Documents: 14

Sub-project: St. Gall's Music Manuscripts

October 2006 - May 2007

Status: Completed

Financed by: Ernst Göhner Foundation (http://www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch/)

Description: Among its many treasures, the Abbey Library of St. Gall holds the oldest complete surviving music manuscript (Cod. Sang. 359, dating from 920/30). We were able to digitize this item, together with thirteen additional music manuscripts, including elaborate liturgical manuscripts from the "Silver Age" and prepare them for presentation on the internet during the second project year, 2006, thanks to the generous financial support of the Ernst-Göhner-Stiftung.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 231
Parchment · 378 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · St. Gall · around 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Books I-X

A careful copy of books I to X of the Etymologiae of Isidore of Seville († 636), written shortly before the year 900 in the monastery of St. Gall. This manuscript forms a unity with Cod. Sang. 232. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 338
Parchment · 798 pp. · 24.2 x 16 cm · St. Gall · around 1050-1060
Computus, Breviary, Gradual, Sacramentary

A collection of liturgical materials, containing computational texts and tables, a breviary with incipits of the spoken and chanted texts for the Mass for the principal feast days of Saints, a gradual with neumes and a sacramentary. Illustrated with several miniatures, executed in the monastery of St. Gall around 850. Between two sections, on page 304: Old High German confession and creed ("St. Galler Glauben und Beichte III"). (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 339
Parchment · II + 650 pp. · 34.2 x 17.8 cm · St. Gall · around 1000 / around 980
Calendar, Gradual, Sacramentary

Antiphonary, dating from around the year 1000, with Calendar and Gradual (written and provided with fine neumes probably by the monk Hartker), Ordo Missae and Sacramentary. An invaluable monument of music history. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 359
Parchment · 178 pp. · 28 x 12.5 cm · St. Gall · around 922-925
Cantatorium

The so-called "Cantatorium of St. Gall", the earliest complete extant musical manuscript in the world with neume notation. It contains the solo chants of the Mass and constitutes one of the main sources for the reconstruction of Gregorian chant. Written and provided with fine neumes in the monastery of St. Gall between 922 and 926. Bound in a wooden box with an ivory panel on the front cover, most likely Byzantine c. 500, depicting scenes from the fight of Dionysos against the Indians. The ivory panel was once the possession of Charlemagne. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 361
Parchment · 142 pp. · 29.5-30 x 19.5 cm · first half of the 12th century
Gradual

Gradual from St. Gall, dating from the first half of the 12th century. It contains the solo chants of the Mass, with finely executed neumes and some illuminated initials. Preceded by a Calendar with necrological notes from the monastery of St. Gall dating from between the 13th and 15th century and at the lower margins a catalogue of relics from the 14th century. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 374
Parchment · 845 pp. · 21 x 16 cm · St. Gall · middle of the 11th century
Gradual and lectionary with epistles and Gospels

Deluxe manuscript for the celebration of feast day masses in the monastery of St. Gall, written and illustrated with numerous initials around the middle of the 11th century. Contains a gradual with neumes and a Lectionary with the readings for the liturgical year. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 381
Parchment · 500 pp. · 14.5 x 11.5 cm · St. Gall · around 930
Versicularium, Hymnary, Tropary, Sequentiary

Versiculary, Hymnal, Tropary and Sequentiary from the monastery of St. Gall, written and provided with neumes around 930, possibly by a monk named Salomon. The small-sized, undecorated manuscript contains the St. Gall repertoire of the chants sung in the monastery and works by the monks Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Waltram and Ekkehart I. Counts among the foremost monuments worldwide in the history of early medieval music. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 382
Parchment · 270 pp. · 18-18.5 x 12.5-13 cm · St. Gall · 11th century (until ca. 1400)
Tropary, Versicularium, Sequentiary

An incompletely preserved musical manuscript from the 11th century, written in the monastery of St. Gall, with added supplementary leaves up to around 1400. Contains a Tropary, a Versiculary and a Sequentiary. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 383
Parchment · 176 pp. · 16.5-17 x 11.5 cm · Lausanne, probably in the cathedral of Lausanne · before 1250
Sequentiae. Hymni

Tropary and Sequentiary in point-like square notation with exceptionally fine monophonic and polyphonic music from the great repertoire of the school of Notre-Dame at Paris. Written before 1250 in Western Switzerland, probably at the Cathedral of Lausanne. Probably in St. Gall by 1300. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 388
Parchment · 498 pp. · 25-25.5 x 15.5-16 cm · St. Gall · 12th century, (additions until the late 14th century)
Antiphonary

Antiphonary from St. Gall for the liturgy of the divine office, as sung by St Gall monks, dating from the 12th century, with addenda until the late 14th century. Illustrated with several initials and (at the beginning) with a miniature of the crucified Christ with Mary and John. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 413
Parchment · 702 pp. · 25.8 x 17.5 cm · St. Gall · second quarter of the 11th century
Breviary (winter part)

Winter part (from the first Sunday in Advent to Holy Saturday) of a Breviary written in the monastery of St. Gall between 1034 and 1047 (with readings and chants for the liturgy of the divine office), with addenda until the 14th century. Prefaced by a Calendar and computational tables. The corresponding summer part of the Breviary can be found in Cod. Sang. 387. One of the oldest extant Breviaries from St. Gallen. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 414
Parchment · 666 pp. · 27.0 x 20.0 cm · St. Gall · around 1030 (additions until the 14th century)
Breviary (winter part)

Winter part (from the first Sunday in Advent to Holy Saturday) of a Breviary for the divine office, written around 1030 with addenda until the 14th century. Contains, in addition to a large Lectionary and Antiphonary, a Calendar and computational tables. One of the oldest extant Breviaries from St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484
Parchment · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 10th century
Tropary

Important musical manuscript in very small format containing the repertory of tropes, Ordinary chants and sequences in use around 930/940 in the monastery of St. Gall. With discrete texts and compositions by numerous St. St. Gall monks (Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker Physicus, Waltram and others). The manuscript was intended for the cantor who indicated the melody to the other singers. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 546
Paper · II + XXIX + 377 + I ff. · 41 x 27.5-28 cm · St. Gall · before the year 1507, Scarpatetti: 1507-1514
Joachim Cuontz: sequentiary of St. Gall / Troparion with "Hufnagelnotation"

Great collection of St. Gallen tropes and sequences by Father Joachim Cuontz († 1515), compiled for Abbot Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529) shortly before the beatification of the St Gall monk Notker Balbulus († 912) in the year of 1513. Important document of late medieval choral history. Many of the melodies are, for the first time in St. Gall, provided with musical notation on five staves. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Documents: 14

Dokumente: 14

Teilprojekt: Musikhandschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Oktober 2006 - Mai 2007

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Ernst Göhner Stiftung (http://www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen besitzt unter ihren zahlreichen Schätzen auch die älteste vollständig erhaltene Musikhandschrift (Cod. Sang. 359, um 920/30). Diese und dreizehn weitere Musikhandschriften, darunter auch prachtvolle liturgische Handschriften der "Silbernen Zeit", konnten im zweiten Projektjahr 2006 dank einer grosszügigen Unterstützung der Ernst-Göhner-Stiftung digitalisiert und auf dem Internet bereitgestellt werden.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 231
Pergament · 378 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Lib. I-X

Sorgfältige Abschrift der Bücher I bis X der "Etymologien" des Isidor von Sevilla († 636), geschrieben kurz vor 900 im Kloster St. Gallen. Diese Handschrift bildet mit Cod. Sang. 232 eine Einheit. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 338
Pergament · 798 pp. · 24.2 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · um 1050-1060
Computus, Breviarium, Graduale, Sakramentar

Liturgische Sammelhandschrift mit komputistischen Texten und Tabellen, einem Breviarium Missae mit den Anfängen der gesprochenen und gesungenen Messtexte zu den Heiligenfesten des Jahreskreises, einem mit Neumen versehenen Gradualteil sowie einem Sakramentar, illustriert mit einigen Miniaturen, geschaffen im Kloster St. Gallen um 850. Zwischen zwei Teilen auf Seite 304: althochdeutsches Glaubensbekenntnis und Beichte ("St. Galler Glauben und Beichte III") (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 339
Pergament · II + 650 pp. · 34.2 x 17.8 cm · St. Gallen · um 1000 / um 980
Kalendar, Graduale, Sakramentar

Mess-Antiphonar aus der Zeit um das Jahr 1000 mit Kalendar, Graduale (geschrieben und mit feinen Neumen versehen wohl vom Mönch Hartker), Ordo Missae und Sakramentar. Ein unschätzbares Monument der Musikgeschichte. (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 359
Pergament · 178 pp. · 28 x 12.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 922-925
Cantatorium

Das so genannte St. Galler Cantatorium, die älteste vollständig erhaltene Musikhandschrift der Welt mit der mittelalterlichen Notation der Neumen. Enthält die solistisch vorgetragenen Gesänge der Messe und bildet eine der Hauptquellen für die Rekonstruktion des gregorianischen Messgesangs. Geschrieben und mit feinen Neumen versehen im Kloster St. Gallen zwischen 922 und 926. Eingebunden in einen Holzkasten mit (vorne) einer Elfenbein-Tafel, die um 500 wohl in Byzanz geschaffen wurde und Szenen aus dem Kampf des Dionysos gegen die Inder zeigt. Die Elfenbeintafel stammt aus dem Besitz von Kaiser Karl dem Grossen. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 361
Pergament · 142 pp. · 29.5-30 x 19.5 cm · erste Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts
Graduale

St. Galler Graduale aus der ersten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts. Enthält in sorgfältiger Notation und illustriert mit einigen kunstvollen Initialen die solistisch vorgetragenen Gesänge des Gottesdienstes. Vorne ein Kalendar mit nekrologischen Notizen aus dem Kloster St. Gallen zwischen dem 13. und 15. Jahrhundert sowie an den unteren Rändern ein Verzeichnis der stiftsanktgallischen Reliquien des 14. Jahrhunderts (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 374
Pergament · 845 pp. · 21 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · Mitte des 11. Jahrhunderts
Graduale u. Lektionar mit Episteln u. Evangelien

Prachthandschrift für den feierlichen Gottesdienst im Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben und mit zahlreichen Initialen illustriert um die Mitte des 11. Jahrhunderts. Enthält einen mit Neumen versehenen Gradualteil sowie ein Lektionar mit den für den Gottesdienst vorgesehenen Lesungen rund ums Kirchenjahr. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 381
Pergament · 500 pp. · 14.5 x 11.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 930
Versicularium, Hymnar, Tropar, Sequentiar

Versicularium, Hymnar, Tropar und Sequentiar aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben und mit Neumen versehen um 930 möglicherweise von einem Mönch namens Salomon. Die kleinformatige und schmucklose Handschrift enthält das sanktgallische Repertoire der im Galluskloster gesungenen liturgischen Gesänge mit Dichtungen u.a. der St. Galler Mönche Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Waltram oder Ekkehart I. und zählt weltweit zu den bedeutendsten Musikdenkmälern des frühen Mittelalters. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 382
Pergament · 270 pp. · 18-18.5 x 12.5-13 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert (bis ca. 1400)
Tropar, Versicularium, Sequentiar

Unvollständig erhaltene Musikhandschrift aus dem 11. Jahrhundert, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen, mit eingefügten Zusatz- und angehängten Nachtragsblättern bis ungefähr 1400. Enthält ein Tropar, ein Versicularium und ein Sequentiar. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 383
Pergament · 176 pp. · 16.5-17 x 11.5 cm · Lausanne, wahrscheinlich an der Kathedrale von Lausanne · vor 1250
Sequentiae. Hymni

Tropar und Sequentiar in punktähnlicher Quadratnotation mit kunstvoller ein- und mehrstimmiger Musik aus dem grossen Repertoire der Pariser Notre-Dame-Schule. Geschrieben vor 1250 in der Westschweiz, wahrscheinlich an der Kathedrale von Lausanne und vermutlich bereits um 1300 nach St. Gallen gebracht. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 388
Pergament · 498 pp. · 25-25.5 x 15.5-16 cm · St. Gallen · 12. Jahrhundert, (Nachträge bis ins späte 14. Jahrhundert)
Antiphonar

St. Galler Antiphonar für das Stundengebet der Mönche aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, mit Nachträgen bis ins späte 14. Jahrhundert. Illustriert mit mehreren Initialen und (zu Beginn) einer Miniatur des gekreuzigten Christus mit Maria und Johannes. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 413
Pergament · 702 pp. · 25.8 x 17.5 cm · St. Gallen · zweites Viertel des 11. Jahrhunderts
Breviar (Winterteil)

Winterteil (1. Adventssonntag bis Karsamstag) eines im Kloster St. Gallen zwischen 1034 und 1047 geschriebenen Breviariums (mit Lesungen und Gesängen im Stundengebet der Mönche), mit Nachträgen bis ins 14. Jahrhundert. Einleitend ein Kalendar sowie komputistische Tabellen. Der dazugehörige Sommerteil dieses Breviariums findet sich in Cod. Sang. 387. Gehört zu den ältesten aus St. Gallen überlieferten Breviarien. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 414
Pergament · 666 pp. · 27.0 x 20.0 cm · St. Gallen · um 1030, (Nachträge bis ins 14. Jahrhundert)
Breviar (Winterteil)

Winterteil (1. Adventssonntag bis Karsamstag) eines Breviariums für das Stundengebet der St. Galler Mönche, geschrieben um 1030 mit Nachträgen bis ins 14. Jahrhundert. Enthält neben einem grossen Lektionar- und dem Antiphonarteil auch ein Kalendar und komputistische Tabellen. Gehört zu den ältesten aus St. Gallen überlieferten Breviarien. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484
Pergament · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · St. Gallen · erste Hälfte des 10. Jahrhunderts
Tropar

Bedeutende Musikhandschrift im Kleinstformat mit dem um 930/940 im Kloster St. Gallen in Gebrauch stehenden Repertoire an Tropen, Ordinariumsgesängen und Sequenzenmelodien. Mit eigenständigen Texten und Melodien von zahlreichen St. Galler Mönchen (Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker der Arzt, Waltram u.a.); der Codex war für die Hand des Vorsängers bestimmt, der den Sängern durch seine Winke die Melodie andeutete. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 546
Papier · II + XXIX + 377 + I ff. · 41 x 27.5-28 cm · St. Gallen · vor dem Jahr 1507, Scarpatetti: 1507-1514
Joachim Cuontz: St. Galler Sequentiar / Tropar mit Hufnagelnotation

Grosse St. Galler Tropen- und Sequenzensammlung des Pater Joachim Cuontz († 1515), zusammengestellt im Auftrag von Abt Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529) im Vorfeld der Seligsprechung des St. Galler Mönchs Notker Balbulus († 912) im Jahre 1513. Bedeutendes Dokument der spätmittelalterlichen Choralgeschichte. Viele der Melodien sind erstmals für St. Gallen in Musiknotation mit fünf Notenlinien wiedergegeben. (smu)

Online seit: 24.05.2007

Dokumente: 14