Choose a sub-project

(Click on a table header to sort by sub-project or number of manuscripts).
Sub-project Manuscripts
Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau2
Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae5
Swiss Illustrated Chronicles7
Digitization of the Antiphonaries of the Chapter of St. Nicolas, Fribourg8
St. Gall's Treasure Trove of Monuments to the Old High German Language13
St. Gall's Music Manuscripts14
Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi28
Digitization of medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall30
Call for Collaboration 201335
Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices I35
Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices II38
St. Gall's Cultural Assets from Zurich39
Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries40
Frowin's Library40
Collaborative Projects60
Individual commissions96
Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland100
Mellon 2011-2012100
Pilot Project: Digital Abbey Library of St. Gall117
Center of Competence for Swiss manuscripts and digital manuscript research170
The Virtual Abbey Library of St. Gall212

Sub-project: St. Gall's Cultural Assets from Zurich

January - December 2007
Status: completed
Financed by: Catholic church membership of the Canton of St. Gallen and the St. Gallen Bureau of Culture
Description: In the Toggenburg War of 1712, the last religious war of the old Swiss Confederation, the Prince-Abbot of St. Gall was defeated by the forces of Zurich and Bern. Following their invasion of the Cloister of St. Gall, the victors carried away library materials and other cultural assets, dividing them among themselves. After the peace agreement of 1718, most materials were returned, with the exception of a number of valuable manuscripts which remained in Zurich. After almost 300 years, the ongoing, more or less contentious cultural property dispute between St. Gall and Zurich was finally resolved in the spring of 2006. Among the requirements of the compromise were that Zurich return the manuscripts in question to St. Gallen on long-term loan, and that the Canton of St. Gallen digitize them and make them available on the Internet by the end of 2007. This digitization was funded by the Catholic church membership of the Canton of St. Gallen and the St. Gallen Bureau of Culture.

Number of manuscripts: 39, displayed: 1 – 20

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. A 135 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 75 ff. · 30.5 x 10.5 cm · St. Gall (area near St. Gall) · 15th century

Library catalog of Gallus Kemli; Alphabetarium; Petrus Pictaviensis

Autographic collected manuscripts from the collection of the traveling monk of St. Gall, Gallus Kemli († about 1481) containing numerous texts, some composed by Kemli himself, others transcriptions, among them the index of his private library. Kemli spent 30 years outside of his mother monastery at St. Gall, with the authorization of the abbot, sojourning in cities and towns of Switzerland and Germany. (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. A 152 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 57 ff. · 21.0 x 14.6 cm · St. Gall · about 1460 and 15th century

Christian Kuchimeister: Nüwe Casus monasterii s. Galli (1226-1329)

One of the two oldest (fifteenth-century) extant copies of the "Nüwe Casus Monasterii Sancti Galli", originally written by Christian Kuchimaister in about 1335. Kuchimaister, a citizen of the city of St. Gall, relates here the history of the abbey (and some history of the city) of St. Gall between 1228 and 1329. Kuchimaister's chronicle is one of the most important sources for the history of the Lake Constance area in the 13th and early 14th centuries. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 73 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 218 ff. · 32 x 21 cm · St. Gall · 15th-17th centuries

Record book of entries to the Cloister of St. Gall, 15th - 17th Centuries.

Categorically organized compilation of expenditures of the monastery of St. Gall under Abbot Otmar Kunz (1564-1577) as well as collections of notes about the monastery of St. Gall from the 15th century until 1630. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 96 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 442 ff. · 21 x 17 cm · St. Gall · 16th/17th centuries

Collection of doctrinal theology lessons; diatribe against the Zurich Catechism, from about 1598.

Collection of doctrinal theology lessons from the biography of Saint Gallus, which could be used to rebut protestant arguments. Author: a St. St. Gall monk of the 16th or 17th century. At the back: a diatribe against the Zurich Catechism, from about 1598. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 115 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 312 pp. · 22 x 16 cm · St. Gall · 18th century

Copies of works on Church history: Councils, Benedictine order

The St. St. Gall monk and cloister librarian P. Hermann Schenk (1653-1706) translated three works from French into Latin in or about the year 1700: the "Historia omnium conciliorum generalium" by Jean-Baptiste Truillotte and two texts of the famous French monk and scholar Jean Mabillon (1632-1707): "Syllabus praecipuarum difficultatum quae in lectione conciliorum et sanctorum patrum occurrunt" and "Epitome historiae ordinis Sancti Benedicti". (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 118 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 95 ff. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gall · 17th century

Collection of the names of persons from the region near the baronial Abbey of St. Gallen who converted to Catholicism between 1640 and 1697

Collection of the names of persons from the region near the baronial Abbey of St. Gall who converted to Catholicism between 1640 and 1697 (List of Converts), organized by village (primarily those of the Toggenburg and the Rhein valley. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 124 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 436 pp. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gall · 1655

Chrysostomus Stipplin (?), Introduction to ecclesiastical law

Introduction to ecclesiastical law, (most likely) composed and set into writing in the year 1655 by the St. St. Gall monk Chrysostomus Stipplin (1609-1672). (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 131 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 31 ff. · 19 x 15 cm · Constance/St. Gall · about 1706

Register of expenditures, presumably recorded by a finance officer of St. Gall Abbey, ca. 1706.

Interleaved almanac from Constance, containing a register of expenditures by an official from the Abbey of St. Gall, (possibly Gall Anton of Thurn), with entries for specific expenditures for the organ in the Otmar Church of the monastery of St. Gall, for an altar in Goldach, etc., around 1706. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 134 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Paper · 247 ff. · 15 x 9.5 cm · St. Gall · 1608

Wunderzeichen, so Maria, die Můter Gottes, zu Sannt Gallen im Münster zur Zeith Abbt Ůlrichs deß VIII., Abbt Gottharts unnd Abbt Francißcen etc. gethon, uß dem alten Original unnd etlichen Zädelin, so ouch darinnen gelëgen, zusamen gebracht, anno 1608.

Catalog of the miracles on the altar of Saint "Maria in Gatter" (St. Mary at the Gate) in the St. Gallen cloister church, from between about 1470 and 1520. Transcription by the St. St. Gall monk P. Jodocus Metzler (1574-1639) from the year 1608. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 10i (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 274 ff. · 43.0 x 30.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century

Passionarius maior

The St. Gallen Passionarius Maior, or Great Passion, a collection of 92 legends of the saints assembled by monks of St. Gall from the time around 900, supplemented with annotations and glosses by the St. St. Gall monks Notker Balbulus († 912) and Ekkehart IV. († about 1060). (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 12 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 169 ff. · 31.3 x 23.0 cm · St. Gall · about 820-830

Psalterium Gallicanum with Cantica

The so-called "Zürcher Psalter" (Zurich Psalter) or "St. Galler Psalter" (St. Gallen Psalter), written and decorated in the scriptorum of the monastery of St. Gall, with numerous initial capitals as well as with the oldest extant artistically sophisticated miniature found in the St. Gallen manuscripts, from about 820/830. Includes appended All Saints Litany and computational tables and diagrams. Used daily by the monks in the liturgy of the hours. (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 43 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 316 ff. · 29.8 x 22.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century

Sacramentarium triplex

The St. Gallen "Sacramentarium triplex" (three part sacramentarium: Sacramentarium Gregorianum, Sacramentarium Gelasianum, Sacramentarium Ambrosianum), which contains texts for the main prayers of the eucharistic liturgy, used by priests when saying Mass on various feast days and memorial days, not only for the Roman and the Roman-Gallic liturgies, but for the Milanese liturgy as well. A scholarly masterwork by the St. St. Gall monks from the tenure of Abbot-Bishop Salomon (890-920). (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 60 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 315 ff. · 26.0 x 20.0 cm · St. Gall · about 900-910

Lectionary (Epistles and Gospels)

(Fragmentary manuscript remnant) Elaborate lectionary with the Epistles and Gospel readings for the full church year, written and decorated with prominent initial capitals by contemporaries of Sintram in about 900/910 in the monastery of St. Gall. (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 62 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 236 ff. · 25.6 x 19.7 / 26.2 x 18.0 / 24.0 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall · 10th-12th centuries

Composite manuscript

Manuscript compilation containing, among other items, a copy of the epic "Thebaïs" (the Tales of Thebes) by the Roman poet Publius Papinius Statius († about 95 A.D.), written down and annotated with Scholien (commentaries) in the 11th century in the monastery of St. Gall. The volume also contains copies of two brief grammar texts from the 12th century, together with 10th century copies of computational tables and instructions as well as assorted excerpts from the works of the Venerable Bede († 735), set in writing in the 10th century. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 74a (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 304 ff. · 25.0 x 19.7 cm · St. Gall · 10th-11th centuries

Quintiliani Institutionis oratoriae Libri XII

One of the most important extant copies of the "Institutiones oratoriae" (The Art of Rhetoric) by the Roman rhetorician Quintilian († after 96 A.D.). This work, influential to the present day, depicts in twelve books the education of an orator from his earliest youth through to the completion of training; the goal is the development of an unimpeachably ethical orator who places speaking skills at the service of humanity. This St. Gall copy dates from the early 11th century, with glosses and annotations added by, and – in the case of the last few books – also written by the St. St. Gall monk Ekkehart IV († about 1060). (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 77 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 371 ff. · 25.8 x 18.5 cm · St. Gall · about 900-910

Lectionary (Epistles and Gospels)

Elaborate lectionary from the monastery of St. Gall, written and enhanced with numerous ornate initial capitals by a contemporary of the famous St. Gallen scribe Sintram about 900/910, the same scribe who wrote and illuminated Ms. C 60 held by the Central Library of Zurich. This work, also known as the "Liber Comitis", contains the cycle of liturgical Epistle and Gospel readings for the Church year. (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 78 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 162 ff. · 18.5 x 11.5 / 19.5 x 14.1 / 19.7 x 14.2 / 22.5 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th-15th centuries

Manuscript compilation: Alcuin; theological-canonical treatises; sermons from the 14th and 15th centuries

Manuscript compilation from the monastery of St. Gall containing a number of assorted brief texts from the 9th through 15th centuries. Among other items from the 9th century, this manuscript contains the sole exemplar of a document explaining the reasons for the meeting between King Charlemagne and Pope Leo III, the "Aachener Karlsepos " (Carolingean Epic of Aachen or Paderborn Epic) in 799 as well as another sole exemplar, the so called "Carmina Sangallensia", verses on the wall paintings in the former Gallusmünster (Church of St. Gallus) in the monastery of St. Gall. Further components of this manuscript include theological-canonical treatises as well as sermons from the 14th and 15th centuries. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 80 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · II + 116 ff. · 24.0 x 17.5 cm / 23.3 x 16.5 cm / 24 x 18 cm · St. Gall · 9th-13th centuries

Collection of works: Sicardus of Cremona; Alcuin et al.

Manuscript compilation containing texts from the 9th through 13th centuries from the monastery of St. Gall. Among them are important copies of works from Alcuin of York († 804; including "De dialectica" and "De rhetorica et virtutibus"). Between the two named texts by Alcuin is a full page pen and ink sketch representing the Maiestas Domini, interpreted by art historian Anton von Euw as a reproduction of the now lost cupola mosaic of the Aachen cathedral. The opening text is a copy of 13th century canonical texts by Bishop Sicardus of Cremona (about 1150-1215; "Super decreta"; 13th century). (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 98 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 68 ff. · 18-19.4 x 14.0 cm · St. Gall · 11th century

Notker Labeo: Rhetorica.

Compilation of numerous Latin writings of the St. St. Gall monk Notker the German († 1022), among them the works "Distributio" (concerning the boundary between grammar and logic), "De dialectica" and "De rhetorica". Produced in the monastery of St. Gall in the first half of the 11th century. (smu)

Online since: 04/26/2007

Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 100 (on long-term loan in the Abbey Library of St. Gall Abbey)

Parchment · 89 ff. · 21.2 x 12.2 cm · St. Gall · 14th century

Gualterus de Castellane: Alexandreis

Paleographically significant copy of the "Alexandreis" by Walter of Chatillon, produced in the 14th century in the monastery of St. Gall. This long but much-read work by the French theologian Gautier of Chatillon (1135-1201) depicts the life of Alexander the Great in Latin hexameter. The manuscript later served as the basis of an "Edition" by the St. St. Gall monk Athanasius Gugger (1608-1669), entitled "Gualterus de Castellione Phil. Alexandris sive gesta Alexandri magni libris X comprehens ex veteribus manuscriptis bibliothecarum S. Galli", printed in 1659 by the St. Gallen cloister press. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2007
Home Information News Contact Privacy Policy © 2014 e-codices

Dokumente: 39, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: St. Galler Kulturgüter aus Zürich

Januar - Dezember 2007

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Katholischer Konfessionsteil St. Gallen und Amt für Kultur, St. Gallen

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Im Toggenburgerkrieg von 1712, dem letzten Konfessionskrieg der Alten Eidgenossenschaft, unterlag der Fürstabt von St. Gallen den Orten Zürich und Bern. Die Sieger führten nach ihrem Einmarsch in das Kloster St. Gallen die Bibliothek und weitere Kulturgüter weg und teilten sie untereinander auf. Nach dem Friedensschluss von 1718 wurde ein Teil der Güter wieder zurückgegeben, doch eine Anzahl wertvoller Handschriften verblieb in Zürich. Der deswegen entstandene, einmal stärker, einmal weniger stark schwelende "Kulturgüterstreit" zwischen St. Gallen und Zürich konnte nach fast dreihundert Jahren im Frühling 2006 beigelegt werden. Die Kompromisslösung enthielt unter anderem für den Kanton St. Gallen die Auflage, die als Dauerleihgabe an die Stiftsbibliothek zurückgegeben Handschriften bis Ende 2007 zu digitalisieren und auf dem Internet bereitzustellen.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. A 135 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 75 ff. · 30.5 x 10.5 cm · St. Gallen (Umland) · 15. Jahrhundert
Bibliothekkatalog des Gallus Kemli; Alphabetarium; Petrus Pictaviensis

Eigenhändig geschriebene Sammelhandschrift aus dem Besitz des St. Galler Wandermönchs Gall Kemli († um 1481) mit zahlreichen von ihm selbst verfassten, aber auch mit abgeschriebenen Texten, unter anderem mit dem Verzeichnis seiner privaten Bibliothek. Kemli hielt sich mit Erlaubnis der Äbte über 30 Jahre fernab seines Mutterklosters St. Gallen in Städten und Dörfern der Schweiz und Deutschlands auf. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. A 152 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 57 ff. · 21.0 x 14.6 cm · St. Gallen · ca. 1460 / 15. Jahrhundert
Christian Kuchimeister: Nüwe Casus monasterii s. Galli (1226-1329)

Eine der zwei ältesten erhaltenen Abschriften des 15. Jahrhunderts der "Nüwe Casus Monasterii Sancti Galli", verfasst von Christian Kuchimaister um 1335. Der St. Galler Stadtbürger Kuchimaister erzählt darin die Geschichte des Klosters (und auch etwas der Stadt) St. Gallen zwischen 1228 und 1329; Kuchimaisters Chronik ist eine der wichtigsten Quellen für die Geschichte des Bodenseeraums im 13. und zu Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 73 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 218 ff. · 32 x 21 cm · St. Gallen · 15.-17. Jahrhundert
Eintragebuch betreffend das Kloster St. Gallen, 15.-17. Jahrhundert.

Nach Rubriken geordnete Zusammenstellung von Ausgaben des Klosters St. Gallen unter Abt Otmar Kunz (1564-1577) sowie annalistische Notizen über das Kloster St. Gallen vom 15. Jahrhundert bis 1630. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 96 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 442 ff. · 21 x 17 cm · St. Gallen · 16./17. Jahrhundert
Sammelband zur Kirchengeschichte: Katholische Glaubenslehre, Polemik gegen den Zürcher Katechismus von 1598.

Zusammenstellung von Glaubenslehren aus der Lebensgeschichte des heiligen Gallus, die zur Widerlegung von Argumenten von evangelischer Seite verwendet werden konnten. Verfasser: ein St. Galler Mönch des 16./17. Jahrhunderts. Im hinteren Teil: Streitschrift gegen den Zürcher Katechismus, um 1598. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 115 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 312 pp. · 22 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · 18. Jahrhundert
Kopienband zur Kirchengeschichte: Konzilien; Benediktinerorden.

Der St. Galler Mönch und Klosterbibliothekar P. Hermann Schenk (1653-1706) übersetzt um 1700 drei Werke aus dem Französischen ins Latein: eine "Historia omnium conciliorum generalium" des Jean-Baptiste Truillotte und zwei Texte des berühmten französischen Mönchs und Gelehrten Jean Mabillon (1632-1707): "Syllabus praecipuarum difficultatum quae in lectione conciliorum et sanctorum patrum occurrunt" und "Epitome historiae ordinis Sancti Benedicti". (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 118 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 95 ff. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · 17. Jahrhundert
Verzeichnisse von zum Katholizismus übergetretenen Personen aus äbtischem, toggenburgischem und rheintalischem Gebiet, ca. 1640-97

Nach Ortschaften geordnete Zusammenstellung der Namen von Personen auf dem Gebiet der Fürstabtei St. Gallen (vor allem aus dem Toggenburg und dem Rheintal), die zwischen 1640 und 1697 zum Katholizismus übergetreten sind (Konvertitenliste). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 124 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 436 pp. · 20 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · 1655
Chrysostomus Stipplin (?), Einführung ins Kirchenrecht

Einführung ins Kirchenrecht, (mit grösster Wahrscheinlichkeit) verfasst und geschrieben im Jahre 1655 vom St. Galler Mönch Chrysostomus Stipplin (1609-1672). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 131 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 31 ff. · 19 x 15 cm · Konstanz/St. Gallen · um 1706
Ausgabenverzeichnis, vermutlich von einem stift-st. gallischen Beamten stammend, ca. 1706.

Durchschossenes Exemplar eines Konstanzer Schreibkalenders, enthaltend das Ausgabenverzeichnis eines stiftsanktgallischen Beamten (möglicherweise Gall Anton von Thurn), mit der Nennung von spezifischen Ausgaben für die Orgel in der Otmarskirche des Klosters St. Gallen, für einen Altar in Goldach etc., um 1706. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. B 134 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Papier · 247 ff. · 15 x 9.5 cm · St. Gallen · 1608
Wunderzeichen, so Maria, die Můter Gottes, zu Sannt Gallen im Münster zur Zeith Abbt Ůlrichs deß VIII., Abbt Gottharts unnd Abbt Francißcen etc. gethon, uß dem alten Original unnd etlichen Zädelin, so ouch darinnen gelëgen, zusamen gebracht, anno 1608.

Zusammenstellung von Wundern am Altar der heiligen "Maria im Gatter" in der St. Galler Klosterkirche zwischen ca. 1470 und 1520. Abschrift des St. Galler Mönchs P. Jodocus Metzler (1574-1639) aus dem Jahre 1608. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 10i (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 274 ff. · 43.0 x 30.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Passionarius maior

Der St. Galler Passionarius maior, eine Zusammenstellung von 92 Heiligenlegenden durch St. Galler Mönche aus der Zeit um 900, versehen mit Annotationen und Glossierungen durch die St. Galler Mönche Notker Balbulus († 912) und Ekkehart IV. († um 1060). (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 12 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 169 ff. · 31.3 x 23.0 cm · St. Gallen · um 820-830
Psalterium Gallicanum mit Cantica

Der so genannte "Zürcher Psalter" oder "St. Galler Psalter", geschrieben und mit zahlreichen Initialen sowie der ältesten erhaltenen künstlerisch anspruchsvollen Miniatur in St. Galler Handschriften geschmückt um 820/830 im Skriptorium des Klosters St. Gallen. Mit angefügter Allerheiligenlitanei und komputistischen Tabellen und Diagrammen. Im Stundengebet der Mönche täglich gebraucht. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 43 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 316 ff. · 29.8 x 22.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Sacramentarium triplex

Das St. Galler "Sacramentarium triplex" (dreifaches Sakramentarium: Sacramentarium Gregorianum, Sacramentarium Gelasianum, Sacramentarium Ambrosianum): enthält die Gebetstexte des Priesters bei der Messe an den verschiedenen Fest- und Gedenktagen im Hochgebet der Eucharistie sowohl der römischen, der römisch-gallischen als auch der mailändischen Liturgie: wissenschaftliche Meisterleistung der St. Galler Mönche aus der Abtszeit von Abtbischof Salomon (890-920). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 60 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 315 ff. · 26.0 x 20.0 cm · St. Gallen · um 900-910
Lektionar (Episteln u. Evangelien)

(Unvollständig überliefertes) Prachtslektionar mit den Epistel- und Evangelienlesungen rund ums Kirchenjahr, geschrieben und mit herausragenden Initialen geschmückt von einem Zeitgenossen Sintrams um 900/910 im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 62 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 236 ff. · 25.6 x 19.7 / 26.2 x 18.0 / 24.0 x 19.2 cm · St. Gallen · 10.-12. Jahrhundert
Sammelband

Sammelhandschrift mit u.a. einer Abschrift des Epos "Thebaïs" (Die Geschichten von Theben) des römischen Dichters Publius Papinius Statius († um 95 n.Chr.), geschrieben und mit Scholien (Kommentaren) versehen im 11. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. Weiter enthält der Band zwei kurze Grammatiktexte in Abschriften des 12. Jahrhunderts, komputistische Tafeln und Anleitungen sowie verschiedene Exzerpte aus Werken des Beda Venerabilis († 735), beide im 10. Jahrhundert geschrieben. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 74a (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 304 ff. · 25.0 x 19.7 cm · St. Gallen · 10.-11. Jahrhundert
Quintiliani Institutionis oratoriae Libri XII

Eine der wichtigsten erhaltenen Abschriften der "Institutiones oratoriae" (Anleitung zur Redekunst) des römischen Rhetoriklehrers Quintilian († nach 96 n.Chr.). Das in zwölf Bücher unterteilte, bis heute wirkungsmächtige Werk bietet eine Darstellung der Ausbildung eines Redners von der frühesten Jugend bis zur Vollendung; Ziel ist die Heranbildung eines Redners, der ethisch unanfechtbar, seine Sprache in den Dienst der Humanität stellt. St. Galler Abschrift aus dem frühen 11. Jahrhundert, mit Glossen und Bemerkungen versehen und – was die letzten Bücher betrifft –; auch geschrieben vom St. Galler Mönch Ekkehart IV. († um 1060). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 77 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 371 ff. · 25.8 x 18.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 900-910
Lektionar (Episteln u. Evangelien)

Prachtslektionar aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben und mit einer Vielzahl von hervorragenden Initialen versehen von einem Zeitgenossen des berühmten St. Galler Schreibers Sintram um 900/910, der auch die Handschrift Ms. C 60 der Zentralbibliothek Zürich geschrieben und illuminiert hat. Das auch als "Liber Comitis" bekannte Werk enthält die Epistel- und Evangelienlesungen rund ums Kirchenjahr. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 78 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 162 ff. · 18.5 x 11.5 / 19.5 x 14.1 / 19.7 x 14.2 / 22.5 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9.-15. Jahrhundert
Sammelband: Alkuin; Theologische Abhandlungen; Sermones; Anthologie

Sammelhandschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen mit einer Vielzahl verschiedener, meist kürzerer Texte aus dem 9. bis 15. Jahrhundert. Enthält unter anderem aus dem 9. Jahrhundert auch das einzig in dieser Handschrift überlieferte, zum Anlass des Treffens zwischen König Karl dem Grossen und Papst Leo III. im Jahre 799 gedichtete Aachener Karlsepos (oder Paderborner Epos) sowie – ebenfalls in einziger Überlieferung – auch die so genannten "Carmina Sangallensia", Verse zu den Ausmalungen im ehemaligen Gallusmünster im Kloster St. Gallen. Weiter finden sich in diesem Manuskript theologisch-kanonistische Abhandlungen sowie Sermones (Predigten) aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 80 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · II + 116 ff. · 24.0 x 17.5 cm / 23.3 x 16.5 cm / 24 x 18 cm · St. Gallen · 9.-13. Jahrhundert
Sammelband: Sicardus Cremonensis; Alkuin u. a.

Sammelhandschrift mit Texten des 9. bis 13. Jahrhunderts aus dem Kloster St. Gallen. Darunter befinden sich wichtige Abschriften von Werken des Alkuin von York († 804; darunter "De dialectica" und "De rhetorica et virtutibus"). Zwischen den beiden genannten Alkuin-Texten findet sich eine um 850/875 mit der Feder gezeichnete ganzseitige Darstellung der Maiestas Domini, die der Kunsthistoriker Anton von Euw als Abbildung des verloren gegangenen Kuppelmosaiks des Aachener Doms interpretiert. Vorne: Abschrift des 13. Jahrhunderts eines kanonistischen Texts des Bischofs Sicardus Cremonensis (um 1150-1215; "Super decreta"; 13. Jht.). (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 98 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 68 ff. · 18-19.4 x 14.0 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert
Notker Labeo: Rhetorica.

Sammelhandschrift mit mehreren lateinischen Schriften des St. Galler Mönchs Notker des Deutschen († 1022), darunter die Werke "Distributio" (Fragen um das Grenzgebiet zwischen Grammatik und Logik), "De dialectica" und "De rhetorica". Geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen in der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 26.04.2007

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. C 100 (als Dauerleihgabe in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen)
Pergament · 89 ff. · 21.2 x 12.2 cm · St. Gallen · 14. Jahrhundert
Gualterus de Castellane: Alexandreis

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift der "Alexandreis" des Walther von Châtillon, geschrieben im 14. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. Das grosse und viel gelesene Werk des französischen Theologen Gautier de Châtillon (1135-1201) schildert das Leben Alexander des Grossen in lateinischen Hexametern. Die Handschrift diente später dem St. Galler Mönch Athanasius Gugger (1608–1669) als Grundlage für seine 1659 in der St. Galler Klosterdruckerei erschienene "Edition", betitelt "Gualterus de Castellione Phil. Alexandris sive gesta Alexandri magni libris X comprehens ex veteribus manuscriptis bibliothecarum S. Galli". (smu)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Dokumente: 39, angezeigt: 1 - 20