Documents: 54, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Call for Collaboration 2013

Start: January 2013

Status: Completed

Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In mid-January 2013, e-codices published its second “Call for Collaboration”. This call, published jointly with our Swiss partner libraries, once more invited scholars to suggest Swiss manuscripts for digitization. As with the first such call, interest among international manuscript researchers was impressive; in fact, considerably more proposals were submitted this time than for the first call in June 2009. The number of researchers who submitted proposals rose from 33 to 55. Many researchers suggested several manuscripts at once, so that we received no fewer than 134 individual proposals. Three years before, the total number of proposals was 97. Altogether manuscripts from 22 collections were recommended, among these several Swiss manuscripts which are held today in foreign libraries, as well as a newly discovered and previously completely unknown manuscript from a private collection in Geneva.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Paper · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery St. Margarethental in Basel · third quarter of the 15th century
Latin Composite Manuscript, among others Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

This manuscript (third quarter of the 15th century), a collection of theological texts, consists of two parts; it originated in the Carthusian Monastery in Basel, where it was probably also created. This is certain for the second part of the manuscript, which, in addition to the Vita et revelationes by Agnes Blannbekin (Chapters 1-23), also contains extensive excerpts from Lux divinitatis, the Latin translation of Das fließende Licht der Gottheit by Mechthild of Magdeburg, which became the basis for further copies made in the monastery. The model for most of the texts contained in the second part of Cod. A VIII 6 was the manuscript Basel, university library, Cod. B IX 11. (nem)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 14
Paper · 158 ff. · 20 x 14.5 cm · Cologne · 1488
Hieronymus Raynerii, Lectura super sententiarum libros 1-4

15th century paper manuscript: During his university studies in theology, the Dominican Wernher von Selden near Aarau — and subsequently the prior of the Basel monastery — in 1487/88 transcribed the lectures of two Dominicans on Peter Lombard, including the Lectura super sententiarum libros by Hieronymus Raynerii. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IX 11
Parchment · 163 ff. · 19 x 13.5 cm · probably the Dominican Monastery of Basel · 14th century
Latin Composite Manuscript, among others Berthold of Nürnberg: Liber de mysteriis et laudibus intemerate Virginis Mariae, Mechthild of Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis

This manuscript, a collection of theological texts, from the Dominican Monastery of Basel, consists of various parts; it alone transmits the complete Latin translation of Fließenden Lichts der Gottheit by Mechthild of Magdeburg. The manuscript is remarkable not only because of its age (around or shortly before 1350), but also because of the numerous marginal notes, which reveal knowledge of the German version of the text, with which this copy of the Latin translation of Das fließende Licht was being compared. (nem)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15a
Parchment · 32 ff. · 25 x 19 cm · Fulda · 8th / 9th century
Isidorus Hispalensis · Register of Books of the Monastery of Fulda · Recipes · Blessings · Astronomic Tables · Jerome

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. This codex was created in Fulda at the end of the 9th century and still retains its Carolingian binding in a parchment cover. In addition to the works of Isidore, it contains the oldest catalog of the Fulda library, the so-called Basel recipes in Old High German, and an astronomic-computistic cycle of illustrations. (stu)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15b
Parchment · 45 ff. · 26-27 × 19.5-21 cm · Northern England and German Anglo-Saxon areas (probably Fulda) · first half of the 8th century / first quarter of the 9th century
Ps. Isidorus Hispalensis, De ordine creaturarum . Vita Antigoni et s. Eupraxiae . Vita s. Goaris

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. In Fulda, it originated by merging an 8th century Northern English manuscript with a continental-insular text from the first half of the 9th century, probably written in Fulda. The codex retains its Carolingian binding in a parchment cover. To the extent that the texts contained therein are critically edited, the codex is considered among important textual witnesses. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15c
Parchment · 64 ff. · ca. 26-26.5 x 18-19 cm · German Anglo-Saxon areas (probably Fulda) · second half of the 8th century — first third of the 9th century
Isidorus Hispalensis . Ps. Basilius . Cyprianus Carthaginensis . Gregorius Magnus al.

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; it survived because it reached Basel in the 16th century, before the library’s destruction in the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently served as a possible textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex consists of several parts. A German Anglo-Saxon manuscript from the second half of the 8th century containing the second book of Isidore’s Synonyma was supplemented in the first third of the 9th century, probably in Fulda, with the first book of the same work by Isidore. Very early already, this was bound together with another item containing Admonitio ad filium spiritualem by Pseudo-Basilius as well as various excerpts, which probably were also written in Fulda around 800. (stb)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15d
Parchment · 16 ff. · ca. 27.5 × 23.5-24 cm · Ireland · 8th century
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De vitiis . Consentius, De barbarismis et metaplasmis . Victorinus, De soloecismo et barbarismo

One of the Isidore codices (or Pseudo-Isidore) from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex originated in Ireland in the 8th century and apparently retains its original Irish binding in a parchment cover. The grammar manuscript presents as its main text De vitiis (linguae), which it attributes to a Isidorus iunior, the Codex unicus. According to the editor, the text might have orginated around 500, perhaps in Spain, and is one of the sources used by Isidore for the first book of his Etymologiae; for the other texts contained herein as well, it is among one of the exceedingly rare remaining textual witnesses. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15e
Parchment · 55 ff. · 24-26 x 15-17 cm · German Anglo-Saxon region (near Fulda?), Fulda and Mainz · 9th century; supplements until 10th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

A composite manuscript from Fulda with texts primarily on the topic of repentance and asceticism. Similar to a series of Isidore-codices from Fulda, it reached Basel in the 16th century - possibly because one of the texts contained therein also survived under Isidore’s name; thus it escaped the abduction and destruction of the Fulda library during the Thirty Years’ War. The various parts and texts are written in Anglo-Saxon and Carolingian minuscule and originated in Fulda and its surroundings, up to Mainz. The leather binding, presumably still Carolingian, was much changed at a later time, especially due to the removal of the covers. Apparently in Basel, what had formerly been the first quire (Paenitentiale Theodori), in a markedlay smaller format, was removed from the collection. Today it bears the shelf mark N I 1: 3c‬‬. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15f
Parchment · 13 ff. · 33-33.5 × 24.5-25.5 cm · England · first half of the 8th century
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De natura rerum cum additamento De XII signis caeli

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex originated in England in the 8th century and retains its binding from the 8th or 9th century in a parchment cover. It is considered one of the most important textual witnesses of Isidore’s De natura rerum. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Parchment · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13.5 cm · Fulda · first quarter of the 9th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

This fascicle contains the version of the Paenitentiale Theodori named for this textual witness the ‘Canones Basilienses;’ it was written by two hands from Fulda in an Anglo-Saxon minuscule of the first quarter of the 9th century. Around 1500, this quire was part of the current manuscript F III 15e‬‬‬‬. This explains the title de conflictu viciorum et virtutum on 1r, which does not fit with the content of the quire. As evidenced by the lost text at the beginning and at the end, N I 1: 3c had previously been part of another codex. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, O I 10
Parchment · 369 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Theology)

This composite manuscript of theological content originally belonged to the patrician family Gossembrot of Augsburg (late 15th century); via Johannes Oporin († 1568), Eusebius Merz († 1616) and Remigius Faesch († 1667), it finally became part of the university library of Basel in 1823. Except for a single remaining woodcut, various miniatures and woodcuts pasted into the manuscript have been torn out. (stu)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 162
Parchment · 104 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · France, Normandy, Saint-Trinité de Fécamp · middle of the 11th century
Augustinus: Opera

This manuscript, which originated in the Benedictine Abbey St. Trinité de Fécamp, contains various works by Augustine: De opere monachorum; De fide et operibus; Contra Donatistas; De bono virginitatis; De bono conjugali; De bono viduitatis; De symbolo bono (sermo 215); De oratione dominica (sermo 56). The manuscript is significant as important testimony of French manuscript illumination of the 11th century as well as, due to its history, of the exchange of manuscripts among Norman monasteries. (mit)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Parchment · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · France: Tours, Abbey of Saint-Martin OSB · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

This magnificent complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) was given to the Benedictine Monastery of St. Martin in Tours by the Levite Berno (note and book curse on f. 1v). Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. However, Cod. 165 does not present the true Scholia Bernensia as in Cod. 167 und Cod. 172, but rather a collection by various scholiasts which was compiled in Tours — hence the name Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Parchment · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · France: Auxerre or Brittany · second half of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) is connected to Auxerre. In the beginning the manuscript contains numerous paratexts to Virgil, such as the vitae, Argumenta, etc.; beginning on f. 6v, the inner column is reserved for the text, the outer one for the scholia. Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which in this form have been transmitted almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. Cod. 167 presents the true Scholia Bernensia, but only the left column, not the right column of Cod. 172; whether it was copied from the latter remains in dispute. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Parchment · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · France: Fleury. vicinity of Paris (Saint-Denis?) (Bischoff) · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil is from Fleury. This manuscript contains only the Bucolics, the Georgics and the first five books of the Aeneid; the second part with books VI to XII is now in Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). In the beginning the manuscript contains the so-called Vita Donatiana and various slightly later texts. It is made with great calligraphic care so that the central column is always bordered on the right and on the left by a column of scholia. Cod. 172 is the principal textual witness of the scholia (commentaries) by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 199
Parchment · 140 ff. · 28-29.5 x 23-24.5 cm · France · 8th century, 9th century and 9th-10th century
Gregorius Turonensis: Libri octo miraculorum; in addition: Evangelium Johannis (Fragmentum); Hieronymus: Vita sancti Pauli Thebaei

This manuscript contains the complete hagiographic works of Gregory of Tours, consisting of eight books of hagiographies. The manuscript is very close to Gregory’s autograph (class 1a); it originated in the circles of the Reims scriptorium in the 9th century. Two pages of a Gospel of John in Merovingian script as well as a Vita of Paul of Thebes were bound into the volume. (mit)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 219
Parchment · 2 + 77 + 2 ff. · 30.5 x 23 cm · France: Fleury; Reims? · 699
Eusebius-Hieronymus: Chronicon

The manuscript contains the second part of the Chronicle of Eusebius in the Latin translation and continuation of Jerome. The tables, generally laid out as double pages, are in the majority of cases condensed onto a single page. The book decoration is a superb example of pre-Carolingian manuscript illustration from the Frankish Empire and Northern Italy. From the detailed information on the title page, one can deduce that the text was written in 699; the Bernese Chronicle of Eusebius therefore is Switzerland’s oldest dated manuscript. (mit)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 250
Parchment · 28 ff. · Teil I: 28.5-29 x 22.5-23 cm / Teil II: 27.5-28 x 23 cm · Part I (ff. 1-12): Germany: Seligenstadt; Part II (ff. 13-28): France: Fleury · Part I (f. 1-12): around 836; Part II (f. 13-28): around 1000
Victorinus Aquitanus: Calculus; Abbo Floriacensis: Computus

The manuscript consists of two parts. The first, Carolingian (fol. 112) with its original texts (fol. 1v11v), reflects a meeting between Einhard and Lupus of Ferrières that occurred in June of 836 in Seligenstadt. Lupus received the arithmetic book (Calculus) by Victorius of Aquitaine along with a now widely known model alphabet for Ancient Capitals. Around 1000, texts by Abbo of Fleury on the ‘computus’ (reckoning the date for Easter) were then added at the abbot’s home monastery on the Loire (fol. 1228), along with an abacus table (fol. 1r). The resulting collection of documents contains key items for and from Abbo's technical scholarship and offers a slightly divergent counterpart to the contemporaneous Floriacensis, Berlin, Staatsbibl., Phill. 1833. (all)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 306
Parchment · 8 ff. · 28.5 x 23-23.5 cm · France: Fleury · first third of the 11th century
Abbo Floriacensis: Computus; Annales Floriacenses breves

The manuscript consists of a single quaternio formerly bound with the present Cod. 250 of the Burgerbibliothek Bern. The quire continues the computistic content of the latter, here with Easter tables whose margins hold the Annales Floriacenses. The last page received a copy of Abbo’s second letter to Giraldus and Vitalis. (all)

Online Since: 12/18/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 344
Parchment · 143 ff. · 24.5 x 22.5 cm · France: probably Auxerre · end of the 9th / beginning of the 10th century
Florus Lugdunensis: Sententiae epistolarum beati Pauli apostoli a sancto Hieronimo presbitero, denique a beato papa Gregorio expositae

Florus of Lyon († around 860) specialized in compiling patristic commentaries on the Epistles of Paul. This manuscript was written in France, probably in Auxerre, at the beginning of the 10th century, and is devoted exclusively to the compilation of the commentaries of Jerome and Gregory the Great. These two compilations are currently unpublished; however, the other two known texts have been digitized: Paris, BnF, lat. 1764 ff. 28r–97v and Paris, BnF, n.a.l. 1460 ff. 82r–169v. (cha)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Documents: 54, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Call for Collaboration 2013

Anfang: Januar 2013

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Mitte Januar 2013 hat e-codices den 2. „Call for Collaboration“ veröffentlicht. Der gemeinsam mit den schweizerischen Partnerbibliotheken publizierte Call rief die Forscher erneut auf, schweizerische Handschriften zur Digitalisierung vorzuschlagen. Wie schon beim ersten Aufruf war das Interesse der internationalen Handschriftenforschung enorm gross. Es wurden sogar deutlich mehr Gesuche eingereicht als beim ersten Aufruf im Juni 2009. Die Anzahl Forscher, die Anträge einreichten, ist von 33 auf 55 angestiegen. Viele Forscher haben gleich mehrere Handschriften vorgeschlagen, so dass wir nicht weniger als 134 einzelne Anträge erhielten. Vor drei Jahren waren es noch insgesamt 97 Anträge. Insgesamt wurden Handschriften aus 22 Sammlungen vorgeschlagen, darunter auch einige schweizerische Handschriften, die heute in ausländischen Bibliotheken aufbewahrt werden und auch eine neu entdeckte und bisher vollständig unbekannte Handschrift aus einer privaten Sammlung in Genf.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15b
Pergament · 45 ff. · 26-27 × 19.5-21 cm · Nordengland/Deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (wohl Fulda) · erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts / erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Ps. Isidorus Hispalensis, De ordine creaturarum . Vita Antigoni et s. Eupraxiae . Vita s. Goaris

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. In Fulda entstand er durch die Zusammenführung einer nordenglischen Handschrift des 8. Jahrhunderts mit einem festländisch-insularen, wohl in Fulda selbst geschriebenen Teil der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Der Codex bewahrt noch seine karolingische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Soweit die enthaltenen Texte kritisch ediert sind, zählt er zu den wichtigen Textzeugen. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Papier · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Kartause St. Margarethental in Basel · drittes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Theologische Sammelhandschrift (lat.), u. a. Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

Diese aus zwei Teilen zusammengesetzte theologische Sammelhandschrift (3. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert) stammt aus der Kartause in Basel, wo sie wohl auch entstanden ist. Gesichert ist dies für den zweiten Teil der Handschrift, die neben der Vita et revelationes der Agnes Blannbekin (Kap. 1-23) umfangreiche Auszüge aus der Lux divinitatis, der lateinischen Übersetzung des Das fließende Licht der Gottheit Mechthilds von Magdeburg enthält, die zum Ausgangspunkt weiterer Abschriften in der Kartause selbst wurden. Als Vorlage für die meisten Texte, die im zweiten Teil von Cod. A VIII 6 enthalten sind, diente die Handschrift Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. B IX 11. (nem)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A X 14
Papier · 158 ff. · 20 x 14.5 cm · Köln · 1488
Hieronymus Raynerii, Lectura super sententiarum libros 1-4

Papierhandschrift aus dem 15. Jahrhundert: Während seines Theologiestudiums schrieb der Dominikaner Wernher von Selden bei Aarau und spätere Prior des Basler Konvents 1487/88 in Köln die Vorlesungen zweier Dominikaner zu Petrus Lombardus mit, darunter Hieronymus Raynerii Lectura super sententiarum libros. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IX 11
Pergament · 163 ff. · 19 x 13.5 cm · wohl Dominikanerkloster Basel · 14. Jahrhundert
Theologische Sammelhandschrift (lat.), u. a. Berthold von Nürnberg: Liber de mysteriis et laudibus intemerate Virginis Mariae, Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis

Diese aus mehreren Teilen zusammengesetzte theologische Sammelhandschrift aus dem Dominikanerkloster in Basel überliefert als einzige die vollständige lateinische Übersetzung des Fließenden Lichts der Gottheit Mechthilds von Magdeburg. Bemerkenswert ist diese Handschrift nicht nur wegen ihres Alters (um bzw. kurz vor 1350) sondern auch wegen der zahlreichen Marginalien, die die Kenntnis der deutschen Textversion erkennen lassen, mit der die vorliegende Abschrift der lateinischen Übersetzung des Fließenden Lichts offenbar verglichen wurde. (nem)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15a
Pergament · 32 ff. · 25 x 19 cm · Fulda · 8. / 9. Jahrhundert
Isidorus Hispalensis · Bücherverzeichnis Kloster Fulda · Rezepte · Segen · astronomische Tafeln · Hieronymus

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Der in Fulda Ende des 9. Jhs. entstandene Codex bewahrt noch seine karolingische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Neben Isidors Werken enthält er den ältesten Fuldaer Bibliothekskatalog, die althochdeutschen sogenannten Basler Rezepte sowie einen astronomisch-komputistischen Bilderzyklus. (stu)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15c
Pergament · 64 ff. · ca. 26-26,5 x 18-19 cm · Deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (wahrscheinlich Fulda) · zweite Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts - erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus Hispalensis . Ps. Basilius . Cyprianus Carthaginensis . Gregorius Magnus al.

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Der Codex besteht aus mehreren Teilen. Eine deutsch angelsächsische Handschrift der 2. Hälfte des 8. Jhs. mit dem 2. Buch von Isidors Synonyma wurde im 1. Drittel des neunten Jahrhunderts, wahrscheinlich in Fulda, um das 1. Buch desselben Isidor-Werkes ergänzt. Dazu wurde schon früh eine Einheit mit Ps. Basilius, Admonitio ad filium spiritualem und verschiedenen Exzerpten gebunden, die in der Zeit um 800 vermutlich ebenfalls in Fulda geschrieben wurde. (stb)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15d
Pergament · 16 ff. · ca. 27.5 × 23.5-24 cm · Irland · 8. Jahrhundert
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De vitiis . Consentius, De barbarismis et metaplasmis . Victorinus, De soloecismo et barbarismo

Einer der Isidor- (bzw. Ps.-Isidor-)Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek des Klosters im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand im 8. Jh. in Irland und bewahrt offenbar noch die originale irische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Die Grammatik-Handschrift stellt für ihren Haupttext De vitiis. (linguae.), den sie einem Isidorus iunior. zuschreibt, den Codex unicus dar. Nach Meinung des Herausgebers dürfte der Text etwa um 500, vielleicht in Spanien, entstanden sein und ist eine der von Isidor benutzten Quellen für das erste Buch seiner Etymologiae.; auch für die weiteren enthaltenen Texte zählt er zu den überaus wenigen vorhandenen Textzeugen. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15e
Pergament · 55 ff. · 24-26 x 15-17 cm · deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (Nähe von Fulda?), Fulda und Mainz · 9. Jahrhundert; Nachträge bis 10. Jahrhundert
Theodori und Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Eine Fuldaer Sammelhandschrift mit Texten vor allem zum Thema der Buße und Aszetik. Sie kam ähnlich einer Reihe von Fuldaer Isidor-Codices im 16. Jh. nach Basel - möglicherweise, weil einer der enthaltenen Texte auch unter Isidors Namen überliefert ist - und entging so der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Fuldaer Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg. Die verschiedenen Teile und Textschichten sind in angelsächsischer und karolingischer Minuskel geschrieben und in Fulda sowie seinem Umfeld bis hin nach Mainz entstanden. Der vermutlich noch karolingische Ledereinband wurde in späterer Zeit insbesondere durch das Entfernen der Buchdeckel stark verändert. Offenbar in Basel wurde die ehemals erste Lage (Paenitentiale Theodori) mit deutlich kleinerem Format aus der Sammlung entfernt. Sie trägt heute die Signatur N I 1: 3c‬‬. (stb)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15f
Pergament · 13 ff. · 33-33.5 × 24.5-25.5 cm · England · erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De natura rerum cum additamento De XII signis caeli

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand im 8. Jh. in England und bewahrt noch seine Bindung des 8. oder 9. Jahrhunderts in einen Pergamentumschlag. Er zählt zu den wichtigsten Textzeugen von Isidors De natura rerum. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Pergament · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13,5 cm · Fulda · erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Theodori und Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Der Faszikel enthält die nach dem vorliegenden Textzeugen als ‘Canones Basilienses’ bezeichneten Fassung des Paenitentiale Theodori von zwei Fuldaer Händen in angelsächsischer Minuskel des 1. Viertels des 9. Jhs. Die Lage war um 1500 Teil der heutigen Handschrift F III 15e‬‬‬‬. Dies erklärt den Titel de conflictu viciorum et virtutum 1r, der nicht zum Inhalt der Lage passt. Wie der Textverlust zu Beginn und am Ende zeigt, war N I 1: 3c aber zuvor schon einmal Teil eines anderen Codex. (stb)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, O I 10
Pergament · 369 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · 3. Viertel des 15. Jhs.
Sammelband (Theologie)

Die theologische Sammelhandschrift stammt ursprünglich aus dem Besitz der Augsburger Patrizierfamilie Gossembrot (spätes 15. Jh.) und kam via Johannes Oporin († 1568), Eusebius Merz († 1616) und Remigius Faesch († 1667) schliesslich 1823 in die Basler Universitätsbibliothek. Abgesehen von einem einzigen noch erhaltenen Holzschnitt sind diverse in die Handschrift eingeklebte Miniaturen und Holzschnitte herausgerissen worden. (stu)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 162
Pergament · 104 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · Frankreich, Normandie, Saint-Trinité de Fécamp · Mitte des 11. Jahrhunderts
Augustinus: Opera

In der Benediktinerabtei St. Trinité de Fécamp entstandene Handschrift mit verschiedenen Werken des Augustinus: De opere monachorum; De fide et operibus; Contra Donatistas; De bono virginitatis; De bono conjugali; De bono viduitatis; De symbolo bono (sermo 215); De oratione dominica (sermo 56). Die Handschrift ist bedeutend als wichtiger Zeuge für die französische Buchillumination des 11. Jahrhunderts sowie, aufgrund ihre Geschichte, für den Austausch von Handschriften unter den normannischen Klöstern. (mit)

Online seit: 09.04.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Pergament · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours, Abtei Saint-Martin OSB · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

Prächtige Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils (Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis), die vom Leviten Berno dem Benediktinerkloster Saint-Martin in Tours geschenkt wurde (Eintrag und Bücherfluch auf f. 1v). Der Vergiltext ist mit zahlreichen spätantiken Kommentaren (Scholien) des Servius und des Donatus durchsetzt, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. Cod. 165 bietet allerdings nicht die reinen Scholia Bernensia wie Cod. 167 und Cod. 172, sondern eine offenbar in Tours angefertigte Zusammenstellung verschiedener Scholiasten – deshalb der Name Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Pergament · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · Frankreich: Auxerre oder Bretagne · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

In Zusammenhang mit Auxerre stehende Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils (Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis). Die Handschrift enthält zu Beginn zahlreiche Paratexte zu Vergil, wie die Viten, Argumenta etc.; ab f. 6v ist die innere Spalte jeweils für den Text, die äussere für die Scholien reserviert. Der Vergiltext ist mit zahlreichen spätantiken Kommentaren (Scholien) des Servius und des Donatus durchsetzt, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. Cod. 167 bietet die reinen Scholia Bernensia, allerdings nur die linke, nicht aber die rechte Kolumne von Cod. 172; ob er von letzterem kopiert wurde, ist umstritten. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Pergament · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · Frankreich: Fleury. Umkreis von Paris (Saint-Denis?) · zweites Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

Aus Fleury stammende Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils. Die Handschrift enthält nur die Bucolica, Georgica sowie die ersten fünf Bücher der Aeneis, der zweite Teil mit den Büchern VI bis XII befindet sich heute in Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). Die Handschrift enthält zu Beginn die sog. Vita Donatiana und verschiedene leicht spätere Texte. Sie ist sorgfältig kalligraphisch gestaltet, so ist die mittlere Textspalte jeweils rechts und links von einer Scholienspalte eingefasst. Cod. 172 ist der Hauptvertreter der Scholien (= Kommentare) des Servius und des Donatus, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 199
Pergament · 140 ff. · 28-29.5 x 23-24.5 cm · Frankreich · 8. Jahrhundert, 9. Jahrhundert und 9.-10. Jahrhundert
Gregorius Turonensis: Libri octo miraculorum; dazu: Evangelium Johannis (Fragmentum); Hieronymus: Vita sancti Pauli Thebaei.

Die Handschrift enthält das vollständige hagiographische Werk Gregors von Tours, bestehend aus acht Büchern an Heiligenbeschreibungen. Sie steht Gregors Autograph sehr nahe (Klasse 1a) und entstand im 9. Jahrhundert im Umkreis der Reimser Schreibschule. Hinzugebunden wurden zwei Blätter eines Johannesevangeliums in merowingischer Schrift sowie eine Vita des Paulus von Theben. (mit)

Online seit: 09.04.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 219
Pergament · 2 + 77 + 2 ff. · 30.5 x 23 cm · Frankreich: Fleury; Reims? · 699
Eusebius-Hieronymus: Chronicon

Die Handschrift enthält den zweiten Teil der Chronik des Eusebius in der lateinischen Übersetzung und Fortsetzung des Hieronymus. Die eigentlich doppelseitig angelegten Tafeln sind meistens auf eine Seite zusammengedrängt. Erstklassig ist der Buchschmuck als Zeugnis vorkarolingischer Handschriftenillustration des Frankenreiches und Oberitaliens. Aus den detaillierten Abgaben des Titelblattes ergibt sich das Abfasungsdatum 699; die Berner Eusebius Chronik ist damit die älteste datierte Handschrift der Schweiz. (mit)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 250
Pergament · 28 ff. · Teil I: 28.5-29 x 22.5-23 cm / Teil II: 27.5-28 x 23 cm · Teil I (f. 1-12): Deutschland: Seligenstadt; Teil II (f. 13-28): Frankreich: Fleury · Teil I (f. 1-12): um 836 / Teil II (f. 13-28): um 1000
Victorinus Aquitanus: Calculus; Abbo Floriacensis: Computus

Die Handschrift besteht aus zwei Teilen, deren erster, karolingischer (foll. 112) mit seinen ursprünglichen Texten (foll. 1v11v) ein Treffen zwischen Einhard und Lupus von Ferrières in Seligenstadt im Juni 836 widerspiegelt. Lupus bekam das Rechenbuch (Calculus) des Victorius von Aquitanien sowie ein jetzt weit berühmtes Musteralphabet in Majuskelschrift. Um 1000 wurden Texte zur Osterberechnung (Computus) von Abbo von Fleury in seinem Heimatkloster an der Loire hinzugefügt (foll. 1228) sowie eine Abacustafel (fol. 1r). Das Konvolut beinhaltet Kernstücke für und aus dem wissenschaftichen Schaffen des Abbo und bildet ein leicht abweichendes Pendant zur gleichaltrigen Floriacensis, Berlin, Staatsbibl., Phill. 1833. (all)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 306
Pergament · 8 ff. · 28.5 x 23-23.5 cm · Frankreich: Fleury · erstes Drittel des 11. Jahrhunderts
Abbo Floriacensis: Computus; Annales Floriacenses breves

Die Handschrift besteht aus einem einzelnen Quaternio, der dem heutigen Cod. 250 der Burgerbibliothek Bern angebunden war. Die Lage führt den komputistischen Inhalt des letztgenannten fort, hier mit Ostertafeln, welche am Rand die Annales Floriacenses erhalten. Die letzte Seite enthält den Text von Abbos zweitem Brief an Giraldus und Vitalis. (all)

Online seit: 18.12.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 344
Pergament · 143 ff. · 24.5 x 22.5 cm · Frankreich: wahrscheinlich Auxerre · Ende des 9./ Anfang des 10. Jahrhunderts
Florus Lugdunensis: Sententiae epistolarum beati Pauli apostoli a sancto Hieronimo presbitero, denique a beato papa Gregorio expositae

Florus von Lyon († um 860) hatte sich darauf spezialisiert, patristische Kommentare über die Paulusbriefe zusammenzutragen. Diese Handschrift wurde Ende des 9. – Anfang des 10. Jahrhunderts in Frankreich, vermutlich in Auxerre, geschrieben und widmet sich ausschliesslich den Kompilationen der Kommentare von Hieronymus und Gregor dem Grossen. Diese beiden Kompilationen sind zurzeit unveröffentlicht, doch die beiden anderen Textzeugnisse wurden digitalisiert: Paris, BnF, lat. 1764 ff. 28r–97v und Paris, BnF, n.a.l. 1460 ff. 82r–169v. (cha)

Online seit: 09.04.2014

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 1 - 20