Documents: 19

Sub-project: Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae

Start: December 2013

Status: In progress

Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: The early medieval library of Fulda, famous until the Humanistic period, was almost completely destroyed during the Thirty Years’ War. During the 16th century, a number of Fulda codices were brought to Switzerland to serve as sources for print editions produced in Basel. Because some of these manuscripts never made it back to Fulda, one of the largest groups of surviving Fulda manuscripts and fragments can be found in Switzerland, particularly in Basel. Moreover, several Swiss collections include products of the Fulda scriptorium that for one reason or another were never delivered to their destinations. This project, a collaboration of e-codices and the Institut Bibliotheca Fuldensis, will provide digital access to the Fulda Manuscripts of Switzerland, in hopes of providing new impetus for investigating this scriptorium and library.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15a
Parchment · 32 ff. · 25 x 19 cm · Fulda · 8th / 9th century
Isidorus Hispalensis · Register of Books of the Monastery of Fulda · Recipes · Blessings · Astronomic Tables · Jerome

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. This codex was created in Fulda at the end of the 9th century and still retains its Carolingian binding in a parchment cover. In addition to the works of Isidore, it contains the oldest catalog of the Fulda library, the so-called Basel recipes in Old High German, and an astronomic-computistic cycle of illustrations. (stu)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15b
Parchment · 45 ff. · 26-27 × 19.5-21 cm · Northern England and German Anglo-Saxon areas (probably Fulda) · first half of the 8th century / first quarter of the 9th century
Ps. Isidorus Hispalensis, De ordine creaturarum . Vita Antigoni et s. Eupraxiae . Vita s. Goaris

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. In Fulda, it originated by merging an 8th century Northern English manuscript with a continental-insular text from the first half of the 9th century, probably written in Fulda. The codex retains its Carolingian binding in a parchment cover. To the extent that the texts contained therein are critically edited, the codex is considered among important textual witnesses. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15c
Parchment · 64 ff. · ca. 26-26,5 x 18-19 cm · German Anglo-Saxon areas (probably Fulda) · second half of the 8th century — first third of the 9th century
Isidorus Hispalensis . Ps. Basilius . Cyprianus Carthaginensis . Gregorius Magnus al.

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; it survived because it reached Basel in the 16th century, before the library’s destruction in the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently served as a possible textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex consists of several parts. A German Anglo-Saxon manuscript from the second half of the 8th century containing the second book of Isidore’s Synonyma was supplemented in the first third of the 9th century, probably in Fulda, with the first book of the same work by Isidore. Very early already, this was bound together with another item containing Admonitio ad filium spiritualem by Pseudo-Basilius as well as various excerpts, which probably were also written in Fulda around 800. (stb)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15d
Parchment · 16 ff. · ca. 27.5 × 23.5-24 cm · Ireland · 8th century
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De vitiis . Consentius, De barbarismis et metaplasmis . Victorinus, De soloecismo et barbarismo

One of the Isidore codices (or Pseudo-Isidore) from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex originated in Ireland in the 8th century and apparently retains its original Irish binding in a parchment cover. The grammar manuscript presents as its main text De vitiis (linguae), which it attributes to a Isidorus iunior, the Codex unicus. According to the editor, the text might have orginated around 500, perhaps in Spain, and is one of the sources used by Isidore for the first book of his Etymologiae; for the other texts contained herein as well, it is among one of the exceedingly rare remaining textual witnesses. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15e
Parchment · 55 ff. · 24-26 x 15-17 cm · German Anglo-Saxon region (near Fulda?), Fulda and Mainz · 9th century; supplements until 10th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

A composite manuscript from Fulda with texts primarily on the topic of repentance and asceticism. Similar to a series of Isidore-codices from Fulda, it reached Basel in the 16th century - possibly because one of the texts contained therein also survived under Isidore’s name; thus it escaped the abduction and destruction of the Fulda library during the Thirty Years’ War. The various parts and texts are written in Anglo-Saxon and Carolingian minuscule and originated in Fulda and its surroundings, up to Mainz. The leather binding, presumably still Carolingian, was much changed at a later time, especially due to the removal of the covers. Apparently in Basel, what had formerly been the first quire (Paenitentiale Theodori), in a markedlay smaller format, was removed from the collection. Today it bears the shelf mark N I 1: 3c‬‬. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15f
Parchment · 13 ff. · 33-33.5 × 24.5-25.5 cm · England · first half of the 8th century
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De natura rerum cum additamento De XII signis caeli

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently was to serve as a textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex originated in England in the 8th century and retains its binding from the 8th or 9th century in a parchment cover. It is considered one of the most important textual witnesses of Isidore’s De natura rerum. (stb)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15g
Parchment · 66 ff. · 27-27,5 × 19-19,5 cm · Fulda · first third of the 9th century
Isidorus Hispalensis, Sententiae (liber I-II)

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently served as a possible textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex was produced in Fulda in the first third of the 9th century and clearly still retains its Carolingian binding of wooden boards covered in brown leather with scudding decoration. (stb)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15l
Parchment · 20 ff. · 29,5-30 × 22-23 cm · Anglo-Saxon center (on the continent? in England?) · first half of the 8th century
Isidorus Hispalensis, Differentiarum liber . Gennadius Massiliensis, Definitio ecclesiasticarum dogmatum

One of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda; the codex escaped destruction because it reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years' War. There it apparently served as a possible textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex was produced in the first half of the 8th century in England or in an Anglo-Saxon center on the continent. It retains its 8th or 9th century binding in a parchment cover and is considered one of the most important textual witnesses of Isidore’s Differentiarum liber. (stb)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Le VI 12
Parchment · 2 ff. · 9 × 18 cm · Fulda · about second quarter of the 9th century
Paulinus Mediolanensis, Vita Ambrosii (Fragment)

Fragment with hagiographic content from a Carolingian manuscript that originated in Fulda and was used as manuscript waste in the Basel area in the last quarter of the 16th century. (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Parchment · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13,5 cm · Fulda · first quarter of the 9th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

This fascicle contains the version of the Paenitentiale Theodori named for this textual witness the ‘Canones Basilienses;’ it was written by two hands from Fulda in an Anglo-Saxon minuscule of the first quarter of the 9th century. Around 1500, this quire was part of the current manuscript F III 15e‬‬‬‬. This explains the title de conflictu viciorum et virtutum on 1r, which does not fit with the content of the quire. As evidenced by the lost text at the beginning and at the end, N I 1: 3c had previously been part of another codex. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:14
Parchment · 1 f. · 26 x 19.6 cm · Fulda · about 910-920
Isidorus Hispalensis, Expositio in genesim (Fragment)

Probably a fragment of one of the Isidore codices from the Monastery of Fulda, which reached Basel during the 16th century, before the abduction and destruction of the library during the Thirty Years’ War. There it apparently served as a possible textual source for a planned edition of Isidore’s works. The codex was produced in Fulda around the second decade of the 10th century. In 1624 this bifolium was used as a document cover. (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:19
Parchment · 1 f. · 21,5 x 14 cm · Fulda · second third of the 9th century
Vita Victurii Cenomanensis (Fragment)

Fragment with hagiographic content from a Carolingian manuscript that originated in Fulda. (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:67
Parchment · 2 ff. · 22 x (13,5) cm · Fulda · first quarter of the 9th century
Salvianus, Ad ecclesiam (Fragment)

Fragment from a Salvianus manuscript, which evidently came to Basel from Fulda at the beginning of the 16th century in order to serve Johannes Sichardus in 1628 as a master copy for printing in the printshop of Henricus Petrus. The manuscript was produced in the first quarter of the 9th century in Fulda. In the second half of the 16th century it was used in Basel as manuscript waste for bindings. (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:69
Parchment · 1 f. · 25 x 16 cm · Fulda · first half of the 9th century
Balbus gromaticus, Expositio et ratio omnium formarum (Fragment)

Fragment of an agrimensor manuscript, which evidently came to Basel from Fulda at the beginning of the 16th century in order to serve Johannes Sichardus in 1628 as a master copy for printing in the printshop of Henricus Petrus. Poggio Bracciolini should have seen it in Fulda in 1417. The manuscript was produced in the first half of the 9th century in Fulda. In the second half of the 16th century it was used in Basel as manuscript waste for bindings. The publication of this fragment by Martin Steinmann in 1992 refuted the hypothesis, held until very recently, that the manuscript Rom, Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana Pal. lat. 1564 had been the model for Sichardus. (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 234
Parchment · 69 ff. · 29.5 x 21.5 cm · Fulda / Reims (?) · second quarter of the 9th century and first third of the 9th century
Cassiodorus, Augustinus, Alcuinus, Audax Grammaticus

This 9th century manuscript is dedicated to the Artes; it consists of two parts, the first of which was written in Fulda around the second quarter of the 9th century. It contains the second book of Cassiodorus’ Institutiones, which is devoted to secular knowledge; since the 9th century, it has been preserved in several manuscripts in an interpolated version that contains Cassiodorus’ remarks on grammar, rhetoric, dialectic, arithmetic, music, geometry and astronomy, supplemented with excerpts from Quintilian, Boethius, Augustine and others. The second part was created a little earlier or simultaneously during the first third of the 9th century in Western France; it contains Alcuin’s Dialectica and excerpts from Audax Grammaticus. The two parts were already combined in the 9th century and were held in France. (stb)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 720.1
Parchment · 2 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · France/Germany (?) · 10th / 11th century
Annales Fuldenses (fragment)

10th/11th century fragment of unknown origin, containing parts of the Mainz continuation (up to the year 887) of the so-called Annales Fuldenses with entries for the years 871, 872 and 876. Based on the reading of the text, this exemplar belongs to a group of manuscripts that also contain the so-called Bavarian continuation of the Annals for the years 882 to 901. (stb)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.3
Parchment · 2 ff. · 21.5 x 17.5 cm · Fulda · second quarter of the 9th century
Cetius Faventinus: Artis architectonicae privatis usibus adbreviatus liber (fragment)

Fragment of a manuscript that originated in Fulda around the second quarter of the 9th century, containing Cetius Faventinus’ (late 3rd/early 4th century) extracts from Vitruvius’ De Architectura. It cannot be determined when the codex left Fulda. Two Fulda library catalogs from the beginning and the middle of the 16th century still list a Faventinus manuscript. (stb)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne, Ms 398
Parchment · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (Fragment)

Along with Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek Pal. lat. 921, this fragment from the Fulda Abbey Scriptorium constitutes one of two documented manuscripts of the Getica by Jordanes, written in a (continental) Anglo-Saxon minuscule; it is not, however, a part of the last leaf of Pal. lat. 921, which has been missing since the beginning of the 19th century. Along with Palermo, Archivio di Stato "Codice Basile" and Rome, Biblioteca Vaticana Ottob. lat. 1346, and together with Pal. lat. 920, this remnant of a leaf is among the oldest text witnesses of the Getica. It could be a part of a manuscript by Jordanes that had been attested in Fulda until the middle of the 16th century. (stb)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium, Fragm. I. 1
Parchment · 4 pp. · 15.5 x 10.5 cm · around 840
Liber traditionum fuldensis

This mutilated bifolium in Anglo-Saxon and Carolingian minuscule represents the sole surviving remainder of the Thuringia-cartulary of Fulda. It was part of the eight volume cartulary of the Monastery of Fulda, arranged by region, which was compiled under Hrabanus-Maurus in the second quarter of the 9th century. In addition to a complete volume in the state archives of Marburg (K 424), evidence for the entire work comes from various fragments in the municipal archives of Leutkirch in the Allgäu and in the university library of Tübingen (Mm I 7). (stb)

Online Since: 10/08/2015

Documents: 19

Dokumente: 19

Teilprojekt: Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae

Anfang: Dezember 2013

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die bis in die Zeit des Humanismus berühmte frühmittelalterliche Bibliothek Fuldas wurde im 30-jährigen Krieg fast vollständig zerstört. Noch im 16. Jh. gelangte eine Anzahl Fuldaer Codices in die Schweiz, um dort in Basel als Vorlagen für Druckausgaben zu dienen. Indem einige von ihnen nicht zurückkehrten, findet sich in der Schweiz, insbesondere in Basel, eine der größten Gruppen erhaltener Fuldaer Handschriften und Fragmente. Darüber hinaus bewahren mehrere Schweizer Sammlungen Erzeugnisse des Fuldaer Skriptoriums auf, deren Überlieferungsweg sich nicht immer nachvollziehen lässt. Das Projekt, ein Kooperationsprojekt von e-codices mit dem Institut Bibliotheca Fuldensis, wird die Fuldaer Handschriften der Schweiz digital verfügbar machen, um so der Erforschung von Skriptorium und Bibliothek neue Impulse zu geben.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15a
Pergament · 32 ff. · 25 x 19 cm · Fulda · 8. / 9. Jahrhundert
Isidorus Hispalensis · Bücherverzeichnis Kloster Fulda · Rezepte · Segen · astronomische Tafeln · Hieronymus

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Der in Fulda Ende des 9. Jhs. entstandene Codex bewahrt noch seine karolingische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Neben Isidors Werken enthält er den ältesten Fuldaer Bibliothekskatalog, die althochdeutschen sogenannten Basler Rezepte sowie einen astronomisch-komputistischen Bilderzyklus. (stu)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15b
Pergament · 45 ff. · 26-27 × 19.5-21 cm · Nordengland/Deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (wohl Fulda) · erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts / erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Ps. Isidorus Hispalensis, De ordine creaturarum . Vita Antigoni et s. Eupraxiae . Vita s. Goaris

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. In Fulda entstand er durch die Zusammenführung einer nordenglischen Handschrift des 8. Jahrhunderts mit einem festländisch-insularen, wohl in Fulda selbst geschriebenen Teil der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Der Codex bewahrt noch seine karolingische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Soweit die enthaltenen Texte kritisch ediert sind, zählt er zu den wichtigen Textzeugen. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15c
Pergament · 64 ff. · ca. 26-26,5 x 18-19 cm · Deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (wahrscheinlich Fulda) · zweite Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts - erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus Hispalensis . Ps. Basilius . Cyprianus Carthaginensis . Gregorius Magnus al.

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Der Codex besteht aus mehreren Teilen. Eine deutsch angelsächsische Handschrift der 2. Hälfte des 8. Jhs. mit dem 2. Buch von Isidors Synonyma wurde im 1. Drittel des neunten Jahrhunderts, wahrscheinlich in Fulda, um das 1. Buch desselben Isidor-Werkes ergänzt. Dazu wurde schon früh eine Einheit mit Ps. Basilius, Admonitio ad filium spiritualem und verschiedenen Exzerpten gebunden, die in der Zeit um 800 vermutlich ebenfalls in Fulda geschrieben wurde. (stb)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15d
Pergament · 16 ff. · ca. 27.5 × 23.5-24 cm · Irland · 8. Jahrhundert
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De vitiis . Consentius, De barbarismis et metaplasmis . Victorinus, De soloecismo et barbarismo

Einer der Isidor- (bzw. Ps.-Isidor-)Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek des Klosters im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand im 8. Jh. in Irland und bewahrt offenbar noch die originale irische Bindung in einen Pergamentumschlag. Die Grammatik-Handschrift stellt für ihren Haupttext De vitiis. (linguae.), den sie einem Isidorus iunior. zuschreibt, den Codex unicus dar. Nach Meinung des Herausgebers dürfte der Text etwa um 500, vielleicht in Spanien, entstanden sein und ist eine der von Isidor benutzten Quellen für das erste Buch seiner Etymologiae.; auch für die weiteren enthaltenen Texte zählt er zu den überaus wenigen vorhandenen Textzeugen. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15e
Pergament · 55 ff. · 24-26 x 15-17 cm · deutsch-angelsächsisches Gebiet (Nähe von Fulda?), Fulda und Mainz · 9. Jahrhundert; Nachträge bis 10. Jahrhundert
Theodori und Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Eine Fuldaer Sammelhandschrift mit Texten vor allem zum Thema der Buße und Aszetik. Sie kam ähnlich einer Reihe von Fuldaer Isidor-Codices im 16. Jh. nach Basel - möglicherweise, weil einer der enthaltenen Texte auch unter Isidors Namen überliefert ist - und entging so der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Fuldaer Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg. Die verschiedenen Teile und Textschichten sind in angelsächsischer und karolingischer Minuskel geschrieben und in Fulda sowie seinem Umfeld bis hin nach Mainz entstanden. Der vermutlich noch karolingische Ledereinband wurde in späterer Zeit insbesondere durch das Entfernen der Buchdeckel stark verändert. Offenbar in Basel wurde die ehemals erste Lage (Paenitentiale Theodori) mit deutlich kleinerem Format aus der Sammlung entfernt. Sie trägt heute die Signatur N I 1: 3c‬‬. (stb)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15f
Pergament · 13 ff. · 33-33.5 × 24.5-25.5 cm · England · erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus iunior Hispalensis, De natura rerum cum additamento De XII signis caeli

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand im 8. Jh. in England und bewahrt noch seine Bindung des 8. oder 9. Jahrhunderts in einen Pergamentumschlag. Er zählt zu den wichtigsten Textzeugen von Isidors De natura rerum. (stb)

Online seit: 13.12.2013

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15g
Pergament · 66 ff. · 27-27,5 × 19-19,5 cm · Fulda · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus Hispalensis, Sententiae (liber I-II)

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand in Fulda im 1. Drittel des 9. Jhs. und bewahrt offensichtlich noch seinen karolingischen Einband aus braunem Leder mit Streicheisenlinien über Holzdeckeln. (stb)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 15l
Pergament · 20 ff. · 29,5-30 × 22-23 cm · angelsächsisches Zentrum (auf dem Kontinent?, in England?) · erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus Hispalensis, Differentiarum liber . Gennadius Massiliensis, Definitio ecclesiasticarum dogmatum

Einer der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der dem Untergang entgangen ist, indem er im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand in der 1. Hälfte des 8. Jh. in England oder in einem angelsächsischen Zentrum auf dem Kontinent. Er bewahrt noch seine Bindung des 8. oder 9. Jahrhunderts in einen Pergamentumschlag und zählt zu den wichtigsten Textzeugen von Isidors Differentiarum liber. (stb)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Le VI 12
Pergament · 2 ff. · 9 × 18 cm · Fulda · ca. zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Paulinus Mediolanensis, Vita Ambrosii (Fragment)

Fragmente hagiographischen Inhalts von einer karolingischen Handschrift Fuldaer Entstehung, die offenbar im letzten Viertel des 16. Jh. im Basler Raum makuliert wurde. (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Pergament · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13,5 cm · Fulda · erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Theodori und Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Der Faszikel enthält die nach dem vorliegenden Textzeugen als ‘Canones Basilienses’ bezeichneten Fassung des Paenitentiale Theodori von zwei Fuldaer Händen in angelsächsischer Minuskel des 1. Viertels des 9. Jhs. Die Lage war um 1500 Teil der heutigen Handschrift F III 15e‬‬‬‬. Dies erklärt den Titel de conflictu viciorum et virtutum 1r, der nicht zum Inhalt der Lage passt. Wie der Textverlust zu Beginn und am Ende zeigt, war N I 1: 3c aber zuvor schon einmal Teil eines anderen Codex. (stb)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:14
Pergament · 1 f. · 26 x 19.6 cm · Fulda · ca. 910-920
Isidorus Hispalensis, Expositio in genesim (Fragment)

Vermutlich ein Fragment eines der Isidor-Codices des Klosters Fulda, der im 16. Jh., noch vor der Verschleppung und Vernichtung der Bibliothek im 30-jährigen Krieg, nach Basel gelangte. Dort sollte er offenbar als mögliche Textvorlage für eine geplante Isidor-Ausgabe dienen. Er entstand etwa im 2. Jahrzehnt des 10. Jh. in Fulda. Das vorliegende Doppelblatt wurde um 1624 als Aktenumschlag verwendet. (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:19
Pergament · 1 f. · 21,5 x 14 cm · Fulda · zweites Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Vita Victurii Cenomanensis (Fragment)

Fragmente hagiographischen Inhalts von einer karolingischen Handschrift Fuldaer Entstehung. (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:67
Pergament · 2 ff. · 22 x (13,5) cm · Fulda · erstes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Salvianus, Ad ecclesiam (Fragment)

Fragmente einer Salvianus-Handschrift, die offenkundig zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts von Fulda nach Basel kam, um dort 1628 für Johannes Sichardus in der Offizin Henricus Petrus als Druckvorlage zu dienen. Sie entstand im 1. Viertel des 9. Jh. in Fulda. In der 2. Hälfte des 16. Jh. wurde sie in Basel als Einbandmakulatur verarbeitet. (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 6:69
Pergament · 1 f. · 25 x 16 cm · Fulda · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Balbus gromaticus, Expositio et ratio omnium formarum (Fragment)

Fragment einer Agrimensoren-Handschrift, die offenkundig zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts von Fulda nach Basel kam, um dort 1628 für Johannes Sichardus in der Offizin Henricus Petrus als Druckvorlage zu dienen. Schon Poggio Braccolini dürfte sie 1417 in Fulda gesehen haben. Sie entstand in der 1. Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts in Fulda. In der 2. Hälfte des 16. Jh. wurde sie in Basel als Einbandmakulatur verarbeitet. Durch die Publikation des Fragmentes durch Martin Steinmann 1992 wurde die noch bis in jüngste Zeit verfolgte Annahme widerlegt, Rom, Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana Pal. lat. 1564 sei die Vorlage von Sichardus gewesen. (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 234
Pergament · 69 ff. · 29.5 x 21.5 cm · Fulda / Reims (?) · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts und erster Drittel 9. Jahrhunderts
Cassiodorus, Augustinus, Alcuinus, Audax Grammaticus

Die den Artes gewidmete Handschrift des 9. Jh. besteht aus zwei Teilen, deren vorderer in Fulda etwa im 2. Viertel des 9. Jhs. geschrieben ist. Er enthält das zweite, dem weltlichen Wissen gewidmete Buch von Cassiodors Institutiones in einer ab dem 9. Jh. in mehreren Handschriften überlieferten interpolierten Fassung, die Cassiodors Ausführungen zu Grammatik, Rhetorik, Dialektik, Arithmetik, Musik, Geometrie und Astronomie durch Exzerpte aus Quintilian, Boethius, Augustinus und anderen ergänzt. Der zweite Teil ist wenig früher oder gleichzeitig im 1. Drittel des 9. Jhs. in Westfrankreich entstanden und umfasst Alcuins Dialectica und Exzerpte aus Audax Grammaticus. Beide Teile waren schon im 9. Jh. vereint und befanden sich in Frankreich. (stb)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 720.1
Pergament · 2 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · Frankreich/Deutschland (?) · 10./11. Jahrhundert
Annales Fuldenses (Fragment)

Fragment des 10./11. Jahrhunderts von unbekanntem Entstehungsort mit Teilen der Mainzer Fortsetzung (bis zum Jahr 887) der sogenannten Annales Fuldenses mit Einträgen zu den Jahren 871, 872 und 876. Aufgrund seiner Lesarten gehört das Stück zu einer Gruppe von Handschriften, die auch die sogenannte bayerische Fortsetzung der Annalen für die Jahre 882 bis 901 enthalten. (stb)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.3
Pergament · 2 ff. · 21.5 x 17.5 cm · Fulda · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Cetius Faventinus: Artis architectonicae privatis usibus adbreviatus liber (Fragment)

Fragment einer in Fulda etwa im 2. Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts entstandenen Handschrift mit den Auszügen des Cetius Faventinus (Ende 3./Anfang 4. Jh.?) aus Vitruvs De Architectura. Wann der Codex Fulda verließ, lässt sich nicht bestimmen. Zwei Fuldaer Bibliothekskataloge vom Anfang und der Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts führen noch eine Faventinus-Handschrift auf. (stb)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne, Ms 398
Pergament · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (Fragment)

Das Fragment aus dem Scriptorium des Klosters Fulda steht neben Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek Pal. lat. 921 für eine der beiden nachweisbaren Handschriften der Getica des Iordanes in (festländischer) angelsächsischer Minuskel; es handelt sich jedoch nicht um einen Teil des zu Beginn des 19. Jh. fehlenden letzten Blattes von Pal. lat. 921. Nach Palermo, Archivio di Stato "Codice Basile" sowie Rom, Biblioteca Vaticana Ottob. lat. 1346 und gemeinsam mit Pal. lat. 920 gehört der Blattrest zu den ältesten Testzeugen der Getica. Er könnte Teil einer Iordanes-Handschrift gewesen sein, die sich bis zur Mitte des 16. Jhs. in Fulda nachweisen lässt. (stb)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium, Fragm. I. 1
Pergament · 4 pp. · 15.5 x 10.5 cm · um 840
Liber traditionum fuldensis

Das verstümmelte Doppelblatt in angelsächsischer und karolingischer Minuskel stellt den einzigen erhaltenen Rest des Fuldaer Thüringen-Chartulars dar. Dieses war seinerseits Teil des achtbändigen, nach Landschaften geordneten Chartulars des Klosters Fulda, welches unter Hrabanus-Maurus im 2. Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts angelegt wurde. Neben einem vollständigen Band im Staatsarchiv Marburg (K 424) zeugen von dem Gesamtwerk noch weitere Fragmente im Stadtarchiv Leutkirch im Allgäu und in der Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen (Mm I 7). (stb)

Online seit: 08.10.2015

Dokumente: 19