Documents: 27, displayed: 1 - 20

St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung

The Vadian Collection, which is owned by the Ortsbürgergemeinde (citizen’s community) of St. Gall, is a permanent deposit in the cantonal library; it contains, among others, about 100 medieval and 700 early modern manuscripts. The late medieval illuminated manuscripts and the 15th century humanist manuscripts from Italy are of supra-regional significance. The Vadian Collection (VadSlg) also has the most important holdings of alchemic manuscripts (15th and 16th century) in Switzerland. Many of these manuscripts are included, either at the maximal or the normal level, in the virtual union catalog HAN, maintained by the Basel University Library.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 43
Paper · 529 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · 1529/1530 until 1523
Joachim Vadian: Chronikbůch ettlicher äbten zů S. Gallen

In the years 1529-1531 the St. Gall humanist, reformer, and politician Joachim Vadian wrote a history of the abbey and city of St. Gall during the high and late middle ages (1199-1491). It goes by the title Grössere Chronik der Äbte (Great Chronicle of the Abbots). In this work, Vadian describes the way the abbey town changed into a self-reliant, independent city and became wealthy from the cloth weaving industry. The historical work is simultaneously a work of heated reformist protest, exposing and often bitingly commenting upon the increasing corruption of church dignitaries and institutions, particularly the Abbots and Abbey of St. Gall since the investiture conflict. (gam)

Online Since: 12/19/2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 44
Paper · 205 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · around 1545-1547
Joachim Vadian, Die Äbt dess closters zu S. Gallen …

The manuscript today known as the “Kleinere Chronik der Äbte von St. Gallen” (Lesser chronicle of the abbots of St. Gall) is an autograph; it describes the history of the Monastery of St. Gall from its beginnings under Abbot Othmar around the year 720 up to the year 1532, that is, to the period of the Reformation. The emphasis initially is on the history of the monastery; from the 13th century onward, what appears more and more is the history of the city of St. Gall, which was able to establish its independence and the Reformation. (goe)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 45
Paper · 167 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · around 1545-1547
Joachim Vadian, Von dem Turgöuw, dem ersten tayl Helvetiae, in der fünften welttafel begriffen

This manuscript, an autograph, contains a historical-topographical description of “Turgöuw” or Eastern Switzerland (pp. 1-3) as well as of the “Oberbodensee” (pp. 201-227), that is, the villages and areas on the northern (from Bregenz to Überlingen) and southern (from Rheineck to Kreuzlingen) shore [of Lake Constance]; it further contains a historical overview of the development of monasticism and ecclesiastical institutions and of the process of their decay (pp. 3-138), a history of Saint Gall and of the monastery of St. Gall (pp. 138-193), and the history of the Roman emperors from Julius Caesar to Caligula (pp. 229-323). (goe)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 46
Paper · 165 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · 1546
Joachim Vadian, Von dem uralten mönch und pfaffenstand, und ob der von den nächsten zwolfhundert jaren har gebessert oder gebösert habe

This manuscript, an autograph, contains various writings on the monastic way of life and about monasticism in the past and present. It contains, among others, translations of letters by Saint Jerome and of sermons by Bernard of Clairvaux. These are argumentation aids for disputes with proponents of monasteries and convents. (goe)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 69
Paper · 170 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · St. Gall · last quarter of the 15th century, before 1495
Casus Sancti Galli

This late 15th century manuscript contains a chronicled account, written by several authors, of the history of the monastery of St. Gall in the early and high Middle Ages, as well as several theological Quaestiones. The account is preceded by a list of abbots from the founder Otmar up to Berchtold von Falkenstein (1244-1272); a second list of abbots continuing until 1503 is added at the end. (gam)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 70
Paper · 280 ff. · 29 x 20.5 cm · St. Gall · after the middle of the 15th century
Casus Sancti Galli; Vitae sanctorum

This voluminous composite manuscript brings together the Casus Sancti Galli, the history of the monastery of St. Gall from the early and high Middle Ages, and about 50 lives of saints in texts of various lengths, among them those of the St. Gall saints Gallus, Otmar and Wiborada. The manuscript was created in the 1450s, when relations between the monastery and the town of St. Gall were sorted out, and the monastery launched extensive reforms. (gam)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 72
Paper · 615 ff. · 31 x 20.5 cm · 1533 – ca. 1544/45
Johannes Kessler, Sabbata: Chronica inhaltend historien geschichten und händel die sich von erwellung an Caroli V. Röm. Kai. in miner herren statt allhie zů Sant Gallen ... zůgetragen und verloffenn habennd

This chronicle of the Reformation, an autograph illustrated with numerous woodcuts, comprises seven “books”: the first book is about Christ and the Pope, and Kessler describes the old church. In the second book he describes the emergence of Luther and the new faith. Books III through VII give a detailed report about the beginning and the course of the Reformation in St. Gall and in the adjacent area ruled by the Prince-Abbots, in the Swiss Confederation and in the German Empire. Regarding volume and detail, the events in St. Gall and in Eastern Switzerland take up the largest share. Mentioned and praised over and over again are the merits of Vadian, whose work Kessler named “Sabbata” because it was written “an den Sabbaten, das sind an den Fyrtagen und Fyrabendstunden” (on the Sabbath, which are the holidays and the hours at the end of the day, after work). (goe)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 292
Parchment · 180 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · St. Gall (?) / St. Gall · second quarter of the 9th century
Psalter, Hymnary, Prologi Psalterii

The composite manuscript VadSlg Ms. 292 combines three independently produced parts, bound together in about 1460 at the Abbey of St. Gall. The first part is a Psalter from the 9th century; whether it was produced in St. Gall is questionable. The hymnal from the 12th century that comprises the second part contains a dedicatory illustration showing the scribe Eberhard presenting his book to Gallus, while Pope Gregory sits at a podium writing down songs that that a dove representing the Holy Spirit is whispering in his ear. The third part is a fragment containing prologues to the Psalter. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 292a
Parchment · 2 + 3 ff. · 23 x 18.5 cm · Northern Italy · around 410/420
Bible (fragments)

These fragments from late antiquity are among the oldest surviving copies of the Gospels in the "Vulgate" Latin version edited by Jerome († 420). The manuscript was most likely produced in northern Italy before his death. In the early middle ages it came into the possession of the Abbey of St. Gall. These particular leaves were attached to the spine and inner side of the cover for reinforcement, as part of a new binding applied to VadSlg Ms. 292 during the reorganization of the library in about 1460. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 294
Parchment · 324 ff. · 22 x 19-19.5 cm · St. Gall · last quarter of the 9th century
Evangelary

This Evangelary with an unusual, nearly square format and full-page illuminated initials was written and decorated in the late 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. The binding, which was originally covered in bright silk brocade in red, yellow, and green, is equally unusual. Remnants of this material can still be found on the inner edge of the cover. The volume was annotated by Ekkehart IV during the 11th century; there are also some verses in his hand at the end. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 295
Parchment · 192 ff. · 19 x 12.5 cm · St. Gall · 11th century
Antiphonary, Sacramentary

This small-format volume from the 11th century combines a calendar, a gradual with neumes, and sung parts of the Mass with a sacramentary containing the prayers of the Mass. It was likely written in the Abbey of St. Gall; in the late middle ages it was moved to the chapel of Peter and Paul in Rotmonten near St. Gall. Numerous entire leaves and parts of leaves containing decorated initials have been cut out. (gam)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 296
Parchment · 111 ff. · 25 x 18 cm · 12th century
Boethius, De arithmetica, De institutione musica

In the works De arithmetica and De institutione musica Boethius transmitted Greek mathematics and music theory to medieval readers. The polychrome schematic illustrations in this 12th century manuscript are particularly carefully made. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 298
Parchment · 80 ff. · 31 x 22 cm · Florence · 1410 (?)
Eusebius Caesariensis, Prosper de Aquitania, Chronicon

This volume produced in 1420 in Florence is among the earliest manuscripts written in Humanist minuscule, and it is possible that this is a direct copy from the model written by Poggio Bracciolini, the inventor of this script. According to the judgment of Berthold Louis Ullman, it is "perhaps the best example of humanistic writing during the first decade of the fifteenth century - except Poggio's." (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 302
Parchment · 296 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20.5-21 cm · Zurich · around 1300
Rudolf von Ems, History of the World. The Stricker, Charlemagne.

This Rudolf von Ems manucript originated in the same area of Zurich that produced the Manessische Liederhanschrift (Manesse Song Script). It represents one of the most accomplished examples of south German book decoration from the time around 1300, with excellent miniatures illustrating the Chronicle of the World by Rudolf von Ems and the Stricker's epic poem about Charlemagne and his military campaign in Spain. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 307
Parchment · 233 ff. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · Padua · 1442
Titus Livius, Ab urbe condita, libri 21-30

This volume is the second of a three-volume set, an edition of Livius written in 1442 and 1143 in Padua. It is of particular interest because the texual model is well-known: the Livius manuscript of Sicco Polentone (1375/76-1446), Chancellor of Padua, today Holkham Hall Library, MS 349. This manuscript is written in an extremely regular semi-Gothic script augmented with exquisite white vine scroll initials. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 312
Parchment · 158 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Franconia (?) · 10th century
Quintus Horatius Flaccus, Opera

This 10th century manuscript contains the works of Horace. It is arranged in such a way as to leave lots of space for marginal glosses next to the poems. These glosses — usually together with interlinear glosses — have been added in a different ink from the main text and by various hands. The localization of the manuscript is uncertain. The only Old High German gloss might have been written in Franconia. The manuscript’s presence in St. Gall is not attested until the middle of the 17th century. (gam)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 317
Parchment · 108 ff. · 23 x 18 cm · St. Gall? · 9th–10th centuries / around 1460
Basilius Caesariensis, Admonitio ad filium spiritualem; Notker Balbulus, Hymni; Vita Findani; Acta Apostolorum; Visio Pauli; Cassiodorus, De anima; Andreas Bergamensis, Chronicon.

This unimposing composite manuscript contains six works of differing content types and origins, bound together under the auspices of the librarian of St. Gall in about 1460. The individual elements were produced independently of one another during the 9th or 10th century. Some are incomplete, lacking the beginning, the ending, or both. Nevertheless, this composite manuscript received attention from early on, as some of the component parts are important for the texts they transmit. This volume contains the only early medieval transmissions of the Langobard Chronicle by Andreas Bergamensis and the life of the Irish saint Findan. The "Admonitio ad filium" by the Greek church father Basilius and the "Visio Pauli", an early christian vision of the afterlife, are among the oldest of textual artifacts. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 321
Parchment · 227 ff. · 19 x 13 cm · Premonstratensian abbey of Weissenau near Ravensburg · 13th–14th century
Acta Sancti Petri in Augia

This cartulary contains the major legal title of the Premonstratensian abbey of Weissenau near Ravensburg; the popes, emperors, kings, princes, dukes, counts, bishops and vicars mentioned in the cartulary are portrayed in the margins with their attributes of office. Prepended to the cartulary itself is a history of the founding of the monastery: appended are a tribute register and other documents. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 332
Parchment · 453 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · Northern France · third quarter of the 13th century
Biblia Sacra

This richly illustrated pocket bible from the third quarter of the 13th century contains the Old and New Testaments. It combines the new chapter numerations of the 13th century and the older Eusebian numeration of the Gospels; the Psalm section includes Gallican versions set side by side with translations by Jerome. The Psalm section also includes historiated initials accompanied by interesting humorous sayings. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 342
Parchment · 9 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Originated in a German-speaking region, possibly Bohemia · around 1360/1370
Vaticinia de pontificibus (Prophecies about the Papacy)

The illustrations and text enjoy equal importance in this illustrated work of anti-papal propaganda, named after its opening "Ascende calve". The Vadian Collection manuscript is the most important exemplar of this text, which takes the form of proverbs. The most notable and fascinating feature of this manuscript is the way in which the gray-tone illustrations are used. (gam)

Online Since: 05/20/2009

Documents: 27, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 28, angezeigt: 1 - 20

St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung

Die Vadianische Sammlung, die der Ortsbürgergemeinde St. Gallen gehört und als Dauerdepositum in der Kantonsbibliothek aufbewahrt wird, umfasst u.a. rund 100 mittelalterliche und 700 neuzeitliche Handschriften. Die illuminierten Handschriften aus dem Spätmittelalter und die humanistischen Handschriften aus dem 15. Jh. aus Italien sind von überregionaler Bedeutung. Die Vadianische Sammlung (VadSlg) besitzt zudem schweizweit den wichtigsten Bestand an alchemischen Manuskripten (15. und 16. Jh.). Viele dieser Handschriften sind mit Maximal- oder Normalniveau im von der UB Basel betreuten virtuellen Verbundkatalog HAN erfasst.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 43
Papier · 529 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · 1529/1530 bis 1532
Joachim Vadian: Chronikbůch ettlicher äbten zů S. Gallen

In den Jahren 1529-1531 verfasste der St. Galler Humanist, Reformator und Politiker Joachim Vadian eine Geschichte des Klosters und der Stadt St. Gallen im Hoch- und Spätmittelalter (1199-1491). Sie erhielt den Namen Grössere Chronik der Äbte. Vadian zeigt darin den Wandel der Klosterstadt zu einer selbstbewussten, im Leinwandgewerbe zu Reichtum gekommenen Reichsstadt. Das Geschichtswerk ist gleichzeitig eine temperamentvolle reformatorische Streitschrift, welche die fortschreitende Korrumpierung der kirchlichen Würdenträger und Institutionen, insbesondere von Abt und Kloster St. Gallen, seit dem Investiturstreit anprangert und oft bissig kommentiert. (gam)

Online seit: 19.12.2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 44
Papier · 205 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · um 1545-1547
Joachim Vadian, Die Äbt dess closters zu S. Gallen …

Die heute als „Kleinere Chronik der Äbte von St. Gallen“ bekannte Handschrift, ein Autograph, beschreibt die Geschichte des Klosters St. Gallen von seinen Anfängen unter Abt Othmar um das Jahr 720 bis zum Jahr 1532, also bis in die Zeit der Reformation. Schwerpunkt ist zunächst die Geschichte des Klosters, ab dem 13. Jh. tritt vermehrt auch die Stadt St. Gallen in Erscheinung, die die innerstädtische Selbständigkeit und die Reformation duchsetzen kann. (goe)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 45
Papier · 167 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · um 1545-1547
Joachim Vadian, Von dem Turgöuw, dem ersten tayl Helvetiae, in der fünften welttafel begriffen

Die Handschrift, ein Autograph, umfasst die historisch-topographische Beschreibung des „Turgöuw“ bzw. der Ostschweiz (S. 1-3) sowie des „Oberbodensee“ (S. 201-227), das heisst der Ortschaften und Gebiete am nördlichen (Bregenz bis Überlingen) und am südlichen Ufer (Rheineck bis Kreuzlingen), weiter einen hist. Überblick über die Entwicklung des Mönchswesens und der kirchlichen Institutionen und deren Verfallsprozess (S. 3-138), eine Geschichte des hl. Gallus und des Klosters St. Gallen (S. 138-193) und die Geschichte der römischen Kaiser von Julius Cäsar bis Caligula (S. 229-323). (goe)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 46
Papier · 165 ff. · 33 x 22 cm · 1546
Joachim Vadian, Von dem uralten mönch und pfaffenstand, und ob der von den nächsten zwolfhundert jaren har gebessert oder gebösert habe

Die Handschrift, ein Autograph, umfasst verschiedene Schriften zur monastischen Lebensform und über das Mönchtum in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Es finden sich u.a. Übersetzungen von Briefen des hl. Hieronymus und von Predigten Bernhards von Clairvaux. Es handelt sich um Argumentationshilfen für die Auseinandersetzungen mit den Befürwortern von Mönchs- und Nonnenklöstern. (goe)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 69
Papier · 170 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · St. Gallen · letztes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts, vor 1495
Casus Sancti Galli

Die im späten 15. Jahrhundert geschriebene Handschrift enthält die von verschiedenen Autoren stammende chronikalische Erzählung der Geschichte des früh- und hochmittelalterlichen Klosters St. Gallen und einige theologische Quaestionen. Vorangestellt ist die Liste der Äbte vom Gründerabt Otmar bis zu Berchtold von Falkenstein (1244-1272), am Ende ist eine zweite Liste der Äbte nachgetragen; sie führt bis 1503. (gam)

Online seit: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 70
Papier · 280 ff. · 29 x 20.5 cm · St. Gallen · nach Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Casus Sancti Galli; Vitae sanctorum

Der umfangreiche Sammelband vereinigt die Casus Sancti Galli, die St. Galler Klostergeschichten aus dem Früh- und Hochmittelalter, und rund 50 Heiligenleben ganz unterschiedlicher Länge, darunter jene der St. Galler Heiligen Gallus, Otmar und Wiborada. Er entstand in den 1450er Jahren, als sich das Verhältnis von Kloster und Stadt St. Gallen klärte und das Kloster umfassende Reformen in Angriff nahm. (gam)

Online seit: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 72
Papier · 615 ff. · 31 x 20.5 cm · 1533 – ca. 1544/45
Johannes Kessler, Sabbata: Chronica inhaltend historien geschichten und händel die sich von erwellung an Caroli V. Röm. Kai. in miner herren statt allhie zů Sant Gallen ... zůgetragen und verloffenn habennd

Die mit zahlreichen Holzschnitten illustrierte Reformationschronik, ein Autograph, umfasst sieben „Bücher“: Das erste Buch handelt von Christus und dem Papst und Kessler hält fest, wie die alte Kirche gewesen ist. Im zweiten Buch beschreibt er das Auftauchen Luthers und den neuen Glauben. Die Bücher III bis VII berichten detailreich über den Beginn und Verlauf der Reformation in St. Gallen und im angrenzenden fürstäbtischen Gebiet, in der Eidgenossenschaft und im Deutschen Reich. Umfangmässig und betreffend Einzelheiten erhalten die Vorgänge in St. Gallen und der Ostschweiz den grössten Platz. Die Verdienste Vadians werden immer wieder lobend erwähnt. Kessler nannte sein Werk „Sabbata“, weil er es „an den Sabbaten, das sind an den Fyrtagen und Fyrabendstunden“ geschrieben habe. (goe)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 292
Pergament · 180 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · St. Gallen (?) / St. Gallen · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Psalterium, Hymnar (Fragment), Prologi Psalterii

Im Sammelband VadSlg Ms. 292 sind drei unabhängig voneinander entstandene Teile vereint; sie wurden um 1460 im Kloster St. Gallen zusammengebunden. Der erste Teil ist ein Psalter aus dem 9. Jahrhundert; ob er in St. Gallen geschrieben wurde, ist fraglich. Das Hymnar aus dem 12. Jahrhundert im zweiten Teil enthält ein Widmungsbild des Schreibers Eberhard, der sein Buch Gallus überreicht, während Papst Gregor am Pult sitzend die Gesänge notiert, die ihm die Taube des Heiligen Geistes ins Ohr flüstert. Der dritte Teil ist ein Fragment mit einigen Prologen zum Psalter. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 292a
Pergament · 2 + 3 ff. · 23 x 18.5 cm · Oberitalien · um 410/420
Biblia (Fragmente)

Die Fragmente aus der Spätantike gehören zur ältesten erhaltenen Abschrift der Evangelien in der von Hieronymus ( † 420) revidierten lateinischen Fassung, der Vulgata. Die Handschrift wurde wohl noch vor dessen Tod in Oberitalien geschrieben. Im Frühmittelalter kam sie ins Kloster St. Gallen; bei der Reorganisation der Bibliothek um 1460 wurden die Blätter zur Verstärkung des neuen Einbandes von VadSlg Ms. 292 in den Buchrücken und auf die Innenseite der Deckel geklebt. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 294
Pergament · 324 ff. · 22 x 19-19.5 cm · St. Gallen · letztes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangeliar

Das Evangeliar im ungewöhnlichen, fast quadratischen Format wurde im späten 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben und mit Initialzierseiten ausgestattet. Ebenfalls ungewöhnlich ist der Einband, der einst mit leuchtendem Seidenbrokat in Rot, Gelb und Grün überzogen war; Reste davon haben sich auf den Innenseiten der Deckel erhalten. Im 11. Jahrhundert wurde der Band von Ekkehart IV. annotiert; von seiner Hand stammen auch die Verse am Ende. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 295
Pergament · 192 ff. · 19 x 12.5 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert
Antiphonar, Sacramentar

Der kleinformatige Band aus dem 11. Jahrhundert vereinigt ein Kalendar, ein neumiertes Graduale mit den Messegesängen und ein Sakramentar mit den Gebeten der Messe. Er wurde wohl im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben; im Spätmittelalter fand er in der Kapelle Peter und Paul in Rotmonten bei St. Gallen Verwendung. Zahlreiche ganze Blätter und Teile von Blättern mit Initialen sind herausgeschnitten. (gam)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 296
Pergament · 111 ff. · 25 x 18 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Boethius, De arithmetica, De institutione musica

In den Schriften De aritmetica und De institutione musica vermittelte Boethius dem Mittelalter griechische Mathematik und Musiktheorie. In der Handschrift des 12. Jahrhunderts sind die mehrfarbigen Schemazeichnungen mit besonderer Sorgfalt ausgeführt. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 298
Pergament · 80 ff. · 31 x 22 cm · Florenz · 1410 (?)
Eusebius Caesariensis, Prosper de Aquitania, Chronicon

Der im Jahr 1410 in Florenz geschriebene Band gehört zu den ganz frühen Handschriften in humanistischer Minuskel und geht wahrscheinlich direkt auf das Vorbild von Poggio Bracciolini, den Schöpfer dieser Schrift zurück. Es ist nach dem Urteil von Berthold Louis Ullman "perhaps the best example of humanistic writing during the first decade of the fifteenth century – except Poggio's". (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 302
Pergament · 296 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20.5-21 cm · Zürich · um 1300
Rudolf von Ems, Weltchronik · Der Stricker, Karl der Grosse

Die Rudolf von Ems-Handschrift ist im gleichen Zürcher Umfeld entstanden wie die Manessische Liederhandschrift, sie bildet eines der Hauptwerke der süddeutschen Buchmalerei um 1300. Dies gilt für die Miniaturen der Weltchronik des Rudolf von Ems wie für das Versepos des Strickers über Kaiser Karl den Grossen und seinen Kriegszug nach Spanien. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 307
Pergament · 233 ff. · 36.5 x 25.5 cm · Padua · 1442
Titus Livius, Ab urbe condita, libri 21-30

Der zweite Band einer dreibändigen, 1442 und 1443 in Padua geschriebenen Liviusausgabe ist von besonderem Interesse, weil die Vorlage bekannt ist: die Liviushandschrift des Sicco Polentone (1375/76–1446), Kanzler in Padua, heute Holkham Hall Library, MS 349. Die vorliegende Handschrift ist in äusserst gleichmässiger Semigotica geschrieben und mit vorzüglichen Weissrankeinitialen ausgestattet. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 312
Pergament · 158 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Franken (?) · 10 Jahrhundert
Quintus Horatius Flaccus, Opera

Die Handschrift aus dem 10. Jahrhundert enthält die Werke von Horaz. Sie ist so eingerichtet, dass neben den Gedichten viel Raum frei blieb für Randglossen. Diese sind - meistens zusammen mit Interlinearglossen - in anderer Tinte als der Haupttext von verschiedenen Händen eingetragen. Die Lokalisierung der Handschrift ist unsicher. Die einzige althochdeutsche Glosse dürfte im Fränkischen geschrieben worden sein. In St. Gallen ist die Handschrift erst in der Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts nachzuweisen. (gam)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 317
Pergament · 108 ff. · 23 x 18 cm · St. Gallen? · 9.-10. Jahrhundert / um 1460
Basilius Caesariensis, Admonitio ad filium spiritualem; Notker Balbulus, Hymni; Vita Findani; Acta Apostolorum; Visio Pauli; Cassiodorus, De anima; Andreas Bergamensis, Chronicon.

In diesem unscheinbaren Sammelband liess der Bibliothekar des Klosters St. Gallen um 1460 sechs Werke verschiedenen Inhalts und unterschiedlicher Herkunft zusammenbinden. Die einzelnen Stücke entstanden unabhängig voneinander im 9. oder 10. Jahrhundert. Einige sind nicht vollständig, es fehlt der Anfang, der Schluss oder beides. Dennoch hat die Sammelhandschrift früh Beachtung gefunden, weil einige Stücke für die Textüberlieferung wichtig sind. Für die Langobardenchronik des Andreas Bergamensis und die Vita des irischen Heiligen Findan enthält der Sammelband die einzige frühmittelalterliche Überlieferung; die "Admonitio ad filium" des griechischen Kirchenvaters Basilius und die "Visio Pauli", eine frühchristliche Jenseitsvision, gehören zu den ältesten Textzeugen. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 321
Pergament · 227 ff. · 19 x 13 cm · Weissenau OPraem bei Ravensburg · 13.-14. Jahrhundert
Acta Sancti Petri in Augia

Das Chartular enthält die grundlegenden Rechtstitel des Praemonstratenserklosters Weissenau bei Ravensburg; die Päpste, Kaiser, Könige, Herzöge, Grafen, Bischöfe und Pröpste, die Urkunden ausstellten, sind am Rand mit ihren Attributen abgebildet. Dem eigentlichen Chartular vorangestellt ist eine Gründungsgeschichte, an das Chartular schliessen sich ein Zinsrodel und andere Dokumente. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 326
Pergament · IV + 134 + IV ff. · 12.3-12.5 x 9-9.5 cm · Italien · 14. Jahrhundert
Mahzor gemäss dem römischen Ritus

Dieses kleine mahzor gemäss dem römischen Ritus wurde in Italien während dem 14. Jahrhundert kopiert. Der erste Teil enthält abgekürzte Gebete für die Festtage des jüdischen liturgischen Jahres (Pessah, Shavuot, Rosh ha-Shanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, Shemini Atseret), der zweite Teil enthält zahlreiche liturgische Gedichte zu den Gebeten. Die Dimensionen dieses Gebetsrituale scheinen auf einen persönlichen Gebrauch hinzuweisen, möglicherweise auf eine Frau als Besitzerin, da ein Begriff, der sich in der vidui (Beichte) am Ende der Nachmittagsgebete an Yom Kippur findet, mit einem femininen Suffix beendet wird. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 332
Pergament · 453 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · Nordfrankreich · drittes Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts
Biblia Sacra

Die reich illustrierte Taschenbibel aus dem 3. Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts enthält das Alte und das Neue Testament, sie vereinigt die neue Kapitelzählung des 13. Jahrhunderts mit der alten eusebianischen Zählung in den Evangelien; bei den Psalmen stehen die gallikanische Version und die Übersetzung des Hieronymus nebeneinander. Bei den Psalmen beginnen die historisierten Initialen, die von reizvollen Drolerien begleitet sind. (gam)

Online seit: 20.05.2009

Dokumente: 28, angezeigt: 1 - 20