Documents: 49, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Call for Collaboration 2015

June 2015 - March 2017

Status: Completed

Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In the beginning of 2015, e-codices published its third ‘Call for Collaboration.’ This call, published jointly by e-codices and our partner libraries, again attracted a great deal of international interest. After the great response to the first call in June 2009 with 97 applications from 33 scholars, and the overwhelming success of the second call in 2013 with 137 applications from 55 scholars, we have this time received 91 applications from 36 scholars. The scholars again come from a variety of countries: Germany (9), Switzerland (7), United Kingdom (6), the USA (5), Italy (4), France (2), Sweden (1), Armenia (1) and Hungary (1); almost all disciplines of medieval studies are represented. Proposals were for manuscripts from 18 libraries, an especially large number from the Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), the Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), the Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), but also from three new collections that have not yet been represented on e-codices. Also suggested were six manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall, where more than half of the collection of medieval manuscripts has already been made digitally accessible. Such continuing demand clearly shows that, despite the great number of manuscripts that have already been digitized, the scholarly interest has by far not been satisfied. By March 2017, 43 manuscripts from 13 different collections have been published.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IV 6
Paper · 151 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Augsburg(?) · 7 September 1485
Psalter, German

A German Psalter, written in 1485 by Johannes Waltpurger, perhaps in Augsburg. The ornamental page decorated with vine scroll with the beginning of the first prologue is almost identical to one in a Cambridge manuscript by the same scribe. The back pastedown, glued to the cover, depicts a landscape showered in blood. It is not clear how this manuscript came to Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IV 4
Parchment · 192 ff. · 34 x 25 cm · 14th century
Quodlibeta et Quaestiones disputatae

This manuscript from the Dominican Monastery of Basel contains Quodlibeta and Quaestiones by Nicholas Trivet and Thomas Sutton, two important exponents of the Dominican School of Oxford at the end of the 13th century and the beginning of the 14th century. The thin parchment has numerous small defects as well as mended tears in some places; the sixth quire is bound incorrectly. The interior wooden boards of this formerly chained book (liber catenatus) are covered with fragments. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Parchment · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13.5 cm · Fulda · first quarter of the 9th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

This fascicle contains the version of the Paenitentiale Theodori named for this textual witness the ‘Canones Basilienses;’ it was written by two hands from Fulda in an Anglo-Saxon minuscule of the first quarter of the 9th century. Around 1500, this quire was part of the current manuscript F III 15e‬‬‬‬. This explains the title de conflictu viciorum et virtutum on 1r, which does not fit with the content of the quire. As evidenced by the lost text at the beginning and at the end, N I 1: 3c had previously been part of another codex. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 125
Parchment · 287 ff. · 32.5 x 23.5 cm · first half of the 15th century
Marco Polo: Devisement du monde; Jean de Mandeville: Voyages; Jean le Long d'Ypres: Récits de voyages

Composite manuscript consisting of three parts, bringing together French translations of classic reports of voyages to the Far East. The manuscript, especially its first and third parts, is richly adorned with gold decoration and delicate scroll ornamentation in the margins, yet it contains no illustrations. Hand-painted coats of arms make it possible to identify the family de Pons de Saint-Maurice from the Périgord as a previous owner; later the codex was purchased by Jacques Bongars, who, towards the end of his life, was preparing a volume of source materials about travels to Asia. (mit)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Parchment · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · France: Tours, Abbey of Saint-Martin OSB · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

This magnificent complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) was given to the Benedictine Monastery of St. Martin in Tours by the Levite Berno (note and book curse on f. 1v). Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. However, Cod. 165 does not present the true Scholia Bernensia as in Cod. 167 und Cod. 172, but rather a collection by various scholiasts which was compiled in Tours — hence the name Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Parchment · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · France: Auxerre or Brittany · second half of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) is connected to Auxerre. In the beginning the manuscript contains numerous paratexts to Virgil, such as the vitae, Argumenta, etc.; beginning on f. 6v, the inner column is reserved for the text, the outer one for the scholia. Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which in this form have been transmitted almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. Cod. 167 presents the true Scholia Bernensia, but only the left column, not the right column of Cod. 172; whether it was copied from the latter remains in dispute. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Parchment · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · France: Fleury. vicinity of Paris (Saint-Denis?) (Bischoff) · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil is from Fleury. This manuscript contains only the Bucolics, the Georgics and the first five books of the Aeneid; the second part with books VI to XII is now in Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). In the beginning the manuscript contains the so-called Vita Donatiana and various slightly later texts. It is made with great calligraphic care so that the central column is always bordered on the right and on the left by a column of scholia. Cod. 172 is the principal textual witness of the scholia (commentaries) by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 258
Parchment · 192 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5-20 cm · France · second half of the 9th century
Glossae biblicae; Glossaria latina, lat.

This manuscript, which was probably produced in Fleury, consists of two independent parts. The first part (f. 1-47) comprises three commentaries on the Old and the New Testament; the second part (f. 48-192) consists of a total of 14 glossaries containing a total of about 25,000 lemmas. A particularity of this manuscript is that it shows different stages in the development of glossaries side by side. The first part represents an earlier stage with definitions of words in the order of the source text, also containing glosses in Old English and Old High German. In the second part the glossaries are already more developed with entries on individual authors or certain topics, ordered alphabetically by keywords. (mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 366
Parchment · II + 159 ff. · 22.5-23.5 x 20.5-21 cm · second third of the 9th century
Valerius Maximus: Facta et dicta memorabilia

One of the earliest and most famous manuscripts of Valerius Maximus; its importance lies in the autograph reworkings by Lupus of Ferrières. Lupus himself wrote the Exempla and the comment on the sometime "flyleaves" (f. II-III), repeatedly collated the main text, added supplements from the parallel transmission of Iulius Paris (an abbreviator of Valerius Maximus) and also its accompanying text (Gaius Titius Probus: De praenominibus; f. 158va-159r). In making the fresh description a hitherto unnoticed letter- or charter-like text was discovered on the last page (f. 159v). (all/mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 611
Parchment · 153 ff. · 18-19 x 14-14.5 cm · France: evidently Eastern France · 8th century (Palimpsests 5th and 7th century)
Composite manuscript: Merovingian excerpts from grammatical, patristic, computistic and medical works

This Merovingian composite manuscript, which was probably created in (Eastern) France, originally consisted of six independent parts, which were written by different, often not very practiced hands in various phases. Most of the close to thirty individual pieces are texts from grammatical, patristic, computistic and medical works. The longer pieces are interspersed with further excerpts, partly written in Tironian notes. One quaternio from the only partially preserved third part is today held in Paris (BN lat. 10756). Noteworthy is the palimpsest in the fifth part, whose undertexts were probably written in Italy in the 7th century and in the second half of the 5th century respectively. (mit)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 847.9
Parchment · 2 ff. · 21 x 23.5 cm · 1571
Notarial document (fragment)

These two fragments are from the binding of Cod. 611, from which they were removed during restoration; they are two halves of a French notarial document relating to Pierre Daniel. (mit)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 36
Paper · I + 107 + I ff. · 29.1 x 21 cm · Rheinfranken (Rhenish Franconia) · first quarter of the 15th century
Early Modern High German Psalter with Cantica

Written in two columns in bastarda script with a decoration of fleuronné initials, from the first quarter of the 15th century (Wetzel), with two astrological tables added already in the 15th century (Wetzel) on the old flyleaf (f. 1r). The text of the Psalter, in the dialect of Rhenish Franconia (Hessen?), is closely related to the Psalter Göttingen, Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. Ms. theol. 214 v from the beginning of the 15th century. Wetzel assumes at least one common model. Thus the translation is part of Schöndorf’s group 9, subgroup c) around München, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 182 or Walter’s Psalter 18. (kun)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 107
Parchment · 143 ff. · 24 x 17.5 cm · Nordwestern Germany · end of the 9th century
Codex Theodosianum (excerpts) . Lex salica emandata . Lex Ribuaria . Lex Alamannorum . Lex Baiuvariorum . Charlemagne: Capitularia . Recapitulatio legis Salicae

A legal manuscript, probably incomplete, which contains an extensive collection of texts. Among the most important are four laws, the Lex Salica, Lex Ribuaria, Lex Alamannorum and Lex Baiuvariorum; a short and fragmentary collection of capitularies issued by Charlemagne; excerpts from De legibus, from Isidore of Seville’s Sententiae, from the Codex Theodosianum and from the Rule of Saint Benedict. The text of the Lex Baiuvariorum also contains legal terms in Old High German. In 1789 the codex was acquired by Count Johann-Christian Solms, who resided in Klitschdorf Castle near Bunzlau (Silesia) - his coat of arms can be found on f. 1r - which is why the codex is known in the literature as the "Codex Klitschdorf" or "Codex Solmsianus.” In 1960 Martin Bodmer purchased this codex from the New York antiquarian book dealer H. P. Kraus. (ber)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 79(522)
Parchment · 109 pp. · 24.5 x 19 cm · Einsiedeln · 10th century
Musica enchiriadis

This codex can be dated to the 10th century; it contains the Musica enchiriadis (2-27), a 9th century music theory treatise which endeavors to develop a series of rules for polyphonic composition, as well as annotations to the commentary Scolica enchiriadis (27-45, 66-102). Dasian notation is used in order to graphically illustrate the music. For a long time, this treatise was attributed to the monk Hucbald, but today it is considered the work of an anonymous author. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 117(497)
Parchment · 126 pp. · 25 x 18.5 cm · Einsiedeln · End of the 11th century
Martyrologium, Regula S. Benedicti, Homiliarium

This manuscript contains a martyrology (pp. 1-28), the Rule of Saint Benedict (pp. 28-83) and a homiliary (pp. 84-126). It was written by two scribes in a late Carolingian minuscule and contains two initials decorated with plant branches drawn in ink. In the 13th century, a document about the confraternity of Einsiedeln Abbey and St. Blaise Abbey in the Black Forest was added to a blank area at the end of the text of the Rule of Saint Benedict (p. 83). (ber)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 255(460)
Parchment · 252 pp. · 27 x 18.8 cm · Einsiedeln · 10th century (around 960-970)
Johannes Cassianus, Vitae et Collationes

This manuscript contains the third part (Collationes 18-24) of the Vitae et collationes patrum by John Cassian. The text is introduced by a full-page miniature, showing a medallion with Cassian in the middle, in the process of writing his work, surrounded by four abbots on a checkered background: Piamun and Giovanni with a round nimbus, Pinufius and Theonas with a square one. This manuscript was part of a group of codices that were created during the term of Abbot Thietland (961 until about 964). (ber)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 298(119)
Parchment · 146 pp. · 34 x 26.8 cm · France/Lotharingia · 10th century
Boetii geometria et musica

Boethius is the author of the two treatises preserved in this 10th century manuscript: De geometria (1-22) and De musica (23-145). The two texts are surrounded by numerous sketches and marginal as well as interlinear glosses. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 312(541)
Parchment · 296 ff. · 23.5 x 29.6 cm · Southern Germany/Switzerland · 10th/11th century
Prudentius: Praefatio, Cathemerinon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Contra Symmachum and Peristephanon

This manuscript contains several works by Prudentius and was written by various scribes. The test is surrounded by mostly interlinear glosses; most of these are in Latin, some are in Alemannic dialect. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 362(440)
Parchment · 57 ff. · 28.9 x 23.5 cm · Western Germany · 10th century
Terentius Comoediae, Hymnus

The manuscript is a collection containing fragments of the comedies of Terence, from two lost manuscripts of the 10th century (ff. 3r-26v and ff. 28r-55v, respectively ε and η in editions), plus some fragments from a third manuscript (ff. 56r-57v), including portions of Terence’s Phormio and a hymn to St. Nicholas. The size, legibility and state of preservation vary in different fragments. Some missing leaves from the second manuscript (η) are preserved in the collection of fragments St. Gall, Stiftsbibliothek 1394 (pp. 115-120). (pez)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Documents: 49, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 43, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Call for Collaboration 2015

Anfang: Juni 2015

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Anfang 2015 veröffentlichte e-codices seinen dritten 'Call for Collaboration'. Dieser Call, der von e-codices in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnerbibliotheken publiziert wurde, hat erneut grosses internationales Interesse geweckt. Nach dem breiten Echo auf den ersten Call im Juni 2009 mit 97 Anträgen von 33 Forschern, und dem überwältigenden Erfolg des zweiten Calls im Jahr 2013 mit 137 Anträgen von 55 Forschern, erhielten wir dieses Mal 91 Anträge von 36 Forschern. Die Forscher kommen abermals aus einer Vielzahl von Ländern: Deutschland (9), Schweiz (7), Grossbritannien (6), USA (5), Italien (4), Frankreich (2), Schweden (1), Armenien (1), und Ungarn (1); dabei sind beinahe alle Disziplinen der Mediävistik vertreten. Es wurden Anträge für Handschriften aus 18 Bibliotheken gemacht, eine besonders grosse Anzahl davon aus der Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), der Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), der Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), aber auch aus drei neuen Sammlungen, die bisher auf e-codices nicht vertreten waren. Ebenfalls vorgeschlagen wurden sechs Handschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die bereits mehr als die Hälfte ihrer Sammlung von mittelalterlichen Handschriften digital zugänglich gemacht hat. Diese anhaltende Nachfrage zeigt sehr deutlich, dass trotz der grossen Zahl von bereits digitalisierten Handschriften das wissenschaftliche Interesse noch bei Weitem nicht befriedigt ist. Unser Vorhaben ist es nun, über diesen Call in den nächsten 12 Monaten zusammen mit unseren Kollaboratoren 41 neue digitale Handschriften zu publizieren.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Mitte 15. Jahrhundert
Nycolaus de Lyra, Auslegung des Psalters, 1. Teil (Ps. 1-74)

Deutsche Übertragung der Psalmenpostille des Nikolaus von Lyra (gest. 1349), entstanden wohl noch zu dessen Lebzeiten. Der Psalmenkommentar, früher Heinrich von Mügeln zugeschrieben, stammt von einem historisch noch nicht nachgewiesenen Anonymus, dem sog. „Österreichischen Bibelübersetzer“. Er überträgt die Vorlage kürzend und mit Zusätzen versehen. Die Abschrift aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause datiert in die Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts, ihre Miniaturen gehören zu der Vullenhoe-Gruppe. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IV 6
Papier · 151 ff. · 21,5 x 16 cm · Augsburg(?) · 7. September 1485
Psalter, deutsch

Ein deutscher Psalter, geschrieben 1485 von Johannes Waltpurger, möglicherweise in Augsburg. Die rankenumfasste Zierseite, mit der die erste Vorrede beginnt, findet sich fast identisch in einer Cambridger Handschrift desselben Schreibers. Das hintere, an den Deckel geklebte Spiegelblatt zeigt eine in einen Blutregen getauchte Landschaft. Wie die Handschrift nach Basel gelangte, ist unklar. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IV 4
Pergament · 192 ff. · 34 x 25 cm · 14. Jahrhundert
Quodlibeta et Quaestiones disputatae

Die Handschrift aus dem Basler Dominikanerkloster enthält Quodlibeta und Quaestiones von Nikolaus Trivet und Thomas Sutton, zweier wichtiger Exponenten der Oxforder Dominikanerschule im ausgehenden 13. und beginnenden 14. Jahrhundert. Das dünne Pergament weist zahlreiche kleine Defekte und an manchen Stellen geflickte Risse auf, die sechste Lage ist falsch eingebunden. Die Innenseiten der Holzdeckel des ehemaligen Kettenbandes sind mit Fragmenten überzogen. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Pergament · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13,5 cm · Fulda · erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Theodori und Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Der Faszikel enthält die nach dem vorliegenden Textzeugen als ‘Canones Basilienses’ bezeichneten Fassung des Paenitentiale Theodori von zwei Fuldaer Händen in angelsächsischer Minuskel des 1. Viertels des 9. Jhs. Die Lage war um 1500 Teil der heutigen Handschrift F III 15e‬‬‬‬. Dies erklärt den Titel de conflictu viciorum et virtutum 1r, der nicht zum Inhalt der Lage passt. Wie der Textverlust zu Beginn und am Ende zeigt, war N I 1: 3c aber zuvor schon einmal Teil eines anderen Codex. (stb)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 125
Pergament · 287 ff. · 32.5 x 23.5 cm · erste Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Marco Polo: Devisement du monde; Jean de Mandeville: Voyages; Jean le Long d'Ypres: Récits de voyages

Aus drei Teilen bestehende Sammelhandschrift, welche französische Übersetzungen der klassischen Reiseberichte aus dem Fernen Osten zusammenstellt. Die Handschrift ist, besonders im ersten und dritten Teil, reich ausgestattet mit Goldverzierungen und feiner Randrankenornamentik; sie enthält jedoch keine Illustrationen. Über eingemalte Wappen lässt sich die Familie de Pons de Saint-Maurice aus dem Périgord als Vorbesitzer ermitteln; später wurde der Codex von Jacques Bongars erworben, der am Ende seines Lebens einen Band mit Quellentexten zu Asienreisen vorbereitete. (mit)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Pergament · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours, Abtei Saint-Martin OSB · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

Prächtige Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils (Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis), die vom Leviten Berno dem Benediktinerkloster Saint-Martin in Tours geschenkt wurde (Eintrag und Bücherfluch auf f. 1v). Der Vergiltext ist mit zahlreichen spätantiken Kommentaren (Scholien) des Servius und des Donatus durchsetzt, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. Cod. 165 bietet allerdings nicht die reinen Scholia Bernensia wie Cod. 167 und Cod. 172, sondern eine offenbar in Tours angefertigte Zusammenstellung verschiedener Scholiasten – deshalb der Name Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Pergament · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · Frankreich: Auxerre oder Bretagne · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

In Zusammenhang mit Auxerre stehende Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils (Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis). Die Handschrift enthält zu Beginn zahlreiche Paratexte zu Vergil, wie die Viten, Argumenta etc.; ab f. 6v ist die innere Spalte jeweils für den Text, die äussere für die Scholien reserviert. Der Vergiltext ist mit zahlreichen spätantiken Kommentaren (Scholien) des Servius und des Donatus durchsetzt, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. Cod. 167 bietet die reinen Scholia Bernensia, allerdings nur die linke, nicht aber die rechte Kolumne von Cod. 172; ob er von letzterem kopiert wurde, ist umstritten. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Pergament · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · Frankreich: Fleury. Umkreis von Paris (Saint-Denis?) · zweites Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

Aus Fleury stammende Gesamtausgabe der Werke Vergils. Die Handschrift enthält nur die Bucolica, Georgica sowie die ersten fünf Bücher der Aeneis, der zweite Teil mit den Büchern VI bis XII befindet sich heute in Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). Die Handschrift enthält zu Beginn die sog. Vita Donatiana und verschiedene leicht spätere Texte. Sie ist sorgfältig kalligraphisch gestaltet, so ist die mittlere Textspalte jeweils rechts und links von einer Scholienspalte eingefasst. Cod. 172 ist der Hauptvertreter der Scholien (= Kommentare) des Servius und des Donatus, die in dieser Form fast ausschliesslich in Bongarsiana-Handschriften überliefert sind. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 258
Pergament · 192 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5-20 cm · Frankreich · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Glossae biblicae; Glossaria latina, lat.

Vermutlich in Fleury entstandene, aus zwei selbständigen Teilen bestehende Handschrift: Der erste Teil (f. 1-47) umfasst drei Kommentare zum Alten und zum Neuen Testament; der zweite Teil (f. 48-192) besteht aus insgesamt 14 Glossaren, die insgesamt etwa 25 000 Lemmata enthalten. Als Besonderheit der Handschrift finden sich in ihr verschiedene Entwicklungsstufen von Glossarien nebeneinander: Der erste Teil repräsentiert eine frühere Stufe, mit Worterklärungen in der Reihenfolge des Quelltextes, die zudem altenglische und althochdeutsche Glossen enthalten. Im zweiten Teil finden sich dann bereits die weiter entwickelten Glossare mit alphabetisch geordneten Stichwörtern zu einzelnen Autoren oder bestimmten Themen. (mit)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 366
Pergament · II + 159 ff. · 22.5-23.5 x 20.5-21 cm · zweites Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Valerius Maximus: Facta et dicta memorabilia

Eine der ältesten und berühmtesten überlieferten Texthandschriften des Valerius Maximus, deren Bedeutung in der authentischen Bearbeitung des Lupus von Ferrières liegt. Lupus hat die Exempla sowie die Notiz auf den alten „Vorsatzblättern“ (f. II-III) eigenhändig geschrieben, den Haupttext mehrfach kollationiert und Zusätze aus der Paralleltradition des Iulius Paris (adbreviator von Valerius Maximus) und auch dessen Begleittext (Gaius Titius Probus: De praenominibus; f. 158va-159r) hinzugefügt. Bei der Bearbeitung neu entdeckt wurde ein bislang unerkannter brief- oder urkundenartiger Text auf der letzten Seite (f. 159v). (all/mit)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 611
Pergament · 153 ff. · 18-19 x 14-14.5 cm · Frankreich: offenbar Ostfrankreich · 8. Jahrhundert (Palimpseste 5. und 7. Jahrhundert)
Sammelband: Merowingische Exzerpte aus grammatikalischen, patristischen, komputistischen und medizinischen Schriften

Die vermutlich in (Ost-)Frankreich entstandene merowingische Sammelhandschrift ist aus ursprünglich sechs selbständigen Teilen zusammengesetzt, die von verschiedenen, oft nicht sehr geübten Händen in verschiedenen Etappen geschrieben wurden. Bei den knapp dreissig Einzelstücken handelt es sich mehrheitlich um Texte aus grammatikalischen, patristischen, komputistischen und medizinischen Schriften. Die längeren Stücke sind unterbrochen von zahlreichen weiteren Exzerpten, die teilweise auch in Tironischen Noten verfasst sind. Vom nur unvollständig erhaltenen dritten Teil befindet sich heute ein Quaternio in Paris (BN lat. 10756). Eine Besonderheit stellt der Palimpsest im fünften Teil dar, dessen darunterliegenden Texte vermutlich im 7. Jh. bzw. in der zweiten Hälfte des 5. Jh. in Italien entstanden sind. (mit)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 847.9
Pergament · 2 ff. · 21 x 23.5 cm · 1571
Notariatsurkunde (Fragment)

Die beiden Fragmente stammen aus dem Einband von Cod. 611‬‬, aus dem sie bei der Restaurierung entfernt wurden; es handelt sich um zwei Hälften einer französischen Notariatsurkunde, mit Bezug zu Pierre Daniel. (mit)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 36
Papier · I + 107 + I ff. · 29.1 x 21 cm · Rheinfranken · erstes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Frühneuhochdeutscher Psalter mit Cantica

In einer zweispaltig geschriebenen Bastarda mit Fleuronné-Initialenschmuck aus dem 1. Viertel des 15. Jhs. (Wetzel) mit zwei auf dem alten Vorsatzblatt (Bl. 1r) noch im 15. Jh. (Wetzel) nachgetragenen astrologischen Tafeln. Der rheinfränkische (hessische?) Text des Psalters ist eng verwandt mit dem Psalter Göttingen, Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. Ms. theol. 214 vom Beginn des 15. Jhs. R. Wetzel nimmt mindestens eine gemeinsame Vorlage an. Damit gehört die Übersetzung in Schöndorfs 9. Gruppe, Untergruppe c) um München, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 182 bzw. zu Walters 18. Psalter. (kun)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 107
Pergament · 143 ff. · 24 x 17.5 cm · Nordwestdeutschland · Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts
Codex Theodosianum (Auszüge) . Lex salica emandata . Lex Ribuaria . Lex Alamannorum . Lex Baiuvariorum . Karl der Grosse: Capitularia . Recapitulatio legis Salicae

Eine juristische Handschrift, wahrscheinlich unvollständig, die eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Texten enthält. Zu den wichtigsten davon gehören vier Gesetze, die Lex Salica, Lex Ribuaria, Lex Alamannorum und Lex Baiuvariorum; eine kurze und fragmentarische Sammlung von Kapitularien erlassen von Karl dem Grossen; Auszüge aus De legibus und den Sententiae von Isidor von Sevilla; sowie Auszüge aus dem Codex Theodosianum und der Regula des hl. Benedikt. Der Text der Lex Baiuvariorum enthält auch juristische Begriffe in Althochdeutsch. 1789 kam der Codex in Besitz des Grafen Johann-Christian Solms, der im Schloss Klitschdorf bei Bunzlau (Schlesien) residierte - sein Wappen findet sich auf f. 1r - , weshalb er in der Literatur auch unter dem Namen "Codex Klitschdorf" oder "Codex Solmsianus" bekannt ist. 1960 erwarb Martin Bodmer diesen Codex beim New Yorker Antiquar H. P. Kraus. (ber)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 79(522)
Pergament · 109 pp. · 24.5 x 19 cm · Einsiedeln · 10. Jahrhundert
Musica enchiriadis

Dieser in das 10. Jahrhundert datierbare Kodex enthält das musiktheoretische Traktat Musica enchiriadis (2-27), das aus dem 9. Jahrhundert stammt. Darin wird eine Serie von Regeln für mehrstimmige Kompositionen aufgestellt, dazu die Annotationen zum Kommentar Scolica enchiriadis (27-45, 66-102). Um die Musik graphisch zu illustrieren wurde die Dasian-Notation benutzt. Lange Zeit dem Mönch Hucbald zugeschrieben, wird dieses Traktat heute als Werk eines anonymen Autors angesehen. (ber)

Online seit: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 117(497)
Pergament · 126 pp. · 25 x 18.5 cm · Einsiedeln · Ende des 11. Jahrhunderts
Martyrologium, Regula S. Benedicti, Homiliarium

Die Handschrift enthält ein Martyrologium (S. 1-28), die Regel des Hl. Benedikt (S. 28-83) und ein Homiliar (S. 84-126). Sie wurde von zwei Kopisten in einer spätkarolingischen Minuskel geschrieben und enthält zwei mit Pflanzenzweigen aus Tinte verzierte Initialen. Im 13. Jahrhundert wurde an einer leer gelassenen Stelle am Ende des Textes der Benediktsregel (S. 83) eine Urkunde über die Gebetsverbrüderung zwischen den Abteien Einsiedeln und St. Blasien im Schwarzwald eingefügt. (ber)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 255(460)
Pergament · 252 pp. · 27 x 18.8 cm · Einsiedeln · 10. Jahrhundert (um 960-970)
Johannes Cassianus, Vitae et Collationes

Die Handschrift beinhaltet den dritten Teil (Collationes 18-24) der Vitae et collationes patrum des Johannes Cassianus. Der Text wird durch eine ganzseitige Miniatur eingeleitet, in welcher auf einem Medaillon in der Mitte Cassianus dargestellt ist, gerade dabei sein Werk zu schreiben, umringt von vier Äbten auf kariertem Grund: Piamun und Giovanni mit einem runden, Pinufius und Theonas mit einem eckigen Nimbus. Die Handschrift gehört zu einer Codex-Gruppe, die während der Amtszeit des Abtes Thietland (961 bis ungefähr 964) geschaffen wurden. (ber)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 298(119)
Pergament · 146 pp. · 34 x 26.8 cm · Frankreich/Lothringen · 10. Jahrhundert
Boetii geometria et musica

Boethius ist der Autor der beiden in diesem Manuskript überlieferten Traktate aus dem 10. Jahrhundert: der De geometria (1-22) und der De musica (23-145). Die zwei Texte sind von zahlreichen Zeichnungen sowie Marginal- und Interlinearglossen umgeben. (ber)

Online seit: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 312(541)
Pergament · 296 ff. · 23.5 x 29.6 cm · Süddeutschland/Schweiz · 10./11. Jahrhundert
Prudenz: Praefatio, Cathemerinon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Contra Symmachum und Peristephanon

Die Handschrift enthält mehrere Werke von Prudenz und wurde von verschiedenen Kopisten geschrieben. Der Text ist von hauptsächlich interlinearen Glossen umgeben; die meisten davon sind in lateinischer Sprache, einige im alemannischen Dialekt. (ber)

Online seit: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 362(440)
Pergament · 57 ff. · 28.9 x 23.5 cm · Westdeutschland · 10. Jahrhundert
Terentius Comoediae, Hymnus

Die Handschrift enthält Fragmente der Komödien von Terenz aus zwei nicht mehr erhaltenen Handschriften aus dem 10. Jahrhundert (Bll. 3r-26v und Bll. 28r-55v, respektive ε and η in Editionen) und einer dritten Handschrift (Bll. 56r-57v), einschliesslich Teilen von des Phormio von Terenz und einer Hymne auf St. Nikolaus. Die Grösse, Lesbarkeit und der Zustand der verschiedenen Fragmente ist unterschiedlich. Einige fehlende Seiten der zweiten Handschrift (η) sind in der Fragmentensammlung St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek Cod. Sang. 1394 erhalten (S. 115-120). (pez)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Dokumente: 43, angezeigt: 1 - 20