Documents: 11

Sub-project: Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau

Start: April 2014

Status: In progress

Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: The autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) are preserved in different locations. When Rousseau moved from one place to another, he often left his papers to a close friend, for example Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou, who donated a big collection of important works and notebooks to the Library of Neuchâtel, today Bibliothèque publique et universitaire. Other autographs, that Rousseau left to his Genevan friend and editor Paul Moultou, are located in the Bibliothèque de Genève. Autographs can also be found abroad: in the Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, in the Musée Rousseau of Montmorency or in the Morgan Library & Museum in New York.
The Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel starts by publishing „Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire“ and the „Dictionnaire de Musique“ on e-codices in a new sub-project dedicated to the autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau with the goal of creating a common and coordinated network for the autographs of the Swiss philosopher.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, B-24.1
Paper · 2 pp. · 23 x 19 cm · n.d. [Paris, around January 1797]
Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais, Pour Mr La Rochelle jouant Brid’oison. En cas de bruit à la fin, signed autograph

The comedy The Mad Day, or The Marriage of Figaro is a vivid satire of society during the Ancien Régime and of aristocratic privileges; it was first performed on April 27, 1784 and presaged the beginning of the French Revolution, which it doubtlessly helped bring about. After the fall of the monarchy in 1792, the comedy was again performed on several Parisian stages, albeit the concluding songs were modified by Beaumarchais. The final stanza of the stuttering judge Don Gusman Brid’oison, which in 1784 had concluded Tout fini-it par des chansons, was adapted to the difficulties of the period: Pour tromper sa maladie, / Il [the people] chantoit tout l’opera : / Dame ! il n’sait plus qu’ce p’tit air-là : / Ca ira, ça ira... However, after the fall of Robespierre and the Thermidorian Reaction, these words roiled young Muscadins just as the previous ones had caused the Sansculottes to react. Since the performances were disrupted by such turbulent audiences, Beaumarchais entrusted La Rochelle, the actor who performed the role of Brid’Oison, with an alternative ending that could be recited en cas de bruit (in case of noise). This variant, which remained unpublished until recently, was a praise of freedom of speech and of the sang froid de la raison (the cold blood of reason) against the stratagème (wiles) of ideological cabals. (duc)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, F-16.1
Paper · 4 pp. · 23 x 34.6 cm · 1851
Gustave Flaubert, Le Chant de la Courtisane, autograph

Despite visible erasures, this is the completed version of this untitled text, which consists of six paragraphs on two leaves, bound in red Morocco leather. At the earliest it was written by Flaubert during his voyage to the Orient (1849-1851) with his friend Maxime du Camp, although it seems more likely to date from his return to France in 1851, the moment he dedicated his life to writing. Later know by the title Le Chant de la Courtisane, this prose poem in a humorous tone was not published by Flaubert himself. Nonetheless, it sums up his challenges as a writer: the work shows the author’s fascination with Oriental culture and landscape, which he hopes to to reproduce in a realistic manner. A journal of his voyage, which records his observations and sensations and directly feeds his fictional work. The vocabulary reveals a certain erudition and a concern for accuracy, procedures which herald Salammbô. This manuscript, from the collection of Paul Voute (who had published a facsimile thereof in 1928), was purchased by Martin Bodmer at the Blaizot bookstore. (exq)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, F-16.3
Paper · 46 pp. · 22.5 x 35 cm · 1858
Gustave Flaubert, explanatory chapter from Salammbô, autograph

Mentioned in his correspondence by Flaubert as an explanatory chapter to Salammbô, this manuscript consists of 28 leaves, which are all numbered, except for the last one that contains notes regarding the gods. The manuscript is in a folder on which Flaubert noted the work’s title as well as a date, 1857, that corresponds with the beginning of the writing of Salammbô. This chapter, however, was written after 1857: it was actually conceived after an important documentation phase indispensable to the project and after a trip to Carthage. Upon his return in 1858, the writer worked on a chapter that would be “the topographical and picturesque description of the aforementioned city, with a portrayal of the people who inhabited it, including the traditional costume, government, religion, finances and commerce, etc." (Letter to J. Duplan, dated 1 July 1858). Despite a certain number of corrections and marginal additions, this is the completed version of the text, which ultimately was removed from the novel, even though information therefrom was scattered throughout the work. This chapter reveals the way the author works. He is distinguished by his encyclopedic erudition and his attention to detail, which shed light on the original challenges in the creation of Salammbô: that of reconstructing the then-lost city of Carthage. In November 1949, Martin Bodmer purchased this manuscript at the Blaizot bookstore. (exq)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, M-48.1
Paper · 1 f. · 13.5 x 10.5 cm · not dated
John Stuart Mill, Note on Freedom of Speech, signed autograph

Following enlightenment philosophers, liberal thinkers - which include Mill - considered freedom of speech a fundamental human right. In this small autograph, with embossed monogram "JSM", consisting of three folios intended for dispatch, the philosopher copies a passage of his famous "On Liberty" from 1869, taken from chapter II: "Of the Liberty of Thought and Discussion." Mill emphasizes that humankind no more has the right to silence a single opinion than it has the right to silence all of humankind, if it had the power to do so. Before it became the property of Martin Bodmer, this letter had been purchased by the author Stefan Zweig in 1923. (giv)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.1
Paper · 1 f. · 18 x 12 cm · not dated [ca. 1764]
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Lettres écrites de la montagne (Letter VII), second draft, autograph

The Lettres écrites de la montagne are the last work that was published during Rousseau’s lifetime. For the first time, the philosopher becomes directly involved in the affairs of Geneva. Beyond fundamental proposals, the letters contain further developed thoughts on the spirit of the Reformation as well as a defense of the Contrat Social. Letter VII, where this page comes from, supports the right of representation when it comes to correcting abuses of the Small Council, and it recommends that citizens convened in the General Council reject all new elections of magistrates if these should insist upon overstepping the rights given them by the Constitution. The Lettres were censored in Geneva as well as in Paris. This document is from the collection of Ch. Vellay (purchased by Martin Bodmer in 1926) and contains a draft of two passages from the Lettres. The first of these was published in the original edition (Amsterdam, M. M. Rey, 1764), the second in the edition of the Œuvres complètes of the Bibliothèque de la Pléiade. (giv)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.2
Paper · 38 pp. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · December 1740
Rousseau, Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils

The Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils is Rousseau’s first writing related to his experience as an educator. In 1740 he took up a difficult position as tutor in the family of the notable Jean Bonnot de Mably, provost general of police in the Lyon region. This position came to an end after only one year. Two young children with little inclination to study had been entrusted to his care: François-Paul-Marie Bonnot de Mably, called Monsieur de Sainte-Marie, five and a half years old, and Jean-Antoine Bonnot de Mably, called Monsieur de Condillac, four and a half years old. The long Mémoire, dedicated to the older boy, emphasizes the “educational mission” and experience with practical education: it is presented as a plan and a synthesis; its writing has been dated around December 1740. The young tutor addresses M. de Mably and makes known to him the plan and structure for the education of his son in order to shape “the heart, the judgment and the spirit.” This is not the natural education, which later on will be advocated in ’Émile. Did Rousseau really present this Mémoire to M. de Mably? Known is only that he gave this manuscript of the Mémoire to Mme Dupin, his employer in 1743, and that since then it has been kept with the “Papers of Mme Dupin.” It was published for the first time in Paris in 1884 by G. de Villeneuve-Guibert in Le portefeuille de Madame Dupin. The Fondation Bodmer’s manuscript is the only one in existence. A Projet d’éducation, much shorter, more clearly structured and of unknown date, was found among Rousseau’s papers at the time of his death (this manuscript, now lost, was first published in Geneva in 1782). It is very similar to the Mémoire and seems to have been written (brc)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, T-3.3
Paper · 1 p. · 6.8 x 19.1 cm · n.d. [Ferrara, 1576]
Torquato Tasso (1544-1595), stanza XVII, 42 of Gerusalemme liberata, autograph

This "paperolle" from the famous "Code Gonzague" (held in the Biblioteca Ariostea of Ferrara) is a working copy for a passage that was added to Tasso’s great work, completed the previous year. The poet had submitted his original work to various humanists and high-ranking scholars, and he took into consideration certain critiques and suggestions when editing his verses during the summer of 1576. Several stanzas were profoundly revised or even completely rewritten. Stanza 42 was one of the most reworked, to the point that Tasso had to paste this small strip of paper with the definitive version of the text into the manuscript. The text describes the attitude and thoughts of the Muslim princess Armide, who gets ready to harangue the caliph and his armies and incite them to fight to the death with the crusaders and thus to take revenge on the Christian hero Rinaldo, who had abandoned her. (duc)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 17
Paper · 182 + 48 pp. · 25 x 20 cm · 1764-1767
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Confessions

Manuscript of the first three books of the Confessions and part of the fourth. In comparison with the other two recorded copies, this one contains numerous corrections and variations. Parchment half-binding (spine and corners); the shelfmark 23 is handwritten on the cover, which has a permanent protective covering of acid-free paper. The introductory text was omitted from the published version. (beg)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 55
Paper · 432 ff. · 24 x 18-18.5 cm · Paris · 1753-1764
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Dictionnaire de musique

First complete handwritten edition, with a number of deletions and cross-references. Each booklet consists of 12 bifolia. The pages were numbered by Rousseau. The recto of the pages contain the text, the verso corrections and additions. In his Dictionnaire de musique, Rousseau takes up again the approximately four hundred articles he had written in 1749 for the Encyclopédie. Starting in 1753, in answer to attacks and criticism brought on by his articles, he begins to revise and rewrite them. Because he strives for lexicographic completeness in the field of music, the author composes more and more new entries, reaching close to nine hundred terms. In 1794 the manuscript is donated to the Neuchâtel Library by Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou (1729-1794) from Neuchâtel, Rousseau’s friend and publisher. (beg)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 78
Paper · 140 pp. · 16.8 x 10.7-10.9 cm · Paris · 1776-1778
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire

Carefully handwritten copy of the first seven Promenades (of the ten that make up the published text), with several crossed out and deleted passages. Each booklet consists of 12 bifolia. From page 1 to 83, the pages were numbered by Rousseau, from page 84 by Th. Dufour. In Les Rêveries, Rousseau performs one last introspection in the form of philosphical thoughts and reflections, which he himself characterizes as an appendix to his Confessions. In the fifth Promenade, he describes with nostalgia the moments of solitary happiness he experienced on St. Peter's Island in Lake Biel. The Rêveries are Rousseau’s last text; after the philosopher’s death, they were retained by his friend and publisher Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou (1729-1794) from Neuchâtel, who in his testament bequeathed the manuscript to the Neuchâtel Library. (beg)

Online Since: 04/09/2014

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 79
Paper · 25 + 33 ff. · 15.5 x 10.3 cm · 1777-1778
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Draft of the “Promenades”

Small notebook with an 18th century cardboard binding that was covered in parchment. Double numbering by Théophile Dufour. Ink and pencil. The heavily corrected manuscript contains the draft of walks eight through ten of the Rêveries du Promeneur solitaire as well as parts of the Dialogues. It also contains references to botany. (beg)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Documents: 11

Dokumente: 11

Teilprojekt: Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau

Anfang: April 2014

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: swissuniversities

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) werden an verschiedenen Orten aufbewahrt. Wenn Rousseau einen Wohnort wechselte, hinterliess er häufig seine Papiere einem engen Freund, so zum Beispiel Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou, der eine umfangreiche Sammlung an wichtigen Werken und Arbeitsheften später der Bibliothek in Neuchâtel, der heutigen Bibliothèque publique et universitaire vermachte. Andere Autographe befinden sich in der Bibliothèque de Genève, die Rousseau seinem Genfer Freund und Herausgeber Paul Moultou überliess. Autographe finden sich aber auch im Ausland: in der Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale, der Bibliothèque nationale de France, im Musée Rousseau von Montmorency oder in der Morgan Library & Museum in New York.
Die Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel veröffentlicht als erstes "Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire" und den "Dictionnaire de Musique" in einem neuen Teilprojekt, das sich den Autographen von Jean-Jacques Rousseau widmet. Ziel ist es, ein gemeinsames und koordiniertes Netzwerk für die Autographe von Jean-Jacques Rousseau zu schaffen.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, B-24.1
Papier · 2 pp. · 23 x 19 cm · o.D. [Paris, um Januar 1797]
Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais, Pour Mr La Rochelle jouant Brid’oison. En cas de bruit à la fin, signiertes Autograph

Die Komödie Der tolle Tag oder Die Hochzeit des Figaro, uraufgeführt am 27. April 1784 und eine lebendige Satire der Gesellschaft des Ancien Régimes sowie der adligen Privilegien, deutete die Einleitung der Französischen Revolution an, an deren Anbruch sie zweifellos teilnahm. Nach dem Untergang der Monarchie 1792 war die Komödie auf mehreren Pariser Bühnen wieder aufgeführt worden, jedoch waren die Abschlussgesänge von Beaumarchais abgeändert worden. Die Schlussstrophe des stotternden Richters Don Gusman Brid'oison, die 1784 mit Tout fini-it par des chansons geendet hatte, wurde den Schwierigkeiten der Zeit angepasst: Pour tromper sa maladie, / Il [das Volk] chantoit tout l’opera : / Dame ! il n’sait plus qu’ce p’tit air-là : / Ca ira, ça ira…. Doch nach dem Fall Robbespierres und der Reaktion der Thermidorianer versetzten diese Worte die Jeunesse Dorée in Aufruhr, so wie die vorherigen die Sansculottes aufgebracht hatten. Da die Aufführungen durch dieses turbulente Publikum durcheinandergebracht wurden, vertraute Beaumarchais La Rochelle, dem Schauspieler, der die Rolle von Brid'Oison innehatte, ein alternatives Ende an, das en cas de bruit (im Falle von Lärm), rezitiert werden sollte. Diese Variante, die bis zu ihrer Publikation in jüngster Zeit unveröffentlicht geblieben war, stellt sich als Lobrede auf die Meinungsfreiheit und auf das sang froid de la raison (kalte Blut der Vernunft) gegen die stratagème (Listen) der ideologischen Intrigen dar. (duc)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, F-16.1
Papier · 4 pp. · 23 x 34.6 cm · 1851
Gustave Flaubert, Le Chant de la Courtisane, Autograph

Trotz der sichtbaren Rasuren handelt es sich hierbei um die vollendete Version dieses unbetitelten Textes, der aus sechs Absätzen auf zwei Blättern besteht, gebunden in rotes Saffianleder. Er war von Flaubert frühestens während seiner Orientreise mit seinem Freund Maxime du Camp geschrieben worden (1849-1851), obwohl es wahrscheinlicher scheint, ihn auf seine Rückkehr 1851 nach Frankreich zu datieren, den Moment, da er sein Leben dem Schreiben widmete. Später bekannt als Le Chant de la Courtisane war dieses Prosagedicht in humorvollem Tonfall von Flaubert selbst nicht veröffentlicht worden. Es fasst dennoch seine Erfahrungen als Schriftsteller zusammen: das Werk zeugt von der Faszination des Autors für die orientalische Kultur und Landschaft, die er auf realistische Art wiederzugeben wünscht. Ein Reisetagebuch, das seine Beobachtungen und Empfindungen festhält und sein fiktionales Schaffen direkt beeinflusste. Der Wortschatz zeigt seine Belesenheit und sein Bemühen um Genauigkeit, Vorgehensweisen, die in Salambo wieder anzutreffen sind. Martin Bodmer hat diese Handschrift, die aus der Sammlung Paul Voute stammt (der 1928 ein Faksimile davon publiziert hat), in der Buchhandlung Blaizot erstanden. (exq)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, F-16.3
Papier · 46 pp. · 22.5 x 35 cm · 1858
Gustave Flaubert, erläuterndes Kapitel aus Salammbô, Autograph

Von Flaubert in seiner Korrespondenz als erläuterndes Kapitel zu Salammbô erwähnt, besteht diese Handschrift aus 28 Blättern, die mit Ausnahme des Letzten, das Anmerkungen über die Götter enthält, alle durchnummeriert sind. Sie befindet sich in einer Mappe, auf der Flaubert den Titel des Werkes schrieb und mit 1857 datiert, das mit dem Beginn der Niederschrift von Salammbô übereinstimmt. Das Kapitel seinerseits wurde nach 1857 verfasst: es wurde in der Tat nach einer wichtigen, für sein Projekt unabdingbaren Dokumentationsphase und nach einer Reise nach Karthago entworfen. Bei seiner Rückkehr im Jahre 1858 arbeitete der Schriftsteller an einem Kapitel, das eine topographische und pittoreske Beschreibung einhalten soll „la description topographique et pittoresque de la susdite ville avec exposition du peuple qui l’habitait, y compris le costume, le gouvernement, la religion, les finances et le commerce, etc.“ (Brief an J. Duplan, datiert auf den 1. Juli 1858). Trotz einer gewissen Anzahl von Korrekturen und nebensächlichen Ergänzungen handelt es sich um die abgeschlossene Version des Textes, der schlussendlich aus dem Roman entfernt wurde, obwohl die Informationen daraus im Werk verstreut benutzt wurden. Das Kapitel enthüllt die Arbeitsmethode des Autors. Er zeichnet sich durch seine enzyklopädische Belesenheit und durch seine Sorge um Details aus, die ein Licht auf die ursprüngliche Herausforderung der Entstehung von Salammbô werfen, d.h. die Stadt Karthago, damals verschwunden, wiederherzustellen. Im November 1949 erstand Martin Bodmer diese Handschrift beim Buchhändler Blaizot. (exq)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, M-48.1
Papier · 1 f. · 13.5 x 10.5 cm · nicht datiert
John Stuart Mill, Note on Freedom of Speech, signiertes Autograph

Im Anschluss an die Philosophen der Aufklärung bezeichneten die liberalen Denker - zu denen auch Mill zählte - die Meinungsfreiheit als ein fundamentales Menschenrecht. In diesem kleinen Autograph mit eingeprägtem Monogramm „JSM“, das aus drei für den Versand bestimmten Folios besteht, kopiert der Philosoph eine Passage aus seinem berühmten „On Liberty“ von 1869, dem Kapitel II entnommen: „Of the Liberty of Thought and Discussion“. Mill betont darin, dass die Menschheit nicht mehr das Recht dazu hätte, eine einzelnstehende Meinung zum Schweigen zu bringen wie diese das Recht dazu hätte, der Menschheit den Mund zu verbieten, wenn sie denn die Macht dazu hätte. Dieses Briefchen wurde vom Autor Stefan Zweig 1923 erstanden, bevor es in den Besitz von Martin Bodmer kam. (giv)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.1
Papier · 1 f. · 18 x 12 cm · nicht datiert [ca. 1764]
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Lettres écrites de la montagne (Brief VII), zweiter Entwurf, Autograph

Die Lettres écrites de la montagne bilden das letzte zu seinen Lebzeiten veröffentlichte Werk Rousseaus. Zum ersten Mal mischt sich der Philosoph hier direkt in die Angelegenheiten Genfs ein. Darin enthalten sind, abgesehen von grundlegenden Äusserungen, weiterentwickelte Gedanken über den Geist der Reformation sowie eine Verteidigung des Contrat Social. Der Brief VII, aus dem dieses Blatt stammt, unterstützt das Recht zur Vertretung, wenn es darum geht, Missbräuche des Kleinen Rates zu beheben, und empfiehlt den im Generalrat versammelten Bürgern, jede Neuwahl von Magistraten abzulehnen, sollten diese darauf beharren ihre von der Verfassung verliehenen Rechte zu überschreiten. Diese Lettres wurden sowohl in Genf wie auch in Paris zensuriert. Das vorliegende Dokument stammt aus der Sammlung Ch. Vellay (Kauf durch Martin Bodmer 1926) und enthält den Entwurf zweier Passagen der Lettres. Die erste davon erschien in der Originaledition (Amsterdam, M. M. Rey, 1764), die zweite in der Edition der Œuvres complètes der Bibliothèque de la Pléiade. (giv)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.2
Papier · 38 pp. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · Dezember 1740
Rousseau, Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils

Das Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils ist das erste Schreiben Rousseaus, das direkt mit seinen Erfahrungen als Erzieher in Verbindung steht. Er hatte 1740 in Lyon ein schwieriges Amt als Hauslehrer inne, bei der Familie des Notablen Jean Bonnot de Mably, Generalprofos der Gendarmen von Lyon. Bereits nach einem Jahr fand diese Anstellung ein Ende. Zwei kleine Kinder, dem Studium wenig geneigt, waren ihm anvertraut worden: François-Paul-Marie Bonnot de Mably, genannt Monsieur de Sainte-Marie, fünfeinhalb Jahre alt, und Jean-Antoine Bonnot de Mably, genannt Monsieur de Condillac, viereinhalb Jahre alt. Das lange Mémoire, dem älteren Jungen gewidmet, betont den « erzieherischen Auftrag » und die Erfahrung mit der praktischen Erziehung: es präsentiert sich wie ein Konzept und eine Synthese, und seine Verfassung wird auf den Dezember 1740 eingeordnet. Der junge Hauslehrer wendet sich an M. de Mably, dem er seinen Plan und den Aufbau der Erziehung für seinen Sohn bekannt gibt, um « das Herz, das Urteilsvermögen und den Geist zu formen ». Es handelt sich nicht um die natürliche Erziehung, die später in Émile empfohlen wird. Hat Rousseau dieses Mémoire M. de Mably tatsächlich übergeben? Bekannt ist einzig, dass er dieses Manuskript des Mémoire an Mme Dupin, seine Arbeitsgeberin im Jahre 1743, verschenkte, und dass es seither in den « Papieren der Mme Dupin » aufbewahrt wird. Es wurde das erste Mal 1884 in Paris von G. de Villeneuve-Guibert im Le portefeuille de Madame Dupin herausgegeben. Das Manuskript der Fondation Bodmer ist das einzig existierende. Ein Projet d’éducation, viel kürzer, sauberer aufgebaut und von unbekanntem Datum, war zuerst in den Papieren Rousseaus bei seinem Tod gefunden worden (dieses heute verlorene Manuskript war 1782 in Genf herausgegeben worden). Es ist dem Mémoire sehr ähnlich und scheint später geschrieben worden zu sein (allerdings gibt es in Bezug auf die chronologische Reihenfolge der beiden Texte keine Sicherheit). (brc)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, T-3.3
Papier · 1 p. · 6.8 x 19.1 cm · o.D. [Ferrara, 1576]
Torquato Tasso (1544-1595), Strophe XVII, 42 des La Gerusalemme liberata, Autograph

Diese „paperolle“, die aus dem berühmten „Code Gonzague“ (aufbewahrt in der Biblioteca Ariostea von Ferrara) stammt, ist eine Arbeitsschrift für eine Passage, die dem grossen Epos von Tasso, das im vorherigen Jahr vollendet worden war, hinzugefügt wurde. Der Dichter hatte sein Werk mehreren Humanisten und ranghohen Gelehrten vorgelegt und er berücksichtigte gewisse Kritiken und Ratschläge, indem er seine Verse während des Sommers 1576 überarbeitete. Einige Strophen wurden tiefgreifend ausgebessert oder sogar vollständig neu geschrieben. Die Strophe 42 war eine der am stärksten überarbeiteten, so stark, dass Tasso diesen kleinen Papierstreifen mit der definitiven Version des Textes in die Handschrift kleben musste. Der Text beschreibt die Haltung und die Gedanken der muslimischen Prinzessin Armida, die sich anschickt, den Kalifen und seine Armee zum Kampf bis zum Tod gegen die Kreuzritter aufzurufen, um sich auf diese Weise am christlichen Held Rinaldo zu rächen, der sie verlassen hatte. (duc)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 17
Papier · 182 + 48 pp. · 25 x 20 cm · 1764-1767
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Bekenntnisse

Manuskript der ersten drei Bücher der Confessions und eines Teils des vierten. Im Vergleich zu den anderen beiden verzeichneten Abschriften zahlreiche Korrekturen und Varianten. Halbeinband aus Pergament (Rücken und Ecken) mit der handschriftlichen Signatur 23 auf dem Deckel, welcher mit einer permanenten Schutzhülle aus Papier überzogen ist. Der Einführungstext wurde in der veröffentlichten Version des Textes weggelassen. (beg)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 55
Papier · 432 ff. · 24 x 18-18.5 cm · Paris · 1753-1764
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Dictionnaire de musique

Erste handschriftliche vollendete Fassung, mit einer Anzahl Streichungen und Querverweisen. Jedes Heft setzt sich aus 12 Doppelblättern zusammen. Die Seiten wurden von Rousseau nummeriert. Die Rectoseite der Blätter enthält den Text, die Versoseite Korrekturen und Zusätze. In seinem Dictionnaire de musique greift Rousseau die etwa vierhundert Artikel wieder auf, welche er 1749 für die Encyclopédie geschrieben hat. Ab 1753 beginnt er als Antwort auf die durch die Artikel hervorgerufenen Angriffe und Kritikpunkte eine Überarbeitungs- uns Neubearbeitungsarbeit. Da er eine lexikographische Vollständigkeit im musikalischen Bereich anstrebt, verfasst der Autor immer mehr neue Einträge, so dass er beinahe neunhundert Begriffe erreicht. 1794 wird die Handschrift vom Neuenburger Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou (1729-1794), Freund und Herausgeber Jean-Jacques Rousseaus, der Bibliothèque de Neuchâtel überlassen. (beg)

Online seit: 09.04.2014

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 78
Papier · 140 pp. · 16.8 x 10.7-10.9 cm · Paris · 1776-1778
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Les Rêveries du promeneur solitaire

Handschriftliche und sorgfältige Abschrift der ersten sieben Promenades (von den zehn, welche der veröffentlichte Text enthält), mit einigen durchgestrichenen und verbesserten Stellen. Jedes Heft besteht aus 12 Doppelblättern. Die Seiten wurden von Rousseau von 1 bis 83 nummeriert, ab der Seite 84 von Th. Dufour. In den Rêveries vollbringt Rousseau eine letzte Introspektionsarbeit in Form von philosophischen Überlegungen und Gedanken, welche er selbst als Anhang zu seinen Confessions bezeichnet. In der fünften Promenade beschreibt er mit Wehmut jene Augenblicke des einsamen Glücks, die er auf der St. Petersinsel im Bielersee erlebt hat. Die Rêveries sind der letzte Text Rousseaus und wurden nach dem Tode des Philosophen von seinem Freund und Herausgeber, dem Neuenburger Pierre-Alexandre DuPeyrou (1729-1794), aufbewahrt. Dieser vererbt 1794 die Handschrift testamentarisch der Bibliothèque de Neuchâtel. (beg)

Online seit: 09.04.2014

Preview Page
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel, Ms. R 79
Papier · 25 + 33 ff. · 15.5 x 10.3 cm · 1777-1778
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Entwurf der „Promenades“

Kleines Heft mit einem Kartoneinband des 18. Jahrhunderts, der mit Pergament überzogen wurde. Doppelte Seitenzählung von Théophile Dufour. Tinte und Bleistift. Das stark korrigierte Manuskript enthält den Entwurf der Spaziergänge acht bis zehn der Rêveries du Promeneur solitaire und Teile der Dialogues. Enthält auch Bezüge zur Botanik. (beg)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Dokumente: 11