Documents: 14

Sub-project: St. Gall's Music Manuscripts

October 2006 - May 2007

Status: Completed

Financed by: Ernst Göhner Foundation (http://www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch/)

Description: Among its many treasures, the Abbey Library of St. Gall holds the oldest complete surviving music manuscript (Cod. Sang. 359, dating from 920/30). We were able to digitize this item, together with thirteen additional music manuscripts, including elaborate liturgical manuscripts from the "Silver Age" and prepare them for presentation on the internet during the second project year, 2006, thanks to the generous financial support of the Ernst-Göhner-Stiftung.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 231
Parchment · 378 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · St. Gall · around 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Books I-X

A careful copy of books I to X of the Etymologiae of Isidore of Seville († 636), written shortly before the year 900 in the monastery of St. Gall. This manuscript forms a unity with Cod. Sang. 232. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 338
Parchment · 798 pp. · 24.2 x 16 cm · St. Gall · around 1050-1060
Computus, Breviary, Gradual, Sacramentary

A collection of liturgical materials, containing computational texts and tables, a breviary with incipits of the spoken and chanted texts for the Mass for the principal feast days of Saints, a gradual with neumes and a sacramentary. Illustrated with several miniatures, executed in the monastery of St. Gall around 850. Between two sections, on page 304: Old High German confession and creed ("St. Galler Glauben und Beichte III"). (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 339
Parchment · II + 650 pp. · 34.2 x 17.8 cm · St. Gall · around 1000 / around 980
Calendar, Gradual, Sacramentary

Antiphonary, dating from around the year 1000, with Calendar and Gradual (written and provided with fine neumes probably by the monk Hartker), Ordo Missae and Sacramentary. An invaluable monument of music history. (smu)

Online Since: 06/12/2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 359
Parchment · 178 pp. · 28 x 12.5 cm · St. Gall · around 922-925
Cantatorium

The so-called "Cantatorium of St. Gall", the earliest complete extant musical manuscript in the world with neume notation. It contains the solo chants of the Mass and constitutes one of the main sources for the reconstruction of Gregorian chant. Written and provided with fine neumes in the monastery of St. Gall between 922 and 926. Bound in a wooden box with an ivory panel on the front cover, most likely Byzantine c. 500, depicting scenes from the fight of Dionysos against the Indians. The ivory panel was once the possession of Charlemagne. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 361
Parchment · 142 pp. · 29.5-30 x 19.5 cm · first half of the 12th century
Gradual

Gradual from St. Gall, dating from the first half of the 12th century. It contains the solo chants of the Mass, with finely executed neumes and some illuminated initials. Preceded by a Calendar with necrological notes from the monastery of St. Gall dating from between the 13th and 15th century and at the lower margins a catalogue of relics from the 14th century. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 374
Parchment · 845 pp. · 21 x 16 cm · St. Gall · middle of the 11th century
Gradual and lectionary with epistles and Gospels

Deluxe manuscript for the celebration of feast day masses in the monastery of St. Gall, written and illustrated with numerous initials around the middle of the 11th century. Contains a gradual with neumes and a Lectionary with the readings for the liturgical year. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 381
Parchment · 500 pp. · 14.5 x 11.5 cm · St. Gall · around 930
Versicularium, Hymnary, Tropary, Sequentiary

Versiculary, Hymnal, Tropary and Sequentiary from the monastery of St. Gall, written and provided with neumes around 930, possibly by a monk named Salomon. The small-sized, undecorated manuscript contains the St. Gall repertoire of the chants sung in the monastery and works by the monks Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Waltram and Ekkehart I. Counts among the foremost monuments worldwide in the history of early medieval music. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 382
Parchment · 270 pp. · 18-18.5 x 12.5-13 cm · St. Gall · 11th century (until ca. 1400)
Tropary, Versicularium, Sequentiary

An incompletely preserved musical manuscript from the 11th century, written in the monastery of St. Gall, with added supplementary leaves up to around 1400. Contains a Tropary, a Versiculary and a Sequentiary. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 383
Parchment · 176 pp. · 16.5-17 x 11.5 cm · Lausanne, probably in the cathedral of Lausanne · before 1250
Sequentiae. Hymni

Tropary and Sequentiary in point-like square notation with exceptionally fine monophonic and polyphonic music from the great repertoire of the school of Notre-Dame at Paris. Written before 1250 in Western Switzerland, probably at the Cathedral of Lausanne. Probably in St. Gall by 1300. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 388
Parchment · 498 pp. · 25-25.5 x 15.5-16 cm · St. Gall · 12th century, (additions until the late 14th century)
Antiphonary

Antiphonary from St. Gall for the liturgy of the divine office, as sung by St Gall monks, dating from the 12th century, with addenda until the late 14th century. Illustrated with several initials and (at the beginning) with a miniature of the crucified Christ with Mary and John. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 413
Parchment · 702 pp. · 25.8 x 17.5 cm · St. Gall · second quarter of the 11th century
Breviary (winter part)

Winter part (from the first Sunday in Advent to Holy Saturday) of a Breviary written in the monastery of St. Gall between 1034 and 1047 (with readings and chants for the liturgy of the divine office), with addenda until the 14th century. Prefaced by a Calendar and computational tables. The corresponding summer part of the Breviary can be found in Cod. Sang. 387. One of the oldest extant Breviaries from St. Gallen. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 414
Parchment · 666 pp. · 27.0 x 20.0 cm · St. Gall · around 1030 (additions until the 14th century)
Breviary (winter part)

Winter part (from the first Sunday in Advent to Holy Saturday) of a Breviary for the divine office, written around 1030 with addenda until the 14th century. Contains, in addition to a large Lectionary and Antiphonary, a Calendar and computational tables. One of the oldest extant Breviaries from St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484
Parchment · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · St. Gall · first half of the 10th century
Tropary

Important musical manuscript in very small format containing the repertory of tropes, Ordinary chants and sequences in use around 930/940 in the monastery of St. Gall. With discrete texts and compositions by numerous St. St. Gall monks (Notker Balbulus, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker Physicus, Waltram and others). The manuscript was intended for the cantor who indicated the melody to the other singers. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 546
Paper · II + XXIX + 377 + I ff. · 41 x 27.5-28 cm · St. Gall · before the year 1507, Scarpatetti: 1507-1514
Joachim Cuontz: sequentiary of St. Gall / Troparion with "Hufnagelnotation"

Great collection of St. Gallen tropes and sequences by Father Joachim Cuontz († 1515), compiled for Abbot Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529) shortly before the beatification of the St Gall monk Notker Balbulus († 912) in the year of 1513. Important document of late medieval choral history. Many of the melodies are, for the first time in St. Gall, provided with musical notation on five staves. (smu)

Online Since: 05/24/2007

Documents: 14

Documents: 14

Sous-projet: Les manuscrits musicaux de la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall

Octobre 2006 - Mai 2007

statut: achevé

financé par: Fondation Ernst Göhner (http://www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch/)

Description du projet: La Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall possède, parmi ses nombreux trésors, le plus ancien manuscrit musical entièrement conservé (Cod. Sang. 359, vers 920/30). Ce manuscrit musical, ainsi que treize autres, parmi lesquels figurent aussi des manuscrits de luxe de l’âge d’argent, ont pu être numérisés au cours de la seconde année du projet, en 2006, grâce au généreux soutien de la fondation Ernst-Göhner, et mis à la disposition du public sur internet.

Toutes les bibliothèque et les collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 231
Parchemin · 378 pp. · 27 x 21.5 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 880-890
Isidorus, Etymologiae, Lib. I-X

Manuscrit soigné des livres I à X des Etymologies d'Isidore de Séville († 636), copié peu avant 900 à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall. Ce manuscrit forme un tout avec le Cod. Sang. 232. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 338
Parchemin · 798 pp. · 24.2 x 16 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 1050-1060
Comput, Bréviaire, Graduel, Sacramentaire

Ensemble de manuscrits liturgiques, comprenant des textes et des tables de comput, un bréviaire avec l'incipit des textes de la messe lus et chantés aux fêtes de l'année liturgique, une partie du graduel neumé, ainsi qu'un sacramentaire, illustré de quelques miniatures; manuscrit copié à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall vers 850. Entre deux parties, à la page 304: profession de foi et confession en haut allemand (« St. Galler Glauben und Beichte III »). (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 339
Parchemin · II + 650 pp. · 34.2 x 17.8 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 1000 / vers 980
Calendrier, Graduel, Sacramentaire

Antiphonaire, datant environ de l'an 1000, contenant le calendrier, le graduel (copié et annoté de neumes élégants par le moine Hartker), l'Ordo Missae et le sacramentaire. Une source inestimable pour l'histoire de la musique. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 12.06.2006

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 359
Parchemin · 178 pp. · 28 x 12.5 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 922-925
Cantatorium

Ledit « Cantatorium de Saint-Gall », le plus ancien manuscrit musical du monde, complet, avec notation neumatique. Il contient les chants solistiques interprétés pendant la messe et représente la principale source pour la reconstitution du chant grégorien. Copié et annoté de neumes à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall entre 922 et 926. Relié dans un étui de bois recouvert (au devant) d'une plaque d'ivoire sculptée vers 500 à Byzance et figurant une scène du combat de Dionysos contre les Indiens. La plaque d'ivoire avait été en possession de l'Empereur Charlemagne. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 361
Parchemin · 142 pp. · 29.5-30 x 19.5 cm · première moitiè du XIIe siècle
Graduel

Graduel de Saint-Gall de la première moitié du XIIe siècle. Copié par une main soignée et illustré de quelques initiales enluminées avec art, il contient les chants solistiques interprétés à la messe. Au début, un calendrier avec les notices nécrologiques de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall entre le XIIIe et le XVe siècle, ainsi qu'en marge inférieure, un inventaire des reliques de Saint-Gall au XIVe siècle. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 374
Parchemin · 845 pp. · 21 x 16 cm · Saint-Gall · milieu du XIe siècle
Graduel et Lectionaire avec Epître et Evangiles

Splendide manuscrit destiné aux offices festifs de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, copié et illustré de nombreuses initiales vers le milieu du XIe siècle. Il contient un graduel neumé ainsi qu'un lectionnaire avec les lectures prévues pour les offices pendant l'année liturgique. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 381
Parchemin · 500 pp. · 14.5 x 11.5 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 930
Versicularium, Hymnaire, Tropaire, Séquentiaire

Versicularium, Hymnaire, Tropaire et Séquentiaire de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, copiés et annotés de neumes vers 930, probablement par un moine du nom de Salomon. Ce manuscrit, de petit format et sans ornement, contient le répertoire des chants liturgiques chantés à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, ainsi que les poèmes des moines de Saint-Gall Notker le Bègue, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Waltram ou Ekkehart I. Il compte parmi les monuments les plus largement connus de la musique du haut Moyen Age. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 382
Parchemin · 270 pp. · 18-18.5 x 12.5-13 cm · Saint-Gall · XIe siècle (jusqu'à 1400)
Tropaire, Versicularium, Séquentiaire

Manuscrit musical incomplet, copié à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall au XIe siècle, avec des feuillets ajoutés en appendice jusque vers 1400. Il contient un tropaire, un versicularium et un séquentiaire. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 383
Parchemin · 176 pp. · 16.5-17 x 11.5 cm · Lausanne, probablement à la cathédrale de Lausanne · avant 1250
Sequentiae. Hymni

Tropaire et Séquentiaire en notation carrée, contenant de la musique monodique et polyphonique du grand répertoire de l'Ecole Notre-Dame de Paris. Manuscrit copié avant 1250 dans l'ouest de la Suisse, vraisemblablement à la cathédrale de Lausanne et probablement apporté à Saint-Gall déjà vers 1300. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 388
Parchemin · 498 pp. · 25-25.5 x 15.5-16 cm · Saint-Gall · XIIe siècle (ajouts jusqu'à la fin du XIVe siècle)
Antiphonaire

Antiphonaire de Saint-Gall pour les Heures des moines du XIIe siècle, avec des ajouts, datant au plus tard du XIVe siècle, illustré de nombreuses initiales et (au début) d'une miniature du Christ en croix avec Marie et Jean. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 413
Parchemin · 702 pp. · 25.8 x 17.5 cm · Saint-Gall · deuxième quart du XIe siècle
Breviaire (partie d’hiver)

Section d'hiver (du premier dimanche de l'Avent jusqu'au samedi saint) du bréviaire (avec lectures et chants des Heures) copié entre 1034 et 1047 à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, avec des ajouts jusqu'au XIVe siècle. Il contient en outre un calendrier ainsi que des tables de comput. La section d'été correspondante se trouve dans le Cod. Sang. 387. Ce brévaire fait partie des plus anciens conservés à Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 414
Parchemin · 666 pp. · 27 x 20 cm · Saint-Gall · vers 1030 (ajouts jusqu'au XIVe siècle)
Bréviaire (partie d’hiver)

Section d'hiver (du premier dimanche de l'Avent jusqu'au samedi saint) du bréviaire pour les Heures des moines de Saint-Gall, copié vers 1030, avec des ajouts jusqu'au XIVe siècle. Il contient en outre un grand lectionnaire et un antiphonaire, ainsi qu'un calendrier et des tables de comput. Ce brévaire fait partie des plus anciens conservés à Saint-Gall. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 484
Parchemin · II + 323 pp. · 10 x 8 cm · Saint-Gall · première moitié du Xe siècle
Tropaire

Manuscrit musical de petit format avec le répertoire des tropes en usage à l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall, vers 930/940, les chants de l'ordinaire de la messe et les mélodies des séquences. Il contient les textes et les mélodies composés par de nombreux moines de Saint-Gall (principalement Notker le Bègue, Tuotilo, Ratpert, Notker le médecin, Waltram); le livre était destiné au chantre qui, par ses gestes, indiquait la mélodie aux chanteurs. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 546
Papier · II + XXIX + 377 + I ff. · 41 x 27.5-28 cm · Saint-Gall · avant 1507, Scarpatetti: 1507-1514
Joachim Cuontz: séquentiaire de Saint-Gall / Tropaire avec « Hufnagelnotation »

Grande collection de tropes et de séquences du Père Joachim Cuontz († 1515), rassemblée sur l'ordre de l'abbé Franz Gaisberg (1504-1529), préalablement à la béatification, en 1513, du moine de Saint-Gall, Notker le Bègue († 912). Importante source historique du chant choral de la fin du Moyen Age. Bien des mélodies sont pour la première fois retranscrites en notation sur portée à cinq lignes. (smu)

En ligne depuis: 24.05.2007

Documents: 14