Documents: 7

Sub-project: Indian manuscripts in Switzerland

January 2017

Status: In progress

Description: Switzerland has a considerable number of Indian manuscripts in various libraries, museums and private collections. So far, these manuscripts have rarely been investigated; there does not even exist a general census of the manuscripts. The project « Indian manuscripts in Switzerland » has set itself the goal of making these manuscripts, along with scholarly descriptions, available to scholars and to a broader public.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 701
Paper · XI + 200 + IX ff. · 34.8 x 28 cm · Punjab (North-Western India) · 18th century
Bhāgavatapurāṇa, book 10

This is a Panjabi adaptation of the 10th book of the Bhāgavatapurāṇa, in Punjabi/Braj language, in Gurmukhī script. It is a collection of stories of the life of the god Kṛṣṇa, written in verse (caupaī, kabitā, soraṭhā and others). Contrary to the Sanskrit version, the text has no clear chapter structures and has a continuous numeration (880 verses). It is richly illustrated with scenes from the life of the god Kṛṣṇa (more than 200 miniatures), and it is a free verse rendering of the ancient Sanskrit text that was written in ślokas (shlokas), which was extremely popular in India. (ser)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 703
Paper · IV + 58 + V ff. · 11.7 x 16.2 cm · Rajasthan · 19th century
Collection of poems

The manuscript, written in modern Devanāgarī script, contains a series of extracts of poems on Rādhā and Kṛṣṇa and on nāyikās and nāyakas (heroes and heroines), demonstrating various states and stages of erotic love. Two compositions mention in their colophons the authors or compilers, Rājānāgarī Dāsa (f. 55v) and the Venerable Kuvara Phakīra Siṃha - Kubar Fakīr Singh in hindi spelling (f. 58v). The manuscript is illustrated: five pictures feature Rādhā and Kṛṣṇa (f. 1v, 10r, 26v, 33r and 37v), and two others depict young people in love (f. 52r, 52v). The poems are of different forms, namely, copaī/caupaī, dohā, aralli, and soraṭha. Each of these has a fixed number of lines, syllables per line and other metric specifications. This style was very popular in Northwestern India from about the 18th century onwards. The manuscript was the property of Oliver Henry Perkins (front pastedown), before entering the Bodmer collection at an unknown date. (ser)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 704
Paper · IV + 165 + IX ff. · 7.5 x 12.5 cm · first half of the 18th century
Bhagavadgītā and subsidiary texts

This manuscript comprises a collection of four different texts. The main text is the Bhagavadgītā ("Song of the Lord"), a part of the Mahābhārata epic, book 6, which consists of 18 chapters, written here in Devanāgarī in a Kashmiri-influenced style (f. 1v-165r). It is one of the most copied texts in the Hindu tradition and survives in a huge number of manuscripts. Painted portraits of Kṛṣṇa and Arjuna alternate in opening its 18 chapters. The Bhagavadgītā is preceded by the Prayāgatīrthasnānasaṃkalpa, apadoddhāraṇastotra (V2r-V4v),"a promise to take bath at Prayāga (Allahabad)", and followed by the Pañcavaktrahanumatkavaca (N1v-N7v), a protective mantra of Hanuman, and finally the Stavarāja (N8r-N8v), a "king of praises", serving also as a sort of colophon to the whole collection of these miscellaneous texts. These three subsidiary texts are all written in common Devanāgarī script. A partly readable note dated 29 August 1781 identifies the manuscript as a “prayer book of a bramin [i.e. brahmin]” given to the unidentified possessor of the manuscript “on his departure from India” (V1r). (ser)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 706
Paper · 121 ff. · 11 x 27.5 cm · likely Gujarat · 15th century (?)
Kalpasūtra, i.e. "Book of rituals"

This unbound manuscript contains one of the most copied texts of the Śvetāmbara Jaina tradition, the Kalpasūtra, which was very popular all over India from the 14th century on. It is a collection of life stories of the great Tīrthaṅkāras. The present manuscript, written in Devanāgarī script, begins with the life of Mahāvīra Jīna, and continues with the biography of Pārśvanātha and Neminātha. The text is incomplete, missing folios 32, 85, 97, 103, and 125, which contained paintings that were sold separately. Their subject, however, can be restored through comparison with similar manuscripts. The paintings still in the manuscript (1v, 7r, 9v, 16v, 17v, 21r, 45v, 47v, 51r, 58r, 62v, 70r, 71v, 72v, 77v, 78r, 81v, 92r) depict the most important events of the lives of the Kalpasūtra’s figures. Based on the painting style, the manuscript is close to the 15th century. (ser)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 708
Paper · 82 ff. · 21 x 31 cm · Northern India, likely around Kedarnath · between 1700 and 1800, likely towards 1800
Kedārakalpa

This is an 18th century manuscript of the text called Kedārakalpa, representing itself as a part of the Nandīpurāṇa. The manuscript describes and depicts in its 61 exquisite miniature paintings a religious pilgrimage in Himalayas, Kedarnath region, as done by a group of yogis. It is a śaiva text, i.e. main deity is god Śiva, and the main purpose of the text is to incite people to go on that sacred śaiva pilgrimage. (ser)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 709
Paper · III + 476 + II ff. · 9.3 x 14.5 cm · Kashmir and Vṛṇdavan · 1776 or 1777
Collection of texts related to the worship of Viṣṇu

This is a composite manuscript, written in Devanāgarī script bearing the influence of the Kashmiri style, bringing together a number of ritual texts dealing with the worship of Viṣṇu. 1. (ff. 1_1r-1_6r) preparatory texts and rituals (without a single name or title), starting with a likely Pāñcarātra-influenced set of ritual practices, namely, nyāsas, and dhyānas, i.e. assignment of deities, and syllables to various parts of the body and the visualisation of the main deity. 2. (ff. 1_6r-1_149v) Bhagavadgīta: the main text in this miscellaneous collection. The Bhagavadgītā ("Song of the Lord" - Viṣṇu/ Kṛṣṇa), which is a part of the Mahābhārata, book 6 from 18, is one of the most copied texts in the Hindu tradition, and this part of the Mahābhārata epic survives in a huge number of manuscripts. 3. (ff. 2_1r-2_107v) Copies of other parts of the Mahābhārata, Śāntiparvaṇ, which all are related to Viṣṇu. 4. (ff. 3_1r-6_31v) 2 parts of Pāñcarātrika Sanatkumārasaṃhitā, dealing with the praise of Viṣṇu, plus mantras including (ff. 4_1r-4_21r) Pāṇḍavagītāstotra, (ff. 5_1r-5_20v) Gopālapaṭala, (ff. 6_1r-6_23r) Gopālalaghupaddhati and other texts. 5. (ff. 7_1r-7_37v) Parts of the tantras, a. Saṃmohanatantra, dealing with the praise of Viṣṇu, i.e. Gopālasahasranāmastrotra; b. Gautamītantra, the part called Gopālastavarāja. 6. (ff. 8_1r-10_8r) Two different texts: 1. Niṃbarkakavaca, which is a production of the Nimbarka worship lineage of Vaiṣṇavas. 2. Part of ritual texts of Sāmaveda, dealing with the 5 saṃskāras, plus various vedic mantras, such as Gāyatrī, in its vaiṣṇava forms. 7. (ff. 11_1r-11_11v) Part of the Bhaviṣyotarapurāṇa dealing with the worship of the stones related to Viṣṇu from the Gaṇḍakī river (common name is shaligram). The manuscript contains 3 illuminated titles and 12 miniatures, most of which depict Kṛṣṇa. According to the colophon (ff. 11_11v-11_12r), the text was written in Kashmir, in a monastery called Ahalyamath, in 1833 Saṃvat, that is 1776 or 1777 CE, by a person called Gaṇeśa[bhaṭṭa?] Nandarāma. The second part of the colophon (partially missing), however, links the history of the manuscript to Vrindavan. (ser)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 728-3
Paper · 1 f. · 6.5 x 17.6 cm · North-Western India · 19th century
Śrīyogarāja, Guhyaṣoḍhā

This is a text called Guhyaṣoḍhā written by Śrīyogarāja [the name means « Glorious king of yoga », and is an honorific title rather than a proper name], and it is in part based on the very ancient tantric text called the Rudrayāmal. Guhya[kālī]ṣoḍhā / Guhyaṣoḍha means a text featuring a sequence of mantras that a tāntrika would need to recite in order to "purify" himself and the mantra that precedes the recitation of the root-mantra of the deity. This text traverses the religious space at the intersection of Hinduism and Buddhism. (ser)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Documents: 7

Dokumente: 7

Teilprojekt: Indische Handschriften der Schweiz

Januar 2017

Status: Laufend

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Schweiz besitzt eine beachtliche Anzahl indischer Handschriften in verschiedenen Bibliotheken, Museen und privaten Sammlungen. Bisher sind diese Handschriften noch kaum erforscht. Ein Census der Handschriften fehlt. Das Projekt « Indische Handschriften der Schweiz » hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, diese Handschriften mit wissenschaftlichen Beschreibungen der Forschung und einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 701
Papier · XI + 200 + IX ff. · 34.8 x 28 cm · Punjab (Nordwest-Indien) · 18. Jahrhundert
Bhāgavatapurāṇa, Buch 10

Die Handschrift enthält eine Bearbeitung in Panjabi/Braj Bhasha des 10. Buches des Bhāgavatapurāṇa, in Gurmukhi-Schrift. Es handelt sich um eine Geschichtensammlung über das Leben des Gottes Krishna in Versen (caupaī, kabitā, soraṭhā und andere). Im Gegensatz zu der Version in Sanskrit hat dieser Text keine klare Kapitelstruktur und weist eine kontinuierliche Nummerierung auf (880 Verse). Er ist reich verziert mit Szenen aus dem Leben des Gottes Krishna (mehr als 200 Miniaturen), und stellt eine freie Versversion des antiken Sanskrit-Textes dar, geschrieben in ślokas, der in Indien äusserst populär waren. (ser)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 703
Papier · IV + 58 + V ff. · 11.7 x 16.2 cm · Rajasthan · 19. Jahrhundert
Gedichtsammlung

Die in moderner Devanāgarī geschriebene Handschrift enthält eine Reihe von Auszügen aus Gedichten über Radha und Krishna sowie über nāyikās und nāyakas (Helden und Heldinnen), die verschiedene Zustände und Stadien erotischer Liebe zeigen. Zwei der Texte erwähnen in ihren jeweiligen Kolophonen den Namen des Autors oder des Kompilators: Rājānāgarī Dāsa (f. 55v) und der Ehrwürdige Kuvara Phakīra Siṃha - Kubar Fakīr Singh, geschrieben in Hindi (f. 58v). Die Handschrift ist illuminiert: fünf Miniaturen repräsentieren Radha und Krishna (f. 1v, 10r, 26v, 33r und 37v), und zwei weitere junge, verliebte Menschen (f. 52r, 52v). Die Gedichte sind in verschiedenen Formen, namentlich in copaī/caupaī, dohā, aralli, und soraṭha. Jedes davon hat eine fixe Anzahl von Zeilen, von Silben per Zeile und andere metrische Eigenheiten. Dieser Stil war in Nordwest-Indien seit dem 18. Jahrhundert sehr beliebt. Bevor die Handschrift an einem unbekannten Datum in die Sammlung Bodmer überging, war sie im Besitz von Oliver Henry Perkins (vorderes Spiegelblatt). (ser)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 704
Papier · IV + 165 + IX ff. · 7.5 x 12.5 cm · erste Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts
Bhagavadgītā und ergänzende Texte

Diese Handschrift enthält eine Sammlung von vier verschiedenen Texten. Der Haupttext besteht in der Bhagavadgītā („Der Gesang des Erhabenen“), ein Teil des Epos Mahābhārata, Buch 6, das aus 18 Kapiteln besteht, hier in einem von Kashmiri beeinflussten Devanāgarī geschrieben (f. 1v-165r). Es handelt sich um einen der meistkopierten Texte der Hindu-Tradition, der in einer sehr grossen Anzahl von Handschriften überliefert ist. Gemalte Porträts von Krishna und Arjuna eröffnen abwechslungsweise die 18 Kapitel. Der Bhagavadgītā geht das Prayāgatīrthasnānasaṃkalpa, apadoddhāraṇastotra voraus (V2r-V4v), „das Versprechen, ein Bad in Prayāga (Allahabad) zu nehmen“. Es folgt das Pañcavaktrahanumatkavaca (N1v-N7v), ein beschützendes Mantra von Hanuman, und schliesslich das Stavarāja (N8r-N8v), ein „Fürst unter den Lobliedern“, das auch als eine Art von Kolophon für die gesamte Sammlung dieser verschiedenen Texte dient. Diese drei ergänzenden Texte sind alle in gewöhnlicher Devanāgarī-Schrift geschrieben. Eine teilweise lesbare Notiz, die auf den 29. August 1781 datiert ist, identifiziert die Handschrift als „Gebetbuch eines Brahmanen“, das dem unbekannten Besitzer der Handschrift „bei seiner Abreise aus Indien“ geschenkt wurde (V1r). (ser)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 706
Papier · 121 ff. · 11 x 27.5 cm · wahrscheinlich Gujarat · 15. Jahrhundert (?)
Kalpasūtra, oder Ritualbuch

Diese ungebundene Handschrift enthält eine der meistkopierten Schriften der Shvetambara-Tradition (Schule des Jainismus), das Kalpasūtra, das seit dem 14. Jahrhundert in ganz Indien sehr populär war. Es handelt sich um eine Sammlung von Lebensgeschichten der grossen Tīrthaṅkāras. Geschrieben in Devanāgarī beginnt die Handschrift mit dem Leben des Mahāvīra Jīna, danach folgen die Biographien von Pārśvanātha und Neminātha. Der Text ist unvollständig, es fehlen die Blätter 32, 85, 97, 103 und 125, die Zeichnungen enthielten und wohl einzeln verkauft wurden. Ihr Inhalt kann jedoch anhand eines Vergleichs mit ähnlichen Handschriften rekonstruiert werden. Die Bilder, die sich nach wie vor in diesem Exemplar befinden (1v, 7r, 9v, 16v, 17v, 21r, 45v, 47v, 51r, 58r, 62v, 70r, 71v, 72v, 77v, 78r, 81v, 92r), repräsentieren die wichtigsten Ereignisse in den Leben der Personen des Kalpasūtras. Gemäss dem Stil dieser Malereien muss die Handschrift vom Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts stammen. (ser)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 708
Papier · 82 ff. · 21 x 31 cm · Nordindien, anscheinend in der Gegend von Kedarnath · Zwischen 1700 und 1800, wahrscheinlich gegen 1800
Kedārakalpa

Diese Handschrift aus dem 18. Jh. enthält die sogenannte Kedārakalpa, die selbst ein Teil der Nandīpurāṇa ist. Sie beschreibt zusammen mit den 61 hervorragenden Miniaturen eine religiöse Pilgerschaft einer Gruppe von Yogis in die Region von Kedarnath im Himalaya. Es handelt sich um einen Text des Shivaismus, d.h. die Gottheit ist Shiva, und das Hauptanliegen des Textes ist es, Leser dazu zu bewegen, sich auf eine Shiva-Pilgerschaft aufzumachen. (ser)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 709
Papier · III + 476 + II ff. · 9.3 x 14.5 cm · Kaschmir und Vrindavan · 1776 oder 1777
Sammlung von Texten zur Anbetung von Vishnu

Diese Sammelhandschrift, in von Kaschmiri beeinflusstem Devanāgarī geschrieben, vereint eine Anzahl von rituellen Texten, die sich mit der Anbetung von Vishnu befassen. 1. (ff. 1_1r-1_6r) vorbereitende Texte und Rituale (ohne Namen oder Titel). Zu Beginn steht eine wahrscheinlich von Pāñcarātra beeinflusste Serie von rituellen Praktiken, genannt nyāsas und dhyānas, d.h. die Zuordnung von Gottheiten und Silben zu verschiedenen Körperteilen und die Visualisierung der Hauptgottheit. 2. (ff. 1_6r-1_149v) Bhagavadgīta: der Haupttext in dieser Sammlung. Die Bhagavadgīta („der Gesang des Erhabenen“ - Vishnu / Krishna), die ein Teil des Mahābhārata Epos ist (Buch 6 von 18), ist einer der meistkopierten Texte der Hindutradition und in einer Vielzahl von Handschriften überliefert. 3. (ff. 2_1r-2_107v) Kopien von anderen Teilen des Mahābhārata, Śāntiparvaṇ, die alle im Zusammenhang mit Vishnu stehen. 4. (ff. 3_1r-6_31v) zwei Teile des Pāñcarātrika Sanatkumārasaṃhitā, die sich mit dem Lob von Vishnu beschäftigen, sowie Mantras wie (ff. 4_1r-4_21r) Pāṇḍavagītāstotra, (ff. 5_1r-5_20v) Gopālapaṭala, (ff. 6_1r-6_23r) Gopālalaghupaddhati und andere Texte. 5. (ff. 7_1r-7_37v) Teile der Tantras, a. Saṃmohanatantra, die das Lob von Vishnu behandeln, d.h. Gopālasahasranāmastrotra; b. Gautamītantra, der Gopālastavarāja genannte Teil. 6. (ff. 8_1r-10_8r) Zwei verschiedene Texte: 1. Niṃbarkakavaca, ein Werk von Vishnuismus-Anhänger, die Nimbarka verehrten. 2. Teile ritueller Texte des Sāmaveda, die sich mit den 5 saṃskāras befassen, dazu verschiedene vedische Mantras, wie z.B. das Gāyatrī, in ihren vishnuistischen Formen. 7. (ff. 11_1r-11_11v) Teil des Bhaviṣyotarapurāṇa, das die Anbetung der mit Vishnu verbundenen Steine aus dem Fluss Gaṇḍakī behandelt (die geläufige Bezeichnung ist shaligram). Die Handschrift enthält 3 illuminierte Titel und 12 Miniaturen, die meisten davon zeigen Krishna. Dem Kolophon gemäss (ff. 11_11v-11_12r) wurde der Text im Kaschmir von einer Gaṇeśa[bhaṭṭa?] Nandarāma genannten Person geschrieben, in einem Ahalyamath genannten Kloster im Jahre 1833 V.S., d.h. 1776 oder 1777 n. Chr. Der zweite Teil des Kolophons hingegen (fehlt teilweise) verknüpft die Geschichte der Handschrift mit Vrindavan. (ser)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 728-3
Papier · 1 f. · 6.5 x 17.6 cm · Nordwesten von Indien · 19. Jarhundert
Śrīyogarāja, Guhyaṣoḍhā

Dieser Text mit dem Titel Guhyaṣoḍhā, verfasst von Śrīyogarāja (dessen Name „Glorreicher König des Yoga“ bedeutet, mehr ein Ehrentitel als ein richtiger Name), basiert zum Teil auf einem äusserst alten tantrischen Text mit dem Namen Rudrayāmal. Guhya[kālī]ṣoḍhā / Guhyaṣoḍha bezeichnet einen Text, der eine Abfolge von Mantras enthält, die ein Tantriker rezitieren muss um sich zu „reinigen“ und das Mantra, das der Rezitation des „Basis-Mantras“ der Gottheit vorausgeht. Dieser Text stellt eine Schnittstelle zwischen dem Hinduismus und dem Buddhismus dar. (ser)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Dokumente: 7