Choose a sub-project

(Click on a table header to sort by sub-project or number of manuscripts).
Sub-project Manuscripts
Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau2
Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae3
Swiss Illustrated Chronicles7
Digitization of the Antiphonaries of the Chapter of St. Nicolas, Fribourg8
St. Gall's Treasure Trove of Monuments to the Old High German Language13
St. Gall's Music Manuscripts14
Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi28
Digitization of medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall30
Call for Collaboration 201333
Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices I35
Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices II38
St. Gall's Cultural Assets from Zurich39
Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries40
Frowin's Library40
Collaborative Projects60
Individual commissions96
Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland100
Mellon 2011-2012100
Pilot Project: Digital Abbey Library of St. Gall117
Center of Competence for Swiss manuscripts and digital manuscript research130
The Virtual Abbey Library of St. Gall212

Sub-project: Frowin's Library

May 2011 - June 2012
Status: completed
Financed by: Stavros Niarchos Foundation (www.snf.org)
Description: The continued support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation has made possible the digitalization and the presentation on e-codices of 40 manuscripts produced under Abbot Frowin in the early years of the monastery of Engelberg (Canton of Obwalden). In terms of its nature and completeness, this collection is unique in Switzerland; indeed, it shows how, in the High Middle Ages, a conventual library collection was planned and built up. The roughly 40 codices preserved that are "Frowinian", that is, manuscripts produced at the time of his abbacy and plainly under his direction, include numerous works of the Church Fathers Augustine, Ambrose, Jerome, Gregory, rounded out with works by Orosius, Isidore of Seville, Paschasius Radbert and the Venerable Bede, as well as Biblical manuscripts of exceptional artistic quality. In addition to these works, there are also a large number of contemporary writings, including those by authors such as Hugh of Saint Victor and Bernard of Clairvaux, as well as a collection of texts pertaining to the eleventh-century controversy over the Eucharist. Frowin evidently studied all these works carefully and used them in his own writings.

Number of manuscripts: 40, displayed: 1 – 20

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 2

Parchment · 264 ff. · 43.6 x 31.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197

Vitae sanctorum et passionum martyrum. Pars aestivalis

This codex contains over a hundred lives of the saints and acts of the martyrs, most of them accompanied by rubricated initials and incipits. Aside from a few decorated initials, also red, there is no book decoration. The layout of the manuscript and the careful preparation of the parchment with artful colored needlework express the tradition of the scriptorium under Abbot Frowin (1143-1178). The staid script in black ink, often interrupted by another finer hand, sets this volume apart from the others from Frowin’s library; it is therefore also possible that this codex was made under Frowin’s successor, Berchtold (1178-1197). (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 3

Parchment · 281 ff. · 44.0 x 31.7 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

This first part of the three-volume Engelberg Bible (together with Cod. 4 and Cod. 5) contains the Pentatuch and the books of the Prophets. The captioned pen sketch with verse of dedication on fol. 1v portrays Abbot Frowin (1143-1178) presenting the codex to Mary, the patroness of the Cloister. This large-format volume was, according to the colophon on 281v, written by Richene, the only scribe from Frowin’s time that we know by name. The careful preparation of the parchment with decorative needlework and the staid style of script and initials in limited colors are characteristic of the recognizable works of Frowin’s library. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 4

Parchment · 213 ff. · 38.0 x 28.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

This second volume of the three-part Engelberger Bible contains the books of the Old Testament remaining after Cod. 3. On 1v, the codex is dedicated in verse by Abbot Frowin (1143-1178) to Mary, the patron saint of the monastery. The codex’s structure and organization reflect the simple but elegant style of Frowin’s library. The colophon on 213r identifies the copyist as Richene, whose hand is also responsible for the other two volumes of the Engelberger Bible (Cod. 3 and Cod. 5); the illuminations and titles are the work of the so-called Engelberger Master. 69v contains a full-page colour depiction of Christ and the Church. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 5

Parchment · 199 ff. · 38.0 x 28.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

This third volume of the three-part Engelberg Bible contains the New Testament. The codex originally consisted of 204 folios. On one of the leaves that have been cut out, now cataloged as D 126 at the Stiftsarchiv Engelberg, a five-line verse identifies the scribe as Richene, who also completed the volumes containing the Old Testament (Cod. 3 and Cod. 4). Abbot Frowin (1143-1178) and his scribe Richene are also shown in a full-page illustration on 1r. Also portrayed at full-page size are the Evangelists with their attributes, each labeled with a descriptive verse (108v, 134v, 153v, 181r). On 103r through 105v are canonical tables. The manuscript contains some incomplete initials, spaces reserved for decorations, and completely empty pages. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 12

Parchment · 155 ff. · 40.8 x 29.5 · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Augustinus, Enarrationes in psalmos

This codex contains Augustine’s commentary on the Psalms, written in a small, extremely fine script. The verse on 1r names Abbot Frowin (1143-1178) as creator of the volume. In addition to simple red initials, the manuscript also includes individual extremely artful initials by the Engelberg Master in brown and red ink. The portrayal of Christ as grape-treader on 101r is particularly noteworthy; like several other sections, it is on a erased section. Beside and beneath the attachments one occasionally finds fine sketches for initials, designs, or figures. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 13

Parchment · 187 ff. · 40.5 x 29.2 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Augustinus, Expositio super tertiam partem psalmorum

The scriptorium of Engelberg made this codex containing Augustine's commentary on the Psalms, along with a whole series of works of the Church Fathers (Cod. 12-18, 87-88 und 138). A two-line poem on 1r shows that the codex came to be during the time of Abbot Frowin (1143-1178). The text is written in a small, careful and clean script. The codex contains scattered figure initials with vinescrolls and bulb motifs typical of Frowin's time. Otherwise, lightly decorated initials in red ink divide the text. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 14

Parchment · 187 ff. · 38.5 x 24.2 cm · Engelberg · 1178-1223

Augustinus S. Aurelius. De Trinitate libri quindecim, praemissa epistola ad Aurelium

This manuscript contains the 15 books of St. Augustine's On the Trinity. On 1v, under the Capitula a pen-drawing depicts Augustine with his three adversaries. The codex has been decorated in a particularly artistic manner by the so-called Engelberg Master. A large initial with figurative motifs in red-brown and blank ink begins each book; in the text that follows, intermediate initials are smaller, monochromatically red, and richly ornamented. In verse on 1r, the copyist describes in detail the circumstances of the production of the volume: it was begun under Abbot Berchtold of Engelberg (1178-1197), who died shortly after the copying was underway; his successor Heinrich (1197-1223) supervised the completion of the work. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 15

Parchment · 200 ff. · 38.2 x 27.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Augustinus, Expositio super Johannem evangelista

This codex contains Augustine's exposition on the Gospel of John. According to the dedicatory poem on 1r the manuscript was produced under Abbot Frowin (1143-1178) of Engelberg. The layout, script and illustration – a few initials with vinescroll- and bulb patterns (2v, 5v, 136v) alternate with more simple rubricated capitals in dividing the sections – are closely related to Cod. 13. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 16

Parchment · 221 ff. · 32.5 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Augustinus, Sermones ad populum diversi

This manuscript contains sermons of the Church father Augustine. On 1r, Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178) dedicates the codex in verse to the Virgin Mary, the monastery's patron saint. An index on 1v-3r lists the sermons contains in the manuscript. Half of the last folio (221) has been cut out, on the back paste-down, the copyist tested his pen (probacio penne). As with most volumes from Frowin's library, tears and holes in the parchment are carefully stitched up. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 17

Parchment · 145 ff. · 32.0 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197

Augustinus, De Civitate Dei contra paganos

This codex contains Augustine's City of God. The manuscript was probably begun under Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178) and completed and decorated under his successor Berchtold (1178-1197). The last folio is cut out; it may have had dedicatory verse on it, as was the practice for the Engelberg scriptorium under Frowin and Berchthold. Some of the initials have been erased and reworked. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 18

Parchment · 123 ff. · 31.2 x 22.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197

Confessionum Aurelii Augustini libri tredecim

This codex contains the St. Augustine's Confessions. A two-line poem above the Capitulum on 1r attests that the copying was begun under Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178). It is adorned with two figurated initials (1v and 60v) and decorative initials in red ink. Seven rhymed distichs in the hand of the so-called Engelberg Master appear on 123v and these refer to the defense by Frowin's successor Berchtold (1178-1197) against the falsa et damnanda compilatio abbatis Burchardi in turtal. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 19

Parchment · 144 ff. · 32.3 x 23.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Homiliae S. Gregorii papae super Ezechielem prophetam

This manuscript contains on 3v-142v the homilies of Gregory the Great on the prophet Ezechiel. On 1v-3r, in the same hand, appears the tam veteris quam novi testamenti testominia; on 143r-144r follows a short treatise on Grammar written in a different, slightly later hand; the bottom part of 144 has been cut out. On 4r, a line above the text attributes the volume to Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178). Places where the parchment has been damaged have been carefully mended with different-coloured thread. Two of the decorative initials appear against a coloured background, in accordance with the later Engelberg style (24v and 76v). A few marginal notes are written in a later hand. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 20

Parchment · 193 ff. · 31.5 x 23.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. I

This codex contains the first of four volumes of the Book of Job by Gregory the Great. The subsequent three volumes are in codices 21, 22 and 23. The first volume encompasses the parts one (ff. 6r-99r) and two (99r-193v), each divided into five books. At the front of the volume there was originally a full-page illustration consisting of an artistic portrayal of Job with his three friends (upper half) and a portrayal of Gregory the Great and a monk writing (lower half). On the back, the actual recto side, is a Leonine verse couplet of dedication to Frowin. This leaf was carefully described by P. Karl Stadler in his hand-written catalog of 1787, which helped to identify the membrum disiectum, which is now held by the The Cleveland Museum of Art, 1955.74 (Purchase from the J.H. Wade Fund), as belonging to this volume. (flu)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 21

Parchment · 94 ff. · 32.0 x 22.5 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. II

This manuscript contains, along with three other volumes (Cod. 20, 22 and 23), Gregory the Great's interpretation of the Book of Job. In two lines of verse on 1r, Abbot Frowin of Engelberg dedicates the volume to the Mary, the patron saint of the monastery. On 89r and 89v a change in the ruling produces markedly larger line spacing. The incipit and explicit are rubricated, and every section begins with a decorative initial and red and brown-black ink with the figurative and vinescrolls motifs typical of Frowin's scriptorium. The layout, script and illustration are closely related to Cod. 20. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 22

Parchment · 166 ff. · 33.5 x 23.6 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. III

This codex contains Gregory the Great's Moralia in Iob. According to poem on 1r, the manuscript was produced under Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178). The individual chapters are introduced by initiales in red and brown-black ink; in comparison to the first two initials (6r and 16v), those later in the book appear incomplete. Explicits are written in red majuscule. Tears and holes in the parchment are partially stitched up, but in a less artistic manner as in other manuscripts of the library of Frowin (e.g., Cod. 16). Between 39 and 40 a strip of parchment has been attached to complete the text. (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 23

Parchment · 123 ff. · 33.5 x 23.6 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. IV

Following Cod. 20, 21 and 22, this manuscript constitutes the final volume of the Engelberg series of Pope Gregory the Great's interpretation of the book of Job. The decoration has rubricated incipits and explicits and different sorts of initials: simple ones in red ink (1v, 71r), somewhat larger ones with typical bulb motifs (15r, 49v, 101v) and figurated initials in red and brown ink (3r, 32r, 84r, 113r). Tears in the parchment have been stitched with yellow and red thread. At least some of the sparse marginal notes have been written in the same hand as the text. A note added to the end of 123v indicates that Abbot Frowin commissioned the volume. (grd)

Online since: 10/04/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 32

Parchment · 177 ff. · 31.8 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Bernardus S. Claraevallensis. Sermones super cantica canticorum LXXXII

The Cistercian Abbot Bernard of Clairvaux (1090-1153) wrote between 1135 and 1153 the 86 sermons on the interpretation of the Song of Songs. The fact that this work, as well ad Cod. 33, was copied in the Engelberg scriptorium just a few decates later testifies to the great esteem in which Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178) held the author. Indicative of this codex being produced during Frowin's abbacy is the usual dedicatory verse on 3r. The index on 1v-3r and the numerous red-ink marginalia are in the hand of Abbot Ignatius Betschart of Engelberg (1658-1681). (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 33

Parchment · 188 ff. · 31.0 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · second half of the 12th century

Sermones Bernardi Claraevallensis abbatis

Like Cod. 34 , this manuscript contains 150 sermons by the Cistercian Abbot Bernard of Clairvaux (1090-1153). The appearance of the script, in dark-brown ink, is mostly uniform. The title of the individual sermons have been written with red ink. 97v has been left blank. With regards to decoration, there are many decorative initials with runner- and bulb-motifs on a colorful background and numerous smaller initials, decorated usually in red and blue, occasionally with insular elements (59r, 67v). The manuscript was probably produced under Abbot Berchtold (1178-1197). (grd)

Online since: 10/04/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 34

Parchment · 184 ff. · 28.8 x 21.6 cm · Engelberg · second half of the 12th century

Sermones Bernardi Claraevallensis abbatis

Like Cod. 33, this manuscript contains 150 sermons by the Cistercian Abbot Bernard of Clairvaux (1090-1153), sermons which, according to the introductory lines on 1v, Bernard gave to his disciples and which a certain Godefridus copied down for diffusion. The text, written in dark-brown ink by an even hand, is adorned throughout with red-accented capitals interspersed with small initials decorated in red and green. Squeezed in the upper margin, and partially cut off, a different hand in light-brown ink makes brief annotations on the text and statements on the author. The codex probably was produced under Abbot Berchtold. (grd)

Online since: 10/04/2011

Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 47

Parchment · 135 ff. · 28.0 x 20.4 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178

Omiliae lectionum sancti evangelii Venerabilis Bedae presbiteri numero quinquaginta

This manuscript contains the Venerable Bede's homilies on the Gospels, which are listed in a chapter-index on 2r-vv and 65v-66r. A full-page colour illumination on 1v shows the author writing this work, framed by the attributes of the Evangelists. Rubricated initials, incipits and explicits divide the text, itself prepared in a light- to dark-brown ink; at the beginning, when the name of Mary, the patron-saint of the monastery of Engelberg, appears in the text, it is slightly emphasized through the use of majuscule or rubrication. 3r and 11v contain large multicolour decorative initials. Holes and tears in the parchment have been mended in a particularly artistic manner. On 1r a two-line verse states that the copy was made during the abbacy of Frowin (1143-1178). (grd)

Online since: 06/09/2011
Home Information News Contact Privacy Policy © 2014 e-codices

Dokumente: 40, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Frowins Bibliothek

Mai 2011 - Juni 2012

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Stavros Niarchos Foundation (www.snf.org)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Dank der wiederholten Unterstützung der Stavros Niarchos Foundation können 40 Handschriften aus der Frühzeit des Klosters Engelberg (Kanton Obwalden) unter dem Abt Frowin digitalisiert und auf e-codices präsentiert werden. Diese Sammlung von Handschriften muss in seiner Art und in seiner Geschlossenheit in der Schweiz als einzigartig betrachtet werden, da sie zeigt, wie im hohen Mittelalter sehr gezielt eine Klosterbibliothek aufgebaut wurde. Unter den etwa 40 erhaltenen Codices „Frowiniani“, also Handschriften, die in der Zeit seines Amts und offensichtlich auch unter seiner Leitung entstanden sind, finden sich nicht nur zahlreiche Werke der Kirchenväter Augustinus, Ambrosius, Hieronymus und Gregor, ergänzt durch Werke von Orosius, Isidor von Sevilla, Paschasius Radbert, Beda Venerabilis und Bibelhandschriften von herausragender künstlerischer Qualität, sondern auch eine ganze Reihe von zeitgenössischen Schriften von Autoren wie Hugo von Sankt Victor und Bernhard von Clairvaux oder eine Sammlung von Traktaten aus dem Abendmalstreit des 11. Jahrhundert. Alle diese Schriften hat Frowin offensichtlich sorgfältig studiert und für seine eigenen Schriften verwendet.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 2
Pergament · 264 ff. · 43.6 x 31.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197
Vitae sanctorum et passionum martyrum. Pars aestivalis

Dieser Codex enthält über hundert Heiligenviten und Märtyrerakten, die grösstenteils durch einfache rubrizierte Initialen und Incipit eingeleitet werden. Abgesehen von wenigen ebenfalls roten Zierinitialen gibt es keinerlei Buchschmuck. Der Aufbau der Handschrift und die sorgfältige Verarbeitung des Pergaments mit dem kunstvollen bunten Flickwerk entsprechen der Tradition des Skriptoriums unter Abt Frowin (1143-1178). Das gesetzte Schriftbild in schwarzer Tinte, mehrmals von einer feineren Hand unterbrochen, hebt sich indes von den anderen Bänden der Frowinbibliothek ab; der Codex kann also auch unter Frowins Nachfolger Berchtold (1178-1197) entstanden sein. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 3
Pergament · 281 ff. · 44.0 x 31.7 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

Dieser erste Teil der dreibändigen Engelberger Bibel (neben Cod. 4 und Cod. 5) enthält den Pentateuch und die Bücher der Propheten. Die beschriftete Federzeichnung mit Widmungsvers auf 1v zeigt Abt Frowin (1143-1178), wie er den Codex der Klosterpatronin Maria übergibt. Der grossformatige Band wurde laut Kolophon auf 281v von Richene geschrieben, dem einzigen namentlich bekannten Schreiber der Frowinzeit. Die sorgfältige Verarbeitung des Pergaments mit kunstvollem Flickwerk und der schlichte Stil von Schrift und Initialen in reduzierten Farben sind charakteristisch für die gut erhaltenen Werke der Frowinbibliothek. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 4
Pergament · 213 ff. · 38.0 x 28.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

Dieser zweite Band der dreiteiligen Engelberger Bibel enthält nach Cod. 3 die übrigen Bücher des Alten Testaments. Im Vers auf 1v wird der Codex im Namen des Abtes Frowin (1143-1178) der Klosterpatronin Maria gewidmet. Aufbau und Gestaltung sind im einfachen, aber eleganten Stil der Frowinbibliothek gehalten. Das Kolophon auf 213r nennt als Schreiber Richene, von dessen Hand auch die beiden anderen Engelberger Bibelbände (Cod. 3 und Cod. 5) stammen; die Malereien und Überschriften sind das Werk des sog. Engelberger Meisters. 69v zeigt eine ganzseitige farbige Darstellung von Christus und der personifizierten Ecclesia. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 5
Pergament · 199 ff. · 38.0 x 28.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Biblia latina vulgatae versionis cum prologis

Dieser dritte Band der dreiteiligen Engelberger Bibel enthält das Neue Testament. Der Codex umfasste ursprünglich 204 ff. Auf einem der herausgeschnittenen Blätter, das heute als D 126 im Stiftsarchiv Engelberg aufbewahrt wird, nennt ein fünfzeiliger Vers als Schreiber Richene, der auch die beiden Bände mit dem Alten Testament (Cod. 3 und Cod. 4) geschaffen hat. Abt Frowin (1143-1178) und sein Schreiber Richene sind in einer ganzseitigen Illustration auf 1r wiedergegeben. Ebenfalls ganzseitig dargestellt sind die Evangelisten mit ihren Attributen, die jeweils in einem beschreibenden Vers erläutert werden (108v, 134v, 153v, 181r). Auf 103r bis 105v sind Kanontafeln eingefügt. Die Handschrift weist einige unvollendete Initialen, für Verzierungen ausgesparte Stellen und vollständig leere Seiten auf. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 12
Pergament · 155 ff. · 40.8 x 29.5 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Augustinus, Enarrationes in psalmos

Dieser Codex enthält Augustins Psalmenkommentar, geschrieben in einer kleinen und sehr feinen Schrift. Der Vers auf 1r nennt Abt Frowin (1143-1178) als Urheber des Bandes. Die Handschrift enthält neben einfachen roten auch einzelne äusserst kunstvolle Initialen des Engelberger Meisters in brauner und roter Tinte. Besonders bemerkenswert ist die Darstellung von Christus als Weintreter auf 101r, die wie einige weitere Stellen auf Rasur steht. Neben und unter den Spalten sind bisweilen feine Skizzen zu Initialen, Mustern oder Figuren zu finden. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 13
Pergament · 187 ff. · 40.5 x 29.2 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Augustinus, Expositio super tertiam partem psalmorum

Dieser Codex mit Augustins Psalmenkommentar wurde zusammen mit einer ganzen Reihe an Werken des Kirchenvaters (Cod. 12-18, 87-88 und 138) im Skriptorium von Engelberg hergestellt. Ein zweizeiliger Vers auf 1r belegt seine Entstehung während der Amtszeit von Abt Frowin (1143-1178). Der Text ist in einer kleinen, gepflegten und sauberen Schrift geschrieben. Der Codex enthält vereinzelt figurative Zierinitialen mit den für die Frowinzeit üblichen Ranken- und Knollenmotiven. Ansonsten ist der Text durch nur leicht ausgeschmückte Initialen in roter Tinte gegliedert. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 14
Pergament · 187 ff. · 38.5 x 24.2 cm · Engelberg · 1178-1223
Augustinus S. Aurelius. De Trinitate libri quindecim, praemissa epistola ad Aurelium

Diese Handschrift enthält die 15 Bücher des heiligen Augustin über die Dreifaltigkeit. Auf 1v steht unter den Capitula eine Federzeichnung des Kirchenvaters mit seinen drei Gegnern. Der Codex wurde durch die Hand des sog. Engelberger Meisters besonders kunstvoll geschmückt. Zu Anfang der Bücher stehen grosse Initialen mit figurativen Motiven in rotbrauner und schwarzer Tinte, dazwischen kleinere, einfarbig rote mit reicher Ornamentik. Die Entstehung des Bandes ist in einem Schreibervers auf 1r detailliert beschrieben: Initiant war der Engelberger Abt Berchtold (1178-1197), der aber bald nach Beginn der Abschrift starb; vollendet wurde das Werk unter dessen Nachfolger Heinrich (1197-1223). (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 15
Pergament · 200 ff. · 38.2 x 27.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Augustinus, Expositio super Johannem evangelista

Dieser Codex enthält Augustins Auslegung des Johannesevangeliums. Laut Verseintrag auf 1r entstand die Handschrift unter dem Engelberger Abt Frowin (1143-1178). Aufbau, Schrift und Illustrationen – vereinzelte Zierinitialen mit Ranken- und Knollenmustern (2v, 5v, 136v) wechseln sich ab mit einfacheren rubrizierten Ziermajuskeln zur Gliederung der Abschnitte – sind eng verwandt mit Cod. 13. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 16
Pergament · 221 ff. · 32.5 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Augustinus, Sermones ad populum diversi

Diese Handschrift enthält Predigten des Kirchenvaters Augustin. Im Vers auf 1r widmet Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) den Codex der Klosterpatronin Maria. Die enthaltenen Sermones werden auf 1v bis 3r in einem Index aufgeführt. Die Hälfte des letzten Blattes (221) ist herausgeschnitten, auf dem hinteren Spiegelblatt hat der Schreiber die Feder ausprobiert (probacio penne). Risse und Löcher im Pergament sind gleich der meisten Bände der Frowinbibliothek sorgfältig zugestickt. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 17
Pergament · 145 ff. · 32.0 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197
Augustinus, De Civitate Dei contra paganos

Dieser Codex enthält Augustins „Gottesstaat“. Die Handschrift wurde wahrscheinlich unter Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) begonnen und unter seinem Nachfolger Berchtold (1178-1197) fertiggestellt bzw. ausgeschmückt. Das letzte Blatt, das einen für das Engelberger Skriptorium unter Frowin und Berchtold üblichen Verseintrag enthalten haben könnte, ist herausgeschnitten. Einige der Zierinitialen wurden ausradiert und überarbeitet. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 18
Pergament · 123 ff. · 31.2 x 22.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1197
Confessionum Aurelii Augustini libri tredecim

Dieser Codex enthält die "Bekenntnisse" des Heiligen Augustin. Ein zweizeiliger Vers über dem Capitulum auf 1r bezeugt, dass die Abschrift unter Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) begonnen wurde. Sie ist mit zwei figurativen Initialen (1v und 60v) und Ziermajuskeln in roter Tinte geschmückt. Auf 123v stehen 7 gereimte Zweizeiler von der Hand des sog. Engelberger Meisters, die auf die Apologie von Frowins Nachfolger Berchtold (1178-1197) gegen die falsa et damnanda compilatio abbatis Burchardi in turtal Bezug nehmen. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 19
Pergament · 144 ff. · 32.3 x 23.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Homiliae S. Gregorii papae super Ezechielem prophetam

Diese Handschrift enthält 3v-142v die Homilien Gregors des Grossen zum Propheten Ezechiel. Auf 1v-3r stehen von der Texthand tam veteris quam novi testamenti testimonia, auf 143r-144r folgt ein kurzer Grammatiktraktat von anderer, womöglich leicht jüngerer Hand; der untere Teil von 144 ist herausgeschnitten. In einer Zeile über dem Text auf 4r wird der Band Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) zugeordnet. Schadhafte Stellen im Pergament sind mit verschiedenfarbigen Fäden sorgfältig vernäht. Zwei der Zierinitialen stehen nach jüngerer Engelberger Art auf farbigem Hintergrund (24v und 76v). Einige Randnotizen stammen von jüngeren Händen. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 20
Pergament · 193 ff. · 31.5 x 23.0 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. I

Dieser Codex enthält den ersten von vier Bänden der Moralia in Iob von Gregor dem Grossen. Die folgenden drei Bände sind in den Codd. 21, 22 und 23 enthalten. Der erste Band umfasst den ersten (f. 6r-99r) und zweiten Teil (99r-193v), beide gegliedert in je fünf Bücher. Am Anfang des Bandes befand sich eine ganzseitige, kunstvolle Darstellung von Hiob mit den drei Freunden (obere Hälfte) und eine Darstellung Gregors des Grossen und einem schreibenden Mönch (untere Hälfte). Auf der Rückseite, der eigentlichen Rektoseite, stand ein zweizeiliger Leoniner mit einem Widmungsvers auf Frowin. Das Blatt wurde von P. Karl Stadler in seinem handgeschriebenen Katalog von 1787 sorgfältig beschrieben und half so, dieses membrum disiectum, im The Cleveland Museum of Art, 1955.74 (Purchase from the J.H. Wade Fund), eindeutig diesem Band zuzuweisen. (flu)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 21
Pergament · 94 ff. · 32.0 x 22.5 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. II

Diese Handschrift enthält, zusammen mit drei weiteren Bänden (Cod. 20, 22 und 23), die Auslegung des Buches Hiob von Gregor dem Grossen. In einem zweizeiligen Vers auf 1r wird der Band durch Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) der Klosterpatronin Maria gewidmet. Auf 89r und 89v wechselt die Linierung zu deutlich grösserem Zeilenabstand. Incipit und Explicit sind rubriziert, zu Anfang der Abschnitte stehen Zierinitialen in roter und braunschwarzer Tinte mit den im Frowinskriptorium üblichen Figuren- und Rankenmotiven. Aufbau, Schrift und Buchschmuck der Handschrift sind aufs engste mit Cod. 20 verwandt. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 22
Pergament · 166 ff. · 33.5 x 23.6 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. III

Dieser Codex enthält die Moralia in Iob Gregors des Grossen. Die Handschrift entstand laut dem Vers auf 1r unter Abt Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178). Die einzelnen Kapitel werden mit Zierinitialen in roter und braunschwarzer Tinte eingeleitet; die hinteren Initialen wirken im Vergleich zu den beiden ersten (6r und 16v) unfertig. Die Explicit sind in roten Majuskeln geschrieben. Risse und Löcher im Pergament sind teilweise zugestickt, aber weniger kunstvoll als in anderen Handschriften der Frowinbibliothek (z.B. Cod. 16). Zwischen 39 und 40 ist ein Pergamentstreifen als Ergänzung eingefügt. (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 23
Pergament · 123 ff. · 33.5 x 23.6 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregorius M., Moralia in Job, t. IV

Diese Handschrift ist nach Cod. 20, 21 und 22 der letzte Band der Engelberger Reihe von Papst Gregors Auslegung des Buches Hiob. An Buchschmuck gibt es rubrizierte Incipit und Explicit und verschiedene Initialen: einfache in roter Tinte (1v, 71r), etwas grössere mit den typischen Knollenmotiven (15r, 49v, 101v) und figurative in roter und brauner Tinte (3r, 32r, 84r, 113r). Risse im Pergament sind mit gelbem und rotem Faden vernäht. Die vereinzelten Randnotizen stammen zumindest teilweise von der Texthand. Eine nachträglich angefügte Zeile am Ende von 123v nennt Abt Frowin (1143-1178) als Urheber der Abschrift. (grd)

Online seit: 04.10.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 32
Pergament · 177 ff. · 31.8 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Bernardus S. Claraevallensis. Sermones super cantica canticorum LXXXII

Der Zisterzienserabt Bernhard von Clairvaux (1090-1153) hat die 86 Sermones zur Interpretation des Hoheliedes zwischen 1135 und 1153 verfasst. Dass das Werk, wie auch Cod. 33, schon wenige Jahrzehnte später im Engelberger Skriptorium kopiert wurde, zeugt von der grossen Autorität, die dem Autor vom Engelberger Abt Frowin (1143-1178) beigemessen wurde. Auf Frowins Amtsjahre als Entstehungszeit des Codex deutet der für die Frowinbände übliche Verseintrag auf 3r. Der Index auf 1v-3r und die zahlreichen Marginalien in roter Tinte stammen von der Hand des Engelberger Abtes Ignatius Betschart (1658-1681). (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 33
Pergament · 188 ff. · 31.0 x 22.8 cm · Engelberg · zweite Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts
Sermones Bernardi Claraevallensis abbatis

Diese Handschrift enthält wie Cod. 34 rund 150 Sermones des Zisterzienserabtes Bernard von Clairvaux (1090-1153). Das Schriftbild in dunkelbrauner Tinte ist meist gleichförmig. Die Titel der einzelnen Sermones sind mit roter Tinte geschrieben. 97v wurde leer gelassen. An Buchschmuck gibt es mehrere Zierinitialen mit Ranken- und Knollenmustern auf farbigem Hintergrund und zahlreiche kleinere, meist rot und blau verzierte Initialen, bisweilen mit insularen Elementen (59r, 67v). Die Handschrift entstand vermutlich unter Abt Berchtold (1178-1197). (grd)

Online seit: 04.10.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 34
Pergament · 184 ff. · 28.8 x 21.6 cm · Engelberg · zweite Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts
Sermones Bernardi Claraevallensis abbatis

Diese Handschrift enthält wie Cod. 33 rund 150 Sermones des Zisterzienserabtes Bernhard von Clairvaux (1090-1153), die laut Eingangszeilen auf 1v dieser seinen Schülern vorgetragen hatte und die zwecks Verbreitung von einem gewissen Godefridus aufgeschrieben wurden. Der Text von gleichmässiger Hand in dunkelbrauner Tinte ist durchgehend mit rot ausgemalten Majuskeln und zwischendurch kleinen rotgrün verzierten Initialen geschmückt. Eine andere Hand in hellbrauner Tinte macht, an den obersten Seitenrand gedrängt und teilweise abgeschnitten, kurze Angaben zum Inhalt und Aussagen zum Autor. Der Codex entstand vermutlich unter Abt Berchtold (1178-1197). (grd)

Online seit: 04.10.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 47
Pergament · 135 ff. · 28.0 x 20.4 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Omiliae lectionum sancti evangelii Venerabilis Bedae presbiteri numero quinquaginta

Diese Handschrift enthält die Evangelienhomilien des Beda Venerabilis, die auf 2r und 2v sowie 65v und 66r in einer Kapitelübersicht aufgeführt sind. Der Autor ist auf 1v ganzseitig, eingerahmt von den Attributen der Evangelisten, in farbiger Tinte beim Verfassen des Werks dargestellt. Der Text in hell- bis dunkelbrauner Tinte ist durch rubrizierte Initialen, Incipit und Explicit gegliedert; zu Anfang wird auch der Name der Engelberger Klosterpatronin Maria im Text mittels Majuskeln oder Rubrikation leicht hervorgehoben. 3r und 11v enthalten grössere Zierinitialen in mehreren Farben. Löcher und Risse im Pergament sind besonders kunstvoll vernäht. Auf 1r nennt ein zweizeiliger Vers als Entstehungszeit der Abschrift die Amtsjahre des Engelberger Abtes Frowin (1143-1178). (grd)

Online seit: 09.06.2011

Dokumente: 40, angezeigt: 1 - 20