Documents: 2653, displayed: 101 - 120

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Paper · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postil on the Gospels of John, Luke and Mark as well as on Tobias and Baruch, written in 1392-1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 3 whole-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 and ‬12-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Paper · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postil on the Acts of the Apostles, on the Apocalypse, and on the canonical letters, written in 1405-1407 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 14 half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 and 13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Paper · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postil on the Pauline epistles, written in 1413-1415 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which the richly illustrated volumes A II 1-6 and 10-12 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 29
Paper · 184 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · second quarter of the 15th century
Stanislaus de Znoyma (?), Simon de Tišnova, Petrus de Pulka: Tractatus varii contra Hussitas

This manuscript brings together anti-Hussite treatises by the theologians Stanislaus de Znoyma (-1414), Simon de Tišnova (1370-1432) and Petrus de Pulka (1370-1425). Although the last title of the first treatise gives 1431 as the date of the copy, the entire manuscript was written during the second quarter of the 15th century. The paper has watermarks. A hand contemporary with that of the main scribe added a table of contents at the beginning and a list of the Hussite theses along with their refutations at the end. This same hand concludes the manuscript with a poem that condemns the pillaging of soldiers. This manuscript was the property of the Dominican Convent of Basel. The old blind-tooled pigskin binding was originally chained and had a clasp. The back board has a parchment fragment; the front board once contained the fragment of a French poem. (mal)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Paper · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242]
Koran

Koran, written in Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242] by Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. In addition to the canonical text, the manuscript also contains the variants of the seven readers of the Koran and their main transmitters. It was brought to Basel from Constantinople in 1437 by the Dominican John of Ragusa , one of the leading theologians for the Council of Basel. Since 1433 the manuscript was the property of the Dominican monastery of Basel as a bequest of John of Ragusa, and in 1559 it became the property of the university library. The Zurich theologist Theodor Bibliander made use of this manuscript in the preparation of his printing of the Latin translation of the Koran by Robert von Ketton (Basel 1543). (wur)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 21
Paper · 181 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · 1503
Ambrosius Alantsee, Glossa psalterii

This commentary on the Psalms is an autograph by Ambrosius Alantsee, who, after having studied and then taught at the University of Basel, entered the Carthusian monastery of Basel in 1480 and, among others, held positions there as scribe, prior and author of primarily liturgical literature. This manuscript was written a few years before his death, which occurred in 1505 while on a visitation journey to Erfurt. (mue)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Paper · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · last quarter of the 15th century
Ludwig Moser: “Goldenes Ave Maria“ (text and adaptation)

These two individual leaves transmit both stanzas of the “Goldenes Ave Maria“: once as a song with glosses “Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), a second time in an adaptation by the Carthusian Ludwig Moser of Basel (A III 52b). Both texts probably were written by him in the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 4
Paper · 176 ff. · 29.5-30 x 20.5-21.5 cm · 1471
Aurelius Augustinus, Confessiones

This manuscript contains mainly Augustine’s Confessiones as well as his treatise De virtutibus et meritis. It was copied in 1471 by Henricus de Bocholdia, who, on the occasion of the Windesheim reform, had made his profession of faith among the canons regular of St. Leonhard in Basel. In a note on folio 162rb, added in 1473 but then crossed out several times and therefore difficult to read, Henricus relates the attempt to reform Interlaken Monastery (1473-1475), where he would have liked to have gone. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 6
Paper · 198 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · Basel · 2nd-3rd quarter of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This manuscript, parts of which are dated, is from St. Leonhard Monastery of the Canons Regular of St. Augustine; it contains mostly patristic and liturgical texts. For a while, this volume, along with the corrections later added to the manuscript, served as a model in the printshop of Michael Furter of Basel, who in 1496 edited the Expositio super cantica canticorum, which has been preserved among the works of Gregory the Great, but today is attributed to Robertus Tumbalena. A specimen copy may have been returned to the monastery along with the manuscript, as there remains one printed copy with a note of ownership indicating such. (flr)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 14
Paper · 187 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · first half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Theology)

This manuscript is part of the holdings of the Carthusian monastery of Basel, to which it came as a gift from a former dean of Rheinfeld, Antonius Rütschmann. It contains mainly Gregory the Great ’s Homiliae in evangelia and the first two books of the Libri miraculorum by Caesarius of Heisterbach, as well as sermons and excerpts by Johannes of Freiburg, Johannes of Mülberg, and Jordan of Quedlinburg. (mue)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Parchment · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · Ashkenaz · 2nd half 14th century and 2nd half 15th century
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

This 14th and 15th century Ashkenazi copy of the Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide to the Perplexed) by Moses Maimonides is the Hebrew translation of the work made in 1204 by Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). This copy also includes a preface from the commentary to the Moreh Nevukhim by Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, a 15th century Spanish rabbi and vigorous defender of Aristotelian and Maimonidean philosophy. In the 16th century, this manuscript was owned by Johann Buxtorf II, and used as the base for the latter’s Latin edition of the Doctor Perplexorum (Basel, 1629). (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 23
Paper · 78 ff. · 30 x 10 cm · Mainz · 1st quarter of the 15th century
Collectanea spiritalia

This manuscript, in a strikingly narrow format, was created in Mainz and, as a gift from the Carthusians living there, it later came to the Carthusian monastery of Basel. It contains a large number of short and very short texts: in addition to some sermons, it mainly contains excerpts from theological, church historical and political treatises, including some in German. (mue)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Paper · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This codex from the holdings of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains as a first part a treatise about the appropriate penance for various transgressions against commandments and sacraments. A second part consists of a collection of Latin hymns with an interlinear translation into German, as well as a loose translation into German as continuous text, in part also combined with a short interpretation. This is followed by texts about the mass and several Opuscula by Gregory of Nazianzus, a letter by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide about the qualities of a good priest, and a brief text by Heinrich Arnoldi about a sermon on Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 41
Parchment and paper · 94 ff. · 28.5 x 19.5 cm · Basel (?) · around 1370
“Alemannische Vitaspatrum”

This manuscript was produced in the Southern Alemannic-speaking region around 1370; it contains the corpus of exempla of the “Alemannischen Vitaspatrum”, one of the most important collections of hagiographic texts in its original form. A treatise compiled of mystic texts is added at the end, into which is inserted the gloss "Von dem überschalle”. The origin of this manuscript is unknown. (stu)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 54e
Paper · 3 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · first half of the 15th century
Fragment with prayers

This fascicle, consisting of only three pages, contains prayers and a text about the seven heavenly joys of Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Paper · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

This undecorated paper volume from the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains theological Disputationes or Quaestiones by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. These discussions, which, according to a note on folio 1r, took place in Paris in the presence and at the instigation of Heynlin, were copied by different hands, including that of Heynlin himself. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 14
Paper · 147 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · Basel · 1466
Theological and legal texts related to the Carthusians

This volume contains a large number of texts about theology and canon law. All of it was written by one scribe, the Carthusian Heinrich von Vullenhoe of Basel. In a long note he provides information about the motives that guided him during the compilation: Since as a Carthusian he could not himself act as a preacher, he only had the possibility to spread the Word of God with his hands, i.e. by writing books. He expresses the hope that this compilation he has organized may strengthen the pious on their path and may offer an occasion for remorse for the sinners. Many of the texts that Vullenhoe has combined in this volume refer directly to the Carthusian Order. One example is the treatise de esu carnium, which defends the Carthusian practice of renouncing meat as a foodstuff. Many texts have also been handed down in other manuscripts from the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (fis)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 19
Paper · 347 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Basel · 1460
Epistolae Pauli

This manuscript, created around 1460 and written by the Basel notary and city clerk Jodocus Seyler (1454-1501), contains the Pauline Epistles in canonical order, as well as the apocryphal Epistle to the Laodiceans. Only the Letter to the Romans is richly glossed; First Corinthians still has several interlinear glosses, then the commentary ends. Of the many initials that probably were originally present, only one figure initial remains. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Paper · 214 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · second half of the 14th century
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Since the 13th century the Quatuor libri sententiarum, a collection of teachings of the church fathers on important theological problems compiled by Peter Lombard in the middle of the 12th century, had the status of a textbook in theological faculties. The texts were an essential part of basic studies and were intensively interpreted in lectures and commentaries. This 14th century manuscript from the chained library of the Dominican Convent of Basel contains commentaries by Henry de Cervo, William of Ockham, Jakobus of Altavilla and others. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Documents: 2653, displayed: 101 - 120

Documents: 2653, affichés: 101 - 120

Toutes les bibliothèque et les collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Papier · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Annotations sur l’Evangile de Jean, Luc et Marc et sur les livres de Tobie et Baruch. Écrit en 1392-1393 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de trois dessins à la plume colorés en pleine page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 et ‬12-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Papier · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Annotations sur les Actes des Apôtres, l’Apocalypse et les lettres canoniques. Écrit en 1405-1407 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 14 dessins à la plume en partie colorés et qui occupent la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 et 13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Papier · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postille sur les Epîtres de Paul, écrit en 1413-1415 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf. Le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie les volumes A II 1-6 et 10-12 richement illustrés, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 29
Papier · 184 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · deuxième quart du XVe siècle
Stanislaus de Znoyma (?), Simon de Tišnova, Petrus de Pulka: Tractatus varii contra Hussitas

Le manuscrit rassemble des traités anti-hussites des théologiens, Stanislaus de Znoyma (-1414), Simon de Tišnova (1370-1432) et Petrus de Pulka (1370-1425). Bien que l’intitulé final du premier traité indique 1431 comme date de copie, l’ensemble du manuscrit fut écrit au cours du deuxième quart du XVe siècle. Le papier est filigrané. Une main contemporaine au copiste principal a ajouté en début de volume une table des matières et, en fin, une liste des thèses hussites accompagnées de leurs réfutations. Ce même scribe clôt le manuscrit avec un poème condamnant les pillages des soldats. Le manuscrit compta parmi les livres du couvent des Dominicains de Bâle. Reliure ancienne en peau de truie ; estampée à froid ; primitivement enchaînée et équipée d’un fermoir. Le contreplat inférieur comporte un fragment de parchemin ; le contreplat supérieur contenait autrefois le fragment d’un poème français. (mal)

En ligne depuis: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Papier · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= mars-avril 1242]
Coran

Coran, écrit le mois de Ramaḍān 639 h. [= mars-avril 1242] par Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. Le manuscrit contient, en plus du texte canonique, également les variantes de sept lecteurs du Coran et leurs traditions principales. Il fut apporté à Bâle depuis Constantinople en 1437 par le dominicain Jean de Raguse, un des théologiens les plus importants présents au Concile de Bâle. Depuis 1433, il est en possession du couvent des dominicains de Bâle, selon les dispositions testamentaires de Jean de Raguse, et devint propriété de la bibliothèque de l’université en 1559. Le manuscrit fut utilisé par le théologien zurichois Theodor Bibliander pour la préparation de son édition critique de la traduction latine du Coran de Robert von Ketton (Bâle 1543). (wur)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 21
Papier · 181 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · 1503
Ambrosius Alantsee, Glossa psalterii

Le commentaire des psaumes est un autographe d’Ambroise Alantsee lequel, après avoir étudié, puis enseigné à l’Université de Bâle, entra en 1480 dans la chartreuse bâloise où il œuvra entre autres comme copiste, prieur et auteur principalement de littérature liturgique. Ce manuscrit a été copié quelques années avant sa mort, en 1505, au cours d’un voyage à Erfurt. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Bâle · milieu du XVème siècle
Nicolas de Lyre, Interprétation du Psautier, 1ère partie (Psaumes 1-74)

Traduction en allemand de la Postilla sur les Psaumes de Nicolas de Lyre (mort en 1349), probablement encore réalisée de son vivant. Le commentaire sur les psaumes, d’abord attribué à Heinrich von Mügeln, est l’oeuvre d’un anonyme qui n’est pas encore attesté historiquement, ledit « Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer ». Celui-ci traduit le texte de base en l’abrégeant et en le munissant d’ajouts. L’exemplaire, provenant de la bibliothèque de la Chartreuse de Bâle, peut être daté du milieu du XVème siècle et ses miniatures appartiennent au groupe de Vullenhoe. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Papier · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Chartreuse de Bâle · dernier quart du XVème siècle
Ludwig Moser, « Goldenes Ave Maria » (texte et adaptation)

Les deux feuillets isolés transmettent les deux strophes du « Goldenes Ave maria » : la première fois sous la forme d’une chanson glosée, « Ave got grüß dich reine magt » (A III 52a), la deuxième fois sous la forme d’une adaptation due au chartreux bâlois Ludwig Moser (A III 52b). Les deux textes ont probablement été transcrits par celui-ci à la chartreuse de Bâle. (stu)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 4
Papier · 176 ff. · 29.5-30 x 20.5-21.5 cm · 1471
Aurelius Augustinus, Confessiones

Le manuscrit contient principalement les Confessions de saint Augustin et son traité De virtutibus et meritis. Il a été copié en 1471 par Henricus de Bocholdia qui, en 1464, à l’occasion de la réforme de Windesheim a fait profession de foi chez les chanoines réguliers de Saint-Léonard à Bâle. Dans une note ajoutée en 1473 au folio 162rb, effacée plusieurs fois et donc difficilement lisible, Henricus relate la tentative de réforme du couvent d’Interlaken (1473-1475) où il aurait volontiers voulu aller.  (flr)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 6
Papier · 198 ff. · 31.5 x 22 cm · Bâle · deuxième-troisième quart du XVe siècle
Manuscrit composite à contenu théologique

Le manuscrit, daté en partie, provient du couvent augustinien de Saint-Léonard et contient principalement des textes patristiques et liturgiques. Le volume fut utilisé pendant un certain temps comme modèle par l’imprimeur bâlois Michael Furter qui publia en 1496 l’Expositio super cantica canticorum, sous le nom de Grégoire le Grand – un texte qui est aujourd’hui attribué à Robertus de Tumbalena – et qui laissa des corrections dans le manuscrit. Un exemplaire de l’édition a peut-être été retourné au couvent avec le manuscrit ; en tout cas il s’y conserve un exemplaire imprimé avec la note de possession correspondante. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 14
Papier · 187 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · première moitié du XVe siècle
Recueil de textes (théologie)

Le manuscrit appartient au fonds de la chartreuse de Bâle, à laquelle il a été donné par un ancien doyen de Rheinfeld, Antonius Rütschmann. Il contient principalement les Homiliae in evangelia de Grégoire le Grand et les deux premiers livres des Libri miraculorum de Césaire d’Heisterbach, en plus de sermons et extraits de Johannes von Freiburg, Johannes Mulberg et Jourdain de Saxe. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Parchemin · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · ashkénaze · 2e moitié du XIVe siècle et 2e moitié du XVe siècle
Moïse Maïmonide, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

Cette copie ashkénaze du XIVe et XVe siècle du Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide des égarés) de Moïse Maïmonide est la traduction en hébreu du texte réalisée en 1204 par Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). Cette copie inclut également une préface du commentaire du Moreh Nevukhim de Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, un rabbin espagnol du XVe siècle et ardent défenseur de la philosophie d’Aristote et de Maïmonide. Au XVIe siècle, ce manuscrit appartenait à Johann Buxtorf II, et a été utilisé par ce dernier comme base pour l’édition latine du Doctor Perplexorum (Bâle, 1629). (iss)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 23
Papier · 78 ff. · 30 x 10 cm · Mayence · premier quart du XVe siècle
Collectanea spiritalia

Le manuscrit, d’un format extrêmement étroit, a été produit à Mayence et est arrivé plus tard, comme don des chartreux qui y résidaient, à la chartreuse de Bâle. Il contient un grand nombre de textes brefs et très brefs : à côté d’une série de sermons, se trouvent surtout des extraits de traités théologiques, d’histoire ecclésiastique et politique, dont certaines en allemand. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Papier · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · deuxième moitié du XVe siècle
Manuscrit composite à contenu théologique

La première partie du manuscrit, provenant de la chartreuse de Bâle, contient un traité sur les punitions adéquates pour divers délits contre les commandements et les sacrements. La deuxième partie est constituée par un recueil d’hymnes en latin qui, en plus d’une traduction allemande interlinéaire, sont aussi accompagnés d’une traduction allemande libre sous la forme d’un texte continu, combiné en partie avec une brève interprétation. Suivent des textes sur la messe et quelques Opuscula de Grégoire de Nazianze, une lettre de Johannes Heynlin de Lapide sur les qualités du bon prêtre et un texte court d’Heinrich Arnoldi sur un sermon sur Marie. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 41
Parchemin et papier · 94 ff. · 28.5 x 19.5 cm · Bâle (?) · vers 1370
« Alemannische Vitaspatrum »

Ce manuscrit a été réalisé vers 1370 dans la région linguistique alémanique méridionale et transmet, dans sa forme originelle, le corpus des exempla de la « Alemannischen Vitaspatrum », l’un des recueils hagiographiques les plus importants. A la fin, un traité mystique a aussi été recopié, dans lequel s’insère entre autres la glose « Von dem überschalle ». L’origine du manuscrit est inconnue. (stu)

En ligne depuis: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 54e
Papier · 3 ff. · 21.5 x 15 cm · première moitié du XVe siècle
Fragment avec des prières

Le fascicule, composé de trois pages seulement, contient des prières et un texte sur les sept joies de la Vierge. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Papier · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · troisième quart du XVe siècle
Johannes Heynlin : Disputationes

Le volume en papier de la bibliothèque de la chartreuse de Bâle, sans décor, contient les Disputationes ou Quaestiones de Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. Ces discussions qui, selon la note au folio 1r, se déroulèrent à Paris en présence et à l’instigation de Heynlin, ont été copiées par différentes mains, y compris celle de Heynlin lui-même. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 14
Papier · 147 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · Bâle · 1466
Textes théologiques et juridiques en rapport avec les chartreux

Le volume contient de nombreux textes théologiques et de droit ecclésiastique. Il est entièrement dû à la plume d’un copiste, le chartreux bâlois Heinrich von Vullenhoe. Dans une longue annotation, celui-ci rapporte ce qui l’a poussé à cette compilation : puisqu’il ne pouvait en qualité de chartreux apparaître comme prédicateur, il ne lui restait plus que la possibilité de diffuser la Parole de Dieu avec ses mains, c’est à dire en écrivant des livres. Il espérait que sa compilation fortifie les dévots sur leur chemin et soit un motif de pénitence pour les pécheurs. Plusieurs textes que Vullenhoe a réunis dans ce volume se rapportent directement à l’ordre chartreux. Par exemple, le traité de esu carnium défend la pratique chartreuse de renoncer à la viande comme nourriture. De nombreux textes sont également transmis dans d’autres manuscrits de la chartreuse de Bâle. (fis)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 19
Papier · 347 ff. · 30 x 21 cm · Bâle · 1460
Epistolae Pauli

Le manuscrit, datant vers 1460, contient les épîtres de Paul, selon l’ordre canonique ainsi que l’épître apocryphe aux Laodicéens. Il fut rédigé par le notaire bâlois et chancelier de la ville Jodocus Seyler (1454-1501). Seule l’épître aux Romains est richement glosée ; dans la première épître aux Corinthiens figurent seulement quelques gloses interlinéaires, puis le commentaire s’interrompt. Des nombreuses initiales certainement présentes à l’origine, il n’en reste qu’une seule figurée. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Papier · 214 ff. · 29 x 21.5 cm · deuxième moitié du XIVe siècle
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Depuis le XIIIème siècle les Quatuor libri sententiarum, une collection de déclarations des Pères de l’Eglise sur les importants problèmes théologiques, rassemblée par Pierre Lombard dans le milieu du XIIème siècle, ont acquis le statut de livre de texte dans les facultés de théologie. Elle constituait une partie fondamentale des études de base et était interprétée de façon intensive dans les leçons et les commentaires. Le manuscrit du XIVème siècle, provenant de la bibliothèque du couvent dominicain de Bâle dont les ouvrages étaient enchaînés, contient les commentaires de Henricus de Cervo, Guillaume d'Ockham, Jacobus de Altavilla et d’autres. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Documents: 2653, affichés: 101 - 120