Documents: 212, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: The Virtual Abbey Library of Saint Gall

January 2008 - December 2009

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: As of the end of 2009, over 300 manuscripts written before the year 1000 and held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall had been made available on e-codices. The web application had also been further developed using the most up to date informatics tools, allowing users to gain access to the website database faster and more easily. Financial support for this sub-project was provided by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 8
Parchment · 52 pp. · 15.5 x 10.7-11.8 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Liber Tobiæ

A somewhat carelessly made copy of the Old Testament book of Tobit, written around the end of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall and probably used later for teaching in the school. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 10
Parchment · 477 pp. · 18.2 x 14.5-14.9 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Liber Job. Proverbia . Ecclesiastes . Canticum Canticorum etc.

Copies of various Old Testament books: Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, the Song of Songs, Wisdom, Sirach, written by a single hand during the 10th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. On the first empty page is a 16-hexameter complaint in verse by an Irish monk (Dubduin?) about his unfriendly reception at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 15
Parchment · 286 pp. · 29 x 22.5 cm · France, Northern (probably) · second half of the 9th century
Psalter

Psalter, produced in the second half of the 9th century, possibly in northern France. Following the Psalms, which were heavily annotated with commentaries in later centuries (mainly the 14th and 15th centuries), the Psalter is followed by the Canticles as well as a fragment of a Litany of the Saints not produced at St. Gallen. The beautifully illuminated initial capital of the first Psalm (Beatus vir) on page 1 is strongly influenced by Irish models. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 17
Parchment · 342 pp. · 24 x 18.5 cm · St. Gall · 880-900
A copy of the Gospel of Matthew

A copy of the Gospel of Matthew made in St. Gall in the 9th century, together with the beginning of a copy of the Gospel of Mark. The second half contains a Greek-Latin copy of Psalms 101 through 150, Canticles in addition to prayers (Magnificat, Te Deum, Pater Noster) and a Litany of the Saints, copied at the Abbey of St. Gall between 880 and 900 from a master copy presumed to have originated in Constantinople. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 26
Parchment · 118 pp. · 20.5-21 x 13.5-14 cm · Abbey of Malmesbury · 1301-1330
Short Psalter, produced in the west English Abbey of Malmesbury

Short Psalter from the early 14th century, produced in the now dissolved west English Abbey of Malmesbury, with calendar and All Saints Litany, illustrated with artful initials and margin borders composed of leaves, flowers, animals and human heads. Acquired by the Cloister of St. Gall since 1500 at the latest, the volume was "augmented" at this location by the addition of some recipes for medical preparations. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 29
Parchment · 334 pp. · 23.7-24 x 15.5-16 cm · beginning of the 9th century, 13th century
Canticum Canticorum cum glossa; Prosper de gratia et libero arbitrio; Augustini Enchiridion et alia.

A composite manuscript with three parts: 1) a copy of the Song of Songs, surrounded by a learned scholarly commentary from the 12th or 13th century, possibly from the Abbey of St. Gall, 2) a copy of the letter from Prosper of Aquitaine to Rufinus regarding De gratia et libero arbitrio, the work Pro Augustino responsiones ad capitula obiectionum Gallorum calumniantium by Prosper of Aquitaine, the work Responsiones ad Dulcitium de octo quaestionibus ab eo missis by Augustine, and the pseudo-Augustinian piece Hypomnosticon contra Pelagianos (like Cologne, Dombibliothek, Codex 79), 3) an incomplete copy of Augustine's work Enchiridion de fide, spe et caritate (a guide to belief, hope and love). (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 30
Parchment · 102 p. · 20.5-21 x 15 cm · St. Gall · around 800
A copy of three Old Testament books (Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs)

A copy of three Old Testament books (Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs) made in St. Gall in about 800. On page 1, used for quill tests, is the St. Gall mocking verse, famous among Germanist scholars, Liubene ersazta sine gruz unde kab sina tohter zu... (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 45
Parchment · 346 pp. · 25.5 x 18-18.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Bible (Ezek, minor prophets, Dan)

Copy of the Old Testament books of Ezekiel, Daniel, and the Twelve Minor Prophets, produced in the 9th century in the Cloister of St. Gall. On pages 1 and 2: the remnants of a Greek version of the Gospel of Mark. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 47
Parchment · 163 pp. · 30.1 x 20.3 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Maccabæorum lib. I-II.

A copy of the two Old Testament books of Maccabees, written in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. The end of the second book of Maccabees is missing. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 48
Parchment · 395 ff. · 22.5 x 18.5 cm · Bobbio, cloister (northeast of Genoa) · around 850
"Codex Delta": the Gospels in Greek with interlinear translation into Latin

Codex Delta: the Gospels in Greek with interlinear translation into Latin, written by Irish monks, probably in the Cloister of Bobbio (northeast of Genoa) about 850. Among the most important ancient Greek biblical texts that have been preserved. Colorfully detailed initial capitals make this item important to the study of manuscript decoration. The catalog of a cycle of Greek Gospel illustrations with 42 titles is found on page 129. The sole (fragmentary) known Carmen of the Gospel (Carmen de evangelio) by Pseudo-Hilarius is also bound into this manuscript. Two sister-manuscripts of this Codex Delta are held by the University of Basel Library (the Greek-German Psalter) and in the State Library of Saxony at Dresden (Letters of Paul in Greek and Latin). (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 49
Parchment · 157 ff. · 23.2 x 18.4 cm · St. Gall (?) · second half of the 9th century
Evangelary

Evangelary from the Abbey of St. Gall, written during the second half of the 9th century by many different hands in a Carolingian minuscule script. Includes a small number of Latin and Old High German glosses; on the last page are pen tests. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 52
Parchment · 286 pp. · 29.2/29.6 x 19.4/19.8 cm · area of Lyon · first half of the 9th century
Evangelary

Latin Evangelary with preceding prologues, arguments and canonical tables, produced during the first half of the 9th century in the area of Lyon. Fragments of the Edictum Rothari (Cod. Sang. 730) were found in this manuscript and removed during the first half of the 20th century. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 63
Parchment · 160+1 ff. · 22.3 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall (?) · late 9th or early 10th century
Epistolae Pauli. Actus Apostolorum. Epistolae catholicae. Apocalypsis.

A copy of the letters of Paul the Apostle, the Acts of the Apostles, the Catholic Letters (3 letters by John, 2 by Peter, one by James and one by Jude) and the Apocalypse, written around the end of the end of the 9th or the beginning of the 10th century, likely at the Abbey of St. Gall. On the insides of the covers, imprints of fragmental portions of the Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394) and the Vulgate version of the Gospels (Cod. Sang. 1395) are visible. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 65
Parchment · 216 pp. · 15.2-15.3 x 22-22.1 cm; 15.3 x 22.2 cm · St. Gall · 10th century and 12th century
Somnium Scipionis. Commentum Macrobii in somnium Scipionis. Epistolæ VII catholicæ.

A composite manuscript with two unrelated parts: 1) an incomplete copy of the Somnium Scipionis section of the work De re publica by Marcus Tullius Cicero, written in the Abbey of St. Gall during the 10th century, followed by a 10th century St. Gall copy of the commentary originally written by the Roman author Macrobius of late antiquity in about 430/440 and widely disseminated during the middle ages. A fragment of this manuscript may also be found in Cod. Voss.lat.qu. 33 (fol. 58) in the library of the Rijksuniversiteit in Leiden; 2) a St. Gall copy of the seven Catholic Letters (3 written by John, 2 by Peter, one by James, one by Jude) with a learned scholarly commentary from the 12th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 72
Parchment · 336 pp. · 29.7/29.9 x 24.7/25.1 cm · St. Gall · middle of the 9th century
Epistolæ Pauli. Acta Apostolorum. Epistolæ catholicæ. Apokalypsis.

Copies of the Epistles of Paul, the Acts of the Apostles, the Catholic Letters (3 by John, 2 by Peter, one by James, one by Jude) and the Apocalypse, written and decorated with several initials sometime in the middle of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Parchment · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul

A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul. This manuscript, produced by the Cloister of St. Gall in the 9th century, is significant in terms of textual history study. Pages 231 through 260 contain the oldest commentary on the Letter to the Hebrews, composed by Irish theologians from the circle of Pelagius during the 7th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 80
Parchment · 308 pp. · 41 x 26.5/26.7 cm · All Saints, Schaffhausen · around 1100
Pentateuch . Books of Josua and Judges . Epistles of Paul

A copy of the first five books of Moses (the Pentateuch), the books of Joshua and Judges from the Old Testament as well as the Epistles of Paul and the Acts of the Apostles from the New Testament, produced in about 1100 in the cloister of All Saints (Allerheiligen) in Schaffhausen, already recorded in the 12th century as held in St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 86
Parchment · 234 pp. · 30.5-31 x 23.5-24 cm · Einsiedeln · around 950-970
The Pseudo-Clementines

The Pseudo-Clementines in a copy produced at the Cloister of Einsiedeln in the period around 950/970, with a title illustration showing the conflict between Peter the Apostle and Simon Magus. The 10-book "Pseudo-Klementinen" is written from the point of view of Peter's follower Clement and tells about Peter's travels, his conflict with Simon Magus, and the conversion of his pupil, Clement of Rome. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 87
Parchment · 345 pp. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Homiliae Origenis in Genesim, Exodum et Leviticum.

A copy of the sermons of the early Christian theologian Origen (185-254) on the Old Testament books of Genesis, Exodus and Leviticus, produced in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 88
Parchment · 596 pp. · 29 x 22 cm · St. Gall · second half of the 9th century
Origenes, Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos

An excellently crafted copy of the ten-part commentary of the Greek theologian Origen (185-253/54) on the Epistle to the Romans (Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos), produced in the Cloister of St. Gall during the second half of the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Documents: 212, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Virtuelle Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Januar 2008 - Dezember 2009

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Bis Ende 2009 wurden über 300 Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die vor dem Jahr 1000 geschrieben wurden, auf e-codices erschlossen. Auch wurde die Webapplikation weiterentwickelt und dem neusten Stand der Informatik angepasst, womit den Nutzern ein schnellerer und einfacherer Zugriff auf die Webdatenbank ermöglicht wurde.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 8
Pergament · 52 pp. · 15.5 x 10.7-11.8 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Liber Tobiæ

Wenig sorgfältige Abschrift des alttestamentlichen Buchs Tobias, geschrieben gegen Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen und später wahrscheinlich im Schulunterricht verwendet. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 10
Pergament · 477 pp. · 18.2 x 14.5-14.9 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Liber Job. Proverbia . Ecclesiastes . Canticum Canticorum etc.

Abschrift verschiedener alttestamentlicher Bücher: Hiob, Buch der Sprüche, Kohelet, Hohelied, Buch der Weisheit, Jesus Sirach, geschrieben von einer Hand des 10. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. Auf der ersten leer gebliebenen Seite ein aus 16 Hexametern bestehendes Klagelied eines irischen Mönches (Dubduin?) über die unfreundliche Aufnahme im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 15
Pergament · 286 pp. · 29 x 22.5 cm · Frankreich (wahrscheinlich Norden) · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Psalterium

Psalterium, geschrieben in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts wahrscheinlich in Nordfrankreich. Im Anschluss an die in späteren Jahrhunderten fleissig kommentierten Psalmen (hauptsächlich 14./15. Jahrhundert) enthält der Psalter die Cantica sowie das Fragment einer nicht-sanktgallischen Allerheiligenlitanei. Die hübsch illuminierte Eingangsinitiale zum 1. Psalm (Beatus vir) auf Seite 1 ist stark von irischen Vorbildern beeinflusst. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 17
Pergament · 342 pp. · 24 x 18.5 cm · St. Gallen · 880-900
St. Galler Abschrift des Matthäus-Evangeliums

St. Galler Abschrift des Matthäus-Evangeliums aus dem 9. Jahrhundert sowie Beginn einer Abschrift des Markus-Evangeliums. Im zweiten Teil griechisch-lateinische Abschrift der Psalmen 101 bis 150, der Cantica und weiterer Gebete (Magnificat, Te Deum, Vaterunser) sowie einer St. Galler Allerheiligenlitanei, kopiert ab einer vemutlich aus Konstantinopel stammenden Vorlage zwischen 880 und 900 im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 26
Pergament · 118 pp. · 20.5-21 x 13.5-14 cm · Abtei Malmesbury · 1301-1330
Kurzpsalterium aus Malmesbury

Kurzpsalterium aus dem frühen 14. Jahrhundert, geschrieben in der heute aufgehobenen westenglischen Abtei Malmesbury, mit Kalendar und Allerheiligenlitanei, illustriert mit kunstvollen Initialen und Randbordüren aus Blättern, Blüten, Tieren und menschlichen Köpfen. Spätestens seit 1500 im Kloster St. Gallen und hier mit medizinischen Rezeptarien „ergänzt“. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 29
Pergament · 334 pp. · 23.7-24 x 15.5-16 cm · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts, 13. Jahrhundert
Canticum Canticorum cum glossa; Prosper de gratia et libero arbitrio; Augustini Enchiridion et alia.

Sammelhandschrift aus drei Teilen: 1) Abschrift des Hohelieds, umgeben von einem gelehrten wissenschaftlichen Kommentar aus dem 12./13. Jahrhundert, vermutlich aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, 2) Abschrift des Briefs von Prosper von Aquitanien an Rufinus über „De gratia et libero arbitrio“, das Werk „Pro Augustino responsiones ad capitula obiectionum Gallorum calumniantium“ von Prosper von Aquitanien, das Augustinus-Werk „Responsiones ad Dulcitium de octo quaestionibus ab eo missis“ sowie die pseudo-augustinische Schrift „Hypomnosticon contra Pelagianos“ (wie Köln, Dombibliothek, Codex 79) aus dem 9. Jahrhundert, 3) unvollständige Abschrift des Augustinus-Werks „Enchiridion de fide, spe et caritate“ (Handbüchlein über Glaube, Hoffnung und Liebe) ebenso aus dem 9. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 30
Pergament · 102 p. · 20.5-21 x 15 cm · St. Gallen · um 800
St. Galler Abschrift von drei alttestamentlichen Büchern (Buch der Sprüche, Buch der Prediger, Hohelied)

St. Galler Abschrift von drei alttestamentlichen Büchern (Buch der Sprüche, Buch der Prediger, Hohelied) aus der Zeit um 800. Auf der für Federproben genutzten Seite 1 findet sich der bei Germanisten berühmte St. Galler Spottvers "Liubene ersazta sine gruz unde kab sina tohter zu..." (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 45
Pergament · 346 pp. · 25.5 x 18-18.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Bibel (Ez, Prophetae minores, Dn)

Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Ezechiel, Daniel und der 12 kleinen Propheten, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. Auf den Seiten 1 und 2: Reste einer griechischen Fassung des Markus-Evangeliums. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 47
Pergament · 163 pp. · 30.1 x 20.3 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Maccabæorum lib. I-II.

Abschrift der zwei alttestamentlichen Makkabäer-Bücher, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. Der Schluss des 2. Makkabäer-Buchs fehlt. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 48
Pergament · 395 ff. · 22.5 x 18.5 cm · Bobbio, Kloster (nordöstlich von Genua) · um 850
"Codex Delta": Griechisches Evangeliar mit Interlinear-Übersetzung in lateinischer Sprache

"Codex Delta": Griechisches Evangeliar mit Interlinear-Übersetzung in lateinischer Sprache, geschrieben von irischen Mönchen vermutlich im Kloster Bobbio (nordöstlich von Genua) um 850. Einer der wichtigsten Texte in der altgriechischen Bibelüberlieferung. Buchkünstlerisch interessante durch farbig gefüllte Anfangsbuchstaben. Auf Seite 129 findet sich das Verzeichnis eines griechischen Bilderzyklus zu den Evangelien mit 42 Tituli, eingebunden in die Handschrift ist auch das einzig hier (fragmentarisch) erhaltene Carmen de evangelio des Pseudo-Hilarius. Zwei Schwesterhandschriften dieses Codex Delta finden sich in der Universitätsbibliothek Basel (Psalterium griechisch-deutsch) und in der Sächsischen Landesbibliothek Dresden (Paulus-Briefe griechisch-lateinisch). (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 49
Pergament · 157 ff. · 23.2 x 18.4 cm · St. Gallen (?) · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangeliar

Evangeliar aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts von mehreren Händen in einer karolingischen Minuskelschrift, mit wenigen lateinischen und althochdeutschen Glossen, auf der letzten Seite Federproben. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 52
Pergament · 286 pp. · 29.2/29.6 x 19.4/19.8 cm · Gegend von Lyon · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangeliar

Lateinisches Evangeliar mit vorangehenden Prologen, Argumenta und Kanontafeln, geschrieben in der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts in der Gegend von Lyon. In dieser Handschrift wurden Fragmentstücke des Edictum Rothari (Cod. Sang. 730) gefunden und in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts herausgelöst. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 63
Pergament · 160+1 ff. · 22.3 x 19.2 cm · St. Gallen (?) · spätes 9. oder frühes 10. Jahrhundert
Epistolae Pauli. Actus Apostolorum. Epistolae catholicae. Apocalypsis.

Abschrift der Briefe des Apostels Paulus, der Apostelgeschichte, der Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) und der Apokalypse, geschrieben gegen Ende des 9. oder zu Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts wahrscheinlich im Kloster St. Gallen. Auf den Deckel-Innenseiten sind spiegelverkehrte Abklatsche von Fragment-Teilen des Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394) und der Vulgata-Version der Evangelien (Cod. Sang. 1395) zu sehen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 65
Pergament · 216 pp. · 15.2-15.3 x 22-22.1 cm; 15.3 x 22.2 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert und 12. Jahrhundert
Somnium Scipionis. Commentum Macrobii in somnium Scipionis. Epistolæ VII catholicæ.

Sammelhandschrift mit zwei voneinander unabhängigen Teilen: 1) unvollständige Abschrift des Teils „Somnium Scipionis“ aus dem Werk „De re publica“ des Marcus Tullius Cicero, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 10. Jahrhundert, anschliessend, ebenfalls im 10. Jahrhundert im Galluskloster geschrieben, der dazu um 430/440 geschaffene, im Mittelalter weit verbreitete Kommentar des spätantiken römischen Schriftstellers Macrobius. Ein Fragmentstück aus dieser Handschrift befindet sich im Cod. Voss. lat. qu. 33 (fol. 58) in der Bibliotheek der Rijksuniversiteit in Leiden, 2) St. Galler Abschrift der sieben Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) mit einem gelehrten wissenschaftlichen Kommentar aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 72
Pergament · 336 pp. · 29.7/29.9 x 24.7/25.1 cm · St. Gallen · Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Epistolæ Pauli. Acta Apostolorum. Epistolæ catholicæ. Apokalypsis.

Abschrift der Paulus-Briefe, der Apostelgeschichte, der Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) und der Apokalypse, geschrieben und mit einigen Initialen geschmückt um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Pergament · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen

Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen. Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert. Von Seite 231 bis Seite 260 ist auch der älteste Kommentar zum Brief an die Hebräer überliefert, der von irischen Theologen aus dem Umkreis des Pelagius wohl noch im 7. Jahrhundert verfasst wurde. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 80
Pergament · 308 pp. · 41 x 26,5/26,7 cm · Allerheiligen, Schaffhausen · um 1100
Pentateuch . Bücher Josua und Judicum . Paulus-Briefe . Apostelgeschichte

Abschrift der ersten fünf Bücher Mose (Pentateuch), der Bücher Josua und Judicum aus dem Alten Testament sowie der Paulus-Briefe und der Apostelgeschichte aus dem Neuen Testament, geschrieben gegen 1100 im Kloster Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen, bereits im 12. Jahrhundert nach St. Gallen gelangt. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 86
Pergament · 234 pp. · 30.5-31 x 23.5-24 cm · Einsiedeln · um 950-970
Die "Pseudo-Klementinen"

Die "Pseudo-Klementinen" in einer Abschrift aus dem Kloster Einsiedeln aus der Zeit um 950/970, mit einem Titelbild, das den Konflikt zwischen dem Apostel Petrus und Simon Magus zeigt. Die in zehn Büchern gegliederten "Pseudo-Klementinen erzählen aus der Sicht des Petrus-Begleiters Klemens von den Reisen des Petrus, von seinen Kämpfen mit Simon Magus und der Bekehrung des Apostelschülers Klemens von Rom. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 87
Pergament · 345 pp. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Homiliae Origenis in Genesim, Exodum et Leviticum.

Abschrift der Homilien des frühchristlichen Kirchenschriftstellers Origenes (185-254) zu den alttestamentlichen Büchern Genesis, Exodus und Leviticus, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 88
Pergament · 596 pp. · 29 x 22 cm · St. Gallen · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Origenes, Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos

Qualitätvolle Abschrift des zehnteiligen Kommentars des griechischen Theologen Origenes (185-253/54) zum Römerbrief („Commentarii in epistulas ad Romanos), geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 1 - 20