Documents: 89, displayed: 1 - 20

Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 15
Parchment · III + 108 + II ff. · 17.7 x 13.5 cm · Naples · middle of the 14th century
Liturgical Psalter

This incomplete liturgical psalter was made between 1335 and 1350 in Naples. The unusual decorations are the work of the artist Christoforo Orimina. Because the manuscript contains three different coats of arms, the original owner (a member of the Angevin court in Naples) can not be definitively named. After changing hands many times during the 19th and 20th centuries, the manuscript was acquired in 1968 by the owner of the collection "Comites Latentes" ("Hidden Friends") held by the Bibliothèque de Genève. (jeg)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 38
Parchment · IV + 85 + IV ff. · 16.5 x 10.5 cm · Tours · around 1480
Book of Hours

This elegant pocket-size book of hours was illuminated in Tours around 1480 by the Maître des camaïeux d’or Le Bigot, who was active in the circle of the painter Jean Bourdichon. The sixteen tiny historiated initials in camaïeu d’or that are contained in the manuscript succeed the usual repertoire with an original cycle dedicated to the seven days of Creation. The artist demonstrates his exceptional technical mastery by lending the body of the initials an especially attractive evanescent character. The subtle arrangement of the surrounding letters should invite the anonymous patron to appreciate the meticulous combination of gold and colors in detail. (ada)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 54
Parchment · I+226+I ff. · 14.6 x 10.6 cm · Florence · 1470-1480
Book of hours

This precious book of hours was made in Florence around 1470-1480. Its rich and elegant illumination is due to the close circle of the most famous florentine miniaturist of his time, Francesco d’Antonio del Chierico. The same hand is responsible for the major illuminations at the beginning of the various sections as well the initials in the text. The flourished initials are of great elegance. A partly erased coat of arms on the opening leaf indicates that the book of hours was made for the wedding of a male member of the Serristori family. The manuscript entered in the collection of the present owner in 1970 and it was deposited at the Bibliothèque de Genève as part of Comites Latentes. (ali)

Online Since: 06/23/2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 69
Parchment and paper · 82 ff. · 15 x 11-11.7 cm · Vienna · 1756 and 18th-19th century
Pesach Haggadah

This handwritten Haggadah Comites Latentes 69 was created in Vienna in 1756. It is decorated with black ink and masterfully imitates copper engraving. The author is the famous scribe and illustrator Simmel ben Moses from Polna (active between 1714 and 1756), who produced about thirty dated manuscripts that have survived until today, of which, however, only 17, including CL 69, are autographs. His works of art are among the most remarkable examples of Hebrew manuscript decoration in 18th century Central Europe. The Song of Solomon, copied by later hands, concludes this magnificent manuscript. (iss)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 102
Parchment · 2 + 367 + 2 ff. · 34.6 x 26 cm  · Paris · around 1320
Vita plurimorum sanctorum apostolorum martirum confessorum atque virginum (Lives of the saints)

This manuscript is a hagiographic compilation in French prose which recounts the lives of the apostles, martyrs, confessors and saints. Some of the accounts are attributed to Wauchier de Denain. The manuscript is dated to the first quarter of the 14th century; it was decorated by the Papeleu Master and the illuminator Mahiet and notably contains more than eighty historiated initials. (hoc)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 124
Parchment · 227 ff. · 16 x 11 cm · Tours · around 1500
Book of hours

This richly decorated book of hours was illuminated in Tours in about 1500, for an owner from Toulouse. In the 15th century, the city of Tours and the Loire valley region were home to the court of the kings of France. This manuscript is closely connected to that glorious past era. The name of court painter Jean Bourdichon (ca. 1457-1521) is associated with two of the miniatures in this book of hours. The other 35 miniatures were painted by three book painters from the atelier of Jean Poyer (+ before 1504), also well-established in Tours. (jeg)

Online Since: 07/04/2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 145
Paper · 672 pp. · 21 x 15 cm · Ottoman empire · 15th century
Collectanea of kabbalistic and magical texts in Hebrew

The greater part of the manuscript (pp. 21-598) is a compendium by Joseph b. Elijah Tirshom titled Sefer Shoshan Yesod Olam that includes 2174 numbered paragraphs, containing, inter alia, a book of magic called Harba de-Moshe (Sword of Moses) and other texts. Copied in the Ottoman empire in a 15th century Byzantine script with additions in later hands. (oku)

Online Since: 06/09/2011

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 146
Paper · 590 pp. · 12.5 x 17.5 cm · Orient? · 14th century (?)
Midrash Tanhuma (Leviticus-Numbers-Deuteronomy)

One of the earliest manuscript exemplars of the version of the Tanhuma midrash text known among scholars as the "printed text" (first printed in Constantinople, 1520-22), as distinguished from the version first edited and printed by Solomon Buber in Vilnius, 1885. Copied probably somewhere in the Orient around the 14th century, the Hebrewscript is Oriental semi-cursive. (oku)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 173
Paper · VI + 173 + VI ff. · 21.7-21.9 x 15-15.5 cm · Velletri · between 1565 and 1599
Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim

This legal manuscript with the title Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim is part of a vernacular literary genre for women that was widely read in Ashkenazic and Italian communities since the Renaissance. This manual of prescriptions in Judeo-Italian is said to have been copied from the famous Italian kabbalist and preacher Mordechai ben Juda Dato during the second half of the 16th century. (iss)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 183
Parchment · 104 ff. · 24.4 x 14.1 cm · England · last quarter of the 12th century
Herman of Valenciennes, Bible translation in alexandrine verse

This text contains an adaptation of several narrative parts of the Bible in Old French. The poem in alexandrine verse (en laisses d’alexandrins) was composed in the 12th century by an author of the continent and became one of the most successful religious works in Old French. This manuscript preserves one of the oldest and most complete exemplars of this work; it is the only one to contain almost the entire text from the Anglo-Norman branch of the text tradition. Because the text probably is of insular origin, this manuscript proves the almost simultaneous dissemination of the text in England. (ber)

Online Since: 06/23/2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 269
Parchment · V + 72 + V ff. · 18 x 12 cm · Italy, Naples · 1467 and 1468
Diogenes of Sinope, Brutus and Hippocrates, Letters (translated by Francesco d'Arezzo and Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

This volume is a collection of letters, made in 1467 and 1468 in Naples for Roberto da Sanseverino, Prince of Salerno, contains letters by Diogenes of Sinope, Brutus and Hippocrates, who were regarded during the middle ages as the true authors of these letters. They were translated into Latin by Francesco Griffolini Aretino and Ranuccio of Arezzo. This book was presented for sale several times during the 20th century and passed through the hands of prestigious collectors. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 278
Paper · III + 1 + II f. · 25.7 x 17-18 cm · 12th century
Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub

This rare Judeo-Arabic fragment is from the Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub (Guide to the Duties of the Heart ) by Baḥya ben Joseph Ibn Paquda (2nd half of the 11th century). This work is of fundamental importance since it sets out the first Jewish system of ethics. The manuscript tradition of this Judeo-Arabic work is quite fragmentary because few textual witnesses remain today. (iss)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 1/1
Parchment · 216 + I ff. · 42.7 x 31 cm · Paris · ca. 1400-1450, additional pages XVI-XVII
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

The Bible Historiale is a Bible edition translated by Guyart de Moulins into French prose at the end of the 13th century. It is presented in the form of biblical stories and combines the Vulgata of Jerome with the Historia Scholastica of Peter Comestor. It was quickly supplemented with the second volume of the Bible du XIIIe siècle (“Thirteenth-century Bible”). Because it was widely disseminated during the 14th and 15th centuries, today there are 144 known examples, both complete exemplars and fragments. (hoc)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 1/2
Parchment · I + 214 ff. · 42.7 x 31 cm · Paris · ca. 1400-1450, additional pages XVI-XVII
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

The Bible Historiale is a Bible edition translated by Guyart de Moulins into French prose at the end of the 13th century. It is presented in the form of biblical stories and combines the Vulgata of Jerome with the Historia Scholastica of Peter Comestor. It was quickly supplemented with the second volume of the Bible du XIIIe siècle (“Thirteenth-century Bible”). Because it was widely disseminated during the 14th and 15th centuries, today there are 144 known examples, both complete exemplars and fragments. (hoc)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 2
Parchment · (I-III) + 474 + (IV-V) ff. · 39 x 29 cm · around 1330
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

This Bible Historiale is the Bible translated toward the end of the 13th century into French and prose by Guyart des Moulins. Presented in the form of a holy story, it joins Jerome’s Vulgata and Petrus Comestor’s Historia Scholastica. It was quickly completed by the second volume of the Bible du XIIIe siècle. Widely used in the 14th and 15th centuries; today there exist 144 complete or fragmentary exemplars. (hoc)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 5
Parchment · 182 ff. · 27.8 x 20.5 cm · around 1460
François Ximenes, Livre des anges (El Llibre dels àngels)

In this work, written at the end of the 14th century in Valencia, the author describes the universe of angels, inspired by Dionysius the Areopagite’s De triplici gerarchia. The text, which was in wide use during the second half of the 15th century, was translated into French and published as a first printed edition in Geneva in the year 1478. The Ms. fr. 5 was illuminated by the Master of the Geneva Boccaccio and contains the coat of arms of Jeanne de Laval, second wife of King René of Anjou. (hoc)

Online Since: 12/18/2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 6
Parchment · 217 ff. · 27 x 19 cm · Geneva (?) · 1417
Heinrich Seuse, Horloge de Sapience

In 1389, the Franciscan monk Jean de Souabe translated into French the Horologium sapientiae by the mystic Henry Suso (1295-1366) of the Rhineland. In this moral treatise, wisdom conducts a dialog with a student regarding the spiritual path to be followed, as inspired by the passion of Christ, and invites him to meditate on the passing of time. More than fifty copies of this work are known. This manuscript from the Bibliothèque de Genève, dated 1417, was probably written in the episcopal city. (hoc)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 57
Parchment · 491 ff. · 36.5 x 26.5 cm · France · ca. 1402
Jacobus de Voragine, Légende dorée (Legenda aurea), in the translation of Jean de Vignay; Jean Golein, Fêtes nouvelles [followed by] Du Saint Voult de Lucques

The Legenda aurea is one of the most copied texts in all of the medieval Occident. In short texts, it blends sanctoral and temporal celebrations in the course of the year, following the order of the liturgical calendar. Popular not only in Latin but also in the vernacular languages, it had various uses, as a tool for preaching and as a source of moral edification through private reading for the layperson as well as the cleric. (hoc)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 64
Parchment · 375 ff. · 35.5 x 28 cm · around 1480
Jean Mansel, La fleur des histoires

This universal history, which contains biblical and secular stories, is one of the most extensvie works of its type from the middle ages. The date of the manuscript can be fixed in the third quarter of the 15th century; it was decorated by the Flemish illuminator Wilhelm Vrelant, a producer of top quality miniatures. (hoc)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 70/1
Parchment · 241 ff. · 35 x 25.5 cm · Lyon · ca. 1457-1482
Jean de Courcy, La Bouquechardière

Between 1416 and 1422, Jean de Courcy wrote a chronicle titled La Bouquechardière, named after his fief. The chronicle, which consists of 6 books, is a compilation of mythological, biblical and legendary stories. The first volume contains the first three books, i.e., the history of Greece, of Troy and of the Trojans who escaped the destruction of their town. The Genevan manuscript comes from the Lyon workshop known as “de Guillaume Lambert.” The manuscript contains beautiful frontispiece illuminations at the beginning of each book. (hoc)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Documents: 89, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 114, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 15
Pergament · III + 108 + II ff. · 17.7 x 13.5 cm · Neapel · Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Liturgischer Psalter

Dieser unvollständige liturgische Psalter entstand in den Jahren 1335-1350 in Neapel. Der aussergewöhnliche Buchschmuck ist das Werk des Malers Christoforo Orimina. Da sich in der Handschrift drei verschiedene Wappen finden, lässt sich der ursprüngliche Auftraggeber (ein Mitglied des angevinischen Hofes in Neapel) nicht eindeutig feststellen. Nachdem die Handschrift während des 19. Und 20. Jahrhunderts häufig den Besitzer wechselte, kam sie als Teil der Sammlung «Comites Latentes» in die Bibliothèque de Genève. (jeg)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 38
Pergament · IV + 85 + IV ff. · 16.5 x 10.5 cm · Tours · gegen 1480
Stundenbuch

Dieses elegante Stundenbuch im Taschenformat wurde um 1480 in Tours vom Maître des camaïeux d’or Le Bigot illuminiert, der im Umfeld des Malers Jean Bourdichon tätig war. Die sechzehn winzigen in der Handschrift enthaltenen historisierten Initialen in camaïeu d'or lassen auf das übliche Repertoire einen originellen Zyklus folgen, der den sieben Tagen der Schöpfung gewidmet ist. Der Künstler demonstriert seine herausragende technische Meisterschaft, indem er den Bäuchen der Initialen einen besonders attraktiven, vergänglichen Charakter verleiht. Die raffinierte Anordnung der sie umgebenden Buchstaben sollte ihren anonymen Auftraggeber dazu einzuladen, die sorgfältige Kombination von Gold und Farben im Detail zu würdigen. (ada)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 54
Pergament · I+226+I ff. · 14.6 x 10.6 cm · Florenz · 1470-1480
Stundenbuch

Dieses wertvolle Stundenbuch wurde in Florenz um 1470-1480 geschaffen; sein reicher und eleganter Buchschmuck stammt aus der Werkstatt des bekanntesten Illuminators in Florenz zu der Zeit, Francesco d’Antonio del Chierico, von dessen Hand auch die illuminierten Seiten zu Beginn der Messen sind, ebenso die illuminierten Initialen im Text. Auch die Filigraninitialen sind sehr elegant. Ein Wappen, leider teilweise ausgelöscht, weist darauf hin, dass dieses Manuskript für die Heirat eines Mitglieds der Familie Serristori angefertigt wurde. 1970 wurde das Manuskript von einem Privatsammler erworben und kam später als Teil der Sammlung Comites Latentes in die Bibliothèque de Genève. (ali)

Online seit: 23.06.2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 69
Pergament und Papier · 82 ff. · 15 x 11-11.7 cm · Wien · 1756 und 18.-19. Jahrhundert
Pessach Haggada

Die handgeschriebene Haggada Comites Latentes 69 wurde 1756 in Wien geschaffen. Sie ist mit schwarzer Tinte verziert und imitiert meisterhaft den Kupferstich. Autor ist der berühmte Schreiber und Illustrator Simmel ben Moses aus Polna (aktiv zwischen 1714 und 1756), der gegen dreissig datierte und heute erhaltene Handschriften produzierte, wovon jedoch nur 17, inklusive CL 69, Autographe sind. Seine Kunstwerke gehören zu den bemerkenswertesten Beispielen der Dekoration hebräischer Handschriften im Zentraleuropa des 18. Jahrhunderts. Das Hohelied Salomons, von späteren Händen kopiert, bildet den Abschluss dieser grossartigen Handschrift. (iss)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 102
Pergament · 2 + 367 + 2 ff. · 34.6 x 26 cm  · Paris · um 1320
Vita plurimorum sanctorum apostolorum martirum confessorum atque virginum (Heiligenviten)

Diese Handschrift ist eine hagiographische Zusammenstellung in französischer Prosa, welche das Leben der Apostel, Märtyrer, Beichtväter und Heiligen erzählt. Einige der Erzählungen werden Wauchier de Denain zugeschrieben. Die Handschrift wird ins erste Viertel des 14. Jahrhunderts datiert, wurde von Maître Papeleu und dem Buchmaler Mahiet ausgeschmückt und enthält insbesondere mehr als achtzig historisierte Initialen. (hoc)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 124
Pergament · 227 ff. · 16 x 11 cm · Tours · um 1500
Stundenbuch

Dieses reich dekorierte Stundenbuch wurde in Tours um 1500 für einen Besitzer aus Toulouse illuminiert. Die Stadt Tours und das Gebiet des Val de Loire wurden im 15. Jahrhundert Residenzorte des Hofes der Könige Frankreichs. Diese Handschrift ist eng mit dieser glanzvollen Vergangenheit verbunden. Der Name Jean Bourdichons (gegen 1457 – 1521), Hofmaler, wird nämlich in Bezug auf zwei Miniaturen mit diesem Stundenbuch in Verbindung gebracht. Die übrigen 35 Miniaturen stammen von drei Buchmalern aus dem Atelier von Jean Poyer († vor 1504), das ebenfalls in Tours etabliert war. (jeg)

Online seit: 04.07.2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 145
Papier · 672 pp. · 21 x 15 cm · Osmanisches Reich · 15. Jahrhundert
Auswahl von kabbalistischen und magischen Texten in Hebräisch

Der grössere Teil der Handschrift (pp. 21-598) ist ein Kompendium von Joseph b. Elijah Tirshom mit dem Titel Sefer Shoshan Yesod Olam welches 2174 nummerierte Paragraphen umfasst und, unter anderem, ein Buch der Magie, genannt Harba de-Moshe („Schwert des Mose“) und andere Texte beinhaltet. Kopiert wurde die Handschrift im Osmanischen Reich in einer byzantinischen Schrift des 15. Jahrhunderts mit Ergänzungen von späteren Händen. (oku)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 146
Papier · 590 pp. · 12.5 x 17.5 cm · Orient? · 14. Jahrhundert (?)
Midrash Tanhuma (Leviticus-Numeri-Deuteronomium)

Eine der frühesten Abschriften des Tanhuma Midrasch, in der als „printed text“ bekannten Version (Erstdruck, 1520-22 in Konstantinopel), im Unterschied zur Version, die von Solomon Buber 1885 in Vilnius zum ersten Mal ediert wurde. Kopiert an einem nicht näher bestimmten Ort im Orient; die hebräische Schrift ist eine orientalische Halbkursive. (oku)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 173
Papier · VI + 173 + VI ff. · 21.7-21.9 x 15-15.5 cm · Velletri · zwischen 1565 und 1599
Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim

Diese juristische Handschrift mit dem Titel Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim gehört zu einer volkssprachlichen Literaturgattung für Frauen, die in den aschkenasischen und italienischen Gemeinden seit der Renaissance sehr verbreitet war. Das Handbuch mit Vorschriften in Judäo-Italienisch soll von dem berühmten italienischen Kabbalisten und Prediger Mordechai ben Juda Dato während der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts abgeschrieben worden sein. (iss)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 183
Pergament · 104 ff. · 24.4 x 14.1 cm · England · letztes Viertel des 12. Jahrhunderts
Hermann von Valenciennes, Bibelübersetzung mit alexandrinischen Strophen

Der Text enthält eine Adaptation von einigen narrativen Teilen der Bibel in altfranzösischer Sprache. Das Gedicht in alexandrinischen Strophen (en laisses d’alexandrins) wurde von einem Autor auf dem Festland im 12. Jh. verfasst und wurde zu einem der erfolgreichsten religiösen Werke in Altfranzösisch. Die Handschrift überliefert eines der ältesten und vollständigsten Exemplare dieses Werkes und ist das einzige, das beinahe den vollständigen Text des anglonormannischen Überlieferungsstammes enthält. Aufgrund des wahrscheinlich insularen Ursprungs belegt dieser Textzeuge die beinahe gleichzeitige Rezeption des Werkes in England. (ber)

Online seit: 23.06.2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 269
Pergament · V + 72 + V ff. · 18 x 12 cm · Italien, Neapel · 1467 und 1468
Diogenes von Sinope, Brutus, Hippokrates, Briefe (Übersetzung von Francesco d'Arezzo und Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

Dieser Briefsammelband, der 1467 und 1468 in Neapel für Roberto da Sanseverino, den Prinzen von Salerno, geschrieben wurde, enthält Briefe von Diogenes von Sinope, Brutus und Hippokrates, die im Mittelalter als die wirklichen Verfasser dieser Briefe angesehen wurden. Sie wurden von Francesco Griffolini Aretino und Ranuccio d’Arezzo ins Lateinische übersetzt. Dieses Buch wurde im 20. Jahrhundert mehrmals zum Verkauf angeboten und von angesehenen Sammlern erworben. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 278
Papier · III + 1 + II f. · 25.7 x 17-18 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub

Dieses seltene, Judäo-Arabische Fragment stammt aus dem Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub (Lehrbuch der Herzenspflichten) von Baḥya ben Joseph Ibn Paquda (2. Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts). Das Werk ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, da es das erste jüdische Ethik-System festlegt. Die handschriftliche Überlieferung dieses Judäo-Arabischen Werkes ist sehr lückenhaft, da heute nur mehr wenige Textzeugen vorhanden sind. (iss)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 1/1
Pergament · 216 + I ff. · 42.7 x 31 cm · Paris · ca. 1400-1450, dann 16.-17. Jahrhundert
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

Die Bible Historiale ist die von Guyart des Moulins Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts ins Französische und in Prosa übersetzte Bibel. Sie ist als biblische Geschichte dargestellt und vereint die Vulgata von Hieronymus mit der Historia Scholastica von Petrus Comestor. Sie wurde rasch durch den zweiten Band der Bible du XIIIe siècle (Bibel des 13. Jahrhunderts) ergänzt. Aufgrund ihrer weiten Verbreitung im 14. und 15. Jahrhundert sind heute 144 Exemplare bekannt, sowohl vollständige Exemplare als auch Fragmente. (hoc)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 1/2
Pergament · I + 214 ff. · 42.7 x 31 cm · Paris · ca. 1400-1450, dann 16.-17. Jahrhundert
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

Die Bible Historiale ist die von Guyart des Moulins Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts ins Französische und in Prosa übersetzte Bibel. Sie ist als biblische Geschichte dargestellt und vereint die Vulgata von Hieronymus mit der Historia Scholastica von Petrus Comestor. Sie wurde rasch durch den zweiten Band der Bible du XIIIe siècle (Bibel des 13. Jahrhunderts) ergänzt. Aufgrund ihrer weiten Verbreitung im 14. und 15. Jahrhundert sind heute 144 Exemplare bekannt, sowohl vollständige Exemplare als auch Fragmente. (hoc)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 2
Pergament · (I-III) + 474 + (IV-V) ff. · 39 x 29 cm · um 1330
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

Die Bible Historiale ist die von Guyart des Moulins gegen Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts auf Französisch und in Prosa übersetzte Bibel. In der Form einer heiligen Geschichte präsentiert, vereint sie die Vulgata des Hieronymus und die Historia Scholastica von Petrus Comestor. Sie wurde umgehend durch den zweiten Band der Bible du XIIIe siècle ergänzt. Weit verbreitet im 14. und 15. Jahrhundert zählt man heute 144 vollständige und fragmentarische Exemplare. (hoc)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 3/1
Papier · IV + 296 + III ff. · 41 x 29.5 cm · 1474
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

Die Bibliothèque de Genève bewahrt ein drittes Exemplar in zwei Bänden der Bible Historiale von Guyart des Moulins (neben Ms. fr. 1/1-2 und Ms. fr. 2). Trotz der groben Ausführung seiner Zeichungen ist diese Kopie aufgrund ihrer Herkunft bemerkenswert. Sie wurde von Jean Bagnel im Auftrag von Hugonin Dupont kopiert, Händler und Bürger der Stadt Genf, und kam im Jahr 1603 in den Besitz der Bibliothèque de Genève. (hoc)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 3/2
Papier · V + 288 + III ff. · 41 x 29.5 cm · 1474
Guyart des Moulins, Bible Historiale

Die Bibliothèque de Genève bewahrt ein drittes Exemplar in zwei Bänden der Bible Historiale von Guyart des Moulins (neben Ms. fr. 1/1-2 und Ms. fr. 2). Trotz der groben Ausführung seiner Zeichungen ist diese Kopie aufgrund ihrer Herkunft bemerkenswert. Sie wurde von Jean Bagnel im Auftrag von Hugonin Dupont kopiert, Händler und Bürger der Stadt Genf, und kam im Jahr 1603 in den Besitz der Bibliothèque de Genève. (hoc)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 5
Pergament · 182 ff. · 27.8 x 20.5 cm · um 1460
François Ximenes, Livre des anges (El Llibre dels àngels)

In diesem Werk, das am Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts in Valenzia verfasst wurde, beschreibt der Autor das Universum der Engel, inspiriert von Dionysios Areopagitas De triplici gerarchia. Der Text, der im 15. Jahrhundert weit verbreitet war, wurde auf Französisch übersetzt und in einer ersten gedruckten Edition in Genf im Jahr 1478 herausgegeben. Illuminiert durch den Meister des Boccaccio in Genf, enhält das Ms. fr. 5 die Wappen der Jeanne de Laval, zweite Frau des Königs René d’Anjou. (hoc)

Online seit: 18.12.2014

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 6
Pergament · 217 ff. · 27 x 19 cm · Genf (?) · 1417
Heinrich Seuse, Horloge de Sapience

1389 übersetzte der Franziskanermönch Jean de Souabe das Horologium sapientiae des rheinischen Mystikers Heinrich Seuse (1295-1366) auf Französisch. In diesem moralischen Traktat führt die Weisheit einen Dialog mit einem Schüler über den zu befolgenden spirituellen Weg, der von der Passion Christi inspiriert ist, und lädt ihn dazu ein, über den Lauf der Zeit zu meditieren. Mehr als fünfzig Exemplare dieses Werkes sind bekannt. Die auf 1417 datierte Handschrift in der Bibliothèque de Genève wurde wahrscheinlich in der Bischofsstadt geschrieben. (hoc)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. fr. 57
Pergament · 491 ff. · 36.5 x 26.5 cm · Frankreich · ca. 1402
Jacobus de Voragine, Légende dorée (Legenda aurea), Übersetzung von Jean de Vignay; Jean Golein, Fêtes nouvelles Du Saint Voult de Lucques

Die Legenda aurea ist eines der meist kopierten Werke des gesamten mittelalterlichen Abendlandes. In Form von kurzen Texten präsentiert vermischt sie die Feiern des Temporale und des Sanktorale, die während des Jahres begangen werden, gemäss der Abfolge des liturgischen Kalenders. Sowohl in Latein wie auch in den Volkssprachen weit verbreitet, wurde sie zu verschiedenen Zwecken benutzt, sei es als Hilfsmittel für die Predigt, oder sowohl für den Laien wie für den Kleriker als Quelle der moralischen Erbauung durch die private Lektüre. (hoc)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Dokumente: 114, angezeigt: 1 - 20