Documents: 100, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Mellon 2011-2012

January 2011 - December 2012

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: Further support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has enabled us to realize three key aims by the end of 2012: sustainability, interoperability and content. Safeguarding sustainability had main priority. The aim is to create a business model on which the basic operations of e-codices can be conducted without support from grant providers beginning in the year 2013. Expansion of interoperability involves the linkage of e-codices with various portals and the addition of specialized user tools. Content expansions involves presentation of an additional 100 manuscripts from a variety of libraries in Switzerland.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 2
Parchment · 276 ff. · 40 x 30 cm · Zürich (?) · 1260-1280
Biblia Sacra

Part two (New Testament) of an illuminated three-volume bible (of which MsWettF 1 and MsWettF 2 remain), probably bequeathed to the cloister of Wettingen by Rudolph Schwerz, choirmaster of the Grossmunster Cathedral of Zurich and pastor of Altdorf. The origin of the Biblia Sacra is not documented, but it is assumed that it originated in the Zurich art circle. There is some text loss because certain initials have been cut out. (wue)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Parchment · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17 cm · 9th century, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

In addition to Greek and Latin Psalms, written somewhere in continental Europe by Irish monks during the Carolingian period, this famous Basel codex also contains a brief series of devotions in Latin for private use, appended by the monks. The exact place where the manuscript was written and its various subsequent travels are unknown, although, based on one note, whose interpretation is under debate, some relation to the Abbey of St. Gall and/or to that of Bobbio is frequently mentioned. In about 1628-1630 the manuscript was listed in the catalog of the Amerbach family, then around 1672-1676 in that of Johannes Zwinger. (and)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F II 29
Parchment · 236 ff. · 28 x 21.5 cm · 14th and 15th centuries; dating: Part II 1467, Part VII 1468 [?]
Thomas de Aquino, Adamus Bucfeldus: Expositiones super Aristotelem

The composite volume F II 29 consists of seven parts: Parts I-III (ff. 2-99), IV (ff. 100-121), and VI-VII (ff. 181-237) contain commentaries on Aristotle by Thomas Aquinas: Super libros Physicorum; Super libros Posteriorum Analyticorum; Super libros De Anima; Part V (ff. 122-180) contains the commentary by Adam of Buckfield on Aristotle’s Metaphysica Nova. The manuscript comes from the Domincan convent in Basel (ownership note f. 179vb). (mit)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art, Purchase from the J. H. Wade Fund 1955.74
Parchment · 1 f. · ca. 27 x 20 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregory the Great, Morals in Job (Author portrait)

The upper half of the illustrated side contains a naked Job and his three friends, the lower half shows the author, Gregory the Great, inspired by the Holy Spirit in the form of a dove, and a Benedictine monk, portrayed in the usual manner of Petrus Diaconus, the latter probably drawn by a different artist. On the back is a Leonine couplet, which attributes the leaf unambiguously to Engelberg. The leaf is, according to P. Karl Stadler’s 1787 description, the original opening of the first volume of the Moralia Iob by Gregory the Great (Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 20, here immediately before f. 1). In the mid-19th century it was owned by Jacob Heinrich von Hefner-Alteneck (1811-1903) and was faithfully reproduced in his book Trachten des Mittelalters (1840-54, Vol. 1, Plate 57, p. 76f). In November 1953 the leaf was purchased from the J.H. Wade Fund for the Cleveland Museum of Art. (flu)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 173
Parchment · 99 ff. · 12 x 10.7 cm · France · second half of the 9th century
Augustinus Hipponensis, Retractationes; De haeresibus ad Quoduultdeum (Epistulae)

This exciting small manuscript from (northeastern) France was produced in the 9th century in the region of Paris-Reims and is notable for its fine script and rubricated title in Capitalis Rustica. In various places, individual alterations in a careful 12th century script are noticeable, such as on ff. 32-32v, as well as the additions of a few words (corrections?) on ff. 52v-53. (bib)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 174
Parchment · II + 338 + II ff. · 41.2 x 29 cm · France · 15th century
Giovanni Boccaccio, Des cas des nobles hommes et femmes (De casibus virorum illustrium), French translation by Laurent de Premierfait

This ethical work by Boccaccio, originally written between 1353 and 1356 and expanded in 1373, addresses the subject of the unevenness of fate. Manuscript copies of the work were frequently made; it was issued in print and translated into many languages. It enjoyed great popularity in Europe. The French translation by Laurent de Premierfait for Jean de Berry was equally popular, as evidenced by the 68 manuscript copies of this text still in existence. Unlike the Latin version, the French manuscripts display a rich iconographic accompaniment, most likely produced by Laurent de Premierfait himself. This is also the case with CB 174, which was produced during the 15th century in France. Each book opens with a small illustration (150 in all) portraying the “pitfalls” described in the text that follows. (bib)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 176
Parchment · I + 186 ff. · 29 x 27.5 cmf · Paris · 1471
Guillelmus Fichetus, Rhetorica

The Rhetorica, a work in Latin recording ten years teaching by Guillaume Fichet, is a witness to this „Art of Speaking“, treatments of which would soon disappear. This richly illuminated manuscript was written in 1471 at the Sorbonne in Paris (in the same year as the printed edition of the text). The manuscript begins with a large miniature portraying the author presenting his book to Princess Yolanda of Savoy. (bib)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 177
Parchment · 109 ff. · 23.7 x 16.4 cm · Northern Italy · beginning of the 12th century
Gariopontus of Salerno, Passionarius

This medical handbook by Gariopontus, who flourished in the mid-11th century in Salerno, systematically assembled in head-to-foot order writings already long known in the Latin speaking world (Galen’s Ad Glauconem de medendi methodo I-II with a Liber tercius by a pseudo-Galen, the Aurelius and Esculapius derived ultimately from the texts of Soranus of Ephesus, and an extract from the Therapeutica by Alexander of Tralles) in seven books. The work exercised a strong influence on the School of Salerno. It survives in more than 65 manuscripts, and three print issues were produced as early as the 16th century. The Bodmer manuscript from the early 12th century, like many other versions of this text, features numerous glosses. (gla)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 181
Parchment · III + 310 + II ff. · 37.5 x 27.5 cm · France · end of the 15th century
Flavius Iosephus, Antiquitates iudaicae

The 13 large illustrations in this French manuscript, written in the 15th century, were produced by one of the most important book decorators of the late middle ages : Jean Fouquet (BnF, ms. fr. 247). They are richly decorated with gold and cover two thirds of a page; a large number of initials adorned with flowers round out the illustrator’s iconographic program. The first page, which is missing, also certainly held a decorative illustration (Adam and Eve?). At the beginning of a prolog is a small miniature portraying the author writing the book. The Antiquitates iudaicae recounts the history of the Jewish nation from Genesis to the year 66 according to the modern western calendar. (bib)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 29(878)
Parchment · 239 pp. · 20 x 15.8 cm · Einsiedeln or southwestern Germany · 9th-10th centuries / 14th century
Composite manuscript

A composite manuscript written in the 9th, 10th and 14th centuries, probably in Einsiedeln or southwestern Germany. It contains, among other things, glosses on the Gospels, the Annales Heremi from the birth of Christ to the year 940, and various astronomical treatises, including the Sphaera by John of Sacrobosco and the Computus by Helpericus of Auxerre. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 32(1060)
Parchment · 358 pp. · 17.5/18 x 13 cm · 10th-12th century
[Anonymus]. Glossae. Tractatus de medicina

A composite manuscript consisting of sections from three datable periods, the first from the 10th century, the other two from the 12th century. The first part (1-222) contains glosses on Priscian, the second (223-310) a collection of medical tracts assembled by Constantinus Africanus, the third part (311-357) contains the Liber Tegni by Galen (129/131-199/201). (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 166(413)
Parchment · 349 pp. · 28 x 19.5 cm · Engelberg · 12th century (1143-1197)
Ambrosius , Expositio Evangelii secundum Lucam

This manuscript contains the Expositio Evangelii secundum Lucam of Ambrosius of Milan. It was produced in Engelberg as a commission for Abbot Frowin (1143-1178), a fact indicated by the dedicatory verse on 1r. It also contains three illuminated initials with the motive of tendrils generally used during Frowin’s tenure. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 182(414)
Parchment · 168 pp. · 29 x 18.5 cm · Reichenau · 9th century (first half)
Alcuinus, Tractatus in epistolam ad Titum, Expositio in epistulam Pauli ad Philemonem, Expositio in epistulam ad Hebraeos

This manuscript contains the Tractatus super epistolam ad Titum, Expositio in epistulam Pauli ad Philemonem and Expositio in epistulam ad Hebraeos by Alcuin. It was probably produced at the time of Reginbert in the scriptorium at Reichenau. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 191(277)
Parchment · VI + 233 ff. · 31.8 x 23 cm · Northeastern France · 8th / 9th century
Canonum Collectio Quesnelliana

This collection contains, together with other texts, a collection of Canons of ecclesiastical law called the Collectio Quesnelliana. It was probably produced in a scriptorium in northeastern France and was later held by the Court Library of Charlemagne. In the 11th century it was placed in the Cologne Cathedral library, where it was annotated by Bernold von Konstanz. It was later owned by suffragan bishop of Constance Jakob Johann Mirgel (1559-1629) before making its way, together with a group of his books, to the cloister at Einsiedeln. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 240(641)
Parchment · A-D + 468 + Y-Z pp. · 22 x 16.2 cm · Engelberg · 12th century (1143-1178)
Frowinus , Explanatio Dominicae Orationis

The principal text in this manuscript is the Explanatio Dominicae Orationis by Engelberg’s Abbot Frowin (†1178), who probably commissioned the volume, as indicated by the verses on the last page (468). The manuscript was probably brought to Einsiedeln at the beginning of the 17th century. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 319(645)
Parchment · a-b + 300 + y-z pp. · 22 x 15 cm · Einsiedeln · 10th-11th and 16th centuries
Composite manuscript

This composite manuscript is datable to the second half of the 10th century. It contains, among other items, the Annales Einsidlenses, Priscian’s De grammatica, a fragment of a text on the game of chess, and a calendar with obituary entries up to the 16th century. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 321(647)
Parchment · 198 pp. · 22.1 x 16.8 cm · Einsiedeln · 9th-13th centuries
Composite manuscript

A composite manuscript containing various texts related to figuring Easter dates, two datable calendars, the first from 950 to 975 (4-16), the second from the 9th and 10th centuries (29-40), and the Quaestiones morales, which are datable to the 13th century. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 339(1322)
Parchment · I-II + 320 pp. · 11.7 x 9 cm · Part 1. Switzerland/Germany (?); Part 2. Northern Italy/Switzerland (?) · 8th/9th centuries / 9th/10th centuries
Composite manuscript with grammatical and theological content

This manuscript consists of two parts, bound together for the first time during the 14th century in Einsiedeln and annotated by Heinrich von Ligerz. The first part (1-137), which contains three works by Priscian and one by Rufinus, was probably produced during the 9th/10th centuries in Switzerland or Germany. The second part (139-318) contains works by Isidore and is in part a palimpsest. It was written during the 8th/9th centuries in northern Italy or Switzerland, probably in the same scriptorium as Cod. Sang. 908. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 360(177)
Parchment · 77 ff. · 24.8-25 x 33 cm · Engelberg · 12th century (1143-1178)
Isidorus , Libri originum (Fragmenta)

Contains works of Isidore of Seville: Libri originum (I-III e V-XX), De natura rerum, and letters exchanged between Isidore and Braulio of Zaragoza. The manuscript was assembled from an assortment of fragments that had been removed in the 19th century from law volumes held by the library of the chancery of St. Gerold in Vorarlberg. This volume was assembled at the request of Abbot Frowin of Engelberg (1143-1178), as indicated by dedicatory verses on f. 1r. (ber)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 37
Parchment · 240 ff. · 29.5 x 20.2 cm · Engelberg · 1178-1197
Johannes Cassianus, Collationes Patrum

This copy of Cassian's Collationes contains on 1r a two-line ownership note attributing the codex to Abbot Berchtold of Engelberg (1178-1197) as well as the beginning of a dedicatory poem to the Virgin Mary, the monastery's patron saint. Both inscriptions also appear verbatim in the volumes that were written under Berchtold's predecessor Frowin (1143-1178). Decorated initials introduce each of the collationes, and sometimes the chapter-lists; between the collationes the text is divided with red decorated capitals. Tears and holes in the parchment have been artistically sewn up; of particular note are those on 48v and 190v. (grd)

Online Since: 10/04/2011

Documents: 100, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 100, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Mellon 2011-2012

Januar 2011 - Dezember 2012

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die weitere finanzielle Unterstützung der Andrew W. Mellon Foundation hat es uns ermöglicht, bis Ende 2012 drei Schlüsselziele zu erreichen: Nachhaltigkeit, Interoperabilität und Inhalt. Dabei hatte die Absicherung der Nachhaltigkeit höchste Priorität. Ziel ist es, ein Business-Modell zu schaffen, bei welchem die Basisarbeiten von e-codices ab 2013 ohne Unterstützung durch Fördermitteln ausgeführt werden können. Die Ausweitung der Interoperabilität beinhaltet die Verknüpfung von e-codices mit verschiedenen Portalen und das Hinzufügen von spezialisierten Hilfsmitteln für den Nutzer. Die Ausweitung des Inhalts wird die Präsentation von weiteren 100 Handschriften aus verschiedenen Schweizer Bibliotheken beinhalten.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 2
Pergament · 276 ff. · 40 x 30 cm · Zürich (?) · 1260-1280
Biblia Sacra

Teil zwei (Neues Testament) einer illuminierten dreibändigen Bibel (erhalten sind MsWettF 1 und MsWettF 2), die wohl Rudolf Schwerz, Chorherr am Zürcher Grossmünster und Leutpriester in Altdorf, testamentarisch dem Kloster Wettingen vermacht hat. Die Herkunft der Biblia sacra ist nicht belegt, vermutet wird eine Entstehung im Zürcher Kunstkreis. Durch das Herausschneiden von Initialen entstanden Textverluste. (wue)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Pergament · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17.0 cm · 9. Jahrhundert, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

Neben den griechisch-lateinischen Psalmen, welche auf dem Kontinent von irischen Mönchen zur Zeit der Karolinger abgeschrieben wurden, enthält der berühmte Codex aus Basel auch eine kleine Serie von Stücken für die private Andacht in lateinischer Sprache, die von den Mönchen angefügt wurde. Der genaue Ort der Abschrift und ihre aufeinanderfolgenden zahlreichen Reisen sind nicht bekannt, wenn auch, aufgrund einer Notiz, deren Interpretation umstritten ist, eine Beziehung zur Abtei St. Gallen und/oder zu jener von Bobbio häufig genannt wird. Um 1628-630 wird die Handschrift im Katalog der Familie Amerbach genannt, um 1672-1676 in jenem von Johannes Zwinger. (and)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F II 29
Pergament · 236 ff. · 28 x 21.5 cm · 14. und 15. Jahrhundert; Datierungen: Teil II 1467, Teil VII 1468 [?]
Thomas de Aquino, Adamus Bucfeldus: Expositiones super Aristotelem

Der Sammelband F II 29 besteht aus sieben Teilen: Die Teile I-III (Bl. 2-99), IV (Bl. 100-121) und VI-VII (Bl. 181-237) enthalten Aristoteles-Kommentare des Thomas v. Aquin: Super libros Physicorum; Super libros Posteriorum Analyticorum; Super libros De Anima; Teil V (Bl. 122-180) enthält den Kommentar des Adam von Bockfeld zu Aristoteles’ Metaphysica Nova. Die Hs. stammt aus dem Basler Dominikanerkonvent (Besitzvermerk Bl. 179vb). (mit)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art, Purchase from the J. H. Wade Fund 1955.74
Pergament · 1 f. · ca. 27 x 20 cm · Engelberg · 1143-1178
Gregorius M., Moralia in Job (Autorenbild)

Die Bildseite enthält auf der oberen Hälfte den nackten Hiob und seine drei Freunde, auf der unteren Hälfte den Verfasser Gregor den Grossen von der Taube des hl. Geistes inspiriert und einen Benediktiner, der wie üblich Petrus Diaconus darstellt, letzterer möglicherweise von einem anderen Künstler gezeichnet. Auf der Rückseite steht ein zweizeiliger Leoniner auf Frowin, der das Blatt eindeutig Engelberg zuweist. Das Blatt eröffnete gemäss P. Karl Stadler noch 1787 den ersten Band der Moralia in Iob von Gregor dem Grossen (Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 20, hier unmittelbar vor f. 1). Mitte des 19. Jh. befand es sich im Besitz von Jacob Heinrich von Hefner-Alteneck (1811–1903) und wird in dessen Buch « Trachten des Mittelalters » (1840-54, hier Bd. 1, Tafel 57 und S. 76f.) sehr präzis nachgezeichnet. Im November 1953 wurde das Blatt vom J.H. Wade Fund für das Cleveland Museum of Art gekauft. (flu)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 173
Pergament · 99 ff. · 12.0 x 10.7 cm · Frankreich · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Augustinus Hipponensis, Retractationes; De haeresibus ad Quoduultdeum (Epistulae)

Diese rührende kleine Handschrift aus Frankreich (Nord-Westen) wurde im 9. Jahrhundert in der Region von Paris-Reims erstellt und fällt durch ihre feine Schrift und ihre rubrizierten Titel in Capitalis Rustica auf. An verschiedenen Orten können einige Änderungen von einer sorgfältigen Schrift des 12. Jahrhunderts erkannt werden, so auf ff. 32-32v, ebenso wie Ergänzungen von wenigen Worten (Korrekturen?) auf ff. 52v-53. (bib)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 174
Pergament · II + 338 + II ff. · 41.2 x 29.0 cm · Frankreich · 15. Jahrhundert
Giovanni Boccaccio, Des cas des nobles hommes et femmes (De casibus virorum illustrium), französische Übersetzung von Laurent de Premierfait

Dieses von Boccaccio zwischen 1353 und 1356 verfasste und 1373 ergänzte ethische Werk, das von der Unstetigkeit des Schicksals handelt, wurde häufig abgeschrieben, gedruckt und in viele Sprachen übersetzt. Es kannte einen grossen Erfolg in Europa. Die französische Übersetzung von Laurent de Premierfait für Jean de Berry hatte einen ebenso grossen Erfolg, wie dies die achtundsechzig Handschriften bezeugen, die von diesem Text erhalten sind. Im Gegensatz zur lateinischen Version weisen die französischen Handschriften ein reiches ikonographisches Programm auf, das vermutlich von Laurent de Premierfait selbst erstellt wurde. Dies gilt auch für den CB 174, der im 15. Jahrhundert in Frankreich erstellt wurde. Jedes Buch wird mit einer kleinen Darstellung eröffnet (insgesamt 150), welche die „Fälle“ darstellen, die im darauf folgenden Text beschrieben werden. (bib)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 176
Pergament · I + 186 ff. · 29.0 x 27.5 cmf · Paris · 1471
Guillelmus Fichetus, Rhetorica

Die Rhetorica, die während mehr als zehn Jahren das lateinische Unterrichtswerk von Guillaume Fichet war, ist Zeuge dieser „Redekunst“, deren Abhandlungen alsbald verschwinden sollten. Diese reich illuminierte Handschrift wurde 1471 an der Sorbonne in Paris geschrieben (im selben Jahr wie die gedruckte Edition des Textes); die Handschrift beginnt mit einer grossen Miniatur, die den Autor darstellt, der sein Buch der Prinzessin Jolanda von Savoyen widmet. (bib)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 177
Pergament · 109 ff. · 23.7 x 16.4 cm · Norditalien · Anfang des 12. Jahrhunderts
Passionarius von Gariopontus von Salerno

Das Medizinhandbuch von Gariopontus, der in der Mitte des 11. Jh. in Salerno tätig war, stellte mehrere im lateinischen Sprachraum schon länger bekannte Schriften systematisch geordnet von Kopf bis Fuss in sieben Büchern zusammen (Galen‘s Ad Glauconem de medendi methodo I-II mit einem ps.-galenischen Liber tercius, der Aurelius und der Esculapius stammten ursprünglich von Texten von Soranos von Ephesus und ein Ausschnitt aus der Therapeutica von Alexander von Tralles). Das Werk übte einen grossen Einfluss auf die Schule von Salerno aus. Ist in mehr als 65 Handschriften überliefert und wurde noch im 16. Jh. dreimal gedruckt. Die Bodmer Handschrift aus dem frühen 12. Jahrhundert weist, wie viele andere Textzeugen, zahlreiche Glossen auf. (gla)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 181
Pergament · III + 310 + II ff. · 37.5 x 27.5 cm · Frankreich · Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
Flavius Iosephus, Antiquitates iudaicae

Die 13 Zeichnungen dieser französischen Handschrift, die im 15. Jahrhundert geschrieben wurde, stammen von einem der wichtigsten Buchmaler des späten Mittelalters: Jean Fouquet (BnF, ms. fr. 247). Sie sind reichlich mit Gold geschmückt und füllen zwei Drittel der Seite aus; viele mit Blumen verzierte Initialen ergänzen das ikonographische Programm. Das erste Blatt fehlt, welches sicherlich mit Buchschmuck verziert war (Adam und Eva?). Zu Beginn des Prologs zeigt eine kleine Miniatur den Autor, der sein Buch schreibt. Die Antiquitates iudaicae vergegenwärtigen die Geschichte der jüdischen Nation von der Entstehungsgeschichte bis zum Jahr 66 unserer Zeitrechnung. (bib)

Online seit: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 29(878)
Pergament · 239 pp. · 20.0 x 15.8 cm · Einsiedeln oder Südwestdeutschland · 9.-10. Jahrhundert / 14. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift

Sammelhandschrift, die im 9./10. Jahrhundert und im 14. Jahrhundert vermutlich in Einsiedeln oder in Südwestdeutschland geschrieben wurde. Sie enthält unter anderem Glossen aus den Evangelien, die Annales Heremi von der Geburt Christi bis zum Jahr 940, und verschiedene Astronomische Abhandlungen, darunter die Sphaera von Johannes de Sacrobosco und den Computus von Helpericus von Auxerre. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 32(1060)
Pergament · 358 pp. · 17.5/18.0 x 13.0 cm · 10.-12. Jahrhundert
[Anonymus]. Glossae. Tractatus de medicina

Sammelhandschrift, die aus drei datierbaren Teilen besteht, der erste aus dem 10. Jahrhundert, die beiden anderen aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. Der erste Teil (1-222) enthält Glossen zu Priscian, der zweite (223-310) enthält eine Sammlung von medizinischen Traktaten, die von Constantinus Africanus zusammengestellt wurden, der dritte Teil (311-357) enthält den Liber Tegni von Galen (129/131-199/201). (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 166(413)
Pergament · 349 pp. · 28.0 x 19.5 cm. · Engelberg · 12. Jahrhundert (1143-1197)
Ambrosius , Expositio Evangelii secundum Lucam

Enthält die Expositio Evangelii secundum Lucam von Ambrosius von Mailand. Diese Handschrift wurde in Engelberg im Auftrag des Abtes Frowin (1143-1178) erstellt, wie es der Widmungsvers auf 1r belegt. Sie enthält ebenfalls drei Zierinitialen mit den für die Frowinzeit üblichen Rankenmotiven. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 182(414)
Pergament · 168 pp. · 29.0 x 18.5 cm · Reichenau · 9. Jahrhundert (1. Hälfte)
Alcuinus, Tractatus in epistolam ad Titum, Expositio in epistulam Pauli ad Philemonem, Expositio in epistulam ad Hebraeos

Enthält Tractatus super epistolam ad Titum, Expositio in epistulam Pauli ad Philemonem und Expositio in epistulam ad Hebraeos von Alkuin. Die Handschrift wurde vermutlich zur Zeit Reginberts im Skriptorium von Reichenau erstellt. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 191(277)
Pergament · VI + 233 ff. · 31.8 x 23.0 cm · Nordostfrankreich · 8. / 9. Jahrhundert
Canonum Collectio Quesnelliana

Enthält neben anderen Texten eine Sammlung kirchenrechtlicher Canones, genannt Collectio Quesnelliana. Die Handschrift wurde vermutlich in einem Skriptorium im Nordosten Frankreichs erstellt und gehörte später der Hofbibliothek Karls des Grossen an. Im 11. Jahrhundert ist sie in der Kölner Dombibliothek belegt, wo sie mit Annotationen von Bernold von Konstanz versehen wurde. Sie gehörte später dem Konstanzer Weihbischof Jakob Johann Mirgel (1559-1629) und gelangte dann zusammen mit einem Teil seiner Bücher ins Kloster Einsiedeln. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 240(641)
Pergament · A-D + 468 + Y-Z pp. · 22.0 x 16.2 cm · Engelberg · 12. Jahrhundert (1143-1178)
Frowinus , Explanatio Dominicae Orationis

Enthält als Haupttext die Explanatio Dominicae Orationis des Engelberger Abtes Frowin (†1178), welcher diese Handschrift vermutlich auch in Auftrag gegeben hat, wie es aus den Versen auf der letzten Seite (468) hervorgeht. Die Handschrift kam vermutlich zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts nach Einsiedeln. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 319(645)
Pergament · a-b + 300 + y-z pp. · 22.0 x 15.0 cm · Einsiedeln · 10.-11. / 16. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift

Sammelhandschrift, welche ab der zweiten Hälfte des 10. Jahrhunderts datiert werden kann. Sie enthält unter anderem die Annales Einsidlenses, Priscians De grammatica, das Fragment eines Texts über das Schachspiel und ein Kalendar mit Nekrologeinträgen bis zum 16. Jahrhundert. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 321(647)
Pergament · 198 pp. · 22.1 x 16.8 cm · Einsiedeln · 9.-13. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift

Sammelhandschrift, die verschiedene Texte zur Berechnung des Osterfests enthält, zwei datierbare Kalender, der erste zwischen 950 und 975 (4-16), der zweite im 9./10. Jahrhundert (29-40) und die Quaestiones morales, die ins 13. Jahrhundert datierbar sind. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 339(1322)
Pergament · I-II + 320 pp. · 11.7 x 9.0 cm. · 1. Teil Schweiz/Deutschland (?); 2. Teil Oberitalien/Schweiz (?) · 8./9. Jh. / 9./10. Jh.
Sammelhandschrift grammatikalischen und theologischen Inhalts

Diese Handschrift besteht aus zwei Teilen, die erst im 14. Jahrhundert in Einsiedeln zusammen gebunden und von Heinrich von Ligerz annotiert wurden. Der erste Teil (1-137), der drei Werke Priscians und eines von Rufinus enthält, ist im 9./10. Jahrhundert vermutlich in der Schweiz oder in Deutschland entstanden. Der zweite Teil (139-318) enthält Werke von Isidor und ist zum Teil ein Palimpsest. Er wurde im 8./9. Jahrhundert in Oberitalien oder in der Schweiz geschrieben, vermutlich im gleichen Skriptorium wie der Cod. Sang. 908. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 360(177)
Pergament · 77 ff. · 24.8-25 x 33 cm · Engelberg · 12. Jahrhundert (1143-1178)
Isidorus , Libri originum (Fragmenta)

Enthält Teile der Etymologien (I-III e V-XX) und De natura rerum von Isidor von Sevilla und den Briefwechsel zwischen Isidor und Braulio von Zaragoza. Die Handschrift wurde aus verschiedenen Fragmenten zusammengestellt, die im 19. Jahrhundert aus juristischen Bänden der Bibliothek der Propstei St. Gerold im Vorarlberg herausgelöst wurden. Die Handschrift, wurde auf Wunsch des Abtes Frowin von Engelberg (1143-1178) erstellt, wie es durch die Widmungsverse auf f. 1r belegt wird. (ber)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 37
Pergament · 240 ff. · 29.5 x 20.2 cm · Engelberg · 1178-1197
Johannes Cassianus, Collationes Patrum

Diese Abschrift von Cassians Collationes enthält auf 1r einen zweizeiligen Besitzeintrag, der den Codex dem Engelberger Abt Berchtold (1178-1197) zuweist, und einen angefangenen Widmungsvers für die Klosterpatronin Maria. Beide Einträge kommen Wort für Wort auch in den Bänden vor, die unter Berchtolds Vorgänger Frowin (1143-1178) geschrieben wurden. Die einzelnen Collationes werden mit Zierinitialen und bisweilen Capitula eingeleitet, dazwischen ist der Text durch rote Ziermajuskeln gegliedert. Risse und Löcher im Pergament sind kunstvoll zugestickt, besonders bemerkenswert etwa auf 48v oder 190v. (grd)

Online seit: 04.10.2011

Dokumente: 100, angezeigt: 1 - 20