Documents: 10

Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 1841
Parchment · a-c + I + 56 + II-IV + d-f ff. · 38.3 x 26.5 cm · France · 13th century
Liber sapientiae glossatus

This manuscript is from France; certainly from the 14th century onward it has been part of the Libraria secreta of the monastery of St. Francis of Assisi, as attested by an entry in the library inventory. This inventory was written in 1381 by Brother Giovanni Ioli, who saw to its reorganization between 1377 and 1384. The manuscript, which originally contained not only the Liber sapientiae but also the third and fourth parts of Peter Lombard’s Sentences, belongs to an important group of French manuscripts, some richly decorated, that were purchased by the monastery since the founding of the library. When the manuscript was owned by the antiquarian Leo Olschki, it was still complete; but it was already divided in 1960, when the Cantonal and University Library of Lausanne purchased it from the Geneva antiquarian Nicolas Rauch. (ber)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 4254
Parchment · 22 ff. · 20.4 x 15.5 cm · first third of the 15th century
Othon de Grandson, Poems

Othon de Grandson, knight and poet, distinguished himself both through his verses and through his heroic deeds during the Hundred Years War. He was an adviser to Count Amadeus VII of Savoy. After the death of the count, he fled to England. After his return to the land of Vaud he died in an ordeal by battle in the form of a duel in Bourg-en-Bresse in the year 1397. In addition, Othon de Grandson's poetry introduced Valentine's Day to a broader public; it had previously been celebrated primarily in Anglo-Saxon regions. (swe)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 454
Parchment · 124 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · France · first half of the 14th century
Roman de la Rose

This codex dates to the first half of the 14th century and contains a copy of Roman de la Rose, an Old French allegorical dream vision by Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun composed in the 13th century. This copy, which is one of more than 300 that survive in full or in part, is heavily annotated and shows evidence of extensive use by several different readers. (sti)

Online Since: 01/21/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 1016
Paper · 141 ff. · 29 x 20 cm · Geneva · 16th century
“Recueil Grenet”

The “Recueil Grenet” is a collection of poems written by the Geneva merchant Gilbert Grenet (1510?-1568) containing French poems written during the decades 1530-1560. The composite manuscript begins with about forty epistles and «dizains» (ten-line poems) by Clément Marot, which were probably copied during and after the poet’s stay in Geneva (1542-1543). This is followed by anonymous poems on the virtues of education and the art of writing. At the end there are about forty epigrams and poems praising the Reformation and polemicizing against Catholicism. Some are personal revisions of texts by Théodore de Bèze and Ronsard. The manuscript is partially illuminated and illustrates the role of militant poetry in the commercial milieu that supported the Reformation in the city of Geneva during Calvin's time. It was acquired by the Cantonal and University Library of Lausanne in 1844.  (dou)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 350
Paper · 181 ff. · 22 x 14.5 cm · around 1430
Othon de Grandson, Les Responses des cent Balades

Othon de Grandson, knight and poet, distinguished himself both through his verses and through his heroic deeds during the Hundred Years War. He was an adviser to Count Amadeus VII of Savoy. After the death of the count, he fled to England. After his return to the land of Vaud he died in an ordeal by battle in the form of a duel in Bourg-en-Bresse in the year 1397. Othon de Grandson probably wrote his poetic works between 1366 and 1372. This collection volume also contains ballads by thirteen different authors. (swe)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 398
Parchment · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (Fragment)

Along with Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek Pal. lat. 921, this fragment from the Fulda Abbey Scriptorium constitutes one of two documented manuscripts of the Getica by Jordanes, written in a (continental) Anglo-Saxon minuscule; it is not, however, a part of the last leaf of Pal. lat. 921, which has been missing since the beginning of the 19th century. Along with Palermo, Archivio di Stato "Codice Basile" and Rome, Biblioteca Vaticana Ottob. lat. 1346, and together with Pal. lat. 920, this remnant of a leaf is among the oldest text witnesses of the Getica. It could be a part of a manuscript by Jordanes that had been attested in Fulda until the middle of the 16th century. (stb)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 403
Parchment · 113 ff. · 24 x 12.3 cm · France? · end of the 12th century
P. Ovidii Nasonis, Metamorphoses

This manuscript, written in early Gothic script and dated to the end of the 12th century, contains an incomplete copy of Ovid’s Metamorphoses (2,52 – 3,466; 3,651 – 14,43; 14,414 – 15,668). There are marginal and interlinear glosses as well as variants by various hands. (del)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 5011
Parchment · IV + 45 ff. + V-VIII ff. · 33.5 x 22. 5 cm · Romainmôtier (?) · 12th century (ff. 1-30); around 1300 (ff. 31-45)
Cartulary of the Cluniac priory of Romainmôtier (Switzerland, canton of Vaud)

This manuscript is a cartulary that was created for the Cluniac priory of Romainmôtier (canton of Vaud) and that was probably copied at the monastery. It consists of two chronologically distinct parts that were united at an unknown time. The first part is from the 12th century and consists of 77 documents, introduced by a preface that recounts the most important events from the history of the institution. The second part was copied around the end of the 13th century and contains 80 documents, most of which date back to the years 1270-1286. (anm)

Online Since: 03/29/2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, U 964
Parchment · VI + 522 + VI ff. · 33 x 24.5 cm · France · end of 13th century
Biblia Porta

The Biblia Porta manuscript, which bears the name of its last private owner, is an illuminated Bible from the Franco-Flemish region, produced at the end of the 13th century. The value of this unique and extraordinary work lies in the quality of its textual illustrations: 337 scenes of great artistic refinement, very lively and expressive. The illustrations consist of historiated initials, ornamental initials, drolleries and marginal illustrations. The text, which is written in extremely carefully formed calligraphy on very fine parchment, is St. Jerome's Vulgate version of the Bible in Latin, revised in Paris in the second quarter of the 13th century. This document is one of the few remaining works from this particular school of book decoration in northern France. (min)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, V 1765
Parchment and paper · 117 ff. · 25 x 18.5 cm · 1st part: Italy; 2nd part: France or Switzerland · 1st part: end of the 14th-beginning of the 15th century (palimpsest 13th century); 2nd part: 15th century
Henry Suso, Horologium Sapientiae, Francesco Petrarca, De Vita Solitaria

This codex contains two different texts, both incomplete, in a single 19th century binding. One of these is Henry Suso’s Horologium Sapientiae (1-66), a text that was written in Constance and that was in wide use during the late Middle Ages. The other is Petrarch's De Vita Solitaria (67-116). The first is a parchment manuscript of Italian origin that can be dated to the late 14th or early 15th century; it is written by a single hand in a semi-cursive Gothic script in two columns. What makes this manuscript special is that it was written on a parchment palimpsest that originally contained legal texts written in the 13th century. The second part, by another hand and of French or Swiss origin, contains a text by Petrarch written in a bastarda script in two columns, dated to the 15th century. Both texts contain pen-flourish initials and are interspersed with manicules. (fav)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Documents: 10

Documents: 10

Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 1841
Parchemin · a-c + I + 56 + II-IV + d-f ff. · 38.3 x 26.5 cm · France · XIIIe siècle
Liber sapientiae glossatus

Le manuscrit, d’origine française, faisait certainement partie depuis le XIVe siècle de la libraria secreta du couvent de Saint-François d’Assise, comme en atteste sa présence dans l’inventaire de la bibliothèque du couvent rédigé en 1381 par le frère Giovanni Ioli, qui s’occupait de son réagencement entre 1377 et 1384. Il comprenait à l’origine non seulement le Liber sapientiae, mais aussi le troisième et le quatrième livre des Sentences de Pierre Lombard. Il fait partie d’un groupe important de manuscrits d’origine française, certains richement décorés, qui furent acquis par le couvent depuis la fondation de la bibliothèque. Le manuscrit était encore entier lorsqu'il était en possession de l’antiquaire Leo Olschki ; en 1960, désormais démembré, il fut acheté par la Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne auprès de l’antiquaire genevois Nicolas Rauch. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, IS 4254
Parchemin · 22 ff. · 20.4 x 15.5 cm · premier tiers du XVe siècle
Othon de Grandson, Poésies

Othon de Grandson, chevalier et poète, s’illustra aussi bien par ses vers que par ses faits d’armes lors de la Guerre de Cent ans. Il fut conseiller d’Amédée VII de Savoie. A la mort de son suzerain, il s’enfuit en Angleterre. Rentré dans le Pays de Vaud, il meurt dans un duel judiciaire à Bourg-en-Bresse en 1397. Au travers de ses poésies, Othon de Grandson contribua notamment à faire connaître la Saint-Valentin jusqu’alors célébrée surtout dans le monde anglo-saxon. (swe)

En ligne depuis: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 454
Parchemin · 124 ff. · 28.5 x 20 cm · France · première moitié du XIVe siècle
Roman de la Rose

Ce codex daté de la première moitié du XIVe s. contient une copie du Roman de la Rose, un poème allégorique en ancien français composé au XIIIe s. par Guillaume de Lorris et Jean de Meung. Cet exemplaire, une des plus de 300 copies complètes ou partielles qui subsistent, est abondamment annoté ce qui atteste de son usage fréquent par de nombreux lecteurs. (sti)

En ligne depuis: 21.01.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, M 1016
Papier · 141 ff. · 29 x 20 cm · Genève · XVIe siècle
Recueil Grenet

Le recueil Grenet est un manuscrit poétique réalisé par le marchand genevois Gilbert Grenet (1510 ?-1568) qui rassemble des poésies françaises composées pendant les décennies 1530-1560. Le recueil est ouvert par une quarantaine d’épîtres et de dizains de Clément Marot vraisemblablement copiés pendant et après le séjour du poète à Genève (1542-1543). Il conserve ensuite des poèmes anonymes sur les vertus de l’éducation et de l’art d’écrire. Il se conclut par une quarantaine d’épigrammes et de poésies diverses louant la Réforme et polémiquant contre le catholicisme. Certains sont des récritures personnelles de textes de Théodore de Bèze et de Ronsard. Le codex, partiellement décoré, illustre le rôle joué par la poésie militante dans les milieux marchands soutenant la Réforme à Genève au temps de Jean Calvin. Il a été acquis par la Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne en 1844. (dou)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 350
Papier · 181 ff. · 22 x 14.5 cm · vers 1430
Othon de Grandson, Les Responses des cent Balades

Othon de Grandson, chevalier et poète, s’illustra aussi bien par ses vers que par ses faits d’armes lors de la Guerre de Cent ans. Il fut conseiller d’Amédée VII de Savoie. A la mort de son suzerain, il s’enfuit en Angleterre. Rentré dans le Pays de Vaud, il meurt dans un duel judiciaire à Bourg-en-Bresse en 1397. Othon de Grandson composa ces poèmes probablement entre 1366 et 1372. Ce recueil contient également des ballades dues à treize auteurs différents. (swe)

En ligne depuis: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 398
Parchemin · 1 f. · ca. 14.5 x 18.5 · Fulda · ca. 830
Iordanes Gothus, De origine actibusque Getarum (fragment)

Le fragment provenant du scriptorium du monastère de Fulda constitue, avec celui de l’Universitätsbibliothek d’Heidelberg, Pal. lat. 921, un des deux seuls manuscrits connus des Getica de Jordanès, écrit dans une minuscule anglosaxonne (continentale). Il ne s’agit cependant pas d’une partie du feuillet manquant depuis le début du XIXe siècle du Pal. lat. 921. Avec le « Codice Basile » de Palerme, Archivio di Stato, le Ottob. lat. 1346 de Rome, Biblioteca Vaticana et le Pal. lat. 920, le reste de ce feuillet appartient au plus ancien témoin des Getica. Il pourrait constituer une partie d’un manuscrit de Jordanès, dont la présence est attestée à Fulda jusqu’à la fin du XVIe siècle. (stb)

En ligne depuis: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 403
Parchemin · 113 ff. · 24 x 12.3 cm · France? · fin du XIIème siècle
P. Ovidii Nasonis, Metamorphoses

Le manuscrit, écrit dans une gothique primitive et daté de la fin du XIIe siècle, contient une copie incomplète des Métamorphoses d’Ovide (2,52 – 3,466 ; 3,651 – 14,43 ; 14,414 – 15,668). Il présente des gloses marginales et interlinéaires, ainsi que des variantes de mains différentes. (del)

En ligne depuis: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, Ms 5011
Parchemin · IV + 45 ff. + V-VIII ff. · 33.5 x 22. 5 cm · Romainmôtier (?) · XIIe siècle (ff. 1-30) ; vers 1300 (ff. 31-45)
Cartulaire du prieuré clunisien de Romainmôtier (Suisse, canton de Vaud)

Le manuscrit est un cartulaire établi en faveur du prieuré clunisien de Romainmôtier (canton de Vaud) et probablement copié dans le monastère. Il se compose de deux ensembles distincts chronologiquement et réunis à une date inconnue. La première partie date du XIIe siècle et se compose de 77 documents précédés d’une préface narrant les principaux événements de l’histoire ancienne de l’institution. Le deuxième ensemble a été copié à la fin du XIIIe siècle et contient 80 documents, qui remontent pour la plupart aux années 1270-1286. (anm)

En ligne depuis: 29.03.2019

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, U 964
Parchemin · VI + 522 + VI ff. · 33 x 24.5 cm · France · fin du XIIIe siècle
Biblia Porta

La Biblia Porta – du nom de son dernier propriétaire privé – est une Bible enluminée de la région franco-flamande datant de la fin du XIIIe siècle. La richesse de cet ouvrage, exceptionnel et unique, réside dans la qualité de l’illustration du texte : 337 scènes d’une grande finesse artistique, pleines de vie et d’expression, illustrent l’histoire, la vie des hommes au Moyen Âge et leur vision du monde. Les illustrations se composent de majuscules historiées, de majuscules ornées, de drôleries et d’illustrations marginales. Le texte, écrit dans une calligraphie très soignée sur un vélin très fin, est la version latine de la Bible de saint Jérôme révisée à Paris dans le second quart du XIIIe siècle. Ce document est un des rares ouvrages subsistants au monde de cette école d’enluminure du nord de la France. (min)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire - Lausanne, V 1765
Parchemin et papier · 117 ff. · 25 x 18.5 cm · 1ère partie : Italie; 2ème partie : France ou Suisse · 1ère partie : fin XIVe-début XVe siècle (palimpseste XIIIe) ; 2ème partie : XVe siècle
Henri Suso, Horologium Sapientiae, Francesco Petrarca, De Vita Solitaria

Ce codex contient deux textes différents, tous deux incomplets, dans une reliure du XIXe siècle. Il s’agit d’une part de l’Horologium Sapientiae de Henri Suso (1-66), dont le texte original fut écrit à Constance et connut une large diffusion au Moyen Âge tardif, et d’autre part du De Vita Solitaria de Francesco Petrarca (67-116). Le premier est un manuscrit sur parchemin d’origine italienne, daté de la fin du XIVe-début du XVe siècle, écrit d’une seule main dans une gothique semi-cursive sur deux colonnes. Sa particularité est d’utiliser du parchemin palimpseste, sur lequel se trouvaient initialement des textes juridiques copiés au XIIIe siècle. Le second, d’une autre main et d’origine française ou suisse, présente une copie du texte de Pétrarque dans une minuscule bâtarde, sur deux colonnes, datée du XVe siècle. Tous deux présentent quelques initiales filigranées et sont émaillés de manicules. (fav)

En ligne depuis: 10.10.2019

Documents: 10