Documents: 700, displayed: 61 - 80

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek

The Abbey Library of St. Gall is one of the oldest monastic libraries in the world; it is the most important part of St. Gall’s Abbey district UNESCO world heritage site. The library’s valuable holdings illustrate the development of European culture and document the cultural achievements of the Monastery of St. Gall from the 7th century until the dissolution of the Abbey in the year 1805. The core of the library is its manuscript collection with its preeminent corpus of Carolingian-Ottonian manuscripts (8th to 11th century), a significant collection of incunabula and an accumulated store of printed works from the 16th century to the present day. The Abbey Library of St. Gall was a co-founder of the project e-codices. With its famous Baroque hall, where temporary exhibitions are hosted, the Abbey Library of St. Gall is one of the most visited museums in Switzerland.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Parchment · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul

A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul. This manuscript, produced by the Cloister of St. Gall in the 9th century, is significant in terms of textual history study. Pages 231 through 260 contain the oldest commentary on the Letter to the Hebrews, composed by Irish theologians from the circle of Pelagius during the 7th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 74
Parchment · 300 pp. · 38-38.5 x 26 cm · 12th century
Bible (Apc, Epistolae catholicae, Io), with Glossa ordinaria

Copy of New Testament books with prologues and Glossa ordinaria: Gilbertus Porretanus, prologue to the Apocalypse, Stegmüller RB 839 (pp. 24), Apocalypse (pp. 481), prologue to the catholic epistles, Stegmüller RB 809 and 11846 (p. 82), Epistle of James (pp. 8399), First Epistle of Peter (pp. 99115), Second Epistle of Peter (pp. 115126), First Epistle of John (pp. 126141), Second Epistle of John (pp. 141143), Third Epistle of John (pp. 143145), Epistle of Jude (pp. 145150), prologue to the Gospel of John, Stegmüller RB 624 (pp. 151153), Gospel of John (pp. 154300). At the beginning of the chapters (p. 2, 4, 83, 126, 141, 145, 151, 154), there are initials stretching over several lines executed in minium with blue, green and light yellow, in part with figurative elements (p. 83 and 145: animal head and animal mask; p. 126: quadruped; p. 143: billy goat; p. 154: dragon). In the margin on p. 99, there is a depiction of the Apostle Peter with the keys. (sno)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 75
Parchment · 840 pp. · 55 x 40 cm · Tours, Abbey St. Martin · 9th century
Biblia latina Vet. et Novi Testamenti

The earliest complete extant pandect of Alcuin from the abbey of St. Martin at Tours. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 76
Parchment · 858 (822) pp. · 34.4 x 48.3 cm · St. Gall (?) · 12th century
Biblia latina utriusque Testamenti

Complete Bible in large-format, only the Psalms and the Book of Baruch are not included. The individual books are introduced by initials in red ink over several lines (e.g., p. 3). The inside of the back cover shows imprints of pages in uncial script, probably a 5th century version of a Vetus Latina. (sno)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 77
Parchment · 482 pp. · 46.5 x 35 cm · St. Gall · around 850-860
Bible (Gen, Ex, Lev, Num, Deut, Josh, Judg, Ruth)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges and Ruth). The first volume of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 78
Parchment · 336 pp. · 42 x 31 cm · St. Gall · third quarter of the 9th century
Bible (I-II Sam, III-IV Kings)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Samuel I and II and Kings III and IV).The second volume of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 79
Parchment · 452 pp. · 39.5 x 30 cm · St. Gall · third quarter of the 9th century
Bible (I-II Chr, Jdt, Esth, I-II Ezra, I-II Macc)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Paralipomenon I and II, Judith, Esther, Ezra, Nehemiah and Maccabees I and II). (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 80
Parchment · 308 pp. · 41 x 26.5/26.7 cm · All Saints, Schaffhausen · around 1100
Pentateuch . Books of Josua and Judges . Epistles of Paul

A copy of the first five books of Moses (the Pentateuch), the books of Joshua and Judges from the Old Testament as well as the Epistles of Paul and the Acts of the Apostles from the New Testament, produced in about 1100 in the cloister of All Saints (Allerheiligen) in Schaffhausen, already recorded in the 12th century as held in St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 81
Parchment · 363 pp. · 42 x 31 cm · St. Gall · third quarter of the 9th century
Bible (Prov, Eccl, Song, Wis, Sir, Job, Tob)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, Wisdom, Ecclesiasticus - also called Sirach, Job, Tobit). A volume of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 82
Parchment · 551 pp. · 40.5 x 29.5 cm · St. Gall · third quarter of the 9th century
Bible (Isa, Jer, Ezek, XII min. proph., Dan)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Daniel and the minor prophets.) A volume of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 83
Parchment · 418 pp. · 40.5 x 30.5 cm · St. Gall · around 850-860
Bible (Epistles, Acts, Apoc)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing the Pauline Epistles, the Acts and Revelations. The last volume (6) of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 85
Parchment · 472 pp. · 45 x 26 cm · St. Gall · first third of the 9th century
Expositio in Lucam libri VI

Exegesis of St Luke's Gospel by Beda Venerabilis, written by the monk and master scribe Wolfcoz around 820/840. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 86
Parchment · 234 pp. · 30.5-31 x 23.5-24 cm · Einsiedeln · around 950-970
The Pseudo-Clementines

The Pseudo-Clementines in a copy produced at the Cloister of Einsiedeln in the period around 950/970, with a title illustration showing the conflict between Peter the Apostle and Simon Magus. The 10-book "Pseudo-Klementinen" is written from the point of view of Peter's follower Clement and tells about Peter's travels, his conflict with Simon Magus, and the conversion of his pupil, Clement of Rome. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 87
Parchment · 345 pp. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Homiliae Origenis in Genesim, Exodum et Leviticum.

A copy of the sermons of the early Christian theologian Origen (185-254) on the Old Testament books of Genesis, Exodus and Leviticus, produced in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 88
Parchment · 596 pp. · 29 x 22 cm · St. Gall · second half of the 9th century
Origenes, Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos

An excellently crafted copy of the ten-part commentary of the Greek theologian Origen (185-253/54) on the Epistle to the Romans (Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos), produced in the Cloister of St. Gall during the second half of the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 89
Parchment · 217 pp. · 23.4-23.5 x 15.2-15.4 cm · St. Gall · end of the 9th century
Cypriani de dominica oratione etc. Dicta Gregorii Nazanzeni episcopi de Hieremia propheta. Cypriani de mortalitate.

This manuscript of collected works is important to textual history and contains various works by Bishop Cyprian of Carthage († 258), including De dominica oratione, De mortalitate and De opere et eleemosynis, together with a tract by an unknown Irish author, De duodecim abusivis saeculi written by an unknown author, and the invocation of Gregory of Nazianz to the residents of Nazianz in Latin translation (Ad cives Nazianzenos gravi timore perculsos et praefectum irascentem) copied near the end of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 90
Parchment · 170 pp. · 27.5 x 19-19.5 cm · second half of the 9th century (?)
Altercatio contra Arrium. Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum.

This manuscript contains a Latin language copy of the Altercatio contra Arrium by the church father Athanasius that is significant to textual history, together with one of the five oldest copies of the Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum by the church father Jerome, probably made by the St. St. Gall monk Rifine during the second half of the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 92
Parchment · 184 pp. · 24.4-24.5 x 17.9-18.1 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Libri VI Effrem diaconi de judicio etc., et alia.

Copies of various works by the church father Ephraem the Syrian in Latin, written in the Abbey of St. Gall during the 9th century. Among them are the works De iudicio dei et resurrectione, De beatitudine animae, De poenitentia, De luctaminibus and De die iudicii et monita. The leaves of the last portion of the manuscript, which contains Sermon 60 of Caesarius of Arles, were previously folded. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 93
Parchment · 112 ff. · 22.6-22.7 x 14.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Effrem diaconi opuscula

Copies of assorted shorter sermons in Latin by Ephrem the Syrian (d. 373), some of them incomplete, including De compunctione cordis, De iudiciis dei and De beatitudine animarum, produced at the Abbey of St. Gall during the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 94
Parchment · 112 ff. · 19.5-20 x 14-14.5 cm · 9th century
Sanctus Ambrosius, Contra haereticos, eius Epistolae

A not particularly good quality copy of three letters by Ambrose, three chapters from the work De fide contra Arianos by Faustinus, the report (Relatio) by the Roman Prefect Symmachus (about 342-402/403) about the conflict over the altar of Victoria, and the oration of Augustine against the Arians (Contra sermonem Arrianorum)  preceded by the oration of the Arians (Sermo Arrianorum). This Codex was produced in the 9th century in the Cloister of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Documents: 700, displayed: 61 - 80

Dokumente: 700, angezeigt: 61 - 80

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek

Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen ist eine der ältesten Klosterbibliotheken der Welt und der wichtigste Teil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes Stiftsbezirk St. Gallen. Ihr wertvoller Bestand zeigt die Entwicklung der europäischen Kultur und dokumentiert die kulturelle Leistung des Klosters St. Gallen vom 7. Jahrhundert bis zur Aufhebung der Abtei im Jahr 1805. Das Herzstück der Bibliothek bilden die Handschriftensammlung mit ihrem herausragenden Korpus karolingisch-ottonischer Manuskripte (8. bis 11. Jahrhundert), eine bedeutende Sammlung von Inkunabeln und ein gewachsener Bestand an Druckwerken vom 16. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Das Projekt e-codices wurde von der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen mtbegründet. Mit dem berühmten Barocksaal, in dem Wechselausstellungen gezeigt werden, gehört die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen zu den bestbesuchten Museen der Schweiz.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Pergament · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen

Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen. Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert. Von Seite 231 bis Seite 260 ist auch der älteste Kommentar zum Brief an die Hebräer überliefert, der von irischen Theologen aus dem Umkreis des Pelagius wohl noch im 7. Jahrhundert verfasst wurde. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 74
Pergament · 300 pp. · 38-38.5 x 26 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Bibel (Apc, Epistolae catholicae, Io), mit Glossa ordinaria

Abschrift neutestamentlicher Bücher mit Prologen und Glossa ordinaria: Gilbertus Porretanus, Prolog zur Apokalypse, Stegmüller RB 839 (p. 24), Apokalypse (p. 481), Prologe zu den Katholischen Briefen, Stegmüller RB 809 und 11846 (p. 82), Jakobusbrief (p. 8399), 1. Petrusbrief (p. 99115), 2. Petrusbrief (p. 115126), 1. Johannesbrief (p. 126141), 2. Johannesbrief (p. 141143), 3. Johannesbrief (p. 143145), Judasbrief (p. 145150), Prolog zum Johannes-Evangelium, Stegmüller RB 624 (p. 151153), Johannesevangelium (p. 154300). Zu Beginn der Kapitel (p. 2, 4, 83, 126, 141, 145, 151, 154) mehrzeilige Initialen in Minium, mit Blau, Grün und Blassgelb, teilweise mit figürlichen Elementen (p. 83 und 145: Tierkopf und Tiermaske; p. 126: Vierbeiner; p. 143: Ziegenbock; p. 154: Drache). Auf p. 99 am Rand Darstellung des Apostels Petrus mit Schlüssel. (sno)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 75
Pergament · 840 pp. · 55 x 40 cm · Tours, Kloster St. Martin · 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina Vet. et Novi Testamenti

Die älteste vollständig erhaltene Vollbibel des Alkuin aus dem Martinskloster in Tours (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 76
Pergament · 858 (822) pp. · 34.4 x 48.3 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 12. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina utriusque Testamenti

Grossformatige Vollbibel, nur die Psalmen und das Buch Baruch sind darin nicht enthalten. Mit mehrzeiligen roten Initialen zu Beginn der einzelnen Bücher (z. B. p. 3). Auf der Innenseite des Hinterdeckels Abklatsche von Blättern in Unzialschrift, wahrscheinlich einer Vetus-Latina-Version des 5. Jahrhunderts. (sno)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 77
Pergament · 482 pp. · 46.5 x 35 cm · St. Gallen · um 850-860
Bibel (Gn, Ex, Lv, Nm, Dt, Ios, Idc, Rt)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numeri, Deuteronomium, Josua, Richter und Ruth. Band 1 der so genannten Grossen Hartmut-Bibel (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 78
Pergament · 336 pp. · 42 x 31 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (I-II Sm, III-IV Rg)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Samuel (I und II Sm) und der Könige (III und IV Rg). Band 2 der so genannten Grossen Hartmut-Bibel (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 79
Pergament · 452 pp. · 39.5 x 30 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (I-II Par, Idt, Est, I-II Esr, I-II Mcc)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Paralipomenon (I und II), Judith, Esther, Esra, Nehemia und der Makkabäer (I und II) (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 80
Pergament · 308 pp. · 41 x 26.5/26.7 cm · Allerheiligen, Schaffhausen · um 1100
Pentateuch . Bücher Josua und Judicum . Paulus-Briefe . Apostelgeschichte

Abschrift der ersten fünf Bücher Mose (Pentateuch), der Bücher Josua und Judicum aus dem Alten Testament sowie der Paulus-Briefe und der Apostelgeschichte aus dem Neuen Testament, geschrieben gegen 1100 im Kloster Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen, bereits im 12. Jahrhundert nach St. Gallen gelangt. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 81
Pergament · 363 pp. · 42 x 31 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (Prv, Ecl, Ct, Sap, Sir, Iob, Tb)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (um 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift alttestamentlicher Bücher (Buch der Sprichwörter; Buch Kohelet, Hohelied, Buch der Weisheit, Buch Jesus Sirach, Buch Job, Buch Tobias). Band der so genannten "Grossen Hartmut-Bibel" (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 82
Pergament · 551 pp. · 40.5 x 29.5 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (Is, Ier, Ez, XII Proph. min., Dn)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Isaias, Jeremias, Ezechiel, Daniel und der Kleinen Propheten. Band der so genannten Grossen Hartmut-Bibel (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 83
Pergament · 418 pp. · 40.5 x 30.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 850-860
Bibel (Epistolae, Act, Apc)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der Paulusbriefe, der Apostelgeschichte und der Apokalypse. Letzter Band (6) der so genannten Grossen Hartmut-Bibel (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 85
Pergament · 472 pp. · 45 x 26 cm · St. Gallen · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Expositio in Lucam libri VI

Auslegung des Lukas-Evangeliums durch Beda Venerabilis, geschrieben vom Mönch und Schreibmeister Wolfcoz um 820/840 (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 86
Pergament · 234 pp. · 30.5-31 x 23.5-24 cm · Einsiedeln · um 950-970
Die Pseudo-Klementinen

Die Pseudo-Klementinen in einer Abschrift aus dem Kloster Einsiedeln aus der Zeit um 950/970, mit einem Titelbild, das den Konflikt zwischen dem Apostel Petrus und Simon Magus zeigt. Die in zehn Büchern gegliederten "Pseudo-Klementinen erzählen aus der Sicht des Petrus-Begleiters Klemens von den Reisen des Petrus, von seinen Kämpfen mit Simon Magus und der Bekehrung des Apostelschülers Klemens von Rom. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 87
Pergament · 345 pp. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Homiliae Origenis in Genesim, Exodum et Leviticum.

Abschrift der Homilien des frühchristlichen Kirchenschriftstellers Origenes (185-254) zu den alttestamentlichen Büchern Genesis, Exodus und Leviticus, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 88
Pergament · 596 pp. · 29 x 22 cm · St. Gallen · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Origenes, Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos

Qualitätvolle Abschrift des zehnteiligen Kommentars des griechischen Theologen Origenes (185-253/54) zum Römerbrief (Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos), geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 89
Pergament · 217 pp. · 23.4-23.5 x 15.2-15.4 cm · St. Gallen · Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts
Cypriani de dominica oratione etc. Dicta Gregorii Nazanzeni episcopi de Hieremia propheta. Cypriani de mortalitate.

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Sammelhandschrift, mit verschiedenen Werken des Bischofs Cyprianus von Karthago († 258), darunter De dominica oratione, De mortalitate und De opere et eleemosynis, mit dem von einem unbekannten Autor irischer Provenienz verfassten Traktat De duodecim abusivis saeculi sowie der Aufruf von Gregor von Nazianz in lateinischer Übersetzung an die Einwohner von Nazianz (Ad cives Nazianzenos gravi timore perculsos et praefectum irascentem), geschrieben gegen Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 90
Pergament · 170 pp. · 27.5 x 19-19.5 cm · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts (?)
Altercatio contra Arrium. Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum.

Textgeschichtlich wichtige Abschrift der Altercatio contra Arrium des Kirchenvaters Athanasius in lateinischer Sprache sowie eine der fünf ältesten Abschriften der Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum des Kirchenvaters Hieronymus, geschrieben möglicherweise vom St. Galler Mönch Rifine in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 92
Pergament · 184 pp. · 24.4-24.5 x 17.9-18.1 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Libri VI Effrem diaconi de judicio etc., et alia.

Abschrift von verschiedenen Werken des syrischen Kirchenvaters Ephraem (des Syrers) in lateinischer Sprache, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert. Darunter finden sich die Werke De iudicio dei et resurrectione, De beatitudine animae, De poenitentia, De luctaminibus oder De die iudicii et monita. Die Blätter des letzten Teils der Handschrift, die den Sermo 60 von Caesarius von Arles enthalten, waren früher gefaltet. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 93
Pergament · 112 ff. · 22.6-22.7 x 14.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Effrem diaconi opuscula

Teilweise unvollständige Abschriften von verschiedenen kürzeren Sermones von Ephrem dem Syrer († 373) in lateinischer Sprache, darunter De compunctione cordis, De iudiciis dei oder De beatitudine animarum, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 94
Pergament · 112 ff. · 19.5-20 x 14-14.5 cm · 9. Jahrhundert
Sanctus Ambrosius, Contra haereticos, eius Epistolae

Nicht sehr gepflegte Abschrift von drei Briefen des Ambrosius, drei Kapiteln aus dem Werk De fide contra Arianos des Faustinus, der Relatio des römischen Präfekten Symmachus (um 342-402/403) zum Streit um den Victoria-Altar sowie der Rede des Augustinus gegen die Arianer (Contra sermonem Arrianorum), dem die Rede der Arianer (Sermo Arrianorum) vorangeht. Der Codex wurde im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Dokumente: 700, angezeigt: 61 - 80