Select manuscript from this collection: RCap 14  S 51 S 94  S 108  6/19
Country of Location:
Country of Location
Switzerland
Location:
Location
Sion/Sitten
Library / Collection:
Library / Collection
Médiathèque Valais
Shelfmark:
Shelfmark
S 56
Manuscript Title:
Manuscript Title
Composite manuscript with Latin texts (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallust, Augustinus Datus)
Caption:
Caption
Paper · IX + 194 + II ff. · 20.5 x 28 cm · Basel · ca. 1472-1474
Language:
Language
Latin
Manuscript Summary:
Manuscript Summary
This volume, S 56, from the library of Walter Supersaxo (ca. 1402-1482), Bishop of Sion, and of his son Georg (ca. 1450-1529) in five parts brings together various Latin texts, classical texts as well as works by Italian humanists; the first two parts are printed (with initials in red and green), the latter three are handwritten. The first part, printed around 1472 by Michael Wenssler and Friedrich Biel in Basel (GW 3676), contains the Epistolae by the humanist and professor of rhetoric Gasparino Barzizza from Bergamo (ca. 1360-1431). This is followed by The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius, also from the workshop of Michael Wenssler in Basel from about 1473-1474 (GW 4514). Next is the first handwritten text (incomplete, with marginal and interlinear glosses), Jesuida seu De passione Christi by the humanist and physician Girolamo della Valle from Padua († ca. 1458 or 1494). This work, written in hexameter and dedicated to Pietro Donato, Bishop of Padua from 1428 until 1447, was most likely copied from the edition of about 1474 that was printed by Michael Wenssler in Basel (GW M49385) and that also served as model for the lay-out. The fourth part contains the Catiline conspiracy by Sallust. At the end of the volume, the fifth part is made up of three works by two authors (with marginal and interlinear glosses; initials in red and green); due to a bookbinder’s error, the order of the quires is mixed up. This fifth part contains the Elegantiolae (the order for reading would be: ff. 1r-10v, 27r-38v, 11r-20r) by the humanist and professor of rhetoric Agostino Dati from Siena (*1420 or 1428, †1478), as well as two treatises by Gasparino Barzizza, which are already included in the printed part, the Praeceptorum summula (ff. 20r-21v) and the Modus orandi (ff. 21v-26v, 39r-43r). The three handwritten parts of the volume were produced by different hands, among them that of the anonymous scribe of Georg Supersaxo. S 56 therefore is comparable to the other manuscripts (S 51, S 101, S 105) that were made for Georg Supersaxo at the time when the young man studied law in Basel (around 1472-1474). Among the annotations on the flyleaves one can recognize a note of ownership by his father Walter Supersaxon, Bishop of Sion (f. N2r). (esc)
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056)
Permanent link:
Permanent link
http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/mvs/S-0056
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/mvs-S-0056/manifest.json
How to quote:
How to quote
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque Valais, S 56: Composite manuscript with Latin texts (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallust, Augustinus Datus) (http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/mvs/S-0056).
Online Since:
Online Since
03/22/2018
Rights:
Rights
Images:
(Concerning all other rights see each manuscript description and our Terms of use)
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any annotations for this manuscript. Be the first to create one!
Add an annotation
Annotation Tool - Log in

J. Christopher WARNER, « Quick Eloquence in the Late Renaissance: Agostino Dati’s Elegantiolae », dans Humanistica Lovaniensia : Journal of Neo-Latin Studies, 61 (2012), p. 65-240

Paul Richard BLUM, « Dati, Agostino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 3, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 574

Ralf Georg CZAPLA, Das Bibelepos in der Frühen Neuzeit. Zur deutschen Geschichte einer europäischen Gattung, Berlin/Boston, 2013 (Studien und Dokumente zur deutschen Literatur und Kultur im europäischen Kontext: Frühe Neuzeit, 165), p. 126 sqq. [Girolamo della Valle]

Ludwig BERTALOT, « Die älteste Briefsammlung des Gasparinus Barzizza », dans Studien zum italienischen und deutschen Humanismus, éd. Paul Oskar KRISTELLER, Rome, 1975, vol. 2 (Storia e letteratura : raccolta di studi et testi, 130), p. 31-102

Fritz SCHALK, « Barzizza, Gasparino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 1, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 1502

Rudolf RIGGENBACH, « Die Bibliothek de Lavallaz in Sitten », dans Le Collectionneur suisse, 5 (1931), p. 33-35, 52-56, 85-88, voir p. 87-88

André DONNET, « Inventaire de la Bibliothèque Supersaxo », dans Vallesia, 29 (1974), p. 31-106, voir p. 36-37, 60-61

Add a bibliographical reference

Reference Images and Binding

Front cover
Front cover
Back cover
Back cover
Spine
Spine
Ruler on page
Ruler on page
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker

Handschrift in dieser Sammlung wählen: RCap 14  S 51 S 94  S 108  6/19
Standortland:
Standortland
Schweiz
Ort:
Ort
Sion/Sitten
Bibliothek / Sammlung:
Bibliothek / Sammlung
Médiathèque Valais
Signatur:
Signatur
S 56
Handschriftentitel:
Handschriftentitel
Sammelband mit lateinischen Texten (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallustius, Augustinus Datus)
Schlagzeile:
Schlagzeile
Papier · IX + 194 + II ff. · 20.5 x 28 cm · Basel · ca. 1472-1474
Sprache:
Sprache
Lateinisch
Kurzcharakterisierung:
Kurzcharakterisierung
Der Band S 56 der Bibliothek des Bischofs von Sitten Walter Supersaxo (ca. 1402-1482) und seines Sohnes Georges (ca. 1450-1529) versammelt in fünf Teilen verschiedene lateinische Texte, sowohl Klassische Texte wie Werke von italienischen Humanisten, wobei die beiden ersten gedruckt sind (mit Initialen in Rot und Grün), die drei folgenden handschriftlich. Der erste Teil, gegen 1472 bei Michael Wenssler und Friedrich Biel in Basel gedruckt (GW 3676), enthält die Epistolae des Humanisten und Rhetorikprofessors Gasparino Barzizza aus Bergamo (ca. 1360-1431). Ihnen folgt der Trost der Philosophie von Boethius, aus der Werkstätte desselben Michael Wenssler in Basel, gegen 1473-1474 (GW 4514). Danach erscheint der erste handschriftliche Text (unvollendet; mit Marginal- und Interlinearglossen), Jesuida seu De passione Christi des Humanisten und Mediziners Girolamo della Valle aus Padua († ca. 1458 oder 1494). Als Grundlage für die Kopie des in Hexametern geschriebenen Werk, das dem Bischof von Padua (1428-1447) Pietro Donato gewidmet ist, diente wahrscheinlich die Edition von ca. 1474 bei Michael Wenssler in Basel (GW M49385). Auch die Seiteneinrichtung richtet sich nach dieser Edition. Der vierte Teil enthält die Verschwörung des Catilina von Sallust. Am Ende des Bandes bilden drei Werke von zwei Autoren (mit marginalen und interlinearen Glossen; Initialen in Rot und Grün), infolge eines Fehlers des Buchbinders in der Reihenfolge der Lagen ineinander vermischt, den fünften Teil: es handelt sich um die Elegantiolae (in der Reihenfolge der Lektüre: ff. 1r-10v, 27r-38v, 11r-20r) des Humanisten und Rhetorikprofessors Agostino Dati von Siena (*1420 oder 1428, †1478), sowie um zwei Abhandlungen von Gasparino Barzizza, die bereits im gedruckten Teil vorhanden sind, die Praeceptorum summula (ff. 20r-21v) und das Modus orandi (ff. 21v-26v, 39r-43r). Die drei handschriftlichen Teile des Bandes wurden von verschiedenen Händen angefertigt, darunter diejenige des anonymen Schreibers von Georges Supersaxo. S 56 ist daher mit den anderen Handschriften vergleichbar (S 51, S 101, S 105), die für Georges Supersaxo zu der Zeit hergestellt wurden, als der junge Mann in Basel Jura studierte (um 1472-1474). Unter den Annotationen auf den Vorsatzblättern ist der Besitzervermerk seines Vaters, Bischof Walter Supersaxo, zu erkennen (f. N2r). (esc)
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056)
Permalink:
Permalink
http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/mvs/S-0056
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/mvs-S-0056/manifest.json
Wie zitieren:
Wie zitieren
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque Valais, S 56: Sammelband mit lateinischen Texten (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallustius, Augustinus Datus) (http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/mvs/S-0056).
Online seit:
Online seit
22.03.2018
Rechte:
Rechte
Bilder:
(Hinsichtlich aller anderen Rechte, siehe die jeweilige Handschriftenbeschreibung und unsere Nutzungsbestimmungen)
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden
Es gibt noch keine Annotationen zu dieser Handschrift. Erstellen Sie die erste!
Eine Annotation hinzufügen
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden

J. Christopher WARNER, « Quick Eloquence in the Late Renaissance: Agostino Dati’s Elegantiolae », dans Humanistica Lovaniensia : Journal of Neo-Latin Studies, 61 (2012), p. 65-240

Paul Richard BLUM, « Dati, Agostino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 3, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 574

Ralf Georg CZAPLA, Das Bibelepos in der Frühen Neuzeit. Zur deutschen Geschichte einer europäischen Gattung, Berlin/Boston, 2013 (Studien und Dokumente zur deutschen Literatur und Kultur im europäischen Kontext: Frühe Neuzeit, 165), p. 126 sqq. [Girolamo della Valle]

Ludwig BERTALOT, « Die älteste Briefsammlung des Gasparinus Barzizza », dans Studien zum italienischen und deutschen Humanismus, éd. Paul Oskar KRISTELLER, Rome, 1975, vol. 2 (Storia e letteratura : raccolta di studi et testi, 130), p. 31-102

Fritz SCHALK, « Barzizza, Gasparino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 1, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 1502

Rudolf RIGGENBACH, « Die Bibliothek de Lavallaz in Sitten », dans Le Collectionneur suisse, 5 (1931), p. 33-35, 52-56, 85-88, voir p. 87-88

André DONNET, « Inventaire de la Bibliothèque Supersaxo », dans Vallesia, 29 (1974), p. 31-106, voir p. 36-37, 60-61

Eine bibliographische Angabe hinzufügen

Referenzbilder und Einband

Vorderseite
Vorderseite
Rückseite
Rückseite
Buchrücken
Buchrücken
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker