Documents: 38, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices II

January - December 2009

Status: Completed

Financed by: Loterie Romande (http://www.loro.ch)

Description: The process of digitizing the manuscripts of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny has been underway since 2007. In 2009, the digitisation of another 40 manuscripts was made possible by the renewed financial support of the Loterie Romande.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 11
Parchment · 80 ff. · 26.3 x 18 cm · 13th century
Chanson d’Aspremont

The Estoire de la guerre sainte, attributed to Ambroise d’Evreux, informs us that the Chanson d’Aspremont was read aloud during the winter of 1190 to entertain the soldiers of Richard the Lionhearted and Philip Augustus, who were stationed in Sicily. This heroic epic (chanson de geste) in rhymed decimeter and Alexandrines tells of the campaign of Charlemagne in Italy against the pagan king Agolant and his son Helmont. The Anglo-Norman manuscript held by the Fondation Martin Bodmer was produced in the 13th century and contains interlinear and marginal corrections, added in a second hand at a slightly later date than that in which the text was written. Because the additions were doubtless made with the help of a proofing manuscript, we can thus measure the complex effort that was required for the dissemination of this text. (mes)

Online Since: 10/04/2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 18
Parchment · II + 268 + II ff. · 30 x 20 cm · Abbey of Tongerloo, Diocese of Cambrai, Deanery of Antwerp · end of the 13th century
Benoît de Sainte-Maure, Roman de Troie . Roman de Thèbes

In the middle of the 12th century the Latin works of Statius and Virgil as well as adaptations of Homer were translated into the vernacular. At the same time these Latin texts were being brought into the “romance” language (French), the first examples of the French poetic form called the “Roman” or Romance were being written. CB 18, a parchment manuscript, contains two such works, the Roman de Troie by Benoît de Sainte-Maure and the anonymously authored Roman de Thèbes. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 19
Parchment · 66 ff. · 10.6 x 8 cm · Cistercian Abbey of Maulbronn (Diocese of Speyer, Württemberg) · 1480
Pseudo-Bernard of Clairvaux

This manuscript, produced in 1480 at the Cistercian Abbey of Maulbronn (Diocese of Speyer, Württemberg, cf. f. 44r), contains texts written by Ekbert of Schönau, the brother of St. Elizabeth of Schönau, as well as prayers to Mary written in another hand. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 25
Parchment · (2) 196+23 bis (2) ff. · 31.9 x 24.8 cm · Constantinople / Smyrna · end of the 10th century
Tetraevangelium

A remarkable manuscript from the end of the 10th century, undoubtedly produced in either Constantinople or Smyrna, CB 25 presents all four Gospels together in Greek. The biblical text is accompanied by commentaries by Peter of Laodiceia (an exegetical chain) written in cursive. The volume is decorated with two valuable full-page miniatures representing Luke and Mark against gold backgrounds. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 28
Parchment · 416 ff. · 35.7 x 25 cm · Northern France (?) · 13th century
Latin Bible

Copied in the 13th century, probably in the north of France, this Latin Bible unifies in one volume the books of the Old- and New Testaments, most of them preceded by prologues. It transmits the standard Vulgate text, called the Paris version, with the chapter divisions attributed to Stephen Langton, and its last thirty pages provide a glossary of Hebrew names. Historiated initials open the various biblical books and give the volume its structure. A smaller script than usual in this volume has been used on fol. 1 for the Commentary on the Tree of Consanguinity, a text usually transmitted in juridical works, augmented here by an illustration of such a tree. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 39
Parchment · 95 ff. · 26.5 x 17.2 cm · Italy · 1467
Giovanni Boccaccio, Elegia di madonna Fiammetta

The Elegia di madonna Fiammetta, dedicated to "women in love", describes in the first person the feelings of the young Neapolitan Fiammetta, who has been left by her beloved Panfilo. The Elegia, a prose work written by Boccaccio in his youth, praised for the subtlety of its psychological approach, mixes autobiographical elements and obvious references to Latin literature. It is preserved here in a manuscript copied in 1467 by Giovanni Cardello da Imola, whose regular calligraphy is set off by decorations in bianchi girari (white vine-stem). (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 40
Parchment · II + 122 + II ff. · 17.6 x 12.4 cm · France · end of the 13th century
Jean Bodel, Chanson de Saisnes

Jean Bodel, who was a member of the Brotherhood of Buskers and a bourgeois (middle-class resident) of Arras, wrote his Chanson des Saisnes (Song of the Saxons) during the last third of the 12th century. This epic in Alexandrine verse tells of the war prosecuted by Charlemagne against the Saxon King Guiteclin. The Chanson exists today in three manuscripts (a fourth was completely destroyed in the fire at the library of Turin) which present different versions of the text. The long version held by the Fondation Martin Bodmer is in a small-format manuscrit de jongleur or performer's script. It was probably produced around the end of the 13th century and is a simple piece of work, without miniatures, written on parchment, much of which was poorly cut, and it is roughly sewn together. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 44
Parchment · 132 ff. · 33.6 x 23 cm · Italy, probably Naples · around 1480
Caesar, Commentarii

This copy of Cesar's "Commentarii" from about 1480 attests to the great popularity this text attained during the early Renaissance (there are more than 240 surviving manuscripts of the "Commentarii" from the 15th century). This manuscript was produced in the atelier of the illuminator Cola Rapicano in Naples. The "bianchi girari" (white vine) book decoration and the illuminated initial capitals which mark the beginning of each book are of a type often found in codices containing humanistic works. The illuminated initial capital on fol. 1r, on the other hand, portrays the Roman ruler in an unusual way, as an armored horseman. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 52
Parchment · II + 166 ff. · 19.9 x 14.7 cm · probably France · beginning of the 12th century
Cicero, De Inventione

While Cicero is regarded today mainly as a philosopher and politician, he was regarded during the middle ages mainly as a teacher of public rhetoric. This is demonstrated by CB 52, most likely of French origin, which consists of copies of "De inventione" and a work long attributed to Cicero, "Rhetorica ad Herennium". The manuscript dates from the beginning of the 12th century. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 53
Parchment · 168 ff. · 40 x 29 cm · Burgundy · about 1470-1475
Quintus Curtius, The Life and Deeds of Alexander the Great

This French translation of the story of Alexander, destined to belong to Charles the Bold, was commissioned by Vasco da Lucena, "the Portugese", a retainer of the Infanta Isabella, who was married to Philip the Good. This revival of the work by Quintus Curtius Rufus, which is augmented by texts from Plutarch, Valerius Maximus, Aulus Gellius and Justin, allows the author to liberate the Macedonian conqueror from legends perpetuated by the medieval tradition. The Miroir des princes portrays a model of a hero shaped within the framework of the humanistic movement initiated by the dukes of Burgundy in the late middle ages. CB 53 was copied in Burgundy and may be fairly accurately dated only a few years after the translation was made; it was decorated with miniatures in the artistic circle of the Master of Marguerite of York (ca. 1470-1475). (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 55
Paper · I + 163 + I ff. · 28 x 20.5 cm · Italy · first half of the 14th century
Dante, Inferno e Purgatorio (Codex Guarneri)

The "Codex Guarneri" was written on paper fewer than twenty years after the death of Dante. The poetic form used in the textual layout, the tercet or "terza rima", which was introduced by Dante, is enhanced by the graphic design: the first letter in the first line of each three-line stanza is highlighted in red ink. The manuscript contains Latin glosses. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 57
Parchment · 82 ff. · 33.4 x 22.3 cm · Italy · 1378
Dante, Commedia, etc. Codex Severoli

Copied in 1378 by Francesco di maestro Tura of Cesena, who included both a date and a signature at the end of the volume, the Codex Severoli opens each of the three sections of the Commedia with an historiated initial. A number of interlinear glosses explicate the verses of the Paradiso. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 59
Paper · 194 + I ff. · 20.2 x 14.7 cm · Constance / Ravensburg · end of the 15th century
Meister Eckhart

Manuscript CB 59 brings together in one contemporaneous binding three manuscripts that were produced independently of one another. All three show the influence of Alemannic dialect and all three were produced at the end of the 15th entury. They offer a selection of sermons in written form, originally composed by Meister Eckhart or others in the circle of the Rheinish Master of mysticism. The first part could have been completed in an atelier in Constance or Ravensburg, it belonged to the Carthusian House of Buxheim. Threads, meant to serve as bookmarks, may be found sewn into the paper leaves. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 67
Parchment · I + 83 + II ff. · 27.7 x 22 cm · second half of the 13th century
Gui de Warewic ; Wace, Geoffroy

This 13th century manuscript offers a selection of texts from the legend-filled history of Great Britain: the knightly romance "Gui de Warewic" (Guy of Warwick) and the Anglo-Norman rhyming chronicle the "Roman de Brut" (History of the Britons) by Wace, which recounts the conquest of the British Isles by a great grandson of Aeneas, the returned hero of Troy. A translation of the "Prophéties de Merlin" (Prophesies of Merlin) by Helias follows. The volume closes with "Florence de Rome", a text that may be characterized as half "chanson de geste" and half adventure romance. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 68
Parchment · 155 ff. · 25.5 x 21.9 cm · Germany · first half of the 9th century
Institutio canonicorum Aquisgranensis

Carolingian reform efforts responded to a desire to regularize religious orders by creating a unified rule for monastic life, the Concordia regularum of Benedict of Aniane. In the resulting course of events, an effort was made during the turn from the 9th to the 10th century to dinstinguish the monastic status from the canonical. In 816 Ludwig the Pious made the results of the Council of Aix public; the first part of the Institutio canonicorum presents the statutes of the church fathers and the previous councils, the second part explains the resolutions of the council. The task of putting this work into writing was long attributed to Amalarius of Metz, a student of Alcuin and advisor of Charlemagne; however, another author must be acknowledged for this work, which totals 118 chapters, some of which are extremely comprehensive: Benedict of Aniane is also supposed to have been a contributor. The manuscript held by the Fondation Martin Bodmer was copied only a few years after the original publication of the text (in the first half of the 9th century) in a very fine Carolingian script, and it belonged to the Benedictine Abbey of St. Jacob in Mainz. A full-page drawing portraying the crucifixion was added in the 12th or 13th century at the end of the book. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 85
Parchment and paper · (3) + 206 + (3) pp. · 26.5 x 21 cm · southern Italy, Terra d’Otranto · 13th century
Homer, Iliad with scholii

CB 85, a manuscript of the Iliad on paper, was copied during the 13th century in Terra d'Otranto, a famous center of Greek culture in southern Italy. The text by Homer is accompanied by interlinear and marginal scholii and commentaries by the Byzantine scholar John Tzetzes. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 88
Parchment · 72 ff. · 25.3 x 19.5 cm · France (?) · late 10th century / early 11th century
Horace, Works

Manuscript CB 88, which combines the Odes, the Epodes, and the Carmen saeculare, a piece interpreted by children's choirs of the Roman nobility during secular performances, is an unusual example of a Horace manuscript from the turn of the 10th to the 11th century. Its many marginal and interlinear glosses, which frequently consist of scholii by Pseudo-Acro, explain the verses and praise their metrical accuracy and verbal virtuosity. The alphabetical tables and the title were added in the 14th century at the end of the volume. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 89
Parchment · 79 + 1 ff. · 21.2 x 12.5 cm · France · 12th century
Horatius, Opera (cum glossis)

The countless marginal and interlinear glosses in CB 89 are evidence of the rediscovery of the works of Horace during the 12th century. This copy was produced in France. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 90
Parchment · 222 ff. · 15.5 x 10.2 cm · Italy · 15th century
Horace, Virgil, Persius and Statius

Many scribes contributed to the copies of the works of Horace, Virgil, Persius and Statius that have been brought together in CB 90. These humanistic re-copyings made in the 15th century demonstrate the reception of Latin authors in Renaissance Italy. Two leaves at the end of the manuscript are palimpsests: a letter from Ovid's Heroides (from Sappho to Phaon) and an extract from the Epigrams of Martial have been were written over the text of the biblical book of Tobit. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 92
Parchment · III + 124 ff. + f. [125-126] ff. · 31.6 x 19.3 cm · Paris (?) · end of the 13th century
Isidore of Seville, Etymologiae

The first three books of the principal work of the Bishop of Seville, the Etymologiae, written at the beginning of the 7th century, provide the earliest medieval instance of division of scholarly study into the trivium (grammar, rhetoric and dialectic) and the quadrivium (mathematics, geometry, music and astronomy). Relying heavily on the--often unreliable--etymologies of the words, Isidore collected in his work the whole of ancient knowledge, in order to prevent it from being forgotten. This manuscript was produced about the end of the 13th century, possibly in the area of the University at Paris and is a witness to the enormous success of this extensive encyclopedia. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Documents: 38, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 38, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Fondation Martin Bodmer auf e-codices II

Januar - Dezember 2009

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Loterie Romande (http://www.loro.ch)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Seit 2007 werden Handschriften der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny durch e-codices digital erschlossen. Die Digitalisierung von weiteren 40 Handschriften wurde 2009 ermöglicht durch die erneute grosszügige Unterstützung der Loterie Romande.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 11
Pergament · 80 ff. · 26.3 x 18 cm · 13. Jahrhundert
Chanson d’Aspremont

In der Estoire de la guerre sainte, die Ambroise d'Evreux zugeschrieben wird, wird uns berichtet, dass die Soldaten von Richard von Löwenherz und Philipp August, die in Sizilien stationiert waren, während des Winters 1190, durch die Erzählungen des Chanson d'Aspremont (Lied von Apremont) Unterhaltung fanden. Dieses Chanson de Geste in gereimten Zehnsilbern und Alexandrinern berichtet vom Feldzug Karls des Grossen in Italien, gegen den heidnischen König Agolant und seinen Sohn Helmont. Die anglo-normannische Handschrift, die in der Fondation Martin Bodmer aufbewahrt wird, wurde im 13. Jahrhundert abgeschrieben, und enthält interlineare und marginale Korrekturen, die von einer zweiten Hand angefügt wurden, welche etwas jünger ist als jene, welche den Text abgeschrieben hat. Da diese Zusätze ohne Zweifel anhand einer Kontroll-Handschrift vorgenommen wurden, kann so die grosse Komplexität der Überlieferung dieses Textes erkannt werden. (mes)

Online seit: 04.10.2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 18
Pergament · II + 268 + II ff. · 30.0 x 20.0 cm · Abtei Tongerloo, Diözese von Cambrai, Dekanat Antwerpen · Ende des 13. Jahrhundert
Benoît de Sainte-More, Roman de Troie . Roman de Thèbes

In der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts wurden lateinische Werke von Statius und Vergil oder auch Adaptationen Homers in die Volkssprache übersetzt. Mit der Übertragung dieser Texte in die «romanische» Sprache entstanden auch die ersten als «romans» bezeichneten französischen Versdichtungen. Die Pergamenthandschrift CB 18 enthält zwei dieser Werke, den «Roman de Troie» des Benoît de Sainte-Maure und den anonym verfassten «Roman de Thèbes». (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 19
Pergament · 66 ff. · 10.6 x 8 cm · Zisterzienserabtei Maulbronn (Diözese Speyer, Württemberg) · 1480
Pseudo-Bernard von Clairvaux

Diese Handschrift von 1480 aus der Zisterzienserabtei Maulbronn (Diözese Speyer, Württemberg, cf. f. 44r) enthält Schriften Ekberts von Schönau, dem Bruder der Heiligen Elisabeth von Schönau, sowie von anderer Hand geschriebene Mariengebete. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 25
Pergament · (2) 196+23 bis (2) ff. · 31.9 x 24.8 cm · Konstantinopel / Izmir · Ende des 10. Jahrhunderts
Tetraevangelium

Eine bedeutende Handschrift vom Ende des 10. Jahrhunderts, die sicherlich in Konstantinopel oder Izmir erstellt wurde, vereinigt die vier Evangelien in griechischer Sprache. Der biblische Text ist umgeben vom Kommentar von Peter von Laodikeia (exegetische Kette) in kursiver Schrift. Das Buch ist geschmückt mit zwei wertvollen, ganzseitigen Miniaturen, die Lukas und Markus vor einem goldenen Hintergrund darstellen. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 28
Pergament · 416 ff. · 35.7 x 25 cm · Nordfrankreich (?) · 13. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina

Diese lateinische Bibel, die im 13. Jahrhundert vermutlich im Norden Frankreichs abgeschrieben wurde, vereinigt in einem einzigen Band die Bücher des Alten und Neuen Testaments, denen in den meisten Fällen ein Prolog vorangeht. Sie überträgt den Standart-Text der Vulgata, der Pariser Fassung genannt wird, in eine Aufteilung der Kapitel, welche Stephen Langton zugeschrieben werden. Zudem fügt sie auf den letzten dreissig Seiten eine Interpretation der hebräischen Namen an. Historisierte Initialen eröffnen die verschiedenen biblischen Bücher und strukturieren das Buch. Eine kleinere Schrift als jene des restlichen Texts hat auf f. 1 den Kommentar des Baumes der Blutsverwandtschaft angefügt, ein Text, der üblicher Weise in juristischen Werken übermittelt wurde und hier durch die Darstellung eines Baumes unterstützt wird. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 39
Pergament · 95 ff. · 26.5 x 17.2 cm · Italien · 1467
Giovanni Boccaccio, Elegia di madonna Fiammetta

Die Elegia di madonna Fiammetta, die den “verliebten Frauen” gewidmet ist, nennt die Gefühle der jungen Neapolitanerin Fiammetta in der ersten Person. Sie wurde von ihrem Geliebten Panfilo verlassen. Die Elegie, ein Prosawerk aus der Jugend Boccaccios, das für seine Feinheit und seinen psychologischen Ansatz gerühmt wurde, mischt autobiographische Elemente und offensichtliche Bezüge zur lateinischen Literatur. Sie wird in einem Manuskript, das 1467 von Giovanni Cardello da Imola abgeschrieben wurde, aufbewahrt, dessen regelmässige Kalligraphie von einer Verzierung mit bianchi girari hervorgehoben wird. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 40
Pergament · II + 122 + II ff. · 17.6 × 12.4 cm · Frankreich · Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts
Jean Bodel, Chanson des Saisnes

Jean Bodel, der Mitglied der Bruderschaft der Gaukler und Bürger von Arras war, verfasst sein Chanson des Saisnes (Chanson des Saxons) im letzten Drittel des 12. Jahrhunderts. Dieses Epos in Alexandrinern berichtet vom Krieg, der von Karl dem Grossen gegen Guiteclin, den König der Sachsen geführt wurde. Der Text des Chansons existiert heute in drei Handschriften (eine vierte wurde während dem Brand der Bibliothek von Turin gänzlich zerstört) und zeigt, dass die unterschiedlichen Fassungen untereinander variieren. Die lange Version der Fondation Martin Bodmer befindet sich in einer „Gaukler-Handschrift“ von kleiner Dimension. Sie wurde sicherlich gegen Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts angefertigt, ist von einfacher Ausführung und ohne Miniaturen und wurde auf häufig schlecht zugeschnittenes Pergament geschrieben, welches nur grob zusammengenäht wurde. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 44
Pergament · 132 ff. · 33.6 x 23 cm · Italien, wahrscheinlich Neapel · um 1480
Caesar, Commentarii

Die Abschrift von Caesars «Commentarii» aus der Zeit um 1480 zeugt von der grossen Beachtung, die diesen Texten in der beginnenden Renaissance zuteil wurde (aus dem 15. Jahrhundert sind mehr als 240 Handschriften der «Commentarii» erhalten). Die Handschrift stammt aus dem Atelier des Illuminators Cola Rapicano in Neapel. Der «bianchi girari»-Buchschmuck und die verzierten Initialen, welche den Anfang der verschiedenen Bücher markieren, sind in den humanistischen Codices häufig anzutreffen. Die verzierte Initiale auf f. 1r hingegen zeigt den Kaiser in einer ungewöhnlichen Abbildung, als Reiter mit Rüstung. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 52
Pergament · II + 166 ff. · 19.9 x 14.7 cm · vermutlich Frankreich · Anfang des 12. Jahrhunderts
Cicero, De Inventione

Während Cicero heute vor allem als Philosoph und Politiker wahrgenommen wird, galt er im Mittelalter in erster Linie als Lehrer der Redekunst. Davon zeugt CB 52, eine wohl aus Frankreich stammende Abschrift von «De inventione» und dem lange Cicero zugeschriebenen Werk «Rhetorica ad Herennium». Die Handschrift wird ins beginnende 12. Jahrhundert datiert. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 53
Pergament · 168 ff. · 40 x 29 cm · Burgund · ca. 1470-1475
Quintus Curtius Rufus, Faits et gestes d’Alexandre

Die französische Übersetzung der Geschichte von Alexander, die dem zukünftigen Karl dem Kühnen bestimmt war, wurde von Vasco da Lucena, „Portugalois“, bestellt. Er diente der Infantin Isabelle, welche mit Philipp dem Guten verheiratet war. Der Rückgriff auf Quintus Curtius Rufus, ergänzt durch Texte von Plutarch, Valerius Maximus, Aulus Gellius oder Justin, erlaubt dem Autor, den mazedonischen Eroberer von aus der mittelalterlichen Überlieferung geerbten Legenden zu befreien. Wie ein Miroir des princes, der einen Held als Modell zeigt, ist dieser Text im Rahmen der humanistischen Bewegung entstanden, welche sich gegen Ende des Mittelalters im Umkreis der Herzöge von Burgund bildeten. Der CB 53 ist im Burgund nur einige Jahre nach der Verfassung des Textes abgeschrieben worden; er ist mit Miniaturen verziert, die im Kreis des Meisters von Margareta von York (ca. 1470-1475) entstanden. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 55
Papier · I + 163 + I ff. · 28.0 x 20.5 cm · Italien · erste Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Dante, Inferno e Purgatorio (Codex Guarneri)

Der «Codex Guarneri» wurde weniger als zwei Jahrzehnte nach dem Tod Dantes auf Papier geschrieben. Im Layout des Textes ist die Gedichtform der Terzine, der «terza rima», welche von Dante eingeführt wurde, auch graphisch umgesetzt: die Initiale der ersten Verszeile jeder Terzine ist mit roter Tinte hervorgehoben. Die Handschrift enthält lateinische Glossen. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 57
Pergament · 82 ff. · 33.4 x 22.3 cm · Italien · 1378
Dante, Commedia, etc. Codex Severoli

Der Codex Severoli, der 1378 von Francesco di maestro Tura von Cesena abgeschrieben wurde, welcher Datum und Unterschrift ans Ende seines Bandes setzt, eröffnet jeden der drei Gesänge der Commedia mit einer historisierten Initiale. Einige Interlinearglossen erläutern die Verse über das Paradies. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 59
Papier · 194 + I ff. · 20.2 x 14.7 cm · Konstanz / Ravensburg · Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
Meister Eckhart

Die Handschrift CB 59 vereinigt in einem zeitgenössischen Einband drei Manuskripte, die unabhängig voneinander abgeschrieben wurden. Alle drei sind vom alemannischen Dialekt geprägt und wurden gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts erstellt. Sie bieten eine Auswahl von geschriebenen Predigten, die von Meister Eckhart oder vom Umfeld des Meisters der rheinischen Mystik geschrieben wurden. Der erste Teil könnte in einem Atelier in Konstanz oder Ravensburg ausgeführt worden sein. Er gehörte der Kartause von Buxheim. Man beachte die in die Papierblätter eingenähten Fäden, die als Buchzeichen dienten. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 67
Pergament · I + 83 + II ff. · 27.7 x 22 cm · zweite Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts
Gui de Warewic ; Wace, Geoffroy

Diese Handschrift des 13. Jahrhunderts bietet eine Auswahl an Texten zur legendenhaften Geschichte Britanniens: den Ritterroman «Gui de Warewic» und die anglonormannische Reimchronik des «Roman de Brut» von Wace, die berichtet, wie ein Urenkel des aus Troja entkommenen Aeneas die britische Insel erobert. Es folgen die «Prophéties de Merlin» in der Übersetzung von Helias. Das Corpus wird durch «Florence de Rome», ein Text, der sich als halb «chanson de geste», halb Abenteuerroman charakterisieren lässt, abgeschlossen. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 68
Pergament · 155 ff. · 25.5 x 21.9 cm · Deutschland · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Institutio canonicorum Aquisgranensis

Die karolingische Reform hatte dem Wunsch nach religiöser Vereinheitlichung nachgegeben indem sie eine einheitliche Regel für die Mönche schuf, die Concordia regularum von Benedikt von Aniane. Im Zuge dieser Ereignisse versuchte man im Übergang vom 8. zum 9. Jahrhundert den mönchischen Status von kanonischen zu unterscheiden. Ludwig der Fromme liess 816 das Resultat des Konzils von Aix veröffentlichen; die Kanonischen Institutionen zeigen im ersten Teil die Satzungen der Väter und der vorgängigen Konzilien auf, im zweiten Teil erklären sie die Beschlüsse des Konzils. Das Aufschreiben dieses Werks wurde während langer Zeit Amalarius von Metz zugeschrieben, ein Schüler Alkuins und Berater Karls des Grossen; man muss jedoch einen anderen Autor für diese Gesamtheit von 118 Kapiteln suchen, welche teilweise sehr ausgedehnt ist, daher soll Benedikt von Aniane mitgearbeitet haben. Die Handschrift der Fondation Martin Bodmer wurde nur einige Jahre nach der Publikation des Textes (in der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts) in einer schönen karolingischen Schrift geschrieben und gehörte der Benediktinerabtei des Heiligen Jakob von Mainz. Eine ganzseitige Zeichnung, welche die Kreuzigung darstellt, wurde im 12. oder 13. Jahrhundert am Ende des Buches hinzugefügt. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 85
Pergament und Papier · (3) + 206 + (3) pp. · 26,5 x 21 cm · Süditalien, Terra d’Otranto · 13. Jahrhundert
Homer, Ilias mit Scholien

Die Handschrift CB 85, ein Manuskript auf Papier, wurde im 13. Jahrhundert in der Terra d’Otranto abgeschrieben, dem berühmten Zentrum der griechischen Kultur in Süditalien. Der Text von Homer wurde mit interlinearen Scholien und Marginalien und mit dem Kommentar des Byzantiners Johannes Tzetzes ergänzt. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 88
Pergament · 72 ff. · 25.3 x 19.5 cm · Frankreich (?) · ausgehendes 10. Jahrhundert / Anfang des 11. Jahrhunderts
Horaz, Opera

Die Handschrift CB 88, welche die Odes, die Epodes und das Carmen saeculare – das Jahrhundertlied, welches von Kinderchören des römischen Adels während den säkularen Spielen interpretiert wurde – zusammenführt, ist ein aussergewöhnliches Zeugnis der Horaz-Handschriften des Übergangs vom 10. zum 11. Jahrhundert. Seine vielen Marginal- und Interlinear-Glossen, die häufig aus Notizen von Pseudo-Acro stammen, erklären Verse, deren metrische Genauigkeit und verbale Virtuosität gelobt wird. Die alphabetischen Tabellen und die Titel wurden im 14. Jahrhundert am Schluss des Buches angefügt. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 89
Pergament · 79 + 1 ff. · 21.2 x 12.5 cm · Frankreich · 12. Jahrhundert
Horatius, Opera (cum glossis)

Die zahllosen Rand- und Interlinearglossen in CB 89 zeugen von der Wiederentdeckung der Werke des Horaz im 12. Jahrhundert. Die Abschrift wurde in Frankreich erstellt. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 90
Pergament · 222 ff. · 15.5 x 10.2 cm · Italien · 15. Jahrhundert
Horaz, Vergil, Persius, Statius

Verschiedene Schreiber haben zu den Abschriften von Werken von Horaz, Vergil, Persius und Statius, die im CB 90 vereinigt sind, beigetragen. Diese humanistischen Schriften aus dem 15. Jahrhundert zeugen von der Rezeption der lateinischen Autoren im Italien der Renaissance. Zwei Blätter am Ende der Handschrift sind Palimpseste: ein Brief der Heroides von Ovid (von Sappho an Phaon) und ein Auszug der Epigramme von Martial, die auf den biblischen Text des Buches von Tobias übertragen wurden. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 92
Pergament · III + 124 ff. + f. [125-126] ff. · 31.6 x 19.3 cm · Paris (?) · Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts
Isidor von Sevilla, Etymologiae

Das Hauptwerk des Bischofs von Sevilla, die Etymologien, die zu Beginn des 7. Jahrhunderts geschrieben wurden, zeigen in ihren drei ersten Büchern das erste Erscheinen der mittelalterlichen Aufteilung der Wissenschaften in Trivium (Grammatik, Rhetorik und Dialektik) und Quadrivium (Mathematik, Geometrie, Musik und Astronomie). Sich auf die – häufig unzuverlässige! – Etymologie der Wörter abstützend, sammelt Isidor in seinem Werk das gesamte antike Wissen, das er so vor dem Vergessen bewahrt. Die Handschrift wurde gegen Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts ausgeführt, vermutlich in der Umgebung der Pariser Universität und ist ein Zeuge des gewaltigen Erfolgs dieser umfangreichen Enzyklopädie. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Dokumente: 38, angezeigt: 1 - 20