Documents: 212, displayed: 21 - 40

Sub-project: The Virtual Abbey Library of Saint Gall

January 2008 - December 2009

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: As of the end of 2009, over 300 manuscripts written before the year 1000 and held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall had been made available on e-codices. The web application had also been further developed using the most up to date informatics tools, allowing users to gain access to the website database faster and more easily. Financial support for this sub-project was provided by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 89
Parchment · 217 pp. · 23.4-23.5 x 15.2-15.4 cm · St. Gall · end of the 9th century
Cypriani de dominica oratione etc. Dicta Gregorii Nazanzeni episcopi de Hieremia propheta. Cypriani de mortalitate.

This manuscript of collected works is important to textual history and contains various works by Bishop Cyprian of Carthage († 258), including De dominica oratione, De mortalitate and De opere et eleemosynis, together with a tract by an unknown Irish author, De duodecim abusivis saeculi written by an unknown author, and the invocation of Gregory of Nazianz to the residents of Nazianz in Latin translation (Ad cives Nazianzenos gravi timore perculsos et praefectum irascentem) copied near the end of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 90
Parchment · 170 pp. · 27.5 x 19-19.5 cm · second half of the 9th century (?)
Altercatio contra Arrium. Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum.

This manuscript contains a Latin language copy of the Altercatio contra Arrium by the church father Athanasius that is significant to textual history, together with one of the five oldest copies of the Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum by the church father Jerome, probably made by the St. St. Gall monk Rifine during the second half of the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 92
Parchment · 184 pp. · 24.4-24.5 x 17.9-18.1 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Libri VI Effrem diaconi de judicio etc., et alia.

Copies of various works by the church father Ephraem the Syrian in Latin, written in the Abbey of St. Gall during the 9th century. Among them are the works De iudicio dei et resurrectione, De beatitudine animae, De poenitentia, De luctaminibus and De die iudicii et monita. The leaves of the last portion of the manuscript, which contains Sermon 60 of Caesarius of Arles, were previously folded. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 93
Parchment · 112 ff. · 22.6-22.7 x 14.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Effrem diaconi opuscula

Copies of assorted shorter sermons in Latin by Ephrem the Syrian (d. 373), some of them incomplete, including De compunctione cordis, De iudiciis dei and De beatitudine animarum, produced at the Abbey of St. Gall during the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 94
Parchment · 112 ff. · 19.5-20 x 14-14.5 cm · 9th century
Sanctus Ambrosius, Contra haereticos, eius Epistolae

A not particularly good quality copy of three letters by Ambrose, three chapters from the work De fide contra Arianos by Faustinus, the report (Relatio) by the Roman Prefect Symmachus (about 342-402/403) about the conflict over the altar of Victoria, and the oration of Augustine against the Arians (Contra sermonem Arrianorum)  preceded by the oration of the Arians (Sermo Arrianorum). This Codex was produced in the 9th century in the Cloister of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 95
Parchment · 285 pp. · 23 x 17.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
"De fide ad Gratianum contra perfidiam Arrianorum" from Ambrose

A superior quality St. Gallen copy of the work De fide ad Gratianum contra perfidiam Arrianorum from the 9th century, from the original by the early church Father Ambrose (about 339 - 397). The 9th century Carolingian binding remains intact. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 96
Parchment · 516 ff. · 26 x 18.1-18.5 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Ambrosius, Homiliæ in evang. Lucæ, libri X.

Copy of an exegesis of the Gospel of Luke (Homilies on the Gospel of Luke) by the church father Ambrose, produced at the Abbey of St. Gall in the 10th century. Includes numerous glosses by the hand of the monk Ekkehart IV. (d. about 1060). Also includes the Latin work in verse Nectaris Ambrosii redolentia carpito mella (Grasp the fragrant honey of ambrosian nectar), mentioned by Ekkehart IV. in his Casus sancti Galli, the history of the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 97
Parchment · 285 pp. · 25.5-26 x 18 cm · around 900
Ambrose, De officiis ministrorum

A summary presentation of Christian ethics by the early church father Ambrose (about 339 - 397), De officiis ministrorum. This copy is from around 900, probably not produced in the monastery of St. Gall. A short Psalter, a litany, and prayers precede the work by Ambrose. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 98
Parchment · 238 pp. · 27 x 21-21.5 cm · Metz (probably in the area around Metz) · middle of the 9th century
A collection of the dogmatic works De spiritu sancto libri tres ad Gratianum and Libri tres de incarnatione contra Apollinaristes, both originally written by Ambrose; De laude sanctorum by Bishop Victricius of Rouen

A collection of the dogmatic works De spiritu sancto libri tres ad Gratianum and Libri tres de incarnatione contra Apollinaristes, both originally written by the early church father Ambrose († 397) together with De laude sanctorum by Bishop Victricius of Rouen († before 409). A northern French copy from the middle of the 9th century, probably not produced at the monastery of St. Gall, but rather in the area of Metz. The manuscript opens with six dedicatory verses by the priest Regimarus to King Ludwig the German (833-876) in Latin hexameter. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 99
Parchment · 522 pp. · 30.3-30.5 x 21-21.4 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 9th century
Ambrosius in Lucam

A copy of the exegesis of the Gospel of Luke by Ambrosius, set down by several St. Gall monks in the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 100
Parchment · 324 pp. · 31.5 x 23.5 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 9th century
Ambrosiaster

A copy of the so-called "Ambrosiaster", a commentary on the Epistles of Paul, for a long time erroneously attributed to the Church father Ambrose (about 339-397), produced in the abbey of St. Gall at the beginning of the 9th century. The actual author of the Ambrosiaster is unknown. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 101
Parchment · 364 pp. · 31.9-32 x 23.1-23.3 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Commentarius in epistolas Pauli ad Romanos, ad Corinthios.

A copy of the a commentary on the Epistles of Paul the Apostle to the Romans and the Corinthians (the so-called Ambrosiaster), produced in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 102
Parchment · 304 pp. · 29.5 x 22-22.5 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Ambrose, De spiritu sancto and De incarnationis dominicae sacramento . Victricius of Rouen, De laude sanctorum

A well-crafted copy of the works De spiritu sancto and De incarnationis dominicae sacramento by the church father Ambrose and of the work De laude sanctorum by Bishop Victricius of Rouen, produced in the Cloister of St. Gall in the second half of the 9th century. Augmented with a number of glosses by the monk Ekkehart IV during the first half of the 11th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 103
Parchment · 530 ff. · 28 x 22-22.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Chrysostomus Latinus

This copy of the so-called Chrysostomus Latinus is significant in terms of textual history study. This collection of 38 sermons and other works attributed to the early church father John Chrysostom (349/50-407) includes both ancient Latin translations of original works in Greek reliably attributable to John Chrysostom, and also some pieces originally written in Latin, the contents of some of which are identified and some are not, for which the celebrated sermonist is claimed as the author. A St. Gall copy from the second half of the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 105
Parchment · 212 pp. · 19.4-19.7 x 27.6-27.9 cm; 14.1 x 21.5-22.2 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 9th century and 10th century
Sulpicii Severi vita S. Martini; Medicinalia; Grammaticalia.

A composite manuscript from the Abbey of St. Gall, consisting mainly of two parts. The first part includes a copy of the life of St. Martin of Tours, originally written by Sulpicius Severus sometime after 400 AD. This life of St. Martin, into which 5 pages containing an excerpt from the Historia Francorum by Gregory of Tours have been inserted, was copied in two phases, one during the first half of the 9th century under the supervision of the scribe Wolfcoz and another during the second half of the 9th century. The second part, written in the 10th century at the Abbey of St. Gall, contains a copy of the medical tract De medicina ex Graecis logicae sectae auctoribus by the late Roman physician Cassius Felix (about 450) that is significant to textual history. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 106
Parchment · 266 pp. · 25.5 x 21-21.5 cm · St. Gall (?) · 9th century
Commentarius in librum Job

A copy of the commentary by a Pseudo-Jerome (Pseudo-Hrabanus Maurus) on the Old Testament book of Job; produced in the 9th century, possibly at the abbey of St. Gall; still in its original Carolingian-period binding. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 107
Parchment · 561 pp. · 35.5-36 x 25.5-26 cm · 10th century
Pseudo-Hieronymi Commentarius in Psalmos

Jerome's commentary on the Psalms Tractatus super psalmos , produced in an unknown location (not at the Abbey of St. Gall), probably during the 10th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 108
Parchment · 278 ff. · 27 x 17.1-17.4 cm · Northern Italy (Monza?) · 8th-9th century
Sermo S. Ysidori de Fine Mundi; Ps.-Hieronymus, Commentarius in Psalmos; etc.

This manuscript contains one of the few copies of the Scarpsum de dictis sancti Effrem prope fine mundi, here rendered as Sermo sancti Ysidori, ascribed to Isidor of Seville, and the psalm commentaries of Jerome (or a Pseudo-Jerome?), produced in northern Italy (possibly Monza) about the end of the 8th century. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 110
Parchment · 558 pp. · 27.8-27.9 x 20-20.2 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Commentarius in Ecclesiasten; Explanatio in canticum canticorum; Excerpta varia

A composite manuscript consisting of two distinct parts: 1) a 9th century St. Gall copy of the commentary of Jerome on the Old Testament book of Ecclesiastes and the commentary of Bishop Justus of Seu de Urgel (Urgelitanus) on the Song of Songs, 2) a collection of manuscripts of mainly patristic content, including excerpts from the works of Jerome, Benedict, Eucherius and Augustine. The manuscript, still in its original Carolingian binding, is also called the Egino-Codex and is supposed to have been produced in about the year 800 at the cloister of Reichenau by a group of Veronese scribes who had settled on the island of Reichenau together with their former (Veronese) bishop (796-799) Egino after he stepped down from his office. (smu)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 124
Parchment · 360 pp. · 25 x 15-15.5 cm · St. Amand in the vicinity of Lille (monastery) · around 810/820
Exegetical-liturgical collection of works

Exegetical-liturgical collection of works, probably produced around 810/820 in the Cloister of St. Amand in the area of Lille in northern France. It contains, among other items, a commentary on the Gospels by Pseudo-Hieronymus (illustrated with Irish-influenced symbolic representations of the four evangelists), texts by the early church fathers Augustine, Isidore of Seville, the Venerable Bede, a letter from Charlemagne to Alcuin, a baptismal ritual attributed to Bishop Jesse of Amiens († 836/37), and finally an abridged version of the Annals of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Documents: 212, displayed: 21 - 40

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 21 - 40

Teilprojekt: Virtuelle Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Januar 2008 - Dezember 2009

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Bis Ende 2009 wurden über 300 Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die vor dem Jahr 1000 geschrieben wurden, auf e-codices erschlossen. Auch wurde die Webapplikation weiterentwickelt und dem neusten Stand der Informatik angepasst, womit den Nutzern ein schnellerer und einfacherer Zugriff auf die Webdatenbank ermöglicht wurde.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 89
Pergament · 217 pp. · 23.4-23.5 x 15.2-15.4 cm · St. Gallen · Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts
Cypriani de dominica oratione etc. Dicta Gregorii Nazanzeni episcopi de Hieremia propheta. Cypriani de mortalitate.

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Sammelhandschrift, mit verschiedenen Werken des Bischofs Cyprianus von Karthago († 258), darunter De dominica oratione, De mortalitate und De opere et eleemosynis, mit dem von einem unbekannten Autor irischer Provenienz verfassten Traktat De duodecim abusivis saeculi sowie der Aufruf von Gregor von Nazianz in lateinischer Übersetzung an die Einwohner von Nazianz (Ad cives Nazianzenos gravi timore perculsos et praefectum irascentem), geschrieben gegen Ende des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 90
Pergament · 170 pp. · 27.5 x 19-19.5 cm · zweite Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts (?)
Altercatio contra Arrium. Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum.

Textgeschichtlich wichtige Abschrift der Altercatio contra Arrium des Kirchenvaters Athanasius in lateinischer Sprache sowie eine der fünf ältesten Abschriften der Epistola adversus Luciferianum hereticum des Kirchenvaters Hieronymus, geschrieben möglicherweise vom St. Galler Mönch Rifine in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 92
Pergament · 184 pp. · 24.4-24.5 x 17.9-18.1 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Libri VI Effrem diaconi de judicio etc., et alia.

Abschrift von verschiedenen Werken des syrischen Kirchenvaters Ephraem (des Syrers) in lateinischer Sprache, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert. Darunter finden sich die Werke De iudicio dei et resurrectione, De beatitudine animae, De poenitentia, De luctaminibus oder De die iudicii et monita. Die Blätter des letzten Teils der Handschrift, die den Sermo 60 von Caesarius von Arles enthalten, waren früher gefaltet. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 93
Pergament · 112 ff. · 22.6-22.7 x 14.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Effrem diaconi opuscula

Teilweise unvollständige Abschriften von verschiedenen kürzeren Sermones von Ephrem dem Syrer († 373) in lateinischer Sprache, darunter De compunctione cordis, De iudiciis dei oder De beatitudine animarum, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 94
Pergament · 112 ff. · 19.5-20 x 14-14.5 cm · 9. Jahrhundert
Sanctus Ambrosius, Contra haereticos, eius Epistolae

Nicht sehr gepflegte Abschrift von drei Briefen des Ambrosius, drei Kapiteln aus dem Werk De fide contra Arianos des Faustinus, der Relatio des römischen Präfekten Symmachus (um 342-402/403) zum Streit um den Victoria-Altar sowie der Rede des Augustinus gegen die Arianer (Contra sermonem Arrianorum), dem die Rede der Arianer (Sermo Arrianorum) vorangeht. Der Codex wurde im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 95
Pergament · 285 pp. · 23 x 17.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
De fide ad Gratianum contra perfidiam Arrianorum vom Kirchenvater Ambrosius

Qualitätvolle St. Galler Abschrift des Werks De fide ad Gratianum contra perfidiam Arrianorum aus dem 9. Jahrhundert, verfasst vom Kirchenvater Ambrosius (um 339 – 397). Der karolingische Einband des 9. Jahrhunderts ist noch im Originalzustand erhalten. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 96
Pergament · 516 ff. · 26 x 18.1-18.5 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Ambrosius, Homiliæ in evang. Lucæ, libri X.

Abschrift der Auslegung des Lukas-Evangeliums (Homilien zum Lukas-Evangelium) durch den Kirchenvater Ambrosius, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 10. Jahrhundert. Mit zahlreichen Glossen von der Hand des Mönchs Ekkehart IV. († um 1060). Mit dem lateinischen Vers Nectaris Ambrosii carpito mella (Koste des ambrosischen Nektars duftenden Honig), den Ekkehart IV. in seinen Casus sancti Galli, der Geschichte des Klosters St. Gallen nennt. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 97
Pergament · 285 pp. · 25.5-26 x 18 cm · um 900
Ambrosius, De officiis ministrorum

Zusammenfassende Darstellung der christlichen Ethik im Werk des Kirchenvaters Ambrosius (um 339 – 397) De officiis ministrorum. Abschrift aus der Zeit um 900, vermutlich nicht im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben. Enthält vor dem Ambrosius-Werk auch ein Kurzpsalterium, eine Litanei sowie Orationen. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 98
Pergament · 238 pp. · 27 x 21-21.5 cm · Metz (wahrscheinlich in der Gegend von Metz) · Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Sammelband mit den dogmatischen Werken De spiritu sancto libri tres ad Gratianum und Libri tres de incarnatione contra Apollinaristes, von Ambrosius; mit dem Werk des Bischofs Victricius von Rouen († vor 409) De laude sanctorum

Sammelband mit den dogmatischen Werken De spiritu sancto libri tres ad Gratianum und Libri tres de incarnatione contra Apollinaristes, beide verfasst vom Kirchenvater Ambrosius († 397) sowie mit dem Werk des Bischofs Victricius von Rouen († vor 409) De laude sanctorum. Nordfranzösische Abschrift aus der Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts, vermutlich nicht im Kloster St. Gallen, sondern in der Gegend von Metz geschrieben. Enthält zu Beginn sechs Widmungsverse des Priesters Regimarus an König Ludwig den Deutschen (833-876) in lateinischen Hexametern. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 99
Pergament · 522 pp. · 30.3-30.5 x 21-21.4 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Ambrosius in Lucam

Abschrift der Auslegung des Lukas-Evangeliums durch Ambrosius, geschrieben von mehreren St. Galler Mönchen im 9. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 100
Pergament · 324 pp. · 31.5 x 23.5 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Ambrosiaster

Abschrift des so genannten Ambrosiaster, eines lange Zeit irrtümlich dem Kirchenvater Ambrosius (um 339-397) zugeschriebenen Kommentars zu den Paulusbriefen, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen anfangs des 9. Jahrhunderts. Der Verfasser des Ambrosiaster ist nicht bekannt. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 101
Pergament · 364 pp. · 31.9-32 x 23.1-23.3 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Commentarius in epistolas Pauli ad Romanos, ad Corinthios.

Abschrift eines Kommentars zu den Briefen des Apostels Paulus an die Römer und an die Korinther (so genannter Ambrosiaster), geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 102
Pergament · 304 pp. · 29.5 x 22-22.5 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Ambrosius, De spiritu sancto und De incarnationis dominicae sacramento . Victricius von Rouen, De laude sanctorum

Qualitätvolle Abschrift der Werke De spiritu sancto und De incarnationis dominicae sacramento des Kirchenvaters Ambrosius und des Werks De laude sanctorum des Bischofs Victricius von Rouen, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. In der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts vom Mönch Ekkehart IV. mit einigen Glossen versehen. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 103
Pergament · 530 ff. · 28 x 22-22.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Chrysostomus Latinus

Textgeschichtlich wichtige Abschrift des so genannten Chrysostomus Latinus, einer Sammlung von 38 Predigten und Werken, die dem Kirchenlehrer Johannes Chryostomus (349/50-407) zugeschrieben wurden. Es finden sich darin einerseits altlateinische Übersetzungen gesicherter originaler griechischer Werke des Johannes Chrysostomus, aber auch originallateinische Stücke teils identifizierten, teils unidentifizierten Inhalts, für die der gefeierte Prediger als Autor beansprucht wird. St. Galler Abschrift aus der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 105
Pergament · 212 pp. · 19.4-19.7 x 27.6-27.9 cm; 14.1 x 21.5-22.2 cm · St. Gallen · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts und 10. Jahrhundert
Sulpicii Severi vita S. Martini; Medicinalia; Grammaticalia.

Sammelhandschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, bestehend hauptsächlich aus zwei Teilen. Im vorderen Teil findet sich eine Abschrift der Vita des heiligen Martin von Tours, verfasst von Sulpicius Severus nach 400 n.Chr. Diese Martins-Vita, die unterbrochen wird von 5 Seiten mit einem Ausschnitt aus der Historia Francorum des Gregor von Tours, wurde in zwei Etappen geschrieben, einerseits in der ersten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Umkreis des Schreibers Wolfcoz und andererseits in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Der zweite Teil, geschrieben im 10. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen, enthält eine textgeschichtlich wichtige Abschrift des Medizintraktats De medicina ex Graecis logicae sectae auctoribus des spätrömischen Arztes Cassius Felix (um 450). (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 106
Pergament · 266 pp. · 25.5 x 21-21.5 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 9. Jahrhundert
Commentarius in librum Job

Abschrift des Kommentars eines Pseudo-Hieronymus (Pseudo-Hrabanus Maurus) zum alttestamentlichen Buch Hiob, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert möglicherweise im Kloster St. Gallen und im originalen karolingischen Einband erhalten. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 107
Pergament · 561 pp. · 35.5-36 x 25.5-26 cm · 10. Jahrhundert
Pseudo-Hieronymi Commentarius in Psalmos

Psalmenkommentar des Hieronymus Tractatus super psalmos, geschrieben an einem unbekannten Ort (nicht im Kloster St. Gallen) wohl im 10. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 108
Pergament · 278 ff. · 27 x 17.1-17.4 cm · Norditalien (Monza?) · 8.-9. Jahrhundert
Sermo S. Ysidori de Fine Mundi; Ps.-Hieronymus, Commentarius in Psalmos; etc.

Die Handschrift enthält eine der wenigen Abschriften des Scarpsum de dictis sancti Effrem prope fine mundi, hier als Sermo sancti Ysidori dem Isidor von Sevilla zugeschrieben, und des Psalmenkommentars des Hieronymus (eines Pseudo-Hieronymus?), geschrieben in Norditalien (wahrscheinlich Monza) gegen Ende des 8. Jahrhunderts. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 110
Pergament · 558 pp. · 27.8-27.9 x 20-20.2 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Commentarius in Ecclesiasten; Explanatio in canticum canticorum; Excerpta varia

Sammelhandschrift, bestehend aus zwei unterschiedlichen Teilen: 1) St. Galler Abschriften des Kommentars des Hieronymus zum alttestamentlichen Buch Kohelet und des Kommentars von Bischof Justus aus Seu de Urgel (Urgelitanus) zum Hohelied aus dem 9. Jahrhundert, 2) Sammelhandschrift vorwiegend patristischen Inhalts mit Exzerpten aus Werken von Hieronymus, Benedikt, Eucherius und Augustinus. Die Handschrift, im originalen karolingischen Einband erhalten, heisst auch Egino-Codex und dürfte von einer Gruppe von Veroneser Schreibern um 800 im Kloster Reichenau angefertigt worden sein, die sich mit ihrem ehemaligen (Veroneser) Bischof (796-799) Egino nach dessen Amtsniederlegung auf die Klosterinsel Reichenau begaben. (smu)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 124
Pergament · 360 pp. · 25 x 15-15.5 cm · St-Amand in der Nähe von Lille (Kloster) · um 810/820
Exegetisch-liturgische Sammelhandschrift

Exegetisch-liturgische Sammelhandschrift, geschrieben wahrscheinlich um 810/820 im Kloster St-Amand in der Nähe von Lille in Nordwestfrankreich. Enthält unter anderem einen Evangelienkommentar des Pseudo-Hieronymus (mit irisch beeinflussten Symbolbildern der vier Evangelisten), Texte der Kirchenväter Augustinus, Isidor von Sevilla oder Beda Venerabilis, einen Brief Karls des Grossen an Alkuin, ein Bischof Jesse von Amiens († 836/37) zugeschriebenes Rituale für die Spendung der Taufe und am Ende eine Kurzfassung der St. Galler Annalen. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 21 - 40