Documents: 35, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices I

January - December 2007

Status: Completed

Financed by: Loterie Romande (http://www.loro.ch)

Description: The process of digitizing the manuscripts of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny has been underway since 2007. In the same year the digitisation of 40 manuscripts was made possible by the generous financial support of the Loterie Romande.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 7
Parchment · 59 ff. · 20.8 x 14.2 cm · Italy, Naples · 15th century
Genus Arati

This Latin manuscript on astronomical topics includes works by Germanicus, Pliny the Elder and Hyginus. The codex features numerous pen and ink drawings, including a planisphere (rotatable star chart) consisting of five golden concentric circles containing constellations portrayed as people or animals. These drawings, dating from the 15th century, have been attributed to Antonio di Mario of the Neapolitan region. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 10
Parchment · 251 ff. · 26.6 x 19.3 cm · France · 13th century
Aristoteles, Opera; Avicenna, De congelatione seu De mineralibus; Nicolaus Damasceus, De plantis; Costa-Ben-Luca, De differentia spiritus et animae; Alexander Aphrodisiensis, Opera

Manuscript CB 10 was probably intended for educational use, it contains works of Aristotle, Avicenna, Nicolaus Damascenus, Qusta Ibn-Luca and Alexander Aphrodisiensis. This manuscript, written on parchment during the 13th century, presumably belonged to a student of the Faculty of Arts in Leipzig, as may be concluded from a list of lectures attended during the year 1439 which is included in the codex. The list contains the names of the professors, titles of the texts covered, lecturers' fees, and starting and ending dates for the lecture periods. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 14
Parchment · 263 ff. · 43.5 x 27.2 cm · Italy, Bologna (?) · 14th century
Hazo Bononiensis . Hugolinus Bononiensis . Iohannes Bassianus . Placentinus

This Latin parchment manuscript from the 14th century contains a comprehensive commentary by jurists of Bologna on the "Corpus Iuris Civilis" as well as on others, such as the "Codex Justinianus" and the "Digests". (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 21
Parchment · 347 ff. · 28 x 23.5 cm · Spain (?) · 13th century
Tanach/Hebrew Bible

The Hebrew text of the Old Testament in CB 21 originated in Moorish Spain: Al-Andalus. Unlike most similar surviving manuscripts, it does not belong to the Ashkenazic tradition, but is instead an artifact of the Sephardic book culture of the 13th century. The ornamentation is strongly influenced by calligraphic art. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 30
Parchment · 163 + 16 ff. · 22.7 x 15.7 cm · Southern Germany · around 1200 / 13th / 14th centuries
Calendarium (Prayer calendar), Latin Bible selections: Liber Psalmorum, Cantica with prayers; Hymns, etc.

This codex from southern Germany is composed of two parts bound together in one German binding in 1569. The first part of the manuscript contains about a hundred leaves from the 12th and 13th centuries. It begins with a calendar featuring numerous constellations and full page illustrations. Following are prayers and liturgical songs. The second part consists of thirty leaves containing a series of Latin prayers in carefully wrought late 14th century Gothic script. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 43
Parchment · III + 208 + III pp. · 27 x 19 cm · England · end of the 15th century
Chronicle of London and paraphrase of the Metrical Chronicle of Robert of Gloucester

This parchment manuscript from the end of the 15th century contains the "Chronicle of London" as well as a version of the paraphrase text of the "Metrical Chronicle" by Robert of Gloucester found only in this manuscript, CB 43. The dialect used in the text indicates that the manuscript was written by a scribe from the southern Midlands. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 45
Parchment · 301 ff. · 23 x 33 cm · Spain · around 1470
Cancioneiro de Pedro Fernandez de Velasco. Diversas Virtudes y vicios y Yinnos

A collection of Spanish poems, addressed to Don Alvar Garcia de Santa Maria, advisor to King John II of Castille. The collection includes all the Proverbios of Inigo Lopez de Mendoza, Marquis of Santillana, and poetry by Juan de Mena, Diego del Castilla, Fernando de Escobar, Gomes Manrique, Juan Angras, Juan De Dueñas, Juan Rodrigues de la Camera, and others. The manuscript was commissioned by Pedro Fernandez de Velasco, first Count of Haro, one of the most powerful personalities of the 15th century, well known as a statesman, independant scholar, poet, and bibliophile. (bib)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 48
Paper · II + 247 + VI ff. · 28.7 x 19.5 cm · England · third quarter of the 15th century
Chaucer, Canterbury Tales (to l. 1061)

The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer, the "Father of English Poetry", have been preserved in 82 medieval manuscripts and four incunabula editions. The copy in CB 48 was made in the 15th century by a single scribe. The manuscript is still in its original binding of suede deerskin stretched over wooden covers. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 56
Paper · 218 ff. · 32.3 x 22 cm · end of the 14th century
Dante, Divine Comedy (Codice Ricasoli Firidolfi)

The "Codex Ricasoli Firidolfi", written on paper at the end of the 14th century, provides important evidence of the dissemination of Dante Alighieri's Commedia. The initial of the opening verse of the Inferno shows the famous profile of the author, surrounded by flowers. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 61
Parchment · I + 108 + I ff. · 24.5 x 16.5 cm · Netherlands · about 1400-1405
Eike von Repgow: Sachsenspiegel

The Sachenspiegel by Eike von Repgow is one of the oldest books of law in the German language. This parchment manuscript, CB 61, was produced at the beginning of the 15th century and contains codes of common and feudal law. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 62
Paper · I + 51 + I ff. · 21.1 x 15.1 cm · Southeast Germany · second half of the 14th century
Spiritual Poems · Hartmann von Aue: Gregorius · Frauenlob: Mary's Song (also called Frauenlob's Song of Songs) · Meister Albrant: Horse Medicine (Erlau composite manuscript or "Sammelhandschrift")

This paper manuscript from the second half of the 14th century contains Gregorius by Hartman von Aue, Marienleich by Frauenlob, and the Rossarzneibuch (Horse Medicine) by Meister Albrant. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 72
Parchment · 333 ff. · 34.5 x 25 cm · Bohemia (northwestern), Upper Franconia, southern Vogtland · first quarter of the 14th century
Collected short Middle High German works in rhyming couplets (the "Kalocsa-Codex"; "Gesamtabenteuer")

The so called "Kalocsa-Kodex" contains more than two hundred texts from the time between the and of the 12th century and the beginning of the 14th centuries. It is a wide-ranging written record of German lyric poetry in the middle ages. In its approximately 330 parchment leaves, it preserves poetry by Walter von der Vogelweide, Konrad von Würzburg, Hartman von Aue, Reinmar von Zweter, and the Stricker as well as texts in the tradition of "Fuchsdictung" (Fox Tales) and a series of anonymous works. CB 72 is closely related to another manuscript written in the same hand, a partial copy of the same material, which is held by the University Library of Heidelberg (Cod. Pal. Germ. 341). (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 74
Parchment · 128 ff. · 31.2 x 19.6 cm · Rome · 1071
Gradual · Tropary · Sequentiary.

This Gradual was produced in 1071 by the archpresbyter of the Church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere; it contains the musical scores for assorted liturgical songs. These melodies set down in written form make CB 74 the oldest record of Roman song. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 75
Parchment · 282 ff. · 46.3 x 29.2 cm · Bologne · 13th-14th centuries or beginning of the 14th century
Gratianus, Decretum (cum glossa ordinaria)

This manuscript containing legal materials from the 13th or early 14th century demonstrates the high regard in which the "Decretum Gratiani", often considered the foundation of modern canon law, was held during the middle ages. The text is bordered by the "Glossa Ordinaria" of Johannes Teutonicus, in the first revision by Barthomeus of Brescia (before 1245). The manuscript features numerous ornately illustrated initials. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 77
Parchment · 112 ff. · 14 x 9 cm · central Italy · 12th century
Guido Aretinus, Micrologus; Prologus in Antiphonarium; De ignoto cantu; Regulae rhythmicae

This 12th century manuscript from central Italy contains works of music theory by three Latin authors. Among these is Guido Aretinus, a Tuscan monk of the 10th century who is regarded as the inventor of solmisation. Some passages of text in the codex are based on the Institutio musica by Boethius. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 78
Parchment · 88 ff. · 32.5 x 23 cm · Italy, Venice · 14th century (around 1370?)
Guido de Columnis, Historia destructionis Troiae

This 14th century parchment manuscript preserves the "Historia destructionis Troiae" by Guido de Columnis for posterity. Its 187 miniatures crafted by Giustino da Forli portray the most important scenes of the Trojan War against a background of the Gothic architecture of Venice. The margins of the manuscript reveal written traces of the collaborative efforts of the copyist and the illuminator: the scribe made notes in Venetian dialect indicating the plan for incorporating a series of miniature illustrations, which were then duly added by the illuminator. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 83
Paper · 62 ff. · 30 x 20 cm · Hesse · last third of the 14th century
Heinrich of Veldeke, Eneide

This 14th century codex is one of seven surviving manuscripts that preserve in its entirety the Eneasroman (Romance of Aeneas) by Heinrich von Veldeke, one of the most important pioneers of Middle High German poetry. This work by Veldeke is the first courtly romance written in Middle High German and is an adaptation of the Old French Roman d'Eneas, originally written in about 1160. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 84
Parchment · 12 + 51 ff. · 22.3 x 17.2 cm · Fulda · 9th century (first half)
De victus ratione liber II seu De observantia ciborum

This Carolingian manuscript from the period before 850 comes from the Cloister of Fulda. It contains the sole extant copy of the Latin version of a text falsely attributed to Hippocrates: "De victus ratione", which sets forth the foundations of dietetics and emphasizes the antagonism between the elements of fire and water within the body. Numerous scholars and physicians have relied on this text throughout history. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 91
Paper · 389 ff. · 29.2 x 20 cm · South Tyrol (Carthusian monastery of Allerengelberg?) · 1468
Hugo von Trimberg: Der Renner · Johann Hartlieb: Alexanderroman

This manuscript from the southern Tyrol was produced by two scribes in the year 1468 and bound as one volume during the same period. It brings together the didactic work Der Renner (The Runner or Courier) by Hugo von Trimberg and the Alexanderroman (Romance of Alexander) following a compilation by Johann Hartlieb. The codex contains 91 pen sketches. Instructions for the execution of these sketches can be found in the lower margins of the pages on which they appear. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 93
Parchment · 59 ff. · 23.2 x 16.2 cm · France · end of the 14th century
Jacques de Cessoles, Echecs moralisés

This parchment manuscript from the time around 1400 contains a work by the Dominican sermonist Jacques de Cessoles, using the game of chess as the allegorical basis for a lesson in morals. The same theme is carried out in 16 accompanying illustrations as well. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Documents: 35, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 35, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Fondation Martin Bodmer auf e-codices I

Januar - Dezember 2007

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Loterie Romande (http://www.loro.ch)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Seit 2007 werden Handschriften der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny durch e-codices digital erschlossen. Die Digitalisierung von 40 Handschriften wurde 2007 ermöglicht durch die grosszügige Unterstützung der Loterie Romande.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 7
Pergament · 59 ff. · 20.8 x 14.2 cm · Italien, Neapel · 15. Jahrhundert
Genus Arati

Die lateinische Handschrift mit astronomischem Inhalt enthält Werke von Germanicus, Plinius dem Älteren und Hyginus. Der Codex weist zahlreiche Tuschzeichnungen auf, darunter eine Planisphäre aus fünf goldenen, konzentrischen Kreisen, die als Personen oder Tiere abgebildete Sternbilder enthalten. Die ins 15. Jahrhundert zu datierenden Zeichnungen werden Antonio di Mario im neapolitanischen Umland zugeschrieben. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 10
Pergament · 251 ff. · 26.6 x 19.3 cm · Frankreich · 13. Jahrhundert
Aristoteles, Opera; Avicenna, De congelatione seu De mineralibus; Nicolaus Damasceus, De plantis; Costa-Ben-Luca, De differentia spiritus et animae; Alexander Aphrodisiensis, Opera

Die wahrscheinlich für den didaktischen Gebrauch vorgesehene Handschrift CB 10 enthält Werke von Aristoteles, Avicenna, Nicolaus Damascenus, Qusta Ibn-Luqa und Alexander Aphrodisiensis. Diese auf Pergament des 13. Jahrhunderts geschriebene Handschrift gehörte vermutlich einem Studenten der Artesfakultät in Leipzig, wie sich aus einer im Codex enthaltenen Liste besuchter Vorlesungen aus dem Jahr 1439 schliessen lässt. Die Liste enthält ferner Namen der Professoren, Titel der behandelten Texte, Gehälter der Lehrer sowie Anfangs- und Enddaten der Vorlesungen. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 14
Pergament · 263 ff. · 43.5 x 27.2 cm · Italien, Bologna (?) · 14. Jahrhundert
Hazo Bononiensis . Hugolinus Bononiensis . Iohannes Bassianus . Placentinus

Diese lateinische Pergamenthandschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts enthält einen umfassenden Kommentar von Bologneser Juristen zum Corpus Iuris Civils, so u.a. zum Codex Iustinianus oder den Digesten. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 21
Pergament · 347 ff. · 28 x 23.5 cm · Spanien (?) · 13. Jahrhundert
Tanach/Hebräische Bibel

Der in CB 21 enthaltene hebräische Text des Alten Testaments stammt aus dem maurischen Spanien, Al-Andalus, und gehört damit nicht zur aschkenasischen Tradition, wie die Mehrzahl der überlieferten Handschriften dieser Art, sondern ist Zeuge sephardischer Buchkultur des 13. Jahrhunderts. Der Buchschmuck ist stark von der kalligraphischen Kunst geprägt. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 30
Pergament · 163 + 16 ff. · 22.7 x 15.7 cm · Süddeutschland · um 1200 / 13./14. Jahrhundert
Calendarium, Biblia latina: Liber Psalmorum; Cantica biblica; Orationes; Hymni etc.

Dieser Codex aus Süddeutschland besteht aus zwei Teilen, zusammengebunden in einem deutschen Einband von 1569. Der erste Teil der Handschrift enthält rund hundert Blätter aus dem 12. und 13. Jahrhundert. Er beginnt mit einem Kalender, der zahlreiche Sternzeichen und ganzseitige Illustrationen aufweist. Darauf folgen Gebete und liturgischen Gesänge. Der zweite Teil besteht aus dreissig Blättern und verzeichnet in sorgfältiger gotischer Schrift des 14. Jahrhunderts eine Folge von lateinischen Gebeten. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 43
Pergament · III + 208 + III pp. · 27 x 19 cm · England · Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
"Chronik von London" und Paraphrase der Reimchronik des Robert von Gloucester

Diese Pergamenthandschrift vom Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts enthält die «Chronik von London» sowie eine nur in CB 43 belegte Textversion der Paraphrase der Reimchronik des Robert von Gloucester. Die Handschrift wurde dem dialektalen Einschlag der Texte nach von einem Schreiber aus dem Süden der Midlands verfasst. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 45
Pergament · 301 ff. · 23 x 33 cm · Spanien · um 1470
Cancioneiro de Pedro Fernandez de Velasco. Diversas Virtudes y vicios y Yinnos

Sammlung von spanischen Gedichten, die an Don Alvar Garcia de Santa Maria, Berater des Königs Johann II. von Kastilien, gerichtet ist. Die Sammlung enthält alle Proverbios von Inigo Lopez de Mendoza, Marquis von Santillana, und die Gedichte von Juan de Mena, Diego del Castilla, Fernando de Escobar, Gomes Manrique, Juan Angras, Jean de Duenas, Juan Rodrigues de la Camara, etc. Die Handschrift wurde von Pedro Fernandez de Velasco, dem ersten Grafen von Haro, in Auftrag gegeben, einem der mächtigsten Notabeln des 15. Jahrhunderts, der als Staatsmann, Privatgelehrter, Dichter und Bücherliebhaber bekannt war. (bib)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 48
Papier · II + 247 + VI ff. · 28.7 x 19.5 cm · England · drittes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Chaucer, Canterbury Tales (to l. 1061)

Die Canterbury Tales von Geoffrey Chaucer, des "Vaters der englischen Dichtung", wurden zwischen 1388 und 1400 geschrieben und haben sich in ungefähr 82 Handschriften und vier Inkunabel-Ausgaben erhalten. Die Handschrift CB 48, geschrieben von einem einzigen Schreiber aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, behielt ihren aussergewöhnlichen Originaleinband aus über Holzdeckel gespanntem Veloursleder. (fmb)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 56
Papier · 218 ff. · 32.3 x 22.0 cm · Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts
Dante, Commedia (Codice Ricasoli Firidolfi)

Der «Codex Ricasoli Firidolfi», der am Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts auf Papier geschrieben wurde, ist ein wichtiger Zeuge für die Überlieferung der Commedia des Dante Alighieri. Die Initiale des einleitenden Verses zum Abschnitt der Hölle (inferno) zeigt das berühmte Profil des Autors, umrankt von Blumen. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 61
Pergament · I + 108 Bll. + I ff. · 24.5 x 16.5 cm · Niederlande · ca. 1400-1405
Eike von Repgow: Sachsenspiegel

Der Sachsenspiegel Eike von Repgows ist eines der ältesten Rechtsbücher in deutscher Sprache. Die Pergamenthandschrift CB 61 wurde Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts abgeschrieben und enthält Land- und Lehenrecht. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 62
Papier · I + 51 Bll. + I ff. · 21.1 x 15.1 cm · Südostdeutscher Raum · zweite Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Geistliche Gedichte · Hartmann von Aue: Gregorius · Frauenlob: Marienleich · Meister Albrant: Roßarzneibuch (Erlauer Sammelhandschrift)

Die Papierhandschrift aus der zweiten Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts enthält Hartmann von Aues "Gregorius", Frauenlobs Marienleich und das Rossarzneibuch von Meister Albrant. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 72
Pergament · 333 ff. · 34.5 x 25 cm · Nordwestböhmen / Oberfranken / südl. Vogtland · erstes Viertel des 14. Jahrhunderts
Sammlung kleinerer mittelhochdeutscher Reimpaardichtungen (Kalocsa-Kodex)

Der so genannte «Kalocsa-Kodex» enthält mehr als zweihundert Texte aus der Zeit zwischen dem Ende des 12. und dem Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts und ist ein herausragendes Zeugnis deutscher Lyrik des Mittelalters. Er überliefert auf rund 330 Pergamentblättern Gedichte Walthers von der Vogelweide, Konrads von Würzburg, Hartmanns von Aue, Reinmars von Zweter oder des Strickers sowie Texte in der Tradition der Fuchsdichtung und eine Reihe anonymer Werke. CB 72 ist eng verwandt mit einer von derselben Hand geschriebenen und teilweise kopierten Handschrift, die in der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg aufbewahrt wird (Cod. Pal. Germ. 341). (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 74
Pergament · 128 ff. · 31.2 x 19.6 cm · Rome · 1071
Graduale · Troparium · Sequentiarium

Dieses Gradual wurde 1071 vom Erzpriester Johannes von der Kirche Santa Cecilia in Trastevere geschrieben und enthält die Notenschrift verschiedener Messgesänge. Die schriftlich festgehaltenen Melodien machen aus CB 74 das älteste Zeugnis des altrömischen Gesangs. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 75
Pergament · 282 ff. · 46.3 x 29.2 cm · Bologne · 13.-14. Jahrhundert oder zu Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts
Gratianus, Decretum (cum glossa ordinaria)

Diese Handschrift juristischen Inhalts des 13. oder beginnenden 14. Jahrhunderts zeigt die grosse Beachtung, welche im Mittelalter dem Decretum Gratiani geschenkt wurde. Der Text ist eingerahmt durch die Glossa Ordinaria des Johannes Teutonicus, in der ersten Überarbeitung des Bartholomäus von Brescia (vor 1245). Die Handschrift weist zahlreiche historisierte Initalen auf. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 77
Pergament · 112 ff. · 14 x 9 cm · Mittelitalien · 12. Jahrhundert
Guido Aretinus, Micrologus; Prologus in Antiphonarium; De ignoto cantu; Regulae rhythmicae

Diese aus Mittelitalien stammende Handschrift des 12. Jahrhunderts enthält musiktheoretische Werke von drei lateinischen Autoren. Darunter ist auch Guido Aretinus, ein toskanischer Mönch vom Ende des 10. Jahrhunderts, dem die Erfindung der Solmisation zugeschrieben wird. Einige Passagen der im Codex enthaltenen Texte lehnen sich an die Institutio musica von Boethius an. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 78
Pergament · 88 ff. · 32.5 x 23 cm · Italien, Venedig · 14. Jahrhundert (um 1370?)
Guido de Columnis, Historia destructionis Troiae

Die Pergamenthandschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts überliefert die Historia destructionis Troiae von Guido de Columnis. Die 187 Miniaturen wurden von Giustino da Forli ausgeführt und zeigen die wichtigsten Ereignisse des Trojanischen Krieges vor dem Hintergrund gotischer Architektur in Venedig. An den Rändern in der Handschrift finden sich schriftliche Spuren der Zusammenarbeit von Kopist und Illuminator: in venezianischem Dialekt notierte der Schreiber das für die Miniaturen vorgesehene Bildprogramm, welches der Illuminator dann getreulich umsetzte. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 83
Papier · 62 ff. · 30 x 20 cm · Hessen · drittes Drittel des 14. Jahrhunderts
Heinrich von Veldeke, Eneide

Der Codex aus dem 14. Jahrhundert ist eine von sieben erhaltenen Handschriften, welche den Eneasroman Heinrichs von Veldeke, einem wichtigen Wegbereiter der mittelhochdeutschen Dichtung, vollständig überliefern. Bei Veldekes Werk handelt es sich um den ersten mittelhochdeutschen höfischen Roman und eine Bearbeitung des um 1160 entstandenen altfranzösischen Roman d'Eneas. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 84
Pergament · 12 + 51 ff. · 22.3 x 17.2 cm · Fulda · 9. Jahrhundert (erste Hälfte)
De victus ratione liber II seu De observantia ciborum

Diese Karolingische Handschrift aus der Zeit vor 850 stammt aus dem Kloster Fulda. Der Codex enthält in einziger Überlieferung die lateinische Version eines Textes, der fälschlicherweise Hippocrates zugeschrieben wurde: Die Schrift De victus ratione legt die Grundlagen der Diätetik und betont den Antagonismus der Elemente Feuer und Wasser im Körper. Zahlreiche Gelehrte und Ärzte haben sich im Laufe der Geschichte auf diesen Text berufen. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 91
Papier · 389 ff. · 29.2 x 20.0 cm · Südtirol (Kartause Allerengelberg?) · 1468
Hugo von Trimberg: Der Renner · Johann Hartlieb: Alexanderroman

Die Handschrift aus Südtirol wurde von zwei Schreibern im Jahr 1468 erstellt und vereinigt in einem zeitgenössischen Einband das didaktische Werk «Der Renner» von Hugo von Trimberg sowie den Alexanderroman nach einer Kompilation von Hans Hartlieb. Der Codex enthält 91 Federzeichnungen. Anweisungen zur Ausführung dieser Zeichnungen sind am unteren Rand der jeweiligen Seite erhalten. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 93
Pergament · 59 ff. · 23.2 x 16.2 cm · Frankreich · Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts
Jacques de Cessoles, Echecs moralisés

Die Pergamenthandschrift aus der Zeit um 1400 enthält das Werk des dominikanischen Predigers Jacques de Cessoles, der das Schachspiel als Gleichnis für seine moralischen Ausführungen verwendet. Dies wird auch in 16 Miniaturen bildlich dargestellt. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Dokumente: 35, angezeigt: 1 - 20