Documents: 207, displayed: 201 - 207

Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer

The Fondation Martin Bodmer is one of the most important private libraries in the world. It seeks to reflect the “adventure of the human spirit” since the beginning of writing; in this it follows the example of its founder Martin Bodmer, who sought to set up a “library of world literature.” The collection comprises about 160,000 items, hundreds of Western and Eastern manuscripts, Egyptian Books of the Dead, 270 incunabula including a rare exemplar of the Gutenberg Bible, autographs by Goethe, Einstein and Mozart...

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, M-48.1
Paper · 1 f. · 13.5 x 10.5 cm · not dated
John Stuart Mill, Note on Freedom of Speech, signed autograph

Following enlightenment philosophers, liberal thinkers - which include Mill - considered freedom of speech a fundamental human right. In this small autograph, with embossed monogram "JSM", consisting of three folios intended for dispatch, the philosopher copies a passage of his famous "On Liberty" from 1869, taken from chapter II: "Of the Liberty of Thought and Discussion." Mill emphasizes that humankind no more has the right to silence a single opinion than it has the right to silence all of humankind, if it had the power to do so. Before it became the property of Martin Bodmer, this letter had been purchased by the author Stefan Zweig in 1923. (giv)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, N-4.1
Paper · 3 pp. · 20.5 x 31 cm · 1818
Napoleon, César, autograph

During his exile on St. Helena, Napoleon (1769-1821) availed himself of a library of 3,000 books — a poor remedy for boredom. Nevertheless, the deposed emperor found pleasure in reading and annotating ancient and modern classics. As a theater enthusiast, he read aloud Voltaire’s La Mort de César to his entourage several times. He decided to write his own play on the same subject; this manuscript in Napoleon’s own handwriting presents a quick sketch of the first two scenes. On page 3, tired of his subject, the emperor covers the page with strategic and military calculations, having frigates engage with regiments and artillery. (duc)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-28.3
Paper · 2 pp. · 20 x 15 cm · not dated
Arthur Rimbaud, Jeunesse II-IV, undated autograph

This autograph by Arthur Rimbaud (1854-1891) contains a fragment of a poem. Written on the recto side of a page are three sections numbered with Roman numerals from II to IV and, with the exception of the last one (IV), titled. Although the text is written in prose, the designation “sonnet” (II) could be due to the form of the excerpt in question, which is presented in 14 lines. The first section contains the sign +, which is difficult to interpret and which gives the impression that Rimbaud had planned to rework it. The numbering suggests that these three sections form a homogeneous whole together with the section Dimanche (I, BNF manuscript), thus constituting the poem Jeunesse. One can see inscriptions by other hands from after 1886: the annotation Illuminations in the upper left corner deliberately refers to the collection of poems with that same title, which was originally published in 1886. The poem Jeunesse, which consists of four stanzas, was first published by Vanier in 1895, after the Poésies complètes, as a complement to the Illuminations. (exq)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.1
Paper · 1 f. · 18 x 12 cm · not dated [ca. 1764]
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Lettres écrites de la montagne (Letter VII), second draft, autograph

The Lettres écrites de la montagne are the last work that was published during Rousseau’s lifetime. For the first time, the philosopher becomes directly involved in the affairs of Geneva. Beyond fundamental proposals, the letters contain further developed thoughts on the spirit of the Reformation as well as a defense of the Contrat Social. Letter VII, where this page comes from, supports the right of representation when it comes to correcting abuses of the Small Council, and it recommends that citizens convened in the General Council reject all new elections of magistrates if these should insist upon overstepping the rights given them by the Constitution. The Lettres were censored in Geneva as well as in Paris. This document is from the collection of Ch. Vellay (purchased by Martin Bodmer in 1926) and contains a draft of two passages from the Lettres. The first of these was published in the original edition (Amsterdam, M. M. Rey, 1764), the second in the edition of the Œuvres complètes of the Bibliothèque de la Pléiade. (giv)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.2
Paper · 38 pp. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · December 1740
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils

The Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils is Rousseau’s first writing related to his experience as an educator. In 1740 he took up a difficult position as tutor in the family of the notable Jean Bonnot de Mably, provost general of police in the Lyon region. This position came to an end after only one year. Two young children with little inclination to study had been entrusted to his care: François-Paul-Marie Bonnot de Mably, called Monsieur de Sainte-Marie, five and a half years old, and Jean-Antoine Bonnot de Mably, called Monsieur de Condillac, four and a half years old. The long Mémoire, dedicated to the older boy, emphasizes the “educational mission” and experience with practical education: it is presented as a plan and a synthesis; its writing has been dated around December 1740. The young tutor addresses M. de Mably and makes known to him the plan and structure for the education of his son in order to shape “the heart, the judgment and the spirit.” This is not the natural education, which later on will be advocated in ’Émile. Did Rousseau really present this Mémoire to M. de Mably? Known is only that he gave this manuscript of the Mémoire to Mme Dupin, his employer in 1743, and that since then it has been kept with the “Papers of Mme Dupin.” It was published for the first time in Paris in 1884 by G. de Villeneuve-Guibert in Le portefeuille de Madame Dupin. The Fondation Bodmer’s manuscript is the only one in existence. A Projet d’éducation, much shorter, more clearly structured and of unknown date, was found among Rousseau’s papers at the time of his death (this manuscript, now lost, was first published in Geneva in 1782). It is very similar to the Mémoire and seems to have been written (brc)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, T-3.3
Paper · 1 p. · 6.8 x 19.1 cm · n.d. [Ferrara, 1576]
Torquato Tasso (1544-1595), stanza XVII, 42 of Gerusalemme liberata, autograph

This "paperolle" from the famous "Code Gonzague" (held in the Biblioteca Ariostea of Ferrara) is a working copy for a passage that was added to Tasso’s great work, completed the previous year. The poet had submitted his original work to various humanists and high-ranking scholars, and he took into consideration certain critiques and suggestions when editing his verses during the summer of 1576. Several stanzas were profoundly revised or even completely rewritten. Stanza 42 was one of the most reworked, to the point that Tasso had to paste this small strip of paper with the definitive version of the text into the manuscript. The text describes the attitude and thoughts of the Muslim princess Armide, who gets ready to harangue the caliph and his armies and incite them to fight to the death with the crusaders and thus to take revenge on the Christian hero Rinaldo, who had abandoned her. (duc)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, V-7.2
Paper · 114 pp. · 15.9 x 21.5 cm · 1 February 1611
Felix Lope de Vega y Carpi, Barlaán y Josafat, autograph

Felix Lope de Vega y Carpio (1562-1635), author of many comedias de santos, finished this Historia de Barlán y Josafat, comedia in three acts and in verse at home „En Madrid a primero de febrero de 1611.“ This complete manuscript contains numerous corrections and revisions by the author. This story of a conversion is more than an authentic Christian legend (then attributed to Saint John of Damascus) — it is above all a Christianized story. In the prince, who first gives up his palace in order to learn about the plagues of the world and then leaves his throne for the meditative life of an ascetic, one certainly recognizes Buddha. The edifying Christian story, set at the banks of the Ganges, is nothing other than an adaptation of Vie du Bodhisattva, a 2nd-4th century Sanskrit text, which over centuries was translated and adapted first by the Manichaeans, then by the Arabs, Georgians and Byzantines, until it finally reached the far distant people of the Western World: Lope de Vega’s work thus (without the author’s having been aware of this) is part of one of the most impressive chains of intellectual transmission in history. (duc)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Documents: 207, displayed: 201 - 207

Dokumente: 207, angezeigt: 201 - 207

Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer

Die Fondation Martin Bodmer ist eine der wichtigsten Privatbibliotheken der Welt. Sie bemüht sich darum, das “Abenteuer des menschlichen Geistes” seit den Anfängen der Schrift zu reflektieren, dem Beispiel ihres Gründers Martin Bodmer folgend, ein Sammler, der die Gründung einer “Bibliothek der Weltliteratur” in Angriff nahm. Sie beherbergt ungefähr 160’000 Stücke, hunderte von okzidentalischen und orientalischen Handschriften, ägyptische Totenbücher, 270 Inkunabeln wozu eines der seltenen Exemplare der Gutenbergbibel gehört, Autographen von Goethe, Einstein oder Mozart...

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, M-48.1
Papier · 1 f. · 13.5 x 10.5 cm · nicht datiert
John Stuart Mill, Note on Freedom of Speech, signiertes Autograph

Im Anschluss an die Philosophen der Aufklärung bezeichneten die liberalen Denker - zu denen auch Mill zählte - die Meinungsfreiheit als ein fundamentales Menschenrecht. In diesem kleinen Autograph mit eingeprägtem Monogramm „JSM“, das aus drei für den Versand bestimmten Folios besteht, kopiert der Philosoph eine Passage aus seinem berühmten „On Liberty“ von 1869, dem Kapitel II entnommen: „Of the Liberty of Thought and Discussion“. Mill betont darin, dass die Menschheit nicht mehr das Recht dazu hätte, eine einzelnstehende Meinung zum Schweigen zu bringen wie diese das Recht dazu hätte, der Menschheit den Mund zu verbieten, wenn sie denn die Macht dazu hätte. Dieses Briefchen wurde vom Autor Stefan Zweig 1923 erstanden, bevor es in den Besitz von Martin Bodmer kam. (giv)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, N-4.1
Papier · 3 pp. · 20.5 x 31 cm · 1818
Napoleon, César, Autograph

Während seines Exils auf St. Helena konnte Napoleon (1769-1821) eine Bibliothek von 3'000 Büchern benutzen – ein klägliches Mittel gegen Langeweile. Der gestürzte Kaiser fand dennoch Gefallen daran, die antiken und modernen Klassiker zu lesen und zu annotieren. Als Theaterliebhaber las er den Personen aus seinem Umfeld mehrmals La Mort de César von Voltaire vor. Er bekannte sich auch zu seinem Projekt eines Stücks zum gleichen Thema. Dieses Manuskript zeigt eine schnelle Skizze der ersten zwei Szenen. Auf der Seite 3 notiert der von seinem Stoff ermüdete Eroberer strategische und militärische Berechnungen, indem er Fregatten auf Regimenter und Geschütze treffen lässt. (duc)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-28.3
Papier · 2 pp. · 20 x 15 cm · undatiert
Arthur Rimbaud, Jeunesse II-IV, Autograph

Dieses Autograph von Arthur Rimbaud (1854-1891) enthält ein Fragment eines Gedichtes. Die drei Abschnitte wurden auf der Rückseite eines Blattes verfasst, mit römischen Zahlen von II bis IV nummeriert und, abgesehen von Teil IV, mit einem Titel versehen. Obwohl der Text in Prosaform geschrieben wurde, könnte die Bezeichnung „sonnet“ (II) von der Form des besagten Ausschnittes herrühren, der in 14 Zeilen präsentiert wird. Der erste Abschnitt enthält das schwierig zu interpretierende Zeichen +, das den Eindruck vermittelt, Rimbaud habe den Abschnitt überarbeiten wollen. Die Nummerierung lässt darauf schliessen, dass diese drei Abschnitte zusammen mit dem Teil Dimanche (I, Handschrift der BNF) eine homogene Einheit bilden, das Gedicht Jeunesse. Aufschriften von anderen Händen nach 1886 sind sichtbar: in der linken oberen Ecke weist die Annotation Illuminations auf die gleichnamige Poesie-Sammlung hin, deren Originaledition auf 1886 datiert ist. Das Gedicht Jeunesse, das aus den vier Strophen besteht, wurde das erste Mal durch Vanier im Jahre 1895 veröffentlicht, nach den Poésies complètes und als Ergänzung zu den Illuminations. (exq)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.1
Papier · 1 f. · 18 x 12 cm · nicht datiert [ca. 1764]
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Lettres écrites de la montagne (Brief VII), zweiter Entwurf, Autograph

Die Lettres écrites de la montagne bilden das letzte zu seinen Lebzeiten veröffentlichte Werk Rousseaus. Zum ersten Mal mischt sich der Philosoph hier direkt in die Angelegenheiten Genfs ein. Darin enthalten sind, abgesehen von grundlegenden Äusserungen, weiterentwickelte Gedanken über den Geist der Reformation sowie eine Verteidigung des Contrat Social. Der Brief VII, aus dem dieses Blatt stammt, unterstützt das Recht zur Vertretung, wenn es darum geht, Missbräuche des Kleinen Rates zu beheben, und empfiehlt den im Generalrat versammelten Bürgern, jede Neuwahl von Magistraten abzulehnen, sollten diese darauf beharren ihre von der Verfassung verliehenen Rechte zu überschreiten. Diese Lettres wurden sowohl in Genf wie auch in Paris zensuriert. Das vorliegende Dokument stammt aus der Sammlung Ch. Vellay (Kauf durch Martin Bodmer 1926) und enthält den Entwurf zweier Passagen der Lettres. Die erste davon erschien in der Originaledition (Amsterdam, M. M. Rey, 1764), die zweite in der Edition der Œuvres complètes der Bibliothèque de la Pléiade. (giv)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, R-49.2
Papier · 38 pp. · 27.5 x 18.5 cm · Dezember 1740
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils

Das Mémoire présenté à M. de Mably sur l’éducation de M. son fils ist das erste Schreiben Rousseaus, das direkt mit seinen Erfahrungen als Erzieher in Verbindung steht. Er hatte 1740 in Lyon ein schwieriges Amt als Hauslehrer inne, bei der Familie des Notablen Jean Bonnot de Mably, Generalprofos der Gendarmen von Lyon. Bereits nach einem Jahr fand diese Anstellung ein Ende. Zwei kleine Kinder, dem Studium wenig geneigt, waren ihm anvertraut worden: François-Paul-Marie Bonnot de Mably, genannt Monsieur de Sainte-Marie, fünfeinhalb Jahre alt, und Jean-Antoine Bonnot de Mably, genannt Monsieur de Condillac, viereinhalb Jahre alt. Das lange Mémoire, dem älteren Jungen gewidmet, betont den « erzieherischen Auftrag » und die Erfahrung mit der praktischen Erziehung: es präsentiert sich wie ein Konzept und eine Synthese, und seine Verfassung wird auf den Dezember 1740 eingeordnet. Der junge Hauslehrer wendet sich an M. de Mably, dem er seinen Plan und den Aufbau der Erziehung für seinen Sohn bekannt gibt, um « das Herz, das Urteilsvermögen und den Geist zu formen ». Es handelt sich nicht um die natürliche Erziehung, die später in Émile empfohlen wird. Hat Rousseau dieses Mémoire M. de Mably tatsächlich übergeben? Bekannt ist einzig, dass er dieses Manuskript des Mémoire an Mme Dupin, seine Arbeitsgeberin im Jahre 1743, verschenkte, und dass es seither in den « Papieren der Mme Dupin » aufbewahrt wird. Es wurde das erste Mal 1884 in Paris von G. de Villeneuve-Guibert im Le portefeuille de Madame Dupin herausgegeben. Das Manuskript der Fondation Bodmer ist das einzig existierende. Ein Projet d’éducation, viel kürzer, sauberer aufgebaut und von unbekanntem Datum, war zuerst in den Papieren Rousseaus bei seinem Tod gefunden worden (dieses heute verlorene Manuskript war 1782 in Genf herausgegeben worden). Es ist dem Mémoire sehr ähnlich und scheint später geschrieben worden zu sein (allerdings gibt es in Bezug auf die chronologische Reihenfolge der beiden Texte keine Sicherheit). (brc)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, T-3.3
Papier · 1 p. · 6.8 x 19.1 cm · o.D. [Ferrara, 1576]
Torquato Tasso (1544-1595), Strophe XVII, 42 des La Gerusalemme liberata, Autograph

Diese „paperolle“, die aus dem berühmten „Code Gonzague“ (aufbewahrt in der Biblioteca Ariostea von Ferrara) stammt, ist eine Arbeitsschrift für eine Passage, die dem grossen Epos von Tasso, das im vorherigen Jahr vollendet worden war, hinzugefügt wurde. Der Dichter hatte sein Werk mehreren Humanisten und ranghohen Gelehrten vorgelegt und er berücksichtigte gewisse Kritiken und Ratschläge, indem er seine Verse während des Sommers 1576 überarbeitete. Einige Strophen wurden tiefgreifend ausgebessert oder sogar vollständig neu geschrieben. Die Strophe 42 war eine der am stärksten überarbeiteten, so stark, dass Tasso diesen kleinen Papierstreifen mit der definitiven Version des Textes in die Handschrift kleben musste. Der Text beschreibt die Haltung und die Gedanken der muslimischen Prinzessin Armida, die sich anschickt, den Kalifen und seine Armee zum Kampf bis zum Tod gegen die Kreuzritter aufzurufen, um sich auf diese Weise am christlichen Held Rinaldo zu rächen, der sie verlassen hatte. (duc)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, V-7.2
Papier · 114 pp. · 15.9 x 21.5 cm · 1. Februar 1611
Felix Lope de Vega y Carpi, Barlaán y Josafat, Autograph

Felix Lope de Vega y Carpio (1562-1635), Autor von zahlreichen comedias de santos, beendete diese Historia de Barlán y Josafat, comedia in drei Akten und in Versen in seinem Haus „En Madrid a primero de febrero de 1611“. Diese vollständige Handschrift enthält zahlreiche Korrekturen und Nachbearbeitungen. Diese Geschichte einer Bekehrung ist mehr als eine authentische christliche Legende (die damals dem Heiligen Johannes von Damaskus zugeschrieben wurde) – sie ist eine christianisierte Erzählung. Im Prinzen, der zuerst seinen Palast aufgibt, um die Plagen der Welt kennenzulernen, danach seinen Thron für ein meditatives Leben in Askese verlässt, kann man gewiss Buddha wiedererkennen. Die erbauliche christliche Geschichte, die an den Ufern des Ganges spielt, ist nichts anderes als eine Umsetzung des Vie du Bodhisattva, einem Text in Sanskrit des 2.-4. Jhs., der während der Jahrhunderte zuerst von den Manichäern, danach von den Arabern, Georgiern und Byzantinern übersetzt und bearbeitet wurde, bevor er schliesslich die Völker des weit entfernten Abendlandes erreichte: das Werk von Lope de Vega fügt sich also in eine eindrückliche Kette von geistigen Überlieferungen ein (ohne dass dies dem Autor bewusst gewesen wäre). (duc)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Dokumente: 207, angezeigt: 201 - 207