Documents: 685, displayed: 41 - 60

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek

The Abbey Library of St. Gall is one of the oldest monastic libraries in the world; it is the most important part of St. Gall’s Abbey district UNESCO world heritage site. The library’s valuable holdings illustrate the development of European culture and document the cultural achievements of the Monastery of St. Gall from the 7th century until the dissolution of the Abbey in the year 1805. The core of the library is its manuscript collection with its preeminent corpus of Carolingian-Ottonian manuscripts (8th to 11th century), a significant collection of incunabula and an accumulated store of printed works from the 16th century to the present day. The Abbey Library of St. Gall was a co-founder of the project e-codices. With its famous Baroque hall, where temporary exhibitions are hosted, the Abbey Library of St. Gall is one of the most visited museums in Switzerland.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 52
Parchment · 286 pp. · 29.2/29.6 x 19.4/19.8 cm · area of Lyon · first half of the 9th century
Evangelary

Latin Evangelary with preceding prologues, arguments and canonical tables, produced during the first half of the 9th century in the area of Lyon. Fragments of the Edictum Rothari (Cod. Sang. 730) were found in this manuscript and removed during the first half of the 20th century. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 53
Parchment · 154 ff. · 39.5 x 23.2 cm · St. Gall · around 895
Evangelium longum (Evangelistary)

The Evangelium Longum, a world-class work created by the St. St. Gall monks Sintram (text) and Tuotilo (binding). (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 54
Parchment · 185 pp. · 30.3 x 21.2 cm · St. Gall · around 900
Gundis Evangelistary

The Gundis Gospel-Book, one of the most splendid liturgical manuscripts of the monastery of St. Gall, containing a monumental "Maria" monogram. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 56
Parchment · 342 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · Fulda · first half of the 9th century
Tatian's Gospel Harmony

The Latin / Old High German "Tatian" manuscript. The life of Jesus as a continuous text, compiled from the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John with extracts from the Acts of the Apostles. Most comprehensive text of the Old High German time, translated in the monastery of Fulda by order of St. Gall. Foundation of Old High German grammar. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 60
Parchment · 70 pp. · 27 x 18.5 cm · 8th century
Evangelium S. Johannis

An Irish copy of John's Gospel, bound in ivory diptychs for presentation to Charles the Great as a gift for his coronation. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 61
Parchment · 344 pp. · 25.5 x 17–18 cm · St. Gall (?) · 12th/13th century
Bible (Jn, Mk) with Glossa ordinaria

This volume consists of three codices that were bound together. The first two (pp. 184 and 85228) contain the Gospel of John, the third (pp. 229342) the Gospel of Mark, each with the so-called Prologus monarchianus (Stegmüller, Repertorium Biblicum, No. 624: pp. 12 and 8688; Stegmüller, RB 607: pp. 229232) and Glossa ordinaria. In the first codex, the Gospel text abruptly ends in the middle of a sentence on p. 84 in Jn 21,2; only Jn 1,1–8,24 are glossed. In the second codex, Jn 1,1–20,25 is glossed. While the first and third codices are from the 12th century, the second is somewhat later (12th/13th century). The last pages of the third codex also are later (13th century: glosses from p. 315, main text from p. 319). There is a zoomorphic initial (dragon) on p. 3 and an initial in minium on p. 229. Fragments of 10th century manuscripts were used to line the back. On the inside of the front cover, there is an imprint of a manuscript fragment, and on the back pastedown there is a late medieval note of ownership for St. Gall Abbey. (sno)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 63
Parchment · 160+1 ff. · 22.3 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall (?) · late 9th or early 10th century
Epistolae Pauli. Actus Apostolorum. Epistolae catholicae. Apocalypsis.

A copy of the letters of Paul the Apostle, the Acts of the Apostles, the Catholic Letters (3 letters by John, 2 by Peter, one by James and one by Jude) and the Apocalypse, written around the end of the end of the 9th or the beginning of the 10th century, likely at the Abbey of St. Gall. On the insides of the covers, imprints of fragmental portions of the Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394) and the Vulgate version of the Gospels (Cod. Sang. 1395) are visible. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 64
Parchment · 418 pp. · 21.4 x 16.7 cm · St. Gall · third quarter of the 9th century
Bible (Epistles of Paul); Alcuin; Apuleius

A copy of the Pauline Epistles with a miniature of Paul the Apostle, preaching in front of a great number of Jews and pagans, copies of Alcuin's works "De dialectica" and "De rhetorica" and of the work "Peri hermeneias" of Apuleius of Madaura (?), written in the monastery of St. Gall in the second half of the 9th century, with amendments from the 11th century. (smu)

Online Since: 09/14/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 65
Parchment · 216 pp. · 15.2-15.3 x 22-22.1 cm; 15.3 x 22.2 cm · St. Gall · 10th century and 12th century
Somnium Scipionis. Commentum Macrobii in somnium Scipionis. Epistolæ VII catholicæ.

A composite manuscript with two unrelated parts: 1) an incomplete copy of the Somnium Scipionis section of the work De re publica by Marcus Tullius Cicero, written in the Abbey of St. Gall during the 10th century, followed by a 10th century St. Gall copy of the commentary originally written by the Roman author Macrobius of late antiquity in about 430/440 and widely disseminated during the middle ages. A fragment of this manuscript may also be found in Cod. Voss.lat.qu. 33 (fol. 58) in the library of the Rijksuniversiteit in Leiden; 2) a St. Gall copy of the seven Catholic Letters (3 written by John, 2 by Peter, one by James, one by Jude) with a learned scholarly commentary from the 12th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 66
Parchment · 64 pp. · 23.5–24 x 15–15.5 cm · St. Gall (?) · 12th century
Epistolae catholicae with Glossa ordinaria

Copy of the Catholic epistles with the Glossa ordinaria: Jerome’s prologue to the Epistle of James, Stegmüller, Repertorium Biblicum, No. 809 (p. 4), Epistle of James (pp. 5-19), First Epistle of Peter (pp. 19-34), Second Epistle of Peter (pp. 34-43), First Epistle of John (pp. 43-57), Second Epistle of John (pp. 57-59), Third Epistle of John (pp. 59-61), Epistle of Jude (pp. 61-64). Pages 1 and 2 contain more introductory texts, by various hands, on the Epistle of James, among them the prologue by Jerome (Stegmüller, RB 808), excerpts from Jerome, ep. 53 (Stegmüller, RB 807), an anonymous prologue to the Epistle of James (Stegmüller, RB 806) and various other texts related, in the broadest sense, to the Glossa ordinaria (mentioned by Stegmüller, RB 11846, as having survived only in this manuscript). P. 2 also contains the first 3 stanzas of the sequence for St. John the Evangelist Verbum dei deo natum. (sno)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 67
Parchment · 4 + 216 + 2 pp. · 21-23 x 14-15 cm · 12th century
Epistolae Pauli with Glossa ordinaria

Copy of the Pauline Epistles with the Glossa ordinaria: Epistle to the Romans (pp. 344), First Epistle to the Corinthians (pp. 4478), Second Epistle to the Corinthians (pp. 78106), Epistle to the Galatians (pp. 106121), Epistle to the Ephesians (pp. 121136), Epistle to the Philippians (pp. 136146), Epistle to the Colossians (pp. 146156), First Epistle to the Thessalonians (pp. 156164), Second Epistle to Timothy (pp. 165172), Epistle to Titus (pp. 172177), Epistle to Philemon (pp. 177179), Epistle to the Hebrews (pp. 179214). The Second Epistle to the Thessalonians and the First Epistle to Timothy are missing (loss of a quire).The beginning of the Epistle to the Romans (Rm 1, 1–20) appears on pp. 1-2 already, also with the Glossa ordinaria. The decoration consists of initials with scroll ornamentation in the same ink as the text on pp. 3, 44, 106, 146, 172, 177 and 179. On the last leaf (p. 215-216), presumably formerly a pastedown, there is the sequence De sancto Nicolao by Adam of Saint Victor with diastematic neume notation on staff lines incised with a stylus. This notation, not customary in St. Gall, argues against the manuscript’s having been produced at the St. Gall monastery. (sno)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 68
Parchment · 406 pp. · 23 x 16.5 cm · St. Gall · third quarter ofthe 9th century
Bible (Job, Tob, Jdt, Esth, Prol. Ezra; Epst. Paul)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Job, Tobit, Judith, Esther and the prologue of the book Ezra) as well as the Pauline Epistles: a volume of the so-called "Kleine Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 69
Parchment · 448 pp. · 18–19 x 25.5–26.5 cm · St. Gall (?) · 12th and 12th/13th century
Bible (Pauline epistles with Glossa ordinaria); Augustine and others, Sermones; Adso of Montier-en-Der, De antichristo; Peter Abelard, Sententiae

Two codices in one volume. The first codex (pp. 1-288; early 12th century) contains the Pauline epistles with the Glossa ordinaria and four prologues: anonymous prologue, Stegmüller, Repertorium biblicum, No. 11086 (p. 1), prologue by Pelagius (?), Stegmüller, RB 670 (pp. 12), prologue by Pelagius, Stegmüller, RB 674 (pp. 23), prologue by Marcion, Stegmüller, RB 677 (p. 3). P. 3 also contains excerpts from the Decretum Gratiani (D. 28 c. 17), the Concilium BracarenseII, can. 2, and one more canonical text. This is followed by the Pauline epistles in the customary order (pp. 5-287), including the apocryphal Epistle to the Laodiceans (pp. 216-218). The second codex (pp. 288-448; 12th century; from p. 417 on 12th/13th century) primarily contains excerpts from sermons and other works by Jerome (pp. 289374 and 386387), interposed with more sermons (pp. 382386, 387403 and 408415) and other works, in part only as excerpts: Grimlaicus, Regula solitariorum, cap. 3–5 and 31–34 (p. 374381); anon., De consanguinitate BMV (pp. 403407); Gregory of Tours, Miracula 1, 31–32 (on St. Thomas; pp. 407408); Amalarius of Metz, Ordinis missae expositio I, prologue and cap. 17 (pp. 415416); excerpt from Gregory the Great, Regula pastoralis, cap. 12 (p. 416); Peter Abelard, Sententiae 1–60 and 102–247 (pp. 417448). The front and back covers show imprints of fragments from a 10th century missal. (sno)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 70
Parchment · 258 pp. · 29 x 20.5 cm · St. Gall · 760-780
Pauline Epistles with prologue to the Epistle to the Romans

Winithar's copy of the Pauline Epistles – Winithar's address to his fellow monks. (smu)

Online Since: 09/14/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 72
Parchment · 336 pp. · 29.7/29.9 x 24.7/25.1 cm · St. Gall · middle of the 9th century
Epistolæ Pauli. Acta Apostolorum. Epistolæ catholicæ. Apokalypsis.

Copies of the Epistles of Paul, the Acts of the Apostles, the Catholic Letters (3 by John, 2 by Peter, one by James, one by Jude) and the Apocalypse, written and decorated with several initials sometime in the middle of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Parchment · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul

A commentary by Pseudo-Jerome on the Epistles of Paul. This manuscript, produced by the Cloister of St. Gall in the 9th century, is significant in terms of textual history study. Pages 231 through 260 contain the oldest commentary on the Letter to the Hebrews, composed by Irish theologians from the circle of Pelagius during the 7th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 74
Parchment · 300 pp. · 38-38.5 x 26 cm · 12th century
Bible (Apc, Epistolae catholicae, Io), with Glossa ordinaria

Copy of New Testament books with prologues and Glossa ordinaria: Gilbertus Porretanus, prologue to the Apocalypse, Stegmüller RB 839 (pp. 24), Apocalypse (pp. 481), prologue to the catholic epistles, Stegmüller RB 809 and 11846 (p. 82), Epistle of James (pp. 8399), First Epistle of Peter (pp. 99115), Second Epistle of Peter (pp. 115126), First Epistle of John (pp. 126141), Second Epistle of John (pp. 141143), Third Epistle of John (pp. 143145), Epistle of Jude (pp. 145150), prologue to the Gospel of John, Stegmüller RB 624 (pp. 151153), Gospel of John (pp. 154300). At the beginning of the chapters (p. 2, 4, 83, 126, 141, 145, 151, 154), there are initials stretching over several lines executed in minium with blue, green and light yellow, in part with figurative elements (p. 83 and 145: animal head and animal mask; p. 126: quadruped; p. 143: billy goat; p. 154: dragon). In the margin on p. 99, there is a depiction of the Apostle Peter with the keys. (sno)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 75
Parchment · 840 pp. · 55 x 40 cm · Tours, Abbey St. Martin · 9th century
Biblia latina Vet. et Novi Testamenti

The earliest complete extant pandect of Alcuin from the abbey of St. Martin at Tours. (smu)

Online Since: 12/31/2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 76
Parchment · 858 (822) pp. · 34.4 x 48.3 cm · St. Gall (?) · 12th century
Biblia latina utriusque Testamenti

Complete Bible in large-format, only the Psalms and the Book of Baruch are not included. The individual books are introduced by initials in red ink over several lines (e.g., p. 3). The inside of the back cover shows imprints of pages in uncial script, probably a 5th century version of a Vetus Latina. (sno)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 77
Parchment · 482 pp. · 46.5 x 35 cm · St. Gall · around 850-860
Bible (Gen, Ex, Lev, Num, Deut, Josh, Judg, Ruth)

Bible manuscript from the time of Hartmut, Vice-abbot ca. 850-872 and Abbot 872-883, containing books of the Old Testament (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges and Ruth). The first volume of the so-called "Grosse Hartmut-Bibel". (smu)

Online Since: 12/12/2006

Documents: 685, displayed: 41 - 60

Dokumente: 695, angezeigt: 41 - 60

St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek

Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen ist eine der ältesten Klosterbibliotheken der Welt und der wichtigste Teil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes Stiftsbezirk St. Gallen. Ihr wertvoller Bestand zeigt die Entwicklung der europäischen Kultur und dokumentiert die kulturelle Leistung des Klosters St. Gallen vom 7. Jahrhundert bis zur Aufhebung der Abtei im Jahr 1805. Das Herzstück der Bibliothek bilden die Handschriftensammlung mit ihrem herausragenden Korpus karolingisch-ottonischer Manuskripte (8. bis 11. Jahrhundert), eine bedeutende Sammlung von Inkunabeln und ein gewachsener Bestand an Druckwerken vom 16. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Das Projekt e-codices wurde von der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen mtbegründet. Mit dem berühmten Barocksaal, in dem Wechselausstellungen gezeigt werden, gehört die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen zu den bestbesuchten Museen der Schweiz.

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 51
Pergament · 268 pp. · 29.5 x 22.5 cm · Irland · um 750
Irisches Evangeliar von St. Gallen (Quatuor evangelia)

Das irische Evangeliar von St. Gallen. Evangelientexte nach Matthäus, Markus, Lukas und Johannes, illustriert mit zwölf Schmuckzierseiten, von irischen Mönchen um 750 in Irland geschrieben und illuminiert. Die schönste irische Handschrift in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 52
Pergament · 286 pp. · 29.2/29.6 x 19.4/19.8 cm · Gegend von Lyon · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangeliar

Lateinisches Evangeliar mit vorangehenden Prologen, Argumenta und Kanontafeln, geschrieben in der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts in der Gegend von Lyon. In dieser Handschrift wurden Fragmentstücke des Edictum Rothari (Cod. Sang. 730) gefunden und in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts herausgelöst. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 53
Pergament · 154 ff. · 39.5 x 23.2 cm · St. Gallen · um 895
Evangelium longum (Evangelistar)

Das Evangelium longum, ein Werk von Weltrang, geschaffen von den St. Galler Mönchen Sintram (Schrift) und Tuotilo (Einband) (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 54
Pergament · 185 pp. · 30.3 x 21.2 cm · St. Gallen · um 900
Gundis-Evangelistar

Das Gundis-Evangelistar, eine der glanzvollsten liturgischen Handschriften aus dem Kloster St. Gallen mit einem monumentalen Maria-Monogramm. (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 56
Pergament · 342 pp. · 34 x 26 cm · Fulda · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Evangelienharmonie des Tatian

Die lateinisch-althochdeutsche "Tatian"-Handschrift. Das Leben Jesu, aus den Evangelien des Matthäus, Markus, Lukas und Johannes sowie der Apostelgeschichte zu einem fortlaufenden Text zusammengestellt. Umfangreichster Text der althochdeutschen Zeit, als Auftragsarbeit St. Gallens im Kloster Fulda übersetzt. Grundlage der althochdeutschen Grammatik. (smu)

Online seit: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 60
Pergament · 70 pp. · 27 x 18.5 cm · 8. Jahrhundert
Evangelium S. Johannis

Das irische Johannes-Evangelium, eingebunden mit Elfenbein-Diptychen, die Karl der Grosse zu seiner Kaiserkrönung 800 erhielt. (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 61
Pergament · 344 pp. · 25.5 x 17–18 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 12./13. Jahrhundert
Bibel (Io, Mc) mit Glossa ordinaria

In diesem Band sind drei Codices zusammengebunden. Die beiden ersten (p. 184 und 85228) enthalten das Johannesevangelium, der dritte (p. 229342) das Markusevangelium, jeweils mit dem sog. Prologus monarchianus (Stegmüller, Repertorium Biblicum, Nr. 624: p. 12 und 8688; Stegmüller, RB 607: p. 229232) und Glossa ordinaria. Im ersten Codex bricht der Evangelientext auf p. 84 in Io 21,2 mitten im Satz ab; glossiert ist nur Io 1,1–8,24. Im zweiten Codex ist Io 1,1–20,25 glossiert. Während der erste und dritte Codex aus dem 12. Jahrhundert stammen, ist der zweite etwas später (12./13. Jahrhundert). Die letzten Seiten des dritten Codex sind ebenfalls später (13. Jahrhundert: Glossierung ab p. 315, Haupttext ab p. 319). Auf p. 3 eine zoomorphe Initiale (Drache), auf p. 229 eine Spaltleisteninitiale in Minium. Als Rückenhinterklebung wurden Handschriftenfragmente des 10. Jahrhunderts verwendet. Auf der Innenseite des Vorderdeckels Abklatsch eines Handschriftenfragments. Spätmittelalterlicher Besitzeintrag des Klosters St. Gallen auf dem hinteren Spiegelblatt. (sno)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 63
Pergament · 160+1 ff. · 22.3 x 19.2 cm · St. Gallen (?) · spätes 9. oder frühes 10. Jahrhundert
Epistolae Pauli. Actus Apostolorum. Epistolae catholicae. Apocalypsis.

Abschrift der Briefe des Apostels Paulus, der Apostelgeschichte, der Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) und der Apokalypse, geschrieben gegen Ende des 9. oder zu Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts wahrscheinlich im Kloster St. Gallen. Auf den Deckel-Innenseiten sind spiegelverkehrte Abklatsche von Fragment-Teilen des Vergilius Sangallensis (Cod. Sang. 1394) und der Vulgata-Version der Evangelien (Cod. Sang. 1395) zu sehen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 64
Pergament · 418 pp. · 21.4 x 16.7 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (Ep. Pauli); Alkuin; Apuleius

Abschrift der Paulus-Briefe mit einer Miniatur des vor einer grossen Zahl von Juden und Heiden predigenden Apostels Paulus, Abschriften von Alkuins Werken „De dialectica“ und „De rhetorica“ und des Werks „Peri hermeneias“ des Apuleius von Madaura (?), geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts und ergänzt im 11. Jahrhundert (smu)

Online seit: 14.09.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 65
Pergament · 216 pp. · 15.2-15.3 x 22-22.1 cm; 15.3 x 22.2 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert und 12. Jahrhundert
Somnium Scipionis. Commentum Macrobii in somnium Scipionis. Epistolæ VII catholicæ.

Sammelhandschrift mit zwei voneinander unabhängigen Teilen: 1) unvollständige Abschrift des Teils Somnium Scipionis aus dem Werk De re publica des Marcus Tullius Cicero, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 10. Jahrhundert, anschliessend, ebenfalls im 10. Jahrhundert im Galluskloster geschrieben, der dazu um 430/440 geschaffene, im Mittelalter weit verbreitete Kommentar des spätantiken römischen Schriftstellers Macrobius. Ein Fragmentstück aus dieser Handschrift befindet sich im Cod. Voss. lat. qu. 33 (fol. 58) in der Bibliotheek der Rijksuniversiteit in Leiden, 2) St. Galler Abschrift der sieben Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) mit einem gelehrten wissenschaftlichen Kommentar aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 66
Pergament · 64 pp. · 23.5–24 x 15–15.5 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 12. Jahrhundert
Epistolae catholicae mit Glossa ordinaria

Abschrift der Katholischen Briefe mit Glossa ordinaria: Prolog des Hieronymus zum Jakobusbrief, Stegmüller, Repertorium Biblicum, Nr. 809 (p. 4), Jakobusbrief (p. 519), 1. Petrusbrief (p. 1934), 2. Petrusbrief (p. 3443), 1. Johannesbrief (p. 4357), 2. Johannesbrief (p. 5759), 3. Johannesbrief (p. 5961), Judasbrief (p. 6164). Auf p. 1 und 2 von verschiedenen Händen weitere einführende Texte zum Jakobusbrief, u. a. der Prolog des Hieronymus (Stegmüller, RB 808), Auszüge aus Hieronymus, ep. 53 (Stegmüller, RB 807), ein anonymer Prolog zum Jakobusbrief (Stegmüller, RB 806) und andere im weitesten Sinne der Glossa ordinaria zugehörige Texte (erwähnt bei Stegmüller, RB 11846, als nur in dieser Handschrift überliefert). Ebenfalls auf p. 2 die ersten 3 Strophen der Johannes-Sequenz Verbum dei deo natum. (sno)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 67
Pergament · 4 + 216 + 2 pp. · 21-23 x 14-15 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Epistolae Pauli mit Glossa ordinaria

Abschrift der Paulusbriefe mit Glossa ordinaria: Römerbrief (p. 344), 1. Korintherbrief (p. 4478), 2. Korintherbrief (p. 78106), Galaterbrief (p. 106121), Epheserbrief (p. 121136), Philipperbrief (p. 136146), Kolosserbrief (p. 146156), 1. Thessalonicherbrief (p. 156164), 2. Timotheusbrief (p. 165172), Titusbrief (p. 172177), Philemonbrief (p. 177179), Hebräerbrief (p. 179214). Der 2. Thessalonicherbrief und der 1. Timotheusbrief fehlen (Verlust einer Lage). Auf p. 12 erscheint der Beginn der Römerbriefs (Rm 1, 1–20) bereits einmal, ebenfalls mit Glossa ordinaria. Der Buchschmuck besteht aus Spaltleisteninitialen in der Texttinte auf p. 3, 44, 106, 146, 172, 177 und 179. Auf dem letzten Blatt (p. 215/216), vermutlich einem ehemaligen Spiegelblatt, die Sequenz De sancto Nicolao des Adam von St. Victor mit diastematischer Neumennotation auf mit dem Griffel eingedrückten Notenlinien. Diese Notationsform, die in St. Gallen nicht üblich war, spricht eher gegen eine Entstehung der Handschrift im Kloster St. Gallen. (sno)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 68
Pergament · 406 pp. · 23 x 16.5 cm · St. Gallen · drittes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Bibel (Iob, Tb, Idt, Est, Prol. Esr; Ep. Pauli)

Bibelhandschrift aus der Zeit des Abt-Stellvertreters (ca. 850-872) und Abtes (872-883) Hartmut mit der Abschrift der alttestamentlichen Bücher Job, Tobias, Judith, Esther, dem Prolog zum Buch Esra sowie der Briefe des Apostels Paulus aus dem Neuen Testament. Band der so genannten Kleinen Hartmut-Bibel (smu)

Online seit: 12.12.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 69
Pergament · 448 pp. · 18–19 x 25.5–26.5 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 12. und 12./13. Jahrhundert
Bibel (Epistolae Pauli mit Glossa ordinaria); Augustinus u. a., Sermones; Adso von Montier-en-Der, De antichristo; Petrus Abaelard, Sententiae

Zwei Codices in einem Band. Der erste (p. 1288; frühes 12. Jh.) enthält die Paulusbriefe mit Glossa ordinaria und vier Prologen: anonymer Prolog, Stegmüller, Repertorium biblicum, Nr. 11086 (p. 1), Prolog des Pelagius (?), Stegmüller, RB 670 (p. 12), Prolog des Pelagius, Stegmüller, RB 674 (p. 23), Prolog des Marcion, Stegmüller, RB 677 (p. 3). Auf p. 3 ausserdem Auszüge aus dem Decretum Gratiani (D. 28 c. 17), dem Concilium Bracarense II, can. 2, und einem anderen kirchenrechtlichen Text. Es folgen die Paulusbriefe in der üblichen Reihenfolge (p. 5287), einschliesslich des apokryphen Laodizenerbriefs (p. 216218). Der zweite Codex (p. 288448; 12. Jh., ab p. 417 12./13. Jh.) enthält überwiegend Auszüge aus Predigten und anderen Werken des Hieronymus (p. 289374 und 386387), dazwischen weitere Predigten (p. 382386, 387403 und 408415) und andere Werke, teils nur in Auszügen: Grimlaicus, Regula solitariorum, cap. 3–5 und 31–34 (p. 374381); anon., De consanguinitate BMV (p. 403407); Gregor von Tours, Miracula 1, 31–32 (über den hl. Thomas; p. 407408); Amalarius von Metz, Ordinis missae expositio I, Prolog und cap. 17 (p. 415416); Exzerpt aus Gregor d. Gr., Regula pastoralis, cap. 12 (p. 416); Petrus Abaelard, Sententiae 1–60 und 102–247 (p. 417448). Auf dem Vorder- und Hinterdeckel Abklatsche von Fragmenten eines Missales aus dem 10. Jahrhundert. (sno)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 70
Pergament · 258 pp. · 29 x 20.5 cm · St. Gallen · 760-780
Paulusbriefe mit Prolog zum Römerbrief

Winithars Abschrift der Paulusbriefe - Winithars Ansprache an seine Mitbrüder (smu)

Online seit: 14.09.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 72
Pergament · 336 pp. · 29.7/29.9 x 24.7/25.1 cm · St. Gallen · Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Epistolæ Pauli. Acta Apostolorum. Epistolæ catholicæ. Apokalypsis.

Abschrift der Paulus-Briefe, der Apostelgeschichte, der Katholischen Briefe (3 Johannes-Briefe, 2 Petrus-Briefe, Jakobus-Brief, Judas-Brief) und der Apokalypse, geschrieben und mit einigen Initialen geschmückt um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 73
Pergament · 262 pp. · 35-35.5 x 25-25.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen

Pseudo-Hieronymus-Kommentar zu den Paulus-Briefen. Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert. Von Seite 231 bis Seite 260 ist auch der älteste Kommentar zum Brief an die Hebräer überliefert, der von irischen Theologen aus dem Umkreis des Pelagius wohl noch im 7. Jahrhundert verfasst wurde. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 74
Pergament · 300 pp. · 38-38.5 x 26 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Bibel (Apc, Epistolae catholicae, Io), mit Glossa ordinaria

Abschrift neutestamentlicher Bücher mit Prologen und Glossa ordinaria: Gilbertus Porretanus, Prolog zur Apokalypse, Stegmüller RB 839 (p. 24), Apokalypse (p. 481), Prologe zu den Katholischen Briefen, Stegmüller RB 809 und 11846 (p. 82), Jakobusbrief (p. 8399), 1. Petrusbrief (p. 99115), 2. Petrusbrief (p. 115126), 1. Johannesbrief (p. 126141), 2. Johannesbrief (p. 141143), 3. Johannesbrief (p. 143145), Judasbrief (p. 145150), Prolog zum Johannes-Evangelium, Stegmüller RB 624 (p. 151153), Johannesevangelium (p. 154300). Zu Beginn der Kapitel (p. 2, 4, 83, 126, 141, 145, 151, 154) mehrzeilige Initialen in Minium, mit Blau, Grün und Blassgelb, teilweise mit figürlichen Elementen (p. 83 und 145: Tierkopf und Tiermaske; p. 126: Vierbeiner; p. 143: Ziegenbock; p. 154: Drache). Auf p. 99 am Rand Darstellung des Apostels Petrus mit Schlüssel. (sno)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 75
Pergament · 840 pp. · 55 x 40 cm · Tours, Kloster St. Martin · 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina Vet. et Novi Testamenti

Die älteste vollständig erhaltene Vollbibel des Alkuin aus dem Martinskloster in Tours (smu)

Online seit: 31.12.2005

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 76
Pergament · 858 (822) pp. · 34.4 x 48.3 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 12. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina utriusque Testamenti

Grossformatige Vollbibel, nur die Psalmen und das Buch Baruch sind darin nicht enthalten. Mit mehrzeiligen roten Initialen zu Beginn der einzelnen Bücher (z. B. p. 3). Auf der Innenseite des Hinterdeckels Abklatsche von Blättern in Unzialschrift, wahrscheinlich einer Vetus-Latina-Version des 5. Jahrhunderts. (sno)

Online seit: 17.03.2016

Dokumente: 695, angezeigt: 41 - 60