Choose a virtual library or collection

Location, Library Manuscripts
All libraries and collections1145
Sion/Sitten, Archives du Chapitre/Kapitelsarchiv 5
Fribourg/Freiburg, Archives de l'Etat de Fribourg/Staatsarchiv Freiburg 13
Sion/Sitten, Archives de l'Etat du Valais/Staatsarchiv Wallis 1
Bern, Burgerbibliothek 23
Porrentruy, Bibliothèque cantonale jurassienne 12
Fribourg/Freiburg, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire/Kantons- und Universitätsbibliothek 16
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne 4
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève 46
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek 55
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium 10
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel 7
Trogen, Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden 12
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek 519
Solothurn, Domschatz der St.-Ursen-Kathedrale 3
Schlatt, Eisenbibliothek 1
Fribourg/Freiburg, Couvent des Cordeliers/Franziskanerkloster 11
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer 118
Flawil, Gemeinde Flawil 2
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina 12
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek 13
Frauenfeld, Kantonsbibliothek Thurgau 16
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque du Valais 2
Orselina, Convento della Madonna del Sasso 4
Luzern, Provinzarchiv Schweizer Kapuziner Luzern 1
Aarau, Staatsarchiv Aargau 6
Beromünster, Stiftskirche St. Michael 2
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek 65
Schaffhausen, Stadtbibliothek 16
Zürich, Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum 5
St. Gallen, Stiftsarchiv (Abtei Pfäfers) 10
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten 1
Sarnen, Staatsarchiv Obwalden 1
Schaffhausen, Staatsarchiv 5
Torre, Archivio parrocchiale 2
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek 15
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum 14
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung 18
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek 10
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek 46
Luzern, Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek 15
Zofingen, Stadtbibliothek 2

Swiss Manuscripts Abroad

Country Location, Library Manuscripts
Germany Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek 2
Austria St. Paul in Kärnten, Stiftsbibliothek St. Paul im Lavanttal 1

Dispersed Manuscript Parts Abroad

Country Location, Library Manuscripts
France Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France 1
United States of America Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art 1
Russia St. Petersburg, National Library of Russia 1
    Number of mss. per page: 20 50 100 all

Number of manuscripts: 519, displayed: 421 – 440

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 730

Parchment · 88 pp. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Bobbio(?) · 670/680

Edictus Rothari (Veterum Fragmentorum Tomus III)

The incompletely preserved "Edictus Rothari" is the oldest extant copy of the early medieval law of the Lombards as decreed by King Rothari (636-652) in 643. This earliest known copy, dating from 670/680 and originating in Bobbio (?) has been preserved only as fragments divided between the Abbey Library of St. Gall, the Badische Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe, the Zentralbibliothek in Zurich and the Zurich cantonal archives. The largest portion of the fragments, which were bound together in the present volume by Abbey Librarian Ildefons von Arx in 1822, is found at the Abbey Library of St. Gall. In 1972, the fragmental parchment leaves of the Edictus Rothari owned by the Abbey Library of St. Gall were rebound into a new volume, in a fashion that does not exactly follow conservational guidelines, together with black and white photos of the fragments that are in Karlsruhe and Zurich. The photos were then removed from this Cod. Sang. 730a (old) by restorer Martin Strebel in 2008. At the same time, this manuscript, which is significant to the history of law, was rebound using the latest book restoration techniques, thanks to the Friends of the Abbey Library of St. Gall, which covered the costs of the work. (smu)

Online since: 07/31/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 730 (alt)

Parchment · 88 pp. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Bobbio(?) · 670/680

Edictus Rothari (Veterum Fragmentorum Tomus III)

The incompletely preserved "Edictus Rothari" is the oldest extant copy of the early medieval law of the Lombards as decreed by King Rothari (636-652) in 643. This earliest known copy, dating from 670/680 and originating in Bobbio (?) has been preserved only as fragments divided between the Abbey Library of St. Gall, the Badische Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe, the Zentralbibliothek in Zurich and the Zurich cantonal archives. The largest portion of the fragments, which were bound together in the present volume by Abbey Librarian Ildefons von Arx in 1822, is found at the Abbey Library of St. Gall. This version of the Edictus Rothari manuscript, which existed between 1972 and 2008, also contains photos of all the Edictus Rothari fragments held in Karlsruhe and and Zurich, inserted in the appropriate locations among the fragmental leaves of the St. Gall volume, in a way intented to virtually reproduce the original complete 7th century manuscript. When the original manuscript was unbound, after the middle of the 15th century at the latest, important leaves and textual fragments were removed. The restored version may be found via the following link: Cod. Sang. 730 [Restored version] (smu)

Online since: 12/12/2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 731

Parchment · 342 pp. · 22.5 x 13 cm · Lyon · 794

Lex Romana Visigothorum, Lex Salica, Lex Alamannorum

The so-called Wandalgarius manuscript containing the "Lex Romana Visigothorum", the "Lex Salica" and the "Lex Alamannorum". An important legal manuscript, written and decorated with numerous colored initials and a miniature of a crowned lawgiver in the year 793 by the cleric Wandalgarius in Lyon. It contains the laws of the Visigoths (Lex Romana Visigothorum), the Salian Franks (Lex Salica) and the Alemanni (Lex Alamannorum). It is the oldest precisely dated manuscript in the Abbey Library of St. Gall. (smu)

Online since: 12/12/2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 732

Parchment · 194 pp. · 19 x 14 cm · Bavaria (?) · first quarter of the 9th century

Manuscript compilation: Lex Alamannorum; early accounts of pilgrimages to Jerusalem; treatise on the Assumption of Mary; a table of the Frankish peoples, explications of the Profession of Faith; Annales Sancti Galli breves etc.

Manuscript compilation from the first quarter of the 9th century, possibly written in Bavaria. The codex contains, among other items, a copy of the Lex Alamannorum (foundation law of the Alamanni), a historically important collection of early accounts of pilgrimages to Jerusalem, including the Itinerarium Burdigalense, which describes a pilgrimage from Bordeaux to Rome in the years 333/34, a treatise on the Assumption of Mary, a table of the Frankish peoples, explications of the Profession of Faith, and the so-called Annales Sancti Galli breves (Brief History of St. Gallen) covering the years 703 through 869. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 733

Parchment · 46 ff. · 18.0-18.5 x 11.0-11.5 cm · Southwest Germany · first quarter of the 9th century

Capitular document collection from the time of Charlemagne

Small format manuscript for regular use with a Capitular document collection from the time of Charlemagne. It contains numerous regulations enacted by Charlemagne between 779 and 789, in good, excellent, and sometimes unique surviving versions. It contains, among other items, the Capitularies of Herstal from 779 and the famous Admonitio generalis of Charlemagne from 789. Excellently conserved original Carolingian binding. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 742

Parchment · 594 pp. · 45-45.5 x 28-29 cm · Italy and France (illumination) · second half of the 13th and second half of the 14th century

Large-format copy of the Decrees issued in 1234 by Pope Gregory IX

A representative copy of the decretals of Pope Gregory IX (Pope 1227-1241) in a Gothic-rotunda script from Italy. The text of the decretals is surrounded on each page by the so-called Glossa Ordinaria, a juridical commentary by the canon law specialist Bernardus de Botone of Parma († 1266), which has been written to encircle the main text. The commentary in turn has been extensively edited and glossed at a later time. Each of the five parts is decorated with a scene portraying its content. (smu)

Online since: 03/31/2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 751

Parchment · 500 pp. · 27.5-28 x 18-18.5 cm · most likely northern Italy · second half of the 9th century

A compendium of 39 medical texts

A compendium of 39 medical texts by known and unknown authors, produced in the second half of the 9th century, most likely in northern Italy, already obtained at an early date by the Abbey Library of St. Gall. This codex includes—sometimes in unique exemplars—an alphabetically ordered Greek-Latin herbal glossary, the treatise "De re medica" by one Pseudo-Plinius (Physica Plinii), and a longer medical tract entitled "Liber Esculapii". (smu)

Online since: 12/23/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 752

Parchment · 326 pp. · 25 x 19 cm · St. Gall · about 900

Manuscript compilation: Pliny the Younger's chapter on medicine; Gargilius Matialis, the Medicinae ex oleribus et pomis by Gargilius Martialis; treatise Oxea et chronia passiones Yppocratis, Gallieni et Urani; etc.

Collection of medical manuscripts from the monastery of St. Gall, written in about 900, with five longer and several shorter medical-pharmaceutical treatises, representing in some cases the best, or even the only surviving copies worldwide. Among these may be found, for example, Pliny the Younger's chapter on medicine, the Medicinae ex oleribus et pomis (Medicines from vegetables and fruits) by the Roman agrarian and medical author Gargilius Martialis (3rd century), and the treatise Oxea et chronia passiones Yppocratis, Gallieni et Urani, which is found in very few manuscript copies. This manuscript also includes (on page 82) a magic sphere for predicting life and death. (smu)

Online since: 12/09/2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 759

Parchment · 94 ff. · 21.5 x 16.5 cm · first half of the 9th century

Collection of medical texts

A collection of ten assorted medical tracts, written in the first half of the 9th century in an Insular, likely Celtic, script with continental influences. Among the prescriptions (on page 91) is a blessing with the cross to be used as “Schutzbrief gegen die Versuchungen des Teufels und gegen Fieber” (insurance against temptations by the Devil and against fever). The manuscript also contains, for example, extracts from the “Conspectus ad Eustathium filium” by Oribasius (4th century AD), a physician of late antiquity, the “Epistula de febribus” by the Greek physician Galen († 216 AD), and a “Liber medicinalis” by an unknown author. (smu)

Online since: 12/21/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 761

Parchment · 290 pp. · 13.5 x 10 cm · about 800

Collection of medical texts

A collection of medical texts in a small-sized manuscript with selections from works by the ancient Greek physicians and authors Hippocrates (about 460-370 BC), Galen (about 129-about 216) and Oribasius (about 320-400), written in Insular (?) minuscule script in about 800, not at the abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online since: 12/21/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 762

Parchment · 278 pp. · 19.5 x 12.5-13 cm · Italy (?) · about 800

Manuscript compilation; Anthimus, De observatione ciborum

A small-format compendium of ten different medical texts, produced shortly after 800 in an unknown scriptorium, probably in Italy. The contents also include a treatise by the Greek physician Anthimus in the form of a letter to the Ostrogoth king Theoderich "On the diet" (De observatione ciborum), through which we gain insight to the nutritional habits of one Germanic people. (smu)

Online since: 07/31/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 775

Paper · 266 pp. · 22 x 15.5 cm · 14th century (8/28/1374)

Collection of scholastic texts, inclucing the 14th century library catalog of the Cistercian Abbey of Heiligenkreuz

This manuscript of predominantly scholastic texts from the area of the University of Paris is bound in a well-preserved original Kopert (limp vellum) binding. Among others it contains an alphabetical register of the Sentences of Peter Lombard; the 14th century library catalog of the Cistercian Abbey of Heiligenkreuz in Lower Austria, preserved only in this manuscript (pp. 107-112); the work Quaestiones parvorum librorum naturalium by the French philosopher and logician Jean Buridan (Johannes Buridanus; † shortly after 1358), completed in August 1374 and correspondent to Aristotle’s writings (Parva naturalia) (pp. 121-253); as well as the text Collectio errorum in Anglia et Parisiis condemnatorum (pp. 254-264). (smu)

Online since: 12/20/2012

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 806

Paper · 420 pp. · 29 x 20 cm · Switzerland (?) · 1500/1550

The St. Gall "Dracula" Manuscript

A composite manuscript consisting mainly of historiographic and hagiographic content. The texts were written between 1450 and 1550, then assembled as a volume in 1573 by St. St. Gall monk Mauritius Enk. In addition to transmitting an anonymous Dialogus de sectis, numerous legends about the saints in German, portions of the Strassburg Chronicle by Jakob Twinger von Königshofen, as well as records from the Constance Synod of 1491, the manuscript also contains, on pages 283 through 288, without a title and almost seamlessly continuing into the following text, 30 short accounts recorded in about 1500 of the gruesome deeds of the Wallachian Count Vlad III Tepes ("the Impaler", 1431-1476), who as member of the Order of the Dragon also held the title of Dracula. This Dracula text is only transmitted in three other manuscripts: one at the library of Lambach Abbey in upper Austria, one at the British Library in London, and one at the Municipal Library of Colmar in France. (smu)

Online since: 03/31/2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 817

Parchment · 345 pp. · 25.9 x 19.4 cm · St. Gall (only parts) · 11th century

Aristotle · Boethius · Remmius Favinus (?)

A copy of Aristotle's Categoriae (Categories) and De interpretatione (On interpretation) in Latin, followed by the respective commentaries of Boethius on each of the Aristotelian texts. Between texts and commentaries is the poem De ponderibus et mensuris by Remmius Favinus (?) concerning weights and measures. This manuscript, decorated with three unusual initials (pp. 44, 203 and 221) was written during the 11th century, likely only parts of it in St. Gall. (smu)

Online since: 04/15/2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 818

Parchment · 296 pp. · 27 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall · 11th century

Aristotle, Categoriae, De interpretatione; Cicero, Topica, De optimo genere oratorum

A copy of Aristotle's Categoriae (Categories) and De interpretatione (On interpretation) in Latin with commentaries by Boethius, with translation into Old High German and additional commentaries by St. St. Gall monk and teacher Notker the German († 1022); written during the 11th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. In addition, the manuscript includes copies of two works by Cicero, the Topica and De optimo genere oratorum. (smu)

Online since: 04/15/2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 820

Parchment · 88 pp. · 27.7/28.2 x 21/21.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th - 10th century

Bœtius in Periermenias Aristotelis. Cicero, De inventione libri II; et alia.

A school manuscript from the Abbey of St. Gall containing texts for the subjects of dialectic and rhetoric. The manuscript provides copies of the commentaries of Boethius on the Categories and on the Hermeneutics of Aristotle, a selection of the rhetorical tract by Alcuin († 804) with many schematic diagrams, and copies of Cicero's works De inventione and De optimo genere oratorum. The texts were copied around the end of the 9th century and during the 10th century and contain a multitude of Latin and Old High German glosses as well as numerous glosses in dry point from the 10th through 12th centuries. (smu)

Online since: 12/21/2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 821

Parchment · I + 96 + I pp. · 27.6 x 18.1 cm · St. Gall · 11th century

Boethius, Commentary on Aristotle's Categoriae; Ovid

This undecorated manuscript for practical use, containing the commentary of Boethius on Aristotle's Categories (Categoriae), was written at the Abbey of St. Gall during the 11th century. On the last three pages is the beginning of Ovid's De arte amandi. (smu)

Online since: 04/15/2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 825

Parchment · 342 pp. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 11th century

Boethius, De consolatione philosophiae

Notker the German, Old High German translation of and commentary on "De consolatione philosophiae" of Boethius. Latin text with Old High German translation and commentary on the work "De consolatione philosophiae" (on the consolation of philosophy) of Boethius by the St. St. Gall monk Notker the German († 1022) in the only extant copy from the first half of the 11th century; incomplete copy of Notker's translation and adaptation of the "Categoriae" (categories) of Anicius Manlius Severinus Boethius (ca. 480-524). (smu)

Online since: 12/12/2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 827

Paper · 342 pp. · 29.5 x 21 cm · Lake Constance region · 1425/28

Late Medieval Composite Manuscript of Computistic and Astronomical Content

This composite volume, written between 1425 and 1425 in the Lake Constance regions, though not at the Abbey of St. Gall, contains Latin versions of a great many computistic/astronomical/cosmographical treatises, including the widely disseminated work De sphaera mundi by John of Sacrobosco and his arithmetical foundation work Tractatus de algorismo. The manuscript, organized according to the calendar, also contains illustrations: the twelve signs of the zodiac, a map of the winds, sketches of the ecliptics of the sun and moon, planets and constellations, a diagrammatic guide for bloodletting, a set of early medieval Terra Orbis-type world maps, and (on pages 265 and 266) twelve simple illustrations for the months with brief rhyming proverbs in German derived from the nature- and landscape-dominated everyday life of the people of the late middle ages. (smu)

Online since: 10/04/2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 828

Paper · 453 pp. · 20-20.5 x 14.5-15 cm · Eastern Switzerland · 1402 and 1459

Composite volume with pastoral content matter

This volume contains the Manuale confessorumby the Dominican Monk Johannes Nider, born in Isny and later active in Nuremberg and Vienna (p. 3-124), the work De generatione et corruptione by Albertus Magnus, also known under the title Problemata Aristotelis (p. 129-168), the second Book of Aristotle's Physics In librum secundum physicorum (p. 169-212), the treatise De constellacione [siderum] in nativitate (p. 212-213), the late medieval collection of anecdotes and tales Gesta Romanorum (p. 258-453). The text on pages 129-213 is dated to 1459; pages 259-453 were completed on 30 August 1402 by the copyist Konrad Heinrich von Tettnang. (dor)

Online since: 12/13/2013
Home Information News Contact Privacy Policy © 2014 e-codices

Choisissez une collection

Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
Toutes les collections1145
Sion/Sitten, Archives du Chapitre/Kapitelsarchiv 5
Fribourg/Freiburg, Archives de l'Etat de Fribourg/Staatsarchiv Freiburg 13
Sion/Sitten, Archives de l'Etat du Valais/Staatsarchiv Wallis 1
Bern, Burgerbibliothek 23
Porrentruy, Bibliothèque cantonale jurassienne 12
Fribourg/Freiburg, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire/Kantons- und Universitätsbibliothek 16
Lausanne, Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne 4
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève 46
Engelberg, Stiftsbibliothek 55
Sarnen, Benediktinerkollegium 10
Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque publique et universitaire de Neuchâtel 7
Trogen, Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden 12
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek 519
Solothurn, Domschatz der St.-Ursen-Kathedrale 3
Schlatt, Eisenbibliothek 1
Fribourg/Freiburg, Couvent des Cordeliers/Franziskanerkloster 11
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer 118
Flawil, Gemeinde Flawil 2
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina 12
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek 13
Frauenfeld, Kantonsbibliothek Thurgau 16
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque du Valais 2
Orselina, Convento della Madonna del Sasso 4
Luzern, Provinzarchiv Schweizer Kapuziner Luzern 1
Aarau, Staatsarchiv Aargau 6
Beromünster, Stiftskirche St. Michael 2
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek 65
Schaffhausen, Stadtbibliothek 16
Zürich, Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum 5
St. Gallen, Stiftsarchiv (Abtei Pfäfers) 10
Bremgarten, Stadtarchiv Bremgarten 1
Sarnen, Staatsarchiv Obwalden 1
Schaffhausen, Staatsarchiv 5
Torre, Archivio parrocchiale 2
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek 15
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum 14
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung 18
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek 10
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek 46
Luzern, Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek 15
Zofingen, Stadtbibliothek 2

Manuscrits suisses à l'étranger

Pays Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
Allemagne Überlingen, Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek 2
Autriche St. Paul in Kärnten, Stiftsbibliothek St. Paul im Lavanttal 1

Parties de manuscrits à l'étranger

Pays Lieu, Bibliothèque Manuscrits
France Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France 1
États-Unis Cleveland, The Cleveland Museum of Art 1
Russie St. Petersburg, National Library of Russia 1
    Nombre de manuscrits affichés: 20 50 100 tous

Nombre total de manuscrits: 519, affichés: 421 – 440

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 730

Parchemin · 88 pp. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Bobbio(?) · 670/680

Edictus Rothari (Veterum Fragmentorum Tomus III)

Le plus ancien manuscrit conservé de l'Edictus Rothari fragmentaire, recueil de lois du peuple des Lombards, édictées par le roi Rothari (636-652) en 643. Le plus ancien manuscrit datant de 670/680 et provenant de Bobbio, conservé uniquement sous forme de fragments à la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall, à la Badischen Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe ainsi qu'à la Zentralbibliothek de Zürich. La plus grande partie des fragments, qui fut reliée en un volume, en 1822, par le bibliothécaire de la Stiftsbibliothek, Ildefons von Arx, se trouve dans la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall. En 1972, les fragments de parchemin de l’Edictus-Rhotari de la Stifstbibliothek de Saint-Gall furent réunis dans un nouveau volume, non sans risque pour la conservation, avec des photos en noir-blanc à l’extérieur. De cet ancien Cod. Sang. 730a furent tirées, en 2008, par le restaurateur Martin Strebel, les photographies et, en même temps, le manuscrit, si important pour l’histoire du droit, put être à nouveau relié, selon les plus récentes connaissances de la restauration de livres, grâce à la prise en charge des frais par le cercle des amis de la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.07.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 730 (alt)

Parchemin · 88 pp. · 20.5 x 14 cm · Bobbio(?) · 670/680

Edictus Rothari (Veterum Fragmentorum Tomus III)

Le plus ancien manuscrit conservé de l'Edictus Rothari fragmentaire, recueil de lois du peuple des Lombards, édictées par le roi Rothari (636-652) en 643. Le plus ancien manuscrit datant de 670/680 et provenant de Bobbio (?), conservé seulement sous forme de fragments à la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall, à la Badischen Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe ainsi qu'à la Zentralbibliothek de Zürich. [Restauré] La plus grande partie des fragments, qui fut reliée en un volume, en 1822, par le bibliothécaire de la Stiftsbibliothek Ildefons von Arx, se trouve dans la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall. Cette version du manuscrit de l’Edictus-Rothari, en vigueur de 1972 à 2008, contient –disposées virtuellement aux bons emplacements du volume de fragments de Saint-Gall- les photographies de tous les fragments de l’Edictus-Rothari qui se trouvent à Karlsruhe et Zürich, provenant du manuscrit du VIIe s. jadis complet. En raison du démembrement du manuscrit original, intervenu au plus tard après le milieu du XVe s., d’importantes pertes de feuillets sont survenues et des lacunes sont apparues dans le texte. La version restaurée est accessible par le lien suivant : Cod. Sang. 730. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 731

Parchemin · 342 pp. · 22.5 x 13 cm · Lyon · 794

Lex Romana Visigothorum, Lex Salica, Lex Alamannorum

Manuscrit de Wandalgarius, contenant des copies de la Lex Romana Visigothorum, de la Lex Salica et de la Lex Alamannorum. Manuscrit significatif, écrit en 793, orné d'un grand nombre d'initiales colorées et d'une miniature représentant un législateur paré d'un diadème, par le clerc Wandalgarius à Lyon. Il contient les lois des Goths de l'ouest (Lex Romana Visigothorum), des Francs saliques (Lex Salica) et des Alamans (Lex Alamannorum). Le plus ancien manuscrit daté précisément de la Bibilothèque de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 732

Parchemin · 194 pp. · 19 x 14 cm · Bavière (?) · 1er quart du IXe siècle

Manuscrit composite: Lex Alamannorum; collection d’anciens pélerinages à Jérusalem; traité sur l’Ascension de Marie; liste des peuples francs; des interprétations de la profession de foi et les dites Annales Sancti Galli breves etc.

Manuscrit composite du premier quart du IXe siècle, écrit probablement en Bavière. Le codex contient, entre autre, une copie de la Lex Alamannorum (lois de la tribu des Alamans), une importante collection d’anciens pélerinages à Jérusalem, parmi eux l’Itinerarium Burdigalense, itinéraire du pélerinage de Bordeaux à Rome, en 333/34, un traité sur l’Ascension de Marie, une liste des peuples francs, des interprétations de la profession de foi et les dites Annales Sancti Galli breves, couvrant les années 703 à 869. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 733

Parchemin · 46 ff. · 18.0-18.5 x 11.0-11.5 cm · Allemagne du Sud-Ouest · 1er quart du IXe siècle

Collection de capitulaire du temps de Charlemagne

Manuscrit utilitaire de petit format, contenant une collection de capitulaire du temps de Charlemagne. Il contient une très bonne version, tantôt la meilleure, tantôt la seule, de plusieurs édits promulgués par Charlemagne entre 779 et 789, entre autre, le Capitulaire de Herstal de 779 et la célèbre Admonitio generalis de 789. Remarquable reliure carolingienne d’origine. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 742

Parchemin · 594 pp. · 45-45.5 x 28-29 cm · Italie et France (enluminure) · deuxième moitié du XIIIe et deuxième moitié du XIVe siècle

Copie en grand format de la Décrétale du Pape Grégoire IX promulguée en 1234

Copie représentative de la Décrétale du pape Grégoire IX (pape de 1227 à 1241), écrite dans une écriture gothique ronde italienne. Le texte de la Décrétale est entouré de ladite Glossa Ordinaria, un commentaire juridique du canoniste Bernardo de Botone de Parma († 1266), écrit autour du texte principal. Ce commentaire a été plus tard fortement remanié et glosé. Le début de chacune des cinq parties dont est subdivisé le texte, est orné d’une représentation scénique de son contenu. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.03.2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 751

Parchemin · 500 pp. · 27.5-28 x 18-18.5 cm · probablement nord de l’Italie · 2e moitié du IXe siècle

Compendium de 39 textes médicaux

Compendium de 39 textes médicaux, d’auteurs connus et inconnus, écrit dans la seconde moitié du IXe siècle, probablement dans le nord de l’Italie, mais parvenu déjà très tôt dans la bibliothèque de l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. Dans ce codex, se trouvent –dans l’unique version pour une partie- un glossaire grec-latin des plantes, par ordre alphabétique, le traité „De re medica“ d’un Pseudo-Pline (Physica Plinii) et un plus long traité médical, appelé „Liber Esculapii“. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 23.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 752

Parchemin · 326 pp. · 25 x 19 cm · Saint Gall · vers 900

Manuscrit médical composite: chapitre de Pline le Jeune sur la médecine; Gargilius Martialis, Medicinae ex oleribus et pomis; traité Oxea et chronia passiones Yppocratis, Gallieni et Urani; etc.

Manuscrit médical composite de l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall, écrit vers 900, contenant la meilleure version ou l’unique au monde de cinq traités de médecine et de pharmacopée. Parmi eux, se trouvent, par exemple, le chapitre de Pline le Jeune sur la médecine, l’ouvrage Medicinae ex oleribus et pomis (Remèdes extraits des légumes et des fruits) de l’auteur Gargilius Martialis (IIIe siècle) ou le traité Oxea et chronia passiones Yppocratis, Gallieni et Urani, qui n’est transmis que par peu de manuscrits. Dans le manuscrit, à la page 82, se trouve une sphère magique de l’attente de la vie et de la mort. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 09.12.2008

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 759

Parchemin · 94 ff. · 21.5 x 16.5 cm · première moitié du IXe siècle

Mansucrit composite médical

Collection de dix traités médicaux différents, écrite dans la première moitié du IXe s. dans une écriture insulaire, probablement celtique, sous influence continentale. Entre les ordonnances (à la page 91) une bénédiction avec signe de la croix avec la fonction d'"une lettre de protection contre les tentations du diable et la fièvre". Le manuscrit contient, par exemple, des extraits du "Conspectus ad Eusthatium filiu" du médecin de l’Antiquité tardive Oribase (IVe s. ap. JC.), l’"Epistula de febribus" du médecin grec Galène († 216 ap. JC.) ou un "Liber medicinalis" d’un auteur inconnu. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 761

Parchemin · 290 pp. · 13.5 x 10 cm · vers 800

Mansucrit composite médical

Mansucrit composite médical de petit format, contenant des extraits des oeuvres du médecin antique grec Hippocrate (vers 460-370 av. JC.), de Galien (vers 129-vers 216) et d’Oribasius ( vers 320-400), écrit en minuscule insulaire (?), vers 800, pas à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 762

Parchemin · 278 pp. · 19.5 x 12.5-13 cm · Italie (?) · vers 800

Manuscrit composite; Anthimus, De observatione ciborum

Compendium de petit format contenant dix textes médicaux, écrit peu après 800 dans un scriptorium inconnu, probablement en Italie. Dans ce codex se trouve aussi le traité du médecin grec Anthimus en forme de lettres à Théodoric (De observatione ciborum). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.07.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 775

Papier · 266 pp. · 22 x 15.5 cm · XIVe siècle (28.8.1374)

Manuscrit composite de contenu scholastique, avec entre autres le catalogue de la bibliothèque de l’Abbaye de Heiligenkreuz du XIVe s.

Le manuscrit, au contenu essentiellement scholastique du milieu de l’université de Paris, est conservé dans sa reliure souple originelle. Il contient entre autres une liste alphabétique des sentences de Pierre Lombard, aux p. 107-122 le catalogue du XIVe s. de la bibliothèque de l’Abbaye de Heiligkreuz en Basse Autriche, conservé uniquement dans ce codex, le Quaestiones parvorum librorum naturalium du philosophe et logicien français Jean Buridan (Johannes Buridanus; † peu après 1358; p. 121-253), en lien avec les textes correspondants d’Aristote (Parva naturalia), œuvre achevée en août 1374, et la Collectio errorum in Anglia et Parisiis condemnatorum (p. 254-264). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2012

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 806

Papier · 420 pp. · 29 x 20 cm · Suisse (?) · 1500/1550

Le manuscrit- „Dracula“ de Saint-Gall

Manuscrit composite contenant principalement des textes historiographiques et hagiographiques. Les textes furent écrits entre 1450 et 1550 et reliés en 1573 en un volume par le moine de Saint-Gall, Maurice Enk. En plus d’un Dialogus de sectis anonyme, de nombreux récits hagiographiques en allemand, d’extraits de la Chronique de Strasbourg de Jacques Twinger de Königshofen ou de décrets synodaux de Constance de 1491, le manuscrit contient sur les pages 283 à 288 – sans titre et commençant presque sans aucune interruption avec la fin du texte précédent– 30 brefs récits, mis par écrit en 1500, sur les atrocités commises par le souverain de Valachie Wlad III Tepes (l’Empâleur, 1431-1476), qui, en tant que membre de l’Ordre du Dragon, portait aussi le surnom de Dracul. Ce texte sur Dracula n’est transmis que par trois autres manuscrits : de la bibliothèque de l’Abbaye de Lambach en Haute-Autriche, de la British Library à London et de la Bibliothèque Municipale de Colmar. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 31.03.2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 817

Parchemin · 345 pp. · 25.9 x 19.4 cm · St. Gall (partiellement) · XIe siècle

Aristoteles. Boethius. Remmius Favinus (?)

Copie des Catégories (Categoriae) et de l’Herméneutique (De interpretatione) d’Aristote en langue latine, suivie des commentaires de Boèce. Entre les deux oeuvres est transcrit le poème de Remmius Favinus (?) sur les poids et mesures De ponderibus et mensuris. Le manuscrit, orné de trois belles initiales (p. 44, 203 et 221), fut écrit au XIe s., mais seulement partiellement à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 15.04.2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 818

Parchemin · 296 pp. · 27 x 19.2 cm · Saint-Gall · XIe siècle

Aristote, Catégorie, Herméneutique; Cicéron, Topica, De optimo genere oratorum

Copie des Catégories (Categoriae) et de l’Herméneutique d’Aristote dans la version latine commentée par Boèce, avec une traduction et un commentaire en vieil allemand du moine de Saint-Gall et érudit, Notker le Germanique († 1022); écrit au XIe s. à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall. Le manuscrit contient entre autre la copie de deux oeuvres de Cicéron: Topica et De optimo genere oratorum. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 15.04.2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 820

Parchemin · 88 pp. · 27.7/28.2 x 21/21.5 cm · Saint-Gall · IX. - X. siècle

Bœtius in Periermenias Aristotelis. Cicero, De inventione libri II; et alia.

Manuscrit scolaire de l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall avec des textes sur les branches d’enseignement de la dialectique et de la rhétorique. Le manuscrit transmet des copies du commentaire de Boèce sur les catégories et l’herméneutique d’Aristote, un extrait du traité de rhétorique d’Alcuin († 804), avec de nombreuses représentations schématiques ainsi qu’une copie du De inventione et du De optimo genere oratorum de Cicéron. Les textes furent écrits vers la fin du IXe et au Xe s. et contiennent un grand nombre de gloses en latin et ancien allemand ainsi que de nombreuses gloses à la pointe sèche, du Xe jusqu’au XIIe s. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 21.12.2009

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 821

Parchemin · I + 96 + I pp. · 27.6 x 18.1 cm · Saint-Gall · XIe siècle

Boèce, commentaire aux Catégories d'Aristote; Ovide

Manuscrit d’usage courant, dépourvu de décoration, contenant le commentaire de Boèce aux Catégories (Categoriae) d’Aristote. Il fut écrit à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall au XIe s. Sur les trois dernières pages, est transcrit le début du De arte amandi d’Ovide. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 15.04.2010

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 825

Parchemin · 342 pp. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · Saint Gall · première moitié du XIe siècle

Boethius, De consolatione philosophiae

Texte latin, traduction en haut allemand et commentaire du De consolatione philosophiae (De la consolation de la philosophie) de Boèce par le moine de Saint-Gall, Notker le Germanique (1022). La seule version conservée de la première moitié du XIe siècle ; manuscrit incomplet de Notker, contenant une traduction et une étude des Categoriae (Catégories) d'Anicius Manlius Severinus Boethius (480-524). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 12.12.2006

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 827

Papier · 342 pp. · 29.5 x 21 cm · Région du lac de Constance · 1425/28

Manuscrit composite de la fin du Moyen-âge de contenu computistique et astronomique

Le manuscrit composite, écrit entre 1425 et 1428 dans la région du lac de Constance mais non à l’Abbaye de Saint-Gall, contient un grand nombre de traités computistiques, astronomiques et cosmographiques en langue latine, parmi lesquels l’œuvre très diffusée le De sphaera mundi de Jean de Sacrobosco et son œuvre de base d’arithmétique le Tractatus de algorismo. Le manuscrit qui commence par un calendrier, contient aussi quelques illustrations, comme les douze signes du zodiaque, une carte des vents, des dessins de l’écliptique du soleil et de la lune, les constellations de planètes et d’étoiles, un homme aux points de saignée, une carte du monde ronde qui rappelle les cartes T-O du début du Moyen-âge et (aux pp. 265 et 266) douze images simples des mois, avec des brèves légendes versifiées en allemand, inspirées de la vie quotidienne des hommes de la fin du Moyen-Age imprégnée par la nature et l’agriculture. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 04.10.2011

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 828

Papier · 453 pp. · 20-20.5 x 14.5-15 cm · Suisse orientale · 1402 et 1459

Volume composite à contenu pastoral

Le volume contient le Manuale confessorum du moine dominicain Johannes Nider, né à Isny, plus tard actif à Nuremberg et à Vienne (p. 3-124), les Problemata Aristotelis d’Albert le Grand, une oeuvre également connue sous le titre de De generatione et corruptione (p. 129-168), le second livre de la Physique aristotélicienne In librum secundum physicorum (p. 169-212), le traité De constellacione [siderum] in nativitate (p. 212-213), la collection d’exempla de la fin du Moyen Age Gesta Romanorum (p. 258-453). Le texte sur les pages 129-213 est daté de 1459. Les pages 259-453 ont été achevées par le scribe, Konrad Heinrich von Tettnang, le 30 août 1402. (dor)

En ligne depuis: 13.12.2013
Accueil Informations News Contact Protection des données © 2014 e-codices