Select manuscript from this collection: Cod. Sang. 2  Cod. Sang. 1279 Cod. Sang. 1285  Cod. Sang. 2135  612/660
Country of Location:
Country of Location
Switzerland
Location:
Location
St. Gallen
Library / Collection:
Library / Collection
Stiftsbibliothek
Shelfmark:
Shelfmark
Cod. Sang. 1280
Manuscript Title:
Manuscript Title
Manuscript catalog by Father Hermann Schenk from the period around 1700 – Register of abbey library benefactors from 1567 until about 1780 – Various special lists of the abbey library’s printed books, compiled between about 1696 and about 1762.
Caption:
Caption
Paper · 280 pp. · 33 × 22.5 cm · Monastery of  St. Gall · 17th and 18th century (about 1680-1780)
Language:
Language
Latin
Manuscript Summary:
Manuscript Summary
A composite manuscript that is very instructive about the history of the library; it is made up of various documents, written between 1680 and 1780 and then bound together. Part 1 (pp. 7-121): manuscript catalog by Fr. Hermann Schenk (1653-1706) from the period around 1700. Around 1750, Fr. Pius Kolb (1712-1762) added his new catalog signatures. Kolb also noted missing manuscripts in Schenk’s catalog. Most of these had been taken to Zurich in 1712 (deest). Part 2: (pp. 127153 and pp. 162167): register of abbey library benefactors (Monumentum gratitudinis dedicatum benefactoribus Bibliothecae), begun in 1680 and continued until 1780. Extraordinary donations to the library were entered retroactively to 1567, such as (p. 133) the “donation” of a large terrestrial and celestial globe by the pharmacist Lukas Stöckli from Constance. Such mentions often concern objects from the library’s cabinet of curiosities and rarities. Part 3 (pp. 155-161): books that were acquired between 1717 and 1737 under Abbot Joseph von Rudolphi (1717-1740). Part 4 (pp. 169 and pp. 175-187): books from the estate of Prince-Abbot (1687-1696) and Cardinal Cölestin Sfondrati, which after his death were integrated into the library by Fr. Hermann Schenk. Part 5 (pp. 191-234): collection of larger format volumes from the abbey library from the period around 1700. Part 6: (pp. 237270; separate loose documents): list of the abbey library’s most beautiful books from the period around 1750, composed by Fr. Pius Kolb and entitled Ilias in nuce. Part 7 (pp. 275-280; collection of loose pages): list of manuscript signatures by Fr. Pius Kolb. (smu)
Standard description:
Standard description
Scherrer Gustav, Verzeichniss der Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek von St. Gallen, Halle 1875, S. 441.
Show standard description
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-csg-1280 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-csg-1280)
Permanent link:
Permanent link
http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/csg/1280
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/csg-1280/manifest.json
How to quote:
How to quote
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1280: Manuscript catalog by Father Hermann Schenk from the period around 1700 – Register of abbey library benefactors from 1567 until about 1780 – Various special lists of the abbey library’s printed books, compiled between about 1696 and about 1762. (http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/csg/1280).
Online Since:
Online Since
06/23/2014
Additional literature:
Additional literature
Additional literature – St. Galler Bibliotheksnetz (SGBN) - Verbundkatalog
Rights:
Rights
Images:
(Concerning all other rights see each manuscript description and our Terms of use)
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any annotations for this manuscript. Be the first to create one!
Add an annotation
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any new bibliographical references for this manuscript. Be the first to add one!
Add a bibliographical reference

Reference Images and Binding

Front cover
Front cover
Spine
Spine
Back cover
Back cover
Ruler on page
Ruler on page
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker

Handschrift in dieser Sammlung wählen: Cod. Sang. 2  Cod. Sang. 1279 Cod. Sang. 1285  Cod. Sang. 2135  621/670
Standortland:
Standortland
Schweiz
Ort:
Ort
St. Gallen
Bibliothek / Sammlung:
Bibliothek / Sammlung
Stiftsbibliothek
Signatur:
Signatur
Cod. Sang. 1280
Handschriftentitel:
Handschriftentitel
Handschriftenkatalog von Pater Hermann Schenk aus der Zeit um 1700 – Verzeichnis von Wohltätern der Klosterbibliothek von 1567 bis ca. 1780 – Verschiedene zwischen ca. 1696 und ca. 1762 angelegte Sonderverzeichnisse von gedruckten Büchern der Klosterbibliothek
Schlagzeile:
Schlagzeile
Papier · 280 pp. · 33 × 22.5 cm · Kloster St. Gallen · 17. und 18. Jahrhundert (ca. 1680-1780)
Sprache:
Sprache
Lateinisch
Kurzcharakterisierung:
Kurzcharakterisierung
Bibliotheksgeschichtlich aufschlussreicher Sammelband, aus verschiedenen zwischen 1680 und 1780 geschriebenen Konvoluten zusammengebunden. Teil 1 (p. 7-121): Handschriftenkatalog des P. Hermann Schenk (1653-1706) aus der Zeit um 1700. Von P. Pius Kolb (1712-1762) wurden um 1750 dessen neue Handschriftensignaturen hinzugeschrieben. Kolb vermerkte in Schenks Katalog auch das Fehlen von Manuskripten. Die meisten davon waren 1712 nach Zürich gelangt (deest).Teil 2 (p. 127153 und p. 162167): Verzeichnis von Wohltätern der Klosterbibliothek (Monumentum gratitudinis dedicatum benefactoribus Bibliothecae), angelegt 1680 und weitergeführt bis 1780. Rückwirkend bis 1567 wurden aussergewöhnliche Geschenke an die Bibliothek eingetragen, so (p. 133) fürs Jahr 1595 die „Schenkung“ des grossen Erd- und Himmelsglobus durch Apotheker Lukas Stöckli aus Konstanz. Die Nennungen betreffen häufig Objekte aus dem Kuriositäten- und Raritätenkabinett der Bibliothek. Teil 3 (p. 155-161): Bücher, die unter Abt Joseph von Rudolphi (1717-1740) zwischen 1717 und 1737 erworben werden konnten. Teil 4 (p. 169 und p. 175-187): Bücher aus der Hinterlassenschaft von Fürstabt (1687-1696) und Kardinal Cölestin Sfondrati, die P. Hermann Schenk nach dessen Tod in die Bibliothek integrierte. Teil 5 (p. 191-234): Zusammenstellung von grösserformatigen Bänden der Klosterbibliothek aus der Zeit um 1700. Teil 6 (p. 237270; loses separates Konvolut): von P. Pius Kolb verfasste Zusammenstellung der schönsten Bücher der Klosterbibliothek aus der Zeit um 1750, betitelt Ilias in nuce. Teil 7 (p. 275-280; lose, zusammengelegte Blätter): Liste mit Handschriftensignaturen von P. Pius Kolb. (smu)
Standardbeschreibung:
Standardbeschreibung
Scherrer Gustav, Verzeichniss der Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek von St. Gallen, Halle 1875, S. 441.
Standardbeschreibung anzeigen
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-csg-1280 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-csg-1280)
Permalink:
Permalink
http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/csg/1280
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/csg-1280/manifest.json
Wie zitieren:
Wie zitieren
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1280: Handschriftenkatalog von Pater Hermann Schenk aus der Zeit um 1700 – Verzeichnis von Wohltätern der Klosterbibliothek von 1567 bis ca. 1780 – Verschiedene zwischen ca. 1696 und ca. 1762 angelegte Sonderverzeichnisse von gedruckten Büchern der Klosterbibliothek (http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/csg/1280).
Online seit:
Online seit
23.06.2014
Neuere Literatur:
Neuere Literatur
Neuere Literatur – St. Galler Bibliotheksnetz (SGBN) - Verbundkatalog
Rechte:
Rechte
Bilder:
(Hinsichtlich aller anderen Rechte, siehe die jeweilige Handschriftenbeschreibung und unsere Nutzungsbestimmungen)
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden
Es gibt noch keine Annotationen zu dieser Handschrift. Erstellen Sie die erste!
Eine Annotation hinzufügen
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden
Es gibt noch keine zusätzliche bibliographische Angaben zu dieser Handschrift. Fügen Sie die erste hinzu!
Eine bibliographische Angabe hinzufügen

Referenzbilder und Einband

Vorderseite
Vorderseite
Buchrücken
Buchrücken
Rückseite
Rückseite
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker