Documents: 30, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Another thirty medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall

June 2012 - February 2013

Status: Completed

Financed by: Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: Support from the St. Gall lottery fund has enabled e-codices to make accessible 30 more medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The digital reproduction of this selection of manuscripts was made possible in 2010 by support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 175
Parchment · 360 pp. · 38 x 28.2 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustinus, Epistola 174 (ad Aurelium); De trinitate libri XV

This is a copy, produced in St. Gall in the 9th century, of De trinitate libri XV by the Church Father Augustine. His letter to Aurelius (letter 174) serves as a preface to the work. The manuscript remains in its original binding and contains several corrections by the St. St. Gall monk Ekkehart IV from the 11th century. On p. 356 there is a pen sketch of a man with sword and shield; an almost identical figure can also be found in Cod. Sang. 276, p. 271 (here etched with a stylus). (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 180
Parchment · 242 pp. · 16-16.5 x 24-24.5 cm · St. Gall · first third of the 9th century
Augustinus, In epistolam Iohannis ad Parthos tractatus X

Commentary on the Epistle of John by the Church Father Augustine. This copy was produced in St. Gall around the first third of the 9th century and remains in its original binding. On p. 1-4 and 239-241, it also contains readings for the liturgy. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 210
Parchment · 254 pp. · 28.7 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall · around 800
Gregory the Great, Moralia in Hiob, Lib. 32–35

Copy of books 32 to 35 of Pope Gregory the Great’s Moralia in Hiob, written in Alemannic minuscule at the monastery ofSt. Gall toward the end of the 8th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 212
Parchment · 330 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · St. Gall · around 800
Gregory the Great, Homiliae in Ezechielem XIII–XXII

Copy of Pope Gregory the Great’s homilies 13 to 22 on the Old Testament Book of Ezekiel, written at the monastery ofSt. Gall toward the end of the 8th century in a „gleichmässigen, breiten, gut proportionierten kalligraphischen älteren St. Galler Minuskel“ (Bruckner) [uniform, wide, well-proportioned calligraphic older St. Gall minuscule] . The beginning of each homily is decorated with small colored initials. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 219
Parchment · 234 pp. · 22 x 15.8 cm · St. Gall · around 850
Gregory the Great, Regula pastoralis

Copy of Pope Gregory the Great’s Regula pastoralis, carefully written by a practiced hand at the monastery ofSt. Gall around the middle of the 9th century. The manuscript contains a great number of glosses in Latin and Old High German made by quill and stylus. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 220
Parchment · 360 pp. · 14.2-14.3 x 19.8 cm · 10th century
Gregory the Great, Regula pastoralis

Copy of Pope Gregory the Great’s Regula pastoralis, written by a variety of hands in the 10th century at an unknown scriptorium, probably not in St. Gall. In the first half of the 20th century, several 5th century fragments were removed from the binding of this manuscript. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 221
Parchment · 397 pp. · 20.5 x 12.5 cm · Müstair? Burgundy? Switzerland? · 750/800
Collection of patristic manuscripts: among others Gregory the Great, Homiliae in evangelia

Manuscript compilation from the second half of the 8th century, written and decorated with several extraordinary initials, possibly at a “Swiss center under Burgundian or Irish influence” (Bruckner) or instead “in western Alemannia or in eastern Burgundy” (Bischoff), perhaps also in Müstair. The manuscript contains large parts of - but not in full - Pope Gregory the Great’s († 604) homilies on the Gospels (Homiliae in evangelia), as well as excerpts from authentic and inauthentic works by Augustine († 430) and Caesarius of Arles († 542). (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 224
Parchment · 222 pp. · 16-16.5 x 23 cm · St. Gall (?) · first third of the 9th century
Isidorus, Liber differentiarum II; Augustinus, Enchiridion ad Laurentium de fide spe et caritate

This is a copy, probably produced in St. Gall in the first third of the 9th century, of writings by Isidore of Seville (Book 2 of the Liber differentiarum) and by the Church Father Augustine (Enchiridion ad Laurentium de fide spe et caritate; parts of some chapters are missing). The manuscript remains in its original binding. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 244
Parchment · 518 pp. · 30.4 x 21.9 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 11th century
Ambrosius Autpertus, Expositio in Apocalypsin (Lib. I–V)

This is a careful copy, significant in terms of textual history, of books I to V of the Expositio in Apocalypsin by Ambrosius Autpertus († 784), presbyter and abbot, originally from southern Gaul, but active in the southern Italian monastery of San Vincenzo al Volturno. The copy, transcribed from a lost 9th century Reichenau manuscript, was made at the monastery of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 245
Parchment · 518 pp. · 27.5 x 20.5 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 11th century
Ambrosius Autpertus, Expositio in Apocalypsin (Lib. VI–X)

This is a copy, significant in terms of textual history, of books VI to X of the Expositio in Apocalypsin by Ambrosius Autpertus († 784), presbyter and abbot, originally from southern Gaul, but active in the southern Italian monastery of San Vincenzo al Volturno. The copy, transcribed by a variety of hands from a lost 9th century Reichenau manuscript, was made at the monastery of St. Gall. It contains multiple glosses by the hand of the monk Ekkehard IV. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 272
Parchment · 247 pp. · 11-11.5 x 18.5 cm · Tours (?) · beginning of the 9th century
Composite manuscript with theological works by Alcuin of York; also contains Alcuin’s Carmina 123 (Epitaphium Alcuini) and 112 (Dum sedeas laetus)

This composite manuscript from the 9th century was probably produced in Tours. It contains various theological works by Alcuin of York (around 730-804): De virtutibus et vitiis; De fide sanctae et individuae trinitatis; De trinitate et ad Fredegisum quaestiones XXVIII; De animae ratione ad Eulaliam virginem. Also included in the manuscript are the Epitaphium Alcuini (carm. 123) and Alcuin’s Carmen 112 Dum sedeas laetus (an inscription for an unknown abbey church), which has been preserved only in this manuscript. On p. 245 there is a brief historical note regarding Charlemagne’s Divisio Regnorum from 806. This note is written in the same hand as Alcuin’s Carmen 112 and contains a reference to the date of the writing: Anno dcccvi ab incarnatione domini indictione xiiii anno xxxviii regnante karolo imperatore viii idus februarii die veneris divisum est regnum illius iter filiis suis quantum unusquis post illum habet et ego alia die hoc opus perfeci. On p. 247 there is a pen trial of the antiphon Quid vobis videtur de Christo? Cuius filius est? (Hesbert, Corpus antiphonalium officii, no. 4533), the first four words of which are marked with neumes. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 273
Parchment · 238 pp. · 14-14.5 x 12-12.5 cm · St. Gall (?) · second half of the 9th century
Composite manuscript containing, among other items, works by Columbanus, Symphosius, Claudianus and Alcuin of York

This copy from the second half of the 9th century may have been produced in St. Gall. It contains the following works: Poetae scholastici XII (incomplete); Symphosius, Enigmata; Columbanus Versus ad Hunaldum, ad Sethum, ad Fetolium; Claudianus, Giganthomachia; Alcuin of York, De dialectica; Dialogus de rhetorica et de virtutibus (with diagrams on pp. 224-236). (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 274
Parchment · 66 pp. · 19-19.5 x 25-26 cm · St. Gall (?) · middle of the 9th century
Ps.-Augustinus, Categoriae decem ex Aristotele decerptae

In this manuscript, the pseudo-Augustinian work Categoriae decem ex Aristotele decerptae bears the title Cathegoriae Aristotelis ab Augustino translatae ad filium suum Adeodatum. It is preceded by a fragment from Book 1 of the Periphyseon by Johannes Scottus Eriugena (about categories) and by verses by Alcuin of York to Charlemagne. From its inception, this copy of uncertain origin from the middle of the 9th century was designed to be glossed; the wide central column of text is surrounded by marginal glosses as well as several interlinear glosses. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 275
Parchment · 302 pp. · 23.5 x 32 cm · West Franconian empire (Tours?) · first third of the 9th century
Alcuinus, Expositio in Iohannis evangelium

This copy of a commentary on the Gospel of John by Alcuin of York (about 730-804) was produced in the first third of the 9th century, probably in the West Franconian empire, possibly in Tours. The flyleaf shows traces of a page from Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394). (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 276
Parchment · 280 pp. · 17.2-18.2 x 24-24.5 cm · southern region of Germany (?) · second half and middle of the 9th century
Composite manuscript with theological works by Alcuin of York; also contains excerpts from Augustine’s De perfectione iustitiae hominis

The manuscript consists of two codices bound together (p. 1-149 and 150-279). The first part dates from the second half of the 9th century, the second from the middle of the 9th century. The volume was privately owned by the St. Gall Abbot Grimald (841-872); however, it was probably written not in St. Gall, but at least in part at a scriptorium in the southern region of Germany. It contains various works by Alcuin of York (about 730-804): De fide sanctae et individuae trinitatis; De trinitate et ad Fredegisum quaestiones XXVIII; De animae ratione ad Eulaliam virginem; Dialogus de rhetorica et de virtutibus (with diagrams p. 210-217); De Dialectica (with diagram p. 270). The codex further contains excerpts (chapters 2-11) from De perfectione iustitiae hominis by the Church Father Augustine (in the codex under the titel Adnotatio interrogationum caelesti pelagiani et responsionum sancti augustini). On p. 148 there is a 13th century pen trial of the alleluia Conversus Iesus ad mariam dixit ei fides tua te salvum fecit vade in pace (with neumes); on p. 218 (11th/12th century) the antiphon Conspicit in celis mens prudens Ezechielis (with neumes) as well as the responsorium Martir sancta dei quae flagrans igne fidei (without neumes). On p. 271 there is the figure of a man with sword and shield etched with a stylus; an almost identical figure can be found in Cod. Sang. 175, p. 356 (there as a pen sketch). (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 278
Parchment · 514 pp. · 25.6 x 19 cm · St. Gall · 850/880
Amalarius of Metz, De ecclesiasticis officiis libri IV

This is an unadorned copy, significant in terms of textual history, of the De ecclesiasticis officiis libri IV (also referred to as Liber officialis) by liturgist and Archbishop Amalarius of Metz († around 850); it was written at the monastery ofSt. Gall around 820, probably under Deputy-Abbot and Abbot Hartmut (872-883). Between book 3 and book 4, inserted on pages 349 to 361, the manuscript contains five letters by Amalarius of Metz to various addressees. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 292
Parchment · 210 pp. · 11.6 x 15.2 cm · St. Gall (?) · part 1: 11th century / part 2: 11th or 12th century
Glossaria diversa

The manuscript consists of two codices bound together (part 1: pp. 1-198; part 2: pp. 199-210), written by several hands. At least the first, older part was probably produced in St. Gall. It contains various various glossaries (Latin-Latin as well as Latin-Old High German) of the Bible, of hagiographic texts (Abdias, Historica Apostolica; Sulpicius Severus, Vita S. Martini), grammatical works (Priscian, Institutio de arte grammatica; Donat, Ars grammatica), and writings by Christian authors (Prudentius; Sedulius; Sedulius Scottus, De greca), furthermore glossaries of herbs, a medical paper, and an incomplete astronomical treatise. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 299
Parchment · 336 pp. · 22.6 x 16 cm · St. Gall · second half of the 9th century
Glossaria diversa

Compilation of various types of glossaries: Biblical glossaries, glossaries of texts by Church Fathers (such as the Letter of Jerome to Marcella or Pope Gregory the Great’s homilies on the Gospels). A Latin word from the respective text is followed by a Latin explanation or by a vernacular (Alemannic) translation. The manuscript also contains glossaries of technical terms (such as of the canons, of birds, fish, medicine, kinship terms). These glossaries, which were compiled by several monks from the monastery of St. Gall in the second half of the 9th century, are among the oldest records of the German language. The majority of the parchment pages in the first half of the manuscript are damaged at the top edge. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 343
Parchment · 780 pp. · 28 x 18.7-19.2 cm · St. Gall · 11th century / 14th century
Plenary missal (calendar, sequentiary, gradual, sacramentary, lectionary)

This plenary missal, produced in St. Gall, which contains all chants and prayers of the Mass, consists of the following parts, written partly in the 11th and partly in the 14th century: liturgical calendar; sequences (without melodies); gradual; Masses (with prayers, readings, and chants for the Proper of the Mass); Canon of the Mass; sacramentary; lectionary. On p. 232 (opposite the Te igitur), there is a full-page picture of the crucifixion with two kneeling monks. (sno)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 363
Paper · 335 pp. · 30.5 x 21.5 cm · Dominican Cloister of St. Gall (Elisabeth Muntprat) · 1483
Plenary from the Dominican Cloister of St. Gall

German language lectionary with the Epistles and Gospel readings according to the Church year (Proprium de tempore; Proprium de sanctis and Commune sanctorum) from the Dominican Cloister of St. Katharina in St. Gall, copied in the year 1483 from a model belonging to the Cloister of St. Katherine in Nurnberg by Elisabeth Muntprat, one of the convent’s most diligent scribes. Texts from the manuscript were read aloud during the Dominican nuns’ meals. Several colored woodcuts are pasted into the manuscript, which came to the Abbey Library of St. Gall around 1780. (smu)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Documents: 30, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 30, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Dreissig weitere mittelalterliche Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Juni 2012 - Februar 2013

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Unterstützung durch die Kulturförderung des Kantons St. Gallen / Swisslos ermöglichte die Bereitstellung von 30 weiteren mittelalterlichen Handschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen. Die Digitalisierung konnte zum grössten Teil schon 2010 mit der Unterstützung der Andrew W. Mellon Foundation realisiert werden.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 175
Pergament · 360 pp. · 38 x 28.2 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus, Epistola 174 (ad Aurelium); De trinitate libri XV

In St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert entstandene Abschrift des Werks De trinitate libri XV des Kirchenvaters Augustinus. Sein Brief an Aurelius (Brief 174) ist dem Werk als Vorrede vorangestellt. Die Handschrift befindet sich noch im ursprünglichen Einband und enthält einige Korrekturen des St. Galler Mönchs Ekkehart IV. aus dem 11. Jahrhundert. Auf p. 356 findet sich die Federzeichnung eines Manns mit Schwert und Schild; eine fast identische Figur findet man auch in Cod. Sang. 276, p. 271 (dort mit dem Griffel eingeritzt). (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 180
Pergament · 242 pp. · 16-16.5 x 24-24.5 cm · St. Gallen · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Augustinus, In epistolam Iohannis ad Parthos tractatus X

Auslegung des Johannesbriefs durch den Kirchenvater Augustinus. Die Abschrift wurde in St. Gallen etwa im ersten Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts geschrieben und befindet sich noch im originalen Einband. Sie enthält ausserdem auf p. 1-4 und 239-241 Lesungen für die Liturgie. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 210
Pergament · 254 pp. · 28.7 x 19.2 cm · St. Gallen · um 800
Gregor der Grosse, Moralia in Hiob, Lib. 32–35

Abschrift der Bücher 32 bis 35 der Moralia in Hiob von Papst Gregor dem Grossen, geschrieben in alemannischer Minuskel im Kloster St. Gallen gegen Ende des 8. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 212
Pergament · 330 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · St. Gallen · um 800
Gregor der Grosse, Homiliae in Ezechielem XIII–XXII

Abschrift der Homilien 13 bis 22 von Papst Gregor dem Grossen zum alttestamentlichen Buch Ezechiel, geschrieben gegen Ende des 8. Jahrhunderts in einer „gleichmässigen, breiten, gut proportionierten kalligraphischen älteren St. Galler Minuskel“ (Bruckner) im Kloster St. Gallen. Der Beginn der einzelnen Homilien ist durch kleine kolorierte Initialen geschmückt. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 219
Pergament · 234 pp. · 22 x 15.8 cm · St. Gallen · um 850
Gregor der Grosse, Regula pastoralis

Abschrift der Regula pastoralis von Papst Gregor dem Grossen, von einer geübten Hand sorgfältig geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Die Handschrift enthält eine grosse Zahl von lateinischen und althochdeutschen Feder- und Griffelglossen. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 220
Pergament · 360 pp. · 14.2-14.3 x 19.8 cm · 10. Jahrhundert
Gregor der Grosse, Regula pastoralis

Abschrift der Regula pastoralis von Papst Gregor dem Grossen, geschrieben von zahlreichen Händen im 10. Jahrhundert in einem nicht bekannten Skriptorium, wohl nicht in St. Gallen. Aus dem Einband dieser Handschrift wurden in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts mehrere Fragmente des 5. Jahrhunderts herausgelöst. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 221
Pergament · 397 pp. · 20.5 x 12.5 cm · Müstair? Burgund? Schweiz? · 750/800
Patristische Sammelhandschrift: u.a. Gregor der Grosse, Homiliae in evangelia

Sammelhandschrift aus der zweiten Hälfte des 8. Jahrhunderts, geschrieben und mit einigen ausserordentlichen Initialen verziert möglicherweise in einem „Schweizer Zentrum unter burgundischem oder irischem Einfluss“ (Bruckner) oder aber „im westlichen Alemannien oder im östlichen Burgund“ (Bischoff), vielleicht auch in Müstair. Die Handschrift enthält grösstenteils – aber nicht vollständig – die Homilien von Papst Gregor dem Grossen († 604) zu den Evangelien (Homiliae in evangelia) und Auszüge aus echten und unechten Werken des Augustinus († 430) sowie des Caesarius von Arles († 542). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 224
Pergament · 222 pp. · 16-16.5 x 23 cm · St. Gallen (?) · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus, Liber differentiarum II; Augustinus, Enchiridion ad Laurentium de fide spe et caritate

Möglicherweise in St. Gallen im 1. Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts entstandene Abschrift mit Werken des Isidor von Sevilla (Buch 2 des Liber differentiarum) und des Kirchenvaters Augustinus (Enchiridion ad Laurentium de fide spe et caritate; Teile einiger Kapitel fehlen). Die Handschrift befindet sich noch im ursprünglichen Einband. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 244
Pergament · 518 pp. · 30.4 x 21.9 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 11. Jahrhunderts
Ambrosius Autpertus, Expositio in Apocalypsin (Lib. I–V)

Sorgfältige, textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift der Bücher I bis V der Expositio in Apocalypsin des aus Südgallien stammenden, aber im süditalienischen Kloster San Vincenzo al Volturno tätigen Presbyters und Abts Ambrosius Autpertus († 784). Die Abschrift, vorgenommen ab einer verlorenenen Reichenauer Handschrift des 9. Jahrhunderts, wurde im Kloster St. Gallen angefertigt. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 245
Pergament · 518 pp. · 27.5 x 20.5 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 11. Jahrhunderts
Ambrosius Autpertus, Expositio in Apocalypsin (Lib. VI–X)

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift der Bücher VI bis X der Expositio in Apocalypsin des aus Südgallien stammenden, aber im süditalienischen Kloster San Vincenzo al Volturno tätigen Presbyters und Abts Ambrosius Autpertus († 784). Die Abschrift, von mehreren Händen vorgenommen ab einer verlorenen Reichenauer Handschrift des 9. Jahrhunderts, wurde im Kloster St. Gallen angefertigt. Es finden sich darin mehrere Glossen von der Hand des Mönchs Ekkehart IV. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 272
Pergament · 247 pp. · 11-11.5 x 18.5 cm · Tours (?) · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Sammelhandschrift mit theologischen Werken Alkuins von York; enthält ausserdem Alkuins Carmina 123 (Epitaphium Alcuini) und 112 (Dum sedeas laetus)

Sammelhandschrift des 9. Jahrhunderts, vermutlich in Tours entstanden. Sie enthält diverse theologische Werke Alkuins von York (um 730-804): De virtutibus et vitiis; De fide sanctae et individuae trinitatis; De trinitate et ad Fredegisum quaestiones XXVIII; De animae ratione ad Eulaliam virginem. Ausserdem finden sich in der Handschrift das Epitaphium Alcuini (carm. 123) und Alkuins einzig hier überliefertes Carmen 112 Dum sedeas laetus (eine Inschrift für eine nicht näher bekannte Abteikirche). Auf p. 245 steht eine kurze historische Notiz zur Divisio Regnorum Karls des Grossen von 806. Diese Notiz ist von derselben Hand wie Alkuins Carmen 112 und enthält einen Hinweis auf das Datum der Niederschrift: Anno dcccvi ab incarnatione domini indictione xiiii anno xxxviii regnante karolo imperatore viii idus februarii die veneris divisum est regnum illius iter filiis suis quantum unusquis post illum habet et ego alia die hoc opus perfeci. Auf p. 247 findet sich als Federprobe die Antiphon Quid vobis videtur de Christo? Cuius filius est? (Hesbert, Corpus antiphonalium officii, Nr. 4533), deren erste vier Wörter neumiert sind. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 273
Pergament · 238 pp. · 14-14.5 x 12-12.5 cm · St. Gallen (?) · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Sammelhandschrift, u. a. mit Werken von Columban d. J., Symphosius, Claudianus und Alkuin von York

Die Abschrift aus der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts könnte in St. Gallen entstanden sein. Sie enthält folgende Werke: Poetae scholastici XII (unvollständig); Symphosius, Enigmata; Columban d. J., Versus ad Hunaldum, ad Sethum, ad Fetolium; Claudianus, Giganthomachia; Alkuin von York, De dialectica; Dialogus de rhetorica et de virtutibus (mit Diagrammen auf p. 224-236). (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 274
Pergament · 66 pp. · 19-19.5 x 25-26 cm · St. Gallen (?) · Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Ps.-Augustinus, Categoriae decem ex Aristotele decerptae

Das ps.-augustinische Werk Categoriae decem ex Aristotele decerptae trägt in der Handschrift den Titel Cathegoriae Aristotelis ab Augustino translatae ad filium suum Adeodatum. Ihm vorangestellt sind ein Fragment aus Buch 1 des Periphyseon des Johannes Scottus Eriugena (über Kategorien) und Verse Alkuins von York an Karl d. Gr. Die Abschrift aus der Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts, deren Provenienz unsicher ist, wurde von Anfang an für eine Glossierung angelegt; eine breite Textspalte wird ringsherum von Marginalglossen gerahmt, dazu kommen einige Interlinearglossen. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 275
Pergament · 302 pp. · 23.5 x 32 cm · westfränkischer Raum (Tours?) · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Alcuinus, Expositio in Iohannis evangelium

Vermutlich im westfränkischen Raum, möglicherweise in Tours im ersten Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts entstandene Abschrift der Auslegung des Johannesevangeliums durch Alkuin von York (um 730-804). Das Vorsatzblatt weist Abklatschspuren einer Seite des Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394) auf. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 276
Pergament · 280 pp. · 17.2-18.2 x 24-24.5 cm · süddeutscher Raum (?) · zweite Hälfte und Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Sammelhandschrift mit theologischen Werken Alkuins von York; enthält ausserdem Auszüge aus Augustinus, De perfectione iustitiae hominis

Die Handschrift besteht aus zwei zusammengebundenen Codices (p. 1-149 und 150-279). Der erste Teil stammt aus der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts, der zweite aus der Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Der Band befand sich im Privatbesitz des St. Galler Abtes Grimald (841-872), ist aber vermutlich nicht in St. Gallen geschrieben worden, sondern zumindest teilweise in einem Skriptorium im süddeutschen Raum. Er enthält diverse Werke Alkuins von York (um 730-804): De fide sanctae et individuae trinitatis; De trinitate et ad Fredegisum quaestiones XXVIII; De animae ratione ad Eulaliam virginem; Dialogus de rhetorica et de virtutibus (mit Diagrammen p. 210-217); De Dialectica (mit Diagramm p. 270). Ferner enthält der Codex Auszüge (Kap. 2-11) aus De perfectione iustitiae hominis des Kirchenvaters Augustinus (im Codex unter dem Titel Adnotatio interrogationum caelesti pelagiani et responsionum sancti augustini). Auf p. 148 findet man als Federprobe des 13. Jahrhunderts das Alleluia Conversus Iesus ad mariam dixit ei fides tua te salvum fecit vade in pace (neumiert), auf p. 218 (11./12. Jh.) die Antiphon Conspicit in celis mens prudens Ezechielis (neumiert) sowie das Responsorium Martir sancta dei quae flagrans igne fidei (ohne Neumen). Auf p. 271 ist die Figur eines Mannes mit Schwert und Schild mit dem Griffel eingeritzt; eine fast identische Figur findet man auch in Cod. Sang. 175, p. 356 (dort als Federzeichnung). (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 278
Pergament · 514 pp. · 25.6 x 19 cm · St. Gallen · 850/880
Amalarius von Metz, De ecclesiasticis officiis libri IV

Schmucklose, aber textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift des um 820 verfassten Werks De ecclesiasticis officiis libri IV (auch als Liber officialis bezeichnet) des Liturgikers und Erzbischofs Amalar(ius) von Metz († um 850), geschrieben wohl unter Abt-Stellvertreter und Abt Hartmut (872-883) im Kloster St. Gallen. Zwischen Buch 3 und Buch 4 enthält die Handschrift, auf den Seiten 349 bis 361 eingefügt, fünf Briefe des Amalar von Metz an verschiedene Adressaten. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 292
Pergament · 210 pp. · 11.6 x 15.2 cm · St. Gallen (?) · Teil 1: 11. Jahrhundert / Teil 2: 11. oder 12. Jahrhundert
Glossaria diversa

Die Handschrift besteht aus zwei zusammengebundenen Codices (Teil 1: p. 1-198; Teil 2: p. 199-210), geschrieben von mehreren Händen. Zumindest der erste, ältere Teil ist vermutlich in St. Gallen entstanden. Enthalten sind diverse Textglossare (sowohl lateinisch-lateinisch als auch lateinisch-althochdeutsch) zur Bibel, zu hagiographischen Texten (Abdias, Historica Apostolica; Sulpicius Severus, Vita S. Martini), grammatischen Werken (Priscian, Institutio de arte grammatica; Donat, Ars grammatica) und Werken christlicher Autoren (Prudentius; Sedulius; Sedulius Scottus, De greca), ferner Kräuterglossare, eine medizinische Schrift und eine unvollständige astronomische Abhandlung. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 299
Pergament · 336 pp. · 22.6 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Glossaria diversa

Zusammenstellung von Glossaren verschiedener Art: Bibelglossare, Glossare zu Texten von Kirchenvätern (etwa zum Brief des Hieronymus an Marcella oder zu den Evangelienhomilien von Papst Gregor dem Grossen). Einem lateinischen Wort aus dem jeweiligen Text folgt eine lateinische Erklärung oder eine volkssprachliche (alemannische) Übersetzung. Daneben enthält die Handschrift auch Sachglossare (etwa zu den Canones, zu Vögeln, Fischen, zur Medizin, zu Verwandtschaftsbezeichnungen). Mehrere Mönche des Klosters St. Gallen stellten diese Glossare, die zu den ältesten Zeugnissen der deutschen Sprache gehören, in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts zusammen. Die Pergamentblätter der vorderen Hälfte der Handschrift sind an den oberen Rändern mehrheitlich beschädigt. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 343
Pergament · 780 pp. · 28 x 18.7-19.2 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert / 14. Jahrhundert
Plenarmissale (Kalendar, Sequentiar, Graduale, Sakramentar, Lektionar)

Das in St. Gallen entstandene Plenarmissale, das alle Gesänge und Gebete der Messe enthält, besteht aus den folgenden, teils im 11., teils im 14. Jahrhundert geschriebenen Teilen: Liturgischer Kalendar; Sequenzen (ohne Melodien); Graduale; Messen (mit Gebeten, Lesungen und Propriumsgesängen); Canon missae; Sakramentar; Lektionar. Auf p. 232 (gegenüber dem Te igitur) findet sich ein ganzseitiges Kreuzigungsbild mit zwei knienden Mönchen. (sno)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 363
Papier · 335 pp. · 30.5 x 21.5 cm · Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Gallen (Elisabeth Muntprat) · 1483
Plenar aus dem Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Gallen

Deutschsprachige Epistel- und Evangelienlesungen gemäss dem Kirchenjahr (Proprium de tempore; Proprium de sanctis und Commune sanctorum) aus dem Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina in St. Gallen, kopiert ab einer Vorlage aus dem Nürnberger Katharinenkloster im Jahr 1483 durch Elisabeth Muntprat, eine der fleissigsten Schreiberinnen dieses Frauenkonvents. Die Texte in der Handschrift wurden bei der Tischlesung der Dominikanerinnen vorgelesen. Die Handschrift, in die einzelne kolorierte Holzschnitte eingeklebt wurden, gelangte um 1780 in die Klosterbibliothek von St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Dokumente: 30, angezeigt: 1 - 20