Documents: 13

Sub-project: St. Gall's Treasure Trove of Monuments to the Old High German Language

January 2005 – December 2006

Status: Completed

Financed by: "Friends of the Abbey Library"

Description: Germanists like to refer to the Abbey Library of St. Gall as the "Treasure Trove of Memorials to the Old High German Language". In terms of both quality and magnitude, the St. Gall collection is unmatched as a source of significant documentation of the German language. Thanks to the financial support of the "Friends of the Abbey Library", thirteen important Old High German manuscripts were digitized in 2006: Cod. Sang. 21 (Old High German Psalter of Notker the German), 56 (Tatian's Gospel Harmony), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (Old High German translation and commentary on Boethius's 'De consolatione philosophiae' by Notker the German), 872 (Notker's Translation and commentary on 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' by Martianus Capella), 904 (Irish Priscian Manuscript), 911 (Abrogans), 913 (St. Gall Vocabulary), 916 (St. Benedict's Rule), and 966.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 21
Parchment · 578 pp. · 31 x 24 cm · Einsiedeln · 12th century
Translatio barbarica psalterii Notkeri tertii (Old High German Psalter by Notker the German)

Old High German translation and commentary on the Psalms by the monk Notker the German of St. Gall, dating from around the year 1000. This 12th century copy from Einsiedeln is the only extant complete copy. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 56
Parchment · 342 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · Fulda · first half of the 9th century
Tatian's Gospel Harmony

The Latin / Old High German "Tatian" manuscript. The life of Jesus as a continuous text, compiled from the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John with extracts from the Acts of the Apostles. Most comprehensive text of the Old High German time, translated in the monastery of Fulda by order of St. Gall. Foundation of Old High German grammar. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 232
Parchment · 331 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · St. Gall · around 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Books XI-XX

A careful copy of books XI to XX of the Etymologiae of Isidore of Seville († 636) written shortly before the year 900 in the monastery of St. Gall. On a flyleaf from the early 12th century: "St. Galler Glauben und Beichte I" with a short confession, a plea for indulgence, an indulgence formula for the use of a priest and the Creed in Old High German. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 242
Parchment · 272 pp. · 24.5-25 x 18.5-19 cm · St. Gall · 8th-11th centuries
Composite manuscript

School manuscript from the monastery of St. Gall. A collection of works: diverse (often glossed) early medieval educational texts from the 8th to the 11th century (Aldhelm of Malmesbury, Aenigmata, Sedulius, Carmen paschale) and – preserved only here – the Stephanus hymn by Notker Balbulus and a musical treatise in Old High German by Notker the German. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 556
Parchment · 417 pp. · 24.5 x 18 cm · 9th/10th century / 12th/13th century
Lives of saints Emmeram, Eligius, Quintin, Cassian. Life of Notker. St. Gall school work, Latin and Old High-German. Miscellaneous

A collection of vitae of various saints from around 900, among them the vita of St. St. Gall monk Notker Balbulus from the early 13th century, written by an unknown monk. The manuscript also contains the so-called "St. Galler Schularbeit" (earlier known as "Ruodpert's Letter") from the 11th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 643
Paper · 242 pp. · 30 x 22 cm · 16th century / 15th century
Composite manuscript

Manuscript compilation containing a collection of fables (Ulrich Boner's Edelstein), decorated with simple pen drawings, farcical stories – preserved only here – by the so-called "Swiss Anonymous" as well as chronicle notes on the history of Zurich and Glarus. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 825
Parchment · 342 pp. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 11th century
Boethius, De consolatione philosophiae

Notker the German, Old High German translation of and commentary on De consolatione philosophiae of Boethius. Latin text with Old High German translation and commentary on the work "De consolatione philosophiae" (on the consolation of philosophy) of Boethius by the St. St. Gall monk Notker the German († 1022) in the only extant copy from the first half of the 11th century; incomplete copy of Notker's translation and adaptation of the Categoriae (categories) of Anicius Manlius Severinus Boethius (ca. 480-524). (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 872
Parchment · II + 412 pp. · 24 x 17 cm · St. Gall · 11th century / 13th century
De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii / Two commentaries on Gospels

Notker the German, Old High German translation and commentary on De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii of Martianus Capella; two commentaries on the gospels from the 12th and 13th century; a translation from Latin into Old High German plus commentary on the first two books of Martianus Capella's († 439) work The Marriage of Philology and Mercury by the St. Gall monk Notker the German written in the 11th century. The two commentaries on the gospels date from the 12th and 13th centuries. The Martianus Capella part is a palimpsest, for the most part written over an older, barely legible text of the Institutiones Grammaticae of Priscianus of Caesarea. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 904
Parchment · II + 120 ff. · 39 x 28.5 cm · Ireland (Bangor?, Nendrum?) · 851
Prisciani grammatica

The Irish Priscian manuscript of St. Gallen: a copy of the Latin Institutiones Grammaticae by the grammarian Priscian of Caesarea (6th century) with over 9000 glosses, among them 3478 in the Old Irish language. The basis for the reconstruction of the Old Irish language. Contains numerous elaborate pen initials. Written in an Irish scriptorium (Bangor?, Nendrum?) around 845. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 911
Parchment · 323 pp. · 17 x 10.5 cm · around 790
Abrogans - Vocabularius (Keronis) et Alia

The oldest book in the German language, the so-called "Abrogans" manuscript from around 790, containing the earliest German translation of the Lord's Prayer and Credo. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 913
Parchment · 206 pp. · 8.5 x 8.5 cm · Germany · around 790
Vocabularius S. Galli

The Vocabularius sancti Galli – an Old High German glossary written by a missionary 150 years after the death of St Gallus. A manuscript compilation in small format written around 790 in Germany as a kind of diary by a scribe educated in the Anglo-Saxon tradition containing texts treating missionary, theological and educational questions. The glossary, which comes at the end of the manuscript, is arranged thematically rather than alphabetically. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 916
Parchment · 172 pp. · 19.5 x 12.5 cm · beginning of the 9th century
Regula S. Benedicti

The Latin-Old High German Rule of St Benedict, one of the oldest monuments of the Old High German language. (smu)

Online Since: 09/14/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 966
Paper · 235 pp. · 21 x 14.5-15 cm · St. Gall · around 1450
Composite manuscript

A compilation of religious and ascetic content from the 15th century containing dicta, exhortations and sermons from saints and doctors of the church, treatises on the Sacrament, the Lord's Prayer etc. (by Meister Eckhart, David von Augsburg, Berthold von Regensburg and the Engelberg homilist, among others), the so-called St. Gall Christmas Play (St. Galler Weihnachtsspiel, also known as St. Galler Spiel von der Kindheit Jesu) as well as a commentary on the book of Daniel by Nicolaus of Lyra. (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Documents: 13

Dokumente: 13

Teilprojekt: St. Galler Schatzkammer althochdeutscher Sprachdenkmäler

Januar 2005 – Dezember 2006

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Freundeskreises der Stiftsbibliothek

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen wird von Germanisten gerne als "Schatzkammer althochdeutscher Sprachdenkmäler" bezeichnet. Sowohl qualitativ als auch quantitativ ist nirgendwo sonst eine derart grosse Zahl bedeutender Zeugnisse der deutschen Sprache überliefert. Dank der Unterstützung des "Freundeskreises der Stiftsbibliothek" konnten 2006 dreizehn bedeutende althochdeutsche Handschriften digitalisiert werden: Codd. Sang. 21 (Althochdeutscher Psalter Notkers des Deutschen), 56 (Evangelienharmonie des Tatian), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (Althochdeutsche Übersetzung und Kommentierung von 'De consolatione philosophiae' des Boethius durch Notker den Deutschen), 872 (Übersetzung und Kommentierung desselben von 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' des Martianus Capella), 904 (irische Priscian-Handschrift), 911 (Abrogans), 913, 916 (Regula S. Benedicti), 966.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 21
Pergament · 578 pp. · 31 x 24 cm · Einsiedeln · 12. Jahrhundert
Translatio barbarica psalterii Notkeri tertii (Althochdeutscher Psalter Notkers des Deutschen)

Übersetzung und Kommentierung der 150 Psalmen des Alten Testamentes durch den St. Galler Mönch Notker den Deutschen in die althochdeutsche Sprache, vorgenommen um das Jahr 1000. Einsiedler Abschrift des 12. Jahrhunderts. Einziges vorhandenes Exemplar. (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 56
Pergament · 342 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · Fulda · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangelienharmonie des Tatian

Die lateinisch-althochdeutsche "Tatian"-Handschrift. Das Leben Jesu, aus den Evangelien des Matthäus, Markus, Lukas und Johannes sowie der Apostelgeschichte zu einem fortlaufenden Text zusammengestellt. Umfangreichster Text der althochdeutschen Zeit, als Auftragsarbeit St. Gallens im Kloster Fulda übersetzt. Grundlage der althochdeutschen Grammatik. (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 232
Pergament · 331 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Lib. XI-XX

Sorgfältige Abschrift der Bücher XI bis XX der "Etymologien" des Isidor von Sevilla, geschrieben kurz vor 900 im Kloster St. Gallen. Auf einem Vorsatzblatt aus dem frühen 12. Jahrhundert: 'St. Galler Glauben und Beichte I' mit kurzer Beichte, Bitte um Ablass, Ablassformel des Priesters und Glaubensbekenntnis in spätalthochdeutscher Sprache (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 242
Pergament · 272 pp. · 24.5-25 x 18.5-19 cm · St. Gallen · 8.-11. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift

Schulhandschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen mit dem althochdeutschen Musiktraktat von Notker dem Deutschen. Sammelhandschrift mit unterschiedlichen (häufig glossierten) Texten des 8. bis 11. Jahrhunderts aus dem frühmittelalterlichen Schulunterricht (Aldhelm von Malmesbury, Aenigmata; Sedulius, Carmen paschale), aber auch mit dem nur hier überlieferten vierteiligen Stephanus-Hymnus des Notker Balbulus und dem ebenfalls nur hier erhaltenen Musiktraktat Notkers des Deutschen in althochdeutscher Sprache (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 556
Pergament · 417 pp. · 24.5 x 18 cm · 9./10. Jahrhundert / 12./13. Jahrhundert
Leben der hll. Emmeram, Eligius, Quintin, Cassian. Leben Notkers. St. Galler Schularbeit . Varia.

Sammelhandschrift mit den verschiedenen Heiligenviten aus der Zeit um 900, der ältesten Vita des St. Galler Mönchs Notker Balbulus aus dem frühen 13. Jahrhundert, verfasst von einem unbekannten Mönch sowie der so genannten St. Galler Schularbeit (früher Brief Ruodperts genannt) aus dem frühen 11. Jahrhundert (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 643
Papier · 242 pp. · 30 x 22 cm · 16. Jahrhundert / 15. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift

Sammelhandschrift mit einer mit einfachen Federzeichnungen geschmückten Abschrift der Fabelsammlung 'Der Edelstein' des Ulrich Boner, mit den einzig hier überlieferten Schwankerzählungen des so genannten Schweizer Anonymus sowie chronikalischen Notizen zur Geschichte von Zürich und Glarus (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 825
Pergament · 342 pp. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · St. Gallen · erste Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts
Boethius, De consolatione philosophiae

Notker der Deutsche, Althochdeutsche Übersetzung und Kommentierung von 'De consolatione philosophiae' des Boethius. Lateinischer Text mit althochdeutsche Übersetzung und Kommentierung des Werks 'De consolatione philosophiae' (Vom Trost der Philosophie) von Boethius durch den St. Galler Mönch Notker den Deutschen († 1022) in der einzig überlieferten Fassung aus der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts; unvollständige Abschrift von Notkers Übersetzung und Bearbeitung der 'Categoriae' (Kategorien) des Anicius Manlius Severinus Boethius (um 480-524) (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 872
Pergament · II + 412 pp. · 24 x 17 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert / 13. Jahrhundert
De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii / Zwei Evangelienkommentare

Notker der Deutsche, Althochdeutsche Übersetzung und Kommentierung von 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' des Martianus Capella; zwei Evangelienkommentare 12. und 13. Jht. Lateinisch-althochdeutsche Übertragung und Kommentierung der ersten zwei Bücher des Werks 'Die Hochzeit der Philologie mit Merkur' von Martianus Capella († nach 439) durch den St. Galler Mönch Notker den Deutschen, Abschrift des 11. Jahrhunderts; Abschriften des 12. respektive 13. Jahrhunderts von zwei Kommentaren zu den Evangelien; Der Martianus-Capella-Teil ist ein Palimpsest, grösstenteils über älteren, kaum mehr lesbaren Text mit den 'Institutiones Grammaticae' des Priscianus von Caesarea geschrieben. (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 904
Pergament · II + 120 ff. · 39 x 28.5 cm · Irland (Bangor?, Nendrum?) · 851
Prisciani grammatica

Die irische Priscian-Handschrift von St. Gallen: Abschrift der lateinischen "Institutiones Grammaticae" des Grammatikers Priscian von Caesarea (6. Jht.) mit über 9000 Glossen, davon 3478 in altirischer Sprache. Grundlage zur Rekonstruktion der altirischen Sprache, mit zahlreichen kunstvollen Federinitialen, geschrieben in einem irischen Skriptorium (Bangor?, Nendrum?) um 845 (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 911
Pergament · 323 pp. · 17 x 10.5 cm · um 790
Abrogans - Vocabularius (Keronis) et Alia

Das älteste Buch in deutscher Sprache, die "Abrogans"-Handschrift aus der Zeit um 790, mit dem ältesten Vaterunser und Credo in deutscher Sprache. (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 913
Pergament · 206 pp. · 8.5 x 8.5 cm · Deutschland · um 790
Vocabularius S. Galli

Der Vocabularius sancti Galli – Wörterbuch eines Missionars in althochdeutscher Sprache, geschrieben 150 Jahre nach dem Tod des heiligen Gallus. Kleinformatige Sammelhandschrift als eine Art von Diarium eines in angelsächsischer Tradition gebildeten Schreiber, mit Texten zu Missionsfragen, theologischen Lesefrüchten sowie das Schulwissen betreffend, geschrieben um 790 in Deutschland. Am Ende des Bandes ein nach Sachgruppen gegliedertes lateinisch-althochdeutsches Wörterbuch, der in der St. Galler Tradition so genannte Vocabularius sancti Galli (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 916
Pergament · 172 pp. · 19.5 x 12.5 cm · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Regula S. Benedicti

Die lateinisch-althochdeutsche Benediktinerregel, eines der ältesten Denkmäler der althochdeutschen Sprache (smu)

Online seit: 14.09.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 966
Papier · 235 pp. · 21 x 14.5-15 cm · St. Gallen · um 1450
Sammelhandschrift

Geistlich-aszetische Sammelhandschrift aus dem 15. Jahrhundert mit Sprüchen, Ermahnungen und Predigten von Heiligen und Kirchenlehrern, geistlichen Betrachtungen über die Sakramente, das Vaterunser (u.a. von Meister Eckhart, David von Augsburg, Berthold von Regensburg oder des Engelberger Predigers) usw., dem so genannten St. Galler Weihnachtsspiel (auch St. Galler Spiel von der Kindheit Jesu) sowie mit dem Kommentar zum Buch Daniel des Nikolaus von Lyra (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Dokumente: 13