Documents: 101, displayed: -19 - 0

Basel, Universitätsbibliothek

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Codex restitutus 1
Parchment · 8 + 55 ff. · 16-26 x 13.5-17 cm · Fulda · 9th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

This codex contains a virtual reconstruction of a manuscript of the codices Codices F III 15e and N I 1: 3c. In conjunction with the digitization and description of this two manuscripts it became possible to establish that around 1500, N I 1: 3c‬‬‬ had been part of F III 15e‬‬‬ as its first quire. This explains the title De conflictu viciorum et virtutum N I 1: 3c, 1r, which makes sense only in the context of the entire codex. As shown by the lost text at the beginning and at the end, N I 1: 3c‬‬ had previously already been part of another codex. The entire codex reached Basel in the 16th century; there N I 1: 3c‬ was separated prior to 1643. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 27
Paper · 352 ff. · 29.5 x 21.5 cm · second quarter of the 15th century
Acta concilii Constantiensis et Basiliensis

This volume contains, among others, writings on the councils; the last treatise is called noviter compilatus. Several hands from the second quarter of the 15th century contributed to the writing. The last page is decorated with a Titulus crucifixi in three languages, written in majuscules in the Byzantine tradition, which spread, often in bizarre forms, from Italy during the time of the councils. Holes in the front cover and traces of rust on the detached front pastedown page establish that the volume used to be part of a chained library. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 32
Paper · 476 ff. · 29 x 21,5 cm · second quarter of the 15th century
Acta diversa concilii Basiliensis

This composite manuscript from the second quarter of the 15th century consists of eight independent parts; accordingly several hands can be distinguished. The volume contains writings on the council; notes in his own hand suggest that the volume belonged to the Dominican John of Ragusa, who was a one of the leading theologians participating in the the Council of Basel. This volume was later owned by the Dominican Convent of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Paper · 142 ff. · 29,5-30 x 21-21,5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Postil on Genesis and Exodus, written in 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 quarter- to half-page colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 2-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Paper · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Postil on Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy, written in 1397 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 23 mostly half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Paper · 210 ff. · 28,5 x 20,5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Postil on Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Esdras and Job, written in 1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 58 half-page, partly or entirely colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Paper · 151 ff. · 30,5-31,5 x 22-22,5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Postil on Kings and Esther, written in 1400-1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 single-column, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Paper · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21,5-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Postil on Jeremiah, Daniel, Maccabees and Judith, written in 1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 53 half- to whole-page, partly framed colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Paper · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · probably 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postil on Isaiah and the Twelve Minor Prophets, probably written between 1393 and 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with two schematic drawings of the sun dial that illustrates the miracle of the healing of Hezekiah, This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which A II 1-5 and 10-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Paper · 142 ff. · 29,5-30 x 21-21,5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Postil on the Gospel of Matthew and on the treatise on chess by Jacobus de Cessolis, written in 1392 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 13 single-column colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6 and ‬11-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Paper · 190 ff. · 30 x 21,5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postil on the Gospels of John, Luke and Mark as well as on Tobias and Baruch, written in 1392-1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 3 whole-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 and ‬12-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Paper · 151 ff. · 30-30,5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postil on the Acts of the Apostles, on the Apocalypse, and on the canonical letters, written in 1405-1407 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 14 half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 and 13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Paper · 219 ff. · 30-30,5 x 20-20,5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postil on the Pauline epistles, written in 1413-1415 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which the richly illustrated volumes A II 1-6 and 10-12 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Paper · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242]
Koran

Koran, written in Ramaḍān 639 h. [= March-April 1242] by Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. In addition to the canonical text, the manuscript also contains the variants of the seven readers of the Koran and their main transmitters. It was brought to Basel from Constantinople in 1437 by the Dominican John of Ragusa , one of the leading theologians for the Council of Basel. Since 1433 the manuscript was the property of the Dominican monastery of Basel as a bequest of John of Ragusa, and in 1559 it became the property of the university library. The Zurich theologist Theodor Bibliander made use of this manuscript in the preparation of his printing of the Latin translation of the Koran by Robert von Ketton (Basel 1543). (wur)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 96
Paper · 226 ff. · 21,5-22 x 15-15,5 cm · Isny/Allgäu · 1443
Expositio hymnorum et sequentiarum

Hymn and sequence commentary written in Isny in 1443 by Ulrich Bentz of Winterthur, attested as a registered student in Erfurt in 1444/1445. The text is closely linked to a 14th century Basel manuscript; parallel versions can be found in various southern German manuscripts. Marks on the back cover identify the volume as a liber catenatus. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Paper · 214 ff. · 29 x 21,5 cm · second half of the 14th century
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Since the 13th century the Quatuor libri sententiarum, a collection of teachings of the church fathers on important theological problems compiled by Peter Lombard in the middle of the 12th century, had the status of a textbook in theological faculties. The texts were an essential part of basic studies and were intensively interpreted in lectures and commentaries. This 14th century manuscript from the chained library of the Dominican Convent of Basel contains commentaries by Henry de Cervo, William of Ockham, Jakobus of Altavilla and others. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Parchment · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17.0 cm · 9th century, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

In addition to Greek and Latin Psalms, written somewhere in continental Europe by Irish monks during the Carolingian period, this famous Basel codex also contains a brief series of devotions in Latin for private use, appended by the monks. The exact place where the manuscript was written and its various subsequent travels are unknown, although, based on one note, whose interpretation is under debate, some relation to the Abbey of St. Gall and/or to that of Bobbio is frequently mentioned. In about 1628-1630 the manuscript was listed in the catalog of the Amerbach family, then around 1672-1676 in that of Johannes Zwinger. (and)

Online Since: 03/22/2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Paper · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15th century
Composite manuscript (theological content)

This composite manuscript, property of the scholar and Carthusian monk Johannes Heynlin from Basel, consists of various handwritten and printed pieces of theological content: among them the treatise De saecularium religionibus by the Dominican and church reformer Johannes Nider, written in 1465 by a French scribe and annotated in the margin by Heynlin; or the text De miseria humanae conditionis by Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, one of the most important humanists of the Italian Renaissance. After Heynlin’s death, the volume became part of the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Paper · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery St. Margarethental in Basel · third quarter of the 15th century
Latin Composite Manuscript, among others Mechthild von Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

This manuscript (third quarter of the 15th century), a collection of theological texts, consists of two parts; it originated in the Carthusian Monastery in Basel, where it was probably also created. This is certain for the second part of the manuscript, which, in addition to the Vita et revelationes by Agnes Blannbekin (Chapters 1-23), also contains extensive excerpts from Lux divinitatis, the Latin translation of Das fließende Licht der Gottheit by Mechthild of Magdeburg, which became the basis for further copies made in the monastery. The model for most of the texts contained in the second part of Cod. A VIII 6 was the manuscript Basel, university library, Cod. B IX 11. (nem)

Online Since: 12/13/2013

Documents: 101, displayed: -19 - 0

Documents: 97, affichés: -19 - 0

Basel, Universitätsbibliothek

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, Codex restitutus 1
Parchemin · 8 + 55 ff. · 16-26 x 13.5-17 cm · Fulda · IXe siècle
Theodori et Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Ce codex contient une reconstruction virtuelle d'un manuscrit composé des deux codices F III 15e et N I 1: 3c. Suite à leur numérisation et description, il a été possible de démontrer que, vers 1500, N I 1: 3c‬ constituait le premier fascicule de F III 15e‬‬. Ceci explique le titre De conflictu viciorum et virtutum au f. 1r de N I 1: 3c, qui trouve tout son sens s’il se réfère à l’ensemble du codex. Comme le prouvent les lacunes du texte au début et à la fin, N I 1: 3c‬ faisait autrefois partie d’un autre codex. Le manuscrit entier parvint à Bâle au XVIème siècle; N I 1: 3c‬ fut ensuite séparé avant 1643. (stb)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 27
Papier · 352 ff. · 29.5 x 21.5 cm · deuxième quart du XVe siècle
Acta concilii Constantiensis et Basiliensis

Le volume contient, entre autre, des écrits conciliaires, le dernier traité étant défini comme noviter compilatus. De nombreuses mains du second quart du XVème siècle ont contribué à la rédaction du texte. La dernière page est décorée d’un Titulus crucifixi en trois langues, écrit dans une majuscule de tradition byzantine, qui s’est diffusée, à l’époque du concile, à partir de l’Italie, dans des formes parfois bizarres. La présence de trous sur la couverture antérieure et de traces de rouille sur la feuille de garde antérieure indique que le volume appartenait à une bibliothèque dont les ouvrages étaient enchaînés. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 32
Papier · 476 ff. · 29 x 21,5 cm · deuxième quart du XVe siècle
Acta diversa concilii Basiliensis

Manuscrit composite du second quart du XVème siècle composé de huit parties indépendantes. Plusieurs mains peuvent être distinguées.Le volume contient des écrits conciliaires et était en possession, comme le suggèrent des annotations autographes, du dominicain Johannes de Ragusa, qui prit part au concile de Bâle en qualité de théologien de renom. Par la suite, le volume parvint dans le couvent des dominicains de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Papier · 142 ff. · 29,5-30 x 21-21,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Annotations sur la Genèse et l’Exode. Écrit en 1396 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 52 dessins à la plume colorés qui occupent du quart à la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 2-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Papier · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Annotations sur le Lévitique, les Nombres et le Deutéronome. Écrit en 1397 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 23 dessins à la plume colorés qui occupent la plupart du temps la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Papier · 210 ff. · 28,5 x 20,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Annotations sur les Livres de Josué, des Juges, de Ruth, d’Esdras et de Job. Écrit en 1401 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 58 dessins à la plume, en partie ou entièrement colorés, qui occupent la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Papier · 151 ff. · 30,5-31,5 x 22-22,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Annotations sur le Livre des Rois et d’Esther. Écrit en 1400-1401 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 52 dessins à la plume, insérés dans une colonne et en partie colorés, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Papier · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21,5-22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Annotations sur les Livres de Jérémie, de Daniel, des Macchabées et de Judith. Écrit en 1393 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 53 dessins à la plume colorés et en partie entourés d’un cadre, qui occupent la moitié de la page ou une page entière, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 et ‬10-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Papier · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · probablement 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postille sur Isaïe et les douze petits prophètes, écrit probablement entre 1393 et 1396 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de deux dessins schématiques du cadran solaire qui illustrent le miracle de la guérison d’Ezéchias. Le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie A II 1-5, et 10-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Papier · 142 ff. · 29,5-30 x 21-21,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Annotations sur l’Evangile de Matthieu et un traité sur le jeu d’échecs de Jacques de Cessoles. Écrit en 1392 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 13 dessins à la plume colorés, insérés dans une colonne, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, et ‬11-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Papier · 190 ff. · 30 x 21,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Annotations sur l’Evangile de Jean, Luc et Marc et sur les livres de Tobie et Baruch. Écrit en 1392-1393 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de trois dessins à la plume colorés en pleine page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 et ‬12-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Papier · 151 ff. · 30-30,5 x 22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Annotations sur les Actes des Apôtres, l’Apocalypse et les lettres canoniques. Écrit en 1405-1407 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 14 dessins à la plume en partie colorés et qui occupent la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 et 13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Papier · 219 ff. · 30-30,5 x 20-20,5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postille sur les Epîtres de Paul, écrit en 1413-1415 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf. Le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie les volumes A II 1-6 et 10-12 richement illustrés, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 19
Papier · 211 ff. · 28 x 18.5 cm · Ramaḍān 639 h. [= mars-avril 1242]
Coran

Coran, écrit le mois de Ramaḍān 639 h. [= mars-avril 1242] par Muḥammad Ibn al-Maʿāǧīnī. Le manuscrit contient, en plus du texte canonique, également les variantes de sept lecteurs du Coran et leurs traditions principales. Il fut apporté à Bâle depuis Constantinople en 1437 par le dominicain Jean de Raguse, un des théologiens les plus importants présents au Concile de Bâle. Depuis 1433, il est en possession du couvent des dominicains de Bâle, selon les dispositions testamentaires de Jean de Raguse, et devint propriété de la bibliothèque de l’université en 1559. Le manuscrit fut utilisé par le théologien zürichois Theodor Bibliander pour la préparation de son édition critique de la traduction latine du Coran de Robert von Ketton (Bâle 1543). (wur)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Bâle · moitié du XVème siècle
Nicolas de Lyre, Interprétation du Psautier, 1ère partie (Psaumes 1-74)

Traduction en allemand de la Postilla sur les Psaumes de Nicolas de Lyre (mort en 1349), probablement encore réalisée de son vivant. Le commentaire sur les psaumes, d’abord attribué à Heinrich von Mügeln, est l’oeuvre d’un anonyme qui n’est pas encore attesté historiquement, ledit « Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer ». Celui-ci traduit le texte de base en l’abrégeant et en le munissant d’ajouts. L’exemplaire, provenant de la bibliothèque de la Chartreuse de Bâle, peut être daté du la moitié du XVème siècle et ses miniatures appartiennent au groupe de Vullenhoe. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IX 96
Papier · 226 ff. · 21,5-22 x 15-15,5 cm · Isny/Allgäu · 1443
Expositio hymnorum et sequentiarum

Commentaire sur les hymnes et les séquences, écrit en 1443 à Isny par Ulrich Bentz de Winterthur, dont la présence est attestée en 1444/1445 à Erfurt en tant qu’étudiant immatriculé. Le texte est en étroite relation avec un manuscrit bâlois du XIVème siècle; des transmissions parallèles du texte se rencontrent dans divers manuscrits du sud de l’Allemagne. Des traces sur la couverture postérieure démontrent que le volume était un liber catenatus. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 22
Papier · 214 ff. · 29 x 21,5 cm · deuxième moitié du XIVe siècle
Super sententiarum libros quattuor

Depuis le XIIIème siècle les Quatuor libri sententiarum, une collection de déclarations des Pères de l’Eglise sur les importants problèmes théologiques, rassemblée par Pierre Lombard dans le milieu du XIIème siècle, ont acquis le statut de livre de texte dans les facultés de théologie. Elle constituait une partie fondamentale des études de base et étaient interprétées de façon intensive dans les leçons et les commentaires. Le manuscrit du XIVème siècle, provenant de la bibliothèque du couvent dominicain de Bâle dont les ouvrages étaient enchaînés, contient les commentaires de Henricus de Cervo, Guillaume d'Ockham, Jacobus de Altavilla et d’autres. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 3
Parchemin · 95 ff. · 22.5 x 17.0 cm · IXe siècle, 2-3/3
Psalterium graeco-latinum

Outre ses psaumes gréco-latins, copiés sur le continent par des moines irlandais à époque carolingienne, le célèbre codex de Bâle contient une petite série de pièces de dévotion privée en latin, ajoutées par les moines. Le lieu exact de sa copie et ses pérégrinations successives ne sont pas connues, même si un lien avec l’abbaye de Saint-Gall et/ou celle de Bobbio est souvent avancé sur la base d’une note à l’interprétation disputée. Il apparaît vers 1628-1630 dans le catalogue de la famille Amerbach puis, vers 1672-1676, dans celui de Johannes Zwinger. (and)

En ligne depuis: 22.03.2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Papier · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; XVe siècle
Manuscrit composite (théologie)

Ce manuscrit composite, propriété de Johannes Heynlin, un érudit et moine chartreux bâlois, se compose de diverses parties manuscrites ou imprimées, à caractère théologique, parmi lesquelles le traité du dominicain et réformateur de l’Eglise Johannes Nider De saecularium religionibus, écrit en 1465 par un copiste français et annoté par Heynlin, ou le De miseria humanae conditionis de Poggio Bracciolini, un des plus importants humanistes italiens de la Renaissance. A la mort de Heynlin le volume entra en possession de la bibliothèque de la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VIII 6
Papier · 219 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Chartreuse de St. Margarethental à Bâle · troisième tiers du XVe siècle
Recueil théologique (lat.), entre autres Mechthild de Magdeburg: Lux divinitatis, Agnes Blannbekin: Vita et revelationes

Ce manuscrit composite en deux parties contient des textes théologiques (troisième tiers du XVe s.) et provient de la Chartreuse de Bâle, où il a aussi probablement été réalisé. Ceci vaut en tout cas pour la seconde partie du manuscrit qui, en plus de la Vita et revelationes d’Agnes Blannbekin (Chap. 1-23), contient de nombreux extraits du Lux divinitatis, la traduction latine du Das fließende Licht der Gottheit de Mechthilds de Magdeburg qui, dès lors, fut copié à d’autres reprises dans la Chartreuse elle-même. Le manuscrit de la Bibliothèque universitaire de Bâle (Cod. B IX 11) servit de modèle pour la majeure partie des textes contenus dans la seconde partie du Cod. A VIII 6. (nem)

En ligne depuis: 13.12.2013

Documents: 97, affichés: -19 - 0