Choose a virtual library or collection

Location, Library Manuscripts
All libraries and collections1189
Sion/Sitten, Archives du Chapitre/Kapitelsarchiv 5
Fribourg/Freiburg, Archives de l'Etat de Fribourg/Staatsarchiv Freiburg 13
Sion/Sitten, Archives de l'Etat du Valais/Staatsarchiv Wallis 1
Bern, Burgerbibliothek 31
Porrentruy, Bibliothèque cantonale jurassienne 19
Fribourg/Freiburg, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire/Kantons- und Universitätsbibliothek 16
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne 4
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève 48
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek 56
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium 10
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel 7
Trogen, Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden 12
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek 537
Dalpe, Archivio parrocchiale 1
Solothurn, Domschatz der St.-Ursen-Kathedrale 3
Schlatt, Eisenbibliothek 1
Fribourg/Freiburg, Couvent des Cordeliers/Franziskanerkloster 13
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer 118
Flawil, Gemeinde Flawil 2
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina 12
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek 13
Frauenfeld, Kantonsbibliothek Thurgau 16
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque du Valais 2
Orselina, Convento della Madonna del Sasso 4
Luzern, Provinzarchiv Schweizer Kapuziner Luzern 1
Aarau, Staatsarchiv Aargau 6
Beromünster, Stiftskirche St. Michael 4
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek 68
Schaffhausen, Stadtbibliothek 16
Zürich, Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum 5
St. Gallen, Stiftsarchiv (Abtei Pfäfers) 10
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten 1
Sarnen, Staatsarchiv Obwalden 1
Schaffhausen, Staatsarchiv 5
Torre, Archivio parrocchiale 2
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek 15
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum 14
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung 18
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek 10
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek 46
Luzern, Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek 15
Zofingen, Stadtbibliothek 2

Swiss Manuscripts Abroad

Country Location, Library Manuscripts
Germany Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek 2
Austria St. Paul in Kärnten, Stiftsbibliothek St. Paul im Lavanttal 1

Dispersed Manuscript Parts Abroad

Country Location, Library Manuscripts
France Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France 1
United States of America Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art 1
Russia St. Petersburg, National Library of Russia 1
    Number of mss. per page: 20 50 100 all

Number of manuscripts: 1189, displayed: 881 – 900

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 445

Parchment · 40 ff. · 25.8 x 20 cm · St. Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · 1541

The so-called "Läuterbuch" – Instructions for the office of the sacristan in the post-Reformation St. Gallen Monastery

The book was written in 1541 by the St. Gall calligrapher and cathedral organist Fridolin Sicher (1490–1546). Organized according to the ecclesiastical calendar, this volume contains German-language instructions for the preparation of the altars and ceremonies of the St. Gallen Monastery on the individual Sundays and holidays. In addition, it offers an alphabetical listing of all the altars in the post-Reformation monastery district of St. Gall. At that time, the duties of a sacristan were in the hands of a lay brother, who cleaned the church, lit the candles and monitored them while they burned, and rang the church bells (hence the name "Läuterbuch"). (smu)

Online since: 10/07/2013

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 446

Parchment · 344 pp. · 24.5-25 x 18-18.5 cm · St. Gall · between 845 and 870

Manuscript compilation consisting mainly of works of liturgical and pastoral character

Manuscript compilation consisting mainly of works of liturgical and pastoral character, produced between 845 and 870 in the monastery of St. Gall. It contains, among other items, a liturgical study by Abbot Walahfrid Strabo of Reichenau (808/09-849) Liber de exordiis et incrementis quarundam in observationibus ecclesiasticis rerum, the first western European reference work on liturgical history, the so called Ordines Romani, a liturgical study by Amalar of Trier, the first Capitular of Bishop Theodulf of Orléans, two treatises about baptism and the mass attributed to Alcuin as well as the Capitular documents (diocesan legislative documents) of Haito, Bishop of Basel and Abbot of Reichenau. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 448

Parchment · 232 pp. · 31 x 21 cm · St. Gall · around 1432 / after 1446

Liber Ordinarius of Hersfeld / Ordinarium Sangallense

Liber Ordinarius from the second quarter of the 15th century with liturgical instructions for the mass of the monks of St. Gall during the presence of reformist monks from the monastery ofHersfeld between 1430 and 1439. The Liber Ordinarius, dated 1432 (p. 36), seems to have been made for the monastery ofSt. Gall following a model from Hersfeld (in the northeast of Hesse); however, some parts are not yet adapted for the monastery ofSt. Gall. The calendar at the beginning of the manuscript can be unambiguously located in St. Gall. Between the various parts of the manuscript, repeatedly there are empty pages. (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2012

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 450

Parchment · A,B + 46 + Y,Z pp. · 25/25.5 x 14/15.5 cm · second half of the 10th and beginning of the 11th century

Martyrologium

A composite manuscript consisting mainly of calendars and texts with chronological content, produced in the second half of the 10th century and at the beginning of the 11th century, for the most part not at the abbey of St. Gall. The main items are a calendar, possibly of northern Italian origin, and excerpts from the work “De temporum ratione” by the Venerable Bede († 735). (smu)

Online since: 12/21/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 451

Parchment · 54 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · 9th/10th centuries

Martyrology

A martyrology by the Venerable Bede († 735) in Anglo-Saxon script, produced in the 9th century. This partial surviving copy (including the beginning of January through July 25th) is distinguished in this collection as a surviving direct copy from the original text composed by Bede. (Note: a martyrology is a collection of longer or shorter life histories of the saints in calendar date order.) (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 452

Parchment · 268 pp. · 32 x 19/20 cm · Monastery of St. Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · 1542/43

Chapter office book with the Rule of Saint Benedict, a martyrology and a necrology of St. Gall

Meant for daily use in the chapter office, this volume was written in 1542/43 by the secular cleric Fridolin Sicher (1490−1546), born in Bischofszell, for St. Gall Prince-Abbot Diethelm Blarer (1530−1564; cf. his coat of arms on p. 5 and p. 8 as well as p. 268); later the volume came into the possession of the monastic community of St. Gall. Before as well as after the Reformation, Fridolin Sicher was cathedral organist and calligrapher for St. Gall Abbey. In the front of the volume there is a Latin copy of the Rule of Saint Benedict (pp. 5-72), followed in the later part by an abridged version, consolidated into a single draft, of the Martyrologium Romanum and a necrology related to St. Gall Abbey (pp. 83-267). Under Prince-Abbot Bernhard Müller (1594−1630), this chapter office book was replaced with a new necrology begun in 1611 (cf. Cod. Sang. 1442) that no longer contained the Rule of Saint Benedict. (smu)

Online since: 09/23/2014

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 453

Parchment · A-F + 246 + Y-Z pp. · 31.5/32 x 19.5/20 cm · St. Gall · 12th and 18th centuries

The second-oldest surviving book of the chapter office of the Abbey of St. gall, including, among other items, lists of brothers who joined, the Rule of St. Benedict, a martyrology and death record as well as historical account records

The second-oldest surviving chapter office book of the Abbey of St. Gall, begun in the 12th century and maintained, with the addition of many entries, until early modernity. This volume contains, among other things, lists of the bishops of Constance (736-1318) and the abbots of the cloisters at Reichenau (724-1343) and St. Gall (719-1329), records of brothers who became members of the Abbey of St. Gall, readings and homilies for Sundays and holy days in the chapter assembly of the monchs, a copy of the Rule of St. Benedict, a martyrology complete with death records, tables and explanations for figuring the dates for Easter, and a copy, with continuation, of the St. Gall Annals found in Cod. Sang 915 (Cod. Sang. 915). At the very back: two printed lists of St. St. Gall monks from 1757 and 1798. (smu)

Online since: 06/22/2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 454

Parchment · 368 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · St. Gall · about 880-890

Martyrologium

A copy of the martyrology of Ado of Vienne († 875). As an appendix the manuscript also contains vitae of ancient saints, possibly written by Notker Balbulus himself around 880/890. (smu)

Online since: 12/12/2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 455

Parchment · A-D+ 603 + Y,Z pp. · 23 x 16.5 cm · [in part Monastery of St. Gall] · 11th-13th century

Martyrologium by Ado of Vienne

Martyrologium by Ado of Vienne († 875), the main part of which probably was not written in St. Gall, although the manuscript was kept there since the 11th century (supplements to the patron saints of St. Gall). At the end of the volume, there are annals-style notes about the comet of 1264, calendar dates, notes regarding the construction of the cities of Milan and Alexandria, the founding of the Cistercian Monastery of Wettingen, the discord between Emperor Frederick II and his son Henry VII around 1236 as well as the latter’s imprisonment, and hexameters regarding the correct preparation of eucharistic bread (p. 601-602). (dor)

Online since: 12/13/2013

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 456

Parchment · IV + 390 + IV pp. · 22 x 16 cm · St. Gall · 10th/11th centuries

A martyrology by Notker Balbulus

The sole surviving copy of the Martyrologium by the St. St. Gall monk Notker Balbulus (d. 912), a work written in about 900 and following. This particular copy from the first half of the 10th century is incomplete: a martyrology includes short biographies of the saints according to their given days in the calendar year, but information about saints for dates from June 13-17, July 3-6, August 19-26, October 27 and December 31 is missing. It is very likely that Notker Balbulus never completed the ambitious project of writing the original Martyrologium. (smu)

Online since: 07/31/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 457

Parchment · 190 pp. · 21.5 x 13-13.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century

Martyrology

A martyrology by Hrabanus Maurus, possibly written in Mainz or Fulda, produced shortly after 843. This codex is very likely the presentation copy given to Abbot Grimald of St. Gall (841-872); however, the presentation dedication is missing from the front matter. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 458

Parchment · 228 pp. · 21.5 x 15.5 cm · St. Gall · second half of the 9th century

A martyrology by Hrabanus Maurus

A martyrology by Hrabanus Maurus, composed shortly after 843. The codex contains a copy of Cod. Sang. 457, under the auspices of the St. St. Gall monk Notker Balbulus shortly after 875. It also includes the presentation dedication, missing from the presentation copy (Cod. Sang. 457), addressed to Abbot Ratleik of Seligenstadt and Abbot Grimald of St. Gall (841-872). (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 459

Parchment · 366 ff. · 21 x 15-17 cm · St. Gall · 9th/10th centuries

Computational/scientific compilation with numerous tables, schematics

Computational/scientific compilation manuscript with numerous tables, schematics, and texts about calendar computation, produced in the monastery of St. Gall around the end of the 9th century and beginning ot the 10th. The volume also includes a St. Gallen calendar and the Annales Sangallenses brevissimi (a short history of St. Gall). Two early medieval maps of the world (terrae orbis or T-O maps) precede the work De temporum ratione by the Venerable Bede. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 461

Parchment · 94 pp. · 17.5 x 14 cm · Monastery of St. Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · before 1545

Fridolin Sicher’s Song Book

Song collection of St. Gall organist Fridolin Sicher; 49 songs for three to five voices in 16th century mensural notation without texts. Among the composers are, among others, Alexander Agricola, Loyset Compère, Josquin Desprez and Jacob Obrecht. Several pieces give the name of the composer and the beginning of the text (in French, Italian, Flemish or Latin). Usually one piece fills a double page, less frequently all (three or four) voices are arranged on a single page (dor)

Online since: 09/23/2014

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 462

Paper · 182 pp. · 18.5 x 24.5 cm · 16th century

German song book

The song book of Chaplain Johannes Heer of Glarus: a collection of 88 folk-, students-, love-, drinking- and joke songs, among them 40 unique items; from the pre-reformation period (1510-1520). (smu)

Online since: 12/31/2005

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 463

Paper · I + 143 ff. · 15 x 21.5 cm · 16th century

From the Songbook Collection of Aegidius Tschudi: Volume for Descant and Alto Voices

Songbook compiled by the universal scholar Aegidius Tschudi (1505-1572) from the middle of the 16th century. The volume contains 215 musical scores in measured notation using the five line staff, mainly by contemporary French, Dutch, and German composers such as Josquin Desprez, Adrian Willaert, Jacob Obrecht, Heinrich Isaac, and Ludwig Senfl. The descant (or soprano) parts are found on the left-hand pages, with the alto (or tenor) parts on the right-hand pages. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 479

Paper · 227 ff. · 12.5 x 10 cm · St. Gall · 1483

The German Language Prayer book of Dorotea von Hof

This manuscript of collected items with twelve historiated initials and prayers in the German language was written by Dorothea von Hof (1458-1501), daughter of Heinrich Ehinger and Margarethe von Kappel. The codex contains the Officium parvum BMV as well as assorted prayers (mainly Marian prayers and prayers from the Passion of Christ), the Hundert Betrachtungen ("Hundred Meditations") from the Büchlein der ewigen Weisheit ("Book of Eternal Wisdom") by Henry Suso, and prayers ascribed to Thomas Aquinas. This manuscript on paper, completed in 1483, was presumably owned by the sisters of the Dominican cloister of St. Katharina in St. Gall, of which Dorothea von Hof is listed as a patroness. (fas)

Online since: 12/21/2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484

Parchment · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 10th century

Tropary

Important musical manuscript in very small format containing the repertory of tropes, Ordinary chants and sequences in use around 930/940 in the monastery of St. Gall. With discrete texts and compositions by numerous St. St. Gall monks (Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker Physicus, Waltram and others). The manuscript was intended for the cantor who indicated the melody to the other singers. (smu)

Online since: 05/24/2007

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 530

Paper · VII + 140 ff. · 30.5-31 x 20.5-21 cm · 1517 / 1531

Organ tabulature of Fridolin Sicher

An organ tablature by the St. Gall cathedral organist and calligrapher Fridolin Sicher (1490-1546). Starting in 1512, while he was a pupil of the organist Hans Buchner in Konstanz, Sicher gathered 176 pieces by 94 composers (including Paul Hofhaimer, Hans Buchner, Jacob Obrecht, Josquin Desprez, Matthaeus Pipelaere) together in this volume. Two thirds are sacred vocal pieces, the rest are originally secular songs. The descant is in measured notation on a five line staff, while the remaining vocal parts are indicated with alphabet letters and rhythmical symbols. Some of the compositions may be found only in this particular organ book. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 540

Parchment · X + 146 ff. · 56/56.5 x 38/38.5 cm · St. Gall · 1517 (?)

Lectionary

Lectionary for feast days of saints, written at least partially by St. Gall Abbey Librarian Anton Vogt (around 1486-1529), by order of Prince-Abbot Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529). The illumination (scrolls with flowers and animals, numerous ornamental initials, among them six portrayals of figures) is by the illuminator Nikolaus Bertschi from Augsburg. A calendar (f. Ir-Xv) precedes the lectionary (f. 1r-130r), which then is followed by readings for the commemoratio of the patron saints of St. Gall and of Mary, and by collects for feast days of saints. (sno)

Online since: 06/23/2014
Home Information News Contact Privacy Policy © 2014 e-codices

Choisissez une collection

Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
Toutes les collections1189
Sion/Sitten, Archives du Chapitre/Kapitelsarchiv 5
Fribourg/Freiburg, Archives de l'Etat de Fribourg/Staatsarchiv Freiburg 13
Sion/Sitten, Archives de l'Etat du Valais/Staatsarchiv Wallis 1
Bern, Burgerbibliothek 31
Porrentruy, Bibliothèque cantonale jurassienne 19
Fribourg/Freiburg, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire/Kantons- und Universitätsbibliothek 16
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne 4
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève 48
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek 56
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium 10
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel 7
Trogen, Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden 12
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek 537
Dalpe, Archivio parrocchiale 1
Solothurn, Domschatz der St.-Ursen-Kathedrale 3
Schlatt, Eisenbibliothek 1
Fribourg/Freiburg, Couvent des Cordeliers/Franziskanerkloster 13
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer 118
Flawil, Gemeinde Flawil 2
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina 12
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek 13
Frauenfeld, Kantonsbibliothek Thurgau 16
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque du Valais 2
Orselina, Convento della Madonna del Sasso 4
Luzern, Provinzarchiv Schweizer Kapuziner Luzern 1
Aarau, Staatsarchiv Aargau 6
Beromünster, Stiftskirche St. Michael 4
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek 68
Schaffhausen, Stadtbibliothek 16
Zürich, Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum 5
St. Gallen, Stiftsarchiv (Abtei Pfäfers) 10
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten 1
Sarnen, Staatsarchiv Obwalden 1
Schaffhausen, Staatsarchiv 5
Torre, Archivio parrocchiale 2
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek 15
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum 14
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung 18
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek 10
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek 46
Luzern, Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek 15
Zofingen, Stadtbibliothek 2

Manuscrits suisses à l'étranger

Pays Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
Allemagne Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek 2
Autriche St. Paul in Kärnten, Stiftsbibliothek St. Paul im Lavanttal 1

Parties de manuscrits à l'étranger

Pays Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
France Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France 1
États-Unis Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art 1
Russie St. Petersburg, National Library of Russia 1
    Nombre de manuscrits affichés: 20 50 100 tous

Nombre total de manuscrits: 1189, affichés: 881 – 900

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 445

Parchemin · 40 ff. · 25.8 x 20 cm · Saint-Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · 1541

Ledit "Läuterbuch" – Instructions pour le service du sacristain à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall après la Réforme

Le livre fut écrit en 1541 par le calligraphe et organiste de la cathédrale de Saint-Gall, Fridolin Sicher (1490-1546). Organisé selon le calendrier ecclésiastique, le volume contient des instructions en allemand pour la préparation des autels et des cérémonies dans l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall, pour tous les dimanches et les jours de fêtes. Il offre entre autre une liste alphabétique de tous les autels dans l’enceinte du monastère de Saint-Gall après la Réforme. Les devoirs du sacristain étaient remplis par un frère lai qui s’occupait de nettoyer l’église, de préparer les parements liturgiques, d’allumer les cierges et de veiller à leur consumation, en outre, il devait se charger de sonner les cloches (d’où le nom de "Läuterbuch"). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 07.10.2013

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 446

Parchemin · 344 pp. · 24.5-25 x 18-18.5 cm · Saint Gall · entre 845 et 870

Manuscrit composite, avec une prédominance d’oeuvres orientées vers la liturgie et le soin des âmes

Manuscrit composite, avec une prédominance d’oeuvres orientées vers la liturgie et le soin des âmes, écrit entre 845 et 870 à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. Il contient, entre autre, le Liber de exordiis et incrementis quarundam in observationibus ecclesiasticis rerum de l’abbé Walahfrid Strabon de Reichenau (808/09-849), le premier manuel d’histoire de la liturgie en Occident, les Ordines Romani, un traité liturgique d’Amalaire de Trèves, le premier capitulaire de l’évêque Théodulf d’Orléans, deux traités d’Alcuin sur le baptême et la messe ainsi que le capitulaire d’Haito, évêque de Bâle et abbé de Reichenau. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 448

Parchemin · 232 pp. · 31 x 21 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 1432 / après 1446

Liber Ordinarius de Hersfeld / Ordinarium Sangallense

Le Liber Ordinarius du second quart du XVs. contient les instructions liturgiques pour la messe des moines de Saint-Gall durant l’époque de la présence des moines réformateurs du monastère de Hersfeld, entre 1430 et 1439. Le Liber Ordinarius, daté de 1432 (p. 36) semble avoir été réalisé d’après un modèle de Hersfeld (nord-ouest de la Hesse), spécialement pour le monastère de Saint-Gall ; certaines parties n’ont pas encore été adaptées au monastère saint-gallois. Le calendrier au début du manuscrit peut clairement être situé à Saint-Gall. Entre les diverses parties se trouvent toujours insérées des pages blanches. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2012

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 450

Parchemin · A,B + 46 + Y,Z pp. · 25/25.5 x 14/15.5 cm · 2e moitié du Xe et début du XIe siècle

Martyrologium

Manuscrit composite contenant principalement des textes de calendriers et de chronologies, écrit dans la seconde moitié du Xe s. et au début du XIe s., mais pour la plupart, pas à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. Le manuscrit se compose, pour l’essentiel, d’un calendrier provenant probablement du Nord de l’Italie et d’extraits du "De temporum ratione" de Bède le Vénérable († 735). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 451

Parchemin · 54 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · IXe/Xe siècle

Martyrologe

Martyrologe de Bède le Vénérable († 735), en écriture anglo-saxonne, écrit au IXe siècle. La copie fragmentaire (de début janvier jusqu’au 25 juillet) représente, parmi les manuscrits transmis, le plus proche de la première version de Bède. Un martyrologe est un ensemble de notices plus ou moins longues des vies de saints, suivant l’ordre du calendrier liturgique. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 452

Parchemin · 268 pp. · 32 x 19/20 cm · Abbaye de Saint-Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · 1542/43

Capitulaire avec la Règle de saint Benoît, un martyrologe et un nécrologe de Saint-Gall

Destiné à l'usage quotidien durant l'office du chapitre, le volume fut écrit en 1542/43 par le clerc séculier originaire de Bischofszell Fridolin Sicher (1490-1546) pour le prince-abbé de Saint-Gall Diethelm Blarer (1530-1564; cfr. l'armoirie aux pp. 5, 8 et 268) et devint ensuite propriété de la communauté de Saint-Gall. Fridolin Sicher fut actif aussi bien avant qu'après la Réforme comme organiste de la cathédrale et calligraphe pour le monastère de Saint-Gall. Au début est transcrite une version latine de la règle de saint Benoît (pp. 5-72), suivie, dans une unique rédaction, d'une version abrégée du Martyrologium Romanum et d'un nécrologe qui se réfère au monastère de Saint-Gall (pp. 83-267). Ce livre capitulaire fut remplacé à l'époque du prince-abbé Bernhard Müller (1594-1630) par un nouveau nécrologe réalisé en 1611 (cfr. Cod. Sang. 1442) qui ne contient plus la règle de saint Benoît. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 23.09.2014

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 453

Parchemin · A-F + 246 + Y-Z pp. · 31.5/32 x 19.5/20 cm · Saint-Gall · XIIe, (XVIIIe) siècle

Le second livre capitulaire par l’ancienneté du monastère de Saint-Gall avec, entre autres des listes de confraternité, la règle de Saint Benoît, le martyrologe et le nécrologe avec des notes annalistiques

Le second livre capitulaire par l’ancienneté de l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall qui a été conservé, fut commencé au XIIe s. et muni de nombreux ajouts jusqu’à l’époque moderne. Le volume contient entre autres les listes des évêques de Constance (736-1318), des abbés du monastère de Reichenau (724-1343) et de Saint-Gall (719-1329), des copies des accords de confraternité du monastère de Saint-Gall, des lectures et des sermons pour les dimanches et les jours de fête au cours des réunions du chapitre des moines, une copie de la règle de Saint Benoît, un martyrologe avec des notices nécrologiques, des tableaux et des explications pour le calcul de la date de Pâques et la copie et la suite des Annales de Saint-Gall du Cod. Sang 915 (Cod. Sang. 915). A la fin, se trouvent deux listes imprimées des moines de Saint-Gall de 1757 à 1798. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 22.06.2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 454

Parchemin · 368 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 880-890

Martyrologium

Manuscrit du Martyrologe d'Ado de Vienne (875), avec, en appendice, des Vies des Saints de l'Eglise ancienne, écrites à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall probablement par le moine Notker le Bègue lui-même vers 880/890. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 455

Parchemin · A-D+ 603 + Y,Z pp. · 23 x 16.5 cm · [en partie de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall] · XI-XIIIe s.

Martyrologium d’Ado de Vienne

Martyrologe d’Ado de Vienne († 875), dont la partie principale n’a probablement pas été rédigée à Saint-Gall. Le manuscrit s’y trouve pourtant conservé dès le XIe s. (ajouts pour les saints de Saint-Gall). A la fin du volume, annales sur les comètes de 1264, données de calendrier, notices sur la construction des villes de Milan et d’Alexandrie, sur la fondation du monastère cistercien de Wettingen, sur la discorde entre l’Empereur Frédéric II et son fils Henri VII vers 1236 et sur la capture de ce dernier ainsi qu’un hexamètre sur la bonne préparation des hosties (p. 601-602). (dor)

En ligne depuis: 13.12.2013

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 456

Parchemin · IV + 390 + IV pp. · 22 x 16 cm · Saint-Gall · Xe/XIe siècle

Martyrologe de Notker Balbulus

Martyrologe du moine Notker le Bègue de Saint-Gall (mort en 912), conservé uniquement dans ce manuscrit, écrit vers ou après 900. Un martyrologe est un ensemble de notices plus ou moins longues des vies de saints, suivant l’ordre du calendrier liturgique. Cette copie datant de la première moitié du Xe siècle est incomplète; y manquent les informations sur les saints du 13 au 17 juin, du 3 au 6 juillet, du 19 au 26 août ainsi que du 27 octobre au 31 décembre. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.07.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 457

Parchemin · 190 pp. · 21.5 x 13-13.5 cm · Saint-Gall · IXe siècle

Martyrologe

Martyrologe de Raban Maur, probablement écrit à Mainz ou Fulda, peu après 843. Selon toute probabilité, il s’agit de l’exemplaire dédicacé à l’abbé Grimald de Saint-Gall (841-872). Toutefois, au début, il manque l’adresse de la dédicace. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 458

Parchemin · 228 pp. · 21.5 x 15.5 cm · Saint-Gall · 2e moitié du IXe siècle

Martyrologe de Raban Maur

Martyrologe de Raban Maur, composé peu après 843. Le codex contient une copie du Cod. Sang. 457, faite à l’instigation du moine Notker le bègue de Saint-Gall, probablement peu après 875. Contient aussi l’adresse de la dédicace, manquante dans l’exemplaire dédicacé (Cod.Sang. 457), à l’abbé Ratleik de Seligenstadt et à l’abbé Grimald de Saint-Gall (841-872). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 459

Parchemin · 366 ff. · 21 x 15-17 cm · Saint-Gall · IXe/Xe siècle

Manuscrit composite, computistique et scientifique, avec de nombreux tableaux

Manuscrit composite, computistique et scientifique, avec de nombreux tableaux, schémas et textes computistiques, écrit à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall vers la fin du IXe et au début du Xe siècle. Le volume contient aussi un calendrier de Saint-Gall et les Annales Sangallenses brevissimi, ainsi que deux Mappae mundi du haut Moyen Age (Cartes du monde T-O) avant le début du De temporum ratione de Bède le Vénérable. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 461

Parchemin · 94 pp. · 17.5 x 14 cm · Abbaye de Saint-Gall (Fridolin Sicher) · avant 1545

Chansonnier de Fridolin Sicher

Recueil de chants de l’organiste de l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall Fridolin Sicher, contenant 49 chants entre trois et cinq voix, en notation mesurée du XVIe siècle, sans les paroles. Parmi les compositeurs figurent entre autres Alexander Agricola, Loyset Compère, Josquin Desprez et Jacob Obrecht. Dans quelques pièces les noms des compositeurs sont indiqués ainsi que le début des paroles (en français, italien, flamand et latin). D’habitude chaque pièce remplit une double page, rarement toutes les voix (trois ou quatre) sont disposées sur une seule page. (dor)

En ligne depuis: 23.09.2014

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 462

Papier · 182 pp. · 18.5 x 24.5 cm · XVIe siècle

Recueil de chansons allemands

Chansonnier du chapelain glaronnais Johannes Heer: recueil de 88 morceaux populaires, chants d'étudiants, chansons d'amour, chansons à boire et chansons badines, dont 40 sont des attestations uniques, de l'âge antérieur à la Réforme (1510-1520). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.12.2005

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 463

Papier · I + 143 ff. · 15 x 21.5 cm · XVI siècle

De la collection de livre de chants d’Aegidius Tschudi: Cahier de la voix de soprano et d’alto

Livre de chant du savant universel Aegidius Tschudi (1505-1572) du milieu du 16e siècle. Ce volume contient 215 phrases musicales en notation mensuraliste de compositeurs contemporains, surtout francophones, néerlandais et allemands, comme Josquin Desprez, Adrian Willaert, Jacob Obrecht, Heinrich Isaac ou Ludwig Senfl. Sur la page de gauche se trouve la partition du soprano, sur celle de droite l’alto. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 479

Papier · 227 ff. · 12.5 x 10 cm · Saint-Gall · 1483

Livre de prières en allemand de Dorothée von Hof

Ce manuscrit composite contient des prières en allemand et est orné de 12 initiales historiées. Il a été écrit par Dorothée von Hof (1458-1501), fille de Henri Ehninger et de Marguerite von Kappel. Il contient, en plus de l’Officium parvum BMV et de diverses prières (surtout à la Vierge Marie et pour la Passion du Christ), les Hundert Betrachtungen du Büchlein der ewigen Weisheit de Henri Suso et des prières attribuées à Thomas d’Aquin. Les propriétaires de ce manuscrit sur papier, écrit en 1483, étaient probablement les sœurs du couvent dominicain de Sainte-Catherine à Saint-Gall, desquelles Dorothée von Hof est mentionnée en qualité de bienfaitrice. (fas)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484

Parchemin · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · Saint Gall · première moitié du Xe siècle

Tropaire

Manuscrit musical de petit format avec le répertoire des tropes en usage à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, vers 930/940, les chants de l'ordinaire de la messe et les mélodies des séquences. Il contient les textes et les mélodies composés par de nombreux moines de Saint-Gall (principalement Notker le Bègue, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker le médecin, Waltram); le livre était destiné au chantre, qui, par ses gestes, indiquait la mélodie aux chanteurs. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 530

Papier · VII + 140 ff. · 30.5-31 x 20.5-21 cm · 1517 / 1531

Tablature d’orgue de Fridolin Sicher

Tablature d’orgue de Fridolin Sicher (1490-1546), organiste de la cathédrale et calligraphe. D’abord élève de l’organiste de Constance, Hans Buchner, depuis 1512, il rassembla 176 pièces de 94 compositeurs (notamment Paul Hofhaimer, Hans Buchner, Jacob Obrecht, Josquin Desprez, Matthaeus Pipelaere). Les deux tiers sont des oeuvres vocales religieuses, le reste provient de chansons populaires. La voix supérieure est notée en notation mesurée sur une portée à cinq lignes, les autres voix par des lettres et des signes rythmiques. Certaines de ces compositions ne sont conservées que dans ce livre d’orgue. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 540

Parchemin · X + 146 ff. · 56/56.5 x 38/38.5 cm · Saint-Gall · 1517 (?)

Lectionnaire

Lectionnaire pour les fêtes des saints, écrit, à la demande du prince abbé Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529), au moins en partie par le bibliothécaire de Saint-Gall Anton Vogt (vers 1486-1529). La décoration (entrelacs avec fleurs et animaux, nombreuses initiales enluminées, parmi lesquelles six avec des représentations figurées) est l'oeuvre de l'enlumineur Nikolaus Bertschi de Augusta. Un calendrier (f. 1r-130r) précède le lectionnaire, auquel succèdent des lectures pour la commemoratio des saints de Saint-Gall et de Marie, ainsi que les prières pour les collectes à l'occasion des fêtes des saints (f. 130v-146r). (sno)

En ligne depuis: 23.06.2014
Accueil Informations News Contact Protection des données © 2014 e-codices