Documents: 7

Sub-project: Swiss Illustrated Chronicles

June - December 2012

Status: Completed

Financed by: Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation (http://www.binding-stiftung.ch/)

Description: In beautifully illuminated manuscipts, the Swiss Illustrated Chronicles from the 15th and 16th centuries present the history of the Swiss Confederation. According to Carl Pfaff, they are part of “the most precious legacy that medieval Switzerland has bequeathed to us” (Die Welt der Schweizer Bilderchroniken, Schwyz 1991, p. 9). With support from the Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation, e-codices has made available three of these Swiss Illustrated Chronicles: the Chronicle by Werner Schodoler (in three volumes), the Spiezer Chronik (one volume), and the Berner Chronik (the so-called “Amtlicher Schilling” (“Official Schilling”) in three volumes).

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, ZF 18
Paper · 334 ff. · 40 x 29-29.5 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Vol. 3

The Eidgenössische Chronik by Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) is in chronological order the last of the illustrated Swiss Chronicles of the late Middle Ages. It was written by private initiative between 1510 and 1535 and took as its model primarily the Official Bernese Chronicle - Amtliche Berner Chronik - by Diebold Schilling and the Chronicle - Kronica - by Petermann Etterlin. This volume, the third and last of the Chronicle, presents the events of the Burgundian Wars and the Swabian War; it ends with the Italian military campaigns, among others the Battle of Marignano on September 13th and 14th 1515, in which presumably the author himself took part. The volume is illustrated with 196 uncolored pen sketches by an anonymous artist. Today the three volumes are held in different libraries: the first volume is in the Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, the second in the City Archives in Bremgarten, and the third in the Cantonal Library of Aargau. (ber)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.1
Parchment · 235 ff. · 40–40.5 x 28–28.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, vol. 1

The Amtliche Berner Chronik (Official Chronicle of Bern) was commissioned by the city of Bern in 1474. About ten years later, Diebold Schilling was able to present the city council with this three-volume work, with its title pages in color, decorative initials, and more than six hundred large illustrations. The first volume contains the early history of Bern from the founding of the city until the year 1421, based on the older chronicle by Konrad Justinger, following the version by Bendicht Tschachtlan. The work remained in the possession of the Bern Chancellery for nearly three hundred years before the volumes were given to the City Library in 1762. (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.2
Parchment · 186 ff. · 38–39 x 27–27.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, vol 2

The Amtliche Berner Chronik (Official Chronicle of Bern) was commissioned by the city of Bern in 1474. About ten years later, Diebold Schilling was able to present the city council with this three-volume work, with its title pages in color, decorative initials, and more than six hundred large illustrations. The second volume contains accounts of events from the years 1421 through 1466, based for the most part on Benedicht Tschachtlan’s edition of Fründ's work. The work remained in the possession of the Bern Chancellery for nearly three hundred years before the volumes were given to the City Library in 1762. (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.3
Parchment · 472 ff. · 38 x 27.5–28 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, vol. 3

The Amtliche Berner Chronik (Official Chronicle of Bern) was commissioned by the city of Bern in 1474. About ten years later, Diebold Schilling was able to present the city council with this three-volume work, with its title pages in color, decorative initials, and more than six hundred large illustrations. The third, artistically richest volume contains Schilling’s own description of the Burgundian wars, together with that of the preceding period, up to the year 1480. It is closely related to the Grosse Burgunderchronik (Great Burgundian Chronicle) currently held by the Zentralbibliothek Zürich. The work remained in the possession of the Bern Chancellery for nearly three hundred years before the volumes were given to the City Library in 1762. (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.16
Paper · 806 pp. · 37 x 26 cm · Bern · 1484/85
Diebold Schilling, Spiezer Chronik

The Spiezer Chronik by chronicler Diebold Schilling, named after its longtime home city of Spiez, is also known, because it was privately commissioned by Rudolph von Erlach, as the Privater Schilling. It contains the early history of Bern from the founding of the city to events that took place in the mid-15th century. Unlike Schilling’s three-volume official chronicle, the Amtliche Berner Chronik (Bern, Burgerbibliothek Mss.h.h.I.1-3), it remains incomplete (the Burgundian wars are not included). (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten, Bücherarchiv Nr. 2
Paper · 202 ff. · 40.5 x 29 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Vol. 2

The Eidgenössische Chronik by Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) is the last of the illustrated Swiss chronicles of the late Middle Ages. It was written on private initiative between 1510 and 1535 and took as its primary models the Official Bernese Chronicle - Amtliche Berner Chronik - by Diebold Schilling and the Chronicle - Kronica - by Petermann Etterlin. This volume, the second of the three volumes of the chronicle, consists primarily of an account of the Old Zurich War and is illustrated with 130 colored pen sketches. Today the three volumes are held in different libraries: the first volume is in the Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, the second in the City Archive in Bremgarten, and the third in the Cantonal Library of Aargau. (ber)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek, Ms. 62
Paper · 200 ff. · 40 x 24 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Vol. 1

The Eidgenössische Chronik by Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) is in chronological order the last of the illustrated Swiss Chronicles of the late Middle Ages. It was written by private initiative between 1510 and 1535 and took as its model primarily the Official Bernese Chronicle - Amtliche Berner Chronik - by Diebold Schilling and the Chronicle - Kronica - by Petermann Etterlin. This volume, the first of the three volumes of the chronicle, covers the history from the legendary origin of Zurich and Lucerne up to Antipope John XXIII’s flight from Constance (1415). Although space was left for illustrations, they were not realized (except those of 12v). Today the three volumes are held in different libraries: the first volume is in the Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, the second in the City Archives in Bremgarten, and the third in the Cantonal Library of Aargau. (ber)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Documents: 7

Dokumente: 7

Teilprojekt: Schweizer Bilderchroniken

Juni - Dezember 2012

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung (http://www.binding-stiftung.ch/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die reich illustrierten Schweizer Bilderchroniken aus dem 15. und 16. Jahrhundert stellen in prächtigen Bildbänden die Geschichtsschreibung der Eidgenossenschaft dar und gehören laut Carl Pfaff „zum kostbarsten Erbe, das uns die spätmittelalterliche Schweiz hinterlassen hat“ (Die Welt der Schweizer Bilderchroniken, Schwyz 1991, S. 9). Mit der Unterstützung der Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung konnten drei Schweizer Bilderchroniken auf e-codices erschlossen werden: jene von Werner Schodoler (in drei Bänden), die Spiezer Chronik (in einem Band) und die Berner Chronik (der sog. „Amtliche Schilling“ in drei Bänden).

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, ZF 18
Papier · 334 ff. · 40 x 29-29.5 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Bd. 3

Die Eidgenössische Chronik von Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) ist die jüngste der illustrierten Schweizer Chroniken des Spätmittelalters. Ihre Niederschrift wurde aus privater Initiative zwischen 1510 und 1535 unternommen und hat v.a. die Amtliche Berner Chronik von Diebold Schilling und die Kronica von Petermann Etterlin zur Vorlage. Dieser Band, der dritte und letzte Band der Chronik, enthält die Ereignisse der Burgunderkriege und des Schwabenkriegs und endet mit den italienischen Kriegszügen, unter anderem der Schlacht von Marignano vom 13. und 14. September 1515, an welcher der Autor vermutlich selbst teilgenommen hatte. Der Band ist mit 196 unkolorierten Federzeichnungen von einem anonymen Künstler illustriert. Die drei Bände befinden sich heute in unterschiedlichen Bibliotheken: der erste Band in der Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, der zweite im Stadtarchiv Bremgarten und der dritte in der Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek. (ber)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.1
Pergament · 235 ff. · 40–40.5 x 28–28.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, Bd. 1

Die Amtliche Berner Chronik wurde 1474 vom Rat der Stadt Bern in Auftrag gegeben. Rund zehn Jahre später konnte Diebold Schilling das dreibändige, mit kolorierten Titelblättern, Initialen und über 600 grossen Illustrationen geschmückte Werk dem Rat überreichen. Der erste Band enthält die Berner Frühgeschichte von der Stadtgründung bis ins Jahr 1421, nach der älteren Chronik des Konrad Justinger, in der Fassung von Bendicht Tschachtlan. In der Folgezeit wurde das Werk fast drei Jahrhunderte lang in der Berner Kanzlei aufbewahrt, welche die Bände 1762 der Stadtbibliothek schenkte. (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.2
Pergament · 186 ff. · 38–39 x 27–27.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, Bd. 2

Die Amtliche Berner Chronik wurde 1474 vom Rat der Stadt Bern in Auftrag gegeben. Rund zehn Jahre später konnte Diebold Schilling das dreibändige, mit kolorierten Titelblättern, Initialen und über 600 grossen Illustrationen geschmückte Werk dem Rat überreichen. Der zweite Band enthält die Ereignisse der Jahre 1421 bis 1466 und basiert zu wesentlichen Teilen auf der Fründ-Bearbeitung der Chronik von Benedicht Tschachtlan. In der Folgezeit wurde das Werk fast drei Jahrhunderte lang in der Berner Kanzlei aufbewahrt, welche die Bände 1762 der Stadtbibliothek schenkte. (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.3
Pergament · 472 ff. · 38 x 27.5–28 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, Bd. 3

Die Amtliche Berner Chronik wurde 1474 vom Rat der Stadt Bern in Auftrag gegeben. Rund zehn Jahre später konnte Diebold Schilling das dreibändige, mit kolorierten Titelblättern, Initialen und über 600 grossen Illustrationen geschmückte Werk dem Rat überreichen. Der dritte, künstlerisch reichste Band enthält Schillings eigene Beschreibung der Burgunderkriege samt ihrer Vorgeschichte bis ins Jahr 1480. Er steht in engem Zusammenhang zur heute in der Zentralbibliothek Zürich befindlichen Grossen Burgunderchronik (Ms. A 5). In der Folgezeit wurde das Werk fast drei Jahrhunderte lang in der Berner Kanzlei aufbewahrt, welche die Bände 1762 der Stadtbibliothek schenkte. (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.16
Papier · 806 pp. · 37 x 26 cm · Bern · 1484/85
Diebold Schilling, Spiezer Chronik

Die nach dem langjährigen Aufbewahrungsort Spiez benannte Chronik des Chronisten Diebold Schilling ist, als Auftragswerk für Rudolf von Erlach, auch als ‚Privater Schilling’ bekannt. Sie enthält die Berner Frühgeschichte von der Stadtgründung bis hin zu Vorkommnissen Mitte des 15. Jh. und ist, im Gegensatz zu Schillings dreibändiger Amtlicher Chronik (BBB Mss.h.h.I.1-3), unvollendet geblieben (die Burgunderkriege sind nicht enthalten). (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten, Bücherarchiv Nr. 2
Papier · 202 ff. · 40.5 x 29 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Bd. 2

Die Eidgenössische Chronik von Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) ist die jüngste der illustrierten Schweizer Chroniken des Spätmittelalters. Ihre Niederschrift wurde aus privater Initiative zwischen 1510 und 1535 unternommen und hat v.a. die Amtliche Berner Chronik von Diebold Schilling und die Kronica von Petermann Etterlin zur Vorlage. Dieser Band, der zweite der dreiteiligen Chronik, enthält hauptsächlich die Erzählung des Alten Zürichkrieges und wird von 130 kolorierten Federzeichnungen illustriert. Die drei Bände befinden sich heute in unterschiedlichen Bibliotheken: der erste Band in der Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, der zweite im Stadtarchiv Bremgarten und der dritte in der Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek. (ber)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek, Ms. 62
Papier · 200 ff. · 40 x 24 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Bd. 1

Die Eidgenössische Chronik von Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) ist die jüngste der illustrierten Schweizer Chroniken des Spätmittelalters. Ihre Niederschrift wurde aus privater Initiative zwischen 1510 und 1535 unternommen und hat v.a. die Amtliche Berner Chronik von Diebold Schilling und die Kronica von Petermann Etterlin zur Vorlage. Dieser Band, der erste der dreiteiligen Chronik, enthält die Geschichte vom legendären Ursprung von Zürich und Luzern bis zur Flucht des Gegenpapstes Johannes XXIII. aus Konstanz (1415). Obwohl Raum für die Illustrationen ausgespart wurde, wurden sie nicht ausgeführt (ausser jene von 12v). Die drei Bände befinden sich heute in unterschiedlichen Bibliotheken: der erste Band in der Leopold-Sopien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, der zweite im Stadtarchiv Bremgarten und der dritte in der Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek. (ber)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Dokumente: 7