Documents: 212, displayed: 41 - 60

Sub-project: The Virtual Abbey Library of Saint Gall

January 2008 - December 2009

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: As of the end of 2009, over 300 manuscripts written before the year 1000 and held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall had been made available on e-codices. The web application had also been further developed using the most up to date informatics tools, allowing users to gain access to the website database faster and more easily. Financial support for this sub-project was provided by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 127
Parchment · I + 234 ff. · 29.5-29.7 x 19.8-20.3 cm · St. Gall · around 800
Copies of the commentaries of the Church father Jerome on the Gospels of Matthew and Mark

Copies of the commentaries of the Church father Jerome on the Gospels of Matthew and Mark, produced in the Abbey of St. Gall at the beginning of the 9th century, supplemented with numerous Latin and Old High German glosses, indicating the text was the object of intensive study. At the end of the commentars on the Gospel of Matthew: the name of a monk (?) Ratgar or Radgaer in runic script. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 134
Parchment · 266 pp. · 20.5 x 15-15.5 cm · 10th century and 13th century and 11th century
Aurelius Prudentius Clemens, Cathemerinon and Peristephanon · Aristotle · Boethius

A composite manuscript with three originally separate parts. In front, an incomplete copy of the works Cathemerinon (up to Book X) and Peristephanon (Books I and V) by Aurelius Prudentius Clemens from about 900, in the middle, a 13th/14th century Latin commentary on Aristotle's Perihermeneias, and at the end, a copy of the works De trinitate, De divinitate, De substantiis and Contra Nestorium by Boethius, made in about 1000. This codex is annotated with a multitude of Latin and Old High German glosses. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 136
Parchment · 366 pp. · 21.4-21.7 x 14.9 cm · St. Gall · middle of the 9th century
Prudentius: Cathemerinon, Peristephanon, Diptychon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia (I-III), Contra Symmachum (I)

This copy of assorted works by Prudentius (348- after 405) is significant to textual history (it includes Kathemerinon, Peristephanon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Libri contra Symmachum; some works not transmitted in complete versions), produced in the middle 9th century in the Abbey of St. Gall. This copy contains numerous Latin and Old High German glosses. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 138
Parchment · 166 pp. · 16.5 x 13 cm · St. Gall · 9th/10th centuries
S. Augustini Epistola ad comitem

A copy of the Liber exhortationis ... ad quendam comitem by the patriarch Paul of Aquilaeia († 802) , written in or shortly after 900 at the Abbey of St. Gall. For a long time, this text was attributed to the church father Augustine. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 141
Parchment · 57 ff. · 20.5 x 14.7 cm · northern France (?) · 9th/10th century
Augustinus, de disciplina christianorum · Augustinus, Sermo de corpore et anima · Pseudo-Seneca, de moribus, et alia

An undecorated composite manuscript containing various short texts and textual excerpts from the writings of Augustine, John Chrysostom and Ambrosius Autpertus († 784) among others, together with the work, then attributed to Seneca, De moribus (145 moral proverbs, which were probably composed by a Christian living in Gaul). The codex was written in about 900 in a Carolingian minuscule, probably in northern France. The back portion contains, in a short selection from Moralia in Iob by Gregory the Great, a small Latin-Old High German textual glossary. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 144
Parchment · 60 pp. · 22.3-22.5 x 16.1-16.4 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Augustinus, Sermones; Excerpta.

This 10th century composite manuscript produced at the Abbey of St. Gall contains the pseudo-Augustinian sermons De consolatione mortuorum, together with Augustine's sermon 172 and excerpts from the Augustinian works De cura pro mortuis gerenda, De octo Dulcitii quaestionibus and De civitate dei. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 146
Parchment · 294 pp. · 25-25.2 x 16.6-16.8 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 9th century
Augustinus, de X chordis · Alcuinus, de virtutibus et vitiis · Sermones anonymi.

This composite manuscript from the beginning of the 9th century, made up of two parts, was written at the Abbey of St. Gall and remains in its original Carolingian binding. The first part contains two works by the church father Augustine, the sermon De decem chordis and the text De disciplina christiana, as well as the work Adversus quinque haereses by Bishop Quodvultdeus of Carthage († 454). The second part contains, among various other short texts, a copy of the epitaph of Alcuin of York († 804), his book about virtues and vices De virtutibus et vitiis, dedicated to Duke Wido of Nantes, two sermons by Augustine as well as the so-called Dicta Bonifatii. Glosses were added here and there in both parts of the manuscript by the monk Ekkehart IV. during the first half of the 11th century; the codex shows signs of use through the 16th century. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 147
Parchment · 276 pp. · 24.5-24.6 x 16.2-16.4 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustinus de doctrina christiana, 1. IV.

An important copy of Augustine's work De doctrina christiana in terms of textual history, written during the second half of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. In the 1930s fragments of the oldest Vulgate manuscript version of the gospels, from the 5th century, were removed from the binding of this manuscript. These fragments are now found, together with additional fragments of the same manuscript as well as fragments of other texts, in Cod. Sang. 1395. (smu)

Online Since: 06/02/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 152
Parchment · 260 pp. · 24.5-25 x 19-19.3 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustinus de utilitate credendi ad Honoratum, de natura boni, de VIII quæstionibus V. T., et alia.

Manuscript collection of Patristic works with selections from the works of Augustine (Retractationes, De octo quaestionibus ex veteri testamento, Enchiridion de fide, spe et caritate), Paschasius Radbertus (Epistola ad Paulam et Eustochium, erroneously attributed to the Church father Jerome), and Gregory the Great, in addition to the Life of the Martyr Quintinus, produced in the second half of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 153
Parchment · 138 pp. · 27-27.5 x 22.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustine, Retractationes

Copy of the Retractationes (Revisions) by the church father Augustine (354-430), produced in the middle of the 9th century in the Cloister of St. Gall. In the Retractationes  composed near the end of his life, around 426, Augustine provides a chronologically ordered history of the origins of 93 works he wrote over the course of his life, together with critiques of those works. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 158
Parchment · 210 pp. · ca. 31.5 x 24.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustinus de baptismo contra Donatistas, libri VII.

This copy of the work "De baptismo" (On Baptism) by the Church father Augustine (d. 430) is significant in terms of textual history; it was produced in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 159
Parchment · 384 pp. · 31.5 x 24.5 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Hieronymus, epistolae; Origenes, sermones; Cassiodorus, de anima

Copies of 40 letters written by the church father Jerome, set down by a number of different scribes in the Cloister of St. Gall around the middle of the 9th century in Carolingian minuscule script. Annotated in the 11th century with rich interlinear and marginal commentaries by the monk Ekkehart IV († about 1060). This codex also contains the homilies of Origen on Jerome's Latin translation of the Song of Songs as well as the work De anima by Cassiodorus. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 160
Parchment · 592 pp. · 30.1-30.2 x 22.2-22.3 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Augustinus in Heptateuchum, libri VII.

This copy of the commentaries by the Church father Augustine on the first seven books of the Old Testament (the Heptateuch: "Quaestiones in Heptateuchum libri VII") is among the most significant copies in terms of textual history; it was produced at the Abbey of St. Gall in the 9th century. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 168
Parchment · 408 pp. · 30.5 x 20.5-21 cm · 9th century
Augustini sermones . Ratperti cantilena de S. Gallo Ekkehardo interprete . Ekkehart, Ad picturas in claustro

The main content of this codex is a copy of sermons on the Gospel of John by the church father Augustine, produced sometime after 800. In the front is a Latin version with neumes of the now lost Old High German "Galluslied" (the translation into Latin was done by the monk Ekkehart IV in the first half of the 11th century), originally composed by the monk Ratpert before the year 900. In the back are verses by Ekkehart IV about the paintings in the Romanesque cloister walk at St. Gall. Includes textual glosses by Ekkehart IV. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 174
Parchment · 194 pp. · 35.5 x 27.5 cm · Mainz and St. Gall (?) · 9th century
Epistolae Augustini . Galluslied

This codex consists mainly of copies of letters written by the church father Augustine († 430), produced in the second half of the 9th century, possibly in Mainz. A small section at the front and some pages at the end, however, were produced in the 11th century, during the tenure of Ekkehart IV († um 1060), in the Cloister of St. Gall; these sections contain a Latin version of the Old High German "Galluslied" (originally written by the St. St. Gall monk Ratpert), translated by Ekkehart IV, and various excerpts of mathematical and astronomical content. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 176
Parchment · 476 pp. · 42 x 28-28.5 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Eugippius, Excerpts from Augustine . Commentaries by Ekkehart IV.

A copy of the excerpts of Eugippius († after 533) from the works of Augustine, very popular during the middle ages, produced in the Cloister of St. Gall around the middle of the 9th century. In the first half of the 11th century this text was carefully studied by the monk Ekkehart IV, who added numerous remarks and commentaries to it. On the inner side of the back cover are sketches by Ekkehart IV of a carafe-shaped drinking vessel and three accompanying short verses about his fellow monk Crimalt or Crimolt, who was fond of a drink. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 184
Parchment · 266 pp. · 29-30 x 23.5-24.5 cm + 25.5 x 19 cm · St. Gall · 10th and 11th century
Prosper of Aquitaine . Augustine . Halitgar of Cambrai

This manuscript consists of two parts: the first part contains a commentary on Psalms 100-150 (Expositio psalmorum) by Prosper of Aquitaine in a copy from the second half of the 9th century. The second part contains, in addition to selections from the works of Augustine and the first part of the "Bussbuch" (Book of Penances) by Halitgar of Cambrai, mainly computistical-astronomical texts, schemata and tables as well as a glossary of terms. On page 242: a sketch of a small, simple T-O world map. Manuscript copy produced by the Cloister of St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 186
Parchment · 194 pp. · 25.9-26 x 18.3-18.5 cm · St. Gall · beginning of the 9th century
Prosper, de activa et contemplativa vita libri III.

A copy of the work De vita contemplativa by the Gallic priest Julianus Pomerius (5th c.), incorrectly ascribed to Prosper of Aquitaine, produced in the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall, in part by the monk Rihpertus, who included his name in a secret script. (smu)

Online Since: 07/31/2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 187
Parchment · 320 pp. · 25.5 x 21.5-22 cm · St. Gall · 9th century
Gaius Iulius Solinus, Collectanea rerum memorabilium

A 9th century St. Gall copy of the Collectanea rerum memorabilium, which was very popular during the middle ages, by the Roman author Gaius Iulius Solinus. It is a compilation of oddities and curiosities, derived mainly from the natural histories of Pliny and the geographical descriptions of Pomponius Mela. In addition, this codex contains works by Prosper of Aquitaine and the sermon entitled De bono mortis by the church father Ambrose. (smu)

Online Since: 12/23/2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 188
Parchment · 422 ff. · 29 x 19.5 cm · Luxeuil (?) · around 700
Maximus of Turin, Sermons

Sermons of Bishop Maximus of Turin († between 408-423): one of the most important manuscript copies from the time around 700, possibly produced in the Cloister of Luxeuil in Burgundy, in a Merovingian Uncial script. It is among the oldest books held by the Abbey Library still preserved in their original forms and bindings. (smu)

Online Since: 12/09/2008

Documents: 212, displayed: 41 - 60

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 41 - 60

Teilprojekt: Virtuelle Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Januar 2008 - Dezember 2009

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Bis Ende 2009 wurden über 300 Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die vor dem Jahr 1000 geschrieben wurden, auf e-codices erschlossen. Auch wurde die Webapplikation weiterentwickelt und dem neusten Stand der Informatik angepasst, womit den Nutzern ein schnellerer und einfacherer Zugriff auf die Webdatenbank ermöglicht wurde.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 127
Pergament · I + 234 ff. · 29.5-29.7 x 19.8-20.3 cm · St. Gallen · um 800
Abschriften des Kommentars des Kirchenvaters Hieronymus zum Matthäus- und zum Markus-Evangelium

Abschriften des Kommentars des Kirchenvaters Hieronymus zum Matthäus- und zum Markus-Evangelium, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen zu Beginn des 9. Jahrhunderts, versehen mit zahlreichen lateinischen und althochdeutschen Glossen, die auf eine intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Text schliessen lassen. Am Schluss des Kommentars zum Matthäus-Evangelium: Name eines Mönchs(?) Ratgar oder Radgaer in Runenschrift. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 134
Pergament · 266 pp. · 20.5 x 15-15.5 cm · 10. Jahrhundert und 13. Jahrhundert und 11. Jahrhundert
Aurelius Prudentius Clemens, Cathemerinon und Peristephanon · Aristoteles · Boethius

Sammelhandschrift aus drei ursprünglich selbständigen Teilen. Vorne eine unvollständige Abschrift der Werke Cathemerinon (bis Buch X) und Peristephanon (Bücher I und V) des Aurelius Prudentius Clemens aus der Zeit um 900, in der Mitte ein lateinischer Kommentar zum Werk Perihermeneias des Aristoteles aus dem 13./14. Jahrhundert und schliesslich hinten eine Abschrift der Werke De trinitate, De divinitate, De substantiis und Contra Nestorium des Boethius aus der Zeit um 1000. Der Codex ist mit einer Vielzahl lateinischer und althochdeutscher Glossen versehen. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 136
Pergament · 366 pp. · 21.4-21.7 x 14.9 cm · St. Gallen · Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Prudentius: Cathemerinon, Peristephanon, Diptychon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia (I-III), Contra Symmachum (I)

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift verschiedener Werke des Prudentius (348-nach 405; Kathemerinon, Peristephanon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Libri contra Symmachum; vereinzelt nicht ganz vollständig überliefert), entstanden um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. Die Abschrift enthält zahlreiche lateinische und althochdeutsche Glossen. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 138
Pergament · 166 pp. · 16.5 x 13 cm · St. Gallen · 9./10. Jahrhundert
S. Augustini Epistola ad comitem

Abschrift des Liber exhortationis ... ad quendam comitem des Patriarchen Paulinus von Aquileia († 802), geschrieben um oder kurz nach 900 im Kloster St. Gallen. Der Text war lange Zeit dem Kirchenvater Augustinus zugeschrieben worden. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 141
Pergament · 57 ff. · 20.5 x 14.7 cm · Nordostfrankreich (?) · 9./10. Jahrhundert
Augustinus, de disciplina christianorum. Augustinus, Sermo de corpore et anima. Pseudo-Seneca, de moribus, et alia

Schmucklose Sammelhandschrift mit verschiedenen kürzeren Texten und Textauszügen aus Schriften u.a. von Augustinus, Johannes Chrysostomos und Ambrosius Autpertus († 784), dazu mit dem damals Seneca zugeschriebenen Werk De moribus (145 moralische Sentenzen, die vermutlich von einem in Gallien lebenden Christen verfasst wurden). Der Codex wurde um 900 in einer karolingischen Minuskel möglicherweise in Nordostfrankreich geschrieben und enthält im hinteren Teil im kurzen Auszug aus den Moralia in Iob Gregors des Grossen auch ein kleines lateinisch-althochdeutsches Textglossar. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 144
Pergament · 60 pp. · 22.3-22.5 x 16.1-16.4 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Augustinus, Sermones; Excerpta.

Im Kloster St. Gallen angefertigte Sammelhandschrift des 10. Jahrhunderts mit den pseudo-augustinischen Sermones De consolatione mortuorum, mit dem Sermo 172 des Augustinus und mit Exzerpten aus den Augustinus-Werken De cura pro mortuis gerenda, De octo Dulcitii quaestionibus und De civitate dei. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 146
Pergament · 294 pp. · 25-25.2 x 16.6-16.8 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Augustinus, de X chordis · Alcuinus, de virtutibus et vitiis · Sermones anonymi.

Aus zwei Teilen bestehende Sammelhandschrift des beginnenden 9. Jahrhunderts, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen und eingebunden in einen originalen karolingischen Einband. Der erste Teil enthält zwei Werke des Kirchenvaters Augustinus, den Sermo De decem chordis und die Schrift De disciplina christiana sowie das Werk Adversus quinque haereses des karthagischen Bischofs Quodvultdeus († 454). Der zweite Teil enthält neben weiteren kurzen Texten eine Abschrift des Epitaphiums für Alkuin von York († 804), dessen Buch über Tugenden und Laster an Graf Wido von Nantes De virtutibus et vitiis, zwei Sermones des Augustinus sowie die so genannten Dicta Bonifatii. Beide Teile der Handschrift wurden vom Mönch Ekkehart IV. in der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts da und dort mit Glossen versehen; im Codex finden sich Benutzerspuren bis ins 16. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 147
Pergament · 276 pp. · 24.5-24.6 x 16.2-16.4 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus de doctrina christiana, 1. IV.

Textgeschichtlich wichtige Abschrift des Augustinus-Werks De doctrina christiana, geschrieben in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. Aus dem Einband dieser Handschrift wurden in den 1930er-Jahren Fragmente der ältesten Vulgata-Handschrift der Evangelien aus dem 5. Jahrhundert herausgelöst. Diese Fragmente befinden sich zusammen mit weiteren Fragmenten dieser ehemaligen Handschrift sowie Fragmenten anderer Texte im Cod. Sang. 1395. (smu)

Online seit: 02.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 152
Pergament · 260 pp. · 24.5-25 x 19-19.3 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus de utilitate credendi ad Honoratum, de natura boni, de VIII quæstionibus V. T., et alia.

Patristische Sammelhandschrift mit Auszügen von Werken des Augustinus (Retractationes, De octo quaestionibus ex veteri testamento; Enchiridion de fide, spe et caritate), Paschasius Radbertus (Epistola ad Paulam et Eustochium, irrtümlich dem Kirchenvater Hieronymus zugeschrieben) und Gregor dem Grossen sowie der Vita des Märtyrers Quintinus, geschrieben in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 153
Pergament · 138 pp. · 27-27.5 x 22.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus, Retractationes

Abschrift der Retractationes des Kirchenvaters Augustinus (354-430), geschrieben um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. In diesen gegen Ende seines Lebens um 426 verfassten Retractationes (Neubearbeitungen) gibt Augustinus eine chronologisch angelegte Entstehungsgeschichte und inhaltliche Einschätzung von 93 seiner Schriften, die er zeit seines Lebens schrieb. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 158
Pergament · 210 pp. · ca. 31.5 x 24.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus de baptismo contra Donatistas, libri VII.

Textgeschichtlich bedeutende Abschrift des Werks „De baptismo“ (Über die Taufe) des Kirchenvaters Augustinus (gest. 430), geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 159
Pergament · 384 pp. · 31.5 x 24.5 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Hieronymus, epistolae; Origenes, sermones; Cassiodorus, de anima

Abschrift von 40 Briefen des Kirchenvaters Hieronymus, im Kloster St. Gallen um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts von mehreren Händen in karolingischer Minuskelschrift geschrieben. Im 11. Jahrhundert mit einer reichen interlinearen und marginalen Kommentierung durch den Mönch Ekkehart IV. († um 1060) versehen. Der Codex enthält auch die Homilien des Origenes zum Hohelied in der lateinischen Übersetzung durch Hieronymus und das Werk De anima des Cassiodor. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 160
Pergament · 592 pp. · 30.1-30.2 x 22.2-22.3 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustinus in Heptateuchum, libri VII.

Eine der textgeschichtlich wichtigsten Abschriften des Kommentars des Kirchenvaters Augustinus zu den ersten sieben Büchern des Alten Testamentes (Heptateuch; „Quaestiones in Heptateuchum libri VII“), geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 9. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 168
Pergament · 408 pp. · 30.5 x 20.5-21 cm · 9. Jahrhundert
Augustini sermones . Ratperti cantilena de S. Gallo Ekkehardo interprete . Ekkehart, Ad picturas in claustro

Hauptinhalt des Codex ist einer nach 800 entstandene Abschrift der Sermones des Kirchenvaters Augustinus zum Johannes-Evangelium. Vorne findet sich die lateinische, mit Neumen versehene Fassung des verloren gegangenen althochdeutschen Gallusliedes (die Übersetzung ins Latein fertigte der Mönch Ekkehart IV. in der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts an), das der Mönch Ratpert vor dem Jahr 900 gedichtet hatte. Hinten sind die Verse des Ekkehart IV. über die Ausmalungen des Kreuzgangs im romanischen Kloster St. Gallen enthalten. Mit Textglossierungen Ekkeharts IV. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 174
Pergament · 194 pp. · 35.5 x 27.5 cm · Mainz und St. Gallen (?) · 9. Jahrhundert
Epistolae Augustini . Galluslied

Hauptinhalt der Handschrift sind Abschriften von Briefen des Kirchenvaters Augustinus († 430), die in der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts möglicherweise in Mainz geschrieben wurden. Der kleine Vorspann und die letzten Seiten wurden hingegen im 11. Jahrhundert zur Zeit von Ekkehart IV. († um 1060) im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben; darin finden sich die lateinische Übersetzung des althochdeutschen Galluslied (Verfasser: der St. Galler Mönch Ratpert) durch Ekkehart IV. und diverse Exzerpte mathematischen und astronomischen Inhalts. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 176
Pergament · 476 pp. · 42 x 28-28.5 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Eugippius, Exzerpte aus Augustin . Anmerkungen von Ekkehart IV.

Abschrift der im Mittelalter sehr geschätzten Exzerpte des Eugippius († nach 533) aus den Werken des Augustinus, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen um die Mitte des 9. Jahrhunderts. In der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts studierte der Mönch Ekkehart IV. den Text akribisch und fügte eine Vielzahl von Anmerkungen und Kommentaren an. Auf der Innenseite des hinteren Buchdeckels finden sich ein von Ekkehart IV. gezeichnetes karaffenähnliches Trinkgefäss und drei dazugehörige Kurzgedichte auf seinen trinkfreudigen Mitbruder Crimalt oder Crimolt. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 184
Pergament · 266 pp. · 29-30 x 23.5-24.5 cm + 25.5 x 19 cm · St. Gallen · 10. und 11. Jahrhundert
Prosper von Aquitanien . Augustinus . Halitgar von Cambrai

Die Handschrift besteht aus zwei Teilen: Der erste Teil enthält den Psalmenkommentar (Expositio psalmorum; Kommentar zu den Psalmen 100-150) des Prosper von Aquitanien in einer Abschrift aus der zweiten Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Im zweiten Teil sind neben Auszügen aus Augustinus-Werken und dem Beginn des Bussbuchs des Halitgar von Cambrai vor allem komputistisch-astronomische Texte, Schemata und Tabellen sowie ein Sachglossar überliefert. Auf Seite 242: Zeichnung einer kleinen einfachen T-O-Weltkarte. Abschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 186
Pergament · 194 pp. · 25.9-26 x 18.3-18.5 cm · St. Gallen · Anfang des 9. Jahrhunderts
Prosper, de activa et contemplativa vita libri III.

Abschrift des Werks De vita contemplativa des gallischen Priesters Julianus Pomerius (5. Jht.), irrtümlich Prosper von Aquitanien zugeschrieben, geschrieben im 9. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen, teilweise vom Mönch Rihpertus, der sich in Geheimschrift nennt. (smu)

Online seit: 31.07.2009

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 187
Pergament · 320 pp. · 25.5 x 21.5-22 cm · St. Gallen · 9. Jahrhundert
Gaius Iulius Solinus, Collectanea rerum memorabilium

St. Galler Abschrift des 9. Jahrhunderts der im Mittelalter sehr populären Collectanea rerum memorabilium des römischen Autors Gaius Iulius Solinus aus. Zusammenstellung von Merkwürdigkeiten und Kuriositäten, die der Autor vor allem der Naturgeschichte des Plinius und der Erdbeschreibung des Pomponius Mela entnommen hatte. Der Codex enthält daneben Werke des Prosper von Aquitanien und die Predigt des Kirchenvaters Ambrosius De bono mortis. (smu)

Online seit: 23.12.2008

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 188
Pergament · 422 ff. · 29 x 19.5 cm · Luxeuil (?) · um 700
Maximus von Turin, Sermones

Die Sermones des Bischofs Maximus von Turin (gestorben zwischen 408-423): Eine der wichtigsten Abschriften aus der Zeit um 700, geschrieben möglicherweise im Kloster Luxeuil in Burgund in einer merowingischen Unzialschrift. Gehört zu den ältesten Büchern der Stiftsbibliothek, die noch in Buchform im originalen Einband erhalten sind. (smu)

Online seit: 09.12.2008

Dokumente: 212, angezeigt: 41 - 60