Documents: 60, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Collaborative Projects

January 2010 - June 2011

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: The main aim of this second Mellon funded project phase is to strengthen the function of e-codices as an international platform for research on manuscripts from Swiss collections. A 'call for collaboration' was published on our website in June 2009, in which scholars were invited to suggest manuscripts for digitization.
From among more than 150 proposals submitted, our internal evaluation process allowed us to select 60 manuscripts for digitization. Types of collaboration vary greatly, from writing new scholarly manuscript descriptions to developing tools for online manuscript study, to building connections with other virtual manuscript library websites.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 1
Parchment · 334 ff. · 40 x 30 cm · Zürich (?) · 1260-1280
Biblia sacra

Part (Genesis-Ezra) of an illuminated three-volume bible (of which MsWettF 1 and MsWettF 2 remain), probably bequeathed to the cloister of Wettingen by Rudolph Schwerz, choirmaster of the Grossmunster Cathedral of Zurich and pastor of Altdorf. (pel)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 11
Parchment · 417 ff. · 31.5 x 22.5 cm · German speaking region · third quarter of the 13th century
Biblia Sacra . Short tract „De fructibus carnis et spiritus“

This manuscript, which probably originated in a German-speaking region, contains a Biblia sacra decorated with numerous initials with a gold ground, as well as the short tract entitled De fructibus carnis et spiritus, attributed to Hugo of St. Victor or Conrad of Hirsau, with two schematic diagrams. During the 16th century the richly decorated manuscript was owned by Christoph Silberysen, Abbot of the Cistercian cloister at Wettingen. (fas)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 26: 4
Paper · 79 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · 1445 / third quarter of the 15th century
Wasmodus de Homberg; Varia in materia beghardorum et beginarum; Johannes Mulberg; Benedictus de Asinago; Felix Hemmerlin

Manuscript of collected works including texts by Wasmodus de Homberg, Lampertus Episcopus Argentinensis, Johannes Mulberg and Felix Hemmerlin regarding the Beguine conflict and a tract by Benedictus de Asinago on poverty. (pel)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B III 8
Parchment · 343 ff. · 33 × 23 cm · Basel, Dominican cloister · 14th century
Thomas Aquinas: Quaestiones; Quodlibeta

This pecia manuscript produced by numerous hands contains, with minor omissions, Thomas Aquinas's Quaestiones disputatae (De malo is missing) as well as eleven Quodlibeta (no. 12 is missing, as is part of no. 8). The manuscript originated at the Dominican cloister in Basel and belonged to Johannes and Hugo von Münchenstein, both of whom were priors at the Basel cloister for a time. The pastedowns contain records of the 1440 Council of Basel. (mit)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, D III 34
Parchment and paper · 257 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · 15th century / 1495
Manuscript Miscellany containing texts on horse medicine

Manuscript D III 34 consists of two parts: Part I (ff. 1-29) contains the medical manual for horses by Jordanus Ruffus: Part II (ff. 30-255) contains the Mulomedicina Chironis and an incomplete tract by one Oliverius, Stablemaster at the court of Ferdinand I of Naples. This is the only manuscript than Cod. Monacensis latinus 243 that includes a manuscript copy of the Mulomedicina Chironis; the Oliverius tract appears to be unedited. (mit)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 20
Parchment · 148 ff. · 23.5 x 16.5 cm · Basel, Dominican convent · 14th century
Commenta super logicam veterem

This manuscript of collected works consists of four originally independent parts: Part I contains the writing of Hervaeus Natalis, Part II super sex principia originally written by Albert the Great, Part III texts by Peter of Auvergne and Part IV two anonymous texts - which may only transmitted in this manuscript - and the tract De medio demonstrationis by Aegidius Romanus. The manuscript was produced at the Dominican convent in Basel. (mit)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 5
Paper · 96 ff. · 21 x 15.4/15.6 cm · about 1491
Aesopus, Fabulae, Epigrammata et proverbia, Oraculum sibyllinum · Ps. Pythagoras, Carmen aureum, Praecepta delphica · Phocylides, Sententiae · Aristophanes, Nubes, Vita Aristophanis, Hypothesis in Aritophanis Plutum

Although the Aesopian tradition enjoyed great popularity during the middle ages, thanks to the dissemination of Latin translations, the Greek text of the fabulist was first rediscovered during the Renaissance. CB 5, which was written on paper near the end of the 15th century, is a collection of some 150 fables ascribed to the poet, which served as an inspiration for La Fontaine. Following are, among other things, the Delphic prophecies of Pseudo-Pythagoras, which transmit the well-known aphorism "Know thyself!", and The Clouds, the comedy that made the Athenian writer Aristophanes famous. (jos)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 79
Parchment · IV + 137 + III ff. · 26.3 x 17.6 cm · 1308
Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun, Roman de la Rose

Guillaume de Loris and Jean de Meung (Meun) are the authors of the Roman de la Rose, one of the masterpieces of medieval courtly literature. In a phantasmagoric and allegorical setting, the lover seeks entry to a locked garden which conceals a rose, the image of his beloved. The second part, written by Jean de Meung, provides a philosophical and moral lesson. This manuscript, written on parchment in the 14th century, contains many golden and gold-accented illustrations and borders as well as initials with blue and red extensions. (jos)

Online Since: 06/02/2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 161
Parchment · 213 ff. · 35.6 x 25 cm · France, Paris · 1280
Thomas Aquinas, Summa theologica

"Even as it is better to enlighten than merely to shine, so is it better to give to others the fruits of one's contemplation than merely to contemplate." The greatest work of Thomas Aquinas, the Summa Theologica, is the emblematic work of Christian scholasticism. This work, written near the end of the life of the great Dominican is incomplete, as its compositon was broken off by the death of the author. Organized in the form of questions (quaestiones) and subdivided into articles, the work presents theology in an organic form. Manuscript CB161 was produced in France, certainly in Paris, only a short time after the philosopher's death; it has been preserved in its original binding. The inscription from the end of the 13th century which can be found on the lower portion of the back cover shows that the manuscript was deposited as collateral by Jean de Paris against the loan of another work. (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 28(1279)
Parchment · III + 518 + II pp. · 13 x 19 cm · 14th century
[Anonymus]. Veritas textus bibliorum

This volume contains a number of tracts by anonymous authors as well as extracts from works of textual criticism treating individual books of the Old and New Testaments. Specifically worth naming are: Guilelmus Brito (died ca. 1275), Johannes de Colonia (13th century) and Guilelmus de Mara Lamara (1230-ca. 1290). The content is of Franciscan authorship, suggesting that the manuscript was produced in a Minorite cloister. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 83(76)
Parchment · 462 ff. · 34.5 x 26 cm · Einsiedeln · 11th century (about 1060-1075/1100)
Breviarium antiquissimum

Cod. 83 is a complete breviary consisting of the following parts: calendar, antiphonary with neume notation, lectionary with biblical readings, homilary containing interpretations by the Church Fathers, hymnal, canticles from the Old and New Testaments, psalter, brief readings, prayers, preces and benedictions. Of special note is the oldest version of the Meinrad Office known to us, which is still used today. The melodies used in the antiphonary belong to the Alemanic choral dialect, still sung in the same form in Einsiedeln in the liturgy of the hours. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 121(1151)
Parchment · 300 pp. · 10.5 x 16 cm · Einsiedeln · about 960-970
Graduale – Notkeri Sequentiae

This Codex comprises the oldest complete surviving neumed mass antiphonary; it includes assorted appendices (such as Alleluia verses, Antiphons and Psalm verses for the Communion Antiphons). Because the mass antiphonary is complete, the manuscript remains important to this day as a resource for Gregorian chant research. The second part of the codex contains the Libyer Ymnorum, the Sequences of Notker of St. Gall. Recent research has established that the codex was written in Einsiedeln itself (in about 960-970), most likely for the third abbot of the cloister, Gregor the Englishman. (lan)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 206(49)
Parchment · 92 pp. · 36.2 x 27.5 cm · France (Paris?) or Flanders · 15th century (about 1430-1450)
Speculum humanae salvationis

This is an especially lovely exemplar, written in France (Paris?) or Flanders, of The Mirror of Human Salvation, or Speculum humanae salvationis. The work itself exists in over 200 manuscript copies and numerous print editions. The Mirror of Human Salvation is divided into the prefiguring of salvation (Old Testament), the story of salvation as told in the New Testament (from the Annunciation to the Judgement Day), the 7 Stations of the Passion, the 7 Sorrows and the 7 Joys of Mary. At this time, four leaves and the opening portion are missing. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 214(241)
Paper · 191 ff. · 31.3 x 22.2 cm · Lake Constance area · [14]52/[14]54/[14]55
Composite manuscript containing texts of pastoral theology by Nicolaus von Dinkelsbühl, Bonaventure, Marquard von Lindau, the Carthusian Guigo II, and Jordanus von Quedlinburg

A collection of homiletic and pastoral texts dated with the years [14]52, [14]54 and [14]55, which came to Einsiedeln from the Lake Constance area. The main work are those by Nikolaus von Dinkelsbühl: Sermones de sanctis, De tribus partibus poenitentiae, De indulgentiis, De oratione Dominica; a collection of writings in Latin by Marquard von Lindau OFM; and texts by Jordanus von Quedlinburg OESA: Sermones de communi sanctorum, Sermones ad religiosos et religiosas. (pal)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 304(514)
Parchment · 2 + 234 + 2 pp. · 25 x 15.7 cm · Churrätien (Chur?) · 8th / 9th century
Medical Tracts

For about twenty years it has been known that this extremely old manuscript contains medical texts by two different authors, whereas the contents of the entire volume had previously been attributed to Galen. The two parts are: 1. Galen's Ad Glauconem de medendi methodo Lib. I-III (which does not, however, follow the correct sequence of that text), and 2. Pelagonius , Ars veterinaria. The beginning and the end of this text are missing. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 326(1076)
Parchment · a + 104 + z ff. · 18 x 12.5 cm · Pfäfers (?) · 9th /10th century
Manuscript of collected works

This codex is a particularly important manuscript of collected texts. Especially important are the Inscriptiones Urbis Romae and the Itinerarium Urbis Romae. The Ordo Romanus XXIII for use on Good Friday, transmitted only in this manuscript, is also notable. Additional contents of this codex include a selection from the Notae of Marcus Valerius Probus, the Gesta Salvatoris (Evangelium Nicodemi), Varia Poemata and a text entitled De inventione s. Crucis. There is no information about how the manuscript traveled to Pfäfers and then on to Einsiedeln (most likely during the 14th century). (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 366(472)
Parchment · 91 pp. · 27 x 19/20 cm · Einsiedeln · 11th / 12th century
Fragmenta Sequentiarum

The fragments assembled in this collection were removed from their previous volumes by P. Gall Morel in 1858 and bound together into this volume in 1860. They consist of fragments from sequences (two volumes), hymn melodies (such as those still sung to this day in Einsiedeln), three Gloria melodies (the third of which is attributed to Pope Leo IX), three liturgical plays as well as the Novem modi by Hermannus. This manuscript is important to music history, as it is the first instance in Einsiedeln where the neumes are set upon four (incised) staff lines; the form used here represents the Alemannic choral dialect. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 611(89)
Parchment · 280 ff. · 32 x 22 cm · Einsiedeln · 14th century (prior to 1314)
Antiphonarium pro Ecclesia Einsidlensi

It is highly likely that this codex is the original transcription of the neumed manuscript in the hand of Guido von Arezzo commissioned by Abbot Johannes I of Schwanden shortly before 1314. The calligraphic copies found in the other "Schwanden codices" were then produced following this source. Evidence of heavy use indicates that these manuscripts remained in use into the 17th century, that is, until the liturgical reform of the Council of Trent. The forms used are from the Alemannic choral dialect, which is still sung in Einsiedeln today. (lan)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 103
Parchment · 200 ff. · 20.8 x 12.6 cm · Rhineland Benedictine monastery possibly Sponheim (or Disibodenberg) · first third of the 13th century
Breviarium antiquissimum (Major sections: Lectionary, Litany, Neumed Antiphoner, Partial Hymnary, Calendar of Saints, Capitulary, Collectar)

A composite manuscript containing text and music for the celebration of the Benedictine office, including a fully neumed (non-diastemmatic) antiphoner. Local saints' feasts (Disibod, Afra, Alban) and the extensive repertory for Martin help to establish its probable provenance. (fly)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 335
Paper · 147 ff. · 21.5 x 14.5 cm · Engelberg (parts also from Stans?) · between 1378 and 1386
"Engelberger Predigten" (Composite manuscript Ea)

The first volume of a codicologically heterogeneous composite of fascicle groups and individual leaves containing copies of sermons in German, assembled near the end of the 14th century or early in the 15th century for use in the women's cloister of St. Andreas at Engelberg. Together with Cod. 336, this is the oldest textual witness for the body of works known as the "Engelberger Predigten" (formerly the "Engelberger Prediger"). One sermon was written, in 1383 at the lastest, by the parish priest Bartholomäus Fridower from Stans. The Benedictine nuns of St. Andreas took the two complementary volumes Cod. 335 and Cod. 336 (a third volume may have been lost) as well as Cod. 337 and at least 24 additional manuscripts with them to their new location at Sarnen; these have been held by the Abbey Library of Engelberg since 1887. (sta)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Documents: 60, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 60, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Kollaborationsprojekte

Januar 2010 - Juni 2011

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Das Hauptziel dieser zweiten von der Mellon Foundation finanzierten Projektphase ist es, e-codices als Plattform der internationalen Handschriftenforschung über Handschriften aus schweizerischen Sammlungen zu stärken. Im Juni 2009 wurde ein 'call for collaboration' auf der Website von e-codices publiziert, welcher Handschriftenforscherinnen und -forscher auf der ganzen Welt dazu aufforderte, Handschriften zur Digitalisierung durch e-codices vorzuschlagen. Von über 150 eingereichten Vorschlägen konnten in einem internen Auswahlverfahren 60 ausgewählt werden. Die Form der Zusammenarbeit ist sehr vielfältig und enthält neben neuen wissenschaftlichen Handschriftenbeschreibungen auch neue Werkzeuge zur Erforschung von Handschriften oder Verbindungen mit anderen virtuellen Handschriftenbibliotheken.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 26: 4
Papier · 79 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · 1445 / drittes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts
Wasmodus de Homberg; Varia in materia beghardorum et beginarum; Johannes Mulberg; Benedictus de Asinago; Felix Hemmerlin

Sammelhandschrift mit Texten von Wasmodus de Homberg, Lampertus Episcopus Argentinensis, Johannes Mulberg und Felix Hemmerlin zum Beginenstreit und einem Traktat von Benedictus de Asinago zur Armut. (pel)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 11
Pergament · 417 ff. · 31.5 x 22.5 cm · deutscher Sprachraum · drittes Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts
Biblia Sacra . Kurztraktat „De fructibus carnis et spiritus“

Die wahrscheinlich im deutschen Sprachraum entstandene Handschrift enthält neben einer mit zahlreichen historisierten Initialen auf Goldgrund versehenen Biblia sacra den Hugo von St. Viktor oder Konrad von Hirsau zugeschriebenen Kurztraktat De fructibus carnis et spiritus mit zwei Schemazeichnungen. Im 16. Jahrhundert war der reich illuminierte Codex im Besitz des Christoph Silberysen, Abt des Wettinger Zisterzienserklosters. (fas)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, MsWettF 1
Pergament · 334 ff. · 40 x 30 cm · Zürich (?) · 1260-1280
Biblia sacra

Teil eins (Genesis bis Esra) einer illuminierten dreibändigen Bibel (erhalten sind MsWettF 1 und MsWettF 2, die wohl Rudolf Schwerz, Chorherr am Zürcher Grossmünster und Leutpriester in Altdorf, testamentarisch dem Kloster Wettingen vermacht hat. (pel)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B III 8
Pergament · 343 ff. · 33 × 23 cm · Basel, Dominikanerkloster · 14. Jahrhundert
Thomas Aquinas: Quaestiones; Quodlibeta

Die von mehrere Händen verfasste Pecienhandschrift enthält, mit kleinen Auslassungen, die Quaestiones disputatae (ohne De malo) sowie 11 Quodlibeta (Nr. 12 fehlt, ebenso Teile von Nr. 8) des Thomas von Aquin. Die Handschrift stammt aus dem Basler Dominikanerkloster und gehörte Johannes und Hugo von Münchenstein, beide zeitweilig Prioren des Basler Klosters. In den Spiegeln finden sich Urkunden des Basler Konzils von 1440. (mit)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, D III 34
Pergament und Papier · 257 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · 15. Jahrhundert / 1495
Miscellanhandschrift zur Pferdemedizin

Der Sammelband D III 34 besteht aus zwei Teilen: Teil I (Bl. 1-29) enthält die Pferdeheilkunde des Jordanus Ruffus; Teil II (Bl. 30-255) die Mulomedicina Chironis sowie einen unvollständigen Traktat eines Oliverius, Stallmeister am Hofe Ferdinand I. von Neapel. Nebst Cod. Monacensis latinus 243 die einzige Hs. der Mulomedicina; der Oliverius- Traktakt ist möglicherweise unediert. (mit)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F III 20
Pergament · 148 ff. · 23.5 x 16.5 cm · Basel, Dominikanerkonvent · 14. Jahrhundert
Commenta super logicam veterem

Der Sammelband besteht aus vier ursprünglich selbständigen Teilen: Teil I enthält Schriften des Hervaeus Natalis, Teil II die Schrift super sex principia des Albertus Magnus, Teil III Schriften des Petrus de Alverni und Teil IV zwei – vielleicht nur in dieser Hs. überlieferte - anonyme Schriften sowie den Traktat De medio demonstrationis des Aegidius Romanus. Die Hs. stammt aus dem Basler Dominikanerkonvent. (mit)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 5
Papier · 96 ff. · 21.0 x 15.4/15.6 cm · ca. 1491
Aesopus, Fabulae, Epigrammata et proverbia, Oraculum sibyllinum · Ps. Pythagoras, Carmen aureum, Praecepta delphica · Phocylides, Sententiae · Aristophanes, Nubes, Vita Aristophanis, Hypothesis in Aritophanis Plutum

Obwohl die äsopische Tradition im Mittelalter dank der Verbreitung der lateinischen Übersetzungen einen grossen Erfolg hatte, wurde der griechische Text des Fabeldichters erst in der Renaissance wiederentdeckt. Der CB 5, welcher gegen das Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts auf Papier abgeschrieben wurde, vereint etwa 150 Fabeln, die diesem Dichter zugeschrieben werden und von denen sich auch La Fontaine inspirierte. Darauf folgen, unter anderem, die delphischen Weisungen des Pseudo-Pythagoras, in denen man auch das bekannte „Erkenne ich selbst“ lesen kann, und Die Wolken, jene Komödie, die den Athener Dichter Aristophanes berühmt machte. (jos)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 79
Pergament · IV + 137 + III ff. · 26.3 x 17.6 cm · 1308
Guillaume de Lorris und Jean de Meun, Roman de la Rose

Guillaume de Lorris und Jean de Meung sind die Autoren des Roman de la Rose, eines der Meisterwerke der höfischen Literatur des Mittelalters. In einem traumhaften und allegorischen Rahmen versucht der Geliebte, in einen geschlossenen Garten einzudringen, welcher eine Rose verbirgt – das Bildnis seiner Geliebten. Der zweite Teil, der von Jean de Meung geschrieben wurde, bietet eine philosophischere und moralisierendere Lektüre. Diese Handschrift, welche im 13. Jahrhundert auf Pergament abgeschrieben wurde, enthält mehrere goldene und mit Gold hervorgehobene Darstellungen und Rahmen, so wie Initialen mit blauen und roten Verlängerungen. (jos)

Online seit: 02.06.2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 161
Pergament · 213 ff. · 35.6 x 25 cm · Frankreich, Paris · 1280
Thomas von Aquin, Summa theologica

„Es ist schöner zu erleuchten, als nur zu leuchten; ebenso ist es schöner, den anderen zu überbringen, worüber man nachgedacht hat, als nur nachzudenken.“ Das Hauptwerk von Thomas von Aquin, die Summe der Theologie, ist das sinnbildliche Werk der christlichen Scholastik. Gegen Ende des Lebens des Dominikaners verfasst, ist sie unvollendet geblieben wegen dem Tod ihres Autors. Die Theologie präsentiert sich in organischer Form und ist in Fragen (quaestiones) verfasst und in Artikel unterteilt. Die Handschrift CB 161 wurde in Frankreich hergestellt, sicher in Paris, nur kurze Zeit nach dem Tode des Philosophen; sie wird in ihrem alten Einband aufgewahrt. Die Inschrift vom Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts, die man auf hinteren Buckdeckel lesen kann, zeigt, dass die Handschrift als Pfand von Jean de Paris bei der Ausleihe eines anderen Werks hinterlegt wurde. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 28(1279)
Pergament · III + 518 + II pp. · 13.0 x 19.0 cm · 14. Jahrhundert
[Anonymus]. Veritas textus bibliorum

Der Band enthält mehrere Traktate ungenannter Autoren bzw. Auszüge aus Schriften zur biblischen Textkritik zu den einzelnen Büchern des Alten und des Neuen Testaments. Besonders genannt werden: Guilelmus Brito (+ um 1275), Johannes de Colonia (13. Jh.) und Guilelmus de Mara de Lamara (1230-um 1290). Es handelt sich um franziskanische Autoren, was nahelegt, dass die Handschrift in einem Minoritenkloster entstand. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 83(76)
Pergament · 462 ff. · 34.5 x 26.0 cm · Einsiedeln · 11. Jahrhundert (um 1060-1075/1100)
Breviarium antiquissimum

Cod. 83 ist ein Vollbrevier mit folgenden Teilen: Kalendarium, Antiphonarium mit Neumennotation, Lektionar mit den biblischen Lesungen, Homiliar mit den Lesungen der Kirchenväter, Hymnar, Cantica des Alten und Neuen Testamentes, Psalterium, Kurzlesungen, Orarionen sowie Preces und Benedictiones. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die bei uns älteste fassung des Meinradsoffizums, das noch heute verwendet wird. Die Melodien des Antiphonars gehören dem alemannischen Choraldialekt an, wie er heute noch in Einsiedeln im Stundengebet gesungen wird. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 121(1151)
Pergament · 300 pp. · 10.5 x 16 cm · Einsiedeln · um 960-970
Graduale – Notkeri Sequentiae

Bei diesem Codex handelt es sich um das älteste, vollständig erhaltene und neumierte Messantiphonar mit verschiedenen Zusätzen (wie Alleluiaverse, Antiphonen und Psalmverse zu den Communio-Antiphonen). Da das Messantiphonar vollständig ist, ist die Handschrift bis heute wichtig für die Gregorianikforschung. Den zweiten Teil bildet der Libyer Ymnorum bzw. die Sequenzen Notkers von St. Gallen. Neuere Forschungen bestätigen, dass der Codex hier in Einsiedeln selbst (um 960-970) geschrieben wurde, wohl für den dritten Abt des Klosters, den Engländer Gregor. (lan)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 206(49)
Pergament · 92 pp. · 36.2 x 27.5 cm · Frankreich (Paris?) oder Flandern · 15. Jahrhundert (um 1430-1450)
Speculum humanae salvationis

Es handelt sich um ein besonders schönes, in Frankreich (Paris?) oder Flandern geschriebenes Exemplar des sog. Heilsspiegels, des Speculum humanae salvationis. Das Werk selbst ist in über 200 Handschriften und zahlreichen Drucken erhalten. Der Heilsspiegel gliedert sich in die Vorgeschichte des Heils (Altes Testament), die Heilsgeschichte des Neuen Testaments (von der Verkündigung bis zum Weltgericht), die 7 Stationen der Leidensgeschichte, die 7 Schmerzen und die 7 Freuden Marias. Heute fehlen 4 Blätter, auch der Anfang ist nicht mehr vorhanden. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 214(241)
Papier · 191 ff. · 31.3 x 22.2 cm · Bodenseeraum · [14]52/[14]54/[14]55
Sammelhandschrift mit pastoraltheologischen Schriften von Nikolaus von Dinkelsbühl, Bonaventura, Marquard von Lindau, Guigo II. Cartusiensis und Jordanus von Quedlinburg

Auf die Jahre [14]52, [14]54 und [14]55 datierte homiletische und pastoraltheologische Textsammlung, die aus dem Bodenseeraum nach Einsiedeln kam. Die Hauptwerke sind Nikolaus von Dinkelsbühl: Sermones de sanctis, De tribus partibus poenitentiae, De indulgentiis, De oratione Dominica; eine Sammlung der lateinischen Schriften Marquards von Lindau OFM; Jordanus de Quedlinburg OESA: Sermones super commune sanctorum, Sermones ad personas religiosas. (pal)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 304(514)
Pergament · 2 + 234 + 2 pp. · 25 x 15.7 cm · Churrätisch (Chur?) · 8./9. Jh.
Medizinische Traktate

Seit ungefähr etwas mehr als zwanzig Jahren weiss man, dass diese sehr alte Handschrift medizinische Schriften von zwei Autoren enthält, während man bisher den ganzen Band dem Galenus zuschrieb. Die beiden Teile sind: 1. Galenus, Ad Glauconem de medendi methodo Lib. I-III (allerdings nicht in den richtigen Reihenfolge des Textes) und 2. Pelagonius <Saloninus>, Ars veterinaria. Von diesem Werk fehlen Anfang und Schluss des Textes. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 326(1076)
Pergament · a + 104 + z ff. · 18.0 x 12.5 cm · Pfäfers (?) · 9./10. Jh.
Sammelhandschrift

Dieser Codex ist eine sehr wichtige Sammelhandschrift. Besonders wichtig sind darin die Inscriptiones Urbis Romae und das Itinerarium Urbis Romae. Hervorzuheben ist aber auch der nur in dieser Handschrift erhaltene Ordo Romanus XXIII für Heiligen Kartage. Des weiteren enthält der Codex einen Auszug aus den Notae des Marcus Valerius Probus, die Gesta Salvatoris (Evangelium Nicodemi), Varia Poemata und einen Text De inventione s. Crucis. Darüber wie die Handschrift nach Pfäfers und dann nach Einsiedeln kam (wohl im 14. Jh.) gibt es keine Nachrichten. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 366(472)
Pergament · 91 pp. · 27 x 19/20 cm · Einsiedeln · 11. / 12. Jahrhundert
Fragmenta Sequentiarum

Die in dieser Fragmentensammlung zusammengestellten Fragmente wurden vor 1858 von P. Gall Morel von Bucheinbänden losgelöst und um 1860 in diesem Band zusammengestellt. Es handelt sich um Fragmente von Sequenzen (zwei Sammlungen), Hymnenmelodien (wie sie heute noch hier in Einsiedeln gesungen werden), drei Gloriamelodien (die dritte wird Papst Leo IX. zugeschrieben), drei liturgische Spiele sowie die Novem modi des Hermannus <Augiensis>. Der Codex ist musikgeschichtlich wichtig, weil hier erstmals für Einsiedeln die Neumen auf vier (eingeritzten) Notenlinien verteilt sind; es handelt sich um den alemannischen Choraldialekt. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 611(89)
Pergament · 280 ff. · 32 x 22 cm · Einsiedeln · 14. Jahrhundert (vor 1314)
Antiphonarium pro Ecclesia Einsidlensi

Dieser Codex ist vermutlich die originale Transkription der Neumenhandschriften in die Notenschrift des Guido von Arezzo im Auftrag des Abtes Johannes I. von Schwanden kurz vor 1314. Nach dieser Vorlage wurden dann die kalligraphischen Abschriften in den übrigen „Schwandencodices“ hergestellt. Starke Gebrauchsspuren beweisen, dass diese Handschriften bis ins 17. Jh. in Gebrauch waren, d. h. bis zur Liturgiereform nach dem Konzil von Trient. Es handelt sich um den alemannischen Choraldialekt, wie er heute noch in Einsiedeln gesungen wird. (lan)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 103
Pergament · 200 ff. · 20.8 x 12.6 cm · Benediktiner Kloster im Rheinland, vermutlich Sponheim (oder Disibodenberg) · erstes Drittel des 13. Jahrhunderts
Breviarium antiquissimum (Haupt-Teile: Lektionar, Litanei, Antiphonar mit Neumen, Teile des Hymnars, Heiligenkalender, Kapitular, Kollektar)

Eine zusammengesetzte Handschrift, welche Texte und Musik für das benediktinische Offizium enthält, einschliesslich eines vollständigen Antiphonars mit Neumen (adiastematisch). Lokale Heiligenfeste (Disibod, Afra, Alban) und ein ausführliches Repertorium für Martin helfen, eine mögliche Provenienz zu bestimmen. (fly)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. 335
Papier · 147 ff. · 21.5 x 14.5 cm · Engelberg (teilw. Stans?) · zwischen 1378 und 1386
"Engelberger Predigten" (Sammelhandschrift Ea)

Erster Band einer Ende des 14. oder früh im 15. Jh. sekundär für den Gebrauch im Engelberger Frauenkloster Kloster St. Andreas zusammengestellten, codicologisch heterogenen Sammlung von Lagengruppen und Einzellagen mit Abschriften deutscher Predigten – zusammen mit Cod. 336 ältester Textzeuge für das Korpus der "Engelberger Predigten" (früher "Engelberger Prediger"). Eine Predigt wurde spätestens 1383 vom Stanser Leutpriester Bartholomäus Fridower geschrieben. Die Benediktinerinnen von St. Andreas haben 1615 die beiden komplementären Bände Cod. 335 und Cod. 336 (vermutlich ist ein dritter verloren) sowie Cod. 337 und mindestens 24 andere Handschriften an den neuen Standort Sarnen mitgenommen; seit 1887 sind diese in der Stiftsbibliothek Engelberg. (sta)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Dokumente: 60, angezeigt: 1 - 20