jahrhundert zu datieren ist. Beide Texte enthalten Fleuronnée-Initialen und Manikeln. (fav)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Dokumente: 10